Random (And Succinct) Amazon Review We Like

I’ve read every Chet & Bernie book and enjoyed them all. They are a great pair. Awaiting the next book. Highly recommended.

– RemyNYC on A Fistful of Collars.

Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, March 20th, 2013 at 8:36 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

104 Responses to “Random (And Succinct) Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:42 am on March 20th, 2013

    First!…Am I?…snort!

  2. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:43 am on March 20th, 2013

    Yes!…The Giants are home and settling into their Ice-House…grunt!…I wonder if AJ ever got that big piece off the roof. The whole thing could cave in!…wheeze!

  3. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    8:45 am on March 20th, 2013

    I love the review. And I agree!

  4. B. Stover
    8:49 am on March 20th, 2013

    I like “succinct” and I agree with the review.

    Good morning all.

  5. B. Stover
    9:05 am on March 20th, 2013

    I looked at Staff’s apostrophe link. People always misuse them usually by not using them, as for example, on this blog. I really don’t understand why.

  6. Melanie
    9:08 am on March 20th, 2013

    B.Stover approves! That must mean the grammar and word usage must be A-OKAY! snicker

    I agree with the sentiment of the reviewer.

    Morning from the Hills of Western MA where we ended up with beautiful snow. It is driving us crazy. Another storm might be hitting us next week.

    Sigh.

  7. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:11 am on March 20th, 2013

    SPRING!…Baseball!…Yippeeeee!

  8. Barb & Maggie
    9:13 am on March 20th, 2013

    Good morning all. Happy First Day of Spring!

    Melanie, the snow will stop eventually. Promise!

    Barb is leaving for p.t., then grocery store, library, and then to get a hair cut. BBML.

  9. Rose
    9:31 am on March 20th, 2013

    RIO! This means B must make you a pie!

  10. Herd of Hounds
    9:34 am on March 20th, 2013

    Hoppy Spring! A newf season :) :) Great review, what more can one say? We’ll ponder that. Rio first? Is he ill?
    When it comes to the apostrophe, mom loves to watch people angst over: its, it’s. Here possession and contraction will out!
    Sharon is off to do p. patrol with the grandcats. BBL.

  11. Mollypop's Mom
    9:51 am on March 20th, 2013

    We passed the snow on to Melanie, but we’re now having a lake-effect snow storm. We have had two and a half feet of snow in the last 8 days. This would have been better if it came at the end of November last year. Our ski season didn’t get started until the end of December.

  12. Tupper and Gilly
    10:06 am on March 20th, 2013

    Morning All –
    Bee, we admit to being some of the worst offenders with regard to apostrophes. No matter what we type when we say “I T S”, the autocorrect ALWAYS takes out the apostrophe. If we are trying to say that something belongs to IT – or if we are trying to contract IT IS – the autocorrect simply will not accept an apostrophe unless we go back and put it in again.
    If we all sit quietly at our desks with our hands folded, would you be good enough to explain it once again? In simple English.

  13. Rose
    10:09 am on March 20th, 2013

    RIO! Please check your SDD when able.

  14. B. Stover
    10:28 am on March 20th, 2013

    T&G: Turn off autocorrect. (Is that one word or two?)

    “Its” is a possessive pronoun just like “his.” They do not need apostrophes. “It’s” means it is; the apostrophe replaces missing letter(s). It is; don’t…do not; can’t…cannot.

    The problem is that writers often don’t use the possessive apostrophe when needed: “Those are Pats books.” (Is this indicating more than one “Pat”?) It should be, “Those are Pat’s books.” (When you put an “s” on the end of a noun, just ask yourself if you want to indicate plural or possession. If possession then you need an apostrophe.)

  15. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:33 am on March 20th, 2013

    ROSE!…Checked and re-checked…snort!

  16. Melanie
    10:45 am on March 20th, 2013

    Going to try to upload three short videos.

    The three are in a group called the first day of Spring, 2013.

    First up, The Orchard

    http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/theorchard.MOV

  17. Melanie
    10:46 am on March 20th, 2013

    The East Branch of the Westfield River that runs right behind the house.

    http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/theriver.MOV

  18. B. Stover
    10:48 am on March 20th, 2013

    I just went outside and scared off a sparrow hawk. Blasted thing.

  19. Melanie
    10:49 am on March 20th, 2013

    The Dog Stockade, featuring Grace and Mattie!

    http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/thestockade.MOV

  20. BearSpiritDog
    10:50 am on March 20th, 2013

    My Favorite kind of Review.
    Short and Sweet.

    Happy Spring Equinox Everyone!

  21. Siber-H
    10:54 am on March 20th, 2013

    Good Morning All!

    Great review from Amazon! The Chet and Bernie series is highly recommended by all of us as well.

    Bear, Pretty, pretty

  22. Sparrow Hawks United
    10:55 am on March 20th, 2013

    BStover
    tut tut tut

  23. B. Stover
    10:56 am on March 20th, 2013

    Sparrow Hawks: Stay out of my garden.

  24. BearSpiritDog
    10:57 am on March 20th, 2013

    B: Apostrophes…its, its…Wooo! I Knew This one.

    Going to look at Melanie’s Videos now.

  25. B. Stover
    10:57 am on March 20th, 2013

    I like the videos Melanie. It looks pretty. (And sorry that I posted in the middle of them.)

  26. BearSpiritDog
    10:58 am on March 20th, 2013

    Oh No! I FORGOT the apostrophe!

  27. Melanie
    10:59 am on March 20th, 2013

    Don’t worry B.Stover. I had a call from YSAS about Momager work.

    I need to be doing something. Wish I remembered what it was.

    More coco!

  28. Masquers
    10:59 am on March 20th, 2013

    First day of spring you say?

  29. Masquers
    11:01 am on March 20th, 2013

    Of course, that is in the mountains, but still.

    (btw B, could you discuss the use of commas next?)

  30. Rose
    11:01 am on March 20th, 2013

    Bear, thanks for the pretty spring!

    Masquers, New York may not be done with snow yet……

  31. B. Stover
    11:03 am on March 20th, 2013

    By the way, one way to avoid misused apostrophes with contractions (it’s, that’s, haven’t, can’t, etc.) is not to use contractions. I’ll stop now.

  32. B. Stover
    11:05 am on March 20th, 2013

    I’m laughing about Bear forgetting the apostrophe. You’ll have to ask me specific questions about commas.

  33. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:25 am on March 20th, 2013

    Movies!….grump!…I can’t get Melanies videos to run…sniff!…I will have to wait for my friend to come home from the damned-busy-place-from-hell…grunt!

  34. Rose
    11:29 am on March 20th, 2013

    RIO! Check your SDD one more time, por favor.

  35. Rose
    11:30 am on March 20th, 2013

    Rebecca: Please check your SDD when able.

  36. dawson
    11:32 am on March 20th, 2013

    I like that succinct review.

    Staff: I got a chuckle out of the apostrophe protection org. link. I may’ve even learned something.

    Happy Spring (although you can’t tell by looking out my window).

    Rio, Junior has officially received the Rookie of the Year award on the Snowhook blog. Congratulations Junior!

  37. OleyHowlers
    11:41 am on March 20th, 2013

    Howdy, All! We here also likethe succinctness of that review, and we echo the writer’s opinion that Chet and Bernie are a great pair, and we wait (anxiously) for the next book.
    Happy Spring. We have a very pretty day here, although Mom says it’s too cold.
    Mom heard the BBC segment on the apostrophe’s detractors and defenders.
    Thanks for the videos, Melanie, and thanksfor the pretty Spring flowers, Masquers.
    Staff, are you really thinking of traveling to Alaska for Iditarod 2014? Cool! Now we really really want to go. But we can’t fly. :(

  38. dawson
    11:42 am on March 20th, 2013

    Melanie: It’s very pretty in the orchard and by the river but the thing I like best about your videos is the close ups of Mattie and Gracie. Lovely ladies.

  39. Riö – The Evil Pug
    12:00 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Junior!…Twirling!…snort!…I’m twirling and spinning and leaping and …cough!sneeze!…I’m so proud of my boy…wheeze!

  40. Siber-H
    12:21 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Congratulations to Junior and Twig, and big thank you to both of you! We are very proud of you and all the Snowhook dogs.

  41. Masquers
    12:32 pm on March 20th, 2013

    We all knew Junior could do it and as for Twig she’s the dog!

  42. Rose
    12:37 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Siber-H and Rio: You should be very proud of Junior. He’s a very good boy.

    Twig, you go girl!!!

  43. dawson
    12:39 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Twig…you are my hero.

  44. BearSpiritDog
    12:42 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Just seen on facebookie:

    IT’S SPRING
    WE ARE SO EXCITED
    WE WET OUR PLANTS

    Written with tongue in cheek. Heh. heh.

  45. Princess Sam
    12:54 pm on March 20th, 2013

    On Sunday Molly’s Mom is picking me up to bring me to ski country. It was supposed to be that snow was melting and we would be able to take nice long walks. Now I hope the ski shop has snowshoes that come in my size.

  46. Princess Sam
    12:54 pm on March 20th, 2013

    On Sunday Molly’s Mom is picking me up to bring me to ski country. It was supposed to be that snow was melting and we would be able to take nice long walks. Now I hope the ski shop has snowshowes that come in my size.

  47. OleyHowlers
    1:14 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Sammy, This will be an encore performance of your famous role in the skislope Sibaroo commercial! Just don’t let Sunt MPM drive away when you’re at the top again!

  48. Melanie
    1:15 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Sam, I can see you wearing those snowshoes, and charging up and down the ski mountains!

  49. OleyHowlers
    1:15 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Um, that would be AUNT MPM.

  50. Tupper and Gilly
    1:26 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Bee – thank you for clearing up that “it’s” and “its”. Now that we know the possessive “its” is a word just like “his”, we will remember it forever.

  51. Masquers
    1:41 pm on March 20th, 2013
  52. BearSpiritDog
    1:49 pm on March 20th, 2013

    As Pooh would say, It’s a Blustery Day.
    (watching for power outages)

  53. Riö – The Evil Pug
    2:05 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Quote!…“No question this dog race is a lot harder than climbing Everest, which might be why it is such a select group of people who start it and an even more select group who finish the Iditarod.”…chuffle!

  54. Barb & Maggie
    2:21 pm on March 20th, 2013

    We tried and couldn’t watch Melanies videos either.

    Bee, for 6 years when Barb worked part time for the crazy lady, she had to email pictures of their listings to the newspapers. Every week Pat would give Barb a note that said “Please mail these Photo’s to the papers”. Every week Barb would give her the note back with “Done” on it and a big X thru the apostrophe. She never, ever noticed it!

  55. Rose
    2:26 pm on March 20th, 2013

    RIO! I love that quote! Would your friend consider that as a quilling project to give the Giant and Rebecca as a gift?

  56. Riö – The Evil Pug
    2:32 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Rose!…It is the last line of the excellant article Maskers posted…snort!

  57. Tupper and Gilly
    2:40 pm on March 20th, 2013

    This is what it is like trying to make a simple pot of stew around here. Corgis LOVE raw carrots.

    http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/trim.5XU63t.MOV

  58. Beau - The Black Pug
    2:47 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Sneeze!…I love carrots too…sneeze!…I would not mind having me some of those carrots… wiffle!

  59. Masquers
    2:58 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Rose! Your suggestion to Riö that his friend could use that
    quote from the article and incorporate it into a quilling gift for our favorite musher & BDHW is an excellent idea.

  60. dawson
    3:46 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Happy Birthday Bobby Orr.

    T&G: You chew your carrots very well. The crunch-crunch-crunch makes me want some.

    Masquers: Cindy Abbott has amazing determination. That seems a valuable asset when running the Iditarod.
    It’s a difficult challenge just making it to the starting line and I consider everyone who does, a winner whether they scratch or are withdrawn from the race or finish in 1st, middle of the pack or last.

  61. B. Stover
    3:58 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Barb: Aren’t you glad that you don’t work there anymore.

  62. Beau - The Black Pug
    4:01 pm on March 20th, 2013

    MONEY!…Did you read where Cindy Abbott spent 200,000.00 on getting to the race?…snort!…I bet she has a bunch of people who make quilts and other crafty things to sell for her…heh!heh!

  63. Riö – The Evil Pug
    4:05 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Beau!…That was me questioning the expense of the race for Cindy – not ole Beau…sniff!…He does not understand complicated things like money…heh!

  64. Siber-H
    4:06 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Beau, Cindy Abbott must have people who mine diamonds for her. Do you suppose there are any diamonds in NM or CO?

  65. Barb & Maggie
    4:08 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Bee, Yes, life is so much more stress free now! Funny small world story: the director of the physical therapy place where Barb goes grew up in the same small town where Barb lived for 6 years. When Barb told her she had moved back from there and had worked for that real estate office, she said Oh My Gosh, that P** ***** is CRAZY!

  66. Riö – The Evil Pug
    4:11 pm on March 20th, 2013

    SiberH!…I’m a Diamond in the Ruff…snort!

  67. Mollypop's Mom
    4:22 pm on March 20th, 2013

    The weather report says this lake effect storm will bring us another 20″ of snow. I don’t want to disappoint little Sammie about coming here this Sunday but the snow will be over her head.

  68. Riö – The Evil Pug
    4:31 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Sammie!…Lil’ Sammie will have to ride around on a Snow-Kat. Any volunteers?…snort!

  69. Whitey-Lance
    4:32 pm on March 20th, 2013

    MPM: I would be happy to carry Princess Sam around on my back so she can stay above the snow. Me? I will bring a snorkel just in case we cross into the deep end.

  70. Whitey-Lance
    4:34 pm on March 20th, 2013

    You say, ” SnowKat.” I say, “Meow.”

  71. Tupper and Gilly
    4:42 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Dawson – we would share our carrots with you – really we would. The only thing Tupper likes better than carrots is apples. Oh, and pears. And sweet potato skins.

    Whitey-Lance – is your Lady feeling a little more rested up? It will probably take her a few weeks to really feel like herself again.

    Barb – speaking of your Crazy Lady, guess what. Our Crazy Lady sold her business to a young couple. They are going to be looking for people to work for them. hmmmmmm

  72. Melanie
    4:48 pm on March 20th, 2013

    What? Callie doesn’t like carrots? Those are some cute carrot munchers.

    I am now turning on my selective hearing. I will NOT be hearing anything more about snow.

    Coach W-L, you are a knight in shining fur. (Snorkle and all)

    YSAS asked me to do something on the big computer. I told him the heating pad was holding me hostage. snicker

    He said it could have me.

  73. Riö – The Evil Pug
    4:51 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Clarkson!…Has he been on any shows lately that we should know about??…snort!

  74. Wose
    5:13 pm on March 20th, 2013

    T&G , I LOVE raw, crunchy carrots? When is dinner being served?

  75. Masquers
    5:14 pm on March 20th, 2013

    We here loved the videos from the Royals and River Bears.

    B: About the comma dilemma…e.g.this sentence:
    “It’s time to eat Mom.”
    vs this one:
    “It’s time to eat, Mom.”
    Of course, we could simply say “Mom, It’s time to eat” instead.

    SnowKat! Sammie and I would be buried in the white stuff.
    This is a job for Whitey-Lance!

  76. Melanie
    5:15 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Hmm . . He’s been on The Americans and Smash, but way in the background. A KBG agent in the former and a waiter in the latter. The last two months he has been doing a course to get certified in Sword and Shield. That takes up two to three days a week. He has also been rehearsing for a reading of a new play. That happens tomorrow. He is two people in it, but they are the same person. ?

    He’s also working with a director on two new monologues.

    He is keeping very busy.

    His SO has a window in her office! He is very proud of her. He is making sure she is eating correctly. So he is eating correctly. A good thing.

  77. Princess Sam
    5:28 pm on March 20th, 2013

    W-L, Thank you for offering to come to my rescue. I don’t think I’ll need to be rescued. I am a much bigger dog then you might think I am. And besides, Molly’s Mom promised me that I could come on Sunday and I am no matter what.

  78. Whitey-Lance
    5:28 pm on March 20th, 2013

    T&G: My lady is still exhausted and busy catching up with work. She may or may not have hurt her back in Nome. All I know is she winces a lot and got dizzy putting on her socks this morning. Until she is rested and feeling tip top, she says you get more of me than her. It is easy being me.

  79. Tupper and Gilly
    5:31 pm on March 20th, 2013

    We hope the success of YSAS SO will be a precursor of all the good things that are going to happen in Plunderland this year.

    And we need to find a specific set of letter for the above mentioned newly minted lawyer.

    How about LLL – Leading Lady Lawyer
    or YAL – Young Associate Laywer

    But we can’t call her Significant Other Lawyer…..
    give it a minute…..
    tee hee

  80. Siber-H
    5:42 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Sam, I have one word for you…snowshoes.
    You would look really cute with four snowshoes on your little feet.

  81. B. Stover
    5:45 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Masquers: Of course, in the first sentence you are suggesting that “mom” is going to be eaten.

  82. BearSpiritDog
    5:51 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Tupper&Gilly: Plunderland! It fits.

    Melanie: We all Know YSAS’ Big Break will come very soon.
    We can’t wait for the day when we can all say:
    McKey Carpenter? Why yes, I Knew Him When.

  83. Masquers
    5:53 pm on March 20th, 2013

    B: Yes, the comma does come in handy, doesn’t it? snicker.

  84. Wose
    6:24 pm on March 20th, 2013

    W-L, I hope good care is being taken of your Lady.

  85. Melanie
    6:35 pm on March 20th, 2013

    I just remembered I have to get up and leave the house by 7:50 am to have my blood taken. Oh, Joy! Oh, Rapture!

    To the kitchen to do pills! Up the stairs to get ready!

    Hmm . .Patsy is not ready to go up yet. This could be a problem.

  86. OleyHowlers
    7:09 pm on March 20th, 2013

    We just got back from a great walk. The rents are finally feeling tip-top, and everyone enjoyed being outdoors walking.
    W-L, Is your mom going to a doctor, or a chiropracter?
    T&G, carrots? Really?
    Cindy Abbott is an amazingly tough woman. Wow.
    ITC posted a news release on their investigation and conclusions on the death of Dorado.

  87. Riö - The Evil Pug...
    7:43 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Americans!….We here LOVE that show “The Americans”…snort!snort!…If Clarkson is ever on there again please let me know…chuffle!

  88. Barb & Maggie
    7:53 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Night all. Barb is calling it a night too. Off to bed to read for a bit.

  89. Riö - The Evil Pug...
    7:54 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Spring!…Because it is finally Spring my friend said I can post a few spring-like things she’s been working on…snort!

  90. Riö - The Evil Pug...
    7:55 pm on March 20th, 2013
  91. Masquers
    8:00 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Riö: Your friend’s work is simply amazing!!!

  92. Riö - The Evil Pug...
    8:14 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Maskers!…It is just paper….snort!

  93. Masquers
    8:29 pm on March 20th, 2013

    It is more…so much more…created with love by an artist.

  94. Masquers
    8:31 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Awwwk! I’m being shut down. See youse in the morning. gah.

  95. Riö - The Evil Pug...
    8:38 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Maskers!…What happened to Maskers?…sniff!…Has he been neglecting his techie responsibilities and now his computer is rebelling?…snort!

  96. Siber-H
    8:47 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Rio, That quilling is pretty. I love the one on top. That is a beautiful shade of blue with the blue background.

  97. Riö - The Evil Pug...
    9:15 pm on March 20th, 2013

    SiberH!…You can have the Blue One…snort!…It will only cost you 1 million slim-jims which you can send directly to me!…chuffle!

  98. Siber-H
    9:38 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Well, Rio, Wait till I get my mom’s credit card and she is out of the room. Then when she gets the bill, I will tell her I bought that lovely quilling for her for Mother’s Day.

  99. Riö - The Evil Pug...
    9:39 pm on March 20th, 2013

    SiberH!….Deal!…snort!

  100. Siber-H
    9:54 pm on March 20th, 2013

    ok. Rio, but if I get in trouble with mom I am going to tell her who the one million slim jims were mailed to.

    Mom is dragging me off the computer to go outside now.
    Night All

  101. Riö - The Evil Pug...
    9:56 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Hmmmm!…Me thinks SiberH is fibbing and he will not be sending me 1 million slim-jimmies…grump!

  102. Tupper and Gilly
    10:09 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Howlers – YES! Raw carrots. Don’t you ever snitch any from the horses?

    Rio – if you were to eat all those slim jims, you won’t be able to fit in your nice warm bed with all your baseball toys. Never mind your harness for your brutal walks.

    We gotta go to bed too. See youse guys tomorrow.

  103. Riö - The Evil Pug...
    10:12 pm on March 20th, 2013

    Tupper!…That is beside the point…grunt!

  104. home interior
    3:41 pm on June 20th, 2013

    I’ll immediately snatch your rss as I can’t in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me understand so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia