Random Barnes & Noble Review We Like

Adahmae on TAIL OF VENGEANCE:

Highly Recommended!!
Delightful!!! I have all the Chet and Bernie books! Every one of them is so much fun to read! The stories are told from the dog, Chet’s, point of view. I dearly LOVE Chet. He is so much fun! I truly believe Spencer Quinn has deep insight into the mind workings of dogs! Also, he is able to describe Chet’s actions so well……connecting them with the feelings Chet has….you can just visualize the whole thing. I love how he is able to put into words the loyal love Chet has for Bernie. I hope he never stops writing about Chet and Bernie’s adventures together!

 

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Saturday, September 13th, 2014 at 8:05 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

100 Responses to “Random Barnes & Noble Review We Like”

  1. Wose- the small and meek
    8:16 am on September 13th, 2014

    Greetings!

    A very nice review.

    It is a soggy day here in Westchester, BUT that means a cool front is coming?
    YAY!

    Good day everyone!

  2. O'Howlers
    8:20 am on September 13th, 2014

    Great review! We like the way Spence writes of Chet’s loyal love for Bernie too! It is exactly the way we feel about Mom and Pop. Smartest two people in the room, wherever they are.
    Good morning, all!
    Wose, thinking of you.
    Amalia, wishing you a short stay and good food. (Whispering) Should we blur you some pizza?
    Macy’s mom and BooBear’s mom, you are always in our thoughts and pawrayers.

  3. O'Howlers
    8:20 am on September 13th, 2014

    Speaking of Wose, she posted while we were typing! Twins!

  4. Herd of Hounds
    8:43 am on September 13th, 2014

    Good morning, OH (always in mom’s thoughts), Wose and Amaliia at club med and everyone! What a day this has been…oops still early! Soggy here too, Wose. Maybe that is why we are the greenest state in the land of the free…ya think? We love having so many twins :)
    Let’s have a swirly, twirly Saturday!

  5. Wose- the small and meek
    9:02 am on September 13th, 2014

    O’Holwers: Typing while a posted! How is that for synchronicity?
    I am wondering how T.C. And Zeusikov are getting along?

    Royal Mum: I hope the dancing giraffes put on quite on show, and that you will reach tip-top soon!

    HOH’s Mom: Thank you. Just thank you!

    Thinking on Karen and BooBear, ML and her mom and F-I-L, and in the Great State of Alaska, our Pixie.

  6. Wose- the small and meek
    9:08 am on September 13th, 2014

    http://abcnews.go.com/Sports/stolen-seattle-seahawks-garden-gnome-returns-home-mysterious/story?id=25462097

    I don’t know if this will work, but Rio, I hope your friends gnome is inside the house.

  7. Wose- the small and meek
    9:10 am on September 13th, 2014
  8. Herd of Hounds
    9:18 am on September 13th, 2014

    Wose, you are on a woll! keep it up! Keep it up, wove you.

  9. B.Stover
    9:30 am on September 13th, 2014

    Nice review.

    Good morning all.

  10. Barb & Maggie
    9:30 am on September 13th, 2014

    Good morning all. What a flurry of activity on the blog this morning.

    We had a little excitement here this morning. Barb was sitting at the computer getting ready to read the blog, when suddenly she saw a little bitty dog running down the street. She ran out and tried to call it and it took off running. She caught up to it down the block but it wouldn’t come to her, so she came back in a called the police. We feel so bad for the scared little thing, but unfortunately it wouldn’t let us help.

    Thinking of all those under the Quilt this morning.

  11. Tupper's Mama
    9:40 am on September 13th, 2014

    Morning all.
    The hospital dietician called to ask about food choices. We said it MUST be low carb. The dinner tonight is pot roast. She asked if we wanted it without gravy so it would be lower carb.
    Well…..we have had hospital pot roast. It needs all the help it can get.

    And my horoscope for today says I should go off and enjoy myself.

    Riiiight.

  12. B.Stover
    9:47 am on September 13th, 2014

    Diane: W.A.S.T.E.–We Await Silent Tristero’s Empire from The Crying of Lot 49 by Thomas Pynchon.

  13. Tenzing
    11:26 am on September 13th, 2014

    I am an old dog. I don’t like the thought of leaving my Lady. I snuggled her on the bed last night. This I do like.

  14. Masquers
    11:32 am on September 13th, 2014

    Good morning everyone.
    Another warm sunny day here in the Pacific NW. Moi? I’ll be napping on the deck later in the morning.
    CHobbiti: Very sorry to hear Sadie & Quill aren’t the best of pals these days. Then again it will make it easier for the both of you when he finds his furever home.
    Enjoy your concert in Seward.
    Rose: Just saw the Seahawks gnome story yesterday, but had not read the followup…thanks for the link.
    Hi, Tenzing!

  15. BearSpiritDog
    11:57 am on September 13th, 2014

    HOunds: Still recovering from the Time Change. One Hour? You’ve got to be kidding me. Guess Someone didn’t want to leave Alaska.

    Tenz: Nana tells me a big Trip Highlight was meeting you, you, you…a special Hero Dog of her’s.

    O’Howlers: How in Dog’s name did you do that? A Double D with different content…quite Amazing…Dawson will be proud.

    Barb&Magpie: Good Job in trying to catch the little Lost Dog. Hope he/she had a collar and/or a chip.

    Tupper’s Mama: Thinking of you with paws crossed that this will be the briefest of stays at Club Med. Someone here can speak from experience about the Chow. A Dog could Starve in a place like that!

    B: You just lost me…of course my Attention may be On Food…my Breakfast, your Lunch.

    Wose: Bear Dance!

  16. Tupper's Mama
    12:08 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Tenz – you will never, ever leave your Lady. Not ever. Gentle head bumps.

  17. Riö -The Evil Pug
    12:14 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Buds!…Nana and Mr.Tenzing are best buds…snorkel!

  18. B.Stover
    12:30 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Bear: I was answering Diane’s question posted last night at 9:07.

  19. BearSpiritDog
    12:51 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Whoa…almost did a Double D…Big Time.

    Rio: A Favorite Moment. sniff.

    B: Will go back to see the Discussion of Yesterday. No guarantees we still won’t be lost though. Lol.

  20. O'Howlers
    12:55 pm on September 13th, 2014

    We love this, and think it may be especially appropriate this day.

    http://m.tickld.com/x/why-dogs-never-actually-die-this-guy-nails-it

  21. Herd of Hounds
    1:04 pm on September 13th, 2014

    OH, You and He have nailed it. They stay with us …more than 2 leggers :).

  22. Siber-H
    1:11 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Another great review. I especially like the last line.

    Nice picture of Nana and Tenzing.
    Rio, You did good taking all those pictures. Thank you.

  23. Billy's Buddy
    1:30 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Busy day on the blog.

    T&G’s Mama: Feel better.

    Wose: Hope the new meds help.

    Tenzing: We love you and your lady, too.

  24. B.Stover
    1:33 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Bear: Here’s a ink to more than you ever wanted to know about Crying of Lot 49. (It is one of the texts that I “deconstructed” in my PhD dissertation.)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Crying_of_Lot_49

  25. Diane C.
    1:36 pm on September 13th, 2014

    B. Stover–Kudos! (I should really have another look at that one–a big favorite a few decades ago…)

  26. Diane C.
    1:45 pm on September 13th, 2014

    BSD–I wasgoingto elaborate–this is a book I really enjoyed when I was young, but B. has beaten me to it.
    (B. Stover–You had more fun than I did–I only got to deconstruct financial advice, savings instruments, and bumper stickers)
    T and G’s Mum–I echo others’ sentiments when wishing you a speedy return from Club Med.
    Mr. Tenzing–You are an inspiration to all of us. It’s a pleasure to hear from you.
    Have a marvelous day, all.

  27. B.Stover
    1:50 pm on September 13th, 2014

    I suppose Gravity’s Rainbow is considered Pynchon’s “masterpiece.” I prefer his novel, “V.”

  28. Herd of Hounds
    2:13 pm on September 13th, 2014

    HRH B: “V” our mom’s favorite letter.

  29. Barb & Maggie
    2:19 pm on September 13th, 2014

    That piece on dogs made me cry.

  30. O'Howlers
    2:21 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Bear! We think it is so funny that you aren’t following Bee’s train of thought. Really? Who could not follow that? A woman was crying because her man’s testosterone went silent.
    All clear?

  31. B.Stover
    2:42 pm on September 13th, 2014

    The Howlers’ homework assignment is to read Pynchon’s Crying of Lot 49 and to write a book report on it.

  32. Herd of Hounds
    2:46 pm on September 13th, 2014

    OH, mom say we with you. Who care about the DDD?

  33. Wolfie Wogglebutt
    3:30 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Staff, mom would love the doll house books! She has a whole parcel of great nieces.

    How do you like my new name?

  34. Staff
    3:51 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Wolfie, I thought you had a finger malfunction. I do like the new name. Do you want all the doll house books or only the ones I mentioned?

    Golinka I hope Club Med is being nice to you.

    The story about why Dogs never die made me cry and laugh. Wap wap wap wap wap…

    Off to quilting. Y’all be good.

  35. Wose- the small and meek
    3:52 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Wolfie, why are you a “wogglebutt”?

    Tenzing, I remember when Grizz and I came to visit, The Giant stopped off at a store. We were all waiting for the Giant outside, and a bad lady drove up. When that bad lady got our of her car, you ran like the wind. I ran after you but my legs are too short. The Giant ran after you and in two big giant steps, caught up with you. Love you Tenz.

  36. BearSpiritDog
    3:56 pm on September 13th, 2014

    O’Howlers: Heh, heh.

    Wolfie: What’s with the (slight) Name Change?

  37. Wose- the small and meek
    3:57 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Howlers: sniff sob sniff

  38. BearSpiritDog
    4:03 pm on September 13th, 2014

    O’Howlers: Sob, sob. Great link about the Nation Within.
    BTW: How’s that Homework Assignment from Prof B coming along?

    Wose: We all know when an evil one approaches! Wonder if the lady was someone from Tenz’s past or if she just emitted Bad Vibes.

  39. Siber-H
    4:31 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Wolfie, Your new name sounds British to me. I like it.

  40. O'Howlers
    5:32 pm on September 13th, 2014

    We are busy trying to find the book about the crying lady. Ummm, are there Cliff Notes per chance?

    We like the wogglebutt name. Wiggle Woggle Wiggle Woggle. Hey! It sounds like a new dance!

    Wose and Tenz, we would like to know more about the bad lady.

  41. Wose- the small and meek
    5:49 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Bear, I think the bad lady was someone from Tenzing’s past.

  42. Masquers
    6:18 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Siber: Hmmm…a British name…quite clever thinking on your part, old chap.
    Howlers: Ah, the old Cliff Notes trick. We know it well.

  43. B.Stover
    6:30 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Cliff’s Notes may not be used. (As I recall, the “crying” refers to the calling out at an auction and “lot 49” is the item being auctioned.)

  44. Wose- the small and meek
    6:30 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Is anyone else having problems enlarging pictures? When I enlarge pictures, they are way too large, cutting out most of the picture.

  45. Masquers
    6:45 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Siber: Please check your SDD.

  46. BearSpiritDog
    6:47 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Wose: You took the words right out of my paws! Exactamundo! The Enlargements today are Way Too Large.

  47. Riö -The Evil Pug
    7:15 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Day!…Today was a very restful day for me and my friend…snuffle!…We both have been tired out this whole week. Probably because of all the non-stop fun we had last week…heh!heh!…I may or may not have drank all of CHobbit’s stash of beer whilst I was there…burp!

  48. Herd of Hounds
    7:24 pm on September 13th, 2014

    We had the foto problem bur grixed (?) to OFA. He had the IT “fix” it. It is different now but works.

  49. Herd of Hounds
    7:25 pm on September 13th, 2014

    bur? nope but,

  50. Barb & Maggie
    7:26 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Wose, we have the same problem with enlarging.

  51. Herd of Hounds
    7:29 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Oh Rio, Silly you and the Alaska Ale. If you ever get to Tennessee, the Peeps will take you to The Terminal (where the Chattanooga Choo Choo used to be) and try their ale and the food ain’t bad, either.

  52. Riö -The Evil Pug
    7:35 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Hey!…I had a photo attached to my last post….sniff!…Here it is again in case there is a Foto B-U-G…grunt!…Because I cannot see that photo right now below my post…sniff!

  53. dawson
    7:36 pm on September 13th, 2014

    No time to think today as I run around like a chicken with…never mind.

    I looked at all the links today, and laughed and cried. All except BStover’s link about the crying of Lot 49. That one seemed like a whole Lot of crying would be involved, not to mention the use of a brain, so I will save it for later.

    Leaving soon for another meeting. Y’all’ll probably be asleep by the time I get home tonight.

    Be well!

  54. Riö -The Evil Pug
    7:38 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Meetings!…What is up with Dawson lately and all these Meetings…sniff!…I hope she isn’t going to AA meetings…grunt!

  55. Masquers
    7:38 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Chet: Thank you for the enlargement fix.
    Siber: Did you ever get my SDD?

  56. Herd of Hounds
    7:39 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Dawson, we will be sleeping soon but be well and know that the DDD is dying to beat your pants off at cribbage again soon.

  57. Riö -The Evil Pug
    7:39 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Enlargements!…I have no trouble with most photos…sniff!…The ones from fones give me trouble as they stay really small…grunt!

  58. Riö -The Evil Pug
    7:42 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Uh-hem!…Now after we closed and re-opened Chet’s Blog, the first photo showed up…grunt!…Strange doin’s going on with photos lately..sniff!

  59. Masquers
    7:44 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Riö: You can’t have too much of a good thing.

  60. Riö -The Evil Pug
    7:44 pm on September 13th, 2014

    SiberH!…I am watching the game tonight mainly to see Matt Holiday hit homeruns…snorkel!…He used to be a Rockie player, but he has found a good home with the Red Birds…snuffle!…What a great player…wheeze!

  61. Riö -The Evil Pug
    7:49 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Memories!…Of Alaska and CHobbit’s excellant deck…snort!…My friend and Rebecca had a good talk out there one fine evening. All I ever wanted is that red toy sitting on the deck beyond my reach…grunt!…OUT!OUT!OUT!

  62. Riö -The Evil Pug
    7:58 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Fridge!…Some of the best memories are of CHobbit’s fridge…heh!heh!…She always had something good in there and I’m not just talking Alaskan Beer either…slobber!burp!

  63. Siber-H
    8:14 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Masquers, Got your SDD and replied.

    Rio, I am present and watching the game.

  64. Riö -The Evil Pug
    8:27 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Memories!…For more memories all of youse check your SDD…snort!…Quick! before it vaporizes…chuffle!

  65. Herd of Hounds
    8:43 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Rio, your fotoz are a hoot and our mommy dawg really appreciates them, no matter what y’all say :)

  66. Masquers
    8:46 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Riö: Our memories of Alaska with CHobbit, AJ, Rebecca, and the Snowhook team will last forever. It was truly the trip of a lifetime.

  67. Herd of Hounds
    8:46 pm on September 13th, 2014

    P.S. Loved ya looking out at the deck with the toy/”Kong” just out of reach.

  68. MTMP
    8:50 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Rio, what is that thing around your neck?

    T&G, are y’all starving whilst your mom is in hospital?

    Hope everyone had a good and/or productive day. I patrolled the yard twice as long as usual, and can report that no squirrel shenanigans we tolerated.

  69. BearSpiritDog
    9:02 pm on September 13th, 2014

    MTMP: You’re the Good Dog!
    As for the Royals, we worry more about Their Mama…food at Club Med is NOT the best.

    Strange Call from Utah on our little GoPhone! Message saying our BoA debit card had been locked and to push a button which would connect us with the bank’s Security Department. Carpola! Not falling for THAT ruse. No we are not.

  70. Herd of Hounds
    9:04 pm on September 13th, 2014

    With you on guard, Macy, what could go wrong?

  71. Barb & Maggie
    9:11 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Good night all. Glad Macy has our backs.

  72. DDD
    9:20 pm on September 13th, 2014
  73. Riö -The Evil Pug
    9:29 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Awwwww!…We are back to reading Paw and Order…snorkel!…Nothing better! Although, I am really being rubbed the wrong way by Suze in this story so far…grunt!…Why is that?

  74. Mollypop's Mom
    9:35 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Rio, I’m still reading Paw and Order too. Like you, I have feelings about Susie. Not sure about what’s going on at the moment because things may be better or whatever by the end.

  75. Masquers
    9:41 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Susie is definitely rubbing our fur the wrong way in this one.

  76. Riö -The Evil Pug
    9:58 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Chapter!…We are just about to start chapter 12…snort!…Enjoying every single word of the story so far. I love the parts where Chet is also hoping Suzie will disappear soon…heh!heh!chorkel!…Me and Chet are on the same page at all times…chuffle!

  77. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:03 pm on September 13th, 2014

    OmDawg!…New word right off the bat in chapter 12…heh!heh!…”tip-toppest”…snort!…I love that word.

  78. c.hobbit
    10:03 pm on September 13th, 2014

    BREAKING NEWS: Quill/Max found his furever home! Whew! I was sending up prayers on the 2-hour trip to Seward and the 2.5-hour trip back to Anchorage. He needed to find his human and Sadie needed to be an only dog for a while. Sadie only tolerated Quill/Max which didn’t make the situation easy for me. Plus this morning, I put Quill/Max in the car and went back inside to gather my things and say goodbye to Sadie. Quill/Max proceeded to tear up 8″ of vinyl off the driver’s side window of the car before I returned tohim so I need to find foam and some chocolate-colored duck tape.

    When I walked into the shelter at the end of the day and saw the “Adoption Bag” I had prepared in case he was adopted (food, toys, water dish), my heart sank. But it turns out he is going to be delivered to the new owners this evening. Evidently they either had a pick-up truck or a car not suitable for him to ride in. The shelter seemed shocked that he was adopted. They said that they didn’t know what drew them to Quill/Max but “it was like a bee to honey–they wanted that dog.” I was told that it was an older couple and then they corrected themselves and quickly said, “not older, an adult couple.”

    Anyway I am so happy for him.

  79. Herd of Hounds
    10:05 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Why can’t a woman be independent?

  80. c.hobbit
    10:06 pm on September 13th, 2014

    I hope all my Hobbit guests return for a visit someday and that new ones find their way to my door.

    I don’t know about future fostering. Sadie loved Ikette but then only tolerated Quill/Max. So maybe only young puppies or I need to just volunteer to help them at the shelter. We will see.

  81. Herd of Hounds
    10:09 pm on September 13th, 2014

    And good for Quill/Max.

  82. Tupper's Mama
    10:09 pm on September 13th, 2014

    So very happy for Quill/Max.

    Good night all

  83. Herd of Hounds
    10:20 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Twins… hope Tupper’s Mama feels better than the hoh mom does tonight!

  84. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:21 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Quill!…Heh!…He was a good guy. I liked him…sniff!…But he pushed Sadie around too much which I did not like, so I am very happy he has a new home with some older people who will give him tons of attention…chorkel!…CHobbit, you have a heart of gold and you took really good care of Quill. I know he adored you with all his heart and soul, just like I do…sniffle!

  85. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:23 pm on September 13th, 2014

    HoHo!…Maybe if you would go to bed at a decent hour you would feel better…snuffle!…Or is there something bigger bothering you at this time of night?..wuffle!

  86. Herd of Hounds
    10:30 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Worrit about our friend in MA.

  87. Herd of Hounds
    10:34 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Rio, would love to talk with you but don’t have your number…423 504-4142…sort kinda :)

  88. Riö -The Evil Pug
    11:06 pm on September 13th, 2014

    HoHo!…heh!…I am not a talking-dawg…grunt!…And I advise against giving out yer number on a forum such as this…sniff!

  89. BearSpiritDog
    11:11 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Excellent Advice, DDD.

    C.Hobbit: Your Pawyers were answered pronto. So very glad to hear Quill was Adopted. I’m sure he knows how lucky he was to be fostered by you.
    Now a Good Dog is going to a good home and Sadie Bear is back to receiving all the love and attention she deserves.

    If we say Nite-Nite now there may be a chance of an early morning brunch – Bear

  90. Diane C.
    11:44 pm on September 13th, 2014

    B.–I thought V had a lot of horror in it (but at least I finished it, which is more than I can say for Gravity’s Rainbow). Liked Mason and Dixon…
    At the time, the great appeal for me was that TCL49 was short and i could (mostly) understand it, plus I loved the names, Oedipa, Mucho Maas, Koteks, Yoyodyne, etc.

  91. Diane C.
    11:48 pm on September 13th, 2014

    C Hobbit–I’m glad Quill/Max found a home, but sad that we won’t hear more about him. I hope he lives happily ever after forever–
    Speaking of which, I finally got around to viewing the bear dance and reading the “Why Dogs Don’t Die” piece, which made me tear up. (Sigh). Forever in the heart is good but not the same as sitting on your feet in the shower, or snuggling in bed, or bouncing around at car-ride time, or…

  92. Diane C.
    11:53 pm on September 13th, 2014

    Thinking of ALL of you as I turn off the AC and head for bed with my three roomies/owners
    Sweet dreams, all.

  93. MTMP
    12:01 am on September 14th, 2014

    Mom had a good talk with a friend tonight who must have felt the “need a friend” vibe. Thanks Friend.

    Sqwirrels don’t even slow down in our trees when the Min-Pin Patrol is out. Deputy Annie and I see to that. Belle is too dumb lazy to keep up with us.

  94. MTMP
    12:03 am on September 14th, 2014

    Ok, maybe I’m not the brightest bulb in the package when it comes to closing strikes strikes.

  95. MTMP
    12:03 am on September 14th, 2014

    I give up

  96. Herd of Hounds
    12:34 am on September 14th, 2014

    DianeC: Please call theHOH :)

  97. Herd of Hounds
    12:35 am on September 14th, 2014

    9 your time and an sitting here.

  98. Wose- the small and meek
    1:20 am on September 14th, 2014

    Thinking of all of you as I go off to my big soft bed….

  99. reviews
    6:44 am on September 20th, 2014

    of course just like your web site however, you have to confirm the punctuation for some of your posts. Many of them are usually rife by using transliteration problems so i to find the item extremely worrisome to tell the fact however , We’ll definitely appear just as before all over again.. reviews

  100. Richardwashington.Blogspot.Com
    12:05 pm on September 21st, 2014

    It is possible to surely visit your competencies inside art you are writing. The world desires of a lot more passionate freelancers such as you who will not be reluctant to note that feel.. RichardWashington.blogspot.com Constantly chase the center.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia