Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars Chet does it again!, January 9, 2015

P. Beavin “paulbe” (Suwanee, GA) on THE SOUND AND THE FURRY:

Excellent mystery, and always great observations by Chet! Loved it!

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Tuesday, January 13th, 2015 at 8:43 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

101 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:46 am on January 13th, 2015

    Yay, we’re first!

    Short and sweet review, but right on!

    Off to the office. Light snowfall here, but temps are moderate. We should reach 40 on Saturday. That is close to a 55 degree swing from last week. Crazy!

    Have a great day everyone.

  2. B.Stover
    9:03 am on January 13th, 2015

    Good review.

    We’re supposed to be getting record low temperatures tonight–minus four. The sun is shining brightly on the snow.

    I like the pictures of Phil and Snowhook.

    Good morning all.

  3. Billy's Buddy
    9:21 am on January 13th, 2015

    I also like the Snowhook dog pictures.

    -16 here. Bah, humbug. My favorite part of the day is getting into bed at night.

    Good morning all.

  4. Tupper and Gilly
    9:43 am on January 13th, 2015

    Good morning all. Sun is glinting off the ice crystals, air so crisp it hurts your nose, snow squeaks like styrofoam underfoot.
    At this rate, baseball season looks good even to us.

  5. O'Howlers
    9:43 am on January 13th, 2015

    Good morning. It is cold here, but the forecast is for warmer weather. We are going on a hike to benefit polar bears on Saturday, and it is supposed to be 40. Not that we care, but Mom is thrilled about that forecast.

  6. B.Stover
    9:51 am on January 13th, 2015

    Tupper and Gilly are making me laugh.

  7. Diane C.
    10:16 am on January 13th, 2015

    Good Morning, B, M and L, B. Stover, Billy’s Buddy, T and G, O’H–what can I say? Keep warm and travel safely, if it gets to be too much, you can always crawl into bed for a little nap before nightfall (that’s for Billy’s Buddy especially).
    T and G–“Air so crisp it hurts your nose?!? Aaagh! Ask your Mom for a mitten to breathe through.
    O’H–40 degrees sounds about right for a polar bear hike. I assume no polar bears will be joining you.
    Be well, all. I’m off in search of those Snowhook pix.

  8. Zoe
    10:36 am on January 13th, 2015

    We are cold here too! Mac doesn’t mind so much. I am looking for a rescue Newf as I think both Mac and I need another Newf around. Might wake him up!

    Looking through a lot of wonderful cards sent when Melanie was so sick. How kind you people are.

    I have the dog that was on the tree hanging on the mantle now, it’s name is Mattie.
    Thanks, B. Stover

  9. Tupper and Gilly
    11:00 am on January 13th, 2015

    Zoe – we can stuff a couple of Wrotten Kats into a Newf suit and send them up to you. We are SURE they wouldn’t mind.
    tee hee

  10. Herd of Hounds
    11:21 am on January 13th, 2015

    Mom just called and said she is on her way home from the toddler Tuesday. A book bit her :)

  11. BearSpiritDog
    11:35 am on January 13th, 2015

    Book Bits and Crispy Snow..quickly bidding Everyone a Good Morning before it turns into afternoon. Heh.

    Checking the Stats…Philip and the Snowhook Team are out of Mendeltna Lodge and well on their way to the Finish Line!

  12. BearSpiritDog
    11:36 am on January 13th, 2015

    Bites.

  13. Tupper and Gilly
    11:39 am on January 13th, 2015

    Bear – snicker

  14. Tupper and Gilly
    12:01 pm on January 13th, 2015

    On a cold winter day – puppy love.

  15. Tupper and Gilly
    12:02 pm on January 13th, 2015

    On a cold winter day – puppy love.

  16. O'Howlers
    12:13 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Awww, what fantastic FODs T&G are.

  17. Staff
    12:33 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Oh those sweet little corgis.

    The news here is not the cold. Cold is not news at all. The news here is Henry is going to become a ‘man’ today. Poor baby. Staff felt really mean leaving him at the V e t s.

    Keiko feels lonely and has had to be in someones arms all morning. You know those two older cats won’t let her near them and Henry was always with her.

    He will be home this evening about 4-5 p.m.

  18. Tupper and Gilly
    12:52 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Aww. Poor Henry. Bet he won’t be having a ball today.

    snicker

  19. B.Stover
    1:01 pm on January 13th, 2015

    There is a new Masterpiece Mystery series beginning this Sunday on PBS at 10 PM Eastern Time. It’s called Grantchester and one of the stars is Robson whom I really like. He was in Reckless.

  20. B.Stover
    1:02 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Sigh! That should be Robson Green.

  21. BARB, MAGGIE AND LUCY
    1:07 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Staff, Are you sure you don’t mean that Henry is losing his manhood today?

  22. BearSpiritDog
    1:23 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Royals: Youse are Looking very Foxy.

    Henry: Sorry, Pal, but that’s how the Ball Bounces. Gain a Home…Lose something else.

  23. Herd of Hounds
    1:39 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Can you believe mom came home and checked to see thare Phillip was before scratching us? He has about 45 miles to go,,Whoo hoo! Torrents of toddlers at the library. Mom was bitten by the dust jacket (paper and acrylic cover) and she is saying naughty words. In the 40’s here but a brisk wind and the chance of more…
    you guessed it, RAIN. What a surprise.
    Stay warm and B’SB, hibernation this time of year is acceptable.
    Love the T&G cuddle foto.

  24. dawson
    1:42 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Short and sweet review.

    BStover: Thanks for the heads up. I will be watching for Grantchester this Sunday.

    Henri: Balls to the wall!

    Tupper&Gilly: Friends forever!

    Philip and Snowhook doggies have less than 50 miles to go.

    Suitcases are out for a 2 day visit down south, leaving tomorrow morning. I will look for peppers.

  25. Siber-H
    1:44 pm on January 13th, 2015

    SNOW!!! We have Snow!! Maybe 3 inches…enough to know it is there

    Cute pictures of the Royals and poor Henry.

    Zoe, Adopting a rescue Newf is a great idea

    I’m going back outside.

  26. Herd of Hounds
    1:52 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Hold up, Siber Mr. H., I Darah the darling dozer am blurring my way there to play with you! Here I ccoooooommm…….

  27. Siber-H
    2:06 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Darah, You are most welcome to come visit me.

  28. Herd of Hounds
    2:23 pm on January 13th, 2015

    CB300, Phliilp is turning the last leg east towards the end. 7 or 8 ahead. 6 behind.

  29. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:32 pm on January 13th, 2015

    SiberH!…I had my little knap-sack all packed to come visit you until you mentioned snow….grump!…I can stay home and see snow…sniff!

  30. Tupper and Gilly
    2:35 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Siber – somehow we don’t think your mom would let you do this, but you could always make a suggestion:
    https://gma.yahoo.com/canine-commuter-raises-eyebrows-seattle-bus-162512256–abc-news-pets.html

  31. Herd of Hounds
    2:41 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Just read sonething too awful too believe…Melissa Gilbert….with breast implants?
    What happened to piddle House on the Prairei?

  32. c.hobbit
    2:54 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Good day all. Taking a quick break. I lay in bed this morning making a “to do” list that got longer and longer. So I decided that tomorrow would be soon enough to resume my regular workout schedule and today I would tackle errands. First up was taking Sadie for a walk so she could catch up on 4 days of peemail.

    My new plan for the year is to try and have less plastic in my life. This is hard to do as so much seems to come in plastic. Drives me crazy. Also the plan involves getting on the computer in the morning and in the evening and getting more stuff done during the day. Also hard to do.

  33. Herd of Hounds
    2:57 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Hobbit, mom has mentioned “summer china” to save water then she angsts about landfills or getting a burn permit and her carbon footpprint. GAH…so gald we are dogs and don’t worry about tht schike.

  34. Herd of Hounds
    3:01 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Hey, wow, we will mention this. Yowser, it might work. After cooking a meal (and we still think raw is good,) just pass out forks and stand around the cooking pot. What could be easier and MORE SOCIAL. Yes, we will lobby for this :)

  35. c.hobbit
    3:02 pm on January 13th, 2015

    There is nothing better than dogs or cats sleeping together. Even though I had 2 dogs and 2 cats for most of my adult life, they never slept together (probably because I got them at different times and they were different breeds).

    I saw the movie Selma with a friend in Fairbanks. It was very good. I was a bit reluctant to see it since I lived through that period of history and my father’s family is from the south but it was timely.

  36. BARB, MAGGIE AND LUCY
    3:06 pm on January 13th, 2015

    One thing I do to lower my contribution to the landfills is to take reusable bags when I go to the grocery store. Did you ever notice that people who shop at Walmart tend to not carry their bags with them? One more reason to dislike Wally World.

  37. Siber-H
    3:06 pm on January 13th, 2015

    T&G I showed mom the article about the bus riding dog. Too bad you aren’t here to see mom laughing her head off. She mumbled something to me about, “in your wildest dreams”.

  38. c.hobbit
    3:07 pm on January 13th, 2015

    HOH: I am stocking up on “summer china” for the next plunderer Iditarod reunion. Although I now have a dishwasher that works so either sets of china works.

    I just wish food manufacturers would use less plastic container/tin can items and and use coated cardboard instead. I also wish the media would cover all the trash in the oceans and “dead zones” so that this country would move towards changing its habits.

  39. dawson
    3:16 pm on January 13th, 2015

    SiberH: Yippee for snow in your yard! Fun!

  40. BearSpiritDog
    3:21 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Hounds: Thanks for the suggestion, but it’s much Too Warm to Hibernate.

    C.Hobbit: Using the Daytime Hours to actually accomplish something? What a Great Idea!

    Dawson: Have a Good Trip tomorrow. Hope you get the answers you are looking for.

    Tupper&Gilly: Heh, heh. Only in Seattle.

  41. Masquers
    3:25 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Siber: Hurray for snow!
    Loved the comment in the article about the bus-ridding dog:
    “She would be much safer in the world if she had her owner on a leash”.

  42. B.Stover
    3:32 pm on January 13th, 2015

    I really like Eclipse, the bus-riding-dog.

  43. Staff
    3:39 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Henry is fine! The vet called with her report and he is just starting to wake up and everything went great. He can come home in a couple of hours and gets to visit the dancing giraffes tonight and tomorrow. Keiko will be glad to have him home. Me too.

  44. B.Stover
    3:44 pm on January 13th, 2015

    I’m glad Henry is okay.

  45. Herd of Hounds
    3:51 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Masquers, we agree, humans are sometimes idiots without the leash.
    But we are blurring to our bud..Mr Siber H.

  46. Herd of Hounds
    3:52 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Masquers, we agree, humans are sometimes idiots without the leash.
    But we are blurring to our bud..Mr Siber H.

  47. Siber-H
    4:06 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Darah isn’t blurring very fast.

  48. Tupper and Gilly
    4:09 pm on January 13th, 2015

    (whispering) Siber – she’s a NEWF. They do everything at Newf speed.

  49. Masquers
    4:25 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Heh, heh. I think Darah snoozed off mid-blur.

  50. Staff
    4:47 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Just in case anyone was confused. The picture, way up above of the kitten in Mr.Fireslippers arms, is Keiko.

    B, I really really wanted to put another comma in that sentence but couldn’t figure out where.

  51. Darah Thea
    4:50 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Don’t pick on me. I just turned 2. BUT I can still blur. Maybe not as fast as some…but.

  52. B.Stover
    4:56 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Staff: The “Just in case…” part is a subordinate clause. The comma should be after confused–“Just in case anyone was confused, the picture, way above…”.

  53. Herd of Hounds
    4:57 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Darah, shush! Looks like Phillip has 13 to 15 miles more. Go Guy, with our Snowhook babies!

  54. dawson
    5:26 pm on January 13th, 2015

    This link is from PetFinder.my on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=662188900493403&pnref=story

    Sledding party at SiberH’s house!

    Is the live streaming camera working for anyone else or is it shut off?

  55. Herd of Hounds
    6:01 pm on January 13th, 2015

    DAwson, llivestrean isn’t coming on either yesterday’s blog or where I bookmarked it :( Not to fear, we’ll do something else.

  56. Herd of Hounds
    6:03 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Looks like Phillip’s on the final leg. About 10 miles to go. Wowser, he could make it!

  57. Herd of Hounds
    6:13 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Siber Mr H This white shiitake is a lot of fun! Where do you want me to stare excavating?

  58. Herd of Hounds
    6:28 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Phillip and the Snoowhook “babies” have just turned the last corner and are headed for the finish line. 2:30 AK time.

  59. Herd of Hounds
    6:33 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Looks like about 15 KM to go. This is the same bit of trail they took out on. If your live streaming is working, he should be visible before too long.

  60. Masquers
    6:43 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Livestreaming says “off air”.

  61. Masquers
    6:45 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Just like the Iditarod, no one cares about those teams at the tail-end of the race.

  62. Masquers
    6:49 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Speaking of race coverage, Siber, do you plan on renewing your Insider subscription this year?

  63. Herd of Hounds
    7:25 pm on January 13th, 2015

    They arre almost there, there, there…Go Snowhook :)

  64. Siber-H
    7:27 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Darah, You can dig anywhere except around the house. Mom frowns on that. On the other paw, it is getting dark and she won’t know where we are digging. I keep telling her the house won’t fall in on itself.

    Masquers, I don’t think I will subscribe to the Insider this year. I have had it with them.

  65. Alice M. Johnson
    7:47 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Dear Barb and Maggie and Lucy,
    Got the book today and it looks like fun. Henry is sitting right by it. He was very interested in it and sniffed it all over. I didn’t know he was a Fannie Flagg fan. Maybe it is the dancing giraffe effect.

    I think I will still subscribe to the insider. I love the video’s and the photo’s they put up of all the racers. Hopefully they will be prepared for all the traffic at the start of the race.

  66. Herd of Hounds
    7:53 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Phillip and the dogs are within spittin distance, if dogs coulld spit.

  67. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    7:55 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Alice, Glad the book got there OK. We like Fannie Flagg, although the main character in this one starts out as being a little annoying with her dramatics. Still a fun book, and the information about the early women flyers is pretty cool.

  68. Tupper and Gilly
    7:58 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Dawson – that was a party we would have been happy to join in on, especially if we could have gotten some of those nifty sweaters.
    And we are pretty sure we saw two familiar faces in there.

    We are kind of with Siber about the Insider. We think all the mushers should be given the same coverage – each and every one of them has worked just as hard, and paid the same fees as all the others. And each and every dog on every team deserves a medal – or a Slim Jim.

  69. Staff
    8:00 pm on January 13th, 2015

    That darn Alice must have spent some time outside the closet recently…

  70. Tupper and Gilly
    8:09 pm on January 13th, 2015

    There was another dead mouse on the dining room carpet. And both Wrotten Kats were asleep in the den with Gramp.

    heh heh heh

  71. O'Howlers
    8:10 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Did Philip finish? It seems the live cam isn’t up, darnit.

  72. O'Howlers
    8:13 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Yep! Jamie just posted that he finished. Woo Hoo!!!!! Yay Philip! Yay Snowhook!!!!

  73. Herd of Hounds
    8:15 pm on January 13th, 2015

    OH, the stats show that he finished at 4:05 AK time. His little flag didn’t jump like the first 15 or so. He just “discapeared”, but his racr stats show that he finished. WOWSER, YIPPEE, GO SNOWHOOK. We will stop yelling now.

  74. dawson
    8:17 pm on January 13th, 2015

    O’Howlers: I can’t see Philips flag so I guess he did finish. I so wanted to see the dogs coming over the finish line.

    T&G: I can’t believe those wrotten, lazy kats!

  75. B.Stover
    8:20 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Will someone please remind me why we are irritated with the Insider.

  76. dawson
    8:27 pm on January 13th, 2015

    I keep forgetting to say: Happy belated birthday to Darah! And to Blondie!

    BStover: I forget…

  77. Masquers
    8:38 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Philip’s flag is jumping up and down at the finish.
    Hurray for Philip and the Snowhook team!
    B & Dawson: I’m sure Siber can explain it more eloquently than I.

  78. Tupper and Gilly
    8:39 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Bee – the Insider let us down last year before Snowhook got to the starting line – their live feed was overbooked because they had offered the race start open to everyone watching on the internet.

    So, we never got to see most of the start, even though that was one of the big reasons people paid the subscription.

    We were also annoyed because the reporters were only talking to the “big names” of dog racing. And as stated before, every team there worked just as hard and was deserving of the same coverage.

    We did get to see the finish of the race, but there was hardly as much attention paid to the later finishers, and half the time, the announcers were talking about the wrong musher.

  79. Siber-H
    8:59 pm on January 13th, 2015

    More about the Iditarod Inside: Last year was not the first time they screwed up on the live coverage.
    Also, The new and improved GPS tracker sucks big time.

    And, you wanna know what really pissed me off:
    Melanie was going to watch the re-start of the race. She was on the blog talking about and was very disappointed that she couldn’t.

    I also agree with everything T&G said about the Insider.

  80. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:03 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Insider!…But the lousy fact remains, it is the only thing we have….grunt!…I’ve gone back and forth about subscribing and I think I would be miserable if I do and if I don’t…yeeep!…So I have waffled myself into a corner and will probably be subscribing…groan!

  81. Siber-H
    9:11 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Oh yeah, And there was the pathetic email we got from the Insider saying there were technical problems with the re-start because they were “under attack”. I never believed them then and I don’t believe them now. I think they lied. They were simply not prepared for the amount of traffic that hit their website during the re-start. They gave away a free viewing of the re-start to viewers of the Sportsman Channel.

  82. B.Stover
    9:12 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Thank you Tupper and Gilly and Siber-H. I remember now. I think I may still subscribe though.

  83. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:15 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Idol!…Wowser!…We are watching the 2nd Audition show shot in Nashville….snort!…So many good singers this year. It is going to be some season! If I wore socks it would probably blow them off!…chuffle!

  84. c.hobbit
    9:26 pm on January 13th, 2015

    The Iditarod site needs to get your comments about the Insider and that you are waffling about re-subscribing. Hopefully they have addressed some of your concerns but this would be a good time to reopen the conversation with them.

    I don’t know how I could possibly be hungry when only 2 hours ago I had a cup of soup and a half sandwich. My brain is paying attention to the clock rather than my (should-be) full tummy.

  85. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:31 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Guessing!….My guess is SiberH will not be signing up for the Insider this year….snort!….He seems to be holding onto a lot of anger from last year…yeeep!

  86. Tupper and Gilly
    9:32 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Hobbit – we understand. Our tummies are always hungry.

  87. Mollypop's Mom
    9:36 pm on January 13th, 2015

    I think the Iditerod management made a mistake. Think the bell curve about the managers. Did they smarten up this year?

  88. Herd of Hounds
    9:40 pm on January 13th, 2015

    With Phillip and the dogs off the trail, this herd is going tonighty night. Supposed to be a busy day here tomorrow. We don’t care, we get to nap when we want and play when we want. It’s the 2 leggers with schedules.

  89. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:51 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Smarter!….That is the card we are betting on…snort!…Hoping the Iditarod Web Team is going to be smarter this year. I has been good in the past, right?…sniff!…Last year new software did a number on them. Surely they have corrected the bugs by now, or at least by March….gruffle!

    MollysMaw!…Have you watched the 2nd audition show yet?…heh!….I was almost ready to pick the blind guy as the winner for the whole season right there and then…snorkel!….Loved that guy!

  90. Staff
    9:58 pm on January 13th, 2015

    CHObbit. A nice hot cup of water with lemon. Maybe two. That will help fill up that noisy tummy and make you feel more full.

    Good luck.

    I agree about letting the Insider know your concerns NOW when there is still time for them to work at fixing it.

  91. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    10:29 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Hot water with lemon? What a good idea. We are debating between that and some chocolate ice cream. Night all.

  92. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:34 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Lemon!…Nobody better put lemon in my bowl of water…grunt!…I get the shaft often enough around here regarding food…sniff!

  93. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:00 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Gilmore!….Stover! Bear!….There are more Gilmore Girl episodes out there OnDemand…snort!….I don’t know if this is a good thing for those who have never seen the whole series or not – as there is a gap. …grunt!…I hate gaps.

  94. BearSpiritDog
    11:34 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Rio: We saw the Entire Series of the Gilmore Girls Streaming on Netflix. Zero Commercials…the Only Way to Go.

  95. BearSpiritDog
    11:35 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Hungry! My Tummy is Growling too.

  96. BearSpiritDog
    11:39 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Carpola! Now we Can’t Find It!

  97. BearSpiritDog
    11:50 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Okay…it’s there but Not Easy to Find.

  98. BearSpiritDog
    11:51 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Time for an Almost Midnight Snack.
    Night All – Bear

  99. Staff
    11:59 pm on January 13th, 2015

    Good night Bear.

    Good morning LizF in Oz

    Chair Yoga tomorrow morning. Sounds like just my speed!

  100. AJ
    3:11 am on January 14th, 2015

    Hello All,

    Big Day here at the kennel. As some of you may know Blue Kat very generously sent us some Twix bars for the race. As I have a tendency to eat said bars before the race they mysteriously disappeared before I could accomplish this. None the less some new ones showed up in the mail today to replace said Twix bars so I can eat those in the meantime. Thank you Sharon.

    On top of this though things got much better when a stunted :) dog sent us some cookies that were also supposed to be for Iditarod but those are now also gone. They were good but unfortunately there weren’t enough for the drop bags. Rio, I just have to keep taste testing these for quality. All of them require this I’m afraid.

    In other less important news Philip finished the Copper Basin 300.:) He needed to finish this race in order to be able to compete in Iditarod. As I am seldom on this end of a race it was an interesting experience to watch the tracker move. Unfortunately I couldn’t sit still long enough so I went on a 200 mile run but kept in text communication with Vivian. For those of you who don’t know Vivian is a tremendous help who comes up from North Carolina to help as we really get ready for Iditarod. She showed up on Thursday and on Friday I sent her with Phil on the CB 300. Tomorrow and the rest of the week she goes along on one of my days. No rest for the jet lagged there.

    Rebecca and I have spent months at this point teaching Philip how to run these guys and more importantly how to take care of them. Our mantra to him before this current race has been “1300 miles to Nome not just 1000”. It has been an interesting experience training my own team and also Phil. There’s been a few moments where I would grab the too excited version of Phil and tell him to settle down, other times where I would make suggestions and still other times of direct and guided instruction. I’ve never had a brother as I grew up with sisters but I would probably best equate the experience to something like teaching a younger brother how to do everything from tie his own shoes to ride a bike.

    Still much remains to be done. While training, taking care of the kennel and concentrating on preparing for my own races before Iditarod I’m working on drop bags, preparing two schedules (one for myself and the other for Phil) and all the other ins and outs of getting ready. Upcoming in the next couple of weeks is the Knik 200 and the Tustemena 200 if there is enough snow. On top of that we have blood tests and ECG tests on all the dogs. Then of course mushers meetings, banquets and the pageantry that goes with Iditarod.

    I am happy to note though that we’ve been running 80 mile runs now and are consistently running 50 to 60 mile runs in between. The team is strong, good attitude and I just genuinely love being able to go into the back country with these guys. They are almost ready for Iditarod.

    Almost but not quite. As a side note to Chet, Bernie and Iggy. These guys are on my main team and are learning to camp still. I’ve found this is where their personalities do follow their namesakes. Iggy never stops barking and is always ready to go. Never resting. Bernie is a big strong and reliable character who I count on and always has something to say about the quality of the water when we camp. And Chet is something else. He’s a quiet dog who is always thinking about something. And then just as he seems to have the thought in place as in the books, it’s gone. You can see this process happen every time with him. So, he get’s distracted easy and forgets we’re resting when camping. Time will get all these guys ready though.

    Which brings to mind a quick story that happened the other night….

    While out training with the dogs I often stop through the kennel to feed or snack the team and then leave right away. I want the dogs to get used to being able to come into a safe place like home or a check point and then be able to mentally leave it when asked to. While doing this the other night as I was preparing to leave to finish an 80 mile run, out of nowhere Twig came running up to me. Twig has been my all star leader and is the daughter of Annabelle as well as the mother of Mae and Josephine who are all leaders. (feel free to insert a joke about strong female leadership here). At any rate I haven’t been running Twig much this year as she is getting older and I presumed slower. Somehow though she had gotten lose from Phil’s team who was also running at the time and tracked me down. At the time I was unable to get off my sled and secure Twig so off we went. All of us together.

    What makes this memorable is not so much the act of her coming to me or staying with the team and maybe I’m the one reading too much into this but when Twig was running again with me, her pups and up front…. She just expanded happiness to the whole team. You could just see the joy in every step she took. Reasons why I love to run dogs.

    So, that’s about it for right now. Things are coming together. The training wheels for Phil are slowly coming off as he learns to balance and I’m looking forward to this year’s Iditarod. Maybe Twig has one more in her with the main team after all.

    Thanks much for your support and friendship and following run on sentences, fragments, run ons and so ons.

    AJ

  101. oakley split jacket fotocromaticas
    4:58 am on October 27th, 2015

    Delivery speed is super fast! Praise! Very pleasant shopping experience. But there are some taste, need to air dry for the job, ask the owner how soon can go to taste? Bag pretty good, absolute value. The only thing to say is that every time you open the bag, that would pull the chain. Fear of long-term effect of the bag will be bad, oh. However, this problem should be designed to Kazakhstan. Overall, cortex like compact style is also very good, especially the internal format super refreshing.
    oakley split jacket fotocromaticas http://www.acropetal.com/list.aspx?o0k0b0a2e028c4e36.html

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia