Echo Falls (More)


October 20th, 2020 Posted 8:27 am

Yesterday the question came up about whether I’d be writing more in the Echo Falls series, of which there are 3 novels at present. The answer is probably not. The publishing business is full of vagaries. In fact, if you can’t take the vagaries get out of the kitchen. I’ve also thought of writing about Ingrid, the 13-year-old main character, when she’s all grown up. But here’s another factor: I love writing in the voice of a certain character whose name begins with C, and don’t want to stop anytime soon.

Today’s post is dedicated to Teddy, in memory.


Posted in Chet The Dog

Echo Falls (More)


October 19th, 2020 Posted 8:48 am

Yesterday there were questions about the order of the Echo Falls series – middle-grade but available to adults with fake ID. Unlike Chet and Bernie, Echo Falls should be read in order: Down the Rabbit Hole, Behind the Curtain, Into the Dark. My first crack at writing for younger readers.





October 18th, 2020 Posted 8:48 am

On Sundays, we do beginnings, taking a look at the start of a Peter Abrahams novel, including those written under the Spencer Quinn moniker. How about we Behind the Curtain, second in the middle-grade Echo Falls series? Unlike the Chet and Bernie series, Echo Falls should probably be read in sequence. Today is NFL football day, too, of course – and football is important in Behind the Curtain. (I love writing football scenes!)

[“… Abrahams’ exceptional overlay of detail, especially descriptions of the particular stresses and the goofy occurrences that mark Ingrid’s experience as an eighth-grader, makes the story very convincing as the action builds.”
– Booklist, Starred Review]

Ingrid Levin-Hill sat in math class, her mind wandering pleasantly.




October 17th, 2020 Posted 8:40 am

Happy to report that B&N has selected the paperback of Heart of Barkness for their next paperback Buy-One-Get-One at 50% program – offer runs till 11/29. Who doesn’t like a deal? Does anyone ever insist on paying full price?


The Books

powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia