The Examiner Reviews Robbie

Peter Abrahams (aka Spencer Quinn) has done it again. He has proven the breadth of his writing abilities and his creativity with his latest release, Robbie Forester and the Outlaws of Sherwood St.

His main character, Robbie (short for Robyn), is an only child. The various characters in the story exemplify diversity, and her own family is no different. Her family is “different” in that her mother is the breadwinner, an attorney who works long hours, and her father is a writer who has published two books and is working on his third.

As a side note, Abrahams imbues the father with quite a bit of wackiness — all his comments about his new book make no sense to Robbie at all, and the reader gets the impression that the dad likes to hang out at coffee shops and “do” lunch with prospective agents. The mom is definitely the grounded partner here.

There’s a lot that doesn’t make sense to Robbie and she’s not afraid to admit it. The story is told in first person narrative, and she is self-deprecating, funny, and often at sea about the proper thing to say or do.

That all changes (somewhat) when she picks up a bracelet which falls off the wrist of a homeless woman she was trying to help. The bracelet is magic.

Part of the fun is watching Robbie and her new friends try to figure out just what kind of magic is in the bracelet. It seems that the magic works when it wants to. Mostly, it wants to right injustice, and in Brooklyn at that point, there is a lot of injustice to right.

A not-so-nice billionaire named Sheldon Gunn is trying to take over a big parcel of real estate, and he doesn’t care who is hurt in the process. The reader will meet the tenants who can’t afford the newly jacked-up rents and are losing their homes or businesses, including one soup kitchen where Robbie and her mother volunteered until its untimely closing.

In addition to Robbie, the characters are all fairly well described and interesting. Ashanti, a tall beautiful eighth-grade girl, is smart and brave. Her mother is a former model with unspecified emotional issues (she sleeps a lot). Silas, a friend of Ashanti’s, is home-schooled and a computer genius. Tut-Tut, from Haiti, lives in the projects near Robbie’s home and has such a bad stutter that he can’t finish one word unless the power of the magic is with him. Robbie learns he is an orphan who lives with an abusive uncle.

The magic is with Robbie and her friends, and it’s also with Pendleton, the Forester’s adopted shelter dog who is afraid of his own shadow. He’s a dog who will only go outside for a walk if a dog treat is promised. “He…cowered against a building to let a Chihuahua pass by.”

Robbie and her friends are courageous and foil the bad guys while braving arsonists, machine guns, icy oceans and more.

Readers ten years and older will enjoy this feel-good story about helping the downtrodden and doing the right thing. Isn’t that what Robin Hood is all about? Robbin’ the ‘hood to help the poor. And that’s just what this Robbie does, too, when she takes the money from the evil-doers and gives it to their victims.

Social justice and righting wrongs are great themes for children’s literature — throw in lots of adventure and some magic and it’s sure to be a hit!

Also known for his young adult Down the Rabbit Hole novel and his adult series about Chet and Bernie, Dog On ItTo Fetch a ThiefThe Dog Who Knew Too Much, etc., Abrahams has proven he can write stories that will appeal to readers of all ages. Picture book next, perhaps?

Clever and touching middle grade read by talented Peter Abrahams (aka Spencer Quinn).
Clever and touching middle grade read by talented Peter Abrahams (aka Spencer Quinn).
– Pamela Kramer
Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Tuesday, January 17th, 2012 at 8:44 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

91 Responses to “The Examiner Reviews Robbie”

  1. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    8:49 am on January 17th, 2012

    Great review of a great book. Hopefully this is just the beginning of the accolades this treasure deserves. And good morning everyone from Chevy Chase. Rainy here but warmer today (mid-50s possibly). Wookie

  2. B.Stover
    8:51 am on January 17th, 2012

    Good review except that Kramer apparently doesn’t know that “read” is a verb.

    Good morning Wookie and all.

  3. Rose
    9:06 am on January 17th, 2012

    Good Morning Wookie and B!

    We had a little slushy mix overnight. Today’s forecast calls for rain, 48 degrees, and dropping temperatures overnight.

    B, hope you are feeling better.

    Masquers, Rebecca, Rio, and the rest of you who are experiencing heavy snow and bitter temperatures, take good care.

  4. B.Stover
    9:13 am on January 17th, 2012

    After watching the Weather Channel I’m hoping that Bear is okay.

    Rose: Thank you. I am feeling better.

    Such crazy weather: It’s 45 here and raining……in the middle of January…….Jeeze Louise as Melanie says.

  5. Sam
    9:28 am on January 17th, 2012

    I can’t wait to read Robbie!

    My girl went back to college. Grrr. I knew it on Saturday when Mom and Dad came home with dorm room smells all over them. Then I heard them talking about how she went back early for some Leadership Institute stuff. That wasn’t necessary because my Girl is real bossy. Sammie do this, Sammie do that. That’s a waste of time if you ask me.

  6. Melanie
    9:30 am on January 17th, 2012

    Interesting morning here. Not as interesting as AJ’s! If you go to Facebook he had quite an experience. Hopefully Bella will post something about it here!

    Our morning (relatively tame) consisted of the Subaru battery going dead. I looked up opening the hood and how to jump start a car on the computer. Got the hood open! YEA! But the battery is really dead. So the garage dude came (15 minutes) and tested things and replaced the battery.

    Next? YSAS story.

  7. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    9:31 am on January 17th, 2012

    Great review! I love books about magic. One of my favorite childhood memories is walking home from the library with a stack of Edgar Eager books in my arms. I always walked past a yard planted with honeysuckle bushes and to this day, the scent propels me to my nine year old self.

  8. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    9:34 am on January 17th, 2012

    I know that you will miss your girl, Sammie. But I don’t believe for one single minute that anyone has ever bossed our Princess around. Is it possible that you are exaggerating a tiny little bit?

  9. Melanie
    9:36 am on January 17th, 2012

    Sam, it’s a good thing, but I understand that you want your girl with you.

    I’m not reading the review. Will read it after THURSDAY!

    YSAS story!

    He went to CT to film in that movie that was postponed. He told the guy he wasn’t in the two scenes they were filming, but the guy didn’t believe him. Okay with YSAS he gets paid anyway.

    Gets there. He’s not in those two scenes (duh) so they decide he’ll just do some walk throughs.

    They give one of the people in the scene some more lines and he can’t handle them. Director says, “YSAS! Read these.” Producer says, “YES, him”. So YSAS has a new scene and more lines!

    Snicker

  10. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:56 am on January 17th, 2012

    Review!…i’m not sticking my nose out to read that damned review….grunt!…Not it after we have read the book…snort!….Hoping it will get here next week sometime. Amazon has never done us proud…wuffle!

    Clarkson!!!….I’m so proud of Clarkson!…snort! …. Pretty soon he will have the lead part in that there Indy Film…heh!

  11. Masquers
    10:02 am on January 17th, 2012

    Good morning everyone.
    WeatherKat checking in. Woke up at close to 3 am and glanced out the window, no snow, but then at 6 am a dusting of white. Should be able to get out the driveway to stock up on supplies for the next couple of days. The big storm is expected tonight.
    Rio: How is it out your way this morning?

  12. BearSpiritDog
    10:30 am on January 17th, 2012

    Heh. As soon as we read the word “read” used incorrectly we knew the reviewer was in trouble with one of the Plunderers. B, even though it makes you cringe, perhaps Webster will soon have to include this as one of the definitions of that word, as it has become so prevalent.

    Melanie: Snow at your end of the country too I see. Happy to hear the car battery has been replaced. It always seems to die at the most inappropriate times. Couldn’t find AJ’s facebookie story. Hope Rebecca posts the details soon. That is great news for YSAS! He was definitely at the right place at the right time.

    Awww Sammy. Sorry you were the last to know. It was a nice dream while it lasted.

    Wolfie: We love books on magic too. Nana was an avid reader of science fiction & fantasy as a teenager, so we are open to infinite possibilities in the realm of quantum physics. I, too, like the way a certain smell can transport you back in time the way the smell of honeysuckle does for you.

  13. Mollypop's Mom
    10:37 am on January 17th, 2012

    I got my pre-order in for Robbie. I love this book already!

  14. Melanie
    10:37 am on January 17th, 2012

    Found something for AJ! He can’t use it on the races because it only goes for 4 hours.
    Could attach it to the sled and we can see what it’s like to do training runs.

    So … must buy a lottery ticket today!

  15. B.Stover
    10:58 am on January 17th, 2012

    “Read” is already listed as a noun in dictionaries and has been for some time I’m afraid.

    Way to go YSAS!

    Let’s see: What’s the difference between “bossy” and “leadership”?

  16. Barb & Maggie
    11:04 am on January 17th, 2012

    Good morning all. I am in town for an appointment and have stopped by the office. Computer is down at home, due to snow storm. May not be back today! If not, don’t worry!

  17. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:04 am on January 17th, 2012

    Pre-Order!…M&M did you order Robbie through Amazon?…snort!…Maybe my book will come sooner than I think too!…woooo!

  18. Tupper and Gilly
    11:10 am on January 17th, 2012

    Bee – the answer to that one is two-fold and simple.

    1.In the corporate world, when a woman does it, she is “bossy”…when a man does it, it’s “leadership”

    2. Mama thinks that her go-ahead attitude shows leadership…lots of other people define her as bossy….

    guess it just depends on who is doing the labeling.

    Melanie – GO YSAS! What a boy!

  19. Mollypop's Mom
    11:18 am on January 17th, 2012

    Rio – I pre-ordered the Kindle version of Robbie. It will arrive exactly on time.

  20. B.Stover
    11:22 am on January 17th, 2012

    T&G: LOL!! You have made my day!

    Someone was asking about Downton Abbey season 2. According to Amazon, the dvd of the original UK version will be released February 7. I don’t know in what way it is different from the PBS series. On Amazon you can also stream season 2 at $1.99 per episode.

  21. Melanie
    11:29 am on January 17th, 2012

    I pre-ordered both the hardback and Kindle. Both to arrive on Thursday!!!!!!!!!

  22. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:36 am on January 17th, 2012

    Bugger!…Poop and spit!…snort!…That means I will not get my Robbie till next if (if ever)…grunt!

  23. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:38 am on January 17th, 2012

    Grump!….Next Week if Ever! I need to go lie down….wheeze!

  24. BearSpiritDog
    11:55 am on January 17th, 2012

    It has started to snow again…big, wet flakes. May have to rethink the store run.

    Barb&Magpie: Power outages always a concern here too. Drive safely. Hope to hear from you soon.

  25. Riö – The Evil Pug
    12:06 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Beau!….heh!heh!….I just sent my friend an email telling her that Beau pissed on the side of her good couch….snort!….The one that neither of us are allowed to get up on….heh!…I’m sure that will not make her very happy when she reads it….snort!….That guy keeps walking on thin ice, one day it is going to break and he will be G-O-N-E…chuffle!….Hopefully it will be before baseball season starts…wooooo!

  26. BearSpiritDog
    12:30 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Oh, oh. Beau is in for it now.

  27. BearSpiritDog
    12:33 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Not just for Siber-H & the O.Howlers…

  28. dawson
    12:50 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Winter weather! I see winter has arrived for many of you. Me too. It is -34 C. (approx. -30 F). On the bright side, this is the first winter in the history of recorded temperatures that we have not gone to -40 or below. So far.
    C.Harris: Hope you are out of the deep freeze. I think we are getting our weather from up there.
    Today has 52 minutes more daylight than the day on Dec 21st. I really haven’t noticed much of a difference yet.
    Sam: Awwwww.
    Rio: Don’t be a tattle-tail.

  29. Rose
    1:00 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Oh, Beau, please try and be a better pug so you can stay in your nice forever home.

    Big ups for YSAS!!!

  30. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    1:09 pm on January 17th, 2012

    B. Interesting thing about the UK version of stuff versus PBS in the U.S., although not sure if it would automatically apply to Downtown Abbey, but it might. First of all, we have an all-region DVD player, so we can play DVDs from all regions of the world. They are not necessary any more expensive than standard U.S. Region 1-only DVD players, and ours is a Pioneer, which is a fairly standard brand. In any event, we have ordered a number of DVDs from Amazon.UK, which are often cheaper (even with international shipping), available earlier that the same programming is available in the U.S., and most significantly, are often longer. Apparently PBS will cut 5-9 minutes from many programs filmed in the UK to fit into their time slots, and when the DVDs are released in the U.S. by PBS, it is the cut version that you get. We know for certain that the Inspector Lewis’s that we have ordered from Amazon.UK are longer than the versions broadcast on PBS here, and we suspect that may be the case for others as well. The only downside to ordering from Amazon.UK (and we have even ordered some stuff from Amazon.Fr, although it is always a challenge since the ordering process for some reason is in French and my dad has nothing more than restauarant literacy in French), is that you can’t lend the discs to anyone who has a standard U.S. only DVD player.

    One other key difference — for some reason a lot of the U.S.-released PBS programming does not have close captioning for the hearing impaired (grandpa needs this, so it is important for the two leggeds in the family; for me, not so much), although almost all of the DVDs released in Europe do. (This is less of a problem today as the U.S. releases have gotten better, but is a major problem on older releases.)

    Hope this is helpful.
    Wookie

  31. OleyHowlers
    1:19 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Bear, that looks like Meashka and Kat! Except, that young one seems to have learned the art of subtle eye liner. Kat has not.
    Bravo YSAS!
    Dawson, wow it is cold up yout way.
    Good answer T&G!
    We preordered!
    Rio, you’d better hope that Beau doesn’t beat you up in the schoolyard for ratting him out.

  32. BearSpiritDog
    1:41 pm on January 17th, 2012

    I believe our stormy weather is coming down from the frigid north, complements of SnowBella, C.Harris & Awesome Dawson. Thanks a bunch guys!
    Oh, no…the lights are flickering…never a good sign.

  33. Melanie
    1:46 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Good luck BearSpiritDog and Masquers!

    We’re getting our weather from Jasper, MagPie, B.STover, MM and Sam!

  34. B.Stover
    1:53 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Thanks Wookie. The dvd that Amazon is selling of Downton Abbey season 2 is Region 1, which is for U.S. and Canada so I believe that it will play on a standard dvd player. I have a feeling that the season is over by February 7 when the dvd comes out. I’ll have to check that out.

  35. B.Stover
    2:00 pm on January 17th, 2012

    I checked and PBS is airing Downton Abbey: January 8, 15(already aired, of course), 22, 29 and February 5,12, & 19. So the dvd is being released two weeks before the end of the series. Interesting.

  36. Siber-H
    2:01 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Great review!! I hope the book finds a wide audience of young people. We know we will like it.

    WOO WOO YSAS has more lines!! We want to see this movie.

    Bear, Thanks for the photo. Those Sibers are braver than I am. I go outside if the vacuum appears.

    Sam, Chin Up I am sure it won’t be too long before you see your girl again.

    Boring, We are having wind from Rio’s storm and that is all.

  37. OleyHowlers
    2:03 pm on January 17th, 2012

    We are watching Season 2 on PBS. Don’t most of you get a PBS channel?

    Bear, we hope you don’t lose power!!!

  38. Mollypop's Mom
    2:05 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Gee Whiz Guys – We got 2 feet of snow last week and you didn’t hear me complaining. Oh right, I live on a ski slope.

  39. Riö – The Evil Pug
    2:05 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Clueless!… Beau has no idea how to access email, or this here blog. Not to mention my little Go Phone or my Harmonica…heh!….He is pretty clueless in this high-tech society as he still gets all his messages from Pee-Mail….chorkel!

  40. dawson
    2:06 pm on January 17th, 2012

    BearSpiritDog: Don’t blame us for this weather! Sure, we had it before you…but we are getting it from Siberia. SiberH’s relatives are trying to send him a present.

  41. B.Stover
    2:06 pm on January 17th, 2012

    The PBS website already seems to be selling Downton Abbey season 2 dvd but it is $10 more than Amazon’s price. There is a hardcover book titled The World of Downton Abbey which looks interesting. (It’s also available on Amazon.)

  42. B.Stover
    2:13 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Okay–the one on the PBS website is also a preorder and would be shipped Feb. 7.

    Howlers: Yes, I have also been watching DA on PBS.

    (Whispering): I believe we heard some complaining from Mollypop’s Mom when there WASN’T any snow……..

  43. OleyHowlers
    2:22 pm on January 17th, 2012
  44. Tupper and Gilly
    2:40 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Mama is smacking her head here. She spent the morning cleaning getting ready for the great couch take-away and delivery, and lo and behold – she came across a Christmas present meant for Melanie….
    She is so hopelessly discombobulated. WE always remember where we left our toys and buried our bones.
    Anyway – now she has to decide if she should give Melanie a late Christmas present, or hold it for her birthday.
    We say to heck with it – Melanie could use a smile now. Besides which, if Mama tries to hold onto the present til April, she will for sure lose it again.

  45. Riö – The Evil Pug
    3:11 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Present!…Tupper, you could always just send it to me!…heh!…I like presents too you know…sniff!

  46. OleyHowlers
    3:55 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Pick us, T&G! We will love a present way more than Melanie!

  47. Siber-H
    4:07 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Maybe the storm will come my way when it leaves Bear. As Dawson said, my relatives in Siberia keep trying to get one this far south.

    The skiing in NM is suppose to be the best in the country right now.

  48. Riö – The Evil Pug
    4:41 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Couch!…I wonder if The Great Couch has arrived yet. I hope Golinka purchased one they can actually sit on…snort!

  49. Barb & Maggie
    4:50 pm on January 17th, 2012

    We are back in business at least for now.

    Have to tell you about this moring’s events. Barb went in town for a dental appt – just a routine cleaning. She stopped at CL’s office to look up her email, write you guys about home computer problems, and finish wrappping up White Wings to send off to G & B. As she was walking across the clear, unobstructed office floor, she caught her boot laces on one foot and did a crash and burn. First thing to hit the floor was her chin, which now has a nice carpet burn. Then her teeth went thru her lower lip, just on the inside, thank dog! Her head hurt, her mouth was bleeding and her knees both ached. She is dangerous!
    Obviously she had to cancel her teeth cleaning (at least she still has teeth!), She did manage to get to the post office and mail White Wings, go by the grocery and library, and make it home in one piece. Took some advil and layed down for a bit. Let’s see if she can get to the barn and the mail box without doing any more damage to herself!

    Oley, how did the chicken turn out?

  50. Melanie
    4:54 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Hip Hip Hurrah! PRESENT TIME!!

    Mine, all mine. You guys keep your paws off!

    Okay, have to look at the link. About to watch more of “Kingdom” (very good series).

    Went into town to tell the pharmacy that my plan had changed, and by golly by gee, it all worked. First time in 5 years.

    Zoe doing better. She took my puncture appointment today. I take hers on Thursday. Hopefully things will start evening out for her.

    Dan’s fine. He had company on and off all weekend and yesterday.

  51. Melanie
    4:56 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Grumble, snigglefritz. In moderation … Okay let’s see what I can take out.

    Hip Hip Hurrah! PRESENT TIME!!

    Mine, all mine. You guys keep your paws off!

    Okay, have to look at the link. About to watch more of “Kingdom” (very good series).

    Went into tow to tell a certain store that my med plan had changed, and by golly by gee, it all worked. First time in 5 years.

    Zoe doing better. She took my puncture appointment today. I take hers on Thursday. Hopefully this will help.

    Dan’s fine. He had company on and off all weekend and yesterday.

  52. Riö – The Evil Pug
    5:06 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Barb!…You sound like someone else I know…snort!…Tie yer s-h-o-e laces for pete’s sake!…grunt!

  53. BearSpiritDog
    5:09 pm on January 17th, 2012

    O.Howlers: “In for it” and don’t we know it. Big Monster Storm on the way tonight to top off the 7 inches already on the ground.

    Siber-H: We would love to send some (all) of this white stuff your way.

    Power out for an hour…now back on.

  54. Barb & Maggie
    5:14 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Rio, the laces were tied! She was wearing these big, clunky Salomon boots that have super long laces and a thick traction grip so she won’t fall (duh). There was a big loop in one that caught the toe of the other one, and flying she went. Not one of her more graceful moves. At least her hips are intact for the moment.

  55. Staff
    6:00 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Jeez Louise Barb, walk careful would ‘ya? It sounds painful. First day at my busy place. I got organized and am ready to do work tomorrow.

    I went to Snowhook Kennels facebook page but didn’t find out anything about AJ. What link did you go to to find out?

  56. BearSpiritDog
    6:02 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Poor Barb! You are going to be sore tomorrow! (that’s one way of avoiding the dentist)

    Someone tried to tell us about her trip to a certain store that sells the bad stuff and was promptly mocerated. Melanie what were you thinking? You KNOW you can’t get those forboden topics past our ever vigilant moderator. He is doing it for our own good you know. So we, innocent souls that we are, will not be lead astray.
    Good to hear Zoe is doing better and Dan had visitors to brighten his day.

    Did anyone, besides Rio and Macy, see Alcatraz last night? We missed most of the first hour because of a miscalculation in the time difference. Will try to catch it now online.

  57. B.Stover
    6:08 pm on January 17th, 2012

    I hope you’re okay Barb. The same for Bear.

    I just watched the pilot of The Firm. It’s really good.

  58. Mollypop's Mom
    6:46 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Barb – That was an awful fall and could have been worse if you had broken teeth. Take a non-inflammatory tonight so the swelling will stay down, if possible.

  59. Mollypop's Mom
    6:50 pm on January 17th, 2012

    The 60 – 70 mph winds have arrived and Safety Patrol has everyone off the chairlifts. It’s howling right now and it’s not the Oleys.

  60. Melanie
    6:52 pm on January 17th, 2012

    AJ has his own page, Staff.

    Barb, all I can say is ice, ice and more ice and maybe you won’t get a flat lip. (speaking of experience)

    Zoe ended up going to sleep, so I watched “Strictly Ballroom”. Excellent Auzzie flick.

    Hi Liz!

  61. Melanie
    6:53 pm on January 17th, 2012

    MollyPop’s Mom, YIKES! And that’s coming our way?

  62. Rose
    7:22 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Barb: Take care of yourself. Your pride was probably hurt more than anything else….

  63. Siber-H
    7:58 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Barb, Glad you are okay but you may be a bit sore tomorrow. You aren’t related to my mom are you?

    Hope Rebecca can tell us the AJ story when she has time.

  64. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:37 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Rebecca!….Where the heck is Rebecca anyways…snort!

  65. Melanie
    8:53 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Okay, finished the night with the Japanese version (first one) of “Shall We Dance”. Sometimes it’s just painful to watch people unable to communicate because of their cultural upbringing.

    HEY! We can learn a lot from the Nation Within!

    TTFN

  66. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:56 pm on January 17th, 2012

    So here’s what I saw today…sniff!… I saw my friend get home from the busy place and then she said HI HI HI HI HI to me and Beau…snort!….Beau screams at the top of his lungs and demands all the attention when this happens…grump!…He even jumps up on her bed and does the Triple Tail Twirl for her….show-off!… Then he screams some more while she pets him…grunt! ….Meanwhile I’m on the floor YEEP! YEEPING! for my part of the attention…heh!heh! …It takes her a while to change and come out of the bedroom because of all this commotion. But once she did her mother had the bucket of water and the scrub brush ready for her to clean up Beau’s mess…sniff!… You’d think it was her Mothers couch the way she acted. Anyway, my friend cleaned the damned couch and then she had to immediately make supper because her Mother cannot eat past 5:30pm or something goes haywire with her intestines or sumthing….grunt!…So my friend makes supper while her mother gets in the way and tells her how to do it. Then of course there is all those dishes to do afterwards…snort!

    Punishment!….I guess that is my friends punishment for getting to drive in the ice and snow and be at that busy-place, which must be a spa or sumthing really nice, all day long while her mother sits on her butt watching tv…grunt!… This must all even out what with that busy-place being such a great place to go each and every day….sniff!…At least this is the way I see it all….wuffle!

  67. Siber-H
    8:56 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Amazon just emailed and said they have shipped the Robbie Forester book. WOO WOO

  68. Barb & Maggie
    8:59 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Feeling a little beat up, but not too bad. Tried some ice on the lip and that helped.

    High winds here, but not as bad as Molly’s Mom was having. Very cold tonight, but moderating by this weekend.

    Think some strawberry ice cream sound good about now. BBL

  69. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    9:01 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Barb. Sounds like you may be taking lessons from my dad. When he was younger, he used to play a mean game of racquetball that my mom came to call full contact, self-immolation racquetball. It was before my time, but I understand it was not a pretty picture. Wookie

  70. Masquers
    9:18 pm on January 17th, 2012

    MollyPop’s Mom: Looks like both ends of the country are getting hit hard. Take care in the high winds. Hope you don’t have to deal with power outages. On the plus side you are getting lots more snow…a welcome sight for your ski slopes.
    Barb, Do pamper yourself with the ice cream. You need to lift your spirits right now. We are thankful the fall wasn’t more serious.
    Bella: Waiting to hear. You are probably not home from work yet.

  71. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:27 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Wookie!…Did your Paw ever have to wear an eye patch after one of those games?… snort!

  72. OleyHowlers
    9:28 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Barb, we are hoping that by now you have taken a nice, long, luxurious bath. That can heal a lot of ails.

    The chicken finally thawed out. We thawed it in the fridge. It was deep frozen when we bought it and then again in our big upright freezer. We made it like that link we posted. We used lots of salt and pepper and a little thyme, did not rub oil or butter on it, and went with the 450 degree oven. This was the most delicious chicken we have ever eaten. Ever. We don’t know if it was the recipe, which is super simple, or that wonderful chicken from Woodsong Hollow Farm. Magically, we also had a most wonderful French white wine with it. Pop told Mom that this is the only white wine she can ever buy from now on, and believe it or not, she agreed!
    http://www.lavieilleferme.com/
    We have 2 big breasts left, so we will be trying B’s and Barb’s casserole idea later this week.

  73. B.Stover
    9:34 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Rio: What is a triple tail twirl?

  74. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:48 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Stover!… It doesn’t surprise me you would ask about that…heh!… The Triple Tail Twirl is where one twirls to the left in an attempt to grab ones curly tail then stopping short and twirling to the right trying again to grab the same tail and then back again to the left still after the tail…heh!….Beau does this maneuver at an alarmingly fast speed while screaming at the top of his lungs. It’s quite amazing to watch really and it always makes someone laugh out loud, not me of course but someone else… chuffle!

  75. Barb & Maggie
    9:49 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Oley, We think it was the chicken itself that made the difference. People in the US are not used to eating chicken with good old fashioned chicken taste. Also when raised in confinment, the flesh is almost mushy, because the birds can’t move around. We here are spoiled.

  76. Staff
    9:54 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Mr.Staff is going off to see what he thinks of Justified. He has never watched it but the Bluegrass music has hooked him.

  77. B.Stover
    10:01 pm on January 17th, 2012

    It sounds like Beau is showing happiness when he performs the triple tail twirl.

  78. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:08 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Staff!…What channel or network is Justified on?…grunt!…We here do not see it listed anywhere and its supposed to premier tonight…grump!

  79. Tupper and Gilly
    10:09 pm on January 17th, 2012

    My goodness all the excitement while we were gone!

    8 DAYS LEFT!!!

    Barb – our advice: hot bath, heating pad, good book, lots and lots and lots of ice cream, applied to the inside of the mouth and tummy. And whining – lots of whining. Those of us who love you will listen and support you. Those who are CL’s will have to suffer through it. Please, be extra melodramatic when dealing with her – moan and sigh a lot, and make sure to let her know that every movement is agony. Probably won’t change her into a nicer person, but you can have lots of fun annoying the h e l l out of her. tee hee

    Rio – we checked – we don’t have tails to chase. We just depend on our sweet, charming and adorable faces to get to Mama.

    So tomorrow, Sally’s Army comes to get the gorgeous, albeit unsittable sofa. Then Thursday, the new, glorious, comfortable, place to sit arrives. Please Dog, let it be comfortable.

    Today’s CL story: She has told both co-workers that she is just sure Mama won’t leave. She wants her to come to work every Tuesday so the CL can go visit the $%^&*#$% grandchild. And she just “knows” that Mama would never “leave her in a lurch”. Co-worker said she thought Mama had given a full month’s notice. Well of course she did, but the CL thinks Mama should have given her (are you ready) SIX MONTHS notice in order “to be fair”.

    Dam, but Mama will be SO happy to be done with that place.
    She and Dad didn’t get to go out for sushi dinner tonight – ice storm cut that plan. So they are going out on Jan 31 – right after Mama gets off work!

  80. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:09 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Happy!… No Beau is Ecstatic when he does the Triple Tail Twirl …snort!… I can tell because of all the screaming….sniff!

  81. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:15 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Gah!…Justified does not come on till 11:00pm here…snort!…No wander we cound on ON DEMAND to watch this show…grunt!…Luckily, she checked and it will be On Demand this season again!…Woooooo!

  82. Staff
    10:48 pm on January 17th, 2012

    I’m glad you found out when it was on as I have no idea. Mr.Staff did ask for the paper before he went down so he could look it up. He has not returned so I expect he likes it, or the music. :-)

  83. Staff
    10:49 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Got to get ready for bed. Night all.

  84. BearSpiritDog
    10:55 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Went to catch up on the first part of Alcatraz that we missed, but the site informed us they won’t show it until next Tuesday. That is unless you’re a Dish subscriber. Why the heck would you watch it online if you have cable with a dvr & On Demand. Hmm?

    We here are calling it a night – Bear

  85. Barb & Maggie
    11:15 pm on January 17th, 2012

    We are calling it a night too, but first we have to say 6 MONTHS! Who gives 6 months notice? She really is crazy, and even if you gave her 6 months, she still would have her head in the sand right up till the end.

    One more question for Amalia, or anyone. Have you heard of a book called Looking for Lost Bird by Yvette Melanson? There was a movie on tonight on Hallmark that was taken from this book. It is the true story of a woman taken from a Navajo tribe as a newborn and raised as a Jewish woman. I think she was in her 40s when she found out she was Navajo. Have you heard anything about the book?

  86. Tupper and Gilly
    11:43 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Barb – we have heard of the book and the movie, but admit to not having read the book. We heard (and keep in mind that this was thru the very cynical Native grapevine) that it was a whole lot of hooey.

    The Navajo people have been one of the Nations who has been able to maintain so much of their cultural identity. they celebrate the children who sepak the language, they encourage the contination of traditions, and there are enough Navajos in existance that they have a voice.
    We know that there was a period in time when it was considered a good thing to remove Native babies and little children from their homes and put them up for adoption to non-Indian families. We had a friend our own age who was full blood Apache, and was raised here in Massachusetts by an Anglo family. She looked nothing like them of course, and grew up screwed up, never feeling like she fit in, not understanding why things just didn’t seem right to her soul.
    But for the most part – those children always seemed to find their original homes and families. Our friend did, and finally found her peace. But different Nations have different ways – some would welcome home their lost children – others shum them and are not comfortable with their return. We are just a little skeptical about the return to the Navajo Nation.
    So much contemporary writing about Natives tends to the romantic, imbuing the people with mystical wisdom and deep connection to the natural world etc. This was why we always got a kick out of Hillerman’s books. That was Indians – warts and all.

  87. Macy the Min-pin
    11:50 pm on January 17th, 2012

    Late arrival, but here.

    We are HOOKED on Alcatraz. Same producers as LOST, same scary music, same WTHeck story lines.

    I cannot believe that we are the only ones who noticed that the reviewer said “Picture book next, perhaps?” We seem to remember something about a duck and baseball.

    School is quickly coming to an end. Mom was supposed to be researching employment agencies tonight, but… Dad told her she better get a job before April, because that is when we run out of money. GAH!!! Surely someone will send me some stale leftover kibble, right? Mom got a birthday card featuring a cat, saying “I’ve done the math. We can’t afford the dog” Heh, heh, just kidding, right? right? (anxiety panting).

  88. Snowhook Bella
    12:08 am on January 18th, 2012

    Barb, can I join you in the ranks of the injured? Yesterday, I slipped fell when I left to pick up Handler Jeremy who’s car had broken down. I hit hard. At first I thought I broke my back again. The only thing that got me moving was the threat of being licked to death by Mick and Jodi, the pups, not the people. Talk about licking you while you’re down. AJ arrived home from the trail hours later and took care of me last night.

    I was miserable at work today. I could barely move and what movements I made caused me to see stars. Long story short, the doctor suspects a possible hand fracture and a possible fracture of my hip as well as a sore neck and shoulder. The bulb in the xray machine burnt out shortly before I arrived so I have to go back in on Friday for xrays. Until then, my hand is in a brace which makes me grumpy, but I’m assured the pills he gave mne will mske me less grumpy in no time.

    What happened to AJ on the trail? He and a moose got into a bit of a tangle—just short of a fist fight. I started writing the tale in my head but typing is slow going.

    Night all, and Barb, I hope you feel better—I would say my pride is bruised but I checked my ego at the door of life long ago when it became clear I was rather lacking in the coordination department.

  89. Gus & BooBear
    12:15 am on January 18th, 2012

    Rebecca, broke your back AGAIN?? That means that you have had a bad fall or wreck before!! You need to be super careful. Sounds like you are in quite a bit of pain. Hope the meds kick in quickly!

  90. Gus & BooBear
    12:18 am on January 18th, 2012

    Macy, we really liked Alcatraz, too. Have you watched Person of Interest on Thursdays? The actor who played Ben in Lost is one of the main characters. We didn’t think we could watch him without thinking “Ben” but we don’t. Great, great show! And YSAS will be in an episode soon.

  91. C. Harris
    1:28 am on January 18th, 2012

    Rebecca: be careful. I hope you have better news for us later in the week. The next two nights it is supposed to get down to -50 but then it is to warm up a bit on Thursday.

    BSD: hope you survive with lights and heat intact during the storm you are being hit with. Everyone is always so curious about the Alaskan winter experience so that is why we are sharing it with a few of you.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia