Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars – Five Stars – December 1, 2014

Warchilde on THE DOG WHO KNEW TOO MUCH:

 

I got hooked on Chet and Bernie and I can’t wait for their next book. What a world!

(For Friends of Chet, please scroll down and click on Facebook link.)

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Thursday, December 4th, 2014 at 8:01 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

71 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Herd of Hounds
    8:14 am on December 4th, 2014

    Morning, everyone. Good, short and sweet review. So Happy It’s Thursday.

  2. B.Stover
    8:37 am on December 4th, 2014

    It’s Chet’s world!

    Good morning all.

  3. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:49 am on December 4th, 2014

    That was probably the shortest one ever!

    Good morning all. Off to work in a few. Have a safe and peaceful day.

  4. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:57 am on December 4th, 2014

    I am going to take a moment and play amateur shrink. Rio, perhaps your friend’s maw is angry for some reason and took it out on her by disrespecting things she values. It is a very passive aggressive action. Is this typical of the way she handles issues? She seems to know how to push your friend’s buttons without direct confrontation.

  5. Billy's Buddy
    9:33 am on December 4th, 2014

    I like that short and sweet review.

    Last night Rio used the word “snuffkin.” Isn’t that the coolest word?

    Have a good day today!

  6. BearSpiritDog
    9:45 am on December 4th, 2014

    Hi, Everyone.
    Like the Latest Review, the Days are getting Shorter.
    But Sweeter? Don’t know about that. Kinda looking forward to the Winter Solstice.

    Billy’s Buddy: You just cheered me up. Love Rio’s new word Snuffkin too!

  7. Tupper's Mama
    10:49 am on December 4th, 2014

    Morning all.
    We love Rio’s chuffles and snuffkins and gruffles.

    Of course, they probably drive Prof Bee right out of her easy chair.

    tee hee

  8. dawson
    11:01 am on December 4th, 2014

    Gah!

  9. Masquers
    11:04 am on December 4th, 2014

    Ah, if only all reviews were so short and sweet (the last line was the best).
    I am adding the cuddly new word to the Plunderer lexicon.
    Dawson: Gah?

  10. BARB, MAGGIE AND LUCY
    11:26 am on December 4th, 2014

    Yea, snuffkin. We like it.

    Dawson, what is the Gah all about?

    I tried the boiling water with a little Vics last night and it really helped. Not a cure, but it definiitely opened up the sinuses and made it easier to go to sleep. Reminded me that as a little girl, my mom used to put Vics on my chest and then I had to wear an undeshirt to bed. Dog, how I hated that! Thanks, Bee.

  11. c.hobbit
    11:40 am on December 4th, 2014

    What a world indeed…

    Mama Cat of 6 had all her kittens go this last week. She does not want to be downstairs with the other mama cat and 2 kittens. So I let her out and she happily wanders around meowing. Do I faintly hear “free at last, free at last, thank God All Mighty, free at last?” Sadie worried.

    Mama cat of 2 remaining kittens hides behind the toilet in the downstairs bathroom. Actively not wanting her kittens to nurse even a little bit. Her 2 kittens leave tonight and includes my favorite!

  12. Tupper's Mama
    11:43 am on December 4th, 2014

    CHobbit – it will be interesting to see if the two Mama Kitties will bond after all the little ones are gone – comparing notes, sympathizing, and bemoaning the last of the little teeth marks on “sensitive” places.

  13. BearSpiritDog
    11:44 am on December 4th, 2014

    Barb,Magpie,Lucy: Nana tells me that the Golden Oldie, Vicks Vaporub, was the Cure-All in her childhood days too.

    C.Hobbit: Is Sadie worried Mama Cat will stay?
    I forgot…Which one was your Favorite?

  14. O'Howlers
    11:55 am on December 4th, 2014

    Mornin’ (barely).
    What does snufkin mean? Is it happy? We need happy.
    Vicks vaporub: Mom says that was the go-to remedy when she was a child too. But her mom used to safety pin an old (clean) diaper on top, so Barb’s undershirt sounds pretty good here.

  15. Herd of Hounds
    12:04 pm on December 4th, 2014

    OH, our mom is with you and the diaper with vick’s treatment, but dog if it didn’t generally work. Also used a vaporizer with a glob of vick’s where the steam came out. Mom say she is just glad for vick’s other wise her Papa’s remedy was to “greaze her with goose grease”…..GAH and double gah!

  16. Tupper's Mama
    12:48 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Howlers – this is specially for you.
    And for all the rest of us too.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-GLuydiMe4

  17. c.hobbit
    12:50 pm on December 4th, 2014

    BSD: One of the kittens I named Bear and his twin broth Chub Cub. They were so identical that I put red and green paper collars on them to tell them apart. Bear from the first was “pick of the litter.” First at the food dish, first to play, etc. (I used to call him Bossy Butt). He attached himself to me and became my little shadow. He never warmed up to any visitor who came to look at the kittens. However, both he and his brother are going to the same home so that is good.

    Sadie is worried about the mama cats staying and so am I. They will be spayed Dec 18 and after Christmas will be posted on the website. Older cats are a harder sell than kittens and one it particular will need more socialization. I did tell the foster organization that I cannot foster any more until these two have been adopted.

    Feel lazy today. Will do housework instead of working out.

  18. Herd of Hounds
    12:58 pm on December 4th, 2014

    CHobbit: mom looks at housework as a “four letter word” (work), but today is rake leaves outta the great room and rearrange the dust :( Also a dollop of laundry.

  19. B.Stover
    1:06 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Barb: I’m glad it helped.

    I don’t mind Rio’s words. (There is only one thing that makes me cringe and everyone knows what it is.)

  20. dawson
    1:26 pm on December 4th, 2014

    The kittens are being holy terrors this morning. Dad would not get out of bed. “I don’t feel like it”, he said, although yesterday he invited company over for this morning. I cut up some expensive cheese and set it on the table with some yummy grapes. What,was I thinking? While I was in the kitchen shelling some eggs the kitties were having a feast! I rescued most of the cheese but now every time I leave the room, they are both up on the table, even though the cheese is long gone. They have been running back and forth knocking things over left and right. Crash! Goes the gate to the stairs! Give me that rubber band! Where did you find that? Get out of Dad’s chair before he sits on you (in slow motion). Dad decided to get up as soon as his company left. I’m ready for a nap.
    CHobbit: I give you mucho credit for sponsoring all those kitties!

  21. Billy's Buddy
    1:39 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Kittens, Vick’s Vaporub, lots going on today!

    Concerning yesterday’s postings on Trader Joe’s: I enjoy going there to purchase scone mixes. There are two kinds — chocolate chip and mixed berries. My family loves both of them. And as kind of a confession, I bake these also for some of the humane organizations/rescues that I support. Everyone is excited to get them. They say that scones are something usually not found at bake sales and sell quickly. I am embarrassed to admit that they are the easies baking ever. Just add water!

    I hope that Rio’s friend’s mother is behaving herself today.

  22. O'Howlers
    1:41 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Tupper’s Maw, Thanks, but that song just doesn’t do it for us Howlers.
    Dawson is cracking us up. What did she think? That kittens would train themselves? Nope! She needs a strong paw. We can send Mama Meash to do the disciplinin’.

  23. Herd of Hounds
    2:13 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Perhaps Dawson should take a class in “Cat Herding” :)

  24. BearSpiritDog
    2:41 pm on December 4th, 2014

    C.Hobbit: A Cat Namesake and one with the Same Endearing Traits as Me?
    I am Honored.

    Dawson: What was Staff thinking leaving you alone to Entertain Guests and Kittysit? They are beginning to sound like Unruly Kids.

    Tupper&Gilly: We have a Trader Joe’s, but not near here. Wish it was closer…love their merchandise.

  25. BearSpiritDog
    2:43 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Hounds: Cat Herding, Rearranging the Dust and doing a Dollop of Laundry. Love it!

  26. Herd of Hounds
    2:48 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Mom checked and the closest Trader Joes to Chattanooga, TN is 89.6 miles away in Knoxville (2 hrs….like everything else!)

  27. Herd of Hounds
    2:49 pm on December 4th, 2014

    BSD, back at ‘cha.

  28. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:23 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Books!…My friend just sent me a text on my little Go-Phone. She says she is going to leave her special pawtographed books downstairs…sniff!…But she is not going to leave them scattered willy-nilly in the back dark bedroom, the one that has spiders…grump!…No she is going to move toss some of mothers old stuff back into that bedroom and move the little bookcase out into the living room where we do stuff like the computer and the tv and her quilling….wheeze!…This way she can look at those books whenever she wants by golly…heh!

  29. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:35 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Move!…The best thing to do would be to move everything out of mothers house, except Beau, and go somewhere else….snort!…But my friend says with the demand for housing in this area there is no way we could afford anything except for my other house….sneeze!…She would have to kick some people out first and she is not willing to put a whole family on the streets just so we can have our own place…grunt!…She says that family can’t afford anything except my little house either…sniff!…We are damned if we do and very damned if we don’t…grumble!

  30. Herd of Hounds
    4:36 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Oh by gosh and golly! Rio has gone off the trolley!

  31. dawson
    4:59 pm on December 4th, 2014

    HOH: Up North we use bear grease.

    The kitties have found a clear plastic garbage bag containing some bits and boobles and they have been entertaining themselves for an hour jumping inside the bag and onto each other.Oh,oh, they have now left that toy and are up on my dresser and bed searching through tne unorganization of my starting-to-pack piles.

  32. Herd of Hounds
    5:04 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Mayhaps throwing the little one into a closet or a LARGE baggie would help. :)

  33. Herd of Hounds
    5:08 pm on December 4th, 2014

    OOps, our bad, poooooooor widdle pusses!

  34. Tupper's Mama
    5:27 pm on December 4th, 2014

    We got Cubby a “crinkle tube”. It came from Wally World, it is a tunnel tube big enough for a kitty, with a porthole in the side. The outer wall makes a sound like a plastic crinkly water bottle.
    CubKat spends hours in there – I swear we can hear him giggling.

  35. dawson
    5:46 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Staff bought a crinkle tube for Abby but since the kitties got to it first, Abby wanted nothing to do with it. It is in the kitties room but I haven’t noticed them using it. They sure like this garbage bag, though. Right now they are quiet and I can’t find them. I hope that means they are sleeping.

  36. Staff
    5:53 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Dawson sent me a picture of Henry after he dusted behind the fridge. Man what a dust bunny he is.

  37. Staff
    5:55 pm on December 4th, 2014

    I suspect she got him to hold still by feeding him. Gosh he is getting big!

  38. dawson
    6:24 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Staff: You are right. I could not get a picture that did justice to the amount of dust with which he was covered.

  39. Tupper's Mama
    6:30 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Staff – we thought he was a BLACK kitty

    tee hee

  40. Masquers
    6:45 pm on December 4th, 2014

    That’s not a kitty…that’s a Kat!

  41. Herd of Hounds
    6:51 pm on December 4th, 2014

    This is NOT a kat…it is a PANTHER

  42. Herd of Hounds
    6:52 pm on December 4th, 2014

    It is HUGE and nasty and awful!

  43. Tupper's Mama
    7:03 pm on December 4th, 2014

    That is not a Panther.
    That us a dust mop

  44. O'Howlers' Mom
    7:07 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Aww he looks like Bubba, one of the best cats ever.

  45. Herd of Hounds
    7:09 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Y’all are cracking us up! Best cat ever? Dust mop? Give us a break!

  46. Wookie's and Teddy's Dad
    7:14 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Long day here in Chevy Chase, especially for young Ruff Rider. For the last couple of days, Teddy has been favoring the left side of his mouth in terms of chewing. When it didn’t get better yesterday, we had our v-e-t (a home v-e-t) visit, but she checked him out quite carefully and found nothing amiss. This morning when he did not want breakfast (although we took a walk and he seemed fine on his walk), we headed out to the speciality v-e-t in our area, where we spent eight hours with him prodded, checked, sedated and the verdict is, there is nothing wrong with him, thank dog (with a lot of awful possibilities all ruled out). The v-e-t thinks he may just have bitten down too hard on something and just bruised the inside of his mouth. She gave us an anti-infalmmaatory and he will be on soft food and treats for a couple of days, but hopefully that will take care of it. He was a real trooper throughout, actually holding up much better than either his mom or dad.

    On a separate subject from last night, Debbie swears by Vicks as a cure for just about anything.

  47. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    7:18 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Did you try Vicks on the roof of Teddy’s mouth?

  48. Masquers
    7:24 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Barb! Lol.

  49. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    7:24 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Is anyone watching the Peter Pan special tonight? It has certainly gotten a lot of notice this week. Guess it pays to be Brian William’s daughter. LOL. Just kidding. We like Williams, and his daughter is very cute and talented. It’s just that Peter Pan has never been a favorite here, neither the story or the past musicals. So, I think I will watch Bones and Gracepoint. This is the 9th of 10 in the series of GP, so we will be glued to the tube.

  50. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    7:39 pm on December 4th, 2014

    I am not making light of Teddy’s medical issues today. I was just chuckling, picturing any self respecting dog allowing god awful Vicks to be smeared on the roof of his mouth.

  51. BearSpiritDog
    7:50 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Teddy: We are Very Happy to hear neither Vet could find any problems.
    What a Good Dog you were during the Exam!

  52. The Committee to Stamp Out Ungrateful Relatives
    7:59 pm on December 4th, 2014

    We wonder what would happen if Rio’s friend smeared Vicks on the mother.

  53. Riö -The Evil Pug
    8:13 pm on December 4th, 2014

    SOUR!…snort!chorkel!…Now that is funny…heh!

  54. Riö -The Evil Pug
    8:17 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Teddy!…Way to figure out how to keep both your Maw and Paw by your side all day long!….WOOOOO!….Who’s a good trickster?…heh!

    Mother!…She offered to drag all someones precious books back upstairs tonight, but my friend said not to bother and don’t touch them again…grunt!

    Jewels!…Has any of youse guys seen the Jerry Lewis movie, “The Family Jewels”?…snort!….It is one of our very favorites and we are settling in to watch it under the Free Movies OnDemand offers….chuffle!

  55. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:34 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Rio, Barb is always interested in a person’s motives. Did your friend’s maw give any indication why she took them all to the basement in the first place?

  56. Tupper and Gilly
    8:42 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Barb – we have been watching Peter Pan
    We think we will be changing channels soon.
    So far we are underwhelmed. Christopher Walken playing Johnny Depp.
    Nope. Not impressed

  57. Riö -The Evil Pug
    8:47 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Motive!…Mother said she thought my friend said she wanted them downstairs….grunt!….Actually, the conversation went like this about 2 weeks ago. “You should…”, by the way, most of mothers conversations start with ‘You should’. Here is how it went, “You should take those books downstairs.” At this point my friend looked at her and said, “I don’t know…” because she really did not want them downstairs because there is NO ROOM for them downstairs…grump!…Then all of a sudden after the long Thanksgiving holiday where my friend did not show any sign of taking them downstairs, mother decided she would do it. These books were in my friends bedroom for years not bothering anybody ..sniff!…Now they are homeless…grump!

  58. Herd of Hounds
    8:51 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Nana the dog in Peters Pan was written by JBarrie as a Newfoundland…NOT a bernard like Disney shows. We like Newfies!

  59. O'Howlers
    9:07 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Good news on the Ruff Rider front. Whew! It’s about time good news comes our way, huh?
    Who’s a good dog?

    We just now sat down to watch t.v., even though Pop must be at work at 4am. So we will say good night, as we expect them to talk us all into going up to bed momentarily.

  60. Herd of Hounds
    9:11 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Our PBS is doing an update on Downton Abby. Some Ho-Hum and som new intresting bits.

  61. BooBear
    9:37 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Teddy, you take care of yourself. You worried your Mom and Dad alot today. I’m glad all is okay.

    Rio, your friend shows the patience of Job with Mother. Mom learned while taking care of her parents in their later years, that older folks often do strange things that don’t seem to make any sense. Mother probably thought she was really helping your friend by moving the books for her. Doesn’t make it right that she didn’t respect your friends space but her motives may be good.

    PS. You wouldn’t really leave Beau behind, would you?

  62. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    10:05 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Night all. Sweet dreams.

  63. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:06 pm on December 4th, 2014

    BooBear!…My friend is fast running out of patience lately. I think her mother gets bored sitting around here with me and Beau all day long and thinks up things to do – even if it involves going into someone else’s bedroom and moving priceless possessions without consent or ((shudder)) careful care….grump!…There was absolutely no reason to move the books or the baseballs, or the special cards or the Plunderer Passport. They were not in the way, they were exactly where my friend wanted them. …grumble!…Well enough ado over this. It’s time to get over it and get on with other things…sniff!

  64. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:12 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Peter-Pan!…We have it on, but it’s not very compelling…yet…sniff!…One thing to mention, years ago, many many years ago a play called, “Into The Woods” was very popular. I see they have made it into a Movie….snort!…I would love to see the movie, the play was absolutely incredible! Someone here recorded the play on Video Tape, which we have no way to view anymore….sob!

  65. Staff
    11:24 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Rio, Your friend could come to the farm. Mr.Staff still has a video tape player.

    I am sorry Dawson is having trouble with the kittens but she is too soft hearted to mist them with water and say (sternly) “NO” when they are bad. And when I do it she protests and cuddles them and tells them how mean I am. Snort. So she is in some ways the problem here. Snicker.

  66. Riö -The Evil Pug
    11:28 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Staff!…No way!…yeeeep!….I bet you have never put in a good word about me to Mr.FireSlippers, have you? I doubt he would ever let me use his Video Player…grunt!…Oh wait, you said “friend”….bah!

  67. Staff
    11:43 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Well Rio, I know you can’t leave the yard so it has to be your friend. Doesn’t it?

  68. Tupper's Mama
    11:48 pm on December 4th, 2014

    Staff – that misting thing and saying “NO!” – does that only work on four-leggeds?

  69. Staff
    12:09 am on December 5th, 2014

    I recently used it on Mr.Staff when he was being ‘funny’. It seemed effective at the time. How is Leonard doing with his cold anyway? Not that that has anything to do with your wish to find out the effectiveness of misting…cough cough cough…

  70. Staff
    12:13 am on December 5th, 2014

    Mr.Staff claims to have no recollection of being funny</strike misted so I cannot comment any more about it.

  71. Staff
    12:14 am on December 5th, 2014

    Mr.Staff claims to have no recollection of being funny misted so I cannot comment any more about it.

    grump Must be time for bed.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia