Washington Post Review: The Dog Who Knew Too Much

If dogs could talk, they’d probably sound like Chet, narrator of The Dog Who Knew Too Much , by Spencer Quinn (Atria, $25). A robust 99-pound mixed breed, Chet enjoys Slim Jims as much as he adores Bernie Little, his partner in crime solving. In this fourth installment of Quinn’s series, Bernie and Chet search for a boy named Devin, missing from a wilderness hike. Then Bernie lands behind bars, Chet is dognapped, and they need every bit of their combined wits to crack an increasingly complex case. But no force of evil can defeat a dog who rides shotgun in a Porsche. – Kathy Blumenstock

Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, April 4th, 2012 at 8:17 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

120 Responses to “Washington Post Review: The Dog Who Knew Too Much”

  1. OleyHowlers
    8:23 am on April 4th, 2012

    Good morning Chet, Admin, Spence, and Plunderers! Excuuuuuse us…99 pounds??? Chet is a 100+ pounder and not an ounce less. Other than that, we like this review. Short, sweet, and to the point. We especially love that last sentence about Chet riding shotgun in the Porsche.

    Shiek is still under the quilt, and would appreciate anyone’s attention who wants to visit him there.

  2. B.Stover
    9:02 am on April 4th, 2012

    I hope Shiek starts to feel better.

    Good morning all.

  3. B.Stover
    9:12 am on April 4th, 2012

    Staff: Thank you for the picture of the book case. I could read it almost immediately…even though Rio gave it away in the very next post.

  4. dawson
    9:13 am on April 4th, 2012

    Good morning everyone.

    We were supposed to have a snow advisory starting at midnight last night. Luckily, they were wrong. Let the melt continue.

    OleyHowlers: 99 pounds? I wondered where she got that number from and, yes, the last sentence says it all. Healing, painfree thoughts being sent to cover Shiek.

    Hi B.Stover!

  5. OleyHowlers
    9:13 am on April 4th, 2012

    Bee, he didn’t give it away to us. We couldn’t see it for the longest time…finally got it this morning. duh

  6. Barb & Maggie
    9:14 am on April 4th, 2012

    Oley, How old is Shiek? I believe you have told us before, but can’t remember. We had two horses that were in their 30’s when they passed. Fort Lee, Kelly’s Q H gelding, and Cherokee Rose, her Appaloosa Pony. Cherokee did it all – jumped, showed in Equatation, Western Pleasure, and speed classes (loved the barrels). Bought her for $200, including saddle, when Kelly was 8 and Cherokee was 12. Best horse we ever had!

    Melanie, Gurney has 2 lettuce blends that we have used – a Salad Bowl mix, and Mesclun mix. This year we are trying the Tangy Mesclun.

  7. Rose
    9:21 am on April 4th, 2012

    Greetings All!

    Loved the review, particularly the last line. Unless Chet’s been dieting (NOT!), he’s a 100 pounder, baby!

    I liked the bookcase from last night too! Very clever.

    OH: I will be visiting the quilt, and will give Shiek tender rubs and healing prayers.

    Rebecca: Wish I could see Belle doing handstands, and walking on ber back feet!!

    Rio: I have been thinking about your friend Pepper. Have you visited lately?

    Macy?

    Good day to all, and hope everyone on the DL are feeling better.

  8. Tupper and Gilly
    9:35 am on April 4th, 2012

    Good morning all. Mama is heading out to have the snow tires taken off her car. Pretty sure we are safe from any more “winter” – snort!

    Howlers – we are sending good thoughts and wither scritches to Shiek

    Hope everyone is having a happy, healthy and peaceful day today.

  9. Barb & Maggie
    9:46 am on April 4th, 2012

    Correction for Melanie, it was Lettuce Blend seed and not Salad Bowl that we bought from Gurney.

    Hope Macy can contact us today.

    Keep Shiek under the quilt today. Is Dan able to come out of the “can” yet? That was a funny image!

  10. OleyHowlers
    9:53 am on April 4th, 2012

    Dan and Shiek in the can together was funny. Awkward conversation even funnier!

    Shiek will be 31 later this month. He and Mom have been partners for 22 years. They showed Hunter Pleasure and also she showed him in Halter classes. He won just about every time he walked into the showring for halter classes. And once Mom learned how to ride him (he was a handful), they ribboned in every performance class as well. Plus she rode him everywhere by themselves. They loved to get lost and go ‘sploring new places.

    Nowadays, Mom only rides him when the weather is optimum and when he is shed out and not having any allergy wheezing. Annie is her go-to horse now. She has had Annie since Annie was 4 months old. Annie is now 13.

    Shiek loves to have his ear scratched everybody!

  11. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    10:02 am on April 4th, 2012

    Good morning, all. Mom couldn’t sleep last night so we visited Lake Wobegone. It was fun.

  12. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:05 am on April 4th, 2012

    Rose!…I haven’t seen Pepper in ages and ages…sniff!…Seems his Maw is very busy and has been traveling for her busy-place. We haven’t been out to Peppers farm since Christmas-time…snort!

  13. BearSpiritDog
    10:08 am on April 4th, 2012

    Our favorite kind of review, short and sweet, we agree the last line is the best.

    We have given ear scratches to Shiek and tucked the quilt gently around him. Lots of healing thoughts coming his way.

    Wolfie! Love Lake Wobegone!

    Have a Good Day everyone.

  14. Rose
    10:15 am on April 4th, 2012

    Rio: I miss your Pepper adventures and pictures.

  15. OleyHowlers
    10:32 am on April 4th, 2012

    Hey Guys! Pop spent his “not-sick” day yesterday getting our place ready for Summer!!! So our patio furniture is in place which means our people will be spending lots more time outdoors with us. The patio furniture includes our 2 lounge chairs that they got for us last year. As soon as Pop got those down from the truck, Kat claimed hers!

  16. Siber-H
    10:35 am on April 4th, 2012

    I like that review and especially the last line about the Porsche. I want a Porsche, a convertable.

    Fellow Sibers, Prayers going up for Shiek.

    Rio, a relief pitcher for the Rockies injured himself while splorting. He will be on the DL for 15 days.

  17. Melanie
    10:41 am on April 4th, 2012

    Dan did come out of the “can” today, shaking his head and mumbling, “just not going to talk about it, nope.”

    Ear scritches to Shiek!

    Rehearsal and wedding hair styles? Check and check!

    Love the last sentence of the review.

  18. OleyHowlers
    10:45 am on April 4th, 2012

    Siber, Pop drives a convertible (but not a Porsche). He has never, not once, taken any of us for a ride in it. NO FAIR!

  19. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:47 am on April 4th, 2012

    Pepper!…Now I miss Pepper too!…sniffle!…I didn’t even give her a second thought until you mentioned her name…wuffle!…Pepper was in a car accident, or was it Pepper caused a car accident when she was a puppy…heh!…So her and Beau have a little something in common…snort!

  20. Mollypop's Mom
    10:49 am on April 4th, 2012

    Oleys – Kat looks so beautiful on HER lounge chair. Your farm in the background is lovely too.

  21. OleyHowlers
    10:50 am on April 4th, 2012

    Be sure to click on Kat’s picture so you can read what that stone in the lower right hand corner of the mulch says.

  22. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:53 am on April 4th, 2012

    Pepper!

  23. Masquers
    11:00 am on April 4th, 2012

    Kat! What a big girl you are now. I like the stone proclaiming: Spoiled Dogs Live Here.

    Royals: Law here in WA says no snow tires allowed after March 31st – Except for that one year when the deadline was extended to April 10 due to inclement weather.

    Hello, Pepper!

  24. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:08 am on April 4th, 2012

    SiberH!…WHA!?? … A pitcher hurt himself Splorting?…snort!..I will have to go read about this right now…grunt!scratch!

  25. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:11 am on April 4th, 2012

    True!…One of our pitchers splorted so hard he strained his oblique….wheeze!…This year is starting off in a very weird way…grunt!

  26. Rose
    11:13 am on April 4th, 2012

    OH: That is a lovely picture of Kat (and I did notice the inscription on the stone….LOL!)

    Rio: I did not mean to upset you. It’s just I got to thinking about Pepper myself. That is a very nice picture of Pepper.

  27. Rose
    11:16 am on April 4th, 2012

    Rio: Are there going to be any players left on the Rockies when your friend goes to the game? Jeez, Louise….

  28. Barb & Maggie
    11:17 am on April 4th, 2012

    Kat has grown! I’m sure none of the dogs are actually spoiled.

    Oley, Kelly showed Halter class too, forgot about that one. She was almost always in the ribbons in all classes, but usually not first. Barb heard judges say they couldn’t place a pony over a horse, which didn’t seem fair to us. Cherokee was not a beauty, like Shiek. She was cute, a grey roan, but she had that Appy head which is not as refined as an Arab. She was Kelly’s intro to showing, and was a wonderful part of her growing up. Never showed “A” shows, just little local, 4-H and county fair shows.

  29. B.Stover
    11:17 am on April 4th, 2012

    I’m wondering why there is a law that requires snow tires to be removed by a certain date. Are they hard on roads? I could understand chains being removed, but tires?

  30. Siber-H
    11:21 am on April 4th, 2012

    Rio, At least the Rockies have done pretty good in the Spring Training Standings.

    Fellow Sibers, I’m just dreaming. No way would mom let me ride in a convertible. We are not Chet.

    Two lovely ladies, Kat and Pepper.

  31. Siber-H
    11:25 am on April 4th, 2012

    Stover, You are correct, the snow tires are hard on the roads. That is why there are laws to remove them with the end of the winter season.

  32. Siber-H
    11:32 am on April 4th, 2012

    BBL sigh

  33. Tupper and Gilly
    11:34 am on April 4th, 2012

    Masquers – the snow tires out there are probably studded. We have the same rule here for studs and/or chains. But ours are just deep tread winter tires.
    ( now if the moderator wanted to go crazy, think what he could do with a post about studs and chains- tee hee)

    Howlers – Mama had a registered American Mustang that she showed for many years in Hunter and Trail classes. He always did very well, and he liked Fitting and Showmanship too ( halter class). Until one day in a particularly large, therefore loooong Fit/show class, when the judge finally got to him, he offered to “shake hands” with her – a trick Mama had taught him the winter before. The crowd loved it, the judge laughed, but Mama was so embarrassed. After the judge moved on, Mama swears she heard her horse chuckling.

  34. Mollypop's Mom
    11:35 am on April 4th, 2012

    In New York State, we can have snow tires all year, but tires with studs can only be used in the winter months. Since we live on the Canadian border, no one uses studded tires because they are illegal in Southern Ontario.

  35. OleyHowlers
    11:47 am on April 4th, 2012

    Mom is loving everyone’s show stories. She misses those days. She only showed at Arabian A-rated shows. Not because she was that good, just because that is all her barn/trainer took her to back in her starting-out days. So you can imagine how intimidating it was to her in the beginning. But she and the other competitors from that barn had some really good times away at all those shows. The first ever class she rode in was a nightmare. In the warm-up ring, a thunder storm hit, with hail coming down! She was drenched, show clothes and all. When the class finally started, Shiek almost took out the judge!

  36. B.Stover
    12:26 pm on April 4th, 2012

    I had never heard of studded tires. We just have the deep-tread tires for winter here.

  37. bluecat
    12:35 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Leo and our girl did combined training. When he was alone in a ring, he would walk the pattern. We called it Leo Dressage. And he used his jumping ability to get into a pasture where special horse grass was growing, but not yet ripe. He knocked off the top boards of two fences.

    Howlers – your farm is beautiful and Kat is way too cute.

    T&G – we’re sure your Mustang knew exactly what he was doing. Horses can be clowns when they’re bored.

  38. Snowhook Bella
    1:21 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Howlers: I call ‘not sick’ days mental health days.

    So a man, a horse and a Plunderer walk into the can…

  39. Snowhook Bella
    1:31 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Rio: Please check your SDD.

  40. OleyHowlers
    1:37 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Mom and Pop just returned from a lunch date. That does not normally happen.

    Thanks for the compliments on Kat. We love how good and dirty she is … a true farm dog! We trained her well. :)

  41. Melanie
    1:56 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Kat is truly a beautiful farm dog. And Pepper? What a headshot! Any casting director would love him.

    Dan is stuffed back under the quilt again. Having some trouble with rules and memory. And his blood pressure is up again. Related? Don’t know. Call into the doc. It is sort of difficult to convince a nurse that the PT person said you don’t have to use the walker when your daughter who was there for that conversation remembers it completely.

    Sigh …

    On the other paw, if he gets better I’m going to take him to get the compost with me later this week.

  42. C.Hobbit
    2:22 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Kat is a great looking dog!
    Rio: It is so strange, I’ve been wondering about Pepper myself and then someone else asks. Synchronicity?
    B: studded tires have to come off May 1st in Alaska; other wide-threaded snow tires do not have a deadline.
    Siber: this should cheer you up. It is still very much winter up here:
    http://todaytravel.today.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/04/04/11018989-travel-photo-of-the-day-alaskas-snow-covered-spruce

  43. Barb & Maggie
    3:07 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Paws crossed for Dan. Meantime, let’s try to keep him safely under the quilt.

    Oley, Kelly showed only 1 time in an A show, and it was a disaster. We arrived with our little, coarse looking App pony, and here were all these kids decked out in expensive clothes and tack, riding little POA’s worth thousands of dollars! It was a big ahaa moment. Kelly, of course, was ribbon-less for the day. She was in tears, and it was awful, but we made her complete the last class, which was a trail class. The pony had to stand while she opened and closed a gate while on horseback, walk thru car tires, let her pick up a gunny sack full of cans and tie it on her, go over a wood bridge, and a bunch of other obstacles. Cherokee was the only pony to complete the course, because she would do anything Kelly told her to do. She walked away with a first place, and a lot of glares. I was proud of them both.

  44. Melanie
    3:19 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Internet shopping with a card!!

    So far: Lettuce Sampler (includes Romaine, Leaf and Bib), Asparagus, 3 different Raspberries, 2 different kinds of strawberries, 1 Alden Grape and 1 Gala Dwarf Apple tree.

    I will also be doing peas, beans, squash and cucumbers. Anyone got some pumpkin seeds they want to head this way?

  45. Tupper and Gilly
    3:23 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Barb – boy did that memory take us back. But Kelly did you, herself and her pony proud by being honest, hardworking and smart. No wonder you are proud!

  46. B.Stover
    3:38 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Barb: What a great memory!

    Melanie is going to have fun this summer with her garden.

  47. OleyHowlers
    3:45 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Barb, we love that story! Good for Kelly and Cherokee and you! Those who rode in the A-rated shows Mom and Shiek went to were mostly professional trainers riding horses for their clients. Mom could never figure out what satisfaction was gotten by the clents in those cases. And, yes most of the horses Shiek competed against were big 5- and 6- figure horses. Mom’s biggest challenge was to stay on! hah hah.

    Mom and Shiek have a special song she would sing to him when they were in the showring (riding). Hopefully nobody else could hear. But when he heard that song, he would put himself into frame and be on best behavior. That boy loved to show!

  48. Barb & Maggie
    3:47 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Thank you guys, all in all, it was a good memory.

    Melanie, A couple of comments – we ordered Avalanche peas from Gurney and didn’t notice that they have a little paragraph that states that all their peas are “treated for better performance”. Well, they are pink and are coated with some sort of chemical fungicide. I try to be organic, so was not happy about that. I did plant a few, and gave the rest away. I will not order those again. Pumpkins – I have a few old pumpkin seeds from some rare varieties. They are probably 3 yrs old, but should still germinate. I will look and see what I have in the seed box, and if they still look good I will let you know.

  49. Tupper and Gilly
    4:44 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Howlers – would your mom share that song, or is it a special magic between her and Shiek?

    Bee – is your headache better?

    Still trying to come up with the finish line of Bella’s
    “A man, a horse and a Plunderer walk into the can”….

    “Looks like a full house”
    Yeah, but why don’t those Royals flush?”

  50. Masquers
    4:47 pm on April 4th, 2012

    T&G: Good one!

  51. Riö – The Evil Pug
    4:55 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Flush!…A Royal Flush?…snort!…No way.

  52. B.Stover
    5:02 pm on April 4th, 2012

    T&G: Thank you for asking. My headache is gone. Now I’m sneezing every five minutes. Mollypop’s Mom said the trees have blossomed early this year. I also think that the pollen is more potent.

  53. Barb & Maggie
    5:13 pm on April 4th, 2012

    We have some really witty people/dogs/kats on this blog!

  54. Rose
    5:38 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Hey youse guys!

    I just got home and WOOOOOHOOOO! I am the proud owner of AJs autograph!

    I’m twirling and spinning!!

  55. Rose
    5:43 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Royal Flush….That’s a good one! tee hee

  56. Masquers
    5:47 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Rose: You’re the lucky one.

  57. OleyHowlers
    5:48 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Wow, Rose!!! How’d you manage that??

    T&G, good one! ha ha!

    O.K. we can tell youse the song, but don’t laugh (at least not so loud that Mom hears youse). It is “Romeo” from the movie Flashdance.
    He looks so good all the girls stop and stare,
    but I zoom them along with my double-dog dare.
    I’m not gonna let him go. I’m not taking any chance.
    He’s a one in a million, a True Romance.
    He’s my boy. He’s my boy. He’s my boy. He’s my boy.
    He’s my Romeo.

    Try to understand that although Mom was already 31 when she fell in love with Shiek, her mental age was that of a 12-year old girl besotted with a beautiful horse.

  58. Snowhook Bella
    6:18 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Royals: I almost splorted lemonade through my nose when I read your punch line.

    Rose: You devil! I think I know how you ended up with AJs pawtograph! Any online shopping lately?

    Howlers: Our dogs have songs, too. It started with Tenzing, my first sled dog. One of his songs ins ‘Ain’t no way’ by Shania Twain.

  59. BearSpiritDog
    6:19 pm on April 4th, 2012

    I’m hearing heehaws and guffhaws from beneath the quilt. Dan and Shiek sharing stories no doubt.

  60. Rose
    6:20 pm on April 4th, 2012

    I recently sent a package to Snowhook. While I was at work the Prof took the package to the post office, with previous instructions from me that no matter what the cost, I wanted that package to get there in the shortest time possible, and I wanted signed proof that it was delivered. So, the Prof had it sent certified mail/receipt requested. Well, Snowhook got the package, and when I got home, the Prof had brought in the mail before he went to school tonight. The signed receipt was on the table and when I turned it over, it took me a few seconds before I realized in was our hero’s signature. What an honor I tell ya….An honor!!!!!!

  61. Rose
    6:25 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Aw, shucks, Rebecca,(stubbing my toe in the carpet). I was gonna tell. But I am a devil , ain’t I? What I really covet is a blow-up of THAT KISS, pawtographed by the Giant and his best damned musher’s wife. That would really be something!!!!!!

  62. Macy the Min-pin
    6:26 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Hello everybody, reporting in from “wind-blown” Texas.

    First, and apology to all who were worried about us. Let me just say that mom was in the powder room long before the storms and the rest of the day too, but it had nothing to do with the weather. AND she was not at all happy when I tried to tend to her by pouncing on her mid-section.

    The storm that hit Arlington was headed straight for us but it dissipated before it got here, thank Dog.

    No cellars or basements in most of Texas and not that many tornado shelters in the city either. The powder room is our best protection, even though Dad prefers under the stairs. It was quite unusual to have him with us, since before his “retirement” he always had to go to the command center when the weather was bad. Yesterday the city managed to sound the sirens without Dad there to issue the command.

    We CAN see the Cowboys Stadium from the hill near our house, but it is a huge space-shippy looking thing that can be seen from all over. We can only see the lights at the Ballpark. Thank Dog again that it was not damaged with opening day only hours away.
    http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/tornado.pdf
    http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/tornado.pdf

  63. Macy the Min-pin
    6:28 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Hello everybody, reporting in from “wind-blown” Texas.

    First, and apology to all who were worried about us. Let me just say that mom was in the powder room long before the storms and the rest of the day too, but it had nothing to do with the weather. AND she was not at all happy when I tried to tend to her by pouncing on her mid-section.

    The storm that hit Arlington was headed straight for us but it dissipated before it got here, thank Dog.

    No cellars or basements in most of Texas and not that many tornado shelters in the city either. The powder room is our best protection, even though Dad prefers under the stairs. It was quite unusual to have him with us, since before his “retirement” he always had to go to the command center when the weather was bad. Yesterday the city managed to sound the sirens without Dad there to issue the command.

    We CAN see the Cowboys Stadium from the hill near our house, but it is a huge space-shippy looking thing that can be seen from all over. We can only see the lights at the Ballpark. Thank Dog again that it was not damaged with opening day only hours away.
    http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/tornado.pdf

  64. Rose
    6:28 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Ahem….that should have been damned best musher’s wife!!!

    Miss Macy is up top….Macy, we miss you!

  65. Macy the Min-pin
    6:28 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Does the link take you anywhere?

  66. BearSpiritDog
    6:37 pm on April 4th, 2012

    SnowBella: That Tenzing sounds like a real character! We have been meaning to ask you…isn’t this a sherpa name? It sounds Tibetan.

    Rose: A very clever way to get a pawtograph we think.

    Hello Macy! Glad you and yours are safe and sound!!!

  67. Rose
    6:39 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Yes, Macy, it does. It is a map and the tornado location is highlighted. I’m so glad that you were spared from those horrible tornados. The news was just showing pictures of 18-wheeled trucks being lifted into the air like toys.

  68. BearSpiritDog
    6:41 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Macy: Yikes! That link shows you not too far away from where the tornado hit.

  69. Rose
    6:42 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Why, thank you Bear! I didn’t even realize that would happen until I got the receipt back.

  70. Rose
    6:44 pm on April 4th, 2012

    And Rebecca? That also means youse are one of the few who know the Prof’s first name. Mum’s the word……

  71. Siber-H
    6:47 pm on April 4th, 2012

    CHarris: That photo is beautiful. Thank You! All our snow from the snowstorm yesterday is GONE.
    There are only two good things about summer…Baseball and sunbathing.

    Bear, Tenzing Norgay was the first sherpa to climb Mt. Everest alongside Hillary. They would never say who got to the summit first.

    Macy, Glad you are safe but jealous that your baseball season starts in just a few hours. GO RANGERS!

  72. Melanie
    6:56 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Macy, Glad you’re okay and I hope your Mom’s tummy is better.
    B.Stover: Don’t sneeze your brains out.
    Youse others: I had a dog named Clara. I sang “Bicycle Built for Two” using her name.
    Patsy: I sing her the Pie song from “Michael”. Her nickname when she was a puppy was Pumpkin because her head was so big. That got put to Pumpkin Pie.
    Zoe had a song with Jamie. It had the words “reach your hands up to the sky” in it and when she sang that Jamie would sit and put her paws in the air!
    Everyone has songs here.

  73. Rose
    6:56 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Just saw this on the news…Jeez, Louise, everything is bigger in Texas. I think there may be a few of youse who would love this….

    http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/mlb-big-league-stew/26-hot-dog-texas-rangers-serve-2-foot-173601862.html

  74. BearSpiritDog
    6:57 pm on April 4th, 2012

    C.Hobbit: Just clicked on the earlier link. What a beautiful picture!
    Thanks for the reminder, Siber-H.

  75. B.Stover
    6:57 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Macy: The link took me to Mapquest….Arlington.

  76. Macy the Min-pin
    7:02 pm on April 4th, 2012
  77. Melanie
    7:04 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Well … I’m glad to see that is supposed to feed four people.

  78. Macy the Min-pin
    7:04 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Rose, lol, we saw that hotdog on TV last night. I do not think that it will be included on “Dollar Dog Night”.

  79. Rose
    7:17 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Macy, laughing here! The purchase of that hot dog would require breaking into my piggy bank, and the Prof’s too!

    I’m thinking Rio would like that hot dog, and a nice cold beer…

  80. Masquers
    7:22 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Rose: One of those dogs would feed the whole gang – Rio, Wookie, Siber & Wolfie too!

  81. Masquers
    7:29 pm on April 4th, 2012

    I wonder if Wolfie has paid off his Amex card from that last World Series splurge.

  82. Rose
    7:44 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Masquers, I see a lot of Rangers home games in the future for those boys!!!

  83. Tupper and Gilly
    7:45 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Howlers – we would never laugh about that song. We absolutely understand – any horse lover of ANY age who falls in love with that special one has all the heart flutters of that 12 year old girl.

    Mama used to know a white Arabian named FlyBoy. The last time she heard he had cut up some hi-jinx and dumped his rider, he was 37. He was a character!

    And by the way – we are trouble for our punch line. Mama says we are NOT ladylike. Aw, who cares. We’re Royal.

  84. Rose
    7:48 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Rio: Where are you? There is a hot dog in your future…

    Since the Prof says looking at the computer too close to bedtime is bad for you, I think I will say “Good night, all!”

    I still can’t believe I have AJs pawtograph!

  85. Snowhook Bella
    7:56 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Rose: Wild postal workers couldn’t drag the Prof’s name out of me.

    BSD: Tenzing is as in Norgay. I almost named him Sherpa, but it didn’t fit. I figured he and I were going to be side by side for a long time when I named him. This was just the beginning of my master plan to move to Alaska and run Iditarod. Did I mention when I got Tenzing, I thought he was a Kat? No? Perhaps a story for another time.

  86. Siber-H
    7:59 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Rose, that hot dog would be about the right size for me and Macy to share at a Rangers’ game.

  87. Melanie
    8:26 pm on April 4th, 2012

    A cat??

    Hard day. Now another talk with the PT person tomorrow. Then I’m typing up what she says and having everyone sign it. Then Dan can’t say that I wasn’t in the room during the conversation that didn’t take place.

    On the other hand, YSAS is again doing extra work for that Law show. This time? He’s a cop. He also posted a lovely dinner that his apartment gang is eating.

    Flounder tacos!

  88. Melanie
    8:32 pm on April 4th, 2012

    I am now official out of it. I found the milk in the glasses cupboard.

    TTFN

  89. BearSpiritDog
    8:32 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Yummy looking tacos.
    Which of course reminds me…it’s supper-time!

  90. Barb & Maggie
    8:39 pm on April 4th, 2012

    T & G, We loved your joke. Barb is just amazed at the wit on this here blog, because she is not that clever.

    Have Steve and Terri disappeared? Did Steve leave for Florida? I hope we haven’t scared them both away. We forget about all the inside jokes and termanology until one starts explaining it to someone new. I think we can be a bit overwhelming without trying to be.

  91. BearSpiritDog
    9:12 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Barb&Magpie: I think Steve posted yesterday.

    Well…hate to admit it…but this day has taken its toll. See all of youse tomorrow – Bear

  92. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:22 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Outside!…After two cold and dreary days we had kind of a nice day today so she made us walk and walk…sniff!…This was after we played ball and ate supper…burp!wheeze!…Now I am tired and ready to watch American Idol…snort!…We have not been keeping up with this season at all. Don’t like it much with the English guy gone….grunt!

  93. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:28 pm on April 4th, 2012

    SiberH!…Isn’t the first Rockies game this friday night?…SNORT!…The first home-opener is next Monday afternoon, but I think they have games all weekend….woooooo!weeeeeee!…Who was talking about hotdawgs and beer?…sniff!

  94. OleyHowlers
    9:34 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Whew! We just gotback from doing a bzillion things. Our Folks sat down to dinner at 9:00. Thanks for not laughing at Mom’s show song for Shiek. If you would hear her sing (anything), you would not be so kind.

    Shiek is still not eating. Seems to be a sinus infection and he isn’t smelling his food. Mom got some antibiotic powder to start him on tomorrow, but how on earth will we get him to take it when he won’t eat anything?

    Macy! That tornado was almost right on top of you!! We were so scared you would blow away and end up in Oz. the doggie on the link you pasted is so cute. We have all paws crossed that he and all the others will be found.

    Rose, what a great ploy, you autograoh hound you!

  95. Barb & Maggie
    9:34 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Glad Steve is still with us.

    Fish tacos sounded horrible the first time we heard about them, but they are actually delish! You can use tilapia or any kind of white fish. A little cilantro and lime mixed in with the sour cream is a nice touch.

    Think we are fading too. Still have to look for the pumpkin seeds, but there is plenty of time, Melanie, so will let you know.

  96. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:37 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Dude!…Phillip Phillips is still in the running…heh!…We picked him to Winnit All at the very very beginning…snorkel!…He is just now getting ready to sing…woooooo!

  97. OleyHowlers
    9:42 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Say goodnight, Howlers.

  98. Macy the Min-pin
    9:54 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Goodnight Howlers *hat tip to George Burns*

  99. Siber-H
    10:04 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Rio, I thought the first Rockies game was next Monday and I got that info from you a few days ago. We will have to look into this.

  100. Siber-H
    10:07 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Rio, ok, Maybe the Rockies are on the road. Friday Night!! That is tomorrow!!
    GO ROCKIES!!!

  101. Princess Sam
    10:11 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Just watched American Idol. There are a few who are so good – this is the best talent year yet. I have a number of favorites.

  102. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:20 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Thursday!…SiberH, you still have to live through Thursday before its Friday…heh!heh!…crap.

    Sammy!…Don’t you just love Phillip Phillips?…snorkel!…He is the best of the best I think…sneeze!

  103. Snowhook Bella
    10:30 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Baseball starts this weekend—couch cushions beware!

  104. Masquers
    10:31 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Siber: Isn’t today Wednesday? I thought I heard Bear barking when the trash guys came.

  105. Masquers
    10:32 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Gah! forgot to refresh.

  106. Siber-H
    10:34 pm on April 4th, 2012

    GAH GAH GAH It is only Wednesday.

  107. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:41 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Cushions!…The good ons will be put away for the season and the ratty-chewed-up-slobbered-on ones will be taken out for baseball…heh!sneeze!

  108. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:44 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Bath-day!….Beau took the opportunity today and washed all of his toys…snort!…He licked them all head to toe several times. This drove her mother crazy by the way…heh!heh!

  109. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    10:51 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Poor Siber!

  110. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:57 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Grandma!…Grandma always told me not to wish my life away and live one day at a time….snorkel!…Thursday will bring some good things SiberH, do not dispair…yet!…Now, if Friday never comes, then we can start to worry…wheeze!

  111. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:59 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Wolfie!….For Petes sake, get rid of that garbage in the “Website” field – the one beneath where you put your email in….grunt!….Your name is Blue like you have a website and we all know you do Not!…snort!

  112. Snowhook Bella
    11:09 pm on April 4th, 2012

    wwb.wigglemebutt.blur

  113. Siber-H
    11:09 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Grandma was right, Rio. I’ll think up fun things to do tomorrow.
    sniff

    Good Night Everyone

  114. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:20 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Rebecca!…huffle!…You should get busy and work out the new design for the Memorial Day Blow-out Extravaganza Store-Wide Sale…grunt!…Not sitting around thinking up clever names for an Non-Wolfie-Website…wheeze!

  115. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:28 pm on April 4th, 2012

    Bed!…dammit!…We told Beau we would come upstairs to bed by this time…sniff!…That little wuss, he is always ready to hit his cold hard bed way too early…grunt!…Makes me wonder just how cold and hard it really is…sniff!…Just wait till baseball really gets going..gruffle!..So now my friend and I have to go upstairs and call it a Day (Wednesday)….sniff!…Goodnight all!

  116. Staff
    12:32 am on April 5th, 2012

    Dawson, please check your SDD.

  117. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    1:44 am on April 5th, 2012

    Rio, I have tried to get rid of it. I did not put it there in the first place.

  118. bluecat
    6:50 am on April 5th, 2012

    step mother-in-law is dying
    thanks for prayer.

  119. OleyHowlers
    7:57 am on April 5th, 2012

    Bluecat…praying here for your step mother-in-law.

  120. Rose
    8:45 am on April 5th, 2012

    Bluecat: I’m so sorry to hear this news. My prayers go out to you and your step mother-in-law. I am thinking of you.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia