Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars – Fantastic author. Chet and Bernie’s adventures are so great. – January 8, 2015

51deejay on TO FETCH A THIEF:

Spencer Quinn, fantastic author. Chet and Bernie’s adventures are so great, you can’t put down the book. I have the the series real great read!

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Tuesday, January 27th, 2015 at 8:00 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

93 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:09 am on January 27th, 2015

    Oh, oh! Someone is not gonna like that review!

    Good morning all.

  2. O'Howlers
    8:20 am on January 27th, 2015

    On many levels, B,M,&L.
    Good morning. SnowPocalypse (a.k.a. Juno) was a big bust for us.

  3. Diane C.
    8:27 am on January 27th, 2015

    Good Morning O’H, B, M and L–“Snowpocalypse”? “Read” as a noun?
    It sounds like this might be an interesting (in all senses) day.
    Employer Schedule of Classes has me magically disappeared this morning, but it’s raining, so EVERYTHING must be taken as a good omen. (I’ll keep repeating this to myself..)
    Have a Terrific Terrestrial Tuesday, all…(no soaring off into the Empyrean unexpectedly)

  4. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:33 am on January 27th, 2015

    Diane, You may or may know that “read” as a noun causes our Bee to flip out. Nails on the chalkboard, so to speak.

    Howlers, does that mean Mom and Pop are not working from home today?

    Looks like Long Island is getting slammed with high winds and Boston is getting hit hard too.

  5. MTMP
    8:55 am on January 27th, 2015

    no pocalypse here unless you count a certain blond dog committing an indiscretion on the floor.

    Have you ever had a pain so bad that you dreamed about being in pain? Mom just wants to go back to bed and dream about butterflies or George Clooney or anything but pain. She is such a big baby.

    Catch y’all later

  6. O'Howlers
    9:08 am on January 27th, 2015

    Mom went to her shelf, and Pop went to his classroom. Kat almost spent the day outside, alone!!!
    Macy, why is your maw in pain?

  7. B.Stover
    9:33 am on January 27th, 2015

    Barb and Howlers: You are correct.

    Good morning all.

  8. Staff
    10:00 am on January 27th, 2015

    Dear ML, We are sorry for your pain. And no, I don’t remember ever having pain that bad. Yeep!

    Darn, I wanted to watch New York on a snowstorm on the web cams. grump.

  9. Tupper and Gilly
    10:29 am on January 27th, 2015

    Beeeee – put that cane down, Bee. You know he picks these just to see if you will react.

    So-Eastern Mass has gotten slammed, with 31 inches of snow and massive power outages.
    Us – we got about 4 inches. No wind. No ice. No apocalypse. And lots of people up to their eyeballs in bread, milk and eggs.
    ML – saying a prayer for you.

  10. BooBear
    10:31 am on January 27th, 2015

    ML, when does the new job start?

  11. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:45 am on January 27th, 2015

    Barb!…I see you picked up Sarah Canary…snort!…I bet you will finish it before I do, so do not give away any spoilers on this here blog…wheeze!

  12. BARB, MAGGIE AND LUCY
    11:13 am on January 27th, 2015

    Mums the word, Rio. Also just received a notice from the library that Betrayed, by Lisa Scottoline, is ready to be picked up. We were on the wait list. All of a sudden we have too many to read. May have to read Betrayed first.

  13. Martha
    11:24 am on January 27th, 2015

    We are having a winter wonderland snow here in Western Mass. We don’t have the wind — just snow falling most of last night and all of today. We will probably end up with about a foot or so of snow. I just spoke with my brother who lives on the coast of Maine. They already have had 1 and 1/2 feet of snow and are getting the high winds.

  14. B.Stover
    11:28 am on January 27th, 2015

    Since I discovered the Smithsonian channel (thank you T&G), I’ve been watching some really interesting programs. There was one on the “Princes in the Tower” about Richard III’s nephews. Fascinating. The problem is that I’m not getting anything done.

    C.Hobbit: Thank you for the link on Stonehenge.

  15. dawson
    11:34 am on January 27th, 2015

    I agree with the sentiments of today’s review but it is the worst review I’ve read so far, by far. Maybe that last sentence is full of typots.

    Looks like most of the Plunderers have not been affected by the snow storm. I’m going to turn on the news to see who’s getting all the snow.

  16. Diane C.
    11:34 am on January 27th, 2015

    MTMP–Not that it makes anything better, but an indiscretion was committed here this morning as well.
    Why is your Mommy in pain? I add her to my ever-increasing prayer list (but codeine can be quite useful if there’s any on hand…)
    B. Stover–A Smithsonian Channel? I’ll have to see if it’s part of the basic package (you’ve read Daughter of Time, right?)

  17. Masquers
    11:38 am on January 27th, 2015

    Good morning.
    Still waiting for that 60 degree weather that was promised earlier in the week.
    B: I’m not getting anything done either…for a multitude of reasons.

  18. Tupper and Gilly
    11:47 am on January 27th, 2015

    Bee – the Smithsonian, National Geo and Animal Planet are our go-to channels when network tv fails to deliver.
    Like all the time…..

  19. BearSpiritDog
    11:53 am on January 27th, 2015

    Tuppper&Gilly: We think (and believe B will agree) PBS is a Go-To-Channel too.

  20. B.Stover
    11:54 am on January 27th, 2015

    DianeC: I love Daughter of Time.

    Masquers: Some days not getting anything done is a lot of fun!

  21. Siber-H
    12:25 pm on January 27th, 2015

    I suspect Spence chose this review to post in order to tease Stover.

    Even I have read Daughter of Time and loved it. Stover recommended it to me.

    We are having our first above 60 degree days for 2015.

  22. Tupper's Mama
    12:42 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Finished the mandatory shoveling. We do have a guy come and do the driveway – so that was done. But for some reason the Corgis insist on having the deck and patio shoveled for their little Royal hinnies.
    Thank dog, it was a powdery snow, and not all that much of it. Streets are still closed, no mail delivery, all businesses closed. Oh well, guess we have to spend the day watching the Smithsonian channel….

  23. B.Stover
    1:05 pm on January 27th, 2015

    DianeC and anyone interested in Richard III: Leicester University is offering a free online “course” beginning Monday, February 16, which will last six weeks and will include (apparently) a live program of the ceremony at Leicester Cathedral when his remains are re-interred. Here is a link:

    https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/england-of-richard-third

  24. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:10 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Typots!…heh!heh!snort!

  25. Masquers
    2:03 pm on January 27th, 2015

    B: The online course looks very interesting. Thank you for the link.

  26. Herd of Hounds
    2:29 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Mom’s home and grumpy. about 50 toddlers throwinf books around with no parental unit in sight :( Or paying attention. Mom did plan her time so she was away from the rug rats when they were thickest. Been watching storm news but most of it has been less worse (if that is a comparison) than predicted. Hopefully that is for the better.
    So much info on the blog yesterday! And actually found some Miss Julias and a Jacqueline Winspeare to read. So far, a great day here. (sans toddlers)
    Oh, our thought on the “random” review…looks like 3 sentences BUT fragment, sentence and HUH?

  27. ALR
    2:47 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Glad to hear about Miss Julia and Maisie Dobbs, HOH…..but let me repeat…so much lovlier if read in order! Sorry to be such a nag about that. A friend is sending me a sign that says: I’m NOT bossy, I just know what people should do!

  28. Masquers
    3:03 pm on January 27th, 2015

    B: What about you?…ever thought about teaching an online course? Might be too time consuming, but thought we’d throw it out there. ^..^

    ALR: Lol.

  29. Herd of Hounds
    3:07 pm on January 27th, 2015

    ALR, know what you said but our city/county library system has 4 branches with books ditributed hither and thither about the county and to hunt down books at another branch and then wait for them is like a dental visit with no novacaine :(
    Will do the best we can. Heck, our branch has only one Peter Abrahams book and 3 Spencer Quinn’s so you have to reserve books all the time.

  30. B.Stover
    3:10 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Masquers: I enjoy retirement too much to return to teaching. (I did love teaching.)

    I’ve been reading some online articles about Perkin Warbeck who claimed to be the youngest prince in the tower.

  31. Herd of Hounds
    3:24 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Bee, you are still teaching. This time it is just recalcitrant ladies of a certain age!

  32. ALR
    3:26 pm on January 27th, 2015

    HOH, I know the pain of waiting for books I have placed on hold! When it comes to books I lean towards instant gratification, hense the Kindle, but there is some delight in focusing on the money saved when the library comes through! For Miss Julia’s sake, though, please hold out for Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind, the first in the series. Not only is it a delight, it sets up the whole series! If you lived down the street from me I would cart my box of Miss Julia books right over to you!

  33. B.Stover
    3:26 pm on January 27th, 2015

    HOH: LOL!

  34. BearSpiritDog
    3:27 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Hounds: Are youse talking about Us Animals on this here Blog?

  35. Herd of Hounds
    4:26 pm on January 27th, 2015

    ALR, Gotcha! I will do my best! Next step is to go on line and look up the order and carry it like I do all new authors.

  36. BARB, MAGGIE AND LUCY
    4:56 pm on January 27th, 2015

    I am taking your advice and have started with Miss Julia Speaks her Mind.

    I have not read Daughter of Time.

  37. ALR
    5:14 pm on January 27th, 2015

    I look forward to hearing how you all take up with Julia Springer!

  38. Herd of Hounds
    5:30 pm on January 27th, 2015

    ALR, I hereby promise to return the Miss Julia I have unopened to the library on Thursday when I go into town again and procure Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind.

  39. Staff
    5:53 pm on January 27th, 2015

    I looked for Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind but there is not a kindle edition. So I searched at ABE books. They are out there but they are very expensive. So I looked on Amazon and have a like new, looks never read, belonged to a collector coming for under 12 dollars including shipping. Hope it gets here soon and is as advertised,

  40. Herd of Hounds
    5:55 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Gosh, ALR, looks like you started something.

  41. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    5:58 pm on January 27th, 2015

    ALR, the reading is quick and witty, but I must say I don’t like her attitude and some of the names she uses in reference to Little Lloyd. I would never refer to a child as a little b*****d. I assume this is going to change for the better. And as for her dearly departed….what a pompous old fart.

  42. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    5:59 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Staff, Don’t you have access to a library near your dad’s home? I think mine has all her books.

  43. O'Howlers
    5:59 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Did youse see, or hear about, the totally inappropriate GoDaddy ad that was made for the superbowl? It was released this morning, and dog lovers protested it. Thankfully, GoDaddy tweeted that they have pulled it, and it will not be aired.

  44. Mollypop's Mom
    6:07 pm on January 27th, 2015

    O’Howlers, I just watched the GoDaddy ad and it’s terrible. What were they thinking?

  45. B.Stover
    6:10 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Barb: Daughter of Time is by Josephine Tey. Her detective has been injured and while recuperating he tries of solve the mystery of Richard III and the Princes in the Tower.

  46. O'Howlers
    6:10 pm on January 27th, 2015

    MPM, right? Terrible on all levels.

  47. O'Howlers
    6:18 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Also to MPM: we think it is way past time for you to acknowledge your other fur daughter.

  48. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    6:23 pm on January 27th, 2015

    We had to check out that ad. We agree, what were they thinking???

    Bee, thanks for the info on Daughter of Time.

  49. BearSpiritDog
    6:30 pm on January 27th, 2015

    That Commercial is Horrible!!! Maybe it won’t be aired now during the Superbowl, but the Damage Has Been Done. Growl.

  50. Mollypop's Mom
    6:33 pm on January 27th, 2015

    O’Howlers, I don’t understand.

  51. Tupper's Mama
    6:36 pm on January 27th, 2015

    If you need to get the image of the commercial out of your head, try this one instead:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t9g8CZ4TzUY

  52. Masquers
    6:38 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Howlers: Doesn’t LouLou post under her own avatar?

  53. Mollypop's Mom
    6:39 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Do you mean this furry child curled up next to me in front if the fire?

  54. BearSpiritDog
    6:43 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Tupper’s Mama: Thanks, I think. Now there are 2 Videos running through my head.

  55. Billy's Buddy
    6:44 pm on January 27th, 2015

    HOH: I love the word “recalcitrant.” When I was teaching what was kindly labeled “at risk” students, they learned the meaning of that word early on. They also realized they couldn’t call each other names, except we agreed that we could look each other in the eye, smile, and say, “Ubiquitous, you!”

  56. Staff
    6:48 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Philip Walters posted this picture on Facebookie. That mountain in the distance and in the middle of the trail is Denali. How beautiful it is.

  57. Mollypop's Mom
    6:55 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Oh, I get it. Loulou needs to share top billing. What about my avatar?

  58. Herd of Hounds
    6:56 pm on January 27th, 2015

    T&G’s Mama, THANK YOU! 2 very bad dog experiences today. One a sweetly written child’s book about a dog’s lives from a Bhuddist viewpoint…dead dog book times 8 or 9. Then that insensitive carpola of a commercial.
    Bee, thanks for the book info and the on like class looks interesting.
    B&M&L, check your SDD.
    B’sB, what a great way to outthink the little angels.

  59. Billy's Buddy
    7:00 pm on January 27th, 2015

    HOH: I actually learned those little tricks from my favorite teacher (English literature and composition) when I was a senior in high school. He was the reason I became an English teacher and his example and inspiration carried me through to retirement.

  60. Herd of Hounds
    7:03 pm on January 27th, 2015

    B’sB, Sounds like a winner!

  61. dawson
    7:06 pm on January 27th, 2015

    I’m not going to watch the offending commercial.

  62. Staff
    7:09 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Looked up on NOAA.gov and the nearest town to OFA had 23.8 inches as of 3 p.m. today

  63. Staff
    7:12 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Dawson. I am not looking at the commercial either. Since I seldom watch TV I will probably never see it. Thank Dog. I am glad we had the warning!

  64. Tupper's Mama
    7:18 pm on January 27th, 2015

    our biggest concern for OFA is that the ocean is rip roaring through this storm. A sea wall was breached just north of Boston, and the ocean water is traveling very far inland. Hoping that Cape Cod is more protected from crashing waves and high tides.

  65. ALR
    7:42 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Barb, Maggie and Lucy…..never fear! And may I say you expressed some of the very same spark that makes me love Miss Julia?

  66. c.hobbit
    7:58 pm on January 27th, 2015

    I loved the Daughter of Time.

  67. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:03 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Thanks ALR. We will keep reading, as it is quite good.

    I thought Spence was heading to Arizona. Didn’t we read something about that yesterday or the day before? Wondered how he could do that so soon after surgery.

  68. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:14 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Author!…I hope he does not get washed away…snort!snort!…What if he hasn’t finished the last book yet?…yeeep!

  69. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:14 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Arizona?…Really? What’s going on in Arizona except warm lovely weather…heh!heh!

  70. Herd of Hounds
    8:22 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Rio, the stupid bowl!

  71. B.Stover
    8:28 pm on January 27th, 2015

    I think that Spence’s team (football team) is heading to Arizona.

  72. Masquers
    8:36 pm on January 27th, 2015
  73. Masquers
    8:37 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Are you frack’n kidding me?

  74. Masquers
    8:39 pm on January 27th, 2015

    DO NOT CLICK ON THAT LINK! Not me.

  75. Herd of Hounds
    8:45 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Shhh! Masquers, do not YELL!

  76. Diane C.
    8:50 pm on January 27th, 2015

    B. Stover–thanks for the info on the Leicester U. course. I will follow up. I don’t know what GoDaddy is, but I will NOT be observing their commercial on YouTube (where I DO plan to catch this year’s Budweiser ad).
    Are all the snowbound folks OK?

  77. O'Howlers
    8:59 pm on January 27th, 2015

    MPM, sorry. We were out mucking and snowshoeing so we didn’t get to answered. We were just teasing you because you are both Mollypop AND LOULOU’s mom. Heh!
    Please never change your avatar. Loulou does have her own.

  78. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    9:01 pm on January 27th, 2015

    I just clicked on that Dallas-Webster link. What was that?

  79. O'Howlers
    9:01 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Now we are zonked. Fading into a pre-bed Househunter.s G’night.

  80. Mpop's and Loulou's Mom
    9:10 pm on January 27th, 2015

    How’s this?

  81. dawson
    9:15 pm on January 27th, 2015

    OFA: Hunker down!

    I’m taking a nap before bedtime.

  82. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:22 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Arizona!…Good choice for the Supper Bowl!…WOOOOOO!

  83. Herd of Hounds
    9:24 pm on January 27th, 2015

    MPM&LLM, Wowser, that is a mouthful!

  84. O'Howlers
    9:32 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Love it, M&L’s mom!

  85. Herd of Hounds
    9:41 pm on January 27th, 2015

    By Jove, we think you’ve got it!

  86. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    9:48 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Yes, M & L’s Mom! Much easier. Who are we to say anything? Lucy still does not have her own voice. She seems to be happy letting Maggie do the talking.

    Night all.

  87. Herd of Hounds
    10:01 pm on January 27th, 2015

    Nighty night.

  88. MTMP
    10:40 pm on January 27th, 2015

    I a tucking mom in with some pain killers and maybe she will dream about George Clooney tonight. Stay toasty my friends.

    I think I forgot to mention that mom had to take gmom to the ER today for a UTI. She only wants to go to the ER these days and mom is not going to argue.

    Nighty night y’all.

  89. Staff
    11:17 pm on January 27th, 2015

    MTMP. You had another difficult day. I hope you tuck under the quilt and can get some good rest on pillow Tenzing.

    Nighty night all.

  90. dawson
    12:27 am on January 28th, 2015

    ML: Hoping you are having a night of painless sleep dreaming of George.

    I’m watching a little tennis before bed. Eyelids heavy.

  91. O'Howlers
    6:45 am on January 28th, 2015

    Morning, Macy. Hope your maw is sleeping pain-free, and Tenzing is not steelimg your covers.

  92. O'Howlers
    6:45 am on January 28th, 2015

    Morning, Macy. Hope your maw is sleeping pain-free, and Tenzing is not steelimg your covers.

    Or stealing either.

  93. Herd of Hounds
    8:00 am on January 28th, 2015

    OH, you are faster than a speeding otter cork!

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia