Random Amazon Review We Like

 

5.0 out of 5 stars-  Such a great book – May 10, 2014
P. Logan “History Buff” on A Fistful of Collars:
Bought this issue then had to buy more as it was so entertaining. The author must have dogs of his own to be able to understand what his dog, in this series, is “thinking” when it has to try to understand its human. Anyone who has dogs will get this humor and love it.
Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Tuesday, May 13th, 2014 at 8:08 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

79 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. O'Howlers
    8:12 am on May 13th, 2014

    Good morning! We can’t get past the use of “it” to refer to a Member of the Nation Within the Nation.
    All of us are in the house today. Kat likes this arrangement.

  2. Herd of Hounds
    8:16 am on May 13th, 2014

    Good morning, everyone! P. Logan is on the right track but as to dog “thinking” and calling Chet “its”, we stringently take umbrage :( Gotta forgive P. Logan for being a newbie.
    Have a Tom Terrific (and Mighty Manfred the wonder dog) Tuesday

  3. Herd of Hounds
    8:16 am on May 13th, 2014

    Mornin’ OH. You must type really fast!

  4. Barb & Maggie
    8:39 am on May 13th, 2014

    Yeah, we are not liking this one so much. In fact we thought it was really bad, for the same reasons mentioned above. We find it extremely annoying when someone refers to a dog as an it. And why is “thinking” in quotes? Of course Chet thinks, as do I (and even Lucy a little bit).

    Rain, rain and more rain last night. Lots of flooding in Chicago suburbs, after almost 3″ of rain in under 2 hours. And the thunder and lightning was scary, at least for Barb. We had to stay close to her to keep her calm.

  5. Mollypop's Mom
    8:51 am on May 13th, 2014

    We are having a thunderstorm now. This is Loulou’s first thunder. I’m drinking coffee and doing a crossword puzzle with a dog on my lap. She’s protecting me.

  6. B.Stover
    9:07 am on May 13th, 2014

    You guys are making me laugh. Such critics!

    Good morning all.

  7. Wose-the small and meek
    9:15 am on May 13th, 2014

    Greetings!

    I hope all two and four-leggeds made it through these wild storms and weather that are traveling across the country.

    Hmmmm….Something about that review sounds like déjà vu all over again.

    I hope Rio’s friend posts the pictures of Beau and his Karol.

    Good day to all!

  8. BearSpiritDog
    9:40 am on May 13th, 2014

    The above Reviewer gets 5 Stars for loving the books. We will say no more.
    Except have a Great Day.

  9. Wose-the small and meek
    10:05 am on May 13th, 2014

    Hi Bear,
    Wondering if Nana’s face is better, and wishing youse all a fun day.

  10. Tupper's Mama
    10:38 am on May 13th, 2014

    Greetings family.
    Starting to get my feet back under me. I may feel like a human soon. Although, if I could be treated like certain spoiled Corgis, I wouldn’t mind feeling like a Dog.

  11. Tupper and Gilly
    10:40 am on May 13th, 2014

    We are NOT spoiled. We are just deservedly cared for as Royal.

  12. Diane C.
    10:51 am on May 13th, 2014

    Hello All–I second your comments on the P. Logan review (although points should be awarded for very nice punctuation).
    I am also happy to hear that the Royal Mum is decompressing from her journey, and that the group at O’H is (I assume) all getting along better under the same roof.
    Have a wonderful Tuesday with fine weather, safe travel, and exactly the right amount or work and reward, everyone.

  13. BearSpiritDog
    10:54 am on May 13th, 2014

    Diane: We hadn’t considered the punctuation, but you are right.

    Wose: Nana is back to Feeling Normal…or as normal as she can ever be. snicker.

    Royal Mum: It is always Good to be Home!

    Looking forward to Photos of Beau & his carrot later today.

  14. Diane C.
    11:46 am on May 13th, 2014

    HOH–Exactly–too many problems (and I’m searching far memory for something more challenging).
    B. Stover–Thanks for the elucidation; I’m relieved that your tornado didn’t manifest.

  15. O'Howlers
    12:29 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Some of you may find this interesting. Mom is a weenie and turned off her radio. But get this: these dogs are related to The Royals!
    http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2014/05/13/311127237/turnspit-dogs-the-rise-and-fall-of-the-vernepator-cur?sc=17&f=1001

  16. Masquers
    12:35 pm on May 13th, 2014

    LouLou: You are so very brave.
    B&M: Was your lakeside celebration rained out too?
    Meashka: Is the sibling rivalry between you & Zeusikov winding down? Hopefully he will realize the one in charge is you,you,you.
    Going now to checkout your link.
    Tupper’s Mama: You didn’t say…how was the final leg of your journey on Sunday from Minn to Conn?..unlike the last part of the flight from NM, it should have been smooth.
    The last time Mom flew on a commuter plane was in excellent weather, which made for a very enjoyable trip. Hoping you enjoyed the same experience.

  17. Meashka
    12:53 pm on May 13th, 2014

    That Blockhead will never learn his place, which is way below me me me. However, now that Mom has made sure he and I and all of Oley know that I am Numero Uno BFF, I am feelig a bit mollified.

  18. Herd of Hounds
    12:55 pm on May 13th, 2014

    DianeC: 2 hats are hanging on a hatrack in a hallway. One hat said to the other, “You stay here, I’ll go on a head.” (Pretty bad, eh?)

  19. Masquers
    1:12 pm on May 13th, 2014

    HOH: ha,ha,ha. it’s so bad it’s good.

  20. Tupper and Gilly
    1:42 pm on May 13th, 2014

    A “morose disposition”??? We should think so! And we bet those poor doggies never south as got a taste of the meat they were cooking.

    Thank dog (most) people now treat dogs as family members and beloved companions.

  21. Tupper and Gilly
    1:43 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Never SO MUCH as got a taste.

    Dam otter got us again.

  22. Thieves!
    1:48 pm on May 13th, 2014

    We are operating on the theory that those corking otters are in cahoots with the MGs. No good can come from this.

  23. Masquers
    2:46 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Thieves! Don’t you know it! and the most frustrating thing about the corking otters is their stubborn resistance to change.

  24. Basil and Sage
    3:00 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Cahoots? We love the word “cahoots”. We don’t like being the victim of cahooters, but we still like the word.

    We got a sweet note from Macy’s Mom – bless her heart. She is so much stronger than she knows.

  25. Herd of Hounds
    3:04 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Bingo, bango bongo! Masquers and thieves, y’all are right!

  26. BearSpiritDog
    3:14 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Royals: Those were primitive peoples back in those by-gone (Thank Dog!) daze.
    Still much to do Education-wise…some Folks still don’t Get It…we all have souls.

  27. Thieves!
    3:16 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Cahoots! It is one of our favorite pass times.

  28. O'Howlers
    4:18 pm on May 13th, 2014

    We here are always in cahoots.

  29. dawson
    4:37 pm on May 13th, 2014

    I have been in cahoots before.

  30. Herd of Hounds
    5:03 pm on May 13th, 2014

    We’ve only been in a conundrum.

  31. Basil and Sage
    5:04 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Well, to be perfectly honest, we have been known to cahoot now and then. uh oh – is BStover going to get after us for using “cahoot” as a verb?

    The Corgis made us do it – really.

  32. Herd of Hounds
    5:15 pm on May 13th, 2014

    B&S: It is a far, far better thing to cahoot than to conundrum!

  33. Thieves!
    5:28 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Herbs: Our Lady says you get your cahooting abilities from your mama.

  34. Herd of Hounds
    5:31 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Wow! A BIG Big big boomer here :( WE 3 have decided to go hold mom down till it goes away. BBL

  35. Tupper and Gilly
    5:56 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Thieves – your Lady obviously has our Mama confused with someone more mischievous. Mama is far too staightl aced to cahoot or even cinnip

  36. Wose-the small and meek
    5:56 pm on May 13th, 2014

    I was in cahoots since the day I was born.

    HOH, Take good care of your mom.

  37. Tupper and Gilly
    5:57 pm on May 13th, 2014

    DAM those otters!

  38. Barb & Maggie
    6:15 pm on May 13th, 2014

    We got one of those nice notes from ML today too. So thoughtful of her. Hope she is doing better.

  39. B.Stover
    6:20 pm on May 13th, 2014

    “Cahoot” or “in cahoots,” is an Americanism. It is a noun and not a verb. It may be derived from the French “cohorte.” I like the word.

  40. Masquers
    6:50 pm on May 13th, 2014

    ML: She is awesome!

  41. T.C.
    6:53 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Ha Ha! Basil and Sage are in trouble for using cahoots as a verb!!! Ha ha ha!

    Daddy locked me in the filthy, damp cellar the past two days. Mommy unlocks me when she gets home. Tomorrow, she will be home, but she has to take Meashka to the v-e-t to get certified for insurance, so I was told I would have to be in the cellar again. Is this fair? I ask you.

  42. Masquers
    6:59 pm on May 13th, 2014

    T.C. What?! I am blurring over to keep you company.

  43. Macy's mom
    7:12 pm on May 13th, 2014

    The four-legged members of my household nearly did me in today. I was attempting a nice nap, but I kept hearing barking. It finally occurred to me that it was coming from the FRONT yard. I opened the door to find THREE animal control vehicles complete with THREE animal control officers in my yard trying to corral Macy and Belle. The officers did not even know that they were at the right house, as they had been chasing said dogs for three blocks, one of which is a very busy main street. Someone called and said three dogs were running loose on the next street over. The officers only found two, and Annie was standing in the back yard innocently, so I don’t know if she was out or not, but I would bet on yes. Anyhoo, Macy’s tag was so scratched up they couldn’t read the phone number and they had yet to pin Belle down. Annie’s tag is pristine, but here again, she was not involved in the takedown. I could see large fine coming, especially since said dogs have not paid their registration fees for a couple of years. Thank Dog one of the officers knew Rick. He was the same officer who came when we had a duck land in our fireplace whilst fire was going. (duck was slightly singed, but otherwise ok). They just said to get them registered pronto. Belle is anti government regulation, and is afraid that someone will steal her identity if she registers. She also has mysterious dirty spots all down her back. If I had discovered them missing before they returned…can’t even bear to think about it.

  44. Masquers
    7:19 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Macy’s Mom: Yikes! This extra drama you do not need.

  45. Tupper and Gilly
    7:24 pm on May 13th, 2014

    ML – thank dog everyone is home safe and sound. Basil and Sage say they understand the anti- registering phobia. They have never even been to the v e t to get shot in the butt.
    Maybe next time we get ahold of the packing tape and labels, we can arrange to fix that little oversight.
    tee hee

  46. Herd of Hounds
    7:34 pm on May 13th, 2014

    ML, glad everything worked out. Did you find their escape point? Our v e t says to put the critter(s) back in the yard and watch. In just a short while they will go to the place they can get out and show you. Mom tried it and the idiot she was puppy sitting sure enough did it again. We’ve been excavating but son’t have Siber Mr. H’s skills.

  47. Barb & Maggie
    7:35 pm on May 13th, 2014

    ML, What a day you have had! Do you have any idea how the escape artists got free? Better get their tags just to be on the safe side.

  48. Wose-the small and meek
    7:53 pm on May 13th, 2014

    T.C., I don’t like the idea of you being imprisoned in that dark, dirty cellar. If you are not in cahoots, you should be able to roam freely.

    ML, Whew! I’m glad everybody is back where they belong. Macy, you should get a new tang with lots of bling!

  49. Herd of Hounds
    8:12 pm on May 13th, 2014

    We protected mom from those boomers. They went away and no rain followed. Go figure.

  50. Zeusikov
    8:48 pm on May 13th, 2014

    ML, I have a story to tell you. When I was on this here farm for two weeks, and thoroughly understood my fence, and knew I couldn’t dig out of it like I did that stall or that kennel, the lady and man had to attend a fundraiser dinner. They said “Zeus, this is a test. We won’t be gone long, and you will be with The Reds.”
    Well, I got so scarit when they didn’t come right back and it was getting dark, I decided to try to find the Rescue. I headed out, went thru creeks, and crossed a very busy road. I found some nice folks who let me hang out in their super big nice garage/shop. They called the lady, who was on her way home. Well, needless to say, she and the man were beside themselves. That is the reason why I now stay indoors when they leave, and why TC must be kept safe until they know I can resist my Sibe tendancies. Fortunately, I did have brand new Boomerang Tags, and so the people knew I was Zeus, and who they should call. The lady said that she never had a Sibe who was so attached to people, instead of other Sibes. I do like these Reds, but I love these people much more. When the lady goes indoors, I cry until she lets me in, or I open the door myself if she didn’t lock it. So you see, we here had a lucky happy ending to my tail just like you did with your tribe today.

  51. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:52 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Unbelievable!….You will never catch me leaving my yard…snort!

  52. Mollypop's Mom
    9:00 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Zeus, you should talk to Tyb. You two could compare stories. Tyb will not let his Dad be more than 5 feet away from him. He’s an English (Shepherd) Shadow.

  53. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:07 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Beau!….Last night my friend kept trying to get Beau’s Karrot away from him…heh!heh!….Here he is guarding his Karrot…chuffle!

  54. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:07 pm on May 13th, 2014
  55. Thieves!
    9:20 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Golinka: Don’t feel bad. We get our cahooties from our Lady.

    ML: We are glad the girls are home safe where they belong.

    Macy, Belle and Most-Likely-Annie: If your maw is reading this all we can say is Yeep! You shouldn’t leave your yard like that and make your maw worry. If she isn’t reading this we want to tell you that your great escape sounds like fun. A job well done! Oops! Luna is headed this way. Gotta go.

  56. c. hobbit
    9:20 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Beau looks so cute

    This must be the day for escaping. I went to exercise and came back to not find Sadie in or out of the house. I walked the neighborhood and the forest with a squeaky toy and when I gave up and went home, Sadie was besides the car in the driveway panting. Twenty minutes later after a bowl of water she is still panting so she must have had an adventure.

    The first mosquito landed on me today but I got it before it got me.

  57. BearSpiritDog
    9:26 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Zeus: I Understand Completely. I do.

    Beau: awwww.

  58. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    9:29 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Hello, everyone, Mr. Wigglebutt’s mom here. I apologize for not blogging sooner, but life has been so complicated that when I sit down to write, I don’t know what to say. Things are fine, more or less.

    However…somebody wonderful (thank you, Staff!) sent me a Mr Carrot and already I’m feeling much more tip top.

  59. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:33 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Wolfie!….Good to hear from you pal!…snort!

    Karrot!….Fever!…wheeze!…Here is what Beau did most of last night. Lick his Karrot!…gah!

  60. Wose-the small and meek
    9:35 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Yay! Wolfie, you are back! I missed you lots!

    Awwww, Beau, you are so sweet.

    CHobbit, So Sadie was on her own walkabout. Is there a full doggie moon?

  61. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:36 pm on May 13th, 2014

    CHobbit!….Oh no! Mosquito Season is starting early (again!)…grunt!

  62. Thieves!
    9:37 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Wolfie: Thank you for checking in with us. We miss you on this here bloc. Head bumps and not so dainty licks.

  63. Zeusikov
    9:43 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Head bumps, Wolfie. You do not know me, but I have heard about you a lot. All good.

  64. Barb & Maggie
    9:48 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Thanks for checking in with us Wolfie.

  65. Masquers
    10:09 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Hi, Wolfie!

  66. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    10:19 pm on May 13th, 2014

    I did not do a disappearing act but I got into BIG trouble anyway. Something about a white chicken that somehow ended up not alive in my backyard. I don’t see what the fuss was all about. Gee whiz…!

  67. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:34 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Fern!….Quick! Cover yer eyeballs and do not read Wolfies post…snort! ….I doubt Wolfie can distinguish between White or Red…wheeze!

  68. c. hobbit
    10:53 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Saw this photo and thought of Siber-H (what to do if your Husky is scared of water and has to cross a river):

  69. c. hobbit
    10:55 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Rio: Beau is looking slim and trim. I am thinking that you get the treaties and Beau gets the toys.

  70. Tupper and Gilly
    11:13 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Wolfie!!! We have missed you so much! And we are sure that white chicken died a natural death and was carrying a feather donor card at the time of its demise.

    The big news around here? Well, a decision has been made that Gramp would rather have a personal chaffeaur rather than bother with driving. So his SUV and Mama’s beloved sports car are going away and being replaced by a car that Gramp can get in and out of, and that our hot rod Mama won’t roll her eyes at.

    The poor car dealer is still wondering what hit him.

  71. Billy's Buddy
    11:17 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Hi Wolfie! We love you.

    Beau, you are darling.

    Relieved that all the wanderers are home safely.

    In cahoots is my favorite place to be.

  72. dawson
    11:18 pm on May 13th, 2014

    CHobbit: That is funny! I can’t help feeling sorry for the Husky though.

    Lots of walkabouts/runabouts today. All’s well that ends well.

    Loulou&Staff: The carrots are a number one hit!

    Mosquitos showed up here today. Big time.

    I can’t believe Pittsburgh is out of the playoffs! What happened? Minnesota better score or they will be out of it also. Oh ho! score for Minnesota! Tie game! (I am watching a taped recording of the game which is probably over by now.)

  73. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:35 pm on May 13th, 2014

    CHobbit!….That “slim and trim” Beau you are seeing is an optical illusion…heh!heh!…burp!

  74. Whitey-Lance
    11:46 pm on May 13th, 2014

    I fully understand the need for an occasional wanderabout. I also fully understand the need to be no more than a tail’s length from your person.

    Nighty nutter butters and carrot cahooters.

  75. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:52 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Beau!…Says Goodnight – Wot are Nuttie Butters? And can I have some?…heh!

  76. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:53 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Night!…Nutters!…heh!

  77. Macy's mom
    11:57 pm on May 13th, 2014

    Turns out that the escape point was the gate. It cannot be accidentally opened, so my guess is that the yard guy that came by to take a look yesterday did not close it. At least I hope it was him. Yeah, it was him. That is what I choose to believe, or I won’t be able to sleep.

    The initial busyness has died down and now the days just stretch out in endless boredom. Unless the dogs get out.

    Hi Wolfie, what was that darn poultry doing in your yard anyway?

  78. Tupper and Gilly
    12:05 am on May 14th, 2014

    We are going to bed too, to dream about Nutter Butters.
    G’night, family.

  79. Macy the min-pin
    12:49 am on May 14th, 2014

    Goodnight my stubby little friends.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia