Thereby Hangs A Tail Review – From Suspense Magazine

It’s a dog’s life in the desert with plenty of treats to eat, javelinas to chase, fellow pooches to befriend…and don’t forget murder. View the world through a dog’s eyes and watch him get excited about taking on a new case with the smartest human in the room. Spencer Quinn comes out with another winner with the second in the Chet and Bernie series.

Chet and his owner Bernie Little are hired to protect Adelina Borghese’s prizewinning pooch, Princess. After Chet steals Princess’ treat, they are summarily fired. However, soon after both Princess and her owner disappear. Then Bernie’s on-again off-again girlfriend, Suzie Sanchez, a reporter, also disappears after a desperate phone call. The trail leads to an old ghost town where Bernie is arrested and Chet is knocked out.

Chet gets separated from Bernie and begins his own adventure. Discovering first Adelina’s dead body, then finding Princess, he subsequently runs into two hippies who sell him to man bound to take Chet to Alaska. Who killed Adelina? Where is Suzie?

Where did Princess disappear to for the second time? How does a strange-
acting sheriff and his deputy in the next county tie into the case? Chet and Bernie track down the clues.

As with the first book in the series, the POV is first person, or rather, uh, dog. Quinn does an excellent job of unfolding the case while showing both Chet’s intelligence and his lack of knowledge in certain areas such as human language, memory on certain cases, and his inability to realize when he’s done something because it’s instinctual. Apparently, even though this is only the second book in the series, Chet and Bernie are veterans of investigative work with Chet remembering a lot of previous adventures. I
love the humor and Chet’s quirks. I so wanted to read the first book and when I had the chance to buy the second I took it. I will definitely be buying the third and fourth books in this series and hope there will be plenty more.

Reviewed by Stephen L. Brayton author of “Beta” for Suspense Magazine

Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Thursday, January 26th, 2012 at 8:02 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

108 Responses to “Thereby Hangs A Tail Review – From Suspense Magazine”

  1. BearSpiritDog
    8:51 am on January 26th, 2012

    Hey! We are first!

  2. BearSpiritDog
    8:52 am on January 26th, 2012

    Heh, heh. Good Morning Everyone.

  3. Melanie
    8:56 am on January 26th, 2012

    Morning BearSpiritDog!

    I thought there was a link to “Suspense Magazine” so I could learn more about it. Guess I’ll have to do some research.

    Zoë and I are sitting down and going over our findings on the assessment. Coffee (check). Black tea (check). Calculator (check). All Paper Work (check). Brains … (uh, oh)

    BBL

  4. Melanie
    8:58 am on January 26th, 2012
  5. BearSpiritDog
    9:14 am on January 26th, 2012

    Melanie: Definition of Suspense…is that what you and Zoe are feeling re the assessment data?
    Forgot to ask…where you able to see the Northern Lights?

  6. Masquers
    9:28 am on January 26th, 2012

    Good review by Brayton also like the Suspense Magazine link.

    The wind is howling here…strong winds expected through Saturday. Up early scrambling to get our brew in anticipation of possible power outage. Last night there was a brief moment of alarm when the lights went out, then remembered the utility company was repairing a transformer on the bridge from 10 pm to 5 this am. The lights came on a bit earlier…around 4…hence the early start to the day. The sky is clear and filled with stars.

  7. Masquers
    9:35 am on January 26th, 2012

    I keep seeing “a Cricket” at the top…don’t think it is our Cricket from Australia.
    Just downloaded the new Flash update which is required to watch Alcatraz on Fox. Going to check it out.
    BBL

  8. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:39 am on January 26th, 2012

    Old!…Why are we still reading reviews about a book that came out 2 years ago?…grump!

  9. Barb & Maggie
    10:00 am on January 26th, 2012

    That was a good review in the sense that it seems that the reviewer actually read the book. Too much information given away tho for our taste.

    Rio, We caught most of that new show Touch. Had a hard time following all the different locations and how they tied into this particular kid. Can you explain that to us? Liked the show and like Kiefer a lot.

  10. B.Stover
    10:03 am on January 26th, 2012

    Good morning Chet and all.

  11. Staff
    10:12 am on January 26th, 2012

    Good Morning everyone. For a while I don’t have to go into the busy place until 9:30 so I get a chance to say Hi in the morning. Hope the assessment goes well for Zoe and Melaniee. Glad to hear Dan’s leg is healing.
    CHarris stay warm and I hope those families get the help they need to stay warm also.

    Better go get ready to leave now.

  12. Melanie
    10:12 am on January 26th, 2012

    We have added and subtracted and multiplied and divided. We have squared (but didn’t do any square roots). We are ready.

    So it seems in a matter of 4 months our house grew! An entire addition! With an upstairs! Of course, we can’t find it. Don’t want to anyway, that much more to heat and clean!

    After a brief rebellion, Dan has now taken his bone density test (which he had asked for) and realizes that the *&^%#%^* bone doctor didn’t really mean he could come home today. Jeez Louise! Dan the Man hasn’t put any weight on that leg for a month and a half and the (*^$%#$^* bone doc tells him that. Turns out he really didn’t mean it.

    When Dan asked him about a chair elevator the doc said “You can just crawl up the stairs.” Carpola! *&*^$#$(& bone doctor has never even seen our house. This is 1812 we’re talking about. Staircase is high and STEEP!

    Well, enough ranting.

    Dan is in a good mood now and that is what counts.

  13. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:13 am on January 26th, 2012
  14. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:17 am on January 26th, 2012

    Dan!…The Man! I find that I always feel better after a good rant n’ rave…heh!

  15. Barb & Maggie
    10:43 am on January 26th, 2012

    Thanks Roi, Read it. Seems like sort of a mixed review to me.

  16. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:52 am on January 26th, 2012

    Review!… I’ve read a few reviews of Touch and it seems like everyone is waiting to see where the show will go…snort!… I agree there has to be more to it than the kid giving his dad numeric clues so he can start a chain of events that saves lives somewhere in the world. …..grunt! ….Cool concept though, and I am sure the creator of the show has something larger in mind for it….sniff!…Someone here would trade it for one more exciting year of 24…chuffle!

  17. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:56 am on January 26th, 2012

    Idea!… How about 24 – The Movie ??? …..snort!….That would be amazing, although you would have to pack a lunch and a supper and a breakfast to watch it…heh!

  18. Siber-H
    11:16 am on January 26th, 2012

    My hopes are the same as the reviewers…that there will be many more Chet and Barnie mysteries.

    Happy Australia Day to Liz!!!

  19. Masquers
    11:30 am on January 26th, 2012

    Well. That was disappointing. What we were looking forward to…a full screen presentation…did not happen. Fox is the only network that has required a new flash update to watch their shows and it turns out to be the same old, same old.
    Rio: Touch looks interesting. We will be checking it out.

    Siber says it’s Australia Day – Have a happy one Liz! (and do say hello to Cricket)

  20. Siber-H
    11:36 am on January 26th, 2012

    I see that I changed Bernie’s name.

    My home page said that it is National Australia Day. I don’t know if they know what they are talking about.

  21. Barb & Maggie
    11:43 am on January 26th, 2012

    We will join the group and say Happy Australia Day to Liz! Hope she has a good day, or did she already have it?

    Just finished the first David Rosenfelt book and LOVED it. As opposed to the first – and last – Robert Whitlow book that we read just before that. Yuck! Not on our top 10 for sure!

  22. Melanie
    11:44 am on January 26th, 2012

    BearSpiritDog, as usual it was cloudy. It does that when anything interesting is happening in the sky. Though when it is clear our sky is amazing!

    Gracie has claimed the Treat Toy for herself. She knows how to make it work!
    (I love her jowl in this picture)

  23. Masquers
    11:46 am on January 26th, 2012

    Spence’s publishers today featuring Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451. Mom says that was a classic, read in her younger days.

    Siber: Don’t worry about iPaw typos. As Melanie says, we always block out the typo and read it correctly.

  24. Siber-H
    11:54 am on January 26th, 2012

    The sad news, Masquers, is I am not using an IPaw. I always get a laugh out of the mistakes IPaw’s make. They are fun to read.

  25. OleyHowlers
    12:31 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Good Day to all, and Happy Australia Day to Liz.
    We have missed the blog most of the week ao we are not up to date. But we did see that Dan had good Xray results which is very good news.
    Did everyone know about the Seal rescue conducted before the SOTU speech…oh by the way…
    Is this the weekend of AJ’s race? What day/time does it start and how can we follow it?

  26. Masquers
    12:36 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Howlers: Sadly, I don’t believe we will be able to track the teams as we did in the last qualifying race. Hope I am mistaken.

  27. Riö – The Evil Pug
    12:48 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Tracking!…I’ve started Tracking the rose bouquet and so far it has not left Colorado….grump! ….Estimated delivery time is Tomorrow!…sniff!

  28. Riö – The Evil Pug
    1:20 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Race!…It’s going to be murder not knowing where AJ is in the race…sniff!…Do you guys, meaning Rebecca and SiberH think the Standings page of the website will be reliable and uptodate?…wuffle!…Is he running the 200 mile or the 300 mile race?…sneeze!

  29. OleyHowlers
    1:24 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Can some1 post the link, please?

  30. Riö – The Evil Pug
    1:31 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Dude!… This weekends race!…snort

    http://www.donbowersmemorialrace.org/

  31. Barb & Maggie
    1:32 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Oley, We heard that the Seal rescue news was not known at the time of the speech. However, Obama was heard saying something like “Good job. Good job tonight!”, spoken to one of the military leaders. Evidently no one knew what he meant at the time.

  32. Riö – The Evil Pug
    1:32 pm on January 26th, 2012

    300!….Woooo!…Looks like AJ the Giant is Confirmed for the 300 mile race!…snort! …What a guy! What A-Team….chuffle!

  33. BearSpiritDog
    1:58 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Sammy, is this you? Boy they look good!

  34. OleyHowlers
    2:24 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Barb and Maggie, Potus gives new meaning to “cool as a cucumber”. He knew before the speech and notified her dad immediately after the speech.

  35. Riö – The Evil Pug
    2:29 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Signings!….Speaking of Su-Spence….heh!… Spencer will be flitting his February away in Georgia, and then spending the first 3 days of March at a Sluethfest which is in Florida (I think)…grunt!…How is this guy going to get any writing done I ask you?…sniff!…I wonder if his publisher knows about all this ‘off-time’… wuffle!

  36. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    2:41 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Still recovering from my busy day yesterday. It was cutting day for mom’s quilt guild, with about 20 quilting ladies (and one quilting man) over at our place to do the fabric cutting for all of quilts that will be made at this year’s quiltathon, which is now only two weeks away. Meet and greet, meet and greet, supervise, supervise — kept me very busy all morning, but by the end, all the cutting had been gone and the guild members sent on their merry way.
    Barb and Maggie — really glad that you liked the first Andy Carpenter mystery. As you discovered, the author, David Rosenfelt, is a pretty amazing guy and what he has done for tne nation-within-the-nation is quite remarkable. Apparently this past year, he and his brood moved from Southern California to Maine, with a caravan of Winnebagos (referred to as the Woofabago caravan) employed to transport all of the four-legged members of the family across country. I know that you will enjoy reading the rest of his books just as much as Open and Shut.
    Also, everyone, please remember tomorrow’s big celebration — #61 anniversary for Dan and Zoe. I seem to recall that we may all be invited over for pizza.
    Wookie

  37. Tupper and Gilly
    2:43 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Rio- is Admin going too?

    ONLY 2 DAYS TO GO!!!!!!!

    One of Mama’s co-workers really is vital to CLL – she is the one who truly holds things together. She came in today to take over for Mama, and confided that she is seriously contemplating leaving too. CL is getting under her skin to the extent that she can’t sleep at night. And this co-worker is the one who usually opens every day – day in and day out. We think CL is about to be up a very deep creek, without a paddle, or a boat, or even an inflatable rubber duckie.

    tee hee

  38. Siber-H
    2:46 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Rio, I think the standings page will be reliable, but it will probably be slow. It will not be like having GPS Tracking. Prepare to chew on the couch and I have put away extra chew stips for this race.

    Good news!! AJ is in the 300!!

  39. Siber-H
    3:01 pm on January 26th, 2012

    In defense of sled dog race officials everywhere, they are slow to get the info up on the standings board because they want to make sure that the information is correct. Since this is not a long distance sled dog race this weekend, maybe the information will be posted quicker than what I am used to.

    PIZZA?? Did Wookie say Pizza?

  40. Siber-H
    3:11 pm on January 26th, 2012

    You guys? What is the best way to package up the photo I am sending Snowhook so it will make it safely through the mail?

  41. Riö – The Evil Pug
    3:16 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Rules!… I’ve been perusing the Race Rules trying to find the start time for the 300….snort!…All I can find out is that it will start immediately after the 200 mile has started, which is at noon. 10:00am my time…sniff! … But I ran across these rules which I want to share:

    ** Only “Northern” breeds are acceptable. Mushers must start with no more than 16 and no less than 8 dogs, and must finish with no fewer than 5 dogs in harness and on the tow line. No dog may be added to the team after the start of the event. All dogs will be either in the team or in the sled. ** …. grunt!… I know where I would rather be for the whole dern thing…heh!

  42. Siber-H
    3:20 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Rio, I’ve been telling you for years we could bundle you in fake furs and you could ride along.

  43. B.Stover
    3:26 pm on January 26th, 2012

    SH: Put your photo between pieces of cardboard and put it in a “bubble mailer” envelope that they sell at the post office.

    I’m having pizza tonight.

  44. Barb & Maggie
    3:42 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Oley, Yes, we heard that he made the call to her father right after the speech. If he had made an announcement at the SOTU address he might have been accused of grandstanding.

    Wookie, you are right about Andy Carpenter books. We have the 2nd one and will be starting it tonight. Very interestion about the Woofabago caravan.

  45. Siber-H
    3:55 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Thanks Stover and I’ll be at your house this evening.

  46. B.Stover
    3:59 pm on January 26th, 2012

    SH: LOL! Come on over.

  47. Riö – The Evil Pug
    4:00 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Supper!…I wonder what we will have for supper tonight….sniff! …Nothings cooking yet. Last night we had tacos with all the trimmings….heh!… You’d think this was an easy meal to make, wouldn’t you? Well apparently it is quite difficult because her mother had to stand around telling someone how to make it….grunt!…I thought she had made this meal many times before without any help from me or anyone…heh!….So tonight is a crap-shoot with her mother cooking all by herself…wuffle!

  48. Barb & Maggie
    4:10 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Rio, Seemingly simple solution: take turns cooking. The person who is off for the evening just shows up at dinner time. Not allowed near cooking areas till meal is served. Presented in a positive, over the top way–you are sooo lucky, you don’t have to lift a finger, or open your mouth, until it is time to stuff food in it!

  49. Sam
    4:37 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Bear, I see me in your picture. I’m in the last row on the far right.

  50. Melanie
    4:40 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Pizza here? The Newfs will enjoy it. Dan and Zoë will be having theirs at lunch.

    Riö, if your friend has an MP3 have her put the ear buds in her ears and turn it up. Works wonders.

    I got home from running errands and had PACKAGES! Whoo Hoo!

    First package: I will be wearing my hair up for the ceremony and I bought a Japanese comb and then a thing I can’t remember the name of right now. The comb is mahogany and the other thing is a silver alloy. The silvery thing is a dragon. I will take pictures tomorrow.

    Second package: My first girly sweater came in! Not very girly but better than I usually do. snicker. I found out that I must have new “foundations”. snicker
    Also I will be changing two white buttons to some pewter ones I have in the shape of Newfoundlands.

    Cool-e-o-neat!

  51. Melanie
    4:41 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Sam, I was thinking you might have been the one in front that has a punk hairdo.

  52. Riö – The Evil Pug
    4:56 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Barb!… Her mother does not follow any sort of rules, so the whole take-turns at supper thing sounds good, but in reality it would not change anything….grunt! ….It’s all the strength my friend has sometimes to not throw the whole meal in the trash and drive off to the local diner for supper (alone!)…wuffle!

  53. Snowhook Bella
    4:59 pm on January 26th, 2012

    I worked until 11 last night and got home well after midnight, but it was like Christmas when I arrived home. I had a very handsome picture of Tyb and Blou waiting for me—Nomeward bound!— and coveralls from Dawson by way I Staff. With the exception for being a little long they fit like a glove. I wore them around the house until I went to bed. Thanks, Dawson!

    The race tomorrow starts at noon AK time. AJ is trying to decide between the 200 and the 300—the entrance fee is less for the 200. The mushers meeting is tonight so we’ll no more details tonight but it sounds like they might be rerouting the trail from their original plans. We’ll have to go old school for race updates on this one folks. It’s okay. In past years I have found the race organizers to be very on top of the stats. If all else fails, I will head over to the community center—it’s the Willow Winter Festival and the race is part of the tradition.

    Charris: Not too far from us are folks living in a connex. I have no idea how they are staying warm.

    B&M: Any word on Maggie’s dance card being filled?

    Melanie: A good foundation can make all the difference 😉

  54. Barb & Maggie
    5:04 pm on January 26th, 2012

    What kind of dog do you think that is next to the Sammy look a like? Very strange looking. Is it a long haired dog who has had a severe clip job ( like a shih tzu type) ? Can’t quite place the breed.

    Melanie, I think putting your hair in an up-do sounds very elegant. And if your hair is the type that has a mind of its own in humidity, all the better.

  55. BearSpiritDog
    5:06 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Poor Rio! Mealtime, the preparing or eating of, is no time to be stressed out in my opinion. Barb is right – suggest to her mother they take turns. Too many cooks spoil the broth (and irritate the heck out of the one cooking)

    Wookie: As always, you kept everything running smoothly.

    Siber-H: Our photo was sent off to Snowhook today. However, instead of cardboard we put the photo in a greeting card, which was then mailed in a bubble mailer, as B suggested.

  56. Barb & Maggie
    5:13 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Rebecca, Barb here. The OFA report takes about 3-4 weeks to come back. If Maggie’s hips are marginal or if she shows any signs of DJD, then the answer is no. Her mama has good hips and her father had a lot of great qualities but he has one hip joint that was just so-so, no DJD. If her’s are good then she will get to meet Mr. Wonderful end of April or May.

  57. Sam
    5:20 pm on January 26th, 2012

    I meant to say I’m in the last row of cupcakes on the far right. The dog behind me is a Bichon Frisée. I can’t tell what the other dog is.

  58. Snowhook Bella
    5:21 pm on January 26th, 2012

    B&M: I’m going to borrow a snort from Rio at the thought of waiting three or four weeks. Snort! And a grump from B. Stover for good measure. Grump!

  59. BearSpiritDog
    5:22 pm on January 26th, 2012

    SnowBella: Our package came in the mail! Thank you, thank you! We love it!!! Nana’s all set for the big race now…a true fashionista. As we said earlier, be on the lookout for the Iditarod photo which is headed your way.

  60. Macy the Min-pin
    5:33 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Melanie, so sorry to hear about your foundations. Do you have cracks, have things shifted, is there a leak?

    BTW I do not know what color you plan to wear, but I found a dress for your consideration.

  61. Melanie
    5:46 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Oh, Macy! I look great in purple and blue! And those tights?
    Marvelous, dahllink, just marvelous!

    I believe the foundations have shifted!

  62. Snowhook Bella
    6:22 pm on January 26th, 2012

    BSD: I’m so glad you received the package and that you like it. I dare say you’ll be a regular mushionista!

    Here’s hoping the other packages sent earlier this week arrive safe and sound without teeth marks.

  63. Melanie
    6:35 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Bella, must get the photo to you guys. Must get the photo to you guys. Must get the photo to you guys. Must get the photo to you guys. Must get the photo to you guys. Must get the photo to you guys. Must get the photo to you guys. Must get the photo to you guys. Must get the photo to you guys.

  64. BearSpiritDog
    6:49 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Melanie: Heh,heh that photo of the River Bears is going to weigh a ton.

  65. Kirby T. Penworthy
    7:15 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Hey, y’all! Once again, I couldn’t get on last night because my girl was hogging the computer. I’d be happy she was leaving, except I’m going to miss her like crazy! :(

    By the way, I got to spend the whole day in bed today! Dad let me in their bedroom while he was taking his shower, and Mom didn’t notice that I was still there, so she shut me in. A whole day without Those Girls bugging me — sheer bliss! Dress rehearsal for this weekend and beyond!!!

  66. Tupper and Gilly
    7:18 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Melanie – add to your chant – must bring camera to Royal’s house for their portrait. Then Basil and Sage will just keep nagging you until you say you did send the photo.

    Rio – our Mama is not nearly as nice as your friend. When she is cooking NO ONE is allowed in her path. NO ONE. And when the whole fam-dam-ly comes here for dinner and they stand and sit around the kitchen, she absolutly throws them out with threats for their physical safety if they don’t remove themselves to the living room.

    hmmm – we just figured out why Mama always has FEMALE dogs….she just has more in common with us…..

  67. Melanie
    7:27 pm on January 26th, 2012

    So on the first day of Freedom, I’m bringing a camera?

  68. BearSpiritDog
    7:27 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Tupper&Gilly: Your mama is sounding VERY fierce, but none of us are fooled. We all know she is a big softy at heart. All this roaring is just gearing up for the upcoming exit from CLL. (whispering) although, we have heard tails of “a pink bulldozer”…..

  69. BearSpiritDog
    7:30 pm on January 26th, 2012

    “tales” or “tails…does it wag by any other name?

  70. Masquers
    7:32 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Kirby: Hope your dad left the bathroom door open.

  71. Sam
    7:32 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Melanie, I could have a punk hairdo. You know how I get clipped all the time. Groomers get a bit wild with the shears.

  72. Kirby T. Penworthy
    7:35 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Masquers: Nope, I was closed in the bedroom. The nice, soft bed was an advantage, but I gotta admit I did get a little thirsty by the time my girl got home to let me out!

  73. Melanie
    7:37 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Sam, I bet you could be anything you wanted to be!

    KirbyT: I bet you had a wonderful time snug in your Mom and Dad’s bed. Head on the pillow, under the covers … Yes, I see you!

  74. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:24 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Kirby!…You didn’t leave anything behind in the bedroom, did you?…snort!… I can only imagine what would happen if that has happened to Beau…grunt!…Not pretty. I do have to admit though all his badness takes the spotlight off of me…heh!heh!

  75. Staff
    8:25 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Heh heh, I have been reading about some of the arrangements for the Don Bowers Memorial Race. I quote…
    “There is no outhouse but a trail will be broken through an area that provides privacy in the woods. If desired we can set up a tarp with a bucket.”

    OMD!

  76. Staff
    8:29 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Just to tell you to be careful. I have started the next 3 falls. It was glare ice in the parking lot tonight and there I was on the ground. I was most worried about my brand new blue coat.
    Drat it all.
    However it just got a little dirty and I am washing it now. My wrist was a little sore and my right leg pulled a muscle. That’s all. My feet slid out in front of my so I didn’t take a header. Just was suddenly on my butt. There are advantages to being short, and wearing a nice fluffy down coat.
    I have taken a tylenol. Probably stiff in the morning.

  77. Melanie
    8:40 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Staff, take care!!

    (whispering) Riö, I think KirbyT must have the “iron” bladder!

    Time to take myself to bed!

    YSAS and one of his apartment dudes made dinner for the entire crew there. Chicken stew (lima beans on the side), a dish of baked apples then a dessert. Gluten free dark chocolate somethings with rum raisin ice cream. He posted a picture on Facebook. I have stolen it. Wish I could really steal it!

    Off to bed! Oh, and Macy? Zoë loved the tutu, but suggested more blue.

  78. Tupper and Gilly
    8:45 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Ooooo Staff – that sounds like its gonna hurt. We don’t understand why you two leggeds insist on walking upright. We may slip and slide on ice, but we dont; have very far to fall.

    Remember Gilly sliding down the hill to the back door last year?

    Hey – that Dorito commercial with the Pug was just on. What a hoot! Rio – we bet you could take down that glass door too.

    (whispering – BSD-Mama really is very poufy…um, fierce – but only when she needs to be.)

  79. Barb & Maggie
    9:03 pm on January 26th, 2012

    The cake looks delish, and Awe have never had rum rasin ice cream but it sound wonderful.

    Staff, You might be sore tomorrow. Barb was the most sore 2 and 3 days after her head first dive. Be careful! Don’t jar your insides!

    Barb’s favorite son has a birthday tomorrow. Happy Birthday little Joshie!

  80. ALice M. Johnson
    9:04 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Rio honey, is that you?

  81. dawson
    9:07 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Dad also had the rule of no one in the kitchen while he was cooking. He would give you the evil eye and growl at you. We learned to stay out of the way. His salads were works of art, ingredients often weighed, arranged to be pleasing to the eye and delicious.
    SnowBella: Wow! That package got to you fast! The Canadian P.O. can only dream of service like that! By the way…did you ever send me a purple neck gaiter?
    Staff: Yikes! I hope you don’t hurt too bad in the morning.
    Kirby: You luck! That sounds like a very relaxing day.
    T&G: 3 more days! Oh boy. You can do it!
    MacyMinPin: Is that one of those people of Walmart photos? I wish I had the cahones to go out dressed like that. Wait a minute! No I don’t!

  82. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:11 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Alice!…Don’t call me Honey…grump!….Where do you guys find all these weird photos?…sniff!

    Staff!…What the hell, Staff!…snort!…Are you trying to kill yourself? I know you don’t want to work, but this is not the best way to get out of it…snuffle!

  83. Barb & Maggie
    9:13 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Here is a picture of Little Joshie. He was at some sort of race.

  84. B.Stover
    9:13 pm on January 26th, 2012

    I hope everything is okay Staff.

    Baskin Robbins rum rasin ice cream is to die for.

  85. dawson
    9:21 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Barb and Maggie: That’s,/b> Little Joshie?! Was it a race to see who could eat the most watermelon? Heh? He’s kinda cute, little Joshie is.

  86. dawson
    9:22 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Oops.
    No offense intended.

  87. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:29 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Joshie!… Is that the bicycle guy?….snort!…He looks like a Rugby player….heh! …I wouldn’t want to make him unhappy…sniff!

  88. Barb & Maggie
    9:32 pm on January 26th, 2012

    None taken. Little Joshie is 6’2″ and about 250 when he’s really watching it. He is an XXL!

    He is like the Newfs – a gentle giant. He stops traffic to let a goose family cross the road, and 2 yrs ago kept a frog all winter in a tank (had to buy bugs for it at the pet store). They found it trapped in their sump pump and he said if they let it go it would freeze. Had a big “Free the Frog” celebration the next May. Mighty proud of that kid!

  89. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    9:38 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Rio – is ok if Natasha calls you Honey? We have seen you in little costumes – ve still love you. Vell – the von vith the leiderhosen vas a little bit much.

    Rum Raisin? Is nothing next to Vodka Vanilla

  90. C. Harris
    9:38 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Burnt my hand at the gas pump this afternoon. I couldn’t put off getting gas any longer but couldn’t get the frozen pump to work with winter gloves on. I know better than to touch metal at -32. Most of the handle was plastic but there was this one metal seam…. -55 tonight and then -47 predicted tomorrow.

  91. dawson
    9:38 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Awwwww. What a sweetie.

  92. dawson
    9:43 pm on January 26th, 2012

    C.Harris: Nothing goes smoothly at temperatures that cold. Be safe.
    I’m having an early night tonight so good night.

  93. B.Stover
    9:46 pm on January 26th, 2012

    You should be proud of Joshie, Barb.

  94. Masquers
    9:50 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Bio: Kiefer William Frederick Dempsey George Rufus Sutherland…a Canadian actor and director born in London.
    Just watched the Touch pilot…interesting. If Tim Kring is directing there is sure to be a twist.
    Barb & Rio…what did you think? Did anyone else see it?

    B&M: Is that your Josh with the bicycle shop? Handsome guy.

    Staff: Barb is right. You will feel sorer two days from now than you feel now. Unfortunately, it gets worse before it gets better. Here, have a big dish of ice cream to take your mind off things.
    Interesting outhouse accommodations for the race. When nature calls they mean it literally.

  95. Barb & Maggie
    9:59 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Yes, that is the bike shop guy. He is the only son, so that is why we call him “Favorite Son”.

    Masquers, we talked about Touch earlier with Rio. I think we both watched it and are waiting to see what develops from here. The first show was good, but Barb found it a little hard to follow. Maybe it’s because she’s always running to the kitchen for popcorn or ice cream!

    I don’t think I coud deal with those temps up north. Don’t know how C Harris does it!

  96. BearSpiritDog
    10:10 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Heading off to grab a snack. The dessert YSAS prepared looks very tempting. After that…calling it a night.
    Nite all – Bear

  97. ALice M. Johnson
    10:13 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Staff says you guys have scared her and she is going to get ready for bed now. Hopefully she won’t stiffen up too much overnight. CHarris, watch it now. I wonder if your hand counts as thing two? I hope so then we only need to make room for one more person in the quilt.
    I think the quilt is expandable though, so no worries.
    Night all, and Rio, you honey, a special nighty night to you.

    >>>>>SMACK<<<<<<<

  98. ALice M. Johnson
    10:14 pm on January 26th, 2012

    ummmm that as a big smacky kiss in case you were wondering.

  99. Tupper and Gilly
    10:20 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Alice Johnson – tell Staff to have an extra glass of water tonight, and a couple bites of something with protein. Plus a tylenol. That will help keep tomorrow’s soreness at a minimum.
    Hydrate and feed the muscles and they won’t hurt as much.

  100. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:20 pm on January 26th, 2012

    GAH!…KAT germs!…grunt!

  101. Barb & Maggie
    10:34 pm on January 26th, 2012

    T & G, that is great advice about water and protein. We will remember that for the next time, and I’m sure there will be a next time!

    We are signing off too. One more day at the office, so need to get so sleep.

    Sweet dream, all.

  102. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:45 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Pugitos!….Hey! The Three Pugitos are up top!…heh!snort!….Those guys are so cool. I wish they lived in my neighborhood…sniff!… No other Pugs around here as far as I can tell except for Beau and I’m not sure he really is a Pug…grunt!…He just went upstairs to terrorize her mother…heh!

    Quirky!… We are watching a show called Finder on network tv…sniff!…Its kind of quirky so we sort of like it….grunt!

    Tired!…Someone here is very tired but determined to stay up for a while yet. She has a ba-zillion little pieces of paper to roll and fashion into something….snort!….I bet she doesn’t make it past 9:00…heh!

  103. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:55 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Quick!… Well, Beau is back down here with us…heh!…I guess her mother is tired of him hogging her bed…chorkel!…And she closed the door, or rather slammed it as he was coming down the stairs. My friend has told her many times to do just that (close the door) and he will not go back up the stairs. Does her mother ever listen? …nope!

  104. Tupper and Gilly
    10:55 pm on January 26th, 2012

    G’night all – going to bed so we can get up tomorrow and PLAY WITH CLAY!!! Yippeeeee!!!

  105. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:06 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Clay!…I hope Golinka gets to play all day because soon she will be back to work for the Loco Lady…snort!… No rest for the wickedly talented that’s for sure…heh!

  106. Snowhook Bella
    11:17 pm on January 26th, 2012

    Grump! I tried to get home early enough so I could go with AJ to the mushers meeting, but I didn’t make it in time. Some of the dogs are not in the kennel—either they are out for a Whitey-Lance Walkabout or vet checks are happening at the meeting.

    I did stop on the way home and get cheesecake so I’ll be ready for my part in the race.

    Good thing Staff has already gone to bed, because I agree—it gets worse before it gets better. Two days after my slip and fall, I couldn’t get out of bed. I could barely move.

    Staff: Feel better and watch your footing. I’ve been trudging around in my snow boots with good traction since my fall.

    B&M: Favorite son and friend of the frog!

    Dawson: I sent the neck gaiter last week (along with a little extra something). It seems like the calendar took a couple of weeks, so hopefully you should get it next week. Hopefully…damn goats.

    Rio: Any idea what your friend’s next project will be, or does she keep you guessing?

  107. Macy the Min-pin
    12:28 am on January 27th, 2012

    Mom got dad an apron that says “Have a nice day…somewhere else”

  108. penn state jersey
    9:08 pm on February 8th, 2012

    penn state jersey…

    […]It is really a great and helpful piece of information. I’m glad that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.[…]…

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia