Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars –  Narrated by a dog? You bet….and it is great! – December 31, 2014

Cindy West on THEREBY HANGS A TAIL:

I love this series of books. So refreshing. Easy to read, amusing, but still good crime mysteries. Absolutely love Chet, the dog narrator.

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Friday, January 2nd, 2015 at 7:57 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

81 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:31 am on January 2nd, 2015

    Good Friday morning all. We are first! Yay!

    Nice short review. We love Chet!

  2. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:35 am on January 2nd, 2015

    In answer to Staff’s question, NO, have never read Harry Potter, and only watched part of one movie. It has never interested me, but I can’t tell you why.

  3. O'Howlers
    8:59 am on January 2nd, 2015

    Good morning, B,M,&L! We like that review too. Chet is the best.
    We are still onvacation. Thinking of getting stalls cleaned today, as well as taking down our outdoor decorations. It is supposed to snow tomorrow morning, and rain tomorrow afternoon and on Sunday.

  4. B.Stover
    9:08 am on January 2nd, 2015

    I like the review.

    Good morning all.

  5. Herd of Hounds
    9:32 am on January 2nd, 2015

    Good morning, B&M&L, OH. HRH B and all. Short and sweet, we like it. We let mom sleep in this a.m. Aren’t we good? Friday, already, where does it go?
    Have fun this Friday.

  6. O'Howlers
    10:18 am on January 2nd, 2015

    Found this onfacebook, and it reminded usof our Plunderer family, most of whom we have never actually met.

  7. O'Howlers
    10:23 am on January 2nd, 2015

    Get ready to howl on Sunday night. Full Wolf Moon!
    http://youtu.be/w49SXN8oRLs

  8. Mollypop's Mom
    10:39 am on January 2nd, 2015

    I am all done being sick and I’m out from under the quilt. It lasted only three days and I credit my improved health from being gluten free. Before, every virus I caught turned into a bacterial infection needing an antibiotic. This illness was the first in a year-and-a-half!

  9. Herd of Hounds
    10:40 am on January 2nd, 2015

    MPM, that is great news!

  10. B.Stover
    10:49 am on January 2nd, 2015

    Howlers: I like “The Friends I Have Never Met” piece. Thanks for posting it.

  11. Wose-the small and meek
    10:54 am on January 2nd, 2015

    Greetings!

    O’Howlers: I love your post about friends. sniff.

    Cold here today in my neck of the woods. No snow. Bah Humbug!
    Sunday may reach 60 degrees. Bah Humbug. It is winter…it should snow.

  12. Staff
    10:56 am on January 2nd, 2015

    I got this off my PCWorld e-zine subscription. I already love it. It lets you choose if you want to see shockwave ads that normally automatically run on your browser. heh. If you don’t have Shockwave enabled then this is redundant.

    Note for Mr.Husky…sorry pal. Unless you wish to step into the teckie side of the computer? It is only about 6 clicks so not too hard.

    http://www.pcworld.com/article/2858421/how-to-stop-autoplay-videos.html#tk.nl_pcwbest

  13. Tupper's Mama
    11:23 am on January 2nd, 2015

    Hey everyone – bright and sunny here, but bitterly cold, and no snow.
    Howlers – the person who wrote “Friends” must belong to a great blog like ours.
    We got a brand new, sparkly, shiny, dent-free set of pots and pans for Christmas. So, we have just finished cleaning out the assortment of hodgepodge pans we had, and are bringing them to Goodwill. And all the new pans fit SO much better in the space. Guess we had a few too many pans before……

  14. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    11:44 am on January 2nd, 2015

    T & G, New pots and pans was my gift to Jess and Josh this Christmas. Calphalon stainless. Our Jewel grocery has been running a special for several months where you save stamps for Calphalon pieces. So Jess is going to add to the pieces I gave her with stamps she has saved.

    I have a couple of Le Crueset pots that I love , but my favorite skillets are the old fashioned cast iron that I have had for 20 years or more.

  15. Tupper's Mama
    11:56 am on January 2nd, 2015

    Ok, we admit it, we did keep some of our cast iron. And some of our stock pots. And a wok. And a crepe pan.
    But we got rid of a lot….really….

  16. BearSpiritDog
    11:58 am on January 2nd, 2015

    Nana says she simply MUST have Rio’s Friend’s Hot Chili Cure-All Recipe. When Chicken Soup fails Hot Chili prevails (or something like that). sneeze.

    MollyPop’s Mom: Good to Know there is an End to this Miserableness.

    O’Howlers: We simply MUST be better for the Sunday Night Howl.
    BTW: The Friends Quote is Great.

    Speaking of which…Nice Photo of Wose with her BFF Fran yesterday.

    Back under the Quilt. Have a Good Day Everyone.

  17. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    12:01 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Staff, did you read the Fanny Flagg book about the women pilots in WWII? I think it is called the Last Reunion of the All Girls Filling Station (or something like that). It was in my stack of books I was donating to the library, but I pulled it out to send to you if you haven’t read it. I thought about you since your mom was involved in the war. Then you could pass it on to Dawson. Let me know.

  18. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    12:04 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    We also liked the picture of tall Wose. She and her friend could be sisters.

    And our neighbor swears by hot and sour soup from our local Chinese carry out when she is under the weather.

  19. B.Stover
    12:17 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    I had to use my steam method just now to get rid of a sinus headache.

    Hope Nana feels better soon.

  20. O'Howlers
    12:18 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    We are happy to hear that MPM is feeling better,but sad that Nana is not.

  21. Tupper's Mama
    12:38 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    We firmly believe in hot and sour soup for a headcold. Its the only thing we ever want when we are sick – no taste buds to speak of, yet the spice comes through.

    Come on everyone – lets all get better asap. From whatever ails us. That’s our prayer for the next little while until we hear that all are out from under the quilt.

    Oh – and the latest “Cubbins in his new home report” – a certain little black and white kitty has completely taken over the household, and enchanted all the two-leggeds, including the dad who always USED to say, “no animals sleeping on the bed”. hahahahahhahahahhaa. Guess he never had a cat before. And CubKat and the Dalmatian/Pit dog are best buddies. They swagger around the house together, side by side.
    Don’t mind telling you we are all breathing a very big sigh of relief.

  22. dawson
    12:53 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Not a bad review.

    This cold (not flu) has gone leaving behind a congested cough that I will most likely end up having to go see the doctor about. That has been my MO for the past few years. Hope everyone else shakes this thing pronto!

    The snow has stopped, leaving behind about 5 inches or so of snow on the driveway. The promised sunny skies have not materialized but I am still hopeful.

    I want to see the full Wolf moon on Sunday. Ahroooooo!

  23. Staff
    1:03 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Barb, I think I read a review of that book and would like to see it, thank you very much.

    Mollypop’s Mom – How wonderful that you are now able to kick the cold to the curb. We at the blog have many things to thank Melanie for.

    I am sorry for all youse guys fighting colds. So far, thank the dog, I have not had to fight it. (Knocking on the dining room table)

    I get a massage this afternoon. Looking forward to that.
    BBL

  24. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    1:20 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Staff, I will mail it out to your Minneapolis address. Probably will get it done tomorrow.

    I feel pretty good, if not quite tip top. I still have some residual coughing, which seems to be hanging on.

    Time for a little lunch and nap. BBL

  25. Mollypop's Mom
    2:38 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Dawson, I think I mentioned this to you when you were here last year and had that cough. Mucinex/guaifenesen will keep the cough loose. That way the body can clear it easier.

  26. O'Howlers
    4:20 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Excellent Cubbins report, thank Kat. How are he and his boy getting along?

  27. Diane C.
    4:33 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Good afternoon All–I saw a weather map this a.m. indicating parlous conditions in many parts of the country (and Ice storms! what is an ice storm?) and thought of y’all. Keep warm (looking at Wose and Tupper’s Mama especially).
    MPM and Dawson–I’m so glad to hear there’s been recovery and/or improvement. May Nana soon follow in your footsteps.
    O’H–I also richly enjoyed the “Friends Never Met” piece (and am looking forward to howling with you this Sunday). (Possibly from indoors.)
    Also overjoyed to hear that Cubbins is settling in well. I cautiously think and hope the year is off to a good start (or will be once this library decides to turn on some heat–it’s like they want faster turnover of the clientele! It’s a library, not a cafeteria!

  28. Siber-H
    4:42 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    The sky should be clear here for the Full Wolf Moon. I am ready for it.

    The possibility of snow was forecast for today. Guess what hasn’t happened.

    Staff, I am not going to do it. NO, NO, NO

    Howlers, I very much like the “Friends I Have Never Met.”

  29. Siber-H
    4:46 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    MPM, We are glad you are all well. Dawson, you are on your way to recovery. The lasting cough seems to be apart of this virus.

    Nana, Please feel better. Take care of yourself.

  30. Diane C.
    5:27 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Hey Barb–I just caught up with yesterday’s entries. I think “Muggle” is a value-free descriptor in the Harry Potter books (kind of like “civilian” or “miniature mastiff/pug cross”). “Mudblood” is a slur…

  31. Riö – The Evil Pug
    5:28 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Sickly!…I could count on one paw the number of years it has been since my friend has had a head cold…snort!…Her stomach on the other paw is another matter….wheeze!gurgle!

    Chili!…..The very very very hot smelling chili is brewing away on the stove…snort!…Someone says she is trying to keep track of the amounts she keeps tossing into this wicked batch for the recipe…heh!heh!…I am downstairs and I can still smell it seeping through the woodwork…gasp!

  32. Herd of Hounds
    5:29 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    DianeC, know this about an ice storm…they aren’t nice. Freguently the coating of ice is so thick on power lines that they come down (no power), Trees break under the weight and (oh joy) roads and walks and steps are a sheet of ice.
    Siber Mr. H Darah is so sad thay you haven’t had any snow. She was hoping to blur over and play in it with you.

  33. Riö – The Evil Pug
    5:30 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Maskers!….If Nana makes this chili the way my friend makes it, she will be cured of all snotty-coughy things….chuffle!…Her stomach on the other paw – well we’ve been through that already….heh!heh!

  34. Tupper's Mama
    5:40 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Rio – chili that hot makes for an interesting tomorrow too.

  35. Riö – The Evil Pug
    5:47 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Stover!….My friend made your banana bread recipe today. It is interesting to note that the baking time is the same for an 8×8 casserole dish as it is for a bread pan…snort!…She thought the time would be cut in half because the dough was spread out thinner in the casserole dish…Nope!

    Golinka!….Chili cleans the pipes – whatever that means….grunt!

  36. O'Howlers
    5:48 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    The ‘rents are going out to see the movie “Unbroken”. The book was excellent. Have anyof you seen it yet?

  37. O'Howlers
    5:49 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Damn this space bar.

  38. Riö – The Evil Pug
    6:15 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Unbroken!….We here have not seen it but it is definitely on our MUST SEE list….snort!…Beau has been begging and begging to see that movie…heh!heh!

  39. O'Howlers
    6:20 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    These guys almost never go to a movie theatre, so this one must be pretty good.

  40. c.hobbit
    6:28 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Rio: remember things cook slower where you are…

    So…a handy man needed work because of a run of hard luck and slow work period right now. I got out my “to do” list and he was to start today at 1:00. At noon, he said that time got away from him doing errands and he would be here at 2-2:15. He just called, sounded so tired, said he was getting closer to coming over. I said that none of my stuff were emergencies if he wanted to wait to Monday. He jumped on that. Hope it works out. Of course, all the stuff I went through today to get ready and the stuff I have to cancel on Monday morning is a pain but that is life.

  41. c.hobbit
    6:29 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    I haven’t been to the theater in a while. I don’t like watching stupid stuff or action stuff or sad stuff or bad stuff so that limits me. LOL

  42. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    6:33 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    We want to see Unbroken, too. We agree, book was great. Angelina apparently has many talents.

  43. Riö – The Evil Pug
    6:38 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    CHobbit!….(((sigh)))

    Dreamy!….Me and my friend are re-watching the Dream House on Cape Cod….snort!….Its even better than what we first thought we saw last night…wheeze!

  44. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    6:42 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    C Hobbit, there may be a drinking problem involved.

    Diane, An ice storm as HOH said is not a good thing. Instead of coming down as snow, it comes down as freezing rain. It is more dangerous and damaging than a snow storm. It creates hazardous driving conditions, and a lot of tree and power line problems.

  45. Riö – The Evil Pug
    6:49 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Documented!….Someone had hoped to document the online recipe with photos…snort!….But her mother is up there fiddle-fricking around and so there has been no way to take photos of the chili making process….sniff!…Mother knows better than to add anything to the chili, so that is safe – I think she is sort of afraid to eat it actually….chuffle!

  46. Tupper and Gilly
    7:15 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Staff – Mama asked us to tell you to check your SDD whenever you are good and ready.

  47. dawson
    7:19 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Rio: It sounds like this is the kind of chili that makes smoke come out your ears! I hope I can get all the ingredients!

  48. B.Stover
    7:29 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Rio: I’ve never made the banana nut bread in an eight by eight pan. I’m trying to remember how long it takes cake in that size pan. Anyway, I hope you like it.

  49. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:20 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Stover!….It came out Delish! ….snort!….More like a small cake than bread…heh!heh!…She kept checking it thinking it would be done in 30 minutes, but no. That dough takes a good 55 to 60 minutes to bake no matter what – in this altitude anyways (as CHobbit so kindly pointed out above)….chorkel!

    Taste!…The chili is a HUGE success!…chuffle!…So someone will try and remember all the stuff she put into it and have it on the blog sometime tomorrow….burp!….Best damned smothered green chili burrito ever tonight!….wheeze!

  50. ML
    8:26 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Chobbit, sounds like the handyman’s run of bad luck is him.

  51. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:29 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Handyman!…ML i was thinking the same thing when I read CHobbits post….grunt!….But I’m sure she will give him one or two more opportunities to be a good fella….heh!heh!

  52. Siber-H
    8:50 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    ML, That is funny.

    Mom has known workers like that handyman. They don’t usually last long before they get fired, but I agree, give the dude another chance.

  53. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    9:11 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    I hired a drywaller years ago that was like that. He would work enough to be able to go to the bar, then not show up for days. Always had some excuse and a run a bad luck.

    Give his another chance, but don’t let him take advantage.

  54. c.hobbit
    9:48 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Actually the family business and my nephew uses this handy man a fair amount. I don’t know the whole story but the time right before Christmas was slow for him and his wife had surgery and couldn’t work for a month. I think his brother also took most of the money and left to start his own business or something like that. He was calling old customers to check and see if they had any work. I hadn’t used him personally but since I do have a “to do” list, it sounded like both of us could benefit.

    Through the years I have learned that nothing goes as planned and is usually more expensive than expected!

    Update on flooring: since I need something I can clean and sanitize in my cat room, I went with a recommended LVT product (Luxury Vinyl Tile) . It clicks together as long planks and comes in various simulated finishes. I’ll let you know how it goes. I actually liked something that was in stock and didn’t have to be ordered!

  55. Herd of Hounds
    10:03 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    CHobbit, sometimes it seems like you wear a target for misadventure!

  56. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:17 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Kat-Room!…gah!…Are you re-flooring a room for Kats? Is this what I am reading?…sniff!…If I moved in would I get wall to wall carpeting?…heh!

  57. ML
    10:17 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    It is because of her big heart.

  58. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:19 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Oh!Oh!….And my own big screen hdtv?..snort!…I’ve become accustomed to this hd luxury you know….snorkel!

  59. c.hobbit
    10:29 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Rio: Carpeting and TV in exchange for not peeing on my deck? That would be doable.

    I need to alter my sign to Hobbit Hotel & Kennel. However I do expect all my furry guests to be gone come Iditarod time with the exception of Sadie.

  60. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:35 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    CHobbit!…Clearing out one set of furry guests for another set….heh!heh!…Lets hope The Staff will not have to bring their summer clothes for the Last Big Race…snort!….Please let it snow, let it snow, let it snow in February and March!…wheeze!…In ALASKA – Not here…grunt!

  61. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:37 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Nana!….I sure wish I could send some of this hot green chili to Nana. It would burn away all those nasty snotty germs pronto….sniff!…I sure do miss Maskers…cough!…I mean Bear. Bear is the one I miss.

  62. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    10:40 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Hobbit, you do have a big and generous heart. Night all.

  63. c.hobbit
    10:41 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Rio: you let the proverbial kat out of the bag. Masquers made a good impression on you this last August (or at least she did when she stopped sitting on your flat head)

  64. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:56 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Grunt!…Maskers was prone to sitting on my head…sniff!…I finally convinced that Kat to turn around so that fluffy tail was not in my face….grumble!

  65. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:02 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Alaska!…Here is a shot of the one time I got the best of Maskers and tried to sit on that Kats head….chorkel!….Luckily, Nana was oblivious or I would have been in the river…heh!heh!

  66. Staff
    11:06 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Diane, I saw your correction to my muggle post from last night and you are so very correct. Muggle is not the racial slur. I guess it is time to reread my books. ;-D

  67. dawson
    11:12 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    I knew it!
    Rio loves the cat pillow…and he misses Masquers!

  68. Thieves!
    11:15 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Rio: We have decided to matters into our own paws. We are preparing to go on a search and rescue mission for the monster cookies that are missing in action. We let the Giant in on our plans. Once he heard cookies were on the line, he grabbed the harnesses. We ride and midnight.

  69. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:18 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Thieves!…This gladdens my pug heart…heh!heh!chorkel!…With youse two on the job, I know those Goats will be in custody in No Time…snort!…But alas, I fear the cookies are now just Goat droppings in the woods…sniff!

  70. Thieves!
    11:23 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Rio: Not on our watch. We have our best Giant on the case. He happens to be our only Giant what with our Lady being less giant (and bearded for that matter).

  71. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:32 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Giant!…Bearded or unbearded can he stop the digestive forces of Goats?…sniffle!….I fear the Bearded and UnBearded ones will never taste the cookies my friend could not remember the name of for over a year…wheeze!…It was a Miracle when she did and a miracle she had the time and energy to make them…gasp!…Now they are but a vague memory in the corner of my mind…scattered memories of the cookies she sent away…sniff!

  72. Scout
    11:40 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    C. Hobbit: Do please keep us posted on the flooring. My mom says that she wants all the carpet out, out, out.
    I am crossing my paws for snow in Alaska. We like snow here, but do not need much to be happy.

  73. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:42 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Scout!…My Motto is “Snow Must Go!”…snort!…And then the chorus is “North To Alaska!!”….heh!heh!

  74. Thieves!
    11:53 pm on January 2nd, 2015

    Rio: Don’t underestimate a motivated Giant flanked by two well behaved, handsome, mostly innocent Thieves! We will not be thwarted!

  75. Riö – The Evil Pug
    12:03 am on January 3rd, 2015

    Thwart!…That is a 2×2+2 letter word…sniff!…That has to mean something. Alright you two Thieves! I am relying on youse to find and finally deliver those cookies to the Giants, bearded or unbearded….wheeze! …I hereby give all my worries to you two!…heh!heh!

  76. Thieves!
    12:07 am on January 3rd, 2015

    Uh, all your worries? Even the ones about remembering where you hid the extra Zingers you like to keep on paw? That is a lot of pressure, but we are up to the task sans zinger worries.

  77. Riö – The Evil Pug
    12:20 am on January 3rd, 2015

    Zingers!…Yes, those are a load on my mind, mind you..snort!…I will keep those worries for myself this time as the cookies are on top of the importance list…grunt!

  78. Thieves!
    12:28 am on January 3rd, 2015

    Rio: This is the Giant’s first official mission. He is unproven, but we think he has the right grit to guts ratio. But, if anything should happen…will you see to it that Harris is raised up in the right, thieving way?

  79. Thieves!
    12:57 am on January 3rd, 2015

    We should clarify that we were referring to Harris, the secondhand sled dog not the Hobbit in our last post. We believe the Hobbit, with her kindness and goodness is too far gone to be a Thief. Should the Hobbit decide a different path, we would gladly welcome her to our litter of Outlaws.

    Goats beware for now we run and we’re heading your way!

  80. Diane C.
    8:48 am on January 3rd, 2015

    May any ice storms in the area pass you all by (and not harm anyone else, either). I have an early meditation 9n a heated venue this a.m. so will get with y’all later.
    I now know more about ice storms, but did that chili recipe ever get posted?

  81. Diane C.
    8:48 am on January 3rd, 2015

    Have a Super Saturday…

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia