Random Barnes & Noble Review We Like

A glorious piece of Chet and Bernie’s history!

Hitorah on TAIL OF VENGEANCE:

A glorious piece of Chet and Bernie’s history! The infamous Tietelbaum divorce is described in full force with a side dish of realistic convolution that makes it all the better.

(Note from Spence: To all who found a certain review unhelpful yesterday – and to whoever had the idea, Siber-H, maybe – thanks! Of course Admin now has all these ideas to use the power of the blog to post reviews here and there. That’s his tendency to GTF*.)

*go too far

Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Thursday, July 10th, 2014 at 9:11 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

95 Responses to “Random Barnes & Noble Review We Like”

  1. BearSpiritDog
    9:15 am on July 10th, 2014

    Admin “Go Too Far”? Never!
    Good Morning Chet, Spence, Admin & All.
    (we here are still in another time zone)

  2. B.Stover
    9:19 am on July 10th, 2014

    I’m wondering what “realistic convolution” means.

    Good morning all.

  3. Herd of Hounds
    9:23 am on July 10th, 2014

    Good morning, B, BSD, C&B, Admin., OFA and all. Review sounds good, HUH?
    Like to hear pawsitive things about OFD (our favorite dog) and his partner.
    We here will have a sticky, sultry Thursday with a soupçon of rain for goos measure.

  4. Herd of Hounds
    9:24 am on July 10th, 2014

    GAH! GOOD measure since “goos” measure sounds like a wild goos (e) chase.

  5. Masquers
    9:44 am on July 10th, 2014

    HOH: No worries. As you know, we here on the blog merrily skip over all errors and mentally correct as we go.
    This Kat has added his “this review is not helpful” check to the stupid Amazon rant about taxes.
    It is unforgivable that that dummkopf brought TOV’s rating down to 4 stars with his inane comment about taxes. yark, yowl, spit.

  6. Wose-the small and meek
    9:59 am on July 10th, 2014

    Greetings!

    Nice day here in Westchester.

    Wosengrizz prayers and pawsitive thoughts to Abby and Staff.

  7. Masquers
    10:01 am on July 10th, 2014

    B: Now you have peek/peak/piqued my curiosity.
    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/convolution
    something that is very complicated and difficult to understand. : a twist or curve.
    Convolution is a mathematical way of combining two signals to form a third signal (this latter definition probably not helpful in this context)
    Rose: Good morning my friend. My pawyers are your pawyers.

  8. Wose-the small and meek
    10:03 am on July 10th, 2014

    My dearest Masquers, it is comforting to know that you are surrounding me with love. I love when our avatars are together. This time we have an avatar sandwich! : )

  9. Staff
    10:07 am on July 10th, 2014

    I wrote my review this morning also. I also noted that the tax review was unhelpful.

    Feeling much better today. I think most of my pain is from parts of my body not affected by the surgery. I have black and blue spots and muscle aches in strange places. Makes me wonder what a video of the operation would look like?

    I am planning on a nap soon.

  10. T.C.
    10:11 am on July 10th, 2014

    Staff, if you need a 3rd cat pillow, I’m your girl!

    We are still reading TOV. Mommy says she is trying to take her time, but in truth, we are having too much interference from sick horses, bad dogs, and Mommy’s stressful job.

    What we have read so far is laugh-out-loud funny. We here are all laughing on every page.

  11. B.Stover
    10:20 am on July 10th, 2014

    I think that the reviewer actually meant “complication” rather than “convolution.” In other words, the “mystery” involves more than a divorce case. (I’m still reading slowly. I love it!)

  12. BearSpiritDog
    10:20 am on July 10th, 2014

    TOV: Can It Get Any Better? We Think Not.

    Staff: So good to hear from you and Keep Getting Better!

    O’Howlers: What’s this about Bad Dawgs? Now WHO could that be? Sending Healing Pawyers for Abby.

  13. Herd of Hounds
    10:27 am on July 10th, 2014

    Staff, enjoy your nap and take it easy during the healing process and DO NOT lift heavy stuff for a bit.

  14. Masquers
    10:29 am on July 10th, 2014

    HOH: How about you…how are you feeling today?
    B: That makes sense to moi.
    Rose: Avatar sandwich…I like that!

  15. Herd of Hounds
    10:41 am on July 10th, 2014

    Masquers. mom is almost her sassy self. Arm is still tender, hot and red at injection site. She has learned to go with the gut on things medical since she knows her body better that docs.

  16. T.C.
    11:02 am on July 10th, 2014

    Bear, these dogs are ALL bad. And that’s the truth!

  17. Herd of Hounds
    11:17 am on July 10th, 2014

    No bad dawgs, no wrotten kats just lousy 2 leggers.

  18. BearSpiritDog
    11:18 am on July 10th, 2014

    T.C.: Here…This will Cool them off:

  19. Basil and Sage
    11:20 am on July 10th, 2014

    T.C. – we feel your pain. Around here it’s always “Good dog”, and “”What a good puppy” and “How cute you are”.

    No one ever tells us what Great Kats we are. hisssss

    And since we are in a bad mood, we went to Amazon and reported that 1 star review as inappropriate. So there, you cranky tax-exempt people.

    Purrs and paw-paws being sent to Staff, Abbie and Wolfie’s Dad.

  20. BearSpiritDog
    11:27 am on July 10th, 2014

    Wolfie: Yes, How is Your Dad Doing? Sometimes one doesn’t feel the bruises until a couple of days after an accident.
    Paws crossed the Insurance Takes Care of Everything and All is Well.

  21. O'Howlers
    12:02 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Chet posted some P&O events in facebook. Lucky California, Arizona, and New England peeps!
    grump

  22. Siber-H
    12:09 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Thanks Herbs I am going to choke on this, but you are good kats. (today)

    I just found on Amazon where you can report that one star review as inappropriate. That review has nothing to do with the e-book and so it is unfair to the author.

  23. Riö - The Evil Pug
    12:20 pm on July 10th, 2014

    SiberH!…Bite yer tongue!…snort!

  24. Siber-H
    12:24 pm on July 10th, 2014

    I’m choking, Rio

  25. Mollypop's Mom
    1:03 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Bluegrass Usually, I hope you start feeling better soon. Resting is good.

  26. Masquers
    1:29 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Excellent review by own of our own. ^..^

  27. Masquers
    1:31 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Mom is giving me “the look”…says we have lots to do and had better get crack’n.

  28. BearSpiritDog
    1:33 pm on July 10th, 2014

    O’Howlers: NOT Washington? Sob.

  29. O'Howlers
    1:45 pm on July 10th, 2014

    We just finished reading TOV over our lunch hour. Well, technically, it is Mom’s lunch hour. We Howlers never get that much time off.

    Siber, how do you report the review as inappropriate? We will do that too.

  30. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:55 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Howlers!…I think when you hit the “NO” button for the comment, a link to where you can tell them the review is inappropriate shows up…heh!heh!….I got my two cents worth in by golly…grunt!

  31. O'Howlers
    1:55 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Ahhh never mind. We clicked “No” again on that bad review being helpful, and there it was asking if we wanted to report it as inappropriate. We did.

  32. O'Howlers
    1:55 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Rio: Great minds…

  33. BearSpiritDog
    2:04 pm on July 10th, 2014

    We Here also reported the Amazon Review as being Inappropriate.
    Thanks for the Tip, Siber-H.

  34. B.Stover
    2:44 pm on July 10th, 2014

    I also reported that review as inappropriate.

  35. Basil and Sage
    2:51 pm on July 10th, 2014

    HA! Those tax-exempt people will rue the day they messed with OFA!

    Waiting, waiting, waiting for the Fed Ex truck to show up. Mama is tapping her foot and trying to be patient as she waits for supplies that she needs to keep working.

    Well, technically, she could be working on something else. But she doesn’t wanna. As Kats, we understand that mindset.

    And Siber – thanks for the backhanded compliment. And we are choking on THAT!
    {{{{ giggle }}}}

  36. O'Howlers
    2:52 pm on July 10th, 2014

    The inappropriate review was made by a nun! {gasp}
    And what does tax-exempt have to do with being charged with postage, we ask youse.

  37. Siber-H
    2:55 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Good Dogs…All of you!
    That includes you Stover because we made you and honorary Siber.

  38. Siber-H
    3:12 pm on July 10th, 2014

    How could Amazon charge postage on an e-story?
    DUH

  39. B.Stover
    3:15 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Thank you Siber-H.

  40. Basil and Sage
    3:21 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Hey – what about us – ain’t we Honorary Sibers too? We were the first ones to post an “inappropriate” on the comment. Doesn’t that make us Sibers too, huh, huh, doesn’t it?

  41. T.C.
    3:28 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Herbs!!! Have some pride!! Why would you want to lower yourselves to being called a Siber, when you are already CATS ?

  42. Siber-H
    3:36 pm on July 10th, 2014

    I have no comment. It is time to go sunbathe.

  43. dawson
    4:22 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Finally found the Amazon page you guys are all talking about. I was on .ca rather than .com and that site has no comments yet (as of this morning). I paid $1.99 for the e-story in Canada. (Tell that to the tax evader!) I remember now that I had a credit on iTunes so the price of the book was taken off the credit.

    Distractions have gottn in the way of my finishing TOV. Maybe later.

  44. Masquers
    4:27 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Dawson! Sounds like you have your paws full.

  45. Tupper and Gilly
    4:37 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Uhhhh…. sorry T.C. You’re right. We kind of got caught up in the moment.

    KATS RULE!

  46. Basil and Sage
    4:39 pm on July 10th, 2014

    EEEEKKKK! The dam Corgis stole our avatar!

  47. Tupper and Gilly
    4:41 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Those stoopid Kats. We would NEVER have said that.

  48. BearSpiritDog
    5:37 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Hawaiian Shirts! Of course. Who else besides Bernie always wears Hawaiian Shirts? Tom Selleck in Magnum, P.I. that’s who. He would make a Perfect Bernie…if only he hadn’t gotten so old…not that he doesn’t still look good. He Looks Great! But still…too old to play the part of Chet’s partner in the Little Detective Agency.

  49. BearSpiritDog
    5:38 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Tupper&Gilly: Little Identity Crisis there? Heh, heh.

  50. Herd of Hounds
    5:52 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Basil & Sage, we think you have watched “Young Frankenstein (fornk n stine)” too many times…”rue the day”, heh. heh. heh.

  51. Herd of Hounds
    5:55 pm on July 10th, 2014

    DDD and S son live in Hawaiian shirts, too…BOTH also too old to play Bernie or Magnum Pie. :)

  52. Herd of Hounds
    5:58 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Although Sellick WAS a handsome devil. His folks lived in the town mom taught in for 23 years. Also the lady who played Mrs. Olson on the “Little House” series…talk about type cast :(

  53. BearSpiritDog
    6:06 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Hounds: Was? WAS? Tom Selleck Is and Always Will Be a Handsome Devil. Or So says Nana.
    Have you seen Blue Bloods lately?

  54. BearSpiritDog
    6:09 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Okay. We are off to the Little Store. No Creamer for the Morning Cawfee.
    A Katastrophe in the making to be sure.
    BBL

  55. Masquers
    6:12 pm on July 10th, 2014

    pssst, HOH. I believe BSD misread your meaning. Pay him no mind.

  56. Herd of Hounds
    6:21 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Correction taken…Selleck is,Was, and always will be one good looking hunk of manly man. Paying BSD very little mind since that is all we have! Very little.
    Abbie the Kitty, we love your quilt foto up top right now :)

  57. Tupper and Gilly
    7:15 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Sean Connery, Tom Selleck.
    Sometimes handsome just lasts forever.

  58. Barb & Maggie
    7:20 pm on July 10th, 2014

    BSD, Your Nana and Barb think alike on so many subjects. I think they would be BFFs if they lived close together. Barb thinks Tom Selleck has aged well and loves him on BBs. And agreed a younger Tom would be a perfect Bernie.

  59. Mollypop's Mom
    7:45 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Sam’s girl took her to the vet yesterday. She hadn’t been there for a whole year. Her weight was up big time which we already knew and now she has a heart murmur. We have tried unsuccessfully to have Sam’s daddy and boy stop feeding her constantly. This time Sam’s girl put up big signs on the refrigerator – #SaveSam. This had better work.

  60. Masquers
    7:52 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Oh, no! Sammy! Do we need a foody intervention? Not for the Princess herself, but for the culprits feeding her.

  61. BearSpiritDog
    7:55 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Princess Sammmy: Remember to just say NO. You Must watch your figure for those upcoming Movie Roles.

  62. Herd of Hounds
    8:00 pm on July 10th, 2014

    T&G , YES, Connery and Selleck…drop dead gawgeous!
    Princess, all we ladies need to watch ourselves :( We need to care.

  63. Mollypop's Mom
    8:04 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Sammy has never said no to food. Along with that, she has learned to beg from her dad and her boy. They can’t resist her pleading eyes.

  64. BearSpiritDog
    8:06 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Royals: A Big YES to Sean Connery too! All I can say is…we here on the Blog have Excellent Taste in most everything.

    Magpie: You are so right. Nana and Barb have lots in common. Books and Movies and Good Cuisine. I also happen to know Nana enjoys an evening Glass of Wine now and then the same as Barb.

  65. Thieves!
    8:30 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Ever since Hobbit mentioned she likes rabbits, we have been on a mission of the procurement variety. We have been looking for ears and cotton tails for our next disguise. We were successful in, er, obtaining said items. The ears are no problem, but the little, fuzzy tails are givin us fits. How are we supposed to scrunch our long tails in the little poof of cotton? In the end we gave up and secured the fluffy bits to the end of our tails. Now, our tails look more like q-tips.

    It seems the Giant also went looking for a rabbit. Yesterday, he brought home a bunny by the name of Wilson. Clyde, our rookie of the year, called him brother. We are told he is a lead bunny. He looks an awful lot like a member of the nation within if youse ask us.

  66. Herd of Hounds
    8:38 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Thieves, our predecessor, Ms. Sonja, the wolf dog, loved bunnies…to run with, not to do bite or awful stuff to so we can enjoy all y’all ide’s about costumes as buns. In fact, mom once had a rabbit named Bun-Runner who walked on a leash!

  67. Wose-the small and meek
    8:45 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Sammie: You must keep your girlish figure, not just for Hollywood, but for yourself.

    Thieves: Awww, the Giant came home with a bunny? I love bunnies.

    Er, maybe the Giant should play Bernie. Talk about handsome. sigh

    Over, and out.

    Special tummies to my VBFF, Belle Starr.

  68. BearSpiritDog
    8:52 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Hounds! Now That would be Something to See…a Bunny Wabbit Walking on a Leash!
    Years ago we saw a Kat that was trained to do this. Then we went home and tried it with C.C.Cat. But maybe that’s a Story for Another Day.

  69. Masquers
    8:55 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Thieves! Fotoz…do youse have fotoz of this bunny named Wilson who looks like a member of the nation within>

  70. Herd of Hounds
    8:56 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Bun-runner came years before the Herd of Hounds and probably would have given them a run for their $$$$$.

  71. Barb & Maggie
    9:02 pm on July 10th, 2014

    BSD and T & G, You are both right, Sean Connery is also very handsome and has aged well. Both of those gentlemen look like they are natural as opposed to some of the stars who keep having “work done”. Somehow men seem to age better but look worse when they start with the face lifts and botox.

    BSD, tell Nana that Barb is currently living a wine free life. Her self control is soooo much better when she doesn’t have her evening cocktails. When the 9:00 munchies hit she says no. When she partakes in the vino (or her personal favorite, a cocktail with bourbon) she heads for the kitchen at 9:00. Not the best idea.

  72. Barb & Maggie
    9:07 pm on July 10th, 2014

    We were talking about Belgian Malinois on the blog yesterday. Funny, that is more the way we picture Chet. Definitely not as a BC.

  73. BearSpiritDog
    9:17 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Magpie: I Know Well of that of which you speak. Nana’s vacay was wine free…except on the flight home…the glass of Merlot was a nice accompaniment to a very good meal.

  74. BearSpiritDog
    9:31 pm on July 10th, 2014

    We definitely Do Not picture our Canine Hero as a Border Collie. According to OFA descriptions of Chet in the books we know he is a 100+ Pounder and has One White Ear.
    Didn’t B go back to her Kindle one time and pick up additional information?

  75. Masquers
    9:33 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Wine free vacation, yes. Heh, heh. But no one said anything about beer.

  76. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:37 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Line!…We just read the line, “There’ no one more entertaining than Bernie.”…or sumthing like that…heh!heh!heh!cough!..So true, and so funny!…chorkel!…Okay, we have to stop. Too many Kindle pages in one evening. This will never last a whole month…gah!

  77. Barb & Maggie
    9:37 pm on July 10th, 2014

    BSD, Barb’s annual family reunion is Aug. 7th-10th. Brother Dave loves good wine and always buys a case, at least, to take to the lake house. There is no way Barb is going to miss out on that!
    So for the next 4 weeks she is hitting the diet hard, then she will be a glutton for 4 days.

  78. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:39 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Vaca!….Liquor free vacation?…grunt!…Sounds like a bad vacation to me…sniff!…If my friend ever gets a real vacation there better be plenty of everything on hand or she will be in a very bad mood…snort!

  79. Barb & Maggie
    9:41 pm on July 10th, 2014

    MPM, We remember you talking about Sammy being “over served” by the boys when Barb was there last spring. Maybe now that she is having heart problems they well take the situation more seriously. Does she get to go on daily walks?

  80. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:49 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Feedings!…My friend accuses her Mother of the same over-feeding and too many treats, plus the ice-cream at night to be too much…sniff!…Beau and I disagree completely…burp!

  81. dawson
    9:50 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Livia checked her watch, “He won’t be long.” Heh, heh, heh!

  82. Barb & Maggie
    10:07 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Wishing all those under the Quilt a good night.

    Sending positive energy out to all those in need. Nighty night.

  83. BearSpiritDog
    10:19 pm on July 10th, 2014

    The Day is Long and the Temperature is Climbing. I’m headed for a Snack and a Big Bowl of Cool, Cool Water.
    Then it’s Beddy-Bye Time. Caviar Dreams Everyone – Bear

  84. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:24 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Dawson!…snort!…Haven’t got to that line yet, but I’m still chorkeling….chorkel!

  85. Thieves!
    10:35 pm on July 10th, 2014

    We have so very many favorite lines. We do hope that if Chet ever meets that Geronimo fellow, there will be an estory about it.

    Rio: You are correct. SQPA managed to get all the words in the right places again! How does he do that? We have no idea. It is a gift.

  86. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:49 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Gift!…Definitely the most gifted writer I have ever had the privilege to read….snort!…Is that a real sentence?…heh!heh!…His humor is the best. I could really learn from this guy…snorkel!

  87. Thieves!
    10:56 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Rio: So could our lady. Have we mentioned before that she’s not funny? Spence—now there’s a guy who is funny.

  88. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:13 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Funny!…He doesn’t look funny – I wonder where he gets all his funny stuff…heh!heh!…If I ever met him him in person this is a question I would have to ask him…snort!…Where does all the funny come from?..chuffle!

  89. Thieves!
    11:21 pm on July 10th, 2014

    If it is not a gift—which we think it is—he must buy it in bulk.

  90. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:43 pm on July 10th, 2014

    Goodnight!…All youse funny guys!…snort!…Staffie, I hope you are taking it easy and not laughing too hard as you read TOV…heheh!….Don’t want to pull any stitches out now do ya?…grunt!

  91. Staff
    11:56 pm on July 10th, 2014

    I laughed a little. I didn’t cough though. Coughing is agonizing. Laughing is fine.

    And I don’t have stitches. I have many many metal staples. I look like someone went crazy with the staple gun. Yikes allmighty!

  92. Aj
    1:32 am on July 11th, 2014

    Good night and good morning… That is if someone will be good enough to repost this tomorrow which will make this more of a happy yesterday to everyone.

    Anyway, I feel I’ve been sorely remiss at expressing my thanks to everyone for your support and friendship. Working through the summer on the peninsula I’ve been away more than I’m home and after everything that hit us after iditarod time is always in short supply. None the less, thank you and know that you’re in our thoughts and prayers.

    Which brings me to a thought that has been running through my mind lately. It’s awkward in its concept but it seems appropriate to share…

    As I speak with Rebecca when I’m away she tells me of the successes and struggles you all are experiencing. Naturally this leads me to think of life on the trail where all dog drivers are facing the ups and downs of the trail. This thread of the trail connects us all though and lends support through the struggle and successes. The same is easily applied to the plunderers in that all of you are on the same trail as a team through good and bad. And right now it seems that there is more heartache, stress and challenges on this trail then a clear site to finish line.

    On iditarod it’s easy to start feeling alone and forgotten. You climb one mountain and instead of success at the summit more mountains to climb stretch into the distance. Steps though resolute falter with exhaustion and the nemisis thought to pack it in and give up swims into your head. Indeed it’s easy to feel alone.

    And yet from the very beginning you’re not alone nor forgotten. You look around and your faithful friends are there for you and carry you over peak after peak. Their only thought expressed by a deep look in their eyes and a wag of their tail is that it will be ok. That all of us will overcome these challenges by leaning on each other and by continuing to take the next step.

    Plunder on and thank you again.

    And so as one of my literary heroes Edward Abbey says, “may your paths be twisted and dangerous and lead to the most spectacular views.”

  93. c.hobbit
    2:25 am on July 11th, 2014

    Thank you AJ. I like Edward Abbey too.

  94. O'Howlers
    7:28 am on July 11th, 2014

    I love AJ’s idea that we are all on this trail together. We stick together thru all of the peaks and valleys, and we help each other to the summit.

    Our trail has hit another hurdle. We lost our dear sweet Abby overnight. Now we must deal with the realities of the logistics, never easy when a 900 pound horse dies, while we struggle with the emotions of losing a loving member of our little herd.

  95. Barb & Maggie
    7:37 am on July 11th, 2014

    Howlers, So sorry to hear about your loss. I know you said Abby was a rescue mare. How long did she live with you? I am sure her last years were made better by your kindness.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia