Random Amazon Review We Like

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Chet and Bernie Book – July 21, 2014
 
This time Hollywood comes to town, and the movie people get the same Spencer Quinn treatment as the characters in his other books–honest and even biting at times, yet ultimately human and, most of all, funny as hell. Chet and Bernie are wonderful as usual, as are all of the regulars who pop up in all of the books in the series. Chet is one of my all-time favorite characters. He’s a constant reminder of what all of us outside of the nation within should be…loyal, hardworking, always living in the moment, and happy with life’s gifts, large and small. I’ve read all of the books in the series, and re-read them again and again, and I never get tired of Chet and his positive outlook on life, and Spencer Quinn’s wicked sense of humor.
Welcome to the gallery new friends: Bandit; Chet (! )
Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Tuesday, July 29th, 2014 at 7:41 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

77 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Diane C.
    8:12 am on July 29th, 2014

    whoa–I’m first?!? A Happy Tuesday and much better weather to one and all. (Good thing global warming is just a hoax or it might be really freaky out there…)

  2. Herd of Hounds
    8:14 am on July 29th, 2014

    Good morning, everyone! Welcome Chet, nice ears, and Bandit, truly beautiful.
    WE liked that review too. We figured the book was AFOC, right? Mom and g-son ar headed toward the library. BBL

  3. Herd of Hounds
    8:17 am on July 29th, 2014

    Hey, DianeC., you snuck in there with that post. Have a tender Tuesday all. Oh, and remember, breakfast is the most important meal of the day.

  4. Diane C.
    8:32 am on July 29th, 2014

    Hey Sharon–thanks for the Spoons picture–I endorse the sentiment. (I’ve noticed that when I concentrate on breakfast first thing, it tends to just go on all day; works better if I get up and do some stuff first, then breakfast around 10-11, which also allows for some serious menu planning while I’m doing the other stuff.)
    What is AFOC?
    In case I’m not the only California here:
    State water regulators have made wasting water unlawful in California: The California Water Resources Control Board has voted to implement mandatory restrictions on certain outdoor watering practices in cities.

    Now prohibited:

    Overwatering lawns to the point of creating runoff
    Washing a car with a garden hose not fitted with a shutoff nozzle
    Hosing down driveways and sidewalks
    Using drinking water for ornamental fountains that don’t recirculate
    An infraction can carry a $500 fine per day of violation.

  5. Barb & Maggie
    9:04 am on July 29th, 2014

    Diane, A Fistful of Collars.

    That is one of the best reviews ever! I LOVE it. Extremely well written. He doesn’t say who wrote it, wonder if it was a Plunderer? Anyway it totally captures the heart and substance of the series. Did we say we loved it?

    Have a great day everyone. Hope ML is enjoying summer camp.

    Off to the office now. BBL

  6. O'Howlers
    9:32 am on July 29th, 2014

    Good morning, all. We just got caught up on last night’s posts. Youse guys were in rare form! Cracked us up.
    We like the review too. It was not Pop’s.
    Maggie, we are glad Barb is enjoying “retirement”.

  7. B.Stover
    9:59 am on July 29th, 2014

    Excellent review. I like the description of Chet.

    Good morning all.

  8. BearSpiritDog
    10:12 am on July 29th, 2014

    Good Review, Good new Friends of Chet, and a Good Morning All.

  9. Sage and Basil
    10:24 am on July 29th, 2014

    Good morning everyone. Mama is off to get groceries( she better get us Kat food!) and then getting shorn, shorn, shorn like a sheep. And wonder fluffing what’s left.
    Ought to be for kitty hysterics when she gets back.

    Humans are so weird. Why can’t they just lick their hair into place like we do?

  10. Dawson
    10:24 am on July 29th, 2014

    Good morning!

    Great pictures last night although the only thing upright (besides Abby the Kat) was Rio’s tongue. What an amazing appendage! What a great team.

    I got up and saw two eagles in the snag this morning so I rushed out to get a picture but by that time the eagles had gone and three crows were there instead. Now they are gone and I am waiting…hoping.

    Hi ML: Thinking of you at camp and missing you here.

    The eagles made me think of your folks this morning. They soar into uncharted territory, and they are well loved.

    Now I’m being visited by a racoon and a yellow cat. Interesting yard cousin Elly has.

  11. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:39 am on July 29th, 2014

    Dawson!…There is not enough room in my mouth for my tongue…snuffle!…Hence most of the time it is hanging through my snaggle-tooth teeth…heh!heh!

  12. Masquers
    11:46 am on July 29th, 2014

    We here are packing for the trip on Friday.
    Heading down to So. CA. for a week.

  13. Wose-the Small and Meek
    12:01 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Greetings!

    I was laughing so hard at last night’s pictures. Youse guys are too much!!

    Masquers, Youse are becoming quite the jetsetters!

  14. BearSpiritDog
    12:23 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Wose: One of our very Favorite Photos from yesterday is of Tenzing and Elim.

  15. Masquers
    12:52 pm on July 29th, 2014

    The foto(z) of Sage made quite an impression on moi.
    and Abbie tried her bestest to follow the rules. Heh.

  16. Siber-H
    1:03 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Excellent review! If I could write like that, I would write reviews.

    Diane, We have had similar water restrictions in place for years here, but the fine for wasting water is nowhere near $500.
    Every morning the Golden Arches washes down their entire parking lot with a hose, and they get away with it.

  17. Herd of Hounds
    1:05 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Dawson, we have a snag in our backyard that a pileated woodpecker hangs out in. No eagles there, though.

    Masquers, are you going to be able to meet DianeC. when you are in So. Cal? Take your passport just in case.

  18. Masquers
    1:29 pm on July 29th, 2014

    HOH: Meeting DianeC…don’t we wish!…only thing is dil has her typical whirlwind schedule planned. No time to even see our friend in the OC whilest in So. CA.
    We will take our passport just in case.

  19. Herd of Hounds
    1:34 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Pretty sure Diane is in the OC :) Ain’t mom helpful?

  20. Siber-H
    1:51 pm on July 29th, 2014

    What does OC stand for? All I can think of is Orange County.

  21. Masquers
    1:59 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Siber: You are right!

  22. Riö -The Evil Pug
    2:16 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Maskers!…Make sure youse guys aren’t in CA when the Big One hits…snort!

  23. Riö -The Evil Pug
    2:17 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Frenchie!…My friend says she wants a Frenchie…sniff!…I can’t imagine why. She has me and my ears must look just like that Frenchies ears…grump!

  24. Staff
    2:18 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Fun in the garden today…

  25. O'Howlers
    2:21 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Our mom has Garden Envy.

  26. Riö -The Evil Pug
    2:31 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Staffie!… You are looking quite spiffy today, if I must say so…sniff!…No surprise, but my friends tomatoes are not turning red…heh!heh!

  27. Herd of Hounds
    2:40 pm on July 29th, 2014

    GAH! Our mom put in 7 unidentified ‘mater plants and has more ‘maters than Heinz 57. She’s given away almost 30 lbs. so far this summer. Thank dog people say “yes” to summer ‘maters :)

  28. Herd of Hounds
    2:41 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Oh, and Rio, don’t worry, you are as cute as that Frenchie!

  29. Belle Starr
    2:44 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Wose and Wio: Please check your SDD!

  30. BearSpiritDog
    2:46 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Staff: Looking Good!

  31. Herd of Hounds
    2:48 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Staff, mom could hire gardeners and yours would still look better. Curses, garden person, why does ours look like a cultivated weed patch?

  32. B.Stover
    3:02 pm on July 29th, 2014

    That is a lovely tomato Staff.

  33. Tupper's Mama
    3:12 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Staff – that is indeed a lovely tomato. We have lots of greenies, but nothing red yet. And the mutant squash plant is bigger than ever.
    Yeep!

  34. Herd of Hounds
    3:17 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Tupper’s Mama, WE are sending pawsitive thoughts to y’alls mutant squash plant, WE are pretty sure is isn’t quite like Seymore and is safe to approach and harvest. If’n y’all are eaten by it, let us know post haste :)

  35. Staff
    4:08 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Dear HOH. The secret is to plant so much stuff that no one can tell what are weeds and what are wanted plants. It is like a jungle out there now. Mr.Staff did work on the center path but some of the others are covered with quack and impassible.

    Garden Then…

  36. Diane C.
    4:14 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Masquers–When will you be in So CA? I am indeed in the OC and Mr. Spence is scheduled to be signing books in Orange the evening of 8/8…
    SiberH–Yet another reason to avoid McD’s. You’re in New Mexico, am I right?
    Staff–That is indeed a splendid tomato; as rio notes, you are quite the tomato yourself…
    Tupper’s Mama–Even mutants need love, and at least yours is productive.
    HOH–Wasn’t the plant called Audrey or Audrey Jr. or something?
    Wasn’t Seymour a nerdy human?
    I am attaching something a friend sent me. It is for all those of you who live in deer country. (I live in lizard country.)
    http://www.pawbonito.com/deer-and-dog/

  37. Wose-the small and meek
    4:15 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Belle Starr: Done!

    Staff: That is one beautiful tomato, and you look lovely!

  38. Diane C.
    4:15 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Staff–what is “quack” what does it mean to be covered in quack? (Is that a reference to what some call duckweed?)

  39. Herd of Hounds
    4:19 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Audrey works in the shop, the plant is called Audrey II and Seymour is the nerdy guy who feeds it blood. Gah, a real brain stretch!

  40. Herd of Hounds
    4:22 pm on July 29th, 2014

    DianeC. Quack grass is to the south as devil grass is to So Cal. Unwanted, unnecessary, and un-get-ridable GAH! One lousy knuckle will bring more.

  41. Diane C.
    4:23 pm on July 29th, 2014

    B and M–thanks for clarifying. Brain cells continue their precipitate retreat…

  42. Staff
    4:24 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Garden now.

    Fatty Tomato came from one of the plants in the raised bed straight back and on the right. Sort of under the dill flowers.

  43. Siber-H
    4:25 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Diane, Yes, I am in NM. umm I like the Golden Arches, but mom says they are bad news.

  44. Diane C.
    4:26 pm on July 29th, 2014

    HOH–Ah! got it (and thanks). Part of me wants to be tolerant of invasive plant life just trying to be fruitful and multiply–the other wants them to go and do so far from me. (Same for fleas and ticks–live long and prosper in some parallel universe where they harm no one.)

  45. Staff
    4:27 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Garden now.

    Fatty Tomato came from one of the plants in the raised bed straight back and on the right. Sort of under the dill flowers.
    Oh, and my personal mutant squash is in the top left and as you can see it is starting to cover everything in it’s area. Gosh it is prickly.

  46. Staff
    4:31 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Oops. Dawson is gone so I guess it is up to me to hold up the family ability to Double Dawson… grump.

  47. Belle Starr
    4:36 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Wose: Burp and sparkle.

  48. Herd of Hounds
    4:37 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Staff, love y’alls doubles and the garden looks great! Here in the Davy Crockett state weeds grow quicker than kudzu :( If;n ya don’t spend a couple of hours a day out, y’all will have a weed patch. Kinda wisht the California garden would have done that.

  49. Masquers
    5:28 pm on July 29th, 2014

    DianeC: Nice video!
    We’ll be in the Burbank/Glendale area until the end of next week. Lots of one/two day get-a-ways planned, but won’t know the itinerary until we arrive. Hopefully, one of them will be in the vicinity of the OC.

  50. bluecat
    5:50 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Staff – it’s here :-) That was fun, unpacking nesting boxes. Thanks for the additional jar; we will use it. Sweet that the vanilla will be ready for Christmas baking. It smells wonderful already.

    Love the pictures of the garden. It looks like something from Downton Abbey.

  51. Wose-the small and meek
    6:22 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Belle Starr, Chuffle! Wheeze!

  52. Tupper's Mama
    7:21 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Audrey III in the backyard.

  53. Tupper's Mama
    7:22 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Audrey III in the sideyard

  54. Tupper's Mama
    7:24 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Oh Noooooo
    Audrey III has Tupper!

  55. BearSpiritDog
    7:37 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Audrey! Look at her go! Run, Tupper, Run!

  56. Herd of Hounds
    7:45 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Tupper, you and Audrey 3 have some really cool things in common. Just don”t Audrey 2 have anything to with Audrey I

  57. Wose-the small and meek
    7:47 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Jungle Tupper…

  58. Barb & Maggie
    8:12 pm on July 29th, 2014

    That is one whopper of a plant! Be careful Tupper, be very very careful!

    Diane, sorry that was not us that answered your questions about quack grass. You are very lucky not to have to deal with it.

    Barbs favorite, Rizzoli and Isles is own tonight, so we will pop in later.

  59. Wose-the small and meek
    8:15 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Mollypop and her fierce tail up top!

  60. Herd of Hounds
    8:29 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Bluekat, we love y’alls posts. They are so descriptive. :)

  61. Wose-the small and meek
    8:37 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Bedtime is near. Time to take all my meds, so I can just toss and turn anyway.
    Maybe I’ll have more interesting conversations with myself….

  62. Martha
    8:46 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Tupper’s mom, that Audrey III is just flat out scarey! I am glad that you have your intrepid dogs and cats to protect you.

  63. Siber-H
    8:52 pm on July 29th, 2014

    RUN Tupper RUN

  64. Riö -The Evil Pug
    8:56 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Herbicide!…There is always some sort of herbicide to spray on those out of control plants…sniff!…That’s all I know on the subject…grunt!…Plus, who in their right mind plants squash anyways?…gag!spit!hurl!…Same goes for zuchinnie but I cannot spell it…sniff!

  65. Mollypop's Mom
    9:03 pm on July 29th, 2014

    I think I saw Audrey III in a movie where a giant plant took over the earth. It was so scary and I couldn’t sleep for a week.

  66. Siber-H
    9:52 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Mom has friends who give her zuchinnie (Rio always knows the correct spelling) after they have let them grow as big as a Boeing 747. One guess as to what mom does with the squash.

  67. Diane C.
    10:18 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Did Tupper escape from the giant mutant squash plant OK? Does the GMSP go dormant in winter? Yikes! this makes my “naturalizing” rose geranium look like an orderly and barbered nursery plant.
    Masquers–Just in case you find time, my personal is blanziflorat junodotcom. I’m on a “flexible” library schedule but it would be worthwhile to give it a try if we can manage some kind of meetup.

  68. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:21 pm on July 29th, 2014

    SiberH!…Zuchinnie-Squash it and throw it away???…heh!heh!…My friend has no idea what to do with squash and she hates zuchinnie. It is unnatural. And looks weird on both accounts….grunt!

    Cubbies!…Are they winning? I do not have the strength to watch the game…snuffle!…Recently Tulowitzki’s tee-shirts went out at a game with the wrong spelling of our Best Beloved Player’s name…growl!…They gave away thousands and thousands of shirts with the spelling “Tulowizki” – UNBELIEVABLE!..One letter makes a difference…sniff!…I’m pretty sure he will agree to a trade now…sob!sob!sob!

  69. Diane C.
    10:21 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Does anyone here remember a band called Cracker (from remnants of Camper Van Beethoven)? I just heard a song of there’s on YouTube the title of which is too suggestive to enter here, but which provoked the following comment from one listener: “This song is so white it changed my Heineken into a Pabst Blue Ribbon…”
    Song is actually pretty catchy…

  70. Diane C.
    10:29 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Aaagh! That should have read “…a song of theirs” Fewer brain cells with every passing moment…

  71. Barb & Maggie
    10:35 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Diane, No they don’t go dormant in the winter. They live and grow for one season only, and the whole vine dies off usually at the first heavy frost.

    Gotta head to bed now. Early rising tomorrow.

  72. Riö -The Evil Pug
    10:48 pm on July 29th, 2014

    ************* Calander Announcement *************

    Calendars!…The deadline is fast approaching, and doesn’t my friend know it! July 31st is the last day to get your favorite pics submitted to Rose, hereby known as “The Almighty Editor of the Plunderer 2015 Calendar”…snort!…She needs your creative input to be able to design the most powerful, thought provoking, wonderful, creative, funny, sad and inspirational calendar of all time….chuffle!…So if you have delayed, and procrastinated like my friend, you better get your butt in gear or you WILL be left out of this amazing Calendar…gasp!…Do not let this happen to you and your loved ones…snuffel!

    Upcoming!…Information on how to order and how much this is going to cost you will be forthcoming…snort!…Stay tuned – first things first..as they say – somewhere…heh!heh!

  73. Siber-H
    10:48 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Rio, Yes, mom throws the squash away under the cover of darkness.

    The game is tied 3-3.
    The misspelling on the t-shirts made my newspaper.

  74. Thieves!
    10:59 pm on July 29th, 2014

    The cover of darkness and announcements—two of our favorite things in the last two comments. Does it get any better than this? Youse tell us.

  75. Riö -The Evil Pug
    11:02 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Announcement!…I will post the Calendar Announcement again tomorrow as some folk don’t know to read yesterdays news…heh!heh!

  76. Basil and Sage
    11:04 pm on July 29th, 2014

    Heh heh heh – we don’t even have to ship those dam Corgis off to Tasmania. We can just throw a cookie out under the Giant Mutant Squash Plant and yell “fetch!”.
    The GMSP will do the rest.

  77. Siber-H
    11:19 pm on July 29th, 2014

    The game is still tied 3-3. The Rockies could win it.
    We are falling asleep.

    Night All

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia