Very Early Review

From Examiner.com (Chicago)

To Fetch a Thief by Spencer Quinn is a non-stop rollercoaster of adventure

August 15th, 2010 11:33 am

Chet’s best story yet

To Fetch a Thief is the best Chet and Bernie mystery yet. Although it helps to have read the first two books in the series, this book can stand proudly on its own.

Die-hard Chet fans–and there are many, just visit the website–love the books for their true-to-life narration from the voice of the dog. At least, it’s how those of us who personify our dogs imagine that they think. Mystery lovers enjoy the plot with its twists and turns and, of course, some odious (and, luckily, odorous) villains.

In this mystery, Chet and Bernie follow the trail of a missing circus elephant. Along the way they learn about the elephant goad, or hook, which is used to train elephants and keep them obedient. The elephant and her trainer have disappeared, and the trail dead-ends in the middle of the desert. Even Chet, with his superior nose, cannot find Peanut.

There are animals aplenty. From Peanut the elephant to exotic snakes, baboons, and a parrot, Chet has lots of animal company on this non-stop, can’t-stop-reading mystery trek.

The first person narration (from Chet’s point of view) works so well because Quinn has nailed down the dog mannerisms, including the segues into scratching, smelling and just thinking about food (bacon, anyone?). When Chet and Bernie are separated, the story continues from Chet’s point of view. The reader is left in the dark about Bernie and what’s happening to him.

If you don’t shed a tear by the end of the story, you have no heart. Spencer Quinn, on the other hand, has a heart—a great big huge one–although he would never include such a redundancy in his writing.

It’s interesting to note that there is an elephant sanctuary in Tennessee where retired elephants can truly live out their days in peace. Also, the concept of a bond between Peanut and Chet is not solely the product of Spencer Quinn’s impressive imagination. The story Tarra and Bella, about an elephant at the sanctuary and her bond with a dog, is proof of the inter-species bond.

Pre-order your copy today. To Fetch a Thief has a release date of September 28, 2010. You can order it at Anderson’s bookshop, the Book Bin in Northbrook, or the Book Stall in Winnetka. Also, of course, through Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Borders book stores.

Share

Tags:

This entry was posted on Tuesday, August 17th, 2010 at 9:36 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

150 Responses to “Very Early Review”

  1. Kirby T. Penworthy
    4:45 am on August 17th, 2010

    C'mon Chet! You're preaching to the choir here! You don't have to sell us on your new book, because we've already got plans for it. Give us more of Astrid's case. Pretty please with bacon on top?!

  2. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    4:48 am on August 17th, 2010

    Great review, Spence!!! Congratulations! This book is going to knock Bernie and Chet into the stratosphere!!

    And did anyone notice that we were mentioned? Wow!! I am blurring with happiness!!

    I was the last one to post last night and hopefully I'll be first today. How great is that????

  3. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    4:49 am on August 17th, 2010

    Crap. Kirby beat me!!

  4. Kirby T. Penworthy
    5:00 am on August 17th, 2010

    Wolfie: I guess you're right. I was so disappointed not to read more about the case that I completely overlooked our mention. Plus I should have congratulated SQ for the great review. So, congratulations!

  5. Melanie
    5:02 am on August 17th, 2010

    Hey Wölfie and Kirby and Bernie and Chet and Admin and PSQA!

    Wow, what a review. Excellent. Just change a word or phrase here or there and it would be excelentler . (snicker) Phrase to change? At least, it’s how those of us who personify our dogs imagine that they think.

    Personify our dogs??? As someone with 10 dogs (and still one puppy) they ALL have different personalities!!

    Imagine that they think??? Patsy is capable of telling me what she thinks. Use of eyes, small woof . . . "Do you really want that egg?"

    Obvious!

    Still trying to make things pink. Have not figured that out yet.

    Anyhoo, loved ALL the comments last night.

    FLOW CHART WAS GREAT!

  6. Mollypop
    5:04 am on August 17th, 2010

    The elephant sanctuary in Tennessee got mentioned. Yea! Mom gives them money (that could be spent on my dog toys).

  7. B. Stover
    5:15 am on August 17th, 2010

    Hey everyone. Congratulations on the (very much deserved) recognition SQ/PA. (I have to admit that I'm with Kirby: I want more Astrid case. It's fun speculating, triangulating and confusing everyone……just kidding.)

    Melanie is making up words. I like it! To make letters pink use em Melanie.

  8. Riö - The Evil
    5:17 am on August 17th, 2010

    Gruff!….Here’s something the review said that we here already know, “Spencer Quinn, on the other hand, has a heart—a great big huge one…”, They forgot the pointy head part, but nailed the big heart…snort!

  9. Kirby T. Penworthy
    5:21 am on August 17th, 2010

    I guess Tennessee thought they had to make up for past transgressions! Mom listened to Sharyn McCrumb's new book, The Devil Amongst the Lawyers, and it starts out with a story about a town in Tennessee that hanged an elephant for killing a man. Mom, of course, had to research the story and it was true! The elephant — Mary — was in a circus and had just gotten a new handler. Details are a little blurry, but the elephant may have had an ear infection, and when the handler poked her with the hook, she went crazy and attacked him. They tried to shoot her, but the bullets didn't penetrate. So they ended up using a railroad crane to hang her. Not Tennessee's finest hour!

  10. Sam
    5:23 am on August 17th, 2010

    Great review!

    That reviewer somehow thinks my family is personifying me. Not true! No way!

    I rule in my house and my family has to do my bidding. I hope my people never get wind of my posts – I could get in trouble.

    To the reviewer I say, "Whatever."

  11. Barb & Maggie
    5:24 am on August 17th, 2010

    Great review, can't wait to read the book. I know we won't have the self control that Staff has, reading just a chapter a day. That was cool, giving a little recognition to us bloggers.

    And how about 148 posts yesterday! That might be a new record. Anybody keeping score?

  12. FattyKitty
    5:25 am on August 17th, 2010

    My favorite from the review: odious and odorous. Clever! And from Kirby: "Pretty please with bacon on top." Yum!

    To make things pink use the "em" tag which (I believe) stands for "emphasis." First a before the word(s). Then after.

    See you tonight when the Librarian gets off work. She'd better check on her Astrid book. Where is it?

  13. Riö - The Evil
    5:26 am on August 17th, 2010

    Wha!?…. I guess I don’t see the blog recognition part….snort!

  14. Barb & Maggie
    5:27 am on August 17th, 2010

    That story about Mary the elephant is very sad. People do such unspeakabe things!

  15. Kirby T. Penworthy
    5:28 am on August 17th, 2010

    Rio: It's this sentence — Die-hard Chet fans–and there are many, just visit the website–love the books for their true-to-life narration from the voice of the dog.

  16. Macy the Min Pin
    5:33 am on August 17th, 2010

    Rio, we only get a tiny mention, so you have to look hard.

    Thanks to all of you for your kind words for Grandma's Kat. Mom things are brighter today, not just because today it is not raining Kats and us like yesterday. Blue skies and mountains all around. It sounds pretty, but I will just wait for the pictures. Good days for everyone. If our Angie leaves the computer on I might be able to come back tonight.

    High four, y'all.

  17. Kirby T. Penworthy
    5:38 am on August 17th, 2010

    Fatty Kitty: I hope the Librarian gets her book today. Mom finished reading DTRH on her vacation, and she loved it! So now she has requested the second Ingrid book. Plus, she's resolved to reread the complete Sherlock Holmes book. She read it in junior high, and still remembers the page count — 1,122 pages! That was a loooong book back then. Still is!

  18. dawson
    5:38 am on August 17th, 2010

    Never, I repeat, neverleave the bathwater running while you go to "check the blog".

  19. Riö - The Evil
    5:39 am on August 17th, 2010

    Die Hard Fans!…That’s us for sure!…snort!… We may have to pick up our triangulation speculation causing obfuscation where we left off yesterday!… grunt!

  20. dawson
    5:39 am on August 17th, 2010

    (I still need practice on these XHTML thingees.)

  21. Riö - The Evil
    5:41 am on August 17th, 2010

    Dawson!…. I’m on the floor laughing!…snort!…And I never laugh!…heh!

  22. Kirby T. Penworthy
    5:42 am on August 17th, 2010

    Dawson: Oh dear! Is your house flooded? My Aunt Peggy's basement flooded last week when Mom and Dad were there — lots of rain in Iowa! So now my aunt and uncle need a new furnace/air conditioner and a new water heater. I guess that'll mean fewer treats for their dog, Sophie! Maybe I'll let Mom and Dad send her some of mine…and then again….

  23. Macy the Min Pin
    5:49 am on August 17th, 2010

    Did anyone ever find the page with the quilt pic? Mom wants to show it to Grandma, and she says the hotel computer kicks her off after 30 minutes, so she can't spend much time looking. I could not believe that she left her laptop at home, but Dad said something about getting her nose out of cyberspace and looking at the real scenery, what ever that means. I have never seen her nose anywhere but right where it belongs. huh

  24. Kirby T. Penworthy
    6:09 am on August 17th, 2010

    Macy: Try the "Life" posting from Aug. 10 at 4:30. Staff posted what she had at that point, although some squares have been added since then. Because I was in the kennel after that, I didn't get to read a lot of the blog, but I don't remember seeing anything after that.

    Oh, and I didn't say it last night, but I'm sorry about your grandma's kat. One of ours went over the rainbow bridge a few years ago and it was very sad.

    And I'd thank you for your sympathy for my Angels, but your sorrow is very suspect, you Ranger fan!

  25. Barb & Maggie
    6:18 am on August 17th, 2010

    Speaking of flooding, we had a nearby town that was hit hard. My groomer lives there and she said the water was waist hign on the first floor of her house. All the cabinets, drywall, flooring were wrecked, plus all the mechanical stuff. They are living with friends while they try to get it cleaned up and save some money to fix it, 'cause insurance doesn't cover flooding (unless it is from a bathtub).

  26. Melanie
    6:22 am on August 17th, 2010

    HOW DO YOU DO THE PINK?

    Okay, woman on phone with a mission. Got all the damn tests and new doc appointments made! And I learned how to make a √ mark.

    Can't do pink but I can √√√√√√√

    Macy, it's difficult enough to lose loved ones when you are with them, but having to make that decision over the phone is triple tough.

    Dan is doing physically better. Mentally though? We think it's because he is bored. He complained he couldn't read and then we found out he was wearing Zoë's old glasses and gave him his. He was convinced he had the right glasses until he put on his and now he can read.

    Also we can't let him make appointments anymore. He forgets when the VA nurse, or PT or aide has called or the time they said they were coming. Then he gets very obsessive.

    I have to say if there's one thing this family can do well is obsess. I have a little song I sing when I start.

    We figure in around 2 weeks his going to be strong enough to be up and around and his memory will come back.

    One more shout. . .

    DAWSON, TELL US THE HATCHET STORY!

  27. Melanie
    6:23 am on August 17th, 2010

    MagPie, If the tub got flooded wouldn't that count?

  28. Melanie
    6:24 am on August 17th, 2010

    Dawson, In the midst of puppy madness, Zoë went out to fill the water buckets for the big Pack. That was at 6 pm. We turned the water off at 7 am.

    At least it was the backyard.

  29. Kirby T. Penworthy
    6:31 am on August 17th, 2010

    Barb and Maggie: My aunt and uncle are lucky because they have a small rental home behind their house — it's not rented out, so at least they have a place to stay until their house gets fixed. But it's only one bedroom, so my grandpa — who lives in the main house with them — had to move in with his sister. My aunt and uncle don't have flood insurance either. They live on a high piece of land and have never had any problems before — even during the flood of '93. But this time all the storm drains were full, so the water came up through the drain in their basement.

    After the water got pumped out of the basement, my dad and boy spent a morning cleaning out the wet stuff from the basement. Dad wouldn't let Mom help because she has allergies and he was afraid there would be mold spores that would be bad for her. But he said it was a real yucky mess down there.

  30. Chet The Dog
    6:39 am on August 17th, 2010

    From Admin: Tomorrow, unless someone forgets, we'll post information re the signed copies and how to get them. Thanks to Nick and David at Atria.

  31. Barb & Maggie
    6:42 am on August 17th, 2010

    OK guys, I'll let you in on a little secret….in Barb's former life she was an insurance agent for 20 years. That was before she moved to the country and before I was born.

    So she says, water coming in from outside and entering the house (flooding) is not covered by home insurance. What is covered is water coming out of a dishwasher, water heater, and a bathtub. Also if a tree knocks a hole in the house and rain damage occurs, that is also covered.

    If you have an endorsement for "sump pump failure or sewer backup" then water coming in thru the drain would be covered. Most companies charge extra for that, or exclude it.

    One can purchase flood insurance from a couple of national agencies, but most people don't carry it unless they are in a flood zone and then their mortgage company will require it as long as they have a loan on the home.

  32. staff
    6:49 am on August 17th, 2010

    Good news from Admin. I have been waiting for the info and not pre-ordering just because.

    Here is today's version of the quilt. I am not happy with the top row so that will probably still change. Those diamond shapes just draw the eye right to them…humphhhh. Hard to work around that.

    Anyway hope this keeps you busy looking for your blocks.

    Staff

    [img ]http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/1282060171-today's quilt.jpg[/img]

  33. Kirby T. Penworthy
    6:50 am on August 17th, 2010

    Barb and Maggie: My aunt was hoping that since they hadn't flooded from the rain itself they would be covered. But she talked to her insurance agent and he said no, so I guess they didn't have that sewer backup thing. There's rain in the forecast still, so she's worried that if they fix everything it'll happen again. She asked about getting flood insurance now, but was told that once they get it, it would take 10 days to go into effect. I'm not sure the rain will hold off that long!

  34. staff
    6:51 am on August 17th, 2010

    Hey…the photo didn't work. Trying again.

    [img ]http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/1282060254-today's quilt.jpg[/img]

  35. Gus and BooBear
    6:54 am on August 17th, 2010

    Oh, boy!! A great review and tomorrow news on how to get our signed copies!! It's hard to believe book 3 could be better than 1 and 2 but that's what the reviewer said. Only 7 weeks to wait!

  36. B. Stover
    6:55 am on August 17th, 2010

    Melanie: Up above I mentioned this: For PINK letters us em.

  37. Gus and BooBear
    6:57 am on August 17th, 2010

    Try again, Staff. We are working with an Iphone here!

  38. dawson
    6:57 am on August 17th, 2010

    Melanie: I'll tell you the cast iron frying pan story instead of the hatchet story because, if there is one thing I've taught the indigenous people around here, it is: Don't give white women a hatchet!

    At a Petitot River Gathering the indigenous peoples have games and contests, one of which is the frying pan throw. Seems easy, right? I had it figured I could gain a few yards if I spun around a few times like the shot putters do in the Olympics. I forgot to factor in the getting dizzy part and when I let go the frying pan went way to the left forcing several on-lookers to scramble out of the way and I stumbled and fell over. This inspired lots of laughter and shouts of "Let her try again".

    Now, I didn't want a second chance, but the crowd all insisted so I complied, this time adopting a traditional stance: feet apart, frying pan in both hands swinging between the legs in preparation for an underhand throw and … the release. The pan went straight up, flipped over once and came straight back down, forcing me to jump back, landing about a foot ahead of me.

    The on-lookers were by then in tears and thinking I was part of the entertainment, clapping for round three. Luckily, one of the elders in my charge needed some assistance so I was spared.

  39. staff
    7:05 am on August 17th, 2010
  40. staff
    7:05 am on August 17th, 2010

    Ok, that's it! I am going to have some lunch.

    Staff

  41. staff
    7:08 am on August 17th, 2010
  42. staff
    7:10 am on August 17th, 2010

    Oh thank Dog!

  43. dawson
    7:14 am on August 17th, 2010

    Wow! The quilt looks Dogtastic!

  44. B. Stover
    7:14 am on August 17th, 2010

    Staff: If one or two of the missing blocks could be placed on the quilt in the diamond shape, that might balance things out. Just a thought.

  45. Kirby T. Penworthy
    7:15 am on August 17th, 2010

    Wow, Staff! It looks great!

  46. B. Stover
    7:16 am on August 17th, 2010

    MELANIE: My earlier message should have said, to make pink letters use em.

  47. Siberian Husky
    7:24 am on August 17th, 2010

    Thanks for the info, Chet, and congratulations on the great review!!!! The best Chet and Bernie book yet! It doesn't get any better than this. I'm going to have to get mom an extra box of tissues, aren't I?

    I don't go to other authors' websites, but I wonder if fans visit on them as much as we do. Animals are the very best way to bring people together.

    Speaking of dogs bringing people together, my mom is going out to lunch today with some of her two-legged friends from the dog park. WHAT ABOUT US DOGS? These ladies wouldn't even know each other if it weren't for us dogs. Next time, it should be us dogs going out to lunch. Mom can drive us.

  48. Riö - The Evil
    7:32 am on August 17th, 2010

    Quilt!… It has an “Emperor’s Clothes” type of feel about it….snort!… I don’t see any photo at all!… hey!

  49. Siberian Husky
    7:33 am on August 17th, 2010

    It doesn't work for me either, Rio, and Staff's technology always works for me. Some of us are seeing it.

  50. Siberian Husky
    7:35 am on August 17th, 2010

    That's a funny story, Dawson. I enjoyed it, but I don't think my mom should try it with the frying pan in the back yard.

  51. Riö - The Evil
    7:40 am on August 17th, 2010

    SiberH!… I want to go to lunch too!… snort!…Especially since I Can’t See The Quilt!!

  52. Barb & Maggie
    7:41 am on August 17th, 2010

    Dawson, we loved your story, it is LOL funny.

    We also can not see the quilt, and couldn't refresh either. Had to close and then come back in.

    Tried to post before and that didn't work either.

  53. Siberian Husky
    7:45 am on August 17th, 2010

    Ok, Rio, I just logged off Bing, which I was using and went to internet explorer, and I can see the quilt now.! It looks great staff! We love it! Rio and I are still together there at the bottom.

  54. Siberian Husky
    7:47 am on August 17th, 2010

    That would be so much fun if you could come Rio!! By using internet explorer, I had to sign in to the site again…Chet's website didn't know who I was.

  55. Gus and BooBear
    7:48 am on August 17th, 2010

    Gotta love Alaska! When Mom and Dad went there on vacation they came back ready to move there! Of course they went in June and had great weather the whole time!

  56. Riö - The Evil
    7:53 am on August 17th, 2010

    Staff!…I can see the quilt now, but we need to have a discussion please… snort! …. Check your email in a few minutes….grunt!

  57. Gus and BooBear
    7:54 am on August 17th, 2010

    Quilt looks fantastic!!! We can't believe how much you guys have done in this amount of time!! Extra kudos to Staff and Wookies mom for helping out those of us not creative! I bet SQ/PA will love it.

  58. Barb & Maggie
    7:58 am on August 17th, 2010

    wE ARE USING INTERNET EXPLORER AND STILL CAN'T SEE IT. DARN!

  59. Melanie
    8:08 am on August 17th, 2010

    It's beautiful Staff and Wöökie!

    Thanks, B. Stover!

    Can't wait until tomorrow!

  60. Melanie
    8:10 am on August 17th, 2010

    Oh and Dawson?

    Some how that sounds a lot like something I would do!!

    My guys learned how to really dive for and away from the baseballs when I'd practice with them!!

  61. Riö - The Evil
    8:14 am on August 17th, 2010

    MagPie!… Right click on the rectangle with the name of the quilt photo in it….snort!.. Then click “Show Picture”…. grunt!…Thats what I had to do…..grump!

  62. Barb & Maggie
    8:35 am on August 17th, 2010

    We don't have a rectangle to click on.

  63. Wölfie Wigglebu
    8:36 am on August 17th, 2010

    I just hope nothing bad happens to Peanut!!! I love Peanut already and I haven't even met her!!

  64. Siberian Husky
    8:40 am on August 17th, 2010

    Maggie, when this has happened to me before, I didn't have a rectangle either…the one Rio said to click on.

  65. Barb & Maggie
    8:41 am on August 17th, 2010

    We clicked in the black space where the quilt was supposed to be, then clicked on show picture, and then suddenly it was there. Thanks, Rio.

    The quilt is fabulous, Staff. Priceless!

    Can't wait for the details on book ordering. We are excited!

  66. Kirby T. Penworthy
    8:52 am on August 17th, 2010

    Mom just called the library and asked about getting Sept. 4 off. It doesn't look like anyone else has requested it, so she did. Now it just needs to be approved by her branch manager. Keep your paws crossed that she'll be able to see PA/SQ when they get to Georgia!

  67. staff
    8:54 am on August 17th, 2010
  68. Kirby T. Penworthy
    8:56 am on August 17th, 2010

    Hey Chet! Mom wants to go to Decatur, Ga., to see Spence. The only problem is that the book festival is Sept. 4, but To Fetch a Thief isn't due for release until Sept. 28. Any chance he'll have an early copy on hand? Pretty please with bacon on top?!

  69. staff
    8:58 am on August 17th, 2010

    Now I need a nap as I am going to go visit my quilting buddies tonight. So further quilt revelations will have to wait.

    Staff

  70. Kirby T. Penworthy
    9:03 am on August 17th, 2010

    Staff: It looks even greater than before. I hate to admit it — I really, really hate to admit it — but Rio's suggestions seem to have worked. The two "on point" squares in the middle work well together. I'm sure Rio will be insufferable now!

  71. Riö - The Evil
    9:10 am on August 17th, 2010

    Nope!… Staff misunderstood me and I have sent her a correcting Email… grunt!… After she wakes up I hope she will try my suggestion!… snort!

    Plunder On!…Should be centered on the first row not be down below by the other diamond shape….drat!

  72. Siberian Husky
    9:16 am on August 17th, 2010

    Yes, that works good, Staff and Rio. We are very pleased and appreciative.

    Kirby, if your mom can't get an early copy of To Fetch a Thief in Decatur, maybe she could take Chet's first two books for Spence to sign.

  73. Melanie
    9:23 am on August 17th, 2010

    Dawson, told Zoë your frying pan story. She loved it and said that sounded just like something she would do.

    I guess I get my athletic ability from my mom!

  74. Kirby T. Penworthy
    9:29 am on August 17th, 2010

    Rio: I like the two diamond shapes together — I think the quilt is more dramatic that way! Plus, the way it is now, if you kind of blur your eyes, there's a big "T" down the middle. For some reason, I kind of like that!

    SiberH: Mom figured she could get some earlier Echo Falls and Chet & Bernie books autographed, but if she has to drive five hours — into Georgia, no less! — it sure would be nice if she could get the new book, too! (So near, and yet so far!!! What's 24 days??? Not even a month!)

  75. Gus and BooBear
    9:30 am on August 17th, 2010

    We agree the updated quilt layout looks even better. We're sure that the final layout will be perfect.

  76. Riö - The Evil
    9:34 am on August 17th, 2010

    Kirby!… You know I like Diamonds, but on this quilt it is too much together….grunt!… Once Staff wakes up maybe she will have time to read my email and try something else…. Snort!… If not there is always tomorrow and maybe by then Molly and Sammie’s squares will be at the post office… wheeze!

    Rockie!.. I better tell Rockie to be On Alert!…sniff!…Those smelly Goats might try something today!… sneeze!

  77. FattyKitty
    10:45 am on August 17th, 2010

    I prefer the motto in the middle. However, I bow to She Who Understands Cats.

  78. Mollypop
    10:52 am on August 17th, 2010

    Sam's quilt square is promised to be delivered by 3 p.m. Let's not get her Girl conniping again. They just got her settled down. Sam's Girl is a teenager, so you know how melodramatic they can be. Hey – Rio must be a teenager too! Heh!

  79. Riö - The Evil
    10:54 am on August 17th, 2010

    Grunt!…What does it mean when your paws itch?….grrrrr!… I can only reach my front two… snag!

    Molly!… Sure! I will be a teenager again… heh!… How did you deduce that I must be a teenager?

  80. Riö - The Evil
    11:00 am on August 17th, 2010

    Oh!… I see what you are trying to be funny about… snort!

  81. B. Stover
    11:09 am on August 17th, 2010

    Rio: "By the pricking of my thumbs something wicked this way comes" (Macbeth). Perhaps itchy paws are similar? Just kidding, just kidding……

  82. Riö - The Evil
    11:19 am on August 17th, 2010

    Snort!….”My words fly up, my thoughts remain below: Words without thoughts never to heaven go.” (Hamlet)….grunt!

  83. Barb & Maggie
    11:44 am on August 17th, 2010

    This is certainly a literate group. Quoting Shakespeare now!

  84. B. Stover
    11:47 am on August 17th, 2010

    We've quoted two very wicked Shakespearean characters…..

  85. B. Stover
    11:49 am on August 17th, 2010

    Shoot….I forgot to put Macbeth in italics above…..

  86. Barb & Maggie
    11:53 am on August 17th, 2010

    Here is one I like: How now? A RAT? Dead for a ducat, dead! Hamlet, by The MagPie

  87. Riö - The Evil
    12:08 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Snort!…heh!…Perfect for MagPie the Ratter!…snicker!

  88. B. Stover
    12:17 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Here's my favorite: "Life…is a tale/Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,/Signifying nothing" ( Macbeth ).

  89. Siberian Husky
    12:24 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Rio, itchy paws can be a sign of allergies in dogs…very common.

  90. dawson
    12:26 pm on August 17th, 2010

    B.Stover: That's my favorite too! Here's my second favorite: "How now, brown cow?" It's not Shakespeare though. (uncontrollable laughter)

  91. Riö - The Evil
    12:31 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Chet!… Here’s one for the big guy, “A hit, a very palpable hit” (Hamlet)… snort!

  92. Riö - The Evil
    12:32 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Dawson!… Heh!…Two times in one day! I didn’t think it was possible!… heh!heh!…snort!

  93. B. Stover
    12:40 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Groan.

  94. Sam
    12:42 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Good news, the guy from Buffalo here, who was going to cook his cat, didn't show up for court today and now there's a warrant for his arrest. I'd say now his goose is cooked.

  95. Kirby T. Penworthy
    12:50 pm on August 17th, 2010

    As long as we're quoting: "Jocularity, jocularity!" Father Mulcahy, M*A*S*H.

  96. Barb & Maggie
    1:03 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Sammie, Better his goose than his kat! Hope they find the nit wit. Slap some marinade on him, see how he likes it.

    Well, Staff is going out tonight with her two legged friends, and so is Barb. She says she is shutting the computer down while she is gone, so I will be SOL.

    By the way, in DRH Ingrid is chatting with her friends and she types :). Please tell me what that means. Dawson had to explain BBL, so I hope this is not another dumb question.

  97. Melanie
    1:04 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Well, Sam, at least it isn't his cat.

    Dogberry: But masters, remember that I am an ass: though it be not written down, yet forget not that I am an ass.

    Just had to join in. .

  98. Melanie
    1:05 pm on August 17th, 2010

    She types smiley face?

  99. Barb & Maggie
    1:05 pm on August 17th, 2010

    OK, it didn't show up. She typed a colon and a ). Explain why it didnt show up, please.

  100. Barb & Maggie
    1:08 pm on August 17th, 2010

    OK, now I get it. When my post first appeared there was a blank. By the time I uploaded the 2nd one, the smiley face was there. duh!

  101. B. Stover
    1:18 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Barb&Maggie: No question is dumb. What does SOL mean?

  102. B. Stover
    1:24 pm on August 17th, 2010

    "Comparisons are odorous" (Dogberry).

  103. Barb & Maggie
    1:27 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Oh Stover, Your heart is too pure! I bet Rio knows. It means S*** Out of Luck. A lot of people just say "Guess I am SOL" rather than saying all the words.

    Our governor is now SOL because he in a convicted felon as of today.

  104. Melanie
    1:35 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Dogberry: "Are you good men and true?"

  105. Melanie
    1:39 pm on August 17th, 2010

    And I think that a Pompey (one of YSAS's roles) quote would fit yesterday's search for enlightenment . . .

    "Groping for trouts in a peculiar river."

  106. Barb & Maggie
    1:42 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Gosh, Melanie, you are putting us to shame! :)

  107. Melanie
    1:46 pm on August 17th, 2010

    YSAS has been doing Shakespeare since he was 13! Guess who helped him with lines?

  108. Barb & Maggie
    1:57 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Hate to leave such stimulating company, but Barb is putting the computer in lockdown while she goes out to dinner. Maybe she'll at lease bring me a doggy bag! Maggie, over and out.

  109. B. Stover
    2:00 pm on August 17th, 2010

    I like that one Melanie. What is it from?

    Thank you Barb&Maggie.

  110. Melanie
    2:43 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Pompey was a clown in Shakespeare's Measure for Measure

    I know it's early, but had a difficult day. Always nice to check into the "real" life of Chet's blog!

    Read up on things tomorrow.

  111. Joe Erickson
    3:01 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Congratulations on the great review!! I can hardly wait for Sept 28th, looking forward to reading Chet's next adventure!!

  112. B. Stover
    3:18 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Welcome Joe Erickson.

  113. Wölfie Wigglebu
    3:19 pm on August 17th, 2010

    "Beware the Ides of March" from Julius Caesar.

    PS Welcome Joe!! We are too.

  114. dawson
    3:22 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Hi Joe Erickson: How's BJ and Bailey doing? The new book is rumored to be the best yet. Oh boy!

  115. Macy the Min Pin
    3:25 pm on August 17th, 2010

    We think the plunder square should be in the middle. One question: how many pugs do we have on this blog. There certainly seem to be a lot of them on the quilt.

    Mom called to say they are back from Red River, Angel Fire and Eagles Nest and are now hanging around the hotel lobby waiting for time to go to dinner, but the complementary chips and salsa in the lobby may make dinner a moot point. Not sure was that is but it makes dinner sound kind of disgusting!

    Our Angie is taking good care of us, but I want my Mom and Pops back. Without them I don't get the proper amount of "princess time" that I am accustomed to. hmff

  116. Jasper the Poodle
    4:16 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Anyone else get a mental picture of the frog choir in Harry Potter when reading the "something wicked this way comes" quote? Heh, heh, heh.

  117. Jasper the Poodle
    4:17 pm on August 17th, 2010

    My mom said that I must tell you that wearing the bite guard last night was amazingly easy and she has virtually no pain today. Guess she is a closet teeth grinder after all.

  118. B. Stover
    4:23 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Jasper: I'm glad that she is pain-free. Wasn't there a "wierd sisters" singing group in Harry Potter?

  119. dawson
    4:25 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Jasper: I'm glad that most of the the pain is gone. Toothaches are the one of the worst sorts of pain.

    See y'all in the morning.

  120. Riö - The Evil
    4:40 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Gasp!…Someone had to stop and see Grandma without me tonight after the busy place… snort!… Grandma fell last night and is mighty sore and a little weepy but no broken bones, thank goodness!… sniff!… So I didn’t get my dinner till really late and then we had company. One of her best friends came by and cheered my friend up because she was in a really bad mood. Thank goodness for that too!… Wooo!… Everything is back to normal and the Rockies start in just a little while!… snort!…What the hell's been going on around this joint?? …sniff!

  121. Riö - The Evil
    4:43 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Hmmmphf!….Who is this Joe Erickson?…grump!…Seems like Dawson knows all about him… snort

  122. B. Stover
    4:54 pm on August 17th, 2010

    We'll have to ask Dawson tomorrow. Hope everything is okay with your friend's grandmother Rio.

  123. Riö - The Evil
    5:07 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Hmmm!… Here’s me thinking “odorous” means smelly!… snort!…Speaking of smelly, I wonder it that Mannie Ramirez is on the roster tonight… grump!

  124. B. Stover
    5:09 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Dogberry always used the wrong words.

  125. dawson
    5:15 pm on August 17th, 2010

    I don't know Joe. :) I just look at the Friends of Chet section occasionally and BJ and Bailey are two good looking Iggy type dogs.

  126. dawson
    5:17 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Joe Erickson is their "sponsor". Hope I didn't scare him away.

  127. B. Stover
    5:20 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Have fun watching baseball everyone.

  128. Siberian Husky
    5:23 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Ramirez isn't in the lineup. I read that the will most likely be put on waivers soon.

  129. Siberian Husky
    5:24 pm on August 17th, 2010

    that's he not the

  130. Riö - The Evil
    5:29 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Night-night!… Stover sleep tight!… snort!… Hopefully some more on the Astrid case tomorrow! … Then we can do some Triangulation speculation! …Woooo!

  131. Riö - The Evil
    5:54 pm on August 17th, 2010

    SiberH!…Are you staying up for this whole game tonight?…. snort!… Us neither, we will go as long as we can, but a busy day (again) for someone tomorrow and I go to bed when she goes… heh!

  132. Gus & BooBear
    6:01 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Wow, interesting posts all day long. Are all of you English teachers or librarians along with B.Stover? We just read for fun! And nothing is more fun than Chet.

  133. Siberian Husky
    6:03 pm on August 17th, 2010

    We won't make it to the end of the game either, Rio. It started so late.

    Oh gawd…a skunk just got a cat outside, not far from the open window. We heard the cat making cat noises and smelled it at the same time. Mom wishes the cat had murdered the skunk, but we don't think that happened unless mom finds a skunk body in the front yard tomorrow.

  134. Siberian Husky
    6:06 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Gus and BooBear, We do have teachers and librarians here. That wouldn't be me or mom. We just read for fun, too.

  135. Riö - The Evil
    6:11 pm on August 17th, 2010

    SOL!… heh! Stover didn’t know what SOL meant… snort!… Is she the most wonderful person or what? …sloppy-pug-kiss!… Maybe now she will start using it in her classroom. I can just see her front of a bunch of students saying, “And you will be SOL if this essay is not turned in on time!”…. heh!… “You will be on my SOL list if you do not memorize the whole Oxford Dictionary by the end of this term!” ….grunt!… This could be a whole new learning tool for her to use on her students (all of whom know what SOL means!)…heh!

  136. Riö - The Evil
    6:14 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Puss N’ Boots!… I’m a Pug… snort!…And Proud Of It!…grunt!

  137. FattyKitty
    6:18 pm on August 17th, 2010

    I'm surprised no one mentioned this one from Hamlet:

    Let Hercules himself do what he may,

    The cat will mew, and dog will have his day.

    I just mew. You dogs get days. Harumph. Oh well, Shakespeare didn't know everything.

  138. FattyKitty
    6:21 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Ho ho, Rio has his *evil* teaching methodology down >^..^<

  139. Siberian Husky
    6:21 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Yeah FK, but you cats get Staff.

  140. FattyKitty
    6:23 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Yes. Well. Of course we do.

    However, I sometimes wonder about that. Are dogs trained or is it the humans who really end up being trained? It's debatable.

  141. Riö - The Evil
    6:25 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Fatty!… Hath wafted in!…snort!… Were Ghosts big in Hamlet? …cough!…”Murder most foul, as in the best it is; But this most foul, strange and unnatural.”… Hi Fatty!…heh!

  142. Siberian Husky
    6:27 pm on August 17th, 2010

    FK, my mom would agree with you..it's debatable. Me, I'm not saying a word about that subject.

  143. FattyKitty
    6:27 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Yawwwwn. It really is time for a nap. Besides, we are listening to a book and when we're done with it, we're going to listen to Down the Rabbit Hole. Meeooowwwww!

  144. Riö - The Evil
    6:33 pm on August 17th, 2010

    SiberH!… I wish you could see Eric Young’s face when he is up to bat!… snort!… He is so Determined that he looks comical…heh!

  145. Siberian Husky
    6:34 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Us too, we are turning in. So far, so good for the Rockies. I get nervous when they go on the road.

    Good Night Friends!!!

  146. Siberian Husky
    6:37 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Oh boy, I wish I could see it too, Rio. At least I get to see some video the next day on the Rockies website. Mom tells me I need to be thankful for the little things in life. Stupid MLB and their blackouts.

  147. Riö - The Evil
    6:37 pm on August 17th, 2010

    SiberH!… It is still Early pal!…grunt!… dammit! All alone again..sniff!

  148. Siberian Husky
    6:41 pm on August 17th, 2010

    Rio, it is actually getting kinda late, and your friend has a busy day tomorrow. Too bad the humans can't do like us and nap when needed.

  149. Riö - The Evil
    6:59 pm on August 17th, 2010

    SiberH!…Sometimes my friend does not use good judgment regarding Time and the consequences of staying up too late….grunt!

    Crap!… But because the Dodgers are clobbering the Rockies right now, she is opting to go to bed… snort!… Good night all! Sleep tight! … heh!

  150. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    9:07 pm on August 17th, 2010

    And don't let the bedbugs bite!!

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia