To Fetch A Thief: Review

From bookreporter.com

TO FETCH A THIEF: A Chet and Bernie Mystery

Spencer Quinn

Atria

Mystery

ISBN: 9781439157077

Chet is a police dog extraordinaire. Technically, he’s not a card-carrying police dog because he failed the final exam due to an incident with a squirrel. But, as Chet likes to say, “That’s a story for another time.” Chet is a handsome, 100+ pound dog of undetermined parentage, and the voice of the entertaining and original mystery series that has captured the imaginations of every mystery-loving dog owner who is lucky enough to have discovered him.

The first book, DOG ON IT, made it to the coveted New York Times bestseller list, and THEREBY HANGS A TAIL followed it as surely as a dog follows a rabbit. TO FETCH A THIEF is the most exciting of the three books, which are spun by the most engaging dog in literature. Chet is proud to be the sidekick of his P.I. partner Bernie, an ex-cop and the smartest guy in any room. Chet overlooks Bernie’s human foibles — his efforts to quit smoking and his occasional bout with bourbon — but he is most disturbed by Bernie’s failure to collect fees from his clients so he can pay his bills on time. He also misses Bernie’s son, Charlie, who now lives with his mother after the divorce, a human condition Chet just doesn’t get.

Little Charlie loves elephants, and when Bernie hears about a small family circus coming to town with its star performer, Peanut the Elephant, he takes Charlie and Chet. When they arrive, they discover that Peanut and her trainer, Uri, are missing. None of the circus management seems concerned about how a seven-ton elephant and his trainer could vanish into thin air. Chet figures it out in minutes when the scent disappears next to large tire tracks at the side of the road outside the grounds. It’s a crucial clue, and he’s frustrated because he can’t communicate it with the humans. The local police don’t see it as a serious crime, so Uri’s best friend, Popo the Clown, hires Bernie (and Chet) to look for his missing friends. When Uri turns up dead, the case gets serious.

Chet and Bernie find themselves in deep trouble when their investigation leads them to a remote village south of the Mexican border. The detective duo is kidnapped by the bad guys, but Bernie makes Chet run for it as he’s led off by the thugs. Now it’s up to Chet to find Bernie and save Peanut.

TO FETCH A THIEF offers plenty of chuckles and adventure along the way — this is no “Lassie saves Timmy from the well.” Author Spencer Quinn has captured the inner soul of a dog whose expertise in reading scents and body language makes Chet a wonder dog. His one downfall is his attention span. He can be hot on the trail of a theory (which he can’t tell Bernie because he can only write mysteries, not talk to humans) when his doggie brain takes over. His species confusion can distract him when his canine instincts take over and the bark he hears comes from him, or he is startled by a sudden breeze that turns out to be his wagging tail.

Chet likes to ride shotgun in Bernie’s ancient Porsche when they’re off on the case. You’ll want to ride shotgun with this daring duo once you get to know them.

— Reviewed by Roz Shea

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Saturday, November 20th, 2010 at 8:55 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

72 Responses to “To Fetch A Thief: Review”

  1. Kirby T. Penworthy
    4:16 am on November 20th, 2010

    Wow, Chet! She likes you; she really likes you!

  2. AbbietheKitty
    4:57 am on November 20th, 2010

    Ahem,

    Nice review.

    But the incident that led to Chet flunking was with a KAT. Roz must have been reading every other word.

    Squirrel indeed!

    closing down the computer now so I can pack it. See you guys later.

    Everyone stay well or get better today. OK?

  3. B.Stover
    5:07 am on November 20th, 2010

    Good review. Yes, it was a cat not a squirrel. Good morning all.

  4. Melanie
    5:21 am on November 20th, 2010

    Squirrel??? As if Chet would forget all his training for a squirrel!

    A Kat yes. (Perhaps it was Alice?)

    Good morning. I'll BBL, the dump calls as does the Verizon store and then the grocery store, then the. . .

    Maybe I'll just go back to bed.

  5. Gus and BooBear
    6:02 am on November 20th, 2010

    Great review! It seems like the reviewer actually read the series and appreciates Chet's unique style.

    Good morning all!

  6. Riö - The Evil
    6:11 am on November 20th, 2010

    Squirrel!…I wonder how Rockie wound up in that review…heh!… He’s been so busy lately fighting and spreading bedbugs that it surprised me very much to hear talk of him in this latest review…grunt!… And a very good review it is. Although, she did give away the fact that Uri was murdered…duh!

    Review!… I just read another review of a book called, Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk: A Modest Bestiary…heh!… That book sounds right up our alley guys…grunt!

  7. B.Stover
    6:15 am on November 20th, 2010

    Did you make that up Rio?

  8. Gus and BooBear
    6:23 am on November 20th, 2010

    Rio, we are still laughing about the RockiesAstros trade!! We think y'all got skunked!

  9. Riö - The Evil
    6:31 am on November 20th, 2010

    Stover!… Make up what?….snort!…The title of the other book? Nope, it’s a real book and it sounds hiliarious…grunt!

    Puss N’ Boots!… Don’t get me started on the Barmes trade this early…growl!…I’m so upset over that I kicked my water bowl over yesterday and today I am threatening to chew up a rug…grunt!

  10. Gus and BooBear
    6:40 am on November 20th, 2010

    Rio, the sad thing is the Astros are almost never better than mediocre (sorry about the grammar, B) and good players are wasted here.

  11. B.Stover
    6:48 am on November 20th, 2010

    I don't see any grammar problem G&BB. I ordered the book from Amazon Rio.

  12. Riö - The Evil
    7:01 am on November 20th, 2010

    Stover!… When you are done, can I read it?…heh!

    Puss N’ Boots!…. SOB! SOB! SOB!….Barmes come back!….Wahhhhh!…Where's that damned rug at!…grrrr!

  13. B.Stover
    7:10 am on November 20th, 2010

    Sure Rio, I'll send it to you. You'd better be careful about chewing up rugs though.

  14. Lexi
    7:48 am on November 20th, 2010

    'due to an incident with a squirrel'? I thought it was a cat, too! Grr. Humans' tiny brains sometimes confuse me. How can they forget something like that? In the mid of Chet's training thing, Alice got in the way and ruined it. Did I get that right?

    DDoB:

    :) :( 😐 😛 😀

  15. Lexi
    7:51 am on November 20th, 2010

    I got 'The Tutor' yesterday, forgot to tell you. It's great so far! But I'm still a little impatient on The Dog Who Knew Too Much. I get like that when it comes to good books. 😀

  16. B.Stover
    7:53 am on November 20th, 2010

    Hi Lexi! Thanks for the bobs.

  17. Riö - The Evil
    8:29 am on November 20th, 2010

    Lexi!…heh!…I thought you were going to read the Ingrid books first… grunt!…Or am I confused?… sniff!

    Stover!…This morning my friend is attempting to make 3 poinsettia flowers for her next and way more complicated project!… snort!… She needs more crafty stuff so we are off to Hobby Lobby for supplies….wheeze!

  18. B.Stover
    8:47 am on November 20th, 2010

    Rio: When do we get some pictures?

  19. Mollypop
    9:12 am on November 20th, 2010

    Rio – I bet the poinsettias will be beautiful. Maybe a picture?

  20. Wookie of Chevy Chas
    10:53 am on November 20th, 2010

    Hi everyone. Sorry I was kind of absent yesterday, but I had my acupuncture treatment and just mellowed out after that. But I'm very limber today and rarin' to go.

    Glad that SiberH's dad is doing better and thank you Rio for such an incredible prayer last night. This is a special place and we all do look out for one another.

    I think my Christmas stocking may have the DVD of the new Sherlock Holmes series in it. My mom thought it was terrific and she is a real Sherlockian, so that is high praise. I know a lot of the plunderers on the blog liked it too.

    Speaking of Sherlockians, my dad (who is just hopeless in bookstores) picked up a new book called The Sherlockian by Graham Moore. It looks really interesting and is one of those books with parallel plots in different times, one dealing with Conan Doyle and a missing chapter in his life and the other set in contemporary times dealing with a murder and a stolen copy of a Conan Doyle diary. It's on the to-read pile now, although it seems to grow in leaps and bounds with each passing day, including a few of the PA books my dad still hasn't read and both of Dan Montague's books that my dad got from Amazon (he's hopeless there too).

    Really looking forward to hearing how Rio's friend's poinsettias turn out and sorry about the Barnes trade. Hope it is a low calorie rug Rio is chewing on, or at least high in fiber.

    Wookie

  21. B.Stover
    11:08 am on November 20th, 2010

    Wookie: The Sherlockian book sounds good. Let me know how you like it….when you get to it.

  22. Riö - The Evil
    11:12 am on November 20th, 2010

    Back!… What a nightmare!…grunt!… Hobby Lobby is HUGE! It took hours to find what we needed for our craftiness….wheeze!…Then, big mistake, she stopped at the grocery store to get a “few” things forgetting that this is the weekend everyone and their dogs are out shopping for Thanksgiving dinner… snort!… So now we need to rest a while and start on some poinsettias. Maybe a photo will be taken, we are not sure yet. She was able to find the right kind of paper finally!…wooo!…Maybe things will go a little smoother now…sniff!

  23. Riö - The Evil
    11:15 am on November 20th, 2010

    Wookie!…and anyone else who wants to, go to Bookreporter.com and read the review of Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk: A Modest Bestiary….heh!…That book sounds like a hoot!..snort!

  24. Melanie
    11:20 am on November 20th, 2010

    I hate running errands. Excuse me. I hate limping errands.

    Got it ALL done though. Just took forever. YSAS's big Holiday gift is in my hands. He's getting it early. His phone is almost dead, not battery wise, it's just old and falling apart. He is getting a DROID. When you read that you need to hear that music behind it. When he's up on Thursday he gets to switch phones. This way I can actually hear him on the phone and he won't say I'm deaf.

    The rest of his gifts??? I'm thinking coal.

    Then went to the Gluten and Dairy free Bakery that is run out of a woman's house. Her whole family has celiac and likes to eat.

    For the weekend:

    Loaf bread (tastes like regular bread, that's unusual)

    Flat bread (thought we might do some little pizzas)

    Blueberry, Rasberry and pumpkin bread (for breakfasts)

    4 dozen cookies (peanut butter, thumb, cresant dipped in chocolate, chocolate chip, chocolate between 2 peanut butter cookies and others. Had her do a selection)

    One pumpkin pie.

    ALL NOW FROZEN! Or we would eat all of them now. I wish YSAS and I didn't have to share them.

    McKey and I rarely eat breads, cookies, cakes and pies. First you can't find them. If you can find them they are made with rice flour that is not fine enough.

    I might leave room for turkey.

  25. Melanie
    11:24 am on November 20th, 2010

    So enough about me! me! me!

    Siber-H: Obviously your mom knows that you are the first line of Homeland security with your digging projects.

    Wöökie: Let me know how your dad likes the book.

    Sherlock: When we were watching Sherlock, we kept seeing a weirdly shaped building. I found out it's nickname is the "Gherkin". It fits.

  26. Mollypop
    11:31 am on November 20th, 2010

    Melanie – If YSAS' new phone has unlimited data usage, he can use it to provide Internet to his computer. That saves a lot of money. Let me know if that's the case and he's interested. Do NOT talk to the provider (like Verizon). Talk to me first. Otherwise they will have him in their clutches.

  27. LizF
    11:36 am on November 20th, 2010

    Melanie that sounds like quite a haul, and delicious. Especially pumpkin bread.

    Funny Rio – me clubbing! (Ref: yesterday). I was out at a morning tea, an afternoon tea and a book launch. Today thanksgiving dinner at my friend Ann's (she's from Seattle). But clubbing sounds much cooler…

    TFAT is great, I've just gotten to the part where they've found Uri.

  28. Melanie
    12:34 pm on November 20th, 2010

    I will check. Not sure, Thanks MollyPop!

    Oh, meant to send you a pic of me. Have completely forgotten.

    Maybe my brain will be in gear tomorrow.

    LizF: So it's Teas there and Clubbing here. YSAS very occasionally goes clubbing. It costs money so it's rare. There is quite a network the struggling ones have in NYC and one of his friends is a DJ. So they go clubbing when she's working because they get in free. Still have to pay for drinks though.

  29. B.Stover
    12:43 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Rio: I just watched episodes 107 and 108 of The Event. What was your question?

  30. LizF
    12:56 pm on November 20th, 2010

    I bet clubbing in NY is amazing.

    G&BB how's Sammie?

  31. B.Stover
    1:03 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Melanie you certainly had a full day.

  32. Lexi
    1:14 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Hahaha. Rio! Those damn Ingrid books didn't come yet. Mommy ordered them 5 days ago! NEVER trust Barnes & Nobles! Grrr.

    Hey guys! Guess what? No, you'll never guess it. I'm going to be in the 2010 America's Cutest Dogs book! Mommy and daddy submitted a photo of me when I was 3 months old (almost 2 years old now) and we won! I just love myself so much right now!

    And guess what!? I just love you guys so much, here's another DDoB:

    :) 😛 :( 😐 😀

    My personal favorite is: 😐

    What's your guys'?

    Tailwags and licks!

    Lexi

  33. Riö - The Evil
    1:21 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Liz!…You weren’t clubbing? That’s a dirty shame…grunt!

    Cold!… It’s damned cold outside today…grunt!… I go out and come back in as quick as I can…yeep!…Lexi! Really? You are going to be in a book of the Cutest Dogs?…snort!… This will be interesting. Lets us know when it comes out. I’ve never heard of it before…sniff!… You aren’t telling tails, are you? ….grunt! …That’s my favorite Bob too. 😐

  34. Siber-H
    1:30 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Hi everyone!

    Mom is home early because they are transferring dad from the hospital to rehab at 6:pm tonight. We think this is a strange time to do it, but what do we know, and mom is assured that this is common. Mom will go over there to make sure he is settled in. The rehab is an easy drive from our house. Dad is improving.

    Rio, Thank you for the wonderful prayer last night. Mom and I will treasure it always, and there are no words to tell you how much we appreciate it.

  35. bluecat
    1:33 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Siber-H – thanks for the pretty card. A nice surprise. It's okay to get hooked on Harry Potter books. You won't have to wait for the next installment. Kat thoughts with you and your Mom and Dad.

    Wookie – hopeless in a bookstore must mean cha-ching for the bookseller. Keep it up, buddy!

    Rio – thanks for eloquent prayer last evening. May the intent spread to all who need it.

    It's a strange land out there kids. Who knew the Irish and Army would play football in Yankee Stadium?

  36. Siber-H
    1:40 pm on November 20th, 2010

    This is a great review of TFAF! Roz put into words some of the things we feel but don't know how to say very well.

    Lexi, you are cute. I remember seeing some pictures of you a long time ago.

    My favorite Bob is the red one where the Bob is none too happy. I don't remember if Rio or Lexi does it. I think I remember Stover saying she liked it also. It appeared during the baseball season.

  37. Siber-H
    1:52 pm on November 20th, 2010

    You are welcome Bluecat and thank you again for the books. It will be strange, but neat to read all the Potter books at once and not have to wait a year or more for a new book to come out…not to mention the mob in the bookstore when a new one was released.

    Rio, Are you going to get some snow?

  38. B.Stover
    1:54 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Lexi: I love your sentence, "I just love myself so much right now!" I'm cracking up. My favorite bob is the second in your line above after the red/mad bob that SH referred to. Let us know when the books comes out.

    SH: Thanks for keeping us up-to-date. I'm glad the rehab is closer. Are you reading the Harry Potter books?

  39. B.Stover
    1:55 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Rio: What about my earlier post re The Event?

  40. Jasper the Poodle
    1:57 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Mourning: mom loaned all 3 Chet books to her sister. Books one and two were returned with no problem. See? You only need to count to two. But…the next book, TFAT…RIP. Sisters' weiner dog decided to chew on TFAT instead of the many bones and toys laying around their house. Two corners gone! Spine half missing! Pristine dust cover mangled and holey! Blasphemy! Sister is marching her tail to Barnes & Noble and providing a replacement…STAT! Next time I see that elongated weiner I'm gonna give his ear/nose/butt/paw/tail and nice chomp and chew!

    This Thanksgiving I am thankful for teeth and the smarts to use them.

  41. Siber-H
    1:58 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Stover, haven't had a chance to start the Potter book yet, was kinda saving it until life got a little less hectic. Have hopes of starting it this week.

  42. Riö - The Evil
    2:15 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Stover!… I don’t think I had a question, I was just remarking on how good the show is getting…grunt!…It took a while for me to really become interested…snort!…We’ve been very busy being crafty, but there is so much to do yet….sniff!…She bought an exacto knife but it is not in any of the bags we brought home from Hobby Lobby….dammit!…That was an expensive knife…grump!

  43. B.Stover
    2:41 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Rio: I think it was something about the end re The Event.

  44. Staff
    3:06 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Dawson and I are sitting around talking. Good to be here with my sister.

    BBL

  45. Mollypop
    3:11 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Lots of company, but I snuch away for a moment. Here's the red bob:

    [img ]http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/1290301870-angry0.gif[/img]

  46. Mollypop
    3:11 pm on November 20th, 2010

    sneaked, snuck.

  47. AbbietheKitty
    3:23 pm on November 20th, 2010

    I prefer the Bob with the great big smile. Think Cheshire Kat.

    Dawson now has the netbook and is catching up with the blog. When we got here tonight she was finishing up cooking lots of goodies. Some date and pecan cookies, some almond thingys sort of like a tart crust with almonds and some yummy syrup over/under them. Staff had TWO!

  48. Riö - The Evil
    3:30 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Grump!… We have given up tonight on the craftiness, There is only so much frustration we can endure regarding glueing little bitty bits of this and that together…snarl!…Tomorrow will be a fresh day to pull it all together…sniff!

    Stover!…Right now I cannot remember what I was thinking about regarding The Event…sniff….Maybe it will come back to me at some point. Staff and the Kats arrived safely!….Woooo!….Now where has The Librarian been all this time?…grunt!…Got to have three of them to make the special Witches Brew for Thanksgiving….heh!

  49. Staff
    3:31 pm on November 20th, 2010

    I see there are a lot of questions about the move. Yes we take the cats. AbbietheKitty would not like to be alone in the house without food for several months. Alice would not like to be there with her.

    Rio,

    If you are sending a card you can use the farm address. Everything gets forwarded as long as there is first class postage.

    I hope I remembered to answer all the questions.

  50. Melanie
    3:32 pm on November 20th, 2010

    MollyPop, I like snuck. I snuck, you snuck, s/he snuck. It sounds very impressive as if you need a second read to make sure you read it right.

    Dawson and Staff!! Cool. I just had a nice long talk on the phone with my sis. We laughed a lot. Can't remember about what. Very tired. BUT, she's coming over to do Dan's pills and then tell them and then I can laugh again.

    Which is good, because my buddy/pal Patsy didn't talk to me from 4 pm to 15 minutes ago. I came in to say hello and she TURNED her BACK to me.

    I went off in the VAN. Didn't take her and didn't go on our WALK! She is now on the bed waiting for me to come in and pet her. Jeez, 4 hours and 15 minutes never seemed so long.

  51. Macy the Min-Pin
    3:34 pm on November 20th, 2010

    MP..sneaked, snuck, ah…snacked!!

    Mr. Husky..we haven't been around much lately so I do not know what is going on with your dad, but we are happy to hear he is getting better and closer.

    Jasper, that is for sure a nipping offense, and maybe more. I hope at least that it wasn't signed.

  52. Mollypop
    3:35 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Rio – Were you and your friend able to get the exacto knife? If it didn't fall out in the car, then Hobby Lobby is probably responsible and they will give you another one.

  53. Riö - The Evil
    3:50 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Molly!…My friend says she is not going back to Hobby Lobby for a very long time…heh!…She is going to order her craft stuff online from the Quilling Superstore….grunt!…She’s damned tired of tromping around great big craft stores that are over-priced…snuff!

  54. Melanie
    4:16 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Riö: Quiller Power!

    Siber-H: This family has all the Potter Books, All the Potter Books on CD, All the movie out in DVD so far AND I have All the English Printed for Adults Potter Books (Book covers different and no illustrations) Hmm. Talk about Potty for Potter!

    My niece (when she was the age of give me, give me, give me) announced to Zoë that she wanted all the English ones when Zoë died. They're MINE, I tell you and NO one is getting them. I'll just take them with me when I go!

    Anyhoo, LEXI!! Awesome! Love your sentence (as did B.Stover) "I just love myself so much right now!"

    LizF: YSAS says clubbing is okay if you don't mind drunks and stoned people trying to dance. He also has to wear DJ approved clothes. He is a CarHarts person (working person clothes). The DJ has several outfits she had him buy that he can wear clubbing. He also uses them for background for "rich people". He got them cheap, excuse me inexpensively, because he knows someone who works at a men's store and gets things at quite a discount.

    When I can visit him, he knows I won't dress up. I think he sort of likes it. I wear my Big Dog Henleys and jeans. He told me, "Mom, you act like a tourist because you are always looking at stuff, but at least you don't dress like one."

    I told him, "Hey weirdo, take a deep breath and look up." He did. "You just don't see that anywhere else, the different buildings, the contrast of the sky to the metal reflecting it, then look down and the cracks in the sidewalk where the plants are trying to come through, the graffiti on the walls that echo the windows of the stores. Look and listen to the people. I've heard four different languages in this block alone. You live in an unbelievable place."

    He looked, he breathed, lifted an eyebrow and with a sideways smile said, "You still look like a tourist".

  55. Riö - The Evil
    4:38 pm on November 20th, 2010

    NYC!…My friend says she has some black and white photos of buildings in NY that she took last time she was there…snort!…Quite artsy fartsy too!…heh!

    Melanie!… When was the last time you got to see Clarkson perform in a play?….sniff!…Ask him if he needs company. I would be glad to join him and be his guard dog during certain hours of the day, and never at night…snort!…I will need extra food for this type of work. Oh, and I need to get permission to leave my yard first…grunt!

  56. B.Stover
    4:52 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Nice imagery Meline.

    Night all.

  57. Riö - The Evil
    5:05 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Stover!…Goodnight! I hope you feel tip-top tomorrow when you wake up…snort!… We just finished watching a movie that lasted at least 6 hours, I swear!…grunt!… It is an Ingrid Bergman movie called The Inn of the Sixth Happiness…What a great movie. Be sure you have plenty of time to watch it. Although, we were trying to be crafty and watch the movie at the same time….grunt!..Probably why someone had trouble cutting, rolling, gluing and creating art this afternoon…heh!

  58. Riö - The Evil
    5:09 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Snuff!…Where is everyone tonight?…snort!… Are you all still sickly and gone to bed early?….hmmphf!… Maybe SiberH is outside digging his masterful holes…heh! …That just makes me snuffle. I never dig, it’s way too much work…grunt!

  59. Mollypop
    5:18 pm on November 20th, 2010

    I think Siber-H's digging projects are to protect his house. No bad guys can sneak up on them without falling into a hole. Brilliant!

  60. Riö - The Evil
    5:18 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Lenny!….Guess what is on PBS tonight!…snort!snort!… Of Mice And Men….Wooooo!….It’s the newer one with Gary Sinise and John Malkovich. We are in Heaven here! Stover didn’t even tell us about this, what’s up with that?….grunt!

  61. Riö - The Evil
    5:23 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Holes!… I’m pondering how SiberH’s brilliant ability to dig big holes is going to help us in future Mission trips…heh!….It could come in very handy if things go wrong…snort!

  62. Mollypop
    5:25 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Rio – B. already said good night. She needs her rest to recover.

    Mom was looking at pictures of quilling and her anti-virus software closed down some of them. I'm warning you so you don't get into the kind of trouble like when your friend was looking for baseball stuff for the quilt.

  63. Siber-H
    5:31 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Mollypop…That is it…my favorite Bob. For some reason, it makes me smile more than any of the others. I have missed it.

    My dad's move ran exactly on time tonight…mom fainted.

    ummm About my holes…some of them are filling with leaves and I like to nap in those holes. Then I come in the house and, well, I can't help it, there are quite a few leaves in the house when mom comes home.

  64. Riö - The Evil
    5:40 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Molly!….Really?…The bastards attack good clean fun like Baseball and Quilling?…grunt!…I hate those hacker guys!…growl!….Thanks for the warning Molly, we will be very careful now…sniff!sniff!

    SiberH!…He sounds like he is High Maintenance like I am…heh!snort!heh!

  65. Riö - The Evil
    5:55 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Candy!…Is this old guy who has an old dog who in his youth herded sheep for him…sob!…He’s very old and Candy decides to let one of the work hands shoot him after being pestered by guys in the bunk house about his old smelly dog…sob!….This part always breaks our hearts in two. An old man should be allowed to keep his old dog with out being badgered by idiots…snuffle…I wonder how old I will get before I’m considered useless and smelly….gulp!…This is from Of Mice And Men just in case you lost the thread…sniff!

  66. Siber-H
    6:08 pm on November 20th, 2010

    I'm glad we are not watching it, Rio.

    One of us is faling asleep.

    Rio, Thanks again for the beautiful prayer last night. It means a lot to me and mom. Sleep tight

  67. Riö - The Evil
    6:29 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Oh…SiberH!….Thank you’s are not necessary pal. .That’s what I do for friends and any others who are going through hard times …sigh…One day you should read or watch Of Mice and Men…It is a novella written by Nobel Prize-winning author John Steinbeck…gruff!…The story is close to my heart for some reason…snort! …Timeless and heartbreaking…sob!

  68. Lexi
    6:43 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Hahaha! You guys are funny! Thanks for liking my way of talking, I guess.

    And no, Rio, I am not telling tales here; I'm actually going to be in the book! I am sooo happy right now!

    And, Rio, how about we go to Spence's house and see some of 'The Dog Who Knew Too Much?' hehehe…

    Tailwags and licks,

    Lexi. 😐

  69. Staff
    6:45 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Dear Rio,

    A good cry is very important sometimes. I love Steinbeck. Of course Travels with Charley is my favorite.

    I think we are getting into our holiday mode and don't have as much extra time for blogging. Also being ill makes a difference in how much blogging you can do.

    Be careful out there everyone.

    Nighty night all.

  70. Riö - The Evil
    6:56 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Mice!…The ending of this story always surprises us….sniffle…We always hope it will end differently, but it doesn’t. There is something in this story that makes us want to be strong and take care of those who are weaker…snuffle!…Well, not me personally, but my friend does actually feel that way….heh!… Add this movie to your Netflix queue, it is well worth your time…snort!…Be sure to get the one with Gary Sinise….sniff!…My friend says she remembers watching this story in black and white, way back when…wheeze!

  71. Riö - The Evil
    7:07 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Lexi!… I am so happy for you girl!!…snort!…The other day when I saw your photo come up on the Main Blog Page, I marveled at how cute you are…heh!…Doesn’t happen often, but there you have it…sniff!sniff!… A trip to Spencer’s house is definitely in the making…heh!…We have things in place (the Quilt) which will have a lot of added value for all kinds of things coming up…heh!…I can not give out much information now in case Spencer is actually paying attention to our conversations…snort!

  72. Riö - The Evil
    7:50 pm on November 20th, 2010

    Today!… I may not have been on the blog as much as I usually am today, but to tell you the truth the only reason my friend got out of bed today was because she thought of the new craft project she wanted to start…snort!…This probably sounds very pathetic to some of you, and yes, it probably is….snort!…But it got her out of bed, that’s the main thing…heh!…I think the Holidays are going to be very hard this year…sniff!.. I will make sure she keeps moving in the forward direction…heh!…No backsliding is allowed…snuffle!…I want that Turkey Dinner…dammit!

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia