Random Amazon Review We Like

Five Stars – Awesome Book! – September 28, 2015.
Phyllis Macy on PRESSURE DROP by Peter Abrahams:

Loved this book! Kept me on the edge with the suspense. Couldn’t put it down. Highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good mystery with plenty of exciting twists and turns.

Abrahams_2

(And thanks to Open Road for bringing back 4 early Peter Abrahams novels. This is the most Bahamian of all his stories, next in line probably being LIGHTS OUT and then DELUSION.)

Share

Tags: , , ,

This entry was posted on Monday, October 5th, 2015 at 9:11 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

47 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. B.Stover
    9:23 am on October 5th, 2015

    I think I’ve read all of them. I’ll have to check.

    Barb: I watched Home Fires last night and really enjoyed it. There are six episodes, the final airing on Nov. 8.

    Good morning all.

  2. Wose-the small and meek
    9:32 am on October 5th, 2015

    Greetings!

    Good morning, HRH,B!

    The sun has returned for a second day here in New York. A perfect fall day!

    *** To all of youse on this here blog, please check your SDDs when able.

    Create a good day!

  3. Macy the Min pin
    9:38 am on October 5th, 2015

    Good morning all! We are working on creating a good day.

  4. Herd of Hounds
    9:49 am on October 5th, 2015

    Good morning, everyone! Wowser,a review without “read” as a noun 🙂 An autumnal nip to the air this morning but sunny.
    Let’s all make this a marvelous Monday, Monday!

  5. Tupper's Mama
    10:06 am on October 5th, 2015

    Good morning all.
    We have been to the lab for blood work, and now are taking Callie to the V E T. She had some more suspicious lumps, but they were removed and found to be benign. Today is “stitches out” day.
    Our friend Bill The Drummer is coming for dinner. So there will be lots of laughter in the house tonight!

  6. B.Stover
    10:22 am on October 5th, 2015

    Happy Birthday Zoe.

  7. BooBear
    10:27 am on October 5th, 2015

    Wose, this is in response to your picture of the Paul Newman stamp a couple of days ago.
    Mom’s OB/GYN doctor is a very good looking man who resembles Paul Newman a lot. In fact, in his office is autographed picture of Paul Newman that says “Everywhere I go, people are always telling me I look just like Dr. Mike!”
    Mom thinks it is funny that 2 great looking men in her life see her in the most awkward positions…Dr Mike and her dentist! She actually went to high school with Dr.Mike, but he was 3 classes ahead of her so they didn’t really know each other.

  8. BooBear
    10:28 am on October 5th, 2015

    AND……….HAPPY BIRTHDAY, ZOE!!!

  9. Zoe
    10:46 am on October 5th, 2015

    Thank you for the happy birthdays. Will have grandchildren and one of the great grandchildren here for pizza. Martha asked what I wanted for my b’day and I decided on nice looking wastebaskets. My old ones went in the trash . Now with only one dog, I can have decent wastebaskets.

    I would also like a cure for arthritis, but I doubt that will come tonight.

    Thanks again..

  10. Howlers
    11:12 am on October 5th, 2015

    Happy Birthday, Zoe!
    We loved Pressure Drop.
    BooBear, Mom thinks it would either be awkward or cool to have a good looking doc down there. She isn’t sure which.
    We finally joined the 21st century, according to Mom. We are trying Netflix for a free month. We finally got to see a couple episodes of Madam Secretary, and we love it. Plus Gracie and Franke. Any of you watch those shows?
    We also started watching Veep via Amazon Prime.

  11. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    11:14 am on October 5th, 2015

    Best wishes of the day going out to Zoe.

    Boobear, I agree, it is a little more unsettling to have a great looking guy looking at you from that angle. I switched to women doctors a few years ago, although my surgeon was a man. And have not run across too many women dentists.

    Now off to the V E T for a quick shot and some heart worm meds.

  12. Wose-the small and meek
    11:42 am on October 5th, 2015

    Happy Birthday, Zoe! Wishing you the most of the best on your special day!

    BooBear: With all the doctors I go to, I wish one was as good-looking as Paul Newman, OB/GYN and otherwise. My OB/GYN is female. I rarely see the dentist (lucky for me), so it is the hygienist who cleans my teeth, and she is female. Both my head sharpeners are female. Only my primary physician is a man, and though he is not bad looking, he is no Paul Newman.

  13. Herd of Hounds
    12:05 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Zoe, enjoy your special day! Hug all the Grands and great grands. We send lots of slobbery kisses to everyone at your place.
    Mom says it’s not fair, all of the doctors that she and the DDD see like the DDD best. She get them back though, she wears goofy hats. Kind of fun to watch a doctor lose his cool.

  14. B.Stover
    12:43 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Barb: I’m wondering what’s going to happen to the husband–I think he’s a writer–who mistreats his wife in Home Fires.

  15. Staff
    1:20 pm on October 5th, 2015

    I was looking at NOAA.gov to check the weather and came across this info on Alaska and El Nino.

    http://www.nws.noaa.gov/com/weatherreadynation/elnino_article.html#.VhKu8flVikr

  16. Staff
    1:23 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Wow, I read the article after I posted it above and it amazingly describes the weather patterns today perfectly. grump, except for California.

  17. Belle Starr
    1:28 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Happy birthday, Zoe!

  18. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    1:36 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Bee, I am wondering, too. At first I thought she poisoned him, but I guess not. I am sure she will take a stand before the end.

  19. dawson
    1:39 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Pressure Drop!
    I must’ve put my copy of Pressure Drop in a safe place. I can’t find it anywhere.

    Happy birthday to Zoe! I hope you get more than what you asked for. Hugs to the whole family.

    I recorded Home Fires.

  20. Tupper's Mama
    1:46 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Howlers – oh, you will love Netflix. Try Miss Fisher, and Death in Paradise.

    Zoe – do you hear the howls, bleats and purrs coming from here? That is the gang, yelling “Happy Birthday!”

    We haven’t heard of Home Fires – guess we will have to look it up.

  21. B.Stover
    1:47 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Barb: I thought she had poisoned him also. (Whispering): Actually, I was wishing she had. I agree that she will take a stand.

  22. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    1:53 pm on October 5th, 2015

    T & G, It just started last night. It is a period drams taking place in England at the beginning of WWII. I believe there will be a second season as well. It is quite well done, and even though it is British, I can understand them just fine. One lead in Gray Church, who had a heavy Scottish accent, was really difficult to follow.

  23. Howlers
    1:59 pm on October 5th, 2015

    T&G, we added those to Mom’s list, but we aren’t sure they are her kind of shows. She isn’t really much of a mystery person (other than PA/SQ) books.

  24. BSD&Masquers
    2:00 pm on October 5th, 2015

    We wish Zoe the Happiest of Birthdays!

  25. Howlers
    2:03 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Home Fires is on our DVR. We have to watch it when Pop is not around though. He hates period dramas. sigh

  26. B.Stover
    2:21 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Gray Church or Broadchurch? David Tennant stars. (He was Doctor Who at one time.)

  27. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    2:46 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Sorry Bee, it was Broadchurch. And David Tennant is the one I found hard to understand. Although when he did the American version he had a perfect American accent. Go figure.

  28. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    2:49 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Bee, I think I had it mixed up with Gracepoint, which was the American version of Broadchurch.

  29. B.Stover
    3:09 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Barb: I understand. For some reason I don’t have a problem with the British accent. (The accent of the deep South of the U.S. is another matter!) I really like David Tennant and think he’s a very good actor. He played a bad guy in one of the Harry Potter movies and was scary in that.

  30. dawson
    3:10 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Snigglefritz!
    My long posts keep disappearing.

    Zoe: Happy birthday! Give hugs to the Grands and the Great Grand. I hope you get a better present than you asked for.

  31. dawson
    3:12 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Oh! Heh, heh. Now I see my last post.
    Well, you can’t say Happy Birthday to Zoe too many times.

  32. Herd of Hounds
    3:57 pm on October 5th, 2015

    David Tennant played Barty Crouch in the HP and the Goblet of Fire.
    Today the crew is razing the roof at our house.

  33. Macy the Min pin
    4:11 pm on October 5th, 2015

    We here watched Franke and Grace, Howlers.

    Happy Birthday,Zoe!

  34. dawson
    5:26 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Yikes!
    HOH’s name was cut off at the top of the page and I read her comment about the Goblet of Fire (thanks, I was going to ask that) thinking it was BStover posting. Next thing the top of her roof is being knocked down! What! I really am reading every other word, I thought, before I saw it was HOH…never mind…it’s nap time.
    Happy birthday Zoe!

  35. Herd of Hounds
    6:43 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Dawson, we love you anyway!

  36. ML
    6:45 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Back to the gyn discussion from earlier, my friend had her gyno’s (mine too) son in her third grade class one year. She said that it felt very strange talking to him face to face! Years later he was elected to the City Council here and I saw him at many functions. I could never quite get over the uncomfortable feeling that he knew more about me than I did about him.

  37. Tupper's Mama
    9:01 pm on October 5th, 2015

    ML – heh heh – that is funny.

    Well, our lovely little pastoral with the goaties has come to an end. One of our anonymous neighbors has taken objection to the idea of livestock in the neighborhood. Apparently, we could get around the regs by “renting” the goaties, as long as no one objected. We talked to the adjacent neighbors beforehand, and they said it was fine. But we do have some not so nice neighbors who think of themselves as the neighborhood watch/police. So, the zoning officer was nice about it – but firm. Goaties must go.

    Bill the Drummer was here at the time. He knows someone with a farm and a lot of goats of all types. He is contacting him tonight so we can try to find a good home for Sadie and Cinnamon.

    Too bad it was the neighbors who were marauding instead of the goats.

  38. Mpop and Loulou's Mom
    9:04 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Damn!

  39. Herd of Hounds
    9:19 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Sob, sob. Some people should MYOB.

  40. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    9:29 pm on October 5th, 2015

    The goats are smaller than many dogs, so why would anyone care? People! But why can’t you take them back to your friend’s place?

  41. Tupper's Mama
    9:47 pm on October 5th, 2015

    We will be taking them back to our friend’s house. But she needs to re-home them as she is raising beef cattle, and the cows really despise the goats. She has a much larger investment in the cows, so the goats have to go.
    Pretty sure we can find a home for them where they will be coddled and spoiled just the way they want to be.

    Meanwhile, we are wondering why the Corgis are looking so smug. Wonder if they figured out how to use the computer to make that anonymous complaint. We will know for sure if the zoning officer comes back to look into the Wrotten Kats for violations.

  42. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    9:52 pm on October 5th, 2015

    I didn’t know that about cows. I do know that horses and goats get along well. They will often use a goat to keep a horse company.

  43. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    10:08 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Night all. Busy day tomorrow. Sweet dreams!

  44. Macy the Min pin
    11:01 pm on October 5th, 2015

    Maybe the Howler horses need some goats!

  45. Howlers
    7:00 am on October 6th, 2015

    Our horses would love those goats! And, so would we … Heh heh heh!

  46. Lun
    7:30 am on October 6th, 2015

    Er, excuse me. I need to chat with Belle Starr to see if she called in the complaint as part of a master plan to get goats of her very own. Oh, Belle Starr…

  47. Diane C.
    8:20 am on October 6th, 2015

    Happy Birthday Zoe!

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia