WOOF: A Random Amazon Review

(WOOF is not out yet, can only be reviewed by Amazon Vine members at the moment.)
5 Stars – Doggone Cute – April 4, 2015

Antigone WalshVINE VOICE on WOOF:

This is an irresistible yarn about a young girl and her dog. Bowser, a shelter dog and Birdie know they are perfect for each other notwithstanding dubious adults including her Grammy. Heading back to the Louisiana swamps they quickly put their unique partnership to work searching for a trophy fish that might contain the map for a hidden treasure. Told from Bowser’s perspective it is an engaging and funny introduction to the mystery genre.

I haven’t had so much fun reading a book in ages. The characters are delightful. Birdie is a real little girl and the author captures the wonder of dogs. The writing is appropriate for the targeted age group. With the possible exception of Cruella Deville, I know of no one, young or old, who wouldn’t enjoy this book.

Unknown-2

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Tuesday, April 7th, 2015 at 7:35 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

63 Responses to “WOOF: A Random Amazon Review”

  1. Herd of Hounds
    7:43 am on April 7th, 2015

    Good morning, everyone! and a big WOOF and a good review. Woof is getting closer everyday.It is frightfully foggy here.
    Have a trusting Tuesday.

  2. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:23 am on April 7th, 2015

    Good morning HOH and all.

    That was a great review. Well written, and doesn’t give away too much.

    Cold and rainy here. Worst day of the week, so I don’t mind heading off to the office.

    Read Boobear’s mama’s good news. Better pay and fewer hours, sounds great. You deserve it!

    ML, Howler’s advice was good. You can tell a lot about a man by how he treats your dogs. Go for that walk.

  3. Masquers
    10:15 am on April 7th, 2015

    We must say…those Amazon Vine members know how to write a fine review.
    Good day everyone.

  4. B.Stover
    10:22 am on April 7th, 2015

    I had to look up Cruella de Vil.

    Good morning all.

  5. B.Stover
    10:34 am on April 7th, 2015

    The reviewer has an interesting first name. Antigone is the title of a Greek tragedy by Sophocles.

  6. B.Stover
    10:35 am on April 7th, 2015

    Congratulations to BooBear’s Mom. Excellent news.

  7. dawson
    10:43 am on April 7th, 2015

    Woof and good morning to y’all.

    Thinking of Linus and wondering if he will come across some old timers across the bridge, Tiger, Bagheera, Figbut and Sam.

    Today I’m going to take a break from doing Dad’s stuff and go through my own rather enormous stash of stuff.
    I’ve come across some prototypes for the Plunderer passports. They are not fine tuned like the finished product but if any of the newer dawgs or kats on the blog would like one you can email your address to dawson.j2atgmaildotcom and I will send you one.

    Boobear: Great news regarding the new job. Those shifts at your current job sound brutal.

    ML: Walking the dog? That isn’t urban slang for something BStover and I don’t know about, is it?

    I didn’t lurk for long, did I?

  8. dawson
    10:49 am on April 7th, 2015

    Oops!
    I googled “walking the dogs slang” and, unfortunately it does have an urban slang meaning. Nothing we wanted to know.

  9. Tupper's Mama
    11:10 am on April 7th, 2015

    We are giggling here. When we read the review, our first thought was that BStover would ask “who is Cruella Deville?”

    Off for a day of errands. Maybe even walking the dogs.

  10. Staff
    11:19 am on April 7th, 2015

    Mr.Fireslippers was asked his choice for the World Series. He gave it some thought and came up with Baltimore and Washington. That is the same as Admin. All three of our prognasticators choose the same teams, so therefore…

  11. Diane C.
    11:19 am on April 7th, 2015

    BooBear, T and G, BM and L, Masquers, HOH, Wose/Rose, Oley Howlers, Siber’s Mom, Beau, CHobbit, Snowbella, Tenzing, and EVERYONE who has been thinking of Conan–As of now (8 a.m. PDT) he’s resting comfortably but should be there another day or two. I get to bring a toy for him later today (squeezed in somewhere while getting the taxes done) and am so grateful for your presence, quilt, and pillow offerings.
    May today be your best day ever, AND the least satisfactory of those to come.

  12. Diane C.
    11:25 am on April 7th, 2015

    BooBear–Congratulations to your Mom–I apologize for taking so long.
    T and G–Excellent closet work by all of you (I assume your Mom was involved too).
    I don’t do Facebook (I saw the movie) so can’t see Henry; any chance of a photo here?
    Dawson–Um…how to put this…I wish you hadn’t mentioned the urban slang possibility (one can live a rich and productive life while being ignorant of some things).
    …and on that note, I guess I’d better go and be productive.

  13. Tupper's Mama
    11:45 am on April 7th, 2015

    Diane – good news about Conan. Give him a (gentle) pat from us when you go visit.

    Four large boxes of donations are going away. And yet, there are still plenty of clothes to fill 2 closets.

    sigh. Must remember – do not shop. Shopping is bad.
    At least not today…….

  14. Staff
    11:58 am on April 7th, 2015

    Here are Henry and Keiko in their favorite chair. The one with the comfy cushion for Dad.

  15. ALR
    11:58 am on April 7th, 2015

    Tupper’s Mama….someone will get to shop for your gently worn donated items and be so grateful!

    Boo Bear’s Mom…..that previous draconian employer will have to hire 2 to 3 people to replace you and probably run through many unqualified people along the way. Blessings to you with the new job.

    Conan…keep up the good recovery.

    Dawson and family….this difficult task WILL run it’s course. My hope is your Dad will adjust and eventually be glad for his secure and comfortable new environment.

  16. Staff
    11:59 am on April 7th, 2015

    And here is Henry in his favorite spot. The neck…

  17. Staff
    12:01 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Now I am off to play with more papers. Thinking good thoughts for Conan this morning.

  18. BARB, MAGGIE AND LUCY
    1:09 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Good news about Conan. May he continue to improve.

    Have no idea what “walking the dog” means in slang, so I am going to take time to look it up.

  19. BARB, MAGGIE AND LUCY
    1:12 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Oh brother! Tried to look it up here at the office, ansd got a giant screen that said “ACCESS DENIED DUE TO CONTENT!”. Big Brother is watching me!

  20. BooBear's Mom
    1:34 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Staff and Dawson, when my mom was hospitalized the last time and we moved Dad to an assisted living apartment, he adjusted fairly quickly…he found the cafeteria! Mr. John LOVED to eat. He would circle every item he could on the menu for the next meal. I think I had to buy a larger size pant for him every month. He then wanted to know what was taking so long to get the house ready to sell (65 years of stuff). It had become an unused asset and he wanted the money!
    He received very good care but never really joined in any of the activities. Either my sister or myself went by every day to see him, often taking him for car rides just so he had a change of pace.
    One big difference was that he was ready to move. While Mom was alive, they were content in the house, but after she was gone, he had no interest in it. If Mom had outlived Dad, we would have had battle royal to get her to move.

  21. Terry Ballard
    1:39 pm on April 7th, 2015

    A few months ago I got a contract for a book idea that I’d been pushing for years – a guide to fifty specialty libraries in New York City. I didn’t count on how much work it was to visit 50 libraries and talk with 50 directors, but it’s also a blast. Last week I went to the American Kennel Club hq and talked to their librarian/archivist. It was one of the most photogenic libraries I’d seen yet, but I was most impressed with a giant crystal sculpture in front of the reference desk with images of dogs floating inside.

  22. Siber's Mom
    2:15 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Nice Review! I hope parents find the book and buy it for their kids.

    ML, I agree with what smart plunders are already saying about letting Gary walk the dogs. Miss Macy will need a harness for this.

    Cute pictures of the Black Ones.

    Conan, Get well! I know you are anxious to get home, and your mom is just as anxious for you to be at home.

  23. Siber's Mom
    2:18 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Typo on Plunderers. I really do know how to spell it.

  24. B.Stover
    2:22 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Terry: That’s an interesting sculpture.

    I’m baking banana nut bread and it smells good.

  25. Masquers
    2:30 pm on April 7th, 2015

    DianeC: Excellent news about Conan!
    Terry: Even though the project is a lot of work, I know you are having the time of your life. Love that image!
    Is it time for spring cleaning or just time to get rid of all the crapola? So many of us are sorting, organizing, simplifying these days. Just think…someday soon we will know where everything is…and it will be like a huge weight is off our shoulders.

  26. Herd of Hounds
    3:06 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Cleaning closets, baking, walking, going to vet. We are tired just reading all the activities. perhaps a nice nap. Oh, Terry that foto of the dog sculpture is fantastic!

  27. Siber's Mom
    3:06 pm on April 7th, 2015

    I am also working on organizing and getting rid of crapola.
    Simplifying is a magic word.
    I HATE to shop so maybe more stuff won’t be brought into the house.

  28. Tupper and Gilly
    3:26 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Terry – we love the idea of your book, and have enjoyed your FB postings about it.

    It was fun bringing the clothing to donate. We backed the car up, and one of the volunteers came out to help unload. Box after box of clothes disappeared into the donation door. Once we finished, the volunteer very graciously came over, offered a hand to shake and said “so sorry for your loss”.
    We just said thank you and got in the car. It is pretty funny if you think about it – Mama was losing her clutter of clothes.

    Basil and Sage say that Henry is a suck-up and not a real Kat at all. Bet Alice agrees.

  29. BearSpiritDog
    3:33 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Nana is asking for Plunderer Prayers for her Friend and Neighbor. Larry was taken to Harborview Medical Center last month after incurring life threatening injuries while working on his motor home. She was out of town at the time of the accident and only this past weekend was able to find out the details of what had happened on that fateful day. You know when a person is transported by helicopter to Harborview that it is very serious.

    More than just a Good Neighbor, he is also a Friend. When she was rushed to the hospital 2 years ago, he was there, to help the boys, pickup the mail, keep an eye on the house and help in any way he could. In all the time he has lived across the street from her, he has never failed to see how she was doing and to ask what he could do to help. From picking up groceries in a snowstorm to driving her 50 miles for car repair to offering a shoulder to cry on he has always been there for her.

    Now it is her turn to be there for him.

  30. BARB, MAGGIE AND LUCY
    3:40 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Bear, what happened? Was it a driving accident? We will keep him in our thoughts and prayers. So sad to hear news like that about such a nice and caring person.

    T & G, Now others can enjoy all those wonderful clothes.

  31. Siber's Mom
    3:42 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Bear, Nana’s friend and neighbor will be in my prayers. Please keep us posted as to how he is doing. I am so glad you have had such a good friend and neighbor. I know Nana will be one to him now.

  32. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:46 pm on April 7th, 2015
  33. Herd of Hounds
    4:00 pm on April 7th, 2015

    BSD, we will keep Larry in our pawrayers. And you too! We also hope that T&G’s Mama’s clothes find someone who can use them. Conan is high on the list of needy along with our Diane…pawsitive energies to all.

  34. BearSpiritDog
    4:02 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Thank You All for your prayers.
    It was Not a driving accident. To the best of our knowledge, he was attempting to replace the Drive Shaft in his new-to-him Motor Home.
    It has been over a month since he was admitted to Harborview and he is still in ICU. Nana’s stay 2 years ago was only 2 weeks.
    Yes, it is very sad. He has a little dog, a Maltese, and we know they must be missing one another Something Fierce.
    We continually ask ourselves…Why do bad things happen to Good People?

  35. Herd of Hounds
    4:04 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Of course Rio is Yeeping, there are 2 OFAs in his state. Are these for WOOF or for WOOF and SAS or just SAS?

  36. Masquers
    4:09 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Riõ! Please tell me that is a partial list!

  37. Tupper and Gilly
    4:12 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Nana – prayers for your friend are being crafted by the Storyteller – we will include the info you just gave us, and be sure to mention how important he is to you.

    Rio – YEEP! We thought for a minute that OFA would be out on tour when we were there in his hometown for a show. But fortunately, the show is the weekend before he leaves. Hope he already has his bags packed so he can come visit. Hectic schedule as usual, but at least once he gets to Colorado, he can just cruise from Denver down to Castle Rock.

  38. Siber's Mom
    4:46 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Masquers, I am sure more dates will be added to the appearance list.

  39. BearSpiritDog
    4:47 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Tupper&Gilly: Nana says Thank you from Her Heart to the Storyteller. Your Prayers are Very Powerful and Special.

  40. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:51 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Bear!…What happened?…snort!…I was so busy spinning and twirling I must have missed some bad news…grunt!

  41. BearSpiritDog
    5:18 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Rio: Nana’s Neighbor was working on his newly purchased Motor Home when he had an accident which involved serious injuries.

  42. Masquers
    5:28 pm on April 7th, 2015

    On a lighter note…Did youse know today is National Beer Day?
    I myself do not partake, but Bear has been known to have a bowl or two.

  43. Masquers
    5:29 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Heh. and there really is a company called Bunny Beer!
    http://stawskiusa.com/bunnybeer/
    Here’s one description: Thumper American IPA
    Fiercely hooped and hooped again, Thumper IPA keeps on going and going.

  44. BearSpiritDog
    5:48 pm on April 7th, 2015

    I know if Larry were home he would be raising his glass in a toast.
    Nana told me she had a Dream last night where a Bottle of Champagne was being uncorked. We take this as a Good Omen.

  45. Rose-the small and meek
    5:53 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Nana, I am sending very strong prayers and healing thoughts to your friend Larry. I am also sending big love and hugs to you.

  46. BooBear
    6:04 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Prayers from Texas for Larry, Nana. Is someone watching his puppy for him? Good neighbors like that are hard to find. We are very lucky to have great neighbors too.

  47. BooBear
    6:07 pm on April 7th, 2015

    And yeah!! OFA is coming back to Houston. His appearance last year was one of the last outings Mom and Dad went to. Dad really enjoyed it.

  48. BearSpiritDog
    6:48 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Thank you for your Good Thoughts and Healing Prayers.

    Wose: Your Hugs mean so much.

    It is very difficult for Nana to look out the front window and see her neighbor’s house with the shades pulled and all his vehicles just sitting there.

    BooBear: We know it is a Wonderful Memory your mom has from that time last year. sniff.
    In answer to your question: Larry’s brother is keeping his little dog with him at his home. It is good company for Tucker because Joe has a Maltese too.

  49. B.Stover
    7:27 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Nana: I hope Larry recovers soon.

  50. Oley Howlers
    7:31 pm on April 7th, 2015

    We are sending up prayers for Larry. Any friend of Nana’s is a friend of ours.

  51. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    7:41 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Strong prayers for Nana’s friend.

  52. Rio - The Evil Pug
    9:26 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Packing!…I’m already packing my little knapsack for my trip to Castle Rock to see The Charming Mr Abrahams…snort!…Oh and that pointy headed Spencer too – if I must…sniff!

  53. Terry Ballard
    9:26 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Amen to all of those prayers…

  54. Rio - The Evil Pug
    9:27 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Rockies!…Course I am also watching the Rockies game…..Bliss!….Baseball is back and all is right with my world…chuffle!

  55. BearSpiritDog
    9:57 pm on April 7th, 2015

    We are turning in here.
    Thank You for all the Prayers.
    It means a lot to Nana.

  56. Rio - The Evil Pug
    10:05 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Nana!…Goodnight! I hope you have sweet dreams of your neighbor pal returning to full health….snorkel!

  57. Wolfie
    10:19 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Adding prayers for Larry also…

  58. ML
    10:40 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Nana, add our best wishes for your friend’s recovery.

    Boobear give your mom a big head bump in congrats for her new job.

    Deep breath Jeni and plunder on!

    Good job Amalia!

  59. Staff
    10:52 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Dawson, Mr.Fireslippers and I just played a game of cards. Just like this afternoon I was skunked. It was not as bad as this afternoon though. I was close. But, no cigar.

    grump

  60. ALR
    11:00 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Nana, your friend Larry has some mighty healing prayers headed his way and I sure send a heartfelt prayer from here. Nothing like a good friend.

  61. Rio - The Evil Pug
    11:03 pm on April 7th, 2015

    Rockies!…Kicked Brewer Butt again tonight…heh!heh!…So far they have won their first two games and tied a MLB record in hitting 12 Doubles in the opening two games…snort!snort!

  62. Siber's Mom
    11:23 pm on April 7th, 2015

    The Rockies are on top of their division! They are doing good!

    Staff, I am glad you didn’t really get skunked.

    Night All

  63. Tenzing
    1:29 am on April 8th, 2015

    What do you know?—There is a Larry shaped lump under the Quilt. The Quilt has also been tucked around Nana’s shoulders. Our strongest sled dog prayers are being offered for Larry.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia