Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars – It’s a dog’s life, who wouldn’t want to live it? September 20, 2014

mikeyman57 on The Sound and the Furry:

A great fun read. It’s a dog’s life and Chet the dog is Bernie’s partner in a detective agency. A serious mystery as told from a dog’s perspective. Fun, witty, and a great read.

Note: Still working on a fix for the Friends gallery. No uploading possible at this time.

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Saturday, September 20th, 2014 at 8:20 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

76 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Trisha in UK
    8:32 am on September 20th, 2014

    Wow, am I the first? Wondering about the “corking otter”. Please explain!

  2. Kat
    8:54 am on September 20th, 2014

    Good morning! A great fun read, indeed. Heh heh!

    Trisha, “corking otter” is auto-correct’s way of auto-correcting the word “auto-correct”.

  3. Trisha in UK
    9:07 am on September 20th, 2014

    Thanks, I’ve been trying to work out what it could be and would never have guessed that!

  4. B.Stover
    9:20 am on September 20th, 2014

    Good morning all.

  5. Herd of Hounds
    9:36 am on September 20th, 2014

    Good morning, everyone. Mom is staying under the quilt again most of today. Never fear, we’re doing our jobs holding her down, keeping her warm and getting water.
    Is there something redundant and repetative in that random review?
    Have a swell Saturday…no more brain power left here…back to bed.

  6. Tupper's Mama
    9:39 am on September 20th, 2014

    Good morning all. Did you see the picture of Nana in Hong Kong? Woo Hoo.
    Hi Trisha. Good to hear from you. Don’t we just drive you crazy with our americanisms?

  7. Billy's Buddy
    9:40 am on September 20th, 2014

    Good morning all.

    Exciting to have Trisha in UK on the blog.

    Was happy to see the picture of Nana on yesterday’s post. She’s alive! She’s alive!

    Feel better HOH.

  8. Billy's Buddy
    9:41 am on September 20th, 2014

    You beat me to it, Tupper’s Mama! Good morning to you.

  9. Mollypop's Mom
    9:49 am on September 20th, 2014

    The word ‘auto-correct’ becomes ‘otter corked’ when it is auto-corrected which we bloggers then turn into ‘corking otters.’ How is that said with a British accent?

  10. Tupper's Mama
    9:49 am on September 20th, 2014

    Good morning right back at ya, BB.
    And HOH, you do right by your mom today – no antics(Dara Thea, this means YOU) Make sure she rests!

  11. dawson
    11:07 am on September 20th, 2014

    Aurora borealis!
    The Northern Lights have been amazing lately but the night before last was pulsating rainbow lights. Beautiful!

    Carpola!
    I’m up in the middle of the night because my bum shoulder hurts. The chiropractor and physiotherapist both think that, since I am not responding favorably to their ministrations, I have a tear in there that may require surgery. They are suggesting I ask the doctor for an MRI.

    I’m torn between getting the yard ready for winter and getting ready for another garage sale before winter. Consequently, I am getting neither done. I am going to make a decision tomorrow. Possibly.

    I hope our FOC Gallery can get fixed before the end of the month.

    Shout out to Wose: I ran across your photos of your Alaska trip. Now that I’ve been there, they are even more meaningful.

    I’ll meet anyone who is feeling under the weather, under the quilt.

    Nana! Looking good after staying up all day and night and flying around the world!

  12. Siber-H
    11:25 am on September 20th, 2014

    A short but happy review.

    HOH, We hope your mom feels better soon. Take good care of her.

    A picture surfaces from Nana’s secret mission. I wonder how she got the photo out of Hong Kong’s black hole of communications, but I am glad she did.

    Rio, With last night’s win, the Rockies got themselves out of last place in their division.

  13. Trisha in UK
    12:22 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Corking Otter would make a great name for a racehorse.
    Not sure it would be pronounced any differently in ‘British’ English, but ‘corking’ used to be UK slang for ‘super’ – well before my time though.

  14. dawson
    12:25 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Everyone have a corking good day!

    I’m off to the farmer’s market and then something new – a tai chi class.

  15. Wolfie
    12:50 pm on September 20th, 2014

    All is well here in hot and sunny California.

    We petitioned the court and Jace is home for good!

    No local fires, but the skies are gray and hazy from a big burn near Sacramento.

  16. Diane C.
    1:23 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Wolfie! Relieved to hear from you and happy at your (corking)good news.
    Liz–I seem to recall my father referring to something he liked a lot as “a corker” so maybe the common language doesn’t divide us as much as we might think. Also, if it’s any comfort, I’m still often confused by the specialized jargon of this blog (“otter corked” was one of my first questions, but there are other things as well, not least the fact that some folks are addressed by multiple names…)
    HOH–Are you hydrating your Mom adequately? Does she have sufficient reading material under the quilt? Should I be sending anything to speed her recovery?
    The Nana sighting is comforting; the review, with double use of “read” as a noun must be giving someone fits. (And starting to annoy me, too…)

  17. Diane C.
    1:24 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Wolfie! Relieved to hear from you and happy at your (corking)good news.
    Liz–I seem to recall my father referring to something he liked a lot as “a corker” so maybe the common language doesn’t divide us as much as we might think. Also, if it’s any comfort, I’m still often confused by the specialized jargon of this blog (“otter corked” was one of my first questions, but there are other things as well, not least the fact that some folks are addressed by multiple names…)
    HOH–Are you hydrating your Mom adequately? Does she have sufficient reading material under the quilt? Should I be sending anything to speed her recovery?
    The Nana sighting is comforting; the review, with double use of “read” as a noun must be giving someone fits. (And starting to annoy me, too…)

  18. Diane C.
    1:25 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Hmm…speaking of Dawson, enjoy the Tai Chi…

  19. Barb & Maggie
    2:32 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Just a quick hello and then we will be back later. Hope all is well on the blog.

  20. Junior
    3:37 pm on September 20th, 2014

    We’ve had an eyebrow sighting! Last night, my Lady called Harris to her. She said in the black night all she could see was two tan eyebrows running toward her. At least we know Harris’ eyebrows are near, but this causes me great concern. What if they wander off and get lost? Senior, please advise.

    Actually, I’m going to open this up to the group—if you have any experience in returning wayward eyebrows to their rightful owner, I’d appreciate your guidance. I want to get this mentoring thing right.

    I am initiating an official BOLO for Harris’ eyebrows. If mine are located in the process, I won’t be disappointed. Things you should know about Harris and I: We are the same, but we are different. Harris and I are a similar make and model except for she’s a she. We are both black dogs with tan hither, thither, and yes, even yon. My Lady says I’m a good boy—I must get this from the evil pug side of my family. My Lady says Harris, the pup not the Hobbit is a hellion whatever that means.

  21. Scout
    3:38 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Saturday! Should be called “I have Mom’s lap nearly all day” day. Whatever “teaching school” is, it gets in my way. Anyway, mom has been wondering when the next great auction will be.

  22. Billy's Buddy
    3:53 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Junior: I don’t know about eyebrows, but I know that I love black dogs with tan located hither, thither, and yon.

  23. Siber-H
    3:56 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Scout, I think the auction is suppose to be around Thanksgiving.

  24. Tupper's Mama
    4:43 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Eyebrow lookout – got it. We haven’t seen them at the beach, or in the water, or at the lobster place. Will keep looking.
    For now the Dtoryteller and I are off for a seafood dinner, followed by ice cream at our favorite beach overlook. Sounds romantic, right? It should be, because on this day 29 years ago, I said the magic words “I do” to the handsomest Storyteller I ever met.
    sigh, swoon……

  25. Riö -The Evil Pug
    5:16 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Anniversary!…Happy One Golinka! Have a happy one! …snort!

  26. Riö -The Evil Pug
    5:19 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Nanasan!…She looks very tired. I received very little info about her flight home which is “early Sunday Hong Kong time”…grunt!…It is now 5:20am approx in Hong Hong on Sunday morning…yeeep!

  27. Riö -The Evil Pug
    5:27 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Time!…There is one flight out of Hong Kong on Sept. 21 at 10:35am HK time…snort!….I’m pretty darn sure this is the flight she will be on…grunt!…Means she will take off at 10:35pm blog-time and 8:35pm me and SiberH’s time tonight…wheeze!

  28. Riö -The Evil Pug
    5:29 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Question!…How come Kat received a photo of Nanasan and I DID NOT?…grump!

  29. Siber-H
    5:45 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Rio, I wondered the same thing about the picture, but I wasn’t going to ask. However, since you asked….

    Nana will be flying home tonight while we sleep. I am relieved she is coming home.

    Happy Anniversary Royals!!!

  30. Riö -The Evil Pug
    6:32 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Game!…heh!…5 ta 1 Rockies so far…snort!

  31. Billy's Buddy
    6:33 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Happy Anniversary you youngsters!

  32. Barb & Maggie
    6:41 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Happy Anniversary to two of my favorite people. 29 years ago Golinka must have been a mere child!

  33. c.hobbit
    6:42 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Still trying to find my “get up and go” today. Still planning to work in the garage for a bit. Snack first….

  34. Lefty the Well-mannered Gentledog
    6:47 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Golinka: Happy anniversary! Junior appreciates you keeping your eyes peeled for brows.

  35. Riö -The Evil Pug
    6:57 pm on September 20th, 2014

    WIN!….The Butler did it!…snort!…Eddy Butler, a new pitcher, has won his first game as a Rockie…snorkel!…Hope he sticks around for next season….heh!

  36. Riö -The Evil Pug
    6:58 pm on September 20th, 2014

    CHobbit!…No snacking without me!..grunt!…Remember all that weight you lost when we were a’visiting you…chuffle!

  37. Siber-H
    6:59 pm on September 20th, 2014

    The Rockies won again!!

  38. Barb & Maggie
    7:04 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Not a great picture, but this was taken when Lucy’s adoption was finalized. Not easy to get Maggie to sit still when company was here.

  39. Mollypop's Mom
    7:09 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Maggers, that’s a lovely picture of your family. Your skinny Mom and sister Lucy. Just beautiful.

  40. B.Stover
    7:15 pm on September 20th, 2014

    The picture of Nana was on Facebook.

  41. Herd of Hounds
    7:19 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Just a quick note to let y’all know mom has read the blog and we did our level best, honestly:
    (Blondie) I jumped up pn the bed while mom was under the Cheetah throw. Looks and smells kat like. I volunteered to eat it and got put off the bed for my efforts :(
    (Darah Thea) Just like DianeC. said I brought in water to help keep mom hydrated. She wasn’t even interested. Go figure!
    (Lucy Lou)I laid beside mom to keep her still and warm. The soft throw looked and smelled like Kats! I just gave dainty licks to help clean the Kats off. She didn’t even notice :)

  42. Herd of Hounds' mom
    7:28 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Out HOH so I can get a word in edgewise.
    1) Happy 29 years to A&L :)
    2)B&M&L, nice foto.
    3)Wolfie, yeah for Jace!
    4)Dawson, we will help stock the quilt for tonight.
    5)DianeC. Mom has read everything in the house, many multiple times.
    6) JR, glad the eyebrows have been spotted. We will keep an eye out here for marauding eyebrows.
    7) Pixie, you are wrong about the Hellion. She is in Tennessee and named Blondie.
    Hopefully I will be better tomorrow. If not tip top then at least tip :)

  43. Barb & Maggie
    7:34 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Good news about Jace. Hope the tranquility continues. You deserve it, Wolfie.

    Feel better, Sharon.

  44. Siber-H
    7:49 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Stover, Thank you. The mystery is solved and thanks to Kat for posting the photo.

    Maggie, Very nice picture of you and your family.

  45. Billy's Buddy
    8:38 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Great family photo of Lucy, Barb, and Maggie!

    Thundering and raining here in Wisconsin all of a sudden.

  46. Diane C.
    8:45 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Golinka and Storyteller–Bright blessings on this Anniversary and may it only be one of so many to come.
    HOH’s Mom–You sound like you might be feeling a bit better–if so, do you know about Project Gutenberg? (Free books on the Internet, scanned to the site by volunteers. Not usually the most current offerings, but some nice out-of-print things and you can’t beat the price…)
    Barb and Maggie–what a great photo! what a great family!
    Darah Thea–Who’s a good girl? (Also Blondie, also Lucy Lou)
    I wish I could help with the eyebrow thing, but I really can’t contribute anything helpful.
    Dawson–Alternating heat and cold? Maybe a strengthening cocktail?
    C. Hobbit–If your get up and go hasn’t returned, maybe it’s a sign that you should take it easy (plus maybe a strengthening cocktail…)
    I’d better try and get to the gym before it closes (or I decide to strengthen myself…)

  47. Mollypop's Mom
    9:19 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Diane, what is a strengthening cocktail? I could use one.

  48. Tupper's Mama
    9:34 pm on September 20th, 2014

    We both thank you all for your good wishes. Sometimes we look back and are astonished at how many years we have been together. And thank goodness, we still really like spending time with each other.

    It has been strange to be here without the Corgis. But we are kind of glad they didn’t come as we have had some VERY cold weather, and being a beach cottage, there is no insulation. The floors would have been too cold for little Royal bellies – especially for my gently aged Queen.

    We enjoy every moment here, but I will admit to looking forward to seeing our babies on Monday.

  49. c.hobbit
    9:39 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Tupper’s Mama: I am glad you had a great anniversary trip and day. I don’t understand houses with no insulation as insulation even helps in hot weather.

    Diane C.: I put primer on Sadie’s new doghouse and will put the first coat of paint on tonight. Second coat tomorrow morning and then done. Tackling the garage right now seems overwhelming but that’s the next project.

  50. Riö -The Evil Pug
    9:51 pm on September 20th, 2014

    CHobbit!…Your garage is so big I bet me and my friend could live there comfortably – if is it insulated that is…grunt!

  51. Barb & Maggie
    9:55 pm on September 20th, 2014

    C Hobbit, We here did some priming on the new window, and will put a coat of paint on tomorrow if we are rain free.

    Heading to our soft warm bed now. Night all.

  52. Billy's Buddy
    9:56 pm on September 20th, 2014

    I think everything appears brighter after a strengthening cocktail.

  53. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:01 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Cocktail!…Someone here thinks that is a very good idea right about now…heh!heh!

  54. c.hobbit
    10:04 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Rio: why live in the garage when there is a 2-bedroom apartment downstairs? Plus I need to start parking the car inside soon. You surprise me.

    Tomorrow I might go out and get a couple of garage shelving units so I can get stuff up off the floor. I had hope to not have to do that but unpacking boxes is still a process. Once the floor is clear I can hose spray the cement. Even with vacuuming a sweeping, it is surprisingly dusty.

  55. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:06 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Flight!…If my calculations are correct…wheeze!…Then our Nanasan is surely on a plane right now in Hong Kong waiting to get the ball rolling and fly home to the Seattle area…sniff!…30 minutes and counting right now…sniff!

  56. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:08 pm on September 20th, 2014

    CHobbit!…I put dibbs on the 2 bedroom apartment right now…snort!…How much down-payment do you need?…wheeze!

  57. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:11 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Payment!…Let’s see, I have a bag of treats only half eaten, some small milk bones, hardly touched…sniff!…Some Teeth Cleaning Greenies, and some other kind of Greenies for Joints that neither of us will give up for love or money…growl!…Those are the BEST!

  58. MTMP
    10:33 pm on September 20th, 2014

    I am a black dog with tan hither, thither, yon and yes, even eyebrows. SPOILER ALERT!!! Junior have you ever seen a mirror?

  59. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:36 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Taxiing!….Nanasan is now taxiing onto the run-away…snort!

  60. MTMP
    10:48 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Hey Pug, we bid three barely nibbled Nylabones, two slightly slobbered chewies, most of a bag of blueberry cookies (really tasty) and all of Belle’s chew toys. We really like that apartment at CHobbit’s. If necessary we will throw in an extra long Slim Jim.

  61. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:52 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Take-offf!….Nanasan’s plane has taken off for home sweet home…snorkel!…This trip is only about 11 hours and 20 minutes…gasp!…I hope she eats and sleeps. Eats and sleeps…snuffle!wheeze!

  62. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:53 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Gah!…I am sure CHobbit likes me best and will give me and my friend the apartment…wheeze!

  63. ML
    10:56 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Barb, looking svelte, and a nice family picture.

    Wolfie, so glad to hear about Jace.

    Sharon, stay under that quilt as long as necessary! Take care of your sweet self.

    A&L, Congrats on 29 years.

    Nana, safe flying

    And everything else that I am too sleepy to remember.

    Nighty Nachos

  64. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:58 pm on September 20th, 2014

    CHobbit!…I put this guy up for down-paw-ment on your apartment! ..snort!

  65. MTMP
    10:58 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Yeah, but she has to fumigate the place after you leave.

  66. Riö -The Evil Pug
    11:00 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Win!…Looks like the minpin gave up and went home defeated…heh!heh!…Spencer may or may not really be up for being a down-payment…chuffle!

  67. ML
    11:06 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Min-Pin never gives up!
    She is just gathering her resources.

    Did any Evanovich fans notice the “Damn Skippy” decal in the picture, behind Spence? Damn Skippy!

  68. Tupper's Mama
    11:09 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Hobbit – we would love to bid on the lovely apartment, but we have a feeling that we would have to deal with S * N * O * W – not our favorite thing.
    So we will stay web pals, and live vicariously ( and warmly) from here.

    Glad to hear that Nana is headed home. We can’t wait to hear what precipitated this sudden trip.

    Barb – you are indeed svelt and lovely. Very proud of you and your efforts. And the puppies look great too.

    Heading for bed. Looking forward to one last day at the beach.

  69. Riö -The Evil Pug
    11:20 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Evanovich!…Long time ago someone was a Evanavich fan, but then wasn’t…snort!…So Damn Skippy has no meaning for us here…grunt!..But I did notice it.

  70. Riö -The Evil Pug
    11:22 pm on September 20th, 2014

    SNOW!!…I wonder if my friend says she would shovel all the snow off the deck we could get a discount on the Rent…sniff!

  71. Staff
    11:24 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Whew! Back to the motel from the TOGA tonight. We had the raffle and I came back with all the machines I went in with and an extra treadle. How did that happen???

    Sheesh.

    Jace home for good. Great news Mary!

    Nana, All this traveling. I hope you will have an explanation when you return.

    Amalia and Leonard, Happy Anniversary!

    Sharon, Stay well under the quilt. I am glad you are using the cheetah throw. Isn’t it a pleasure to rest under?

    Junior. I had some of my hairs cut last Thursday and the wonder fluffer said she would trim my eyebrows. Do you have any wonderfluffers at the kennel? Maybe they could help you. My wonderfluffer seemed to have not trouble at all finding eyebrows.

  72. Riö -The Evil Pug
    11:28 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Home!…Is a long, long way off for our Nanasan…wheeze!

  73. Riö -The Evil Pug
    11:32 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Thought!…When someone asks if they can trim your eyebrows, you might be in trouble and should probably say, “Yes”…heh!heh!…You probably have Bernie Eyebrows and don’t know it – till now…snort!

  74. Siber-H
    11:40 pm on September 20th, 2014

    Nana’s on a direct flight…not going by way of Anchorage this time. This will be quicker. I hope she has a restful flight.

    Junior, Just get some tan eye makeup to fix your eyebrows. Any Siber worth his salt can show you how to apply it.

    Night All

  75. Diane C.
    8:56 am on September 21st, 2014

    C. Hobbit–Oh, well done! Kudos to you.
    MPM–A strengthening cocktail is whatever you fancy–I got the “strengthening” part from a P.G. Wodehouse story which I feel puts the proper spin on this particular beverage.

  76. Diane C.
    8:58 am on September 21st, 2014

    …Billy’s Buddy and Rio understand the SC ritual…(and I DID make it to the gym).

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia