Very Early Press Review From The Barnstable Patriot: The Dog Who Knew Too Much

There’s been a bunch of what I might call “dog things” in the media lately. First there was a TV documentary about scientists who are studying up on just how smart dogs really are – in fact, they’re smarter, or maybe more simpatico, than many of us had thought previously. They understand our cues and learn the meanings of our words better than many animals with a higher “intelligence” quotient. Then came a long article in a well-known literary magazine that discussed some of the same from a different angle, focusing on what qualities made dogs as a species diverge from wolves and make their homes among humans, and just what kinds of intelligence this affinity may have encouraged or spawned.

Frankly, I think a good plan for these science types might be for them to just lay down their research and pick up one of the books in Spencer Quinn’s delightful and insightful “Chet and Bernie” mystery series, and be done with the guesswork. Chet, the duo’s canine partner, narrates each book with doggie gusto, lending his singular methodology to this unique crime-solving team and living in each moment (we envy him), with few muddy introspections to mess up his mind or divert him from the case at hand. Unless it is possibly the smell of bacon and eggs, or a Hebrew National hot dog, wafting along on the breeze.

In their latest adventure, The Dog Who Knew Too Much, man and dog set out to look for a boy who’s gone missing from a wilderness camp. They run into some rough terrain, including drugs; a shifty local sheriff; a conniving judge who wears slippers with rawhide laces (Chet’s favorite); some murders in an old mine; and an old miner type and his mule, Rummy, who are straight out of Central Casting. Worst of all, Bernie is thrown into an unfriendly lockup, and it’s up to Chet, who slides – or maybe leaps – through the clutches of some nasty captors, to find a way back to his master.

Sometimes Chet tries to remember a past action, as when he’s faced with two facts and tries to connect them. “Some thought about that … started taking shape in my mind and then collapsed, kind of like a bridge in a war movie Bernie and I like, name escaping me at the moment.”  We’ve all had that kind of connection collapse, but in Chet’s case, he doesn’t let the lapse bother him, just moves past it without regret. Bernie does the interviews; Chet smells the smells and hears the snaps in the bushes long before his human companion does. When confronting a “perp,” Bernie uses a kind of lopsided wile, and Chet uses his teeth (bared of course). This dog makes wonderful word connections, some hilariously off the mark, but his instinct for nabbing the bad guys is right on target. The pair’s separate skills make them a funny and surprisingly successful team. Who’s in charge here? Hard to say. One young boy asks Bernie, “Chet helps you in your work?” [the boy] said. “More the other way,” said Bernie.

Author Quinn, aka best-selling author (and Cape Codder) Peter Abrahams, interprets and then elaborates on the dog-human bond with skill and inventiveness, and throws a tasty bone to his readers for the next book: Who is that Chet look-alike dog that briefly appears late in the story? Stay tuned! – Barbara Clark

Attention Brewski’s human companion: send your mailing address to spence.quinn@gmail.com and a signed copy of To Fetch A Thief will be winging your way.

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Friday, September 2nd, 2011 at 8:29 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

148 Responses to “Very Early Press Review From The Barnstable Patriot: The Dog Who Knew Too Much”

  1. Kirby T. Penworthy
    8:39 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Good morning, y’all! I almost think this is The Reviewer Who Knew Too Much. No spoilers, exactly, but perhaps more plot than I care to know!

  2. Jasper the Poodle
    8:39 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Morning darling Plunderers. So enjoying having my mom home today…something about a long weekend. IDK nothing about weekends, I just know how much I love being home with my mom and not having to be in the kitchen behind that dratted plastic gate thing.

  3. Kirby T. Penworthy
    8:53 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Good morning, Jasper! I’m home with my mom today, too! Not exactly a long weekend for her, though. She switches back and forth every other Friday and Saturday, so she’s home today but has to work tomorrow — darn all those people who think libraries should be open on weekends! But the good news is that she does have Monday off!

    I have the run of half the house (kitchen, dining room and living room) when everyone is gone, but Those Girls are confined to the laundry room. It almost doesn’t seem fair that one little dog has so much space, while two big dogs have to share one little room. But then again, life isn’t fair, is it? Ha ha ha!!!

  4. Barb & Maggie
    9:11 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Good morning. We agree there was a little too much info given out. Still the review was well written, and did a good job of explaing the unique appeal of the series.

    Barb is off to Crazy Lady Land, but CL is out of town for the day, so hopefully there won’t be more than 10 or 20 phone calls from her. Will check in later.

    BTW, started reading The Walk by RP Evans. Never heard if anyone else read it. Fast reading, and good so far.

  5. Sam
    9:17 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Kirby, are you allowed to have your toys when Those Girls are in the laundry room?

  6. Melanie
    9:27 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Loved the review except for the third paragraph.

    YSAS and his crew arriving sometime today!
    Have no idea when because they are actors.
    He was working as an extra most of the night last night so have no idea when he’s waking up!

    The Royals’ Mum did some finagling! She’s off from her CL land for FOUR Days!

  7. Melanie
    9:37 am on September 2nd, 2011

    CARPOLA! SNIGGLE FRITZ!!

    It was DAWSON’s BirthDAy and I didn’t know it and I don’t have a photoshop working right now. And I”M REALLY MAD!
    AND I wanted to do SAM in a CUTE coat but I can’t. CARPOLA!
    (note to self . . . win lottery)

    Loved KirbyT’s poem.

    Happy Birthday Dawson!

  8. B.Stover
    9:40 am on September 2nd, 2011

    I didn’t read the third paragraph but like the rest of the review.

    Good morning all.

  9. Elliot
    9:44 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Finagling! That’s what you have to do because “…life isn’t fair, is it? Ha ha ha!”

    Dawson will forgive you, Melanie. The Catty Librarian says Dawson’s planning on having lots more birthdays.

  10. OleyHowlers
    9:48 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Hey All Youse Guys!

    Our Pop is home because he had to work all night. (whispering) He is sleeping.
    Our Mom is home because she had to put new stuff in at work starting at 5:30 am, so they let her work from home today.
    So that means, we can post today!
    Just got thru reading thru last night’s posts. Kirby’s poem to Dawson was awesome. We see Rio finally showed up late.

    We have not read the review above…looked too long and we are afraid it will spoil the book surprises for us.

  11. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:54 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Reviews!…I’m sick and tired of reviews…snort!…I want the Real Deal but I just found out that you-know-who has not ordered TDWKTM yet!….grump!….She said she was expecting me to win the Dumb Friends of the Month Club….cough!…Well, that didn’t happen…again!…I wonder if she orders it now will we get it next week?…sniffle!

  12. BARB & MAGGIE
    10:01 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Double Happy Birthday to Dawson. Sorry we missed you last night. And sorry you have to work a long day today. Sounds like the steak dinner cookout was yummy.

    Watch for the Empire Carpet ads. It is supposed to be nation wide, and it starts with something about double savings, and with Lily runing into the room. Guess it was on during the Today Show on Wed. but we missed it.

  13. B.Stover
    10:06 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Happy birthday Dawson. I like Kirby’s poem.

  14. Tupper and Gilly
    10:14 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Morning everyone. We read enough of the post to know the reviewer likes and “gets” the Chet books, but when she started talking about the actual book, we stopped reading.
    We must be going to the beach very soon – Mama is starting her inveterate list making, so we know its gonna be soon. Of course she always starts her lists about 2 weeks before we go. She says that writing things down keeps her from laying awake at night thinking, “I need to pack this and that”.
    When we do go, Mama has promised to take all 4 Chet books and start at the beginning and go all the way to the end. Sounds like a great plan to us. Actually,the best part of the plan is that WE GET TO GO TO THE BEACH TOO!

  15. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    10:15 am on September 2nd, 2011

    I liked the review. A lot. I only read every other word of the third paragraph, so I thought it was great.

    Kirby, it’s too bad your mom doesn’t have to work today, so that she doesn’t have to start Dog Who on page 58.

    Mom and Dad are working for her busy place at the county fare this weekend. As much as she hates giving up her long weekend, all that time and a half pay was too good to pass up!

    Happy Belated Birthday Double Dawson!

  16. Melanie
    10:24 am on September 2nd, 2011

    T&G, Gilly don’t you try to herd lobsters this year!

    Need to do some work. BBL

  17. Tupper and Gilly
    10:28 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Melanie – Mama says Gilly can herd lobsters, as long as she is herding them towards a pot of boiling water.
    Dad is already sorting out and trying on his lobster bibs. That guy can eat his weight in lobsters! Its amazing to watch.
    Mama says she has to go to her studio to work (on fun stuff) now. Hope to talk to you all tonight.
    (and we hope the post office comes thru!!)

  18. Masquers
    10:30 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Good Morning! Here is your forecast for the beginning of the Labor Day Weekend tomorrow. Hot all across the US of A. Some of you are fortunate enough to have a 4 and 5 day holiday. Enjoy!

  19. OleyHowlers
    10:43 am on September 2nd, 2011

    O.K. We now read the review (all except paragraph #3). Its very good. The reviewer really does “get it”. Our favorite line: We’ve all had that kind of connection collapse, but in Chet’s case, he doesn’t let the lapse bother him, just moves past it without regret.”

  20. OleyHowlers
    10:44 am on September 2nd, 2011

    T&G, our mom makes lists like that also. For everything. Pop calls her “List-Lady”. She claims it then releases her brain from dwelling on this stuff. We think she needs to take a lesson from The Nation. We don’t dwell on anything.

  21. Staff
    11:03 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Why Hello there Elliot from Billings. That is a nice looking avatar. I notice it will be 68 in Billings today (thanks Masquers the weatherkat). That sounds like a good temperature.

    Yesterday I broke down and ordered The Dog who on Amazon to come to my computer (they say) on September 6th. So I will have one on my computer and one coming later with a siggy. I am relieved to have made that decision. I just couldn’t wait so long to read it.

  22. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    11:05 am on September 2nd, 2011

    A belated Happy Birthday to Dawson, Dawson.

    It seems as though there are a lot of Plunderer birthdays this month. In fact there is one very near and dear to me — mom’s birthday is tomorrow. I don’t know how old she is going to be, but I’m pretty sure it is more than two.

    Hope everybody is having a great day. Dad is working from home today, which makes today even better for me and mom. And it means that it is four whole days before he has to go back to the busy place. (I’m pretty sure four is more than two also).

    Wookie

  23. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:08 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Wookie!…Tell your Paw he needs to Make A Move!…grunt!

  24. Kirby T. Penworthy
    11:09 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Oh boy. I think Mom’s trying to get our finances as messy as Bernie’s. She just bought a ticket to go to California. On an airplane. All the way from South Carolina. She says that’s all the way across the country. That sounds like a big hit to my dog-treat budget to me! She’s going to Grandpa’s convention to get a big-deal award, then going to see my great-grandma, who’s 97 years old. I’m not sure but I think that’s pretty old. I know it’s way more than two!

  25. Kirby T. Penworthy
    11:13 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Sam: I never thought about asking for my toys back while Those Girls are in the laundry room. They’re right on top of the fireplace. I can see them, but I can’t reach them. Mom will be going to Dad’s football game tonight, so Those Girls will be locked up. Then I can give Mom my one-floppy-eared-and-cocked-head look that got me in the door in the first place. She’s a sucker for that one!

  26. BearSpiritDog
    11:14 am on September 2nd, 2011

    We have not read the review. Waiting for the real thing coming soon to a mailbox near us.

    Kirby: Loved your Sestina for Dawson’s Birthday.

    Dawson: That cookout sounds like a Feast – especially the part about those T-Bones! Sorry you had to work on your special day.

    Barb&Maggie: Haven’t heard of The Walk. We really like the Kate Atkinson books – Started Early, Took the Dog that you mentioned earlier. The next one Nana plans to read is Case Histories, which is, I think, the first one in the Jackson Brody series.

    SnowBella: You are getting closer and closer to a film debut. This is so exciting! How can you fail with the Force of the Plunderers behind you!

    Rio: That was very wise advice your friend gave you last night. We should all be encouraged to remember it.

  27. OleyHowlers
    11:16 am on September 2nd, 2011

    We should be getting TDWKTM on our kindles on 9/6. But how is everyone getting the hard-copy with signatures? We must have missed that info.

    Rio, September FOM still got TFAT … not TDWKTM. So its best you didn’t win yet.

    Mom needs to finish the book she is reading so she is ready to read TDWKTM to us on the 6th.

  28. Siber-H
    11:19 am on September 2nd, 2011

    I have returned. We decided to just drive on through the NM mountains and go to Colorado. It was too hot in NM. That is the excuse we used anyway.

    My surprise was waiting for me!! Thank you Royals Mum and Spence. That was very thoughtful of you. It will go in my drawer of treasures where I keep everything but my stuffed huskies, which as you all know are up on the shelf. gah

  29. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:19 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Elliot!…snort!…Is Elliot Fatty Kitties replacement?….grunt!….If I ever have a replacement, I hope he’s not named “Elliot”….sniff!

  30. Melanie
    11:25 am on September 2nd, 2011

    I feel very privileged . . . Elliot, the mysterious Kat, has talked to me!

    KirbyT: Who’s going to turn the computer on for you?
    Dan wants to live until he’s 92. Then he’ll beat his brother.

    Wöökie! How nice to have everyone in your den.

    Riö: The Pack is still green with envy. Hope you make it through the editing cuts!

    Wölfie: Is your mom going to eat Fried Everything?

    Whoops, just heard!

    YSAS and crew leaving NYC around 2:30pm !!!!!

  31. Siber-H
    11:27 am on September 2nd, 2011

    I skimmed the blog:

    Great news about Snowhook! They were mentioned in a national newspaper and I think they are about to become dogumentary stars!
    This is exciting!!! WOO WOO I’m planning in advance to buy the dvd.

    Wookie, Very happy to read your good news!
    I’m glad that Zoe doesn’t have that awful stuff, but I hope they can figure out why she is hurting.

    Happy one day late Birthday to Dawson!

  32. Masquers
    11:32 am on September 2nd, 2011

    I didn’t read the review either,
    as they all tend to be spoilers,
    but did like the remark that
    Spence is a…..Cape Codder.

  33. Kirby T. Penworthy
    11:36 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Wolfie: I would feel worse about Mom not getting to go to work today if she were taking me with her. But as things stand, I’ll have to wait until Tuesday like the rest of you. Mom, however, will be able to not peek at page 58 tomorrow, but will be off work on Sunday and Monday, so there’s no not peeking on those days. On Tuesday she can bring the book home!!! (But then we’ll have to paw-wrestle to see who gets to read the book, since we’ll be on different pages!) She says she’s going to read the library copy, then get a pawtographed copy to keep for good!

  34. B.Stover
    11:36 am on September 2nd, 2011

    According to CNN a 6.8 magnitude earthquake struck this morning off the coast of Alaska in the Fox Islands.

    http://www.cnn.com/2011/US/09/02/alaska.quake/index.html?eref=mrss_igoogle_cnn

  35. Meashka the She-Dog Across the Canyon
    11:36 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Siber,
    When you say all of your treasures are in a drawer, that does not include my special bikini-clad pinup does it? We are hoping that is very close to you and that you kiss it each night before you go to sleep.

    LOL

  36. B.Stover
    11:41 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Howlers: I believe you can order a signed copy of Dog Who from Wellesley (don’t remember how to spell it) Books where Spence will be on Sept. 14.

  37. BearSpiritDog
    11:41 am on September 2nd, 2011

    O.Howlers: The pawtagraphed copies of The Dog Who will be available from:

    Wellesley Books
    82 Central Street
    Wellesley, MA 02482

    A phone call to Rebecca (or anyone) will preorder a copy for you to be signed by Spence on the 14th. We can ask him to sign whatever we wish, just let them know in advance.

    1-781-431-1160

    Staff was kind enough to provide us with this valuable information a back in August.

  38. B.Stover
    11:41 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Welcome back Siber-H. Hope you had a fun time.

  39. Kirby T. Penworthy
    11:44 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Melanie: Dad and my girl will be home, so maybe I can talk them into turning the computer on for me, but it’s not going to be for a couple months still. (I’m pretty sure a couple is the same as two!) And I see that I made a mistake up there. Mom isn’t going to Grandpa’s convention to get an award, she’s going to see HIM get an award. (I can’t even blame the ipaw!) And tell Dan that we hope he beats his brother by years and years — way more than two — like maybe a hundred and fifty-two! I think that’s alot!!! (Sorry, B. Now that I know it bothers you I can’t resist.)

    SiberH: Welcome home! We missed you — did you miss us?!

  40. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    11:45 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Natasha, you may want to have a word with Meashka………

  41. B.Stover
    11:46 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Kirby: It doesn’t bother me the way using “read” as a noun bothers me. Actually, there will come a time when “a lot” will probably be one word based on usage.

  42. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    11:48 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Dang, my mailbox was devoid of surprises yesterday. Carpola. Maybe today?.

  43. BearSpiritDog
    11:49 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Yes, Siber-H, We missed you. Very happy to have you back!
    (Boy, you really had some catching up to do)

  44. BARB & MAGGIE
    11:51 am on September 2nd, 2011

    We are going to order a couple of signed copies from Wellesley, just have to decide what to say.

    Bear, Barb has ordered 2 Kate Atkinson books from the library in town. They have just one – Started Early- which she already read Really liked her writing style, after she got used to some of the English terms.

    Must do some work. BBL

  45. Siber-H
    11:51 am on September 2nd, 2011

    I didn’t read the review because my book is suppose to be arriving today. Mom knows none of this, but I preordered The Dog Who from Amazon and I paid for overnight shipping. The cost of shipping was more than the book!!
    Once mom has the book in her paws, I’ll tell her what the total amount will be on her credit card.

  46. B.Stover
    11:53 am on September 2nd, 2011

    I like Meashka’s new epithet.

    “Puce” is derived from the Latin “pulex” (by way of Frence “puce”) meaning “flea.”

  47. Siber-H
    11:58 am on September 2nd, 2011

    Meashka, I framed your photos and put them beside my favorite sleeping spot in the house.
    BTW I am still not sure about this She-Dog across the canyon business.

    Thank you guys for your welcome backs. I had loads of fun, it was cold, but I missed all of you.

  48. Melanie
    12:00 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    B.Stover: Laughing here! Will have to tell Zoë about the “flea”.

    Also laughing . . . “Meashka the She-Dog Across the Canyon”

    Siber-H: Tell her as she’s reading. She’ll just nod yes and not pay any attention.

  49. OleyHowlers
    12:08 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Speaking of birthdays: Today is Sasha’s dearly-departed husband Misha’s birthday. What a great and fun guy he was. He was her one and only True Love and made her forget all about her miserable puppyhood.
    Happy Birthday “Moonman”

  50. BearSpiritDog
    12:08 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Like Magpie, we are pondering the book signing. What shall we tell Spence to write?

    Wolfie: Sorry your surprise didn’t show up yesterday. When we were waiting for the package from Snowhook it seemed like it took forever. Everyone else was jumping with joy while our daily treks to the mailbox continued in vain. Maybe today your surprise will come.

    B seems to have an in with TMG. Her mail always seems to arrive a day or so earlier than the rest of us. Could bribes be involved?

  51. OleyHowlers
    12:11 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Thanks, B and Bear, for the info on obtaining a signed copy of TKWKTM. We have no idea what we would get Spence to sign. Will Chet be signing?

  52. BARB & MAGGIE
    12:28 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Bear and Oley, We still have not come up with anything witty and clever for the signing. Just feel like it should be about tin futures, since Barb and Bernie seem to have a mutual understanding – or not – about them. What about something simple like “To Barb – Queen of the Tin Futures?” Or the Tin Future Queen?

  53. Masquers
    12:34 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Siber: That was very clever of you to order The Dog Who
    by 1 day delivery. When I tried to do the same it was,
    of course, too late – what with the holiday & all. Drat!

    Maybe a Kindle order is in the works? If I can have it NOW!

  54. OleyHowlers
    12:50 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Masquers, its not yet released, so it won’t come to our kindle yet.

    “To Barb…thanks for the great advice on tin futures and other financial disasters.”

  55. B.Stover
    12:51 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Melanie: Apparently fleas are a brownish purple in color.

    Bear: I did not yet get the surprise in the mail……

    Barb: I like either one.

  56. Kirby T. Penworthy
    12:54 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Bear: I think B is just so imposing that no one — not even TMG — would dare to mess with her. Writing “alot” is about as far as I’ll go!!!

  57. Kirby T. Penworthy
    1:06 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Wow. If even B didn’t get her mail, maybe TMG are more fearless than I thought!!!

  58. Kirby T. Penworthy
    1:07 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Barb: I like OleyHowlers’ suggestion. LOL!!!

  59. Tupper and Gilly
    1:08 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Mot sure if Bee is too imposing for the goats to mess with. After all, last we heard she had not yet received her surprise. We are fascinated by the inconsistency of the post office. Why is it that Macy in Texas and BSD in Washington state would get mail before New York state when that is right next door to our state

    Pondering

  60. OleyHowlers
    1:09 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Cool! Both MagPie and Princess Sam are on our page, just below Brewski!

    Do you think its too soon to pounce on Pop and wake him up so we can have some fun?

  61. BearSpiritDog
    1:13 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Siber-H: That was very clever of you to order The Dog Who
    by 1 day delivery. Our cost would have been minimal with the Prime feature. But too late now.

    Maybe a Kindle order is in the works? Only if it’s immediate gratification – which it doesn’t seem to be – Kindle version out on the 7th? How does the Amazon Whispernet work anyhow?

    O.Howlers: Bear is hoping Chet will be signing too, as he is working on the dedication as we speak. Nana also wants a copy. Looks like the treat allowance is being depleted rather quickly.

  62. Basil and Sage
    1:15 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    To pounce or not to pounce …. hmmmm
    Pounce away Howlers!

  63. B.Stover
    1:19 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    What I did just receive are the hardcopy editions of the cookbook! Superb!

    Bear: Melanie or Mollypop can explain the technical details of Whispernet. All I know is that I order a book from Amazon and it is delivered instantly. Apparently I have wifi?? What I do have is Comcast cable internet connection.

  64. Kirby T. Penworthy
    1:20 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    T&G: Mom stopped paying one of her bills by mail because it would take longer than a day to get just over the border of the next state — a 2-hour drive from here! — and she kept getting late fees. (Yes, she could have sent it earlier, but she’s just not wired that way!) So now she just goes to the store to pay it instead. No late fees, and it gives her a chance to rack up some more debt!

    On the other hand, her letters from Great-Grandma — which you may remember have to go all the way across the country! — take just two days!!! Go figure!

  65. Masquers
    1:24 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Howlers: Hop on Pop! Yes, do.
    I like the dedication you suggested
    from Bernie to Barb. It says it all.

  66. OleyHowlers
    1:28 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Bear and B: You don’t need wifi or cable for Whispernet. I guess its a 3G or 4G connection but anyways it works from anywhere and downloads books to our Kindle instantly.

  67. OleyHowlers
    1:28 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    We POUNCED ! Now we are all going away..TTFN!

  68. Kirby T. Penworthy
    1:47 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    O.Howlers: I love it when the end justifies the means!

  69. B.Stover
    2:19 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    It came–the surprise!! Love it! Thank you T&G and Spence.

  70. B.Stover
    2:20 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    That’s right: Whispernet uses cell phone towers.

  71. Snowhook Bella
    2:34 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Chainsaw—check. Extra chain—check. Bearspray—check. Husband—check.

    Later on today, AJ and I will jump in the truck and head into the woods with one goal: firewood. We plan to have at least eight cords cut, chopped and stacked by the time Monday comes around.

  72. Basil and Sage
    2:39 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Rebecca – maybe you better plan on a few extra cords. We have a feeling that a certain Pug is gonna be freezing his curly little tail off.
    Giggle

  73. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:39 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Rebecca!….Are you sure Eight is Enough!….guffaw!snort!

  74. B.Stover
    2:39 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Here’s the cookbook:

  75. B.Stover
    2:41 pm on September 2nd, 2011
  76. B.Stover
    2:42 pm on September 2nd, 2011
  77. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:42 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Cookbookie!…That doesn’t look like our cookbook!…grunt!

  78. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:44 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Cover!…How come the Cover of the Cookbook is in the book now?…sniff!

  79. Snowhook Bella
    2:47 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Rio: The (at least) eight cords that we plan cut will be added to the woodpile we’ve already started.

    B&S: Maybe I can dip into my fleece pile from the clearance rack and make a tail cozy for a certain pug.

    B Stover: The cookbook looks great!

  80. B.Stover
    2:53 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Rio: I explained in another post–yesterday?–that there may be a way of making Liz’s cover the cover of the book but I don’t know how. When I’ve sent my blog through SharedBooks I could choose a photo for the front and back covers. However, the cookbook is a pdf and my technical skills don’t extend that far. I like this “edition” and I’m sending a copy to Spence.

  81. Macy the Min-pin
    2:53 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Regarding Kindle: some Kindles do not have the 3G feature, so they do require a Wi-fi connection. We can’t decide whether to get TDWKTM on the kindle or iPaw. Pondering, followed by napping.

  82. Macy the Min-pin
    2:56 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Rebecca, have you given any thought to the idea of Sam riding dog-back for the race? She hardly weighs anything, and she has her snuggie to keep her warm.

  83. B.Stover
    3:02 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Rebecca: Will we be selling the cookbook pdf through your Snowhook Kennel blog? If so, I’ll put up a picture on my Facebook page along with your blog address. (I’ll explain that the pictured version is a hardcover published through SharedBooks.)

  84. B.Stover
    3:06 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Macy: All of the books on my Kindle are downloaded (uploaded?? have been sent) to my iPad with no additional expense. Mollypop told me how to set that up but I don’t remember what I did now. It was through my Amazon account.

  85. Snowhook Bella
    3:16 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Siber-H: I forgot to say ‘welcome back’ earlier. It sounds like you had a good time, but it’s good to see you back on the blog.

    Macy: I bet I could convince Whitey-Lance to be at Sam’s service. I think she might need a hat and her snuggie.

    B. Stover: I believe that the initial plan was to sell the cookbook via Snowhook. I don’t believe we ever finalized price, and I think there was some concern about someone buying one copy and forwarding it onto others. I’m happy to put it up on Snowhook. Any thoughts on price?

    Rio: Your smiling pug mug is at the top of the page.

  86. B.Stover
    3:25 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Plunderers: Do you have thoughts and/or suggestions regarding selling the cookbook pdf on Snowhook’s blog?

  87. FattyKitty
    3:36 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    To the EP: No One replaces ME!

  88. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:36 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    $9.99!… 3 for $29.99…snort!

  89. Siber-H
    3:58 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    The Book!!! The Dog Who just arrived on the UPS truck!!
    WOO WOO It came all the way from Kentucky. I gave mom the book and ate the invoice.

  90. Wölfie
    4:02 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Speaking about pricing, how does this sound:

    Decals #3.00

    Magnets $4.00

    Bumper Stickers: $6.00

    This includes shipping and handling costs.

  91. BearSpiritDog
    4:03 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    B: The finished product looks very professional. Spence is going to love it!
    Staff: Were you the one suggesting we print out the pdf and put the pages in a thin 3 ring binder? Nana used clear plastic page protectors also. Two pages to a sheet. There’s a place on the front and back of the binder cover to slip in pages – the Dishlicker cover on the front and Chet a Dog’s Life on the back. It looks good, can be used as a working copy, and you can add to it at any time.
    Rio: Selling the pdf through Snowhook Mercantile for $9.99 sounds like a fair price.

  92. Wölfie
    4:04 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Bee, the cookbook is gorgeous!

    Barb, how about, “Next time, I’ll take your advice regarding Tin Futures”

    Hi Fatty Kitty! Hey, if you see Teddie, can you give her a piece of cheese and tell her it’s from Mom?

  93. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:08 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Mad!… Instead of “Mad Men” we are the Mad Plunderers!….snort!…Marketing genius’ extraordinaire!…heh!

  94. B.Stover
    4:10 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    The $10 for the pdf sounds fine with me. I know at one point Liz was concerned that the publisher may object to the Chet: A Dog’s Life icon used on the title page. That is actually the icon for the blog and I’m not sure what the publisher’s involvment is in the blog. Of course, selling the pdf on Snowhook would be a marketing device not only for Snowhook but also for the Chet and Bernie series.

  95. Siber-H
    4:10 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Wolfie, The prices sound good to me.

    Stover, The cookbook looks very nice.

  96. Masquers
    4:10 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Oooooooo Siber! I’m soooooo jealous!

    Wolfie: Your pricing suggestions for
    the stocking stuffer types looks good.

  97. B.Stover
    4:12 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Wolfie: Those prices look fine to me.

  98. Masquers
    4:16 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Siber: You are too funny!
    “ate the invoice & gave the book to mom”

  99. Snowhook Bella
    4:24 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    I don’t think Siber-H was left with much of a choice, but to destroy his evidence. I believe he responded according to his training as a special agent.

    While I wait for AJ to return home from work, I’m working on updating the Snowhook blog including the Musher’s Mercantile. I’m also toying with the idea of putting the Pluderers’ story that Rio wrote last spring on a special page on the blog.

  100. OleyHowlers
    5:10 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Siber, how did you get TDWKTM already? Its not supposed to be released yet? Does that mean it could show up on our Kindle?

    Speaking of Kindles, Macy, did you know you can just sync between the 2? So you could read on your Kindle, and then pick up where you left off on your iPaw.

    Does anybody know how you can look up your preorders on Amazon? We ordered it months ago, but we don’t know how to check on that.

    Wolfie: prices sound good for the decals, magnets, and bumper stickers.

  101. Melanie
    5:16 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    I have Staff’s quilt picture at the top!

    I got YSAS gluten free Birthday Cake today! White cake, raspberry filling and chocolate icing! Yummers.

    His BD isn’t until the 21st but he won’t be around then!

    Prices sound good to me, Wölfie. Did the you know what work?

    Note to self: Stop going shopping on days when EVERYONE in the world is shopping.

  102. Siber-H
    5:34 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Fellow Sibers, I have no idea why they sent the book so early. When I pre-ordered it, I just figured I would get it on Sept. 7.
    There was no explanation from Amazon and I didn’t really believe it when their email yesterday said I would get it on Sept. 2.

    The dedication in the front of the book is very, very nice. I like it.

  103. OleyHowlers
    5:36 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    We finally found the Amazon page where it lists our Pending Orders. There it is TDWKTM. Ordered March 1. Released Sept. 6. You are one lucky Husky, Siber!

  104. BearSpiritDog
    5:36 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Okay…Here’s our version of the Cookbook…Homemade (lol)

  105. BearSpiritDog
    5:39 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    The Cover

  106. BearSpiritDog
    5:40 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    First inside pages

  107. BearSpiritDog
    5:41 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Back Cover

  108. BearSpiritDog
    5:58 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    The cost was around $15 not including the cost of printing at home.
    Anyway, it was a fun project. We still want the other versions also, as we plan on giving them as gifts.

    Siber-H: You are one Lucky Dog! You will be the first after Dawson to read the book. Kirby’s mom can’t get to it until Tuesday. Looking forward to seeing the dedication you mentioned.

  109. Snowhook Bella
    5:59 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Signed, sealed and delivered! We recieved a special something in the mail today! Thank you to the Royals’ mum and Spence! I think that TMG may have had it temporarily in their grasp because one side is shredded, but the part that counts—the Spence part—is pristine!

  110. Melanie
    6:15 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Good Dog, so it got to Alaska the same time it got to Michigan!

    YSAS is about 1 1/2 hours away! Traffic must be terrible. Can you tell I’m excited???????????????

  111. B.Stover
    6:16 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Bear: The cookbook looks very nice….and practical!

    Now I want to know what the dedication says on Dog Who.

  112. Melanie
    6:16 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Oh, and BearSpiritDog, that is great!

  113. B.Stover
    6:17 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Melanie: Wish YSAS happy birthday!

  114. OleyHowlers
    6:37 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Nice job on the cookbook, Bear. Can’t wait to see mine. Did Wookie every say how much to send?

  115. BearSpiritDog
    6:40 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Happy Pre-Birthday to YSAS. That cake sounds delish!

  116. BearSpiritDog
    6:47 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    O.Howlers: Wookie said he would let us know about pricing on the Cookbook.
    Did you check to see if The Dog Who will show up on your Kindle early?

  117. Snowhook Bella
    6:47 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    BSD: The cookbook looks great. Nice work and for a fair price!

    Melanie: Happy early birthday to YSAS! I hope Zoe is feeling better.

    Firewood! We are on our way with chainsaw in hand.

  118. Kirby T. Penworthy
    6:48 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    SiberH: I think you can probably tell everyone what the dedication says. I don’t think that would spoil things. Mom knows what it is, but since she doesn’t have it here to make sure she gets it right, she’d rather have you write it!

  119. Wölfie
    6:49 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    (Whispering) Mom and I are curious to know what the dedication says. We won’t tell anyone, promise, if you post it here.

    We like the cookbook, Bear. It is very nice!

    I wonder if my you know what came today???????

  120. Kirby T. Penworthy
    6:51 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Mom just got back from Dad’s first football game of the season. Score: Us — 7; Them — 40. We think it’s going to be a looooong season. On the brighter side, this is our first game and their third. The other two games they scored in the 60s, so we held them to ONLY 40 points!

  121. Kirby T. Penworthy
    7:01 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Mom’s thinking she may bind the cookbook herself. She made a book a few years ago and it turned out pretty good. There are actually books at the library about how to make books!!!

  122. OleyHowlers
    7:10 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    This does sounds like it will be a long season, Kirby. But maybe this first game was an anomaly.

    We finally purchased a shadow box to house our Snowhook items purchased at the auction. Here is a picture of it: worn booties (made it all the way to Nome!), W-L’s chewed-up ID, and a zipper pull.

  123. Barb & Maggie
    7:15 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    The cookbooks look great, bith of them.

    We think $10.00 sounds fair to order the pdf from Snowhook.

    Barb wrote down the ideas for signing, thank you guys.

  124. BearSpiritDog
    7:25 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Turning in…Bear

  125. Sam
    7:28 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Molly and I got our special mail today. Thank you Royal’s Mum and Mr. Quinn.

    Guess what! Tomorrow I’m going to my girl’s college again. There’s a concert there that my boy wanted to go to so I won’t be back until late. My family tried to get a hotel but none of them would take me! I’m very insulted by this. My dear family didn’t want to leave me home. Actually it was my girl who said no no Sammie has to come too.

  126. Staff
    7:33 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Bear Spirit Dog, Not me, That was Dawson’s idea. She is lots shorter that is how you can tell us apart.

    Looks like Fatty Kitty doesn’t want Elliot to be confused with him.

    Jasper! Long time no see/hear! Have a good weekend vacation.

    Alice is qqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqqq(oops) oozing onto the keyboard. She thinks it is her turn….Ok OK
    Jeez she did it agaiN, i QUESS (CARPOLA)that I better let her on.

  127. B.Stover
    7:42 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Have fun tomorrow Sam.

    The shadow box is great Howlers.

  128. Melanie
    8:02 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    They’re HERE! TTFN

  129. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:35 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Burrp!…We had burritos for supper…snort! … Now my friend says we have to “walk it all off”…grump!…Not me! Not yet, I’m still digesting…gurgle!…So what’s been going on? OH! I see that Clarkson has returned home safe and sound!…wooooo!….Clarkson! I’m so damned happy you survived the Earthquake and the Hurricane last week…yeep!yeep!…Since your birthday is later in the month my present to you will be later in the month too!…snorkel!

  130. Tupper and Gilly
    8:42 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Hi everyone – So, it sounds like most folks are getting their little surprise
    Liz- when you get here later tonight – you do have a surprise coming too, but since the mailman will have to swim a long way to get to you, it may take a while

    Everyone got big plans for the holiday weekend? We are just hoping that no one gets rained out – well, no one except Macy – they REALLY need rain in Texas

  131. OleyHowlers
    9:13 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Good nite to all! We have had a very hard 2 weeks because our Mom & Pop have been working day and night and we had to hold down the fortfort

  132. OleyHowlers
    9:14 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    O man we can’t even type anymore! that was supposed to say “farm” !

  133. Macy the Min-pin
    9:14 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    So, no saddle for Sam?

  134. B.Stover
    9:25 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Good night all.

  135. Kirby T. Penworthy
    9:27 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Oh my gosh! I just took a look at the hurricane outlook, and Katia is still out there bearing down on us. If you draw a line out along its current path, yikes! It’s still a long ways out, though. Maybe if we all blow real hard we can get it to stay away!!!

    And Macy, they’re saying that Lee, which is still a tropical storm, is going to dump 20 inches of rain in the Gulf region — except for Texas. :(

    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/44356786/ns/weather/

  136. Barb & Maggie
    9:37 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    All of Texas is red, mostly dark red on the weather map. That means extreme drought. Hope you get some of that rain, but not 20″.

    We are turning in too. Night all.

  137. Elliot
    9:44 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    We’re still awake out in Montana. The Catty Librarian was surprised to get a surprise today too! She was surprised because she doesn’t hang around very much. She’s too busy giving me exercise; I require a lot of it.

    Fatty wants to know if Teddie likes sharp cheddar. That’s all we have right now.

  138. Wölfie
    9:53 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Teddie loves any kind of cheese, but sharp is her absolute favorite. Tell her that she has to give you her “cheese” smile.

  139. Elliot
    9:58 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Will do! Can’t wait to see what a Cheese Smile looks like. G’nite all – one more loop around the perimeter and then I’m in for the night.

  140. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:07 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Plans!….wheeze!cough!…We just got back from another brutal walk. Even though it was a tiny bit shorter, it was still brutal…grunt!… Plans for the weekend? My friend has plans to make More Hamburger Than Cabbage Rolls tomorrow…sniff!…She wants to make a bunch to freeze for later, plus the neighbors have been hinting that they really like cabbage rolls…heh!..So knowing her she will probably make a few special ones that have More Cabbage than Hamburger…ugh! …The smell alone is enough to gag me…wheeze!

    More!… My plans are simple. Take it easy and eat as much as I possibly can…snort!… She has other plans that include two projects she has to finish this weekend. One came up suddenly and luckily she had a bunch of spare parts to throw something together …grunt!….These special things keep adding up and now she is really behind. Her sisters project is second on the list and she says she can bake cabbage rolls and work on this project at the same time tomorrow…heh!heh!…This I gotta see to believe…snort!…I bet her sister gets Roses that smell like Cabbage…gah!

    Even More!….On Labor Day she is going to be in another 5K race to raise money for some thing or the other…grunt!….Seems damned stupid to pay to walk fast when we do it for free every night…sniff!

  141. Tupper and Gilly
    11:07 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Rio- still no mailman??? We are totally baffled.

    Hope your friend has very comfortable walking shoes.

  142. Tupper and Gilly
    11:09 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Rio- still no mailman??? We are totally baffled.

    Hope your friend has very comfortable walking things for her feet. We tried to say that before but lost our heads and said the forbidden word so the post is lost forever in cyberspace

  143. Kirby T. Penworthy
    11:39 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    Does someone have a foot fetish? Why would the word s-h-o-e be considered “dirty” enough to block it from posting? I don’t get it!

  144. Kirby T. Penworthy
    11:43 pm on September 2nd, 2011

    When Mom was in college she worked at a fast-food restaurant with a guy who would ask all the girls — including customers! — if he could see their socks. (I hope that word is OK!) Mom had some striped socks and he asked if they were toe socks. She had just started working there and she didn’t know how creepy he was, so she said yes. Then he asked if she would take off her s-h-o-e-s so he could see them. Mom said no!

  145. Redbone Hound
    12:27 am on September 3rd, 2011

    YoooHoooooo. Where is everyone? It’s Friday night-time to HOWL ! Well, if y’all are a bunch of early to bedders, I guess this ole hound will jest go kick up his heels down to the hoedown all by my lonesome.
    Hope y’all will be back tomorrow.

  146. Snowhook Bella
    12:32 am on September 3rd, 2011

    We are heading back with our first load of firewood and the trailer got a flat tire. I think it’s going to be a long night. Rio’s talk of burp-ritos reminds me that we haven’t had dinner, yet. Grump!

    Evening to you, Mr. Redbone.

  147. Macy the Min-Pin
    1:20 am on September 3rd, 2011

    Oowoooooooo!!!!

    Just for you my red hound.

  148. adelaide crows
    3:05 pm on October 2nd, 2011

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve take into accout your stuff prior to and you are simply too magnificent. I actually like what you’ve got here, really like what you are stating and the way through which you say it. You’re making it entertaining and you still care for to stay it smart. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific site.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia