Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars – Terrific, as always! – April 28, 2014

Roger D. Galloway on A Fistful of Collars:
All humans should read this book.
I gave it five stars because there weren’t ten.
Chet is the Jet right to the tip of his mismatched ears.
(“Kind of haiku-like,” says Admin. “Maybe all reviews – of everything – should be in haiku form.”)
Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Tuesday, April 29th, 2014 at 7:12 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

54 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Herd of Hounds
    7:37 am on April 29th, 2014

    Good morning, everyone! A really wild night here. Had tornado watches here, in fact still under one. Something touched the ground about 3 miles as the crow flies from here but the HOH and POP and sushi and peeps are fine, if tired, after the most exciting storm night they have ever had. Macy’s Mom, I keep missing you ’cause you are on after our bedtime (Mom is getting lazier and lazier).
    Have a tip top Tuesday :)

  2. Herd of Hounds
    7:38 am on April 29th, 2014

    Different review, but is the syllable count correct for haiku? Thought it was 5-7-5.

  3. O'Howlers
    8:25 am on April 29th, 2014

    Good morning! We here like that review. Pretty cool, if we do say so ourselves.
    HOH!!! Yikes! Stay close to your maw, so she you can protect youse her.

  4. Herd of Hounds
    8:43 am on April 29th, 2014

    OH: We are all on duty. A ruff job, but someone has to do it.

  5. Wose-the small and meek
    9:20 am on April 29th, 2014

    Greetings!

    Like the review!

    HOH, Yikes! Three miles is just a bit too close. Please stay safe today.

    Staff, What a beautiful sewing machine! And what a lovely photo of Alice M. Last night. She is a beautiful kitty.

    The lovely Maggie is up top!

    Oh, well. Another day of watching the seconds tick by on the clock, and sitting on the couch wasting my life away.

    Sorry. Don’t want to bum youse out.

    Hope youse all have a good Tuesday.

  6. Masquers
    9:44 am on April 29th, 2014

    HOH: Yeep! What a night. Glad youse are okay.
    B: What say you about the haiku?
    Rose: We are on the way!
    (Belle Starr & I)

  7. B. Stover
    9:52 am on April 29th, 2014

    I agree with Admin: “haiku-like” meaning brief.

    “Heavy rain” here. There were two mallard ducks on the front drive earlier.

    Good morning all.

  8. B. Stover
    9:58 am on April 29th, 2014

    Masquers: It isn’t a haiku (but I like the review). A haiku is a Japanese form of poem of seventeen syllables (5, 7, 5) and juxtaposes an element and phrase usually suggesting a season.

  9. Masquers
    10:04 am on April 29th, 2014

    P.S. I’m bringing a journal to begin writing that book we talked about earlier (BSD always says it helps to put pen to paper) In my opinion a guitar with kool jazz accompaniment works too…and Belle Starr is reminding me of another sure-fire solution to everything…online shopping.

    Thank you, B.

  10. B. Stover
    10:21 am on April 29th, 2014

    “Happy Tuesday, friend!
    May today’s coffee be strong
    And the day inspired.”

    Here’s a haiku I found online.

  11. BearSpiritDog
    10:34 am on April 29th, 2014

    B: Now THAT’s a Haiku to get the day going!
    Speaking of which…where’s my Bowl of Cawfee?

  12. Tupper and Gilly
    11:19 am on April 29th, 2014

    We like that review too. Says it all without droning on and on (and making Bee crazy with incorrect grammar).

    Well, the word is Official. Gramp will be home tomorrow. He is pretty close to being back where he was before all this surgery and side effects and illness etc.

    Mama says tonight is steak and salad dinner night. After that, it will all need to be soft, gentle foods for a while. It will be good to have him home, but there are going to be challenges ahead. We think maybe driving is not going to be a good thing for Gramp anymore. But Mama is concerned about how he may react to that idea.

    Yup, challenges ahead.

  13. O'Howlers
    11:52 am on April 29th, 2014

    We are so happy Gramps is coming home home home, which is ALWAYS the best place to be. T&G, quick! Hide his car keys.

  14. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:59 am on April 29th, 2014

    Gramps!…Back to his normal routine!…snort!snort!

    WIND!…The wind is even more fierce today than it was yesterday…groan!

  15. BearSpiritDog
    12:18 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Good News from the Royals…Gramp is coming Home!!!

    Rio: Batten Down the Hatches and Hold On!

  16. Wose-the small and meek
    12:22 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Yay! Gramps is coming home! I know he and Callie will be so happy to see each other.

  17. Wose-the small and meek
    12:24 pm on April 29th, 2014

    My dearest Masquers, and my VBFF, Please be careful blurring. Lots of strong winds out there!

  18. Herd of Hounds
    12:28 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Go Gramps :)
    Rio, wind isn’t fun. it’s fractious.
    Apparently not a tornado here but lots of wind damage (sheer & straight line and not quite a tornado). No injuries, no serious building damage, lots of trees down.

  19. Diane C.
    12:48 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Hello All–I’m still catching up and about to leave for ballet, but I did want to make sure the O’Howlers household had recovered from yesterday’s exciting afternoon (the cool license plat photo suggests so).
    HOH–Yes, it’s almost exactly like “whirled peas” but not as good.
    Teddy–loved the pix of you and Zeta–such a handsome couple and you are such a gentleman!
    Billy’s Buddy and all Sherlock Holmes fans–Forgive me if you’re already familiar with this, but I had long been aware of (but never read) an article called “The Great Man’s Great Son” which asserts that P.G. Wodehouse’s Jeeves is SH’s natural son by Mrs. Hudson. Yesterday’s comments moved me to try one last Google and I found a some additional references to it, but not the article itself. However, there IS a book available called “In Bed with Sherlock Holmes” that I must have or be in a very bad mood…
    Be well and safe, all…

  20. Tupper and Gilly
    12:48 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Wow – we just went back to see what we had missed out on last night.
    Howlers – Love the license plate. But tell your mom not to rob any banks in that vehicle – someone is sure to remember the plate number.

    Macy and ML – we are glad to know that the medical stuff wasn’t all bad news. We know it is very hard right now, but never fear – your Plunder Companions are always here to talk to you and support you and listen to you. Of course your hearts are heavy, and noting feels like it will ever be right again – but it will. You are lots tougher than you give yourself credit for, and you will get your feet back under you and Plunder On.

    Staff – that machine is a beauty – and we don’t even know diddly squat about old sewing machines.

    Rio – we hereby promise, paws crossing hearts, that we will never click on a link in an email unless we are SURE that it is legit. And maybe not even then.

    Off to go visit Gramp – see ya later

  21. Masquers
    1:07 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Rose: I will be checking the forecast carefully (remembering a time when Wolfie was blurring to a plunderer partee and miscalculated coordinates) – WeatherKat.
    Wolfie! Where is that guy anyways?

  22. c.hobbit
    1:09 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Just wanted to show my favorite photo from a hike. I was ahead of everyone and was able to take this cool tunnel shot

  23. Chet The Dog
    1:29 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Nice haiku, B. Stover! – Admin

  24. BearSpiritDog
    1:33 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Hi DianeC! The young girl that lives here (now in an older body) loved the Sherlock Holmes Books. She was always fascinated by the way Sherlock solved the Mystery, in part by following a subject’s train of thought, leading him to the clues.

    Tupper&Gilly: Please tell Callie to say Hi to Gramp for us.

  25. Masquers
    1:54 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Nice! A tip of the hat from Admin for B and a kool cave-like foto from CHobbiti.

  26. B. Stover
    2:21 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Thank you Admin.

  27. Basil and Sage
    3:45 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Oh sure – when there is a monkey wrench to throw in, WE are the ones designated to pass the news along. Maybe because things are a KAT-tastrophy.

    Well, not a catastrophy, but a plot twist, anyway. Mama wanted to have Gramps bedroom, den and office professionally cleaned before he got home. She contacted the cleaner when Gramp first went to rehab, but his schedule was booked solid for weeks. She kind of forgot about it, since it couldn’t happen for a while.
    Then, this morning the cleaner guy stopped by to say that he had finished one job way ahead of schedule, and could do our job tomorrow. But, but, but….Gramp was coming home tomorrow, and the rooms have to be empty for 24 hours.
    So, Mama went to the rehab, and had to tell Gramp about the surprise. They talked to the Powers That Be, and it has been decided that Gramp will come home Thursday afternoon instead – so he can come in to a sparking clean bedroom, and have a fresh, spotless den to hang out.
    Whew.
    Now Mama is trying to tell herself that she does NOT have time to throw a coat of pain on the den walls……Somebody stop her!

  28. Herd of Hounds
    4:11 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Cleanliness is next to dogginess. Painty-ness is a mess:) Avoid the paint right now!

  29. Diane C.
    5:12 pm on April 29th, 2014

    C. Hobbit–I love the photo. Have you reported back on the food there yet? (If yes, how far back do I read; if no–How’s the food?)
    B and S–Tell your Mama to sit and rest and get ready to meet those challenges. Sit on her if you have to.
    HOH–I’m glad I went back and re-read your first post. I had thought you were talking about “tomato watches” and had been reflecting on how different the rest of the country is–I’m sorry but sort of relieved that it’s really about tornadoes–but I hope you stay well out of their way.

  30. O'Howlers
    5:54 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Bee is the blog pet.

  31. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:13 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Admin!…He never says anything nice to me…sniff!…Spencer never does either. They are like two peas in a pod those two….huffle!

  32. bluecat
    6:14 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Zeus – are you loose? Mom snorted when she read that you met your mom at the back door yesterday.

    Speaking of journeys, this is for Wose or anyone on a life’s journey, from Winnie the Pooh:

    ~ Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there some day. ~

    C.Hobbit – very nice photo of what looks like an ancient, sacred place. Thanks. Keep enjoying the adventure.

    T&G – maybe the doc can tell Gramp he needs to give up driving. That’s what happened with my grandma and it worked without too many tears. Just sayin’.

  33. Masquers
    6:16 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Howlers: Waiting with baity breath for the daily Zeus report.

    Blukat: Nice Pooh quote.

  34. dawson
    6:34 pm on April 29th, 2014

    CHobbit: A fantastic picture of the tunnel!

    Good advice from Pooh (he is so wise) to all of us and from Bluecat to T&G: Get the doctor to tell Gramps!

    Zeus! Zeus! Zeusikov!

    Thanks for the break…now I have to go back outside because it is like the first day of Spring here! WhooooHoooooo!

  35. Macy's mom
    6:39 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Love the Howlers plate.

    Stay safe HOH.

    Lucky gramps. I wish I could go off somewhere and come back to clean.

    I got Rick’s old phone, now mine, a cool new case. I feel so hip, heh.

    Nearly gave Angie a fit when I told her I was getting ready for a date. She calmed down when I told her it was girls night out, heh.
    Speaking of which, I really DO need to go throw on something else. Later taters.

  36. Herd of Hounds
    6:57 pm on April 29th, 2014

    CHobbit, your fotos are a joy.
    BSD, looks like it will be near 80 for y’all tomorrow. We are going down to 70 and one more night of boomers:( We be on guard again.
    Bluecat, Pooh always hits the spot.
    Dawson, start enjoying spring after this winter that wouldn’t end.
    T&G, B&S and Callie, if Golinka gets close to a paint can, brush or roller, grab her pant leg, sit on her and hold her feet down!
    The DDD went to the movies tonight so we are going to watch NCIS with mom.

  37. Herd of Hounds
    7:00 pm on April 29th, 2014

    GAH…Macy’s Mom, have a great time. You need a girls’ night out :)

  38. O'Howlers
    7:00 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Pop spent the afternoon at home with us us us! Zeusikov had the poohs last night. A couple of pills later, and all is well. Must have been that fortune. Heh!
    He was in his crate when Pop arrived home at noon. We put him back in so he wouldn’t get caught.

    Rio, neither Spence or Admin ever give us kudos either.

  39. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:35 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Rebecca!…I am starting to really worry about that Rebecca…sniff!….No word from her all day long. I wander if she is off traveling to the top of the world again?…grunt!!

  40. BearSpiritDog
    8:41 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Zeus: Good Dog! (or maybe Kat & Meashka are the ones to thank?)

    Rio: SnowBella usually tells us before she goes flying off.
    We have been thinking about her here too.
    Thieves! Where is Your Lady?

  41. Wose-the small and meek
    9:07 pm on April 29th, 2014

    We still haven’t heard the rest of AJ’s Iditarod experience! have we?

  42. dawson
    9:13 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Wose: I believe the last installment of Snowhook Adventures was posted April 18th 2014.
    I think they are all on Dishlickers thanks to the Howlers.

  43. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:27 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Thieves!….It does not bother me when the Thieves go a’ missing cause they are always up to some shenanigans somewhere….sniff!

  44. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:16 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Sisters!…So both the Sisters are home again…snort!….Staff is home and can get her big ole garden started and Dawson is home watching hockey games…heh!heh!…So who is at their Paw’s house battling with the bats?…sniff!

  45. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:32 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Alright!…I give up! No one is around and I am NOT going to post by myself…grump!…I am going to go watch the Rockies play without my pal SiberH….grumble!spit!

  46. Macy's mom
    10:43 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Poor Biddy. Her dew claw is turned around backerds after her pit bull event last night.

    When I got home from California Pizza Kitchen girls night out including margarita, Annie was nowhere to be found. She got shut in my closet and tried to dig her way out. One corner of the carpet pad is completely shredded. Way to harsh my buzz, Annie.

  47. Thieves!
    11:00 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Shenanigans are some of our favorite things along with thieving, ne’redowelling and living up to the description of lovable miscreants that Melanie bestowed up on us. Our Lady doesn’t have travel scheduled for work right now which is good. It means she can help up prepare our study guide for Wyatt’s Intro to being an Outlaw. The first lesson is about one of our core valued: Don’t get caught.

    Nighty nutter butters.

  48. Macy's mom
    11:07 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Wyatt an outlaw? Never!

  49. BearSpiritDog
    11:54 pm on April 29th, 2014

    Wyatt seems to have picked up some Fans along the way.

    Macy’s Mom: Looks like you had a Ruff Day and so did Biddy & Annie.
    Thank Dog for some fun with the girls to brighten up the day.

    Nite Everyone, Sleep tight – Bear

  50. Staff
    12:12 am on April 30th, 2014

    Rio I know you went to bed but Mr.Staff and I were out in the muddy garden today pulling out all the old zinnia stalks. I leave everything in the garden overwinter for the birds. But now I am back and have started feeding the birds so we can clean out the mess.

    Journey North says the Ruby Throated Hummingbirds are up at my part of the US so I will put out my sugar water tomorrow.

    Hey HOH have you found any butterflies at your new feeder? I don’t have any out yet. It is still too cold.

    We were supposed to get snow last night but didn’t. They said the same about tonight but then backed off to occasional flurries but mostly rain. It is very windy here. If we lived on the coast they would say gale force winds but since we don’t it is just darn windy.

  51. Wyatt
    2:08 am on April 30th, 2014

    ML: It’s true. I am an Outlaw through and through. Pancho, Lefty and the rest of my brothers wondered from time to time if I was adopted because you know, I’m a natural dainty licker with heretofore unseen Outlaw tendencies. But, just a few weeks ago when I tried to make off with a slice of cheesecake when the Giant wasn’t looking we discovered I’m not adopted, I’m just a late bloomer. Not to worry—even though I’m an Outlaw with a checkered past, I will continue to be a dainty licker. I am at your service.

  52. Thieves!
    2:25 am on April 30th, 2014

    We are going to take a break from planning Wyatt’s study guide to help Gramps break out when Golinka gives the go ahead. We’ve baked a Slim Jim into a cake—standard issue for any good escape. So he doesn’t fall behind, we’ve give Wyatt some homework. He is to memorize the lyrics for this little tune.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqejB3Nk1RA

  53. O'Howlers
    8:16 am on April 30th, 2014

    George Thorogood! The Destroyers!!! They are one of our very most favorites here at Howling Arabians!
    Thanks, Thieves!

  54. Macy's mom
    8:57 am on April 30th, 2014

    I bet it turns out that Wyatt is only bad to his fat layer. (sorry Wyatt, we all have a little)

    Someone please make me get up and get off this computer.

    Good Humpday, y’all

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia