Random B&N WOOF Review We Like

Anonymous on WOOF:

Five Stars – June 23, 2015
Fun Read
Chet and Bernie are wonderful and now we have Bowser! These books make me laugh out loud in public!!!!

Tonight 5:30-7:30, Osterville (MA) Library – Spence will be at Mutts and Martinis. Books available from Books By The Sea.

Share

Tags: , , ,

This entry was posted on Friday, June 26th, 2015 at 8:25 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

60 Responses to “Random B&N WOOF Review We Like”

  1. Herd of Hounds
    8:44 am on June 26th, 2015

    Good morning, everyone! Except for “read” which makes us grit out teeth, we are laughing out loud 🙂
    Have a fun fraught Friday! (and we are having trouble posting and have been trying since 8:30)

  2. BearSpiritDog
    8:58 am on June 26th, 2015

    It’s Friday? Already?
    Well okay…if it can be Fun Fraught…I guess so.
    And, a Good Review Too…but for “that word”. Gah.

    OMD! C.Hobbit had the Worst Day Ever yesterday! (except for the new loaner car).

  3. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:58 am on June 26th, 2015

    Good morning. I think Spence and Admin do it on purpose. Either that or the whole world uses read as a noun. Bee, you are seriously out-numbered!

    Cloudy and more rain coming our way. Those nasty little mosquitoes are out and about.

    Off to the office. We are seriously worried about the boss. After giving 35 years to the company, he has been warned that his production must increase or he is gone before year end. Barb may be out of a job.

  4. BearSpiritDog
    9:05 am on June 26th, 2015

    Barb,Magpie,Lucy: Corporations! Don’t get us started!
    35 Years…Can Barb’s boss retire?

  5. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    9:12 am on June 26th, 2015

    BSD, He is going to be 62 in September, and doesn’t want to retire for several more years. On top of all that, he is trying to sell his home and is dealing with elderly parents who he is trying to get moved out of their home and into assisted living. They don’t want to go, but are a danger to themselves. He has a lot on his plate right now.

  6. Herd of Hounds
    9:50 am on June 26th, 2015

    Barb, we question the adjective “little” with Mosquitos. In your neck of the woods, we think they have B52 tattooed on their hinnies! Hope your boss’ business picks up and CHobbit’s day is better than yesterday.

  7. B.Stover
    9:53 am on June 26th, 2015

    Good morning all.

  8. Tupper and Gilly
    10:22 am on June 26th, 2015

    Hi everyone.
    Hobbit – please, please do not do a Groundhog Day today. May this day go 100% perfect!
    We poor abused Corgis are about to be abandoned yet again. It’s a cruel world that makes Mama and the Storyteller go off and actually work for a living.

    Barb – sheesh. Fingers crossed for you, prayers sent for your boss.

  9. BooBear
    10:26 am on June 26th, 2015

    Whew! Already quite a morning. Barb, tell you boss that when Mom moved her dad into assisted living, she told him that if he didn’t like it, he could move back home (she knew it would take months to clear out the house to sell.) He moved into a very nice apartment in an assisted living complex, didn’t have to sign a lease and adjusted very well. He wanted the house sold! It was a non-producing asset. So maybe your boss can convince them to give it a try for a month or two and they will find they like being taken care of. (Mom does confess that if her mom had still been living, the transition would have been much harder.)

    C.Hobbit, car dealerships are in the business of making money. They up-sell service, and the service advisor is on commission. Next time, tell him/her that you cannot afford to do everything at once and ask what is the most pressing problem. Believe me, they will continue to sell as long as you are buying. Mom worked for a dealership for 36 years. Luckily, she has a trusted mechanic and advisor that will not rip her off now that she has left there.

    I wonder what has Sadie upset. I am quite certain that Mr.Big is not the p-culprit!!

  10. BooBear
    10:29 am on June 26th, 2015

    She also confesses that she uses “read” as a noun all the time.

  11. Masquers
    10:36 am on June 26th, 2015

    BooBear: Read as a noun…we are hearing the sound of finger nails on blackboard…gasp, say it isn’t so.
    Preparing for another hot day here. Two Bluejays are dropping strange gifts on the deck in payment for sips of cool water.
    Must say…we are worrit about that missing UPS package sent to Snowhook recently.
    Where oh where could Maury’s manners be? And what’s up with that crooked halo? Thieves, Do youse know anything and would you tell us if you did?
    Wishing the Royal Mum and the Storyteller big sales and happy customers.
    For our Hobbit…a friendly Friday.

  12. O'Howlers
    12:02 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Happy Friday, everyone!
    Barb, this crap is happening everywhere inCorporate America. If Mom can ever manage to retire, she will not be taking another job. Oh no she will not.
    Hobbit! sigh. We truly hope that today is an upswing.

  13. Wookies and Teddy's Dad
    12:04 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Wyatt — Would you mind to please keep looking for those manners; they must be somewhere. I could try sending another box, but you know how difficult it is to wrap them in bubble wrap and secure them in the package safely (although certain kats in Massachusetts have advised otherwise).

  14. Riö - The Evil Pug
    12:15 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Fun!….What?….grunt!…I read no further after seeing the title of the review….sniff!

  15. Wyatt, the Brave
    12:25 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Wookie and Teddy’s Paw: I will continue to look for the manners. I suspect the MGs are to blame for the missing manners. You have managed to lead a full life despite having a crooked halo, haven’t you?

  16. Masquers
    12:28 pm on June 26th, 2015

    The dreaded MGs…have they resurfaced?

    Riõ: You must be very proud of your quarterback today.

  17. dawson
    12:59 pm on June 26th, 2015

    I’m having trouble posting – the blog message says I am posting too fast. Snort!

  18. Wookies and Teddy's Dad
    1:01 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Thanks Wyatt. BTW, on the halo thingie, I have found that some creative application of duct tape has gone a long way to try to keep my halo relatively straight. As you know, the application of duct tape in sufficient amounts can remedy just about any problem. I have found that the traditional gray works best, but if Belle Star is insistent on sparkles, I understand that duct tape with sparkles is available as well, for those in need at the kennel.

  19. Masquers
    1:38 pm on June 26th, 2015

    W&TD: Always excellent advice to take duct tape on Life’s little journeys.

  20. Masquers
    1:43 pm on June 26th, 2015

    B: You would be interested in this…a new play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, will debut on London stage next year.

  21. B.Stover
    2:06 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Masquers: That’s interesting.

  22. Diane C.
    2:08 pm on June 26th, 2015

    C. Hobbit–OUCH!!! I am thinking of you and your various joints, which I hope are mending as I write this.
    In connection with joints, I wanted to ask anyone on this blog with experience of same if they had anything to say about the use of ribose or (vitamin) K-2 supplements. I tend to be mostly suspicious unless the PCP recommends (or commands, as with calcium and D-3) but on the other hand, melatonin seems to work, so…

  23. Diane C.
    2:12 pm on June 26th, 2015

    (Do-over) Good morning everyone, may you all have the best day ever today and the least satisfactory of all those to come (looking at you, Hobitt).
    B, M and L–Feel free to send any excess rain here to CA where we continue to need it.
    It’s nap time for the sacred Mommy. Back in a bit…

  24. Masquers
    2:29 pm on June 26th, 2015

    DianeC: Sacred mommy? You have alarmed us. What’s happening there?

  25. B.Stover
    2:29 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Diane: You could try glucosamine by Wellesse. It’s a liquid that you take once a day. You can get it on Amazon.

  26. Herd of Hounds
    3:21 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Uh

  27. Herd of Hounds
    3:54 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Boomers here…. 🙁 hoping for a day below 90 tomorrow. PLEASE!

  28. Masquers
    4:09 pm on June 26th, 2015

    HOH: The rain will kool you off…if only you will come out from under the bed that is.

  29. Zoe
    4:25 pm on June 26th, 2015

    The weather is really nice today. Mac and India and I drove a short way to where we can walk through a field and down a path to the river where Mac does not have to use stairs. They loved their river bath. On the way home, I watched India going into the overgrown field . She would stop and just stare ..then move on. She had found what I can only call mini butterflies..Tiny fluttering things that loved the wild stuff in the field that smelled lovely.

    Thank B. Stover for the glucosamine by Wellness tip. I think the liquid would work better with Mac (to say nothing of Zoe) than the pills.

  30. dawson
    4:56 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Zoe: Your day with the Newfs sounds wonderful. River baths are so refreshing!

  31. Herd of Hounds
    5:59 pm on June 26th, 2015

    ZOE, sounds like a slice of heaven! We are planning a dog park trip…WOOF!

  32. Wyatt, the Brave
    6:19 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Zoe: We here at Snowhook are glad you, Mac and India had a good day. Butterflies! A couple of weeks ago, AJ and my Lady were outside near the kennel. As they stood talking, a butterfly played around them. When my Lady first noticed the butterfly she said, “Oh, hi, Melanie.” If AJ thought it strange that she was greeting a butterfly by name, he didn’t show it—that was wise on his part.

    Wookie and Teddy’s Paw: Thanks for the tip on securing halos. Here we use hockey tape. It holds up to the cold better. Every year, my Lady gives the Giant black hockey tape for his sled. Belle Starr counteracts this random act of boring colors with giving him pink hockey tape. The Thieves have been known to give him hockey tape with skull and crossbones or flames. Speaking of the Thieves and halos—they destroyed their halos long ago. They have been after mine ever since. Snort.

  33. Herd of Hounds
    6:33 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Our Pookey has a bright pink collar with skull and crossbones! Perfect for a lady that takes on raccoons and wins!

  34. B.Stover
    6:39 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Zoe: You’re very welcome. I hope it helps.

  35. B.Stover
    6:46 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Zoe: I forgot: It’s now “Wellness” but Wellesse.

  36. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    7:17 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Rio, Did you see our comment about your tomatoes?

    How are things going with your friend’s maw?

    Wonder how Mary Lou is doing.

  37. Herd of Hounds
    8:05 pm on June 26th, 2015

    We miss ML’s humor. She is one sick puppie!

  38. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:17 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Barb!…We did see your really late comment but by then it was too late and all the blooms had been picked off…sniff!…Someone else answered me late, I’m thinking it was ole Staffie…snuffle!

    Mother!… Doing a bit better one day and then not so good the next day and then a little better and so one and so one…grunt!…Beau has taken to sleeping in her bedroom on the floor!. He must be worrit about her. But he keeps her awake with his undawgly snoring and then he meanders around the house deciding if he wants to go to his real bed or not..sniff!…So in short – he is being a real pain-in-the ass…grump!

  39. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:28 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Wyatt!…What’s a Halo?…sniff!sniff!

  40. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:30 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Wyatt!…Is it that yellowish pillow of smelly air that sort of hangs over the back-end of one?…snuffle!…I always wandered what that was called…heh!

  41. Herd of Hounds
    8:37 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Halo, just what the ole doc ordered!

  42. BearSpiritDog
    8:41 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Rio: Someone Here dutifully recorded Mr. Robot on Wednesday night
    but now come to find out we had Already Seen It! The First Episode is, of course, the same as the Pilot. Should have known. Growl.

    Butterflies! Our White Butterfly is back and Nana is very happy.

    Zoe: A nice Walk, a Swim in the river and little Butterflies.
    You can’t beat that for a Great Day.

    Wyatt the Brave: The Butterflies are everywhere!

  43. Herd of Hounds
    8:45 pm on June 26th, 2015

    We love the silly stuff! Whoo hoo here we go! So much to do and so much to do!

  44. Herd of Hounds
    8:48 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Wyatt, you are our favorite guy!

  45. Thieves!
    9:05 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Rio: Truth be told, we have no idea what a halo is. Allegations that we destroyed our halos long ago are largely misrepresented. We are sure of it. we are operating under the theory that halos are part of the eyebrow family which is to say that they are missing, on the run, innocent until proven not innocent. Wyatt says that the halo of haze above the southend of a northbound pug is your own special brand of halo. Snort! Sneeze! Woof!

  46. Queen Tupper and Court Jester Gilly
    9:10 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Abandoned, deserted, alone (except for Gramp)
    Starving, wracked with hunger pangs and wasting away – its been THREE HOURS since dinner.
    No one to pet us, admire us, or tell us how wonderful we are (except Gramp).
    And the worst part – they left those Dam Wrotten Kats here with us.
    We think we should rename the Herbs – we could call them “Manners” and ship them to Alaska!
    Whaddya think Wookie and Teddy’s Dad – you think the Thieves would buy it?

  47. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:20 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Special!…My own special Halo. Hey! I like the sound of that..phhhhhhgt!..snort!

  48. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:23 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Blooms!…Just to reassure Barb. The bushy little tomatoe plants are starting to get blooms again, so my friend will refrain from her incessant picking!picking!picking!…snort!….And hey! the cucumber plants are really starting to grow….wheeze!…Someone’s little sad garden is starting to sparkel!…whuffe!

  49. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:27 pm on June 26th, 2015

    CHobbit!…. I can tell that Beau is very worrit about CHobbit. I just know he wants to sleep in her room but on Sadie’s part of the big bed…sniff!…I try to explain that Alice would have to be hired to jet him there on her lear jet. He does not understand the logistics at all..sniff!

  50. Thieves!
    10:10 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Logistics are not for the faint of heart. Neither are written kats come to that.

  51. c.hobbit
    10:34 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Well, I am finding that it is very difficult to sleep with one left elbow with no skin. Got my car back at noon and I must say it is driving well. Out of the $1700 bill they had charged me $100 to turn off the “check engine” light code and they ays that if the light reappears then it will be a repair job. Sniff. I may start thinking about buying another car and will be asking Rio’s friend for advice. I must say that the new technology is pretty amazing altho it probably means that there are more things that can go wrong with a car nowadays.

    I drove to Willow today on a cat rescue call. I can report that the area where Snowhook is seems unmarked by fire. The trees are still tall and green and with the recent wind and rain the air no longer is smokey. At least for now. I didn’t stop at the kennel as I didn’t think anyone would be home.

    I am going to crash with Sadie for a bit and then try and take her for a walk. I think she is needing more attention because by the time I spend quality time with 3 separate adult cats, Sadie is feeling neglected. I heard a frustrated bark 30 minutes ago and found that Sadie was trapped on the ground floor. Mr. Big was on the stairs blocking access to me.

    BBL

  52. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:39 pm on June 26th, 2015

    Sadie!…sniff!…Escape while you can!…wheeze!

  53. Macy the Min Pin
    11:04 pm on June 26th, 2015

    ML is not fit for polite society. She is depressed and overwhelmed She finally got her mom’s safe deposit box drilled open ($150) and got the will out to discover that she never updated it. First and second choice executors are both deceased We can’t get at her funds to pay bills. And either the niece or nephew went in and took the spare checks, credit cards, and the little bit of cash that was on her dresser. ML has an appointment with her lawyer on Monday but no way to pay him. At least he understands that.

    She does feel for everyone’s trials and tribulations, even though she doesn’t comment ..take care of your sweet selves. MTMP

  54. Thieves!
    11:59 pm on June 26th, 2015

    MTMP: Believe it or not, we pray for you and ML everyday. Sniff.

  55. c.hobbit
    12:24 am on June 27th, 2015

    MTMP: it will all get sorted out. Take each day, each hour as it comes. You are strong, you are in charge, you can do this (I’m glad you have made an appointment with your lawyer).

  56. dawson
    12:44 am on June 27th, 2015

    Carpola!
    MacyMinPin: I’d feel overwhelmed and depressed too with what ML has had to deal with the last while. Many prayers being sent.

  57. Diane C.
    6:19 pm on June 27th, 2015

    MTMP–I (like everyone else of this blog) am praying for you and ML and keeping you in my thoughts. The lawyer can help. Stay strong.

  58. Diane C.
    6:21 pm on June 27th, 2015

    C. Hobbit–Apologies for doubling different consonants in your name at different times. Prayers continue for you as well.

  59. Diane C.
    6:23 pm on June 27th, 2015

    And we lost Patrick McNee a couple of days ago. And the French and German ladies battled like Amazons in the World Cup, but the Germans took it anyway (a French goal went in and THEN bounced out so didn’t count).
    Time for deep breaths all around and taking it bit by bit as Hobbit says.

  60. Staff
    8:31 pm on June 27th, 2015

    Hail. We just had one inch hail for about 15minutes and then 1/2 inch hail for another 10 minutes with rain rain rain. 1-1/2″ in the rain gauge in about 1/2 hour.

    My tomatoes are trashed. So are the beans and the lettuce and the whole damn rest of the garden. sniff.
    I am lying. The carrots and potatoes look OK.

    grump

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia