San Francisco Book Review: To Fetch A Thief

Who knew? I had no idea that dogs could be as good at detective work as cats! Granted, as a rule, they do have larger noses, and they’re way good at tracking, but all the dogs I’ve known and loved have a rather short attention span. They’re easily distracted, and have difficulties with words that have more than one meaning. But that’s part of their charm.

Chet (the Jet) adds insouciance and a slightly world-weary cynicism to his narration of the exploits of himself and his human partner, Bernie Little. He also exhibits a terrific, wry sense of humor, which had me laughing out loud very frequently. I fell in love within the first ten pages – even if I didn’t have a clue what exactly was happening.

A simple divorce case leads Chet and Bernie to a circus and before you know it, they’re right in the middle of a kidnapping and murder. A promising lead takes them to Mexico and BIG trouble.

Chet proves to be the hero, finding the missing elephant and bringing her safely back to civilization, despite his occasional lapses and distractions. Chet and Bernie are a very good team, indeed. I’m looking forward to their next adventure!

– Kelly Ferjutz

Welcome Sally Wag.

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, March 2nd, 2011 at 8:30 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

110 Responses to “San Francisco Book Review: To Fetch A Thief”

  1. Wolfie
    9:02 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Good morning everyone.

    Has anyone noticed how good looking our new Friends are?

  2. Melanie
    9:09 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Good morning Wölfie, you are up early on the West Coast!

    We are never going to hear the end of this post. The Kats are going to take great delight in it.

    Must read the rest of yesterday’s and then look up a word.

  3. B.Stover
    9:19 am on March 2nd, 2011

    I love this review. It’s absolutely excellent….spot on! as the British would say. “Insouciance” from the French soucier meaning to trouble…and the “in” making it negative. Yes! Chet the Jet is free and untroubled. And Kelly laughed out loud and “fell in love within the first ten pages.” Exactly!

  4. B.Stover
    9:19 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Good morning everyone!

  5. Sam
    9:29 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Wolfie, our friends are all so very good looking. Molly told me that yesterday she put Lassie’s picture out there in the Friends. She felt that Lassie and Chet would make great friends and that Lassie would admire Chet’s detective work.

  6. Melanie
    9:35 am on March 2nd, 2011

    I liked the definition from the Free Merriam-Webster Dictionary on-line version.
    Insouciance: lighthearted unconcern : nonchalance

    That is very true of Chet. Yet, when I looked up world-weary (YourDicitionary) on lne
    tired of the world: bored with life just doesn’t seem to fit Chet. He’s always ready to go ride shotgun and be “on the job.”

    Cynicism: general distrust of the integrity or professed motives of others (YourDicitionary) fits in nicely with Chet’s feeling about Perps. Those orange suits and breaking rocks!

  7. Barb & Maggie
    9:35 am on March 2nd, 2011

    The review was great, except there was a big SPOILER ALERT in there, don’t ya think?

    Molly, we loved seeing Timmy and Lassie in Chet’s Friends.

  8. Melanie
    9:38 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Overall a great review, but after reading the comments about and from the Kats after I went to sleep? The Kats are going to love this review.

    Oh, Riö and Siber-H: Zoë says she has enough reality as it is! Though we really did laugh this morning.

  9. Wolfie
    9:39 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Mom loved Lassie when she was a little girl. Still does.

  10. Melanie
    9:47 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Wölfie: when ever Lassie got in trouble it made me cry. Not so much when Timmy got in trouble.

  11. Barb & Maggie
    9:55 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Lassie was Barb’s favorite show when she was a kid. 5:00 p.m. Sundays!

    Well, the Spring real estate market is about to start here in the midwest, so we lowered the price on the house by $5,000 yesterday, hoping that will spark some interest. This may be the year we move by closer to the burbs. Fingers and paws crossed here!

  12. Wolfie
    9:57 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Uh-oh.

    (Whispering). One of my roommates, Wallace the Tabby Kat, has been reading Our Blog. I hope he doesn’t get any big ideas about posting here.

    We ‘ll just have tom see what happens….

  13. B.Stover
    9:59 am on March 2nd, 2011

    I think that the “slightly world-weary cynicism” could refer to Bernie’s money troubles, or when he does something that we and Chet know he really should not do…when Chet says, “Oh, Bernie.” That happens when Bernie does not take the money for retainer or when he doesn’t charge anything, or enough.

  14. B.Stover
    10:01 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Good luck with selling the house B&M.

  15. Melanie
    10:19 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Put a cute bunny (stuffed) in the house somewhere. It’s the Year of the Bunny, it should help sell the house. If not, give it to MagPie and she can play with it.

  16. Barb & Maggie
    10:20 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Wolfie, When is it tomato planting time in California? Do you start them first in pots inside?

  17. Barb & Maggie
    10:25 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Thank you, Bee.

    Melanie, We just got a really cute card with a bunny on it. If we put it on the refrigerator will that help? Or does it have to be a stuffed bunny? I’m glad you said stuffed, because I could not tolerate a live bunny hopping around my house. If Barb says “Where’s the bunny?” before letting me out, I go bonkers!

  18. Melanie
    10:54 am on March 2nd, 2011

    A Bunny Bonkers MagPie!

    I don’t see why putting the card on the refrig wouldn’t work.

  19. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:58 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Review!… How come some critics insist on giving away all of the plot when they review a book?…grunt!…I mean we here haven’t discussed the book that much between ourselves because we don’t want to give away anything for guys who haven’t read it yet… yeesh!… I guess we need not worry about that anymore.

    Molly!….Very clever of you putting Lassie out there on the Friends page!….heh!snort!heh!….Chet even tweeted about it the other day…snort!

  20. Basil and Sage
    11:12 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Yo – Wallace the Tabby Kat – come on, jump in, the blog is fine! And you can help us harrass certain curly tailed, push face dawgs, who have NO sense of humor.
    You see, we Kats are so much better at so many things, such as detecting and keeping one train of thought….
    giggle

  21. Mollypop
    11:13 am on March 2nd, 2011

    I wasn’t going to say that it was me who put Lassie on the Friends. Sam is such a big mouth!

  22. Barb & Maggie
    11:13 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Melanie, Card is on the fridge! Let’s hope it helps.

    Rio, We agree with you, the critic should have left out the part about Peanuts. That’s like a critic saying Pysyco was a great movie, but wait till you see the mummified mother in the rocking chair!

  23. Siber-H
    11:15 am on March 2nd, 2011

    I think that whoever wrote this review is a cat person, but that is okay. I firmly believe that you don’t have to be a total dog nut to love Chet’s books. They are so enjoyable and well writen.

    Good luck on the house Barb&Maggie.

  24. Basil and Sage
    11:19 am on March 2nd, 2011

    And its true about dogs and vocabulary. Why is in that in public, all dogs ever say is words that mean something else:
    Roof
    Bark
    Rough

    We cats simply say meow, or purr or maouu…note that not one of those that can easily be confused with anything else.

    It just proves once and for all that Kats are smarter.

  25. Siber-H
    11:25 am on March 2nd, 2011

    I have to chime in on this discussion of dogs having a short attention span…ever seen a Border Collie herd sheep?

    But, I will admit that “focus” is not a word that will have much meaning to a Husky, unless we are trying to get you to Nome.

  26. Tupper and Gilly
    11:25 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Sorry everyone – pay no attention to those Wrotten Kats! If they are so smart, how come they can get so goofy over a silly piece of string, for pete’s sake.
    And just for the record, WE say “arf” and “bowff”, which clearly have no other meaning.
    (Even if Rio and Wolfie do say “Woo”)

  27. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:28 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Bunny!…. Sometimes I read some of the crap you guys talk about and really wonder if you have anything between your ears….grunt!… So now Barb believes Melanie’s (Scarecrow) advice which is to put a bunny in her house so it will sell quicker….wheeze!choke!… I’m out of here! We have a whole house to clean and interesting books to read and other blogs to explore….wuffle!

  28. Siber-H
    11:30 am on March 2nd, 2011

    T&G Did your mom get over her cold okay? It seems that once a two-legged becomes a plunderer, they need to start taking colds and flu very seriously.

  29. Tupper and Gilly
    11:37 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Hi Siber – thanks for asking – our Mama is fixed up right as rain. She tributes super spicy hot’n sour soup as her perfect cure and Daddy will go get it for her anytime she is sick. (he’s really good that way)
    And we are sending good thoughts to YOUR mom too! Hope those antibiotic thingies make her better really soon. We’re so glad you made her see a vet! How else would she have known?

  30. Barb & Maggie
    11:42 am on March 2nd, 2011

    Rio, Pardon me, but the bunny on the fridge makes as much sense as burying one of those statues upside down in the yard. Positive thinking is what’s it all about!

  31. Tupper and Gilly
    12:01 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Barb and Maggie – the only thing that should ever get buried in the yard is a BONE!
    Don’t you pay any attention to ole’ GrumbleButt over there..he’ll start cheering up when baseball season starts.
    We think the Bunny on the fridge is a great idea!

  32. Barb & Maggie
    12:15 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Melanie, It seems that a certain brachycephalic member of the blog does not like your bunny idea. Well, we think it is a peachy idea. Sometimes you just have to think outside the box, or your yard. I bet he doesn’t stand in the garden under the full moon either.

    One would think he would be less grumpy with his friend home for 5 days!

    Thank you T & G for your more positive comments.

  33. Lola and Franklin
    12:21 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    I don’t know why it’s such a surprise about dog detectives. Cats might show up in more mystery novels, but when was the last time you met a feline cop? No offense to our feline brethren, of course, but they are not generally team players, either, in my experience.

  34. Melanie
    12:42 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Here’s another idea . . .
    Tell everyone your house is haunted. MollyPop could put it up on “Weird and Haunted” (your state) and then we all write in weird stories that happened to us at your house.

    A chicken laid an egg in my lap.
    Rats mysteriously disappear.
    Snow comes from nowhere in the winter.

    That might sell it!

  35. Barb & Maggie
    12:47 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Melanie, You are on a roll! Those events could all happen here. Just got to get Barb to hold Peaches on her lap all day for an egg to materialize!

    We will be back later.

  36. Melanie
    12:54 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Here’s a picture of one of our Puppies. He’s grown up now!

  37. Mollypop
    1:22 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Awww – Melanie. Is the Newf practicing for the Iditarod? Siber-H can do that too.

  38. B.Stover
    1:36 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    I had to look up brachycephalic. Love learning new words.

    I’m getting my senses of smell and taste back and this nebulizer medicine tastes like rotten eggs. Three times a day…no way.

  39. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:37 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Wow!….Is that really one of the puppies who used to be so small that he fit on a Quilt square?…zow!….What a great looking guy! ….snort!

    Cleaning!….Well, we were really rolling on the cleaning thing, she was taking down curtains and everything …sneeze!cough!… Then her mother came over and all work stopped. Now her mom is going out to get cheeseburgers for lunch…sniff!…I can’t wait!….wooooooo!!!!

  40. Melanie
    1:48 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Not one of the the cyber God pups. This guy is around four. The cyber God pups are still growing. They are only 9 months old.

    BTW: it’s almost 40 degrees and it’s snowing sideways. What is wrong with this weather?

  41. Melanie
    2:18 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    hmmm. need some help off the blog.

    YSAS’s acting company is putting him in for a big grant. I have to do a lot of writing (considering YSAS is very dyslexic). I believe that someone here has done grant writing? Can we talk off the blog?

    Thanks.

    Disregard this message otherwise.

  42. B.Stover
    2:24 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Melanie: I’ve never done much grant writing but would be happy to help if I can.

  43. Mollypop
    2:55 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Melanie – Mom is good at data entry and proof reading if that will help.

  44. Melanie
    3:39 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Thanks guys! YSAS is going to have a meeting on March 10th, after that I will be starting.

  45. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:40 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Tired!….Someone here is tired and has decided enough cleaning for one day….snort!….She did call the plumber (don’t ask) but we can wait for him to call back while we rest… sniff!

    Grant!… Where does this Grant come from? What will it be for Clarkson alone?…snuffle!… No one I know has ever written a Grant before. If it is for Clarkson I hope someone can help him out….gruff!

  46. Melanie
    3:56 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Yes Riö, it’s for him. I hope so too.

    I just finished all the notes that we skyped about yesterday for the big meeting on March 10. Put them in an outline form saved it and the computer froze.
    Big time.
    I lost all but two pages.

    I’m giving up for now. If I had a plumber to wait for I would do that. As it is . . . I think I’ll read.

  47. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:19 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Plumber!…. He’s coming tomorrow morning the same time that her mother is coming with some paint for the window sills….grunt!… All of us, especially me, will be in the same room at the same time tomorrow morning….snort! …This is going to be fun!fun!fun!…yeep!yeep!

  48. Melanie
    4:36 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    I hope you all are not going to be in a small room all at the same time!

    Tried my workroom. Still fumes. Maybe tomorrow.

  49. Mollypop
    5:10 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Rio – Is there a chance you will be put in another room so you don’t get underfoot?

  50. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:11 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Molly!….That’s just crazy talk!….snort!

  51. BARB & MAGGIE
    5:16 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Melanie, Is that pup from your last litter, or a prior one?

  52. B.Stover
    5:26 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    B&M: Melanie answered that in her 1:48PM post. The Newf in the picture is not from the last litter; he’s four years old.

  53. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:37 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Detail!….Barb’s up to her old trick’s like not paying attention to detail again….snorkel! …Asking the same question I did hours ago, and then not reading the answer….heh!

  54. LizF
    5:49 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Short attention span? Cricket can sit next to me on the couch and harrass for treats non-stop for three hours. And would go longer if we didn’t have to go out/go to bed/do something else.

  55. Sam
    6:05 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Cricket sounds like my kind of dog.

  56. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:10 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Begging!….She’s never timed me but I bet I could beat Crickets time….snort!

  57. LizF
    6:13 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    You two could have a beg-off, see who can go the longest.

  58. Kirby T. Penworthy
    6:15 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Hey, y’all! Just here for a little bit, before Mom heads off to her handbell practice.

  59. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:32 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Kirby!…. So what have you got to say for yourself?….grunt!

  60. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:55 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Delivery!….Another single book arrived today, finally!…snort!… Not Quacky Baseball…sigh!…This book was shipped on Feb 23rd and lets see it has taken 9 days to arrive…grump!….Quacky probably won’t be here till Friday sometime…sob! …This is enough to drive a Pug insane!….dammit!

  61. Melanie
    7:26 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Riö: I finally got my second Quacky. You know, the one I thought I ordered but didn’t. So even though I didn’t order it until after I checked in with my brain (went to the dry cleaners) I still got mine before you.

    Ummm have you tried the tracking thing in your Amazon account?

  62. Melanie
    7:27 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Kirby T. Penworthy: Back when I was a teacher at an all Girl’s School, I played the hand bells. I love the clear sound they make.

  63. Melanie
    7:30 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Does anyone here twitter? I have an account where I have watched SPAQ do an interview. But other than that . . .

    My question is . . . What does the “#” sign mean? To me, it means number. Obviously, I’m way out of date.

  64. dawson
    7:55 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Melanie: According to google…it is a hash sign. Not corned beef or Alice B. Toklas hash though. Does not compute for me.

  65. Barb & Maggie
    7:57 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Sorry we missed that answer, Barb was at work and quickly looked over the posts. Obviously, she didn’t pay enough attention to detail.

  66. B.Stover
    8:07 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Melanie: In journalism ### means end of copy.

  67. Melanie
    8:13 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Well, I looked it up and still didn’t understand it. It is called a #hashtag. I think you actually have to know how to twitter to know how it works.

    Since I don’t really care about twittering, except for birds, I will probably remain clueless.

    Time to go upstairs and hit the air purified bedroom. The ceilings are looking great. One more coat of smelly paint. So the plaster dude will be done tomorrow.

    My eyes, throat and lungs will appreciate it.

    Down the hill to PT tomorrow, and having lunch with a certain mother of Royalites. What fun!

  68. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:19 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    # Sign!….I got this from Twitter 101…grunt!… You can use the # symbol + a keyword, if you want people to find your tweets when they are using the search function. You can also conduct Twitter searches yourself, using the Search link at the bottom of your page. Type in the # symbol and keyword you are looking for, hit search, and you will be provided with a list of Tweets that match your terms…. wheeze!

  69. dawson
    8:22 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Rio: I’m impressed!

  70. Kirby T. Penworthy
    8:31 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    I’m back!

    Rio: Like, I don’t know — like what should I like say for myself?

    Melanie: Mom came home and said she got goosebumps tonight. That doesn’t sound so hot to me, but she said it like it was a good thing. They’re playing an arrangement of “Amazing Grace” for bells, chimes and two flutes. This is the first time the flutes have practiced with them. She said it was like WOW!

  71. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:34 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Tags!….Think of the # sign the same as a ‘Tag’ which is what Chet uses for us to search on his posts…grunt!

  72. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:39 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Kirby!…Usually, when one uses up a post (counting to the dreaded 100) one says something besides, “I’m here” …snort!…and then leaves for hours upon hours…sniff!…Stuff like that is annoying, that’s all…grunt!…Plus, you wasted a post.(closer to 100!!!!) …sniff!

  73. Kirby T. Penworthy
    8:51 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Sorry Rio, but I posted to say hi (otherwise known as “hey” in the South) and nobody replied while I was still here. I didn’t want to “waste” a post by saying good-bye, so I just left!!! But now I’m back! Hey Rio!

  74. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:00 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Southerners! …They are way too friendly and use up unnecessary posts…grunt!… “Hey!” yourself Kirby. Glad you are okay today…snorkel!

  75. Barb & Maggie
    9:07 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Hey Kirby! Barb’s brother that lives in Cary, N.C. always says Hey. We likey!

  76. Kirby T. Penworthy
    9:08 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Rio: I have to be “too friendly” to offset your “too grumpy.” And I’m glad you’re OK today, too. In fact, I’m glad you and your friend have not only today, but the next few days to be together. Maybe you’ll be less grumpy by the time the five days are up. On the other hand, maybe you’ll be even more grumpy because after all that relaxing time, your friend will have to leave you alone again to go back to the not-so-busy place!

  77. Kirby T. Penworthy
    9:10 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    B&M: Hey to you, too. And say “hey” to Barb’s brother for me the next time you talk to him!

  78. dawson
    9:13 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Kirby: Amazing Grace on handbells, chimes and flutes. I would love to hear that.

  79. Kirby T. Penworthy
    9:24 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Dad’s home! His lacrosse team lost — now they’re 0-3. :( Dad says they keep taking the lead, then they get all tuckered out and end up losing. I bet if I went out and chased them around the field every day, I could get those boys in condition in no time!!!

    Dawson: I’m hoping someone records it so I can hear it, too! For some reason Mom won’t let me go to church with her!

  80. Macy the Min-Pin
    9:27 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Uh, I am here, too! *passes pugbutt a valium*

  81. B.Stover
    9:30 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    I hope Wookie is okay today.

    Good night all.

  82. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:32 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    MinPin!…Is that your last one? I insist you keep it for later…snort! ….We received Disc 2 and 3 of Justified Season One today in the mail…gruff!…This makes up for the fact the our Quacky has surely been eaten by Marauding Goats…sob!

  83. Macy the Min-Pin
    9:33 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Mom played handbells in highschool and then again about 15 years ago. She got stage fright too much though.

  84. Macy the Min-Pin
    9:39 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Ok, we have had a crappy day and we are not going to be ordered around by anybody. Did someone make you the boss of the blog? Insist? Really? Knock it off.

  85. Barb & Maggie
    9:39 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Kirby, That would be really great if someone could record the handbells and flutes playing Amazing Grace. Why don’t you work on getting that done and posted? We would all enjoy it.

  86. Mollypop
    9:40 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Mom loves Amazing Grace and a few years ago she “found” 23 very good versions of it on the Internet to make a CD. They were all vocals and now she would love to add a version with handbells, chimes and flutes.

  87. Mollypop
    9:42 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Hi Macy!

  88. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:59 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    MinPin!…You were the one who was disrespectful to begin with so get over it …grunt!….Be civil and get civil back. You and the Herbals are really rude and obnoxious for no reason usually …grump!… If that’s how you want to play, that’s how I will play back at you…sniff!

  89. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:12 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Staff! AbbieTheKat! Alice!….. I don’t remember hearing from any of those guys today….sniff!… I’m worried because Staff seemed to be anemic-like because she is so tired and weary….sigh…. I hope we hear from them tonight or tomorrow. Hopefully, more than just a “Hey”…grunt!

  90. Macy the Min-Pin
    10:24 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    When was I rude? Excuse me? We (at least the rest of us) come here to visit and for some companionship. I (and my mom) are just barely hanging on to our sanity and having a cyber dog bully us is intolerable. Why don’t you just be nice or go to your bed. Hmpfff.

    We are worried about Staff also. She does not need to get run down. It has not been all that long that she was getting new body parts. (mom would not mind a few new parts, but all the ones she wants are on the outside).

    Hi, miss Mollypop. We have turned over a new leaf and are not going to diss your yankees except when they are playing the Rangers. You are welcome, lol.

  91. Macy the Min-Pin
    10:29 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Barb, are you looking for a major relocation or just a new house. We would love to buy your house, but I am afraid the commute might be to much for dad. AND mom is kind of afraid of chickens.

    Note from mom: AM NOT!! I just prefer that they stay where they belong, and nowhere near my feet.

  92. Siber-H
    10:33 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Today is the 175 year birthday of the State of Texas. Happy Birthday Texas!!!

    Good Night All

  93. Barb & Maggie
    10:37 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Macy, Barb wants to move back closer to the far N.W. suburbs of Chicago, which is where her grandkids live. It is about 100 miles from here. Barb built a lovely chicken coop on the property, but she will rehome her chickens if she can’t take them with her. They are quite friendly, none are attack chickens, and a few hens actually like to be held or to sit on your arm. Not scary at all. And the eggs are wonderful!

  94. Macy the Min-Pin
    10:41 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Mr. Husky, thanks for wishing the Lone Star State a happy birthday. It has had quite an active past, but it is still holding up pretty good for its age.

    Mom is suspicious of eggs that do not come from cartons. She is SUCH a city girl. At least any current eggs are refrigerated, I would think, or has it warmed up there?

  95. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:56 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    MinPin!…Rude!…When were you rude, you ask?….snort!…The first thing you said on the blog today was rude..snort!… “Uh, I am here, too! *passes pugbutt a valium*” ….Does calling someone derogatory names all the time qualify as Rude? In my book it does….grunt!… You come here to be rude more often than not. If others think this is funny, that is their opinion. “Visit” with them. … grump!…Leave me out of it!…growl!

  96. Macy the Min-Pin
    11:08 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    alrighty then, someone slap me if I even think about mentioning certain blog members who have chosen to be unfriendly. Mom and I have enough trouble in our real lives to get grief from our one place of solace.

    Nighty night good friends,

    Macy out.

  97. Barb & Maggie
    11:14 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Macy, Eggs are fine as long as they are collected daily. If the weather was warm, and the eggs sat in the nests for days, they would not be good. Even if the temp outside is high, it isn’t going to damage an egg sitting for a few hours. Baby chicks will not start growing in them. We collect the eggs a couple of times a day so we have never had a problem.

    A friend had a lady tell her that she only wanted grocery store eggs, because farm eggs came out of a chicken butt. Ok? So where did she think store eggs came from?

  98. Tupper and Gilly
    11:16 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Hi everyone – its been such a very long day, and we have been left alone sooooooo long.
    I personally was a Very Good Dog, but Gilly, well, Gilly is still kind of a baby dog, even tho she is two years old. So, she got ALL of Mama’s shoes out of the closet and made a collage of them, all over the floor…in her bed…under the tables…on the couch….you name it, there is a shoe or boot there.
    She doesn’t chew them up, she just “decorates”. Then she makes a nice nest of them, and curls up to wait for Mama to come home.
    We really wish we knew what Gilly’s story was before her first people dropped her off at the pound. We don’t think they were very nice people, and we think Gilly still has some anxieties. We love her to peices, but she is just weird!

  99. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:18 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Good!…It’s a deal then!…heh!…What a freakin’ relief!!!!!!….Wooooo!

  100. Tupper and Gilly
    11:20 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    NOW we feel like real members of the blog. We wrote a completely innocent story of our day home alone and we are being moderated!
    Who decides these things and what triggers moderation?

  101. Barb & Maggie
    11:20 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Macy, You are probably gone already, but also wanted to mention that our eggs are cleaned off and put into the fridge as soon as they are brought into the house. No one has ever gotten sick from eating our eggs. They actually pay $4-5.00 a doz. in Chicago for organic, free range eggs, and we give them away!

    Nighty night, all!

  102. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:29 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Welcome!….Corgis, To the Wacky Wonderful unexplainable software that is called, “Chet’s Blog”…heh!….We here have dealt with it for ages and ages, even before time began we dealt with it…heh!

  103. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:32 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Sigh…..I’m going to my warm soft bed now…grunt!

  104. Tupper and Gilly
    11:43 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Aw gee…we just got here and everyone is going to bed.
    Guess we will too. Maybe tomorrow will be sunny and happy.

  105. Alice M. Johnson
    11:54 pm on March 2nd, 2011

    Dear T&G,
    I am going to bed too. Just thought I would say Hi and Bye so you don’t worry about Staff or Abbie or the beauteous ME.

    Take care everyone.

  106. Riö - The Evil Pug
    12:24 am on March 3rd, 2011

    Hey! ….Alice!…(another wasted post on a super-model spy!) ….snorkel!

    Grump! ….I was in bed, but someone is still having fun knowing she doesn’t have to getup early for work tomorrow morning….heh!…There is the Plumber though, and her mother with the can of paint coming over…sniff!…So I got up and now I am sitting here looking at her and pleading with her to GO-TO-BED-NOW …grump!….She is selfishly watching the new episode of The GoodWife….hmmm. It is quite interesting, maybe I will try staying up late too!…snoozzzzell! snorrreekkkel!…Off to bed, can’t do it…heh!

  107. dawson
    9:05 am on March 3rd, 2011

    Staff: Thanks for checking in. I know they are working you hard at the place with too many numbers where all the sick people seem to hang out.
    Rio and Macy: Sheesh! This time I think this is all a little misunderstanding…turning into a mountain side. Macy offered pug— a valium and Rio refused, insisting politely that Macy keep the last one for herself. Macy thought Rio was insisting that post be her last because we were heading towards the dark side. And then growling, teeth baring, fur flying, claws out, down and dirty dog fight! Aaaaaargh! Go to your own beds, lick your wounds, then come out and make us laugh again.

  108. Macy the Min Pin
    9:15 am on March 3rd, 2011

    oh Dawson you made us snort our juice this am. We are well rested an have regained our manners, although we are tempted to start something just to get your play by play! But we will be a Good Dog.

  109. Barb & Maggie
    9:34 am on March 3rd, 2011

    Macy, Did you see all our comments about eggs? Probably more than you ever wanted to know. But one more thing – chicks do NOT start growing in eggs left at room temp. They have to be at 99-100 degrees for 21 days for a chick to pop out.

    Also, some dogs and some kats just don’t get along. If I were you, I would just “let sleeping dogs lie”. There are lots of us on the blog who want to talk to you.

  110. Loodgieters Alkmaar
    3:21 am on September 29th, 2013

    Superb issues once and for all, you only gotten a whole new visitor. What may possibly anyone advocate relating to your set up you made at times before? Just about any positive?

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia