Spinetingler Magazine Review: To Fetch A Thief

Bernie Little and his 100-pound dog, Chet the Jet, are partners in the Little Detective Agency. A bit odd, one might say – unless one has ‘met’ Chet in either or both of his two prior appearances, Dog on It and Thereby Hangs a Tail. If one has encountered Chet previously, it is not at all odd – Chet has both natural instincts and other abilities gained through Bernie’s tutelage that make him an invaluable asset. When last seen, they had been hired to find a tiny show dog named Princess, which they successfully accomplished, of course. This time around the missing “person” is another four-legged one: Peanut, an African elephant [the largest ones in the world, apparently], and, incidentally, its trainer, a man with a reputation as the greatest, if not also the most humane, elephant trainer in the circus world. [Both of them had been working in a family-owned traveling circus.]

Bernie is ex-Metro PD and a Vietnam Vet; Chet is an almost-graduate of K9 school, the ‘almost’ factor the result of an unfortunate incident on the very last day of school. [In this entry, the reader is filled in on the day on which and the manner in which Chet and Bernie first met and got together.] And as Chet keeps reminding us, they make a great team.

The immediate question is: How does one hide an African elephant? Apparently, no one had seen anything amiss, or seen either Peanut or her trainer leaving the circus grounds. Matters get more serious when the trainer’s dead body is found, the manner of death being as much a mystery as anything else: He was fatally bitten by a snake not indigenous to any part of the United States. A sub-plot deals with Charlie’s ex-wife and her impending marriage to a man who seems to have no interest in settling down with one woman, and Bernie fears his adored son may have an unstable household in his future, which cannot be allowed.

I am the first to admit that I am not enamored of books with talking animals, especially ones that solve crimes. Chet is an absolute exception to that general preference, he is such a charmer, and a terrific and professional detective as well, as we find out yet again. This was such a welcome change from the spate of serial killers in my recent reading [good as they might have been]! Chet, and the novel, are completely captivating, and the book is highly recommended.

– Gloria Feit

Welcome Wylie & Sunny, Pete, Jack, Annie the rib-lover’s landscape, Annie herself, Zuppa.

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Friday, March 18th, 2011 at 8:24 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

161 Responses to “Spinetingler Magazine Review: To Fetch A Thief”

  1. dawson
    8:42 am on March 18th, 2011

    Another good review…but…Chet doesn’t talk. If he did, Bernie’s finances would be in better shape.
    Chet’s new friends are cool. Hello, too lazy to stand up Zuppa. Some days I know just how you feel.

  2. Barb & Maggie
    8:43 am on March 18th, 2011

    Good morning everyone. Good review, except Bernie is not a Vietnam Vet. That would make hom way too old. Believe he is a vet from the first Iraq war, putting him around 40ish. If he were 60 plus, would he have a little guy like Charlie? Besides, he could never keep up with Chet!

  3. Barb & Maggie
    8:44 am on March 18th, 2011

    If any lurkers are reading, Jack, are you the Jack from Orangeville, IL?

  4. Rose
    8:47 am on March 18th, 2011

    Good Morning to All:

    A well-deserved great review!

    A small correction: Isn’t Charlie a little young to have a wife, much less an ex-wife?

    Beautiful day here in Westchester County—sunny and 70’s–Yipee!

  5. Melanie
    9:06 am on March 18th, 2011

    Snickering loudly! Rose you are so right!

    Great review, the new Friends are a handsome and beautiful bunch (as all in the Nation within the Nation).

    Morning Dawson, Barb & MagPie and Rose!

  6. Rose
    9:09 am on March 18th, 2011

    Morning Melanie:

    Maybe this review was actually intended as a proof-reading test!

  7. dawson
    9:11 am on March 18th, 2011

    Heh, heh. Good job Rose! and Barb and Maggie! Morning Melanie.

  8. dawson
    9:17 am on March 18th, 2011

    Rose: Wouldn’t put it past him to give us a test when we’ve been promised a CONtest. I failed miserably and my defence is I couldn’t get to sleep last night. Tossing and turning, worrying about our Iditarod team, the Japanese people and such like that. Finally got up and read a little. That helped. Now off to work with half a brain. Hope the inmates survive.

  9. Mollypop
    9:24 am on March 18th, 2011

    Rio – We need Macy as the ankle-biter on the next mission. She could do that important function very well.

  10. Barb & Maggie
    9:27 am on March 18th, 2011

    Good catch Rose. We went back and re-read the line about Charlie. Missed that one the first time!

    Dawson, have a good day at work, and don’t do any one word posts!

  11. Kirby T. Penworthy
    9:31 am on March 18th, 2011

    Good morning, y’all! Mom doesn’t have to work today so she had a nice sleep-in, then read the paper and made some breakfast — now she FINALLY turned the computer on for me. Oh, for some opposable thumbs!

  12. Barb & Maggie
    9:51 am on March 18th, 2011

    Melanie, In response to your last post last night, yes we have a new understanding and appreciation of filming. If there was so much involved in a puny little commercial, a tv show or movie would be unbelievable. No wonder there are so many people listed in the credits.

  13. Rose
    9:55 am on March 18th, 2011

    Dawson:

    Mmmmm…You could be right about the contest thing. Sorry to hear you had a bad night’s sleep. Hope you have a better night’s rest tonight, and a good weekend!

    B&M: Thanks, the funny thing was my husband and I were just having a conversation this morning about proof-reading!

  14. B.Stover
    10:02 am on March 18th, 2011

    In addition to the errors that everyone has pointed out (great job guys!!)there is a comma splice in the last paragraph. If this were a student’s essay, I’d have to grade it down one full grade.

    Good morning all.

  15. Tyb
    10:13 am on March 18th, 2011

    Even with its errors, I have to give the review a paws up. It’s a good one.

  16. B.Stover
    10:18 am on March 18th, 2011

    Bullet-proof vests are needed for the next mission?

  17. Barb & Maggie
    10:32 am on March 18th, 2011

    One whole grade? Boy, Bee, you are a tough task master! Where was the coma error? We saw a couple places where it looked wrong, plus the ! was outside the ). Tell us more.

  18. Kirby T. Penworthy
    10:43 am on March 18th, 2011

    Oooooh! First there was a BANG! And then my computer and all the lights went dark. After Mom assured us that the electric bill wasn’t due until the 20th, we realized that it wasn’t her fault. But now everything’s OK…for now, at least. If I’m missing again, that may be why!

  19. BearSpiritDog
    10:56 am on March 18th, 2011

    We like the review too, even with the typos (good catch everyone!) Spence, if you’re looking for proof-readers on the next book…

    This was our favorite story so far. The “Real” World can be a worrisome place these days and it’s a welcome relief to go off with Chet & Bernie on another adventure – if only for a little while.

    B. What’s this about bullet-proof vests?

    Any word from Snowhook this morning?

  20. Siber-H
    11:10 am on March 18th, 2011

    Our heroes, Whitey-Lance and the gang, have traveled about 8 miles beyond White Mountain. They have 60 more miles to go to reach Nome!!! There are still 9 dogs in the team…this is fine-should be no problem.

    Congratulations on another great review, Spence!!!!

  21. Sam
    11:16 am on March 18th, 2011

    I was mentioned in the review – Princess aka Sam. I just love it.

  22. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:21 am on March 18th, 2011

    Review!….How do Nit-Wits get jobs “writing” reviews?….grump!… Even most of you guys write better than this dweeb….sniff!… All of those mistakes means she glanced over the book and turned in her review at the last freaking minute….growl!…She probably even spelled her own name wrong….grunt!

  23. Barb & Maggie
    11:24 am on March 18th, 2011

    Bee, Also when you are splainin, what is a comma splice?

    Go WL, you are almost there!

  24. B.Stover
    11:24 am on March 18th, 2011

    I’ve corrected it below. The comma splice is after “preference.” I follow department policy in grading “banned errors.” They are errors that are very easy to correct but that occur usually because of careless proofreading. To the reader they make it look as though the writer is weak.

    “Chet is an absolute exception to that general preference. He is such a charmer, and a terrific and professional detective as well, as we find out yet again. “

  25. B.Stover
    11:26 am on March 18th, 2011

    B&M: A comma splice occurs when the writer uses a comma between two complete sentences. The easiest way to correct that is by using a period rather than a comma.

  26. B.Stover
    11:34 am on March 18th, 2011

    B&M: Yes! The exclamation point should be inside the closing parenthesis and then a period ending the sentence should go outside. Another irritation is that she is using squared brackets rather than parentheses.

  27. B.Stover
    11:35 am on March 18th, 2011

    Bear: Last night in his description of equipment needed for the next mission, Rio mentioned bullet-proof vests.

  28. B.Stover
    11:37 am on March 18th, 2011

    Sam: I adore you!! Still laughing….

  29. BearSpiritDog
    11:45 am on March 18th, 2011

    Siber-H: Thanks for the update on the race! GO SNOWHOOK!!!

    And B. For the explanation on the comma splice. We didn’t know, as our kind usually doesn’t pay much attention to that sort of thing.

  30. B.Stover
    11:46 am on March 18th, 2011

    If I were writing that “sentence” with the comma splice I’d use “sentence combining” which would make the sentence flow better. Here would be my suggestion:

    “Chet is an absolute exception to that general preference because he is such a charmer. He’s a terrific and professional detective as well, as we find out yet again.“

  31. Kirby T. Penworthy
    11:46 am on March 18th, 2011

    (Whispering) Bee: Doesn’t it concern you just a little that Sam is taking this Princess thing a little too far. I mean, it’s one thing to want to play Princess in a movie. It’s another thing to think that a mention of Princess in a review is actually about her! I’m sure there’s a psychological term for that. Pondering here…

  32. B.Stover
    11:48 am on March 18th, 2011

    Bear: Students don’t pay attention to that kind of thing either until it affects their grades.

  33. B.Stover
    12:00 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Kirby: (Whispering–Is “totally self-centered” a psychological term?) It’s one of the things I adore about Sam!

  34. Barb & Maggie
    12:07 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Thank you Bee.
    And would the word Kirby is looking for be “projecting”? Or “Delusional” with a sub-type of “Grandiose”?

  35. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    12:26 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Bee – in the original and incorrect sentance could a semicolon have been used correctly?

    Barb and Maggie – we think the expression Kirby is looking for is “delusions of glamour”.
    tee hee

  36. B.Stover
    12:28 pm on March 18th, 2011

    There are some insects flying outside of my window. Insects! Flying! It’s only March 18……

  37. B.Stover
    12:30 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Natasha: Yes, a semi-colon could have been used after “preference” rather than a comma and the sentence would have been grammatically correct.

  38. Barb & Maggie
    12:37 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Bee, We have had insects here for 2 weeks. Yesterday, when it was in the mid 60’s, there were zillions of flies basking in the warmth on the side of the house. Plus we have fake lady bugs and Box Elder bugs in the windows at home and Barb’s office (even after the toxic bug spraying).

    Hey, Natasha!

  39. Kirby T. Penworthy
    12:38 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Bee: Oh, good! Mom and I were thinking the same thing.

    Bee, B&M and Natasha: I think you’re all on the right track — and making me laugh!

  40. Sam
    12:40 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Kirby, I heard you!

  41. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    12:40 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Barb and Maggie – Fake lady bugs? Ve don’t understand – vhy vould a bug be in disguise?

  42. Kirby T. Penworthy
    12:46 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Drat! I forgot to whisper that time. Sam, I’m sorry you heard that, but I care about you a lot, and I worry that you’re losing your own identity in your quest to play Princess in a so-far nonexistant movie. We like you just the way you are — no need to pretend to be somebody else!

  43. B.Stover
    12:56 pm on March 18th, 2011

    I love the way Natasha asked it but….what is a “fake” ladybug?

  44. Mollypop
    1:13 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Natasha, the lady bugs came here from Asia. Probably Russia, you know how those guys are. They killed off the American lady bugs and put on little lady bug costumes and took their places. Their costume designer goofed and put too many black spots on.

  45. Barb & Maggie
    1:14 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Fake ladybugs are the Asian bettles imported a few years ago by some ying yang to eat aphids (sp?). They look like real ladybugs, but they smell yucky and they bite. They have no predators (even the chickens won’t eat them, and they eat anything!), so they have over-populated. They hide out in the soybean fields in the summer, and every fall and spring they swarm all over and invade everyones’ houses in the midwest. Don’t you guys have them?

  46. Siber-H
    1:22 pm on March 18th, 2011

    47 miles to Nome!!

    We do not have the fake lady bugs here, yet. We still have the real ladybug, but it doesn’t seem like we have as many as we used to. Our ladybugs are nice. If we won’t have the fake ladybugs, Chet and Bernie must not have them.

  47. Rose
    1:26 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Speaking of lady bugs…

    Are the black ones with the orange spots lady bugs too?
    When I was a kid we called them gentlemen bugs.

    B: I hope you are not looking too closely at my posts for punctuation…

  48. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    1:41 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Ve DO know the fake ladybug then. Ve have seen the svarms and haf heard people talk of biting.
    Ve are so disillusioned. Ve alvays liked the leetle bugs and vere told it vas good luck if von lands on you. BAH! How can be good luck if not real lady, but just stinky fake bug vith too many spots?
    Ve are sure that they do NOT come from Russia! If they had, ve vould haf made sure the number of spots correct. Shoddy vorkmanship on those fake bugs. Ve vill never call them “lady” again!
    Russian disquises ALVAYS perfect!

  49. Tupper and Gilly
    1:52 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Hi everyone – just checking in before heading out to the Crazy Lady’s place.
    Bee – we had moths bumbling around our porch light last night, much to the delight of the Kats. They consider moths to be Kitty Sushi….ick….
    We have the fake lady bugs here, but they ususally swarm in the fall rather than in the spring. And they DO stink!
    And Nattie – talk about delusions of glamour! “alVays perfect”? Really?

  50. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:24 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Accent!….Someone (nattie) lost her accent up above on her first post….snort!… This leads me to think she has more than one identity on this here blog….grunt!…Talk about faking it…sniff!

    Cleaning!…. I laid in my bed and watched her and her mother cleaning all morning….snuff!… Boxes of stuff was hauled out to her moms car for a big yard sale in June. There’s talk of even more stuff being boxed up and hauled away…grunt!…My bowls are still here, I just checked….cough!

    Obama! ….He is speaking about Libya right now on tv…snort!

  51. Melanie
    2:40 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Back from PT. Doing great.
    Have to check out the Idiltarod site.

    Lots and lots and lots of wind today. Blows up the sandy dirt that the trucks put out for snow and ice.

    Guess what I’m allergic to?

  52. Kirby T. Penworthy
    2:40 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Rio: Mom’s doing some spring cleaning, too, only she’s going through papers — lots and lots of papers! She says she’s drowning in paper, so she shredding and filing and trying to get things under control. She even brought home a book from the library that tells what kinds of things you should keep and what you can get rid of. Dad has a lacrosse game in Charleston tonight, so he won’t be home until about midnight. Mom is hoping she can get something accomplished by then!

  53. Melanie
    2:43 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Thirty-four mushers are now “into” Nome!

    Thirteen are still on the trail! (Snowhook is still theer!)

    Fifteen mushers have scratched.

  54. Kirby T. Penworthy
    2:44 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Melanie: Is there anything you’re not allergic to? I feel bad you have so many allergies — it must make life tough. Mom has allergies, too, but they’re not too bad. This is a hard time of the year for lots of people down here. It rained the other day, and now there’s a yellowish-green layer on top of the puddles — the pollen is starting to fall. Luckily, Mom doesn’t react to that — but the stuff around here in the fall gets her bad!

  55. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:58 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Alergies!… My friend is allergic to everything….sneeze!cough!hack!….Me too!…Especially all the sycamore trees that grow in our neighborhood…grunt!

  56. B.Stover
    3:09 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Rose: Don’t worry. I’m not an editor on the blog. My problem with the review in today’s post is that it is written by a professional and it was published as is apparently.

    I don’t think we have fake ladybugs but I’ll keep a lookout.

  57. Kirby T. Penworthy
    3:18 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Unless Chet typed it wrong!

  58. Kirby T. Penworthy
    3:20 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Oh dear, lots of sirens going by — I hope everyone is alright!

  59. Melanie
    3:20 pm on March 18th, 2011

    I am not allergic to shellfish.
    Thank DOG!
    I love oysters, and clams, and mussels and shrimp.
    I can also eat most meats and vegies.

    I am thinking of getting a bulk screen material that is called PollenTEC.
    I would replace my regular screening with that material.

    At least in my bedroom and workroom. It’s sort of expensive.

    BTW: How many black spots do fake ladybugs have?

  60. B.Stover
    3:25 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Kirby: I think it was a copy and paste job….not Chet’s fault.

  61. Chet The Dog
    3:26 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Note from Spence: the review, like all reviews here at the blog, was posted unaltered, with no correction of errors or infelicities, if any. Otherwise, if Admin and I started fiddling with the text, what would there be to stop us from, say, rendering “Avoid like the plague” as “Rush out this instant and buy these books by the dozen!”?

  62. Kirby T. Penworthy
    3:27 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Bee: I think so, too. I was just giving Gloria the benefit of the doubt!

  63. Kirby T. Penworthy
    3:28 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Oooh, Spence snuck in the middle there. I think going from “Avoid like the plague” to “Rush out this instant and buy these books by the dozen!” would be quite the correction!!!

  64. B.Stover
    3:41 pm on March 18th, 2011

    My computer wizard friend is here to fix my router and then we’re going to dinner and a movie so I’ll BBL.

  65. B.Stover
    4:09 pm on March 18th, 2011

    This is a test: Yes! My router is fixed!!

    Spence is so funny! (Now it looks like my exclamation key is stuck!!!!)

  66. BARB & MAGGIE
    4:09 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Ok, here is some more detailed bug info-

    They are called Multi-colored Asian Lady Beetles, and they range from pale orange to dark orange, with or without spots. They were imported in the 1960’s to attack pests that were damaging pecans and apples.

    Real LB tend to be bright red and slightly smaller. Asian bugs bite and secrete a foul odor from their leg joints. They also hibernate which real LBs do not. Their natural hiding spot would be cracks in rocks, so they are attracted to light color houses and try to get in thru cracks in walls and windows. They stay there till Spring, or may come out on a warm winter day. They also swarm, which the real ones don’t do. That is why you may see hundreds flying around outside or in your windows. They are found in the east and midwest U.S. and as far as Colorado, but I do not know if they have made it all the way to the west coast.

    This is another example of why we should not fool with Mother Nature!

  67. Melanie
    4:13 pm on March 18th, 2011

    New Bones Season 6 episode on Amazon instant watch.

    Thanks Barb & MagPie

  68. BARB & MAGGIE
    4:39 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Melanie, We love Bones. Well, Barb loves the tv show and I love the real things!

  69. Siber-H
    5:12 pm on March 18th, 2011

    26 miles to Nome!!!

  70. dawson
    5:21 pm on March 18th, 2011

    I have one allergy and it very rarely bothers me. Lobster.

  71. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:22 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Spence!… What the heck is he doing out on this here blog?….snort!…Isn’t his favorite place Facebookie?….,grunt!… Even though the Review had a positive ring, the extent of the errors is pathetic and far too shabby to be in the Post of the Day spot….grumble!

    Gloria!… I hope that Gloria Feit is reading this blog and ashamed at her lack of knowledge about Chet and Bernie and writing in general…grump!

    Headlights!…. Someone here is pissed off because she had to get her car headlights changed and a brake light. It cost a small fortune and this has her all riled up…sneeze!…She told me it was coming out of my baseball toy fund….grump!

  72. dawson
    5:39 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Thank you Siber H. How exciting!

  73. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:07 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Dawson!… Hi!….burp!

    SiberH!….Will you be alerting us just beforeWhitey’s team slides into the finish line?….snort!…Do you think there will be video of it on the Iditarod website? …sniff!

  74. Siber-H
    6:28 pm on March 18th, 2011

    I will be alerting you guys, Rio. I am so excited for them! There should be a video of their arrival at the finish line in Nome up on the Iditarod’s website—maybe 12 hours later. One has to subscribe to the Iditarod Insider to see their videos, and since it will be dark, there may not be much to see. I’ll let you guys know tomorrow because the video should be up by then.

    20 more miles to Nome!!!

    There is a live webcam in Nome that may show the finish line. I don’t know how to find it on the internet and from the discussions on the Iditarod’s message boards, some people can see a sled, musher, and dogs with it and some people can’t.

  75. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:38 pm on March 18th, 2011

    SiberH!…. What time (our time) do you think those guys will reach the finish?…snort!…I’m so excited for them too!….woooooo!

    Hoyas!….Remember the Georgetown Hoyas will be playing tonight too!…heh!…So much going on it makes my head spin and my tail curl even tighter…snorkel!

  76. Melanie
    6:41 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Dawson: Is your allergy the reason why you live where you do?

    Snicker.

    That site I had a few days back, was from the newspaper I think. Then after John Baker came in, the site went down.

  77. Melanie
    6:52 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Okay, here is a site that has where Snowhook will come through on it. It’s a still camera that updates itself. Not sure often it up dates. If you click on the Finish in Nome picture. You will get the updated picture. So far I have seen an empty street. Then four people walking. And then one person walking. No mushers in sight.
    http://www.alaskawebcams.org/iditarod.htm

  78. Melanie
    6:54 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Siber-H, will you let us know when he gets close?

  79. Siber-H
    6:55 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Rio, I am not any good at guessing when they will get to Nome. They have one more checkpoint to check in at before the finish line and it depends upon how much time they spend there. Someone that is really racing, like John Baker, won’t spend any time there, but AJ might.

  80. Siber-H
    7:02 pm on March 18th, 2011

    I will try my best to keep you guys informed, Melanie

    Ok, if my math is correct, you may be able to see Wattie and his team soon on that webcam that Melanie found.
    The gps tracker and their map is not concerned with being very accurate. It gives one a general idea, but if depended upon in the wilderness, it could get someone lost. The mileage I get from their system and report to you guys is not exact.

  81. Kirby T. Penworthy
    7:07 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Kirby’s mom here: Back in college I had a roommate who married my husband’s roommate. This afternoon while I was going through some papers I found their address, and realized it had been a long time since I wrote them. When I was looking to see if they still live at the same address, I discovered that my husband’s roommate was killed in 2007. So now I’m belatedly grieving his death, but even sadder that I didn’t keep up with our friendship. Do you think it’s too late for me to write my roommate some kind of condolence letter for her husband’s death?

  82. Melanie
    7:13 pm on March 18th, 2011

    No, it is not too late. And a handwritten letter would be perfect.

  83. Siber-H
    7:14 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Kirby’s mom, I don’t think it is too late. I’m sure it would be appreciated. That losing touch with someone happens to most of us.

  84. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:15 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Kelly!… It seems to me your old roommate hasn’t kept up with you either, so I bet she would be very glad to hear from you….snort!… Just explain to her how you came upon her address etc…grunt!….Be sure to ask her which team she is rooting for in the NCAA tourney…sniff!

  85. Siber-H
    7:20 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Nevermind what I said about seeing Wattie and team on the webcam. He and his team have crossed the finish line and are having food and rest now.
    Whitey-Lance and the gang are the next ones due at the finish line–if the webcam will work– but it will be awhile before they get there.

  86. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:32 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Wattie!….So when did Wattie pull ahead of Whitey….sniff!… I thought they were running together…hmmm! ….Is Wattie Scottish or Irsish?

    Snowhook!…I’m hoping Rebecca will post some photos on the blog at some point after they finish the big race…grunt!…She has not updated that in a very long time…snuffle!

  87. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:37 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Top Ten!… Am I reading this right? Justin, Whitey and Gang will be in the Top 10 to finish?….Woooo!….That’s a pretty big deal, isn’t it SiberH! This involves some winning money too, if I remember correctly… Wow!….Just think what they will be capable of next year….snuffle!

  88. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:46 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Hmmmphf!…Never mind. I was thinking the Iditarod site was showing the top ten, but Justin is running 37th… snort!…Which is still very amazing for a first time team!…snort!

  89. Melanie
    7:50 pm on March 18th, 2011

    I just saw someone doing something at the finish line. Glad Wattie made it in. He’s a Scot, Riö.

  90. Siber-H
    7:53 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Unfortunatley, Whitey-Lance and the gang won’t be in the top ten. I think they will be somewhere in the thirties and out of the money. What they have done is a great accomplishment…to just finish the Iditarod is something to be very proud of. Just as important, I hope they had fun doing it. They have gained invaluable experience if they are able to enter again next year. AJ has managed to keep those 9 dogs in good spirits and that is difficult when the dogs have never done the trail before and don’t know where the checkpoints and the finish is.

    Yes, after they got off the sea ice Wattie pulled ahead of AJ, but Wattie has momore dogs than AJ and has been over the trail once befo

  91. Siber-H
    7:59 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Is this blog doing strange things to anyone else? It posted before I was finished.

  92. Melanie
    8:03 pm on March 18th, 2011

    18 degrees in Nome right now.
    Tonight cold and windy.
    Maybe two inches of snow tomorrow.

    Now there is a white pickup truck, some people standing near it.
    And several people at the finish.

  93. Melanie
    8:04 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Maybe your keyboard is excited that WL might be coming in soon?

  94. dawson
    8:06 pm on March 18th, 2011

    I saw a picture of Wattie at the ceremonial start of the Iditarod and he was wearing a kilt. whoohoo!

  95. Melanie
    8:07 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Bet he didn’t wear THAT the whole trip! Snickering loudly here.

  96. dawson
    8:14 pm on March 18th, 2011

    He may be a tough Scotsman, but I’d bet you are right Melanie.

  97. Kirby T. Penworthy
    8:15 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Melanie: Not without his longjohns underneath, anyway!

  98. Melanie
    8:17 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Looking at the still photos the web camera is putting up and it occurs to me that in every village, town, city, state, country and culture, the human condition is a great deal of “hurry up and wait”.

  99. Melanie
    8:20 pm on March 18th, 2011

    They are rolling out a sign. More people there.

  100. Siber-H
    8:21 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Uh, you guys…AJ and the team are stopped 2 miles outside of Safety. Safety is the last checkpoint before Nome.

    I did not see this but they are saying on the message boards that AJ mushed into Safety and then turned around and went back those two miles. If this is true, it is very strange, and I have no idea what is going on. It might be hours before we know what is going on unless AJ starts moving toward Nome again.

    If they need help, it is not far away. They are no longer out in the middle of nowhere.

    If they don’t move, then my best guess from past experience is that the dogs are refusing to go any further.

  101. dawson
    8:23 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Now the facebook site is saying he has returned to Safety – the last checkpoint. They are speculating either the dogs need more rest or they returned for Whitey-Lance’s red and white jacket.
    Darn the suspense.

  102. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:23 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Webcam!….Nuttin’ is happening on the Nome finish line webcam right now…sniff! …Its just an empty street….wuffle!

    Close!….They are so close I can smell it!…heh!… I wish we had some champagne to celebrate with…snort!… I guess a Corona with lime will have to do. Not that I will get any…grump!

  103. Melanie
    8:26 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Siber-H, I will stop watching the cam obsessively. Whew. Trying to figure out what those people are doing is difficult.

    Now as I understand it, AJ must have several pieces of equipment with him at the end of the race, right? I wonder if something dropped off.

  104. B.Stover
    8:27 pm on March 18th, 2011

    B&M: That is interesting info about the fake ladybug. Thank you.

    SH: Yes, how did Wattie get ahead of WL…or is it impossible to know?

  105. Melanie
    8:29 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Snifflenits, I can’t find the map. How far is Safety from Nome?

  106. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:31 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Wot!?…. Returned to Safety?…snort!….This doesn’t sound good for some reason…sob!… All my excitement has dwindled and the blue bird of happiness has flown away all of a sudden….sob!…What is going on with Whitey and his jacket?…GAH!…I hate this suspence!…dammit!

  107. dawson
    8:31 pm on March 18th, 2011

    22 miles.

  108. Tupper and Gilly
    8:32 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Hi Cousin Kirby! As you know, we are from Wales – near enough to Scotland to know about kilts. And trust us, no matter what, any Scot who wears anything under his kilt would be a traitor to the tartan.
    So we would be willing to bet he was freezing his little underbit off during the ceremony, and had the sense to get dressed for the weather right after!

  109. Tupper and Gilly
    8:35 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Melanie – “Snifflebits”??????

  110. Melanie
    8:38 pm on March 18th, 2011

    The current standings now have AJ out of Safety after a 20 minute rest. He still has nine dogs. Unless something happens (paws, tails and fingers crossed here) he will be the next one into Nome. Cool.

    Now if it’s 22 miles and the team continues at the rate they were going (6.63 mph), it’s going to be awhile before he’s in. I will be asleep.

    If anyone sees it on the camera, can you try to save the image? That would be totally cool to see in the morning.

  111. Siber-H
    8:39 pm on March 18th, 2011

    My gps tracker is showing AJ parked 2 miles outside of Safety, but the message boards are saying the same thing as Dawson, so I’m gonna go with they are parked in Safety.

    I hope the problem is that AJ has decided the dogs need more rest. Bless their brave little hearts, there are only 9 of them.
    Much earlier in the race, Dee Dee returned to a checkpoint because her dogs needed more rest and it all worked out.

    I’m beginning to think mom and I won’t get much sleep tonight.

  112. Melanie
    8:45 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Here’s an article, “Life Goes On” in which AJ talks about the race so far.
    http://iditarodblogs.com/news/2011/03/18/life-goes-on

  113. Melanie
    8:47 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Siber-H: Go to the “current standings” they have AJ out of Safety.

  114. Melanie
    8:48 pm on March 18th, 2011

    “Snifflebits” a word used when one does not want to be moderated.

  115. Siber-H
    8:52 pm on March 18th, 2011

    My gps tracker says AJ is still parked 2 miles outside of Safety, but the standings have him on the move. I hope that is right.

    Yes, that is correct Melanie. They have to have certain pieces of equipment on the sled so I think that is a good guess on your part.

    Stover, I think Wattie got ahead of AJ because he has more dogs, has been over the trail before, and they are off the sea ice and no longer need to travel together for safety reasons.

    Thanks for the link, Melanie

  116. Melanie
    8:56 pm on March 18th, 2011

    “Snifflenits” excuse me.

    Okay, I’m so tired I can’t keep my eyes open.
    I don’t know about other computers but on the mac you can just drag the image from the camera onto your desktop.

    If anyone is awake when AJ comes through and see it, please try to save the image. I will send you lots and lots and lots of dog hair and a certified piece of beaver chewed wood.

    So far what I have learned from the web camera:
    It looks really cold.
    Not many people go outside.
    There are a lot of pickup trucks.

    Whew, to bed I go!

  117. Siber-H
    8:57 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Oh boy, Melanie…I hope the standings are correct, but if that is the case, I paid some of my mom’s good money for this stupid tracker that is not working at the most critical time in the race.

  118. dawson
    8:57 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Okay, Plunderers, all our good healthy thoughts gotta go out to AJ, Whitey-Lance and the rest of this brave rookie team.

  119. dawson
    9:04 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Siber H: What it said on the face book was that AJ left Safety, went a short distance, then turned around and went back. He hasn’t moved since. So maybe he started out but realized the dogs needed more rest. I hope that everyone is okay.

  120. Tupper and Gilly
    9:13 pm on March 18th, 2011

    We’re on it Dawson – all paws crossed! Such brave dogs – each and everyone one of them that set paw on the Iditarod Trail!

  121. Siber-H
    9:17 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Dawson, I am going to guess that the facebook post is correct and the current standings info got ahead of itself…usually they are way far behind.

    I do not really mean to criticize the volunteers that phone in the standings information. They are trying their best and I’m sure they are getting very tired.

  122. Macy the Min-Pin
    9:19 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Bee, my best guess would be that Wattie passed AJ, which would put him ahead.

    Go Snowhook, just hope AJ did not forget a dog. It has happened before.

    Ankle biting sounds like fun!

  123. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:39 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Confused!….Is it safe to say we don’t really know where AJ and Whitey are right now?…sob!… This is excrutiating to say the least…snuff!

    Hoyas!…We have the Georgetown Hoyas game to take our minds off worrying about AJ and Whitey…sniffle!

    (((.Lord of all Creation please be with them, give them the strength to finish…amen! )))

    Go!….GeorgieTown!….woooo!

  124. dawson
    9:39 pm on March 18th, 2011

    He’s moving! Slowly…but the GPS shows he is moving at the latest update. That’s the facebook rumor. What does your GPS show Siber H?

  125. dawson
    9:40 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Rio! Your prayer worked instantaneously!

  126. Siber-H
    9:55 pm on March 18th, 2011

    My gps shows that he has moved a mile but isn’t moving right now. The rumor on the message boards is the same as you are seeing on facebook, Dawson.
    The gps only updates every 20 minutes, so if I give you a report from it, it is simply a snapshot in time and we have to wait another 20 minute for out next snapshot.

  127. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:57 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Wookie!… We here were so happy to find out that Jack the Bulldog is the mascot for the Georgetown Hoyas!…heh!… My friend loves the bully guys…me not so much, but at least there is one of the nation as the face of your team… Wooooo! ….Here is a photo of Jack!…grunt! ….Games gonna start right now!

  128. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    10:02 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Siber – does not Iditarod people has polaroid camera? Is too long to vait for next update.
    Can not Commander Rio request satellite time to see vhat is happenink?

  129. Siber-H
    10:04 pm on March 18th, 2011

    The gps updated and AJ isn’t moving.

  130. B.Stover
    10:14 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Someone of Facebook suggested that Justin’s gps is not working. Perhaps he dropped that….Is that possible?

  131. Siber-H
    10:16 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Borzoi, I am open to all ideas about how to get information out of Safety. It is always like this…takes hours to learn what is really going on.

  132. dawson
    10:18 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Thanks Siber H:
    Earlier the facebook said that Rebecca was headed to Nome to greet her team. If we are worried and frustrated at not knowing what is happening, imagine how she feels. Waiting…

  133. Siber-H
    10:19 pm on March 18th, 2011

    It is definately possible that the gps isn’t working…that has happened. I suppose he could have dropped it. I haven’t heard of that happening before, but they are just placed there in the sleds.

  134. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    10:20 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Siber – ve vill light candle for them. Thank you for keeping eye on race. Ve vill be vaiting for good news.

  135. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:23 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Whitey!….They will move. They have to move…snuff….Come on guys! You can do it. You all are so close to finishing… chuffle! …Go Whitey, go!…wooo!

    NCAA!….In the meantime, the game between Georgetown and VCU is incredible!…Wow!….These two teams are amazing to say the least!…gruff!… I haven’t had a good look at Jack yet, but I’m sure he is there somewhere…heh!

  136. Siber-H
    10:23 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Sob!! They are Moving!!!
    Thanks Borzoi, I think a candle would help.

  137. Siber-H
    10:29 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Here is what it looks like happened—another musher and team came along, Billy Snodgrass, and our befuddled heroes have started following this team. Dogs will do this sometimes. Let’s hope Whitey-Lance and the gang will follow them all the way into Nome.
    AJ’s team do not know that they are almost to the finish line because they have never done this before.

  138. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:31 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Rebecca!….That’s good news, right?…snort!…If Rebecca is going to Nome to meet the team?….sniff!… I think the team is on the move and running with all their might!…heh!…I just bet Whitey was behind the whole GPS getting ‘dropped’ accidentally too…snorkel!…Go team, run like the wind!….woooooo!…Finish tonight and celebrate!…yes!

  139. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    10:34 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Rio. We are watching and rooting. Jack does go to all the home games but I don’t know if he travels. Wookie

  140. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:42 pm on March 18th, 2011

    SiberH!….That makes a lot of sense. Those guys doing all the work, running all those miles, they don’t know what the ultimate goal is….snort!…Someone probably told them, but they didn’t listen, they were just in it of for the fun…heh!…Now when they are almost exhausted, they are thinking ‘what’s the point of this?’….sniff!…But if they can be motivated to follow that other team and maybe hear from those other guys what’s really at stake, I bet they will pull through….yes!

  141. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:50 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Wookie!….Good to hear from you pal!…heh!… Jack sounds like a homey just like me…sniff!…I don’t leave here unless I’m with her…snuff!…She never goes anywhere worth mentioning…groan!

  142. Siber-H
    10:51 pm on March 18th, 2011

    gps updated—They are still moving. 14 miles to Nome.
    You know that they will be glad to see Rebecca.

  143. dawson
    11:04 pm on March 18th, 2011

    There is some activity at the Nome web cam but it is so blurry I can’t see what is happening. Maybe Rebecca is putting out a “Welcome to Nome” banner.

  144. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    11:08 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Siber – haf whole candelabra ov candles boorning. They VILL be Nome soon.
    Good doggies – come, come…mush just a leetle more.

  145. Barb & Maggie
    11:15 pm on March 18th, 2011

    We have been waiting for them to reach Nome but can’t stay awake any longer. Good night all.

  146. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:22 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Ready!….We are ready to Celebrate the team finishing the Greatest Race Ever!….wooooo!….What an emotional roller coaster ride tonight!…heh!….SiberH! Please let us know when they reach Nome and the finish line…WOOOO!

  147. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    11:24 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Ve too must go to sleep. Ve vill keep good thoughts for the team. They VILL finish soon, and be happy.

    Rio – is true sometimes I vork hard to loose accent. And vhen I speak to Miss Bee, I vorry that she vill give me bad grade for english, so I am very careful. But rest assured my little chubby blintz, I am the von and only Natasha. I don’t vish for you to vorry about it – you already haf enough wrinkles.

    Good night to all of you.

  148. dawson
    11:27 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Good Night Natasha – You hilarious, nefarious Borzoi.

  149. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:37 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Webcam!…It is bizarrely barren and empty right now….snuff!…If anyone is there, we do not see them…grunt!….Back to basketball!…heh!

  150. dawson
    11:44 pm on March 18th, 2011

    A crowd of people gathered at Nome site but all have left now. I figure it will all be dark there soon.
    I like the red team (Georgia) but the white team is ahead and they are called the Huskies….hmmm.

  151. Siber-H
    11:49 pm on March 18th, 2011

    12 more miles to Nome

    Mom and I are going to sleep now and take it on faith that Whitey-Lance and the team will make it to Nome. We are worn out from long distance mushing.

    If anyone is awake later, you can always go to the home page of the Iditarod website and click on current standings and it will tell you when the gang is into Nome, but they are usually slow to update the current standings.

    Perhaps more of us could have stayed up for the finish if the dogs hadn’t decided to stage a set down strike. AJ must be really tired.

    Night All!!
    Happy Trails and Happy Mushing

  152. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:49 pm on March 18th, 2011

    Tired!…We are both totally tired tonight…sniff!…Today was a day that a very big decision was made and now we are condemned to it…sniff!…That is not really the correct words, but that’s sort of how I feel about the whole thing…grunt!… And yet, it is the right thing to do…sniff..I guess…sniff!….Back to basketball!…heh!

    !

  153. dawson
    12:22 am on March 19th, 2011

    Rio: Are you signing up to run the Iditarod in 2012?
    Hmmmm, You don’t sound 100 per cent convinced that this big decision is the right thing to do. Don’t condemn yourself to it. Give it some time.

  154. dawson
    12:43 am on March 19th, 2011

    http//kaiserracing.com/nomecam.kaiserkam=controllable
    A dog team just came in…probably Snodgrass…AJ not far behind.

  155. dawson
    12:49 am on March 19th, 2011

    AJ and Sousa are running neck and neck…2 miles out…Who hooooo.
    Go Whitey -Lance! Go! Ahoooooooo!

  156. dawson
    1:28 am on March 19th, 2011

    They are in! Finishers! Winners! Amazing Athletes! Congratulations to Whitey-Lance and the whole team.

  157. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    1:40 am on March 19th, 2011

    Dawson. Thanks for the updates. We may be the only ones still awake. Although the Georgetown Hoyas lost badly, Whitey-Lance and team finishing still makes it a perfect day (or night). Woo woo woo! Wookie

  158. C. Harris
    2:34 am on March 19th, 2011

    Thank you Dawson. As Wookie said (and on behalf of our valiant, but sleepy Siber-H) woo woo oooooooo

  159. Siber-H
    9:03 am on March 19th, 2011

    WooWoo Thanks for seeing them in. Congratulations (and whew) to our heroes, Whitey-Lance, and the gang, and A,J.
    This is the first time we have ever turned on the computer before we go to the dog park.
    WooWoo
    BBL

  160. Water Damage Restoration Milwaukee WI
    3:37 am on February 11th, 2014

    Professionals can ensure a more thorough cleaning of previously flooded areas to ensure the removal of molds and other
    disease-causing microorganisms. Inspection of the site will be always
    their first priority so that they can assess the level and intensity of damage
    done by the water or flood, which will give them an idea about the future steps that must be taken in order to remove all the water.
    If this is done prior to any work related to water damage in Cincinnati, it will make the process of restoration fast and efficient.

  161. family guy quest for stuff unlimited clams
    11:45 pm on August 28th, 2014

    You could potentially undoubtedly go to your an understanding of your art you are writing. The globe desires for a lot more excited internet writers as you that aren’t frightened to mention where did they consider. All the time comply with a person’s heart family guy quest for stuff unlimited clams.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia