Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars – Chet the Jet wins again! – May 31, 2014

Eileen Sedgwick on To Fetch A Thief:

These books are such fun to read even if you are not a dog lover. You will be when you are done.
Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Tuesday, June 3rd, 2014 at 8:07 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

83 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. O'Howlers
    8:57 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Not a dog lover? You got bigger problems than a book, Amigo.

  2. Masquers
    9:01 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Heh, heh.

  3. BearSpiritDog
    9:11 am on June 3rd, 2014

    O’Howlers: Thanks to Chet, more and more are coming over to our side.
    Soon Dogs will Rule the World.

  4. Barb & Maggie
    9:19 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Good morning all. I think that is one of the shortest reviews we have read.

    Hope all those under the quilt are feeling better this morning. Off to work now.

  5. Wose-the small and meek
    9:32 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Good Morning!

    RIO! Your are surprising large, and everything looks beautiful.
    I liked all the pictures of Beau walking through the gardens.

    O’Howlers, we are very sorry to hear of the death of your friend’s wife. Sometimes, there is no reason, only that the Creator needed another angel.
    Hope your uncle will do better every day.

  6. B.Stover
    9:37 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Excellent (and short) review.

    Good morning all.

  7. Staff
    9:41 am on June 3rd, 2014

    I miss Fred the Turtle. MIllie is awfully large…

    Bear Spirit, Rule the World??? Dream On.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/05/29/cat-people-dog-people-intelligence_n_5412245.html

  8. Masquers
    9:41 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Howlers: Daily prayers for your uncle’s swift recovery and condolences to your mom and pop on the passing of their friend’s wife yesterday.
    B&M: Have a good day at work.
    Good morning, B, Rose and all.

  9. BearSpiritDog
    9:42 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Staff: What?! Alice is that you?

  10. Staff
    9:45 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Alice made me post that. grump.

  11. Diane C.
    11:00 am on June 3rd, 2014

    MPM and Staff–I had a feeling my fondness for deer might be a minority opinion (especially in areas where they are plentiful). I’m sorry that co-existing can cause porblems where you are (also sorry for crop loss). They still seem exotically attractive to me since around here wildlife mostly runs to lizards and opossums with the occasional bunny and squirrel.
    Belle Starr–If i can be more like you I will feel I have achieved something. Thanks for the encouragement.
    O’H–Gout! Gah! But still better than Lyme’s, whcih I think was also being discussed. Prayers and positive thoughts for your uncle.
    Rio–Nice shots of Beau,and I love the peonies.
    Everyone with fab garden pictures–I kneel before your planning and planting skills (and apologize for giving inadvertent aid and comfort to plundering deer).
    HOH–Yep. You barium if you can’t helium or curium.

  12. Diane C.
    11:02 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Also…I am long overdue in thanking Teddy and Zeta and all involved for a delightful time. I am sorry I, uh, fell asleep so abruptly and so early, but does anyone know what happened to my casserole dish?

  13. BearSpiritDog
    11:09 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Diane: What happened to your Missing Casserole Dish is anyone’s guess, but when you do find it there will be no need to wash it.

  14. O'Howlers
    11:26 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Diane, we here like seeing deer too. We don’t even chase them.

  15. Staff
    11:32 am on June 3rd, 2014

    If deer are in my yard (which means inside my fence or hedge) then I chase them unless they have cute baby fawns with them. If they are outside the hedge then I watch them to make sure they don’t come inside the perimeter.

    I grump in the spring and put up No Hunting signs in the fall. Talk about sending out mixed messages!

  16. T.C.
    11:45 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Staff, Mommy is now very confused about herself.

  17. Macy's mom
    11:49 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Exciting morning here. :( I decided to take the entire herd to the v*e*t at once. Called for help once I got there, so far so good. The tech took Macy and I tried to get the others out. Macy deftly slips out her collar and is off. Large fields bordered by major arteries. I finally cornered her as she was attempting to gain entry into a church. I believe that she was seeking sanctuary. Heh, no such luck, chica.

  18. Basil the Beautiful Kat
    11:56 am on June 3rd, 2014

    Staff and Alice – of COURSE Kat People are smarter than Dog People. They are smart enough to prefer companions who don’t bark, dig gigantic holes or chase skunks.
    Kats are perfect in every way.

    And Diane – ummmm, about that casserole dish. It is really very comfortable – can I keep it to sleep in for just a little while?

  19. Tupper and Gilly
    12:00 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Oh poo on kats being better than Dogs! Kats are useless, lazy, and yurk up disgusting hair balls at the most inappropriate moments. Plus they sharpen their claws on the furniture, and chase around the house like whirling dervishes when imbibing of catnip. Silly creatures, that’s all they are.

    And now for some GOOD news – Mama’s brother got his biopsy results today. Yes, he does have lung cancer, but the good news is that it has NOT spread to they lymphatic system.
    Surgery is tomorrow. They have to remove at least part of one lung, and a rib that is infected, but things may not be as dark as first suspected.

    whew

  20. Siber-H
    12:06 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Love the review!

    Only two out of the three character traits of dogs listed by Basil apply to me. So there.

  21. BearSpiritDog
    12:15 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Rio: When is Your Friend’s Mother coming home? Beau could use some help with that garden.
    Does he still wait by the door for her?

    Macy-Min-Pin: Drat! Escape plans foiled again.

    Tupper&Gilly: That is Excellent News!!! We are very happy for your mama’s brother and know he is very relieved too.
    The upcoming surgery will be a breeze and the recoup time short. This is the way we see it.

  22. Kat
    12:17 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Why thank you, Basil. I may only know one, but at least THIS Kat is perfect in every way! :)

  23. O'Howlers
    12:21 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Sheesh! You found a way to jump start your heart, ML!

  24. Basil the Beautiful Kat
    12:54 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    SiberH – bark, yark, whatever. Dogs make way too much noise.

    And Kat the Dog – ok, we will take you in under that Perfect in Every Way category. Callie vouches for you, and she is pretty perfect too.

  25. Wose-the small and meek
    1:17 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    T&G, so glad to hear the news of your mum’s brother. We here will be sending healing thoughts.

  26. Wose-the small and meek
    1:48 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Hey, youse guys, check over to the right. It is about OFA’s tour stops.

  27. Staff
    2:01 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    I wonder if he would do a book signing at Faye’s Henhouse Quilts in Mayville North Dakota???

  28. Herd of Hounds
    2:06 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Hey, we made it back home. The modum fried yesterday so we have just caught up on the news, good, bad, scary and hopeful and the glamor shots of Beau and the gardens. Review, short, sweet :)
    Show us a piano falling down a mine shaft and we’ll show you A flat minor :)

  29. Thieves!
    2:24 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Where would we like to see Spence? That’s easy—at our Kennel.

  30. Herd of Hounds
    2:35 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Yea, we’d like him in our screen room for a cook-out but bet it won’t happen :(

  31. Riö – The Evil Pug
    3:19 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Home!…My friend is home!home!home!….snort!…In fact she got home an hour ago or so. Woke us both up from our naps….grunt!…Now that lunch is over she is debating about what to do. It is far too warm out to go for a long walk. It is nice and cool inside…(((yawn!))…I know what I am going to do.

  32. Herd of Hounds
    3:32 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Rio, enjoy your nap. Warm and muggy here so I got my swim in earlier today and will now join the rest of the HOH here for a nap too since those pesky raccoons kept me up last night. -Darah

  33. Tupper and Gilly
    3:49 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Hey! We’re in New England! Maybe Spence could come to our house! Maybe Admin could come too.

  34. dawson
    4:28 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    I like the short review.

    Gardens!
    Rio: Your gardens are wonderful! Well, except for the salad garden and it will fill out in time. Staff’s garden is huge!

    I woke up to pouring rain and our “garden” is underwater. I went back to bed. It did not help. Now it is snowing! Aaargh! Snowing slushballs.

    T&G: Thanks for giving us the latest news about the Royal Mum’s brother. Prayers will be on-going.

  35. BearSpiritDog
    4:34 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    A Nap. This Sounds Good.

  36. Herd of Hounds
    4:49 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Yawn! We love how agreeable BSD is with suggestions for food and naps :)

  37. O'Howlers
    6:31 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Snow?!!!??? Even we don’t want snow in June!
    T&G! It would be mighty cool if Spence came to your house, but you don’t want Admin there. He is sort of grumpy and he may drink all of your booze.

  38. Thieves!
    6:58 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Ooh! We would share some of Mick’s shine with Admin if he came to the Kennel. We even might be convinced to share a fish head with Admin and Spence. It’s all part of being good hosts.

  39. Masquers
    7:02 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Dawson: Snow & June do not go together.
    all I can say is…please…do not send any our way.
    Spence & Admin! Can’t wait (youse ARE coming to the Pacific NW right?)

  40. O'Howlers
    7:15 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Our uncle was out of bed today! He needed help and a walker but…at long last out of bed.

  41. dawson
    7:30 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    O’Howlers: That is great news about your Uncle!

  42. Riö – The Evil Pug
    7:32 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    News!…And good news is the best…snort!

    Howlers!…First post…heh!snort!heh!…I almost laughed out loud, but I didn’t…chorkel!

  43. Riö – The Evil Pug
    7:36 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Feast!….My friend is determined to fire up that little Grill and crispy-up some Hebrew National Hot Dawgs…snort!…Then she has baked beans and corn on the cob planned for the menu….Wooooo!…Beau and I will get some of those hot dawgs, I am sure of it…chuffle!snuffle!slurp!….No corn for me. I have a hard time with cobs of corn cause of my snaggle-tooth teeth…sneeze!…Plus, who wants corn when you can have Hebrew Nationals?….heh!heh!

  44. dawson
    7:38 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    I was going to post that the snow had turned to rain but then it changed back to snow again. Gah! It is 36 degrees outside so it is not sticking on the ground. Heat is turned back on. A fire is in the fireplace.

  45. Riö – The Evil Pug
    7:40 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Dawson!….Deja Vu!…snort!

  46. Riö – The Evil Pug
    7:44 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Nap!…My friend doesn’t nap during the day-light hours unless she is really sick, and she is never really sick…sniff!….So Beau and I napped while she took it easy and worked on a Project…snort!…It’s about time she got back to working on a full-blown project. Actually, she has been working on it for some months now, but not diligently….heh!heh!…She diligently worked on it today while we napped, farted, growled and burped in our blissful sleepy-time time….wuffle!snuffle!

  47. dawson
    7:47 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Rio: When your friend isn’t looking, post a picture of her latest and greatest project!

  48. Herd of Hounds
    7:50 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Grump, the Boarder in the Basement came home from job orientation (yeah!), with this:

    The rest of the story is that she (Blondie) was thrown out of a car on the interstate with food, treats and toys tied to her leash. Looks like we get to puppy sit until she gets her short and spayed then the boarder and his drive partner will take her traveling.
    P.S. If mom or DDD ever see the car the Boarder described, they will learn the meaning of “older, better insured”.

  49. Herd of Hounds
    8:01 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    OH, great news about the uncle.

  50. Mollypop's Mom
    8:08 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    This was Blondies lucky day.

  51. Thieves!
    8:09 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    HOH: Call us when you find the driver. We’d like to introduce the insert-bad-name-here to our teeth which do close together very nicely. We can channel our inner educator to teach him or her a lesson.

    In the meantime, it sounds like it’s time to fire up the engines and challenge the Howlers’ uncle to some wheelchair races. We are glad he was able to get out of bed.

  52. Barb & Maggie
    8:20 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Is Blondie a Pit? Just be careful, sometimes they love people but not all dogs. She is very pretty. How can someone do that? We agree, chase him down give him what he deserves.

  53. BearSpiritDog
    8:22 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    O’Howlers: Hurray for Your Uncle!! This is Wonderful News!

    Blondie was a Lucky Dog!

    Today Wes is on soft, solid food…yesterday it was Jello only. (but he said it was the best jello he had ever tasted) He will be able to go home as soon as his lipids are back to normal.
    Maybe tomorrow???

    Good News all around. 😉

  54. Macy's mom
    8:24 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Bluekat…mmmmmwahhh (that was supposed to be a kiss).

  55. Herd of Hounds
    8:25 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    B&M she is doing great with the HOH and visa versa. She appears to be a real “Heinz 57” Has some beagle look, some pit look, boxer-like feet and a LONG tongue :) Mom will take her to a v e t tomorrow to see about age (we think around 6-9 months), fixing, shots etc. Blondie is clean, has no fleas or ticks and can sit on command.

  56. Garcia
    8:26 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    BSD: Hebrew Nationals can be soft and solid at the same time if they’re not overcooked. I have a stash here, I’ve been saving to share with Wes. Jello?—Never had it. Does it taste like chicken?

  57. Gilly
    8:36 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Garcia – that jello is tricky stuff. You try to bite it and it squishes out the sides of your mouth. You try to herd it and it just jiggles.
    I think you are better off with those Hebrew national thingies.

  58. Diane C
    8:39 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Basil–Please keep the dish for as long as you’d like (or until the next gathering, anyway).
    O’H–Wonderful news about your uncle,
    T and G–Same for your Mum’s bro. Prayers continue for both.
    I foolishly let the evil orthopedist touch my knee yesterday and I think he pushed something out of position because I’m getting strange twinges, some painful. On the upside, this has me in a VERY bad mood, so if you find Blondie’s car and the people inside, I’ll be happy to put all my negative feelings to effective use. (Even willing to hang on to a grudge to keep the mood going…)

  59. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:45 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Grilling!….After a long phone call to here big brother, someone here knows how to start the grill without matches…heh!heh!…So the Dawgs are going on soon!soon!soon!….I wish you could all come over and have a cook-out with me!….chuffle!

  60. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:47 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Dawson!…The Project is just pieces and parts right now…heh!…But that might be fun to show the beginning and the ending…wuffle!

  61. Herd of Hounds
    8:48 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    (Baby Blondie here) Thanks for such a warm welcome. You are all so supportive :) This is turning out to be the bestest day of my puppy life.

  62. Mollypop's Mom
    9:05 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Aw ww, Baby Blondie, this is so wonderful. I think of all the bad things that could have happened and they didn’t. You landed in the lap of the HOH people.

  63. BearSpiritDog
    9:15 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Garcia and Rio…Say no more…Youse have convinced me.
    Hebrew Nationals. It’s what’s for dinner!

  64. Luna on behalf of Golinkatoo
    9:20 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Baby Blondie: I am Amalia of the Plunderer litter. I’m happy to help you learn how to be a puppy on this here blog once I find my blog voice. Frank of the Outlaw litter has been teaching me everything he knows about being a big, white, boy dog, and I’m teaching him everything he needs to know about being a little, black, girl dog. Head bumps.

  65. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:20 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Wow!…They taste way better off of a real grill too!…wheeze!…She gave in and split one between us. I remember the days when I would get a whole one and a bowl of beer to myself…burp!…Gone are the good ole days…sniff!

  66. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:22 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Bear!….I was speaking of Hebrew Nationals in my most recent post….snort!

  67. c.hobbit
    9:24 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    If you can put up with the opening commercial, here is a news clip about a husky who shoplifted doggie treats at a convenience store. It was caught on the store’s security camera:
    http://dogwork.com/shoplifting-dog

  68. Golinka
    9:26 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Rio: Maybe if we fire up some of this chicken flavored jello it will be less squishy…nope…didn’t work.

    More to Rio: I will address my note of apology to your friend. Does she check p-mail? I better just send a card.

  69. Garcia
    9:29 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Gah! That last Golinka post was from me.

    Chobbit: I don’t understand why that husky was arrested.

  70. Tupper and Gilly
    9:37 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    We have had a long day here. Callie went for her Day of Beauty at the spa, so Mama decided to dunk us in the sink and wash out butts too.
    Washed, dried and fluffed; we are two pooped and puffed Corgis. So,we are saying goodnight.
    G’night, family.

  71. Barb & Maggie
    9:38 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Sorry to leave so soon, but it has been a long day and Barb is pooped. Back tomorrow.

  72. Diane C.
    9:42 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Blondie–I’m so happy you’ve ended up in such good company (and such good manners!). I hope to see some picture of you in the FOC area soon. Miss Pretty says she likes your hair.
    HOH–Blessings on all of you involved in this rescue role. What a little (or maybe not so little) beauty! (And by the way, how do you get two flutes to play in unison?)
    C. Hobbit–thanks for the warning about the ad–video was worth waiting for though (so, again, thanks).
    We all voted today, right? (Or at least those of us in areas with elections…)

  73. Herd of Hounds
    9:43 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    That was one husky Husky. Maybe on too many treats but sure a smart guy :)

  74. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:44 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Pooped!…Or Puffed seems to be going around…grunt!…We are just plain tuckered out…sniff!…Watching the Rockies game. Someone is trying to get motivated to water the salad garden that will not gro…sniff!

  75. Diane C.
    9:48 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Macy’s Mom–It sounds like you handled the whole thing with incredible cool and skill (I would have been terrified and screaming).
    Has Macy recovered from her Big Adventure?

  76. Herd of Hounds
    9:48 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    DianeC, didn’t think you could without violence.

  77. Peck of Parrots
    10:01 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    We don’t see what the excitement around here is. Just another 4 legged flea bag to bark at us and try to steal goodies from our cages.. SQUAWK!

  78. Macy's mom
    10:01 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    The only distress Macy endured was me chasing her and yelling at her to stop. Unless you count the indignities forced on her in the V*e*t’s office. Her liver enzymes are still way up, but they are just going to have to stay there. I wish I had doggy insurance X3.

    Welcome Lucky Little Blondie

  79. BearSpiritDog
    10:04 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Hounds & Diane: I Got It! By Jove, I got it!

    Now that we all are Stuffed with Hebrew Nationals, it’s time to catch up on some shows we missed because of the late hour.
    Signing off until tomorrow – Bear

  80. Herd of Hounds
    10:16 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    Macy’s Mom, our mom wishes there were herd discounts when it comes time to have v e t visits and wonderfluffing.

  81. O'Howlers
    11:03 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    We have been busy outdoors all night, helping the ‘rents train Ned and Annie.
    Welcome Blondie. We are so happy you landed in the Land of HOH.
    BSD, great news about Wes.
    T&G, sounds like your maw’s brother is better than you originally thought.
    A good day all around.

  82. Staff
    11:39 pm on June 3rd, 2014

    good news on the blog. I like to see that!

    ML So glad you caught that bad Min-Pin

    Also glad Wes is up and around. Hope those thieves don’t get him into trouble at the Hospital!

    CHobbit – I have a close personal friend who is going to be on a tour boat that is coming to Anchorage on Friday June 20th and Saturday June 21st. How long are your days then? She is staying at the Hilton downtown (I think) Do you have any suggestions as to places to eat? She is on her own for supper on Saturday. One of the stops will be North Pole AK! She has two dogs, both rescues! She is a great person. I told her to bring mosquito spray…heh heh heh.

  83. c.hobbit
    1:28 am on June 4th, 2014

    Staff: I’ll email you tomorrow and find out what kind of food she likes. Lots of good places to eat. Perhaps we can meet.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia