Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars – another laugh aloud Chet and Bernie – April 15, 2014

bkluvr on To Fetch A Thief:

In this Chet and Bernie mystery, Chet makes some unusual new friends, gets into some serious trouble, and of course saves the day. All of this happens in Mr. Quinn’s usual totally adult style, with real pathos, humor, and of course satisfaction at the end. ! can’t imagine a more engaging read than the Chet and Bernie books.

Welcome new friend (see galery) Max from Israel.

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Thursday, April 17th, 2014 at 9:32 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

86 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Tupper and Gilly
    9:39 am on April 17th, 2014

    Are we first?
    Bee – you KNOW he picks the reviews that will make you say “grrrrr”

  2. Herd's Mom
    9:46 am on April 17th, 2014

    Good morning, everyone! The ommette this a m was some kind of “sin-thetic” egg substitute. I ate it in good faith that will impress the Dr. Gramps, last May I couldn’t keep down anything but ice chips and ran a temp for 4 days. That turned my 4 day Club Med stay into 9 days. This o’nite is now at 2 nights with a 3rd night possible :(
    Rose, you are loved, take care of you. Karen and Truman, pawsitive thoughts to y’all. Loved the foto of Amalia the dog…she’s grown!
    Have a tribute on Thursday! Walked the halls twice since 7, will nap a bit now :)

  3. B. Stover
    9:51 am on April 17th, 2014

    Which is why I will say nothing. (“Galery” or “gallery”?)

    Sharon: I hope you start feeling better.

    Rose: I hope you feel better. One day at a time.

    Good morning all.

  4. B. Stover
    9:57 am on April 17th, 2014

    I loved the description of Callie’s visit to Gramp.

  5. Herd's Mom
    10:05 am on April 17th, 2014

    Callie is a beautiful and well behaved lady. The HOH could take lessons from her!

  6. Staff
    10:07 am on April 17th, 2014

    Dear Rose, I saw the overnight posts and just want you to know that Alice, Abbie and I are all sending happy thoughts to you. Hope they get past the guard in the sparkly pink backpack. She is in charge of the happy stuff and claims she has you covered in it. Unless that was covered in pink sparkles. I am not sure which it was.

    Hugs to you and the prof.

  7. Tupper and Gilly
    10:11 am on April 17th, 2014

    Sharon – synthetic egg-like substances are still better than puréed masses of indiscriminate color that pass for “meals”. Feel better!

    Rose – depression is hard and overwhelming. But with the right help, and the support of your friends, you will beat it. We are in your corner.

  8. dawson
    10:34 am on April 17th, 2014

    I like “…Mr, Quinn’s usual totally adult style…”. Heh, heh. I find that humorous, I don’t know why.
    HOH: You go girl! Be careful of those cabana boys. That one yesterday looked like he was wearing an orange jumpsuit!
    Wose: Wrap yourself in your quilt and know we are here for you. I hope your sleep improves soon. All the Snowhook puppies send licks and nuzzles.

  9. dawson
    11:25 am on April 17th, 2014

    Mustang!
    50 years old today in the Year of the Horse.

  10. BearSpiritDog
    11:45 am on April 17th, 2014

    After Blurring off in a big hurry last night, KatDog just called on his little GoPhone with updates.
    In TN after arguing with a whole Herd of Hounds and the Mom herself (who insisted she would soon be going home) he blurred on to the next stop.
    In Texas He reports Kat & Sam are with Truman and have everything well in paw.
    Wyatt has his tail wrapped around ML’s wrist and refuses to leave her side.
    A Flyby to MA and a consultation with Mama Luna revealed a Big White Dog by Gramp’s side (who knew Callie could blurr?)
    Now it seems he and Belle Starr have taken up residence with their Dear Friend in Westchester until further notice.
    A Sax may or may not be involved. He claims it and a Guitar played by a certain Prof of some Renown are Necessary to serenade said Friend to sleep. And Rumor has it that Belle Starr arrived with not only Swedish Fish & Extra Sparkles, but perhaps a Amex Gold Card for online shopping.
    I have written everything down as well as My Memory allows. If there are any errors or Smoocher substitutions please do not hesitate to let me know.

  11. Loulou
    12:01 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Wose, sometimes Mommy talks to me in a harsh voice for no reason. Mr. Carrot always makes me feel better.

    I borrowed Mommy’s credit card and sent you a Mr. Carrot so you can feel better too.

    He is scheduled to arrive on Saturday.

    Love, Loulou

  12. Rio - The Evil Pug
    12:05 pm on April 17th, 2014

    LuLu!…I want a Mr. Carrot too!…sniff! …You owe me for pain and suffering…grunt!

  13. dawson
    12:27 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Loulou: You are the sweetest!

    Sunshine is drawing me outside.

  14. Kat
    12:47 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Good morning afternoon!
    About Callie: I’m not sure if I already told youse this, but she is my very very good friend. She showed me all of the best digging spots in her yard when I visited the hills of Western Massachusetts lo those many years ago.

    Wose, I wuv you and I want you to know I miss your talk on this here blog. But Momma says I am not to rush you into returning before you are ready. So….are you ready?
    Mama Meash is now giving me the Luna Look.

    I liked today’s review, and I do not see Mr. Q’s style as particularly adult, if adult means boring like the two-leggeds I know. However, Momma was laughing like Awesome when she read that part.

    BSD, thank you for your most excellent recap of all of our blurring and smooching. I get around so fast that I can’t even remember where I have been, or if I’m coming or going.

    Mrs. HOH, Momma says that you are to behave and eat everything so you can go home to the HOH. As for the POP, well, I think when you POOP they let you go back to them too.

    Loulou, you are very generous with that credit card. My other very best friend, the Princess, warned me about your credit card stealing and your sucking up to buy friendship.
    Having said that, I do not (yet) have a Mr. Carrot. Just sayin’

  15. Siber-H
    12:52 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Wose, Our love for you is in our prayers.

    I hope Gramp is on the road to recovery now. Callie is, indeed, a very good girl.

    LouLou, Smart girl. You are learning at a young age about Mommy’s credit card.

    Sharon, We are cheering for you to get to go home today.

  16. Siber-H
    12:54 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Rio, the Rockies game starts at 4:40 our time today.

  17. BearSpiritDog
    1:33 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Dawson: Birthday of the Mustang in the Year of the Horse. Love it!

    Kat: You may be the Youngest Member of the Smoochers, but it has been said you are One of the Best.

    LouLou: What a Nice Gesture…giving up Your Carrot…what’s this? You have ordered a new one on your mom’s Credit Card?
    Oh, oh. This cannot end well.

    Me? I am in Full Charge of Nana, making sure she Follows the Doc’s Instructions. She has that tendency to go off course in the area of diet. I have made certain the Fridge is newly stocked with all manner of fruits, veggies and healthy snacks, such as nuts.
    Sometimes she needs to be reminded that Miracles, after all, do not come easily and she would do well to remember that.

  18. c.hobbit
    1:41 pm on April 17th, 2014

    LouLou: one of my many collections is of bunnies and this time of year I pick up one or two more. A big, fluffy carrot would be a lovely and perfect addition to the herd… just saying.

  19. Tupper's Mama
    1:50 pm on April 17th, 2014

    BSD yes, please do keep Nana in line with her dietary requirements. She worked hard for that Miracle, and doesn’t need to have any repeats! Us extra sweet folks have to stick together.

    Gramp sends his best to everyone and thanks you all for your good thoughts. He is normally such an active man, doing yard work, walking Callie, doing errands etc., that he is having a very hard time with enforced inactivity. We talked to the case manager today about the idea of him going to a rehab facility before coming home. We picked one that does a minimum of 3 hours of physical therapy daily – that ought to give him enough to do!

    LouLou – sounds like there may need to be Carrots for everyone!

  20. AJ
    2:33 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Hello All,

    Third and final Iditarod narrative for this year…

    I woke up after a break in Unalakleet to a beautiful and crisp morning. There were no clouds and the team was ready to go. After a long run a few hours earlier I was worried that we would have a hard time getting going but they moved out smoothly this time and without the usual hour it had been taking me to get them really going. They seemed to have found their stride again.

    The only catch was that there was once again a lack of snow and we were on ice and dirt while going over the Blueberry Hills. These hills are steep but short with only a couple of 500 foot climbs and a lot of brush along with what we call side hilling or traversing acoss the slopes. They also mark a transition in the coast line from good weather to brutal weather once you complete the hills. The relative calm of the morning was soon to be a different story with only a couple of hours and a little mileage.

    Backing up a little bit, coming off the hills I was a little tense. Flashes of the burn went through my mind and we went down slowly and carefully and thankfully without incident. Which was fortunte because as soon as we hit the coast again it was ice and wind. The team was literally being blown around on the ice as we fought our way to Shaktoolik in sustained winds that we later found out to be in excess of 45 mph.

    Going out to Shaktoolik there is a natual wall that seperates the ocean from the tundra. On both sides there is ice and water. With the wind we were being blown around and moving up the wall onto the ocean side and down again. One moment you would watch your runner hanging out over open space with the ocean below and then you would fight your way through the wind to get back down the sea wall.

    Mile after long mile we went without stopping. I didn’t want to risk the team bunching up or stopping entirely in the wind. Shaktoolik drew closer and the wind picked up but we kept making good time towards the village. A wolf in the middle of this section made an appearance running across the trail just in front of me made it all the more surreal.

    Finally, we made it to old Shaktoolik and had only a mile to go to get to the village. There is a road here that you travel on but it was down to just ice. The dogs could barely keep their place on the trail and were consistently being blown towards the ocean side. I stopped the team just on the outside of town and almost crawled across the ice with my leaders to get them off it so we could get into the check point.

    And with work we made it to where I would spend another 20 hours of my race. Shakoolik’s check point is a building about 25 feet long by 12 feet wide. We park the teams behind the back of it and it always blows there. This time it was even more severe. I originally only wanted to spend 3 hours here but by the time I parked it was blowing hard enough the building across the street were obscured and the elders were saying not to head out across the sound.

    I took their advice and build barriers around my dogs and started to wait. Unfortunately because the weather was still good in Unk. all the teams I had passed now started to catch up to me and our crew of 4 mushers became nearly 20 by the end of the night with the storm getting worse.

    Teams were parked on topm of each other and becoming burried under the snow. The wind made a mess out of everything with drifting, blowing straw away and making rest for the dogs impossible. Every hour I went out and checked the team to simply make sure they were alive. Each dog I touched I had a little fear they wouldn’t respond. Can’t describe what that feeling is really like but when each dog popped its head up for a little affection I was significanlty relieved. And then I moved onto the next dog.

    Eventually the buildings across the street became visible and the dash to get across the sound was on. 20 hours of being couped up together and knowing your dogs weren’t in a good spot had us anxious to get out. My team responded great and we flew past everyone else leaving the checkpoint. We had now problem on the ice or in the lessing wind to get out and move on. But here I made a big mistake that I will get into later on…

    Coming into Koyuk the team was dehyrdrated but after everything still ready to go. Last time I was there I contracted something that nearly wiped me out in last year’s race. So, I was a little weary when offered caribou stew but after that a little rest I was out and we were off for what became the best run of the trip.

    Back along the coastline I turned my head lamp off and we made a great night run under now windless conditions and a full moon. For many of the mushers this was the best section of trail.

    Now onto Elim. Many had left Koyuk before me because I had made a mistake going across the sound by leading the way for most of the pack. My team got tired and theirs not so much and so they got to Elim before me. When i got to Elim though I found them all asleep and as I looked after my team I felt that they were in good shape to leave early. And we did.

    Sorry folks, I just looked at the length of this and I’ll have to do one more to finish this up…. I find myself including more about this race that is interesting to me but probably filler to all of you…

    I’ll finish it all up tomorrow.

    AJ

  21. Wose-the small and meek
    2:41 pm on April 17th, 2014

    thank youse all for thinking of me.
    Kat, I wuv you too.
    LouLou, sometimes Grizz gets mad at me, and then he takes the credit card out of my hand. sending a mr. carrot is very sweet of you.
    KatDog and my VBFF, belle starr are keeping me company under the quilt.

    BSD, make sure nana is eating well and taking good care of herself.
    thinking of gramps, ML, sharon, and truman with love and healing prayers.

  22. BearSpiritDog
    2:46 pm on April 17th, 2014

    AJ: Believe us when we say EVERY WORD OF YOUR NARATIVE IS INTERESTING.
    Please Do not leave anything out!!!

  23. B. Stover
    2:48 pm on April 17th, 2014

    None of it is “filler” AJ. We like all of it. Thank you.

  24. BearSpiritDog
    2:52 pm on April 17th, 2014

    …that would be “narrative”.

    Wose: We didn’t see your Post because of this Carpola (*&H%$)@#) IE
    I know you are in Very Good Paws with your BFFs there with you.
    Nana and I send Much Love and Bear Hugs.

  25. Wose-the small and meek
    3:10 pm on April 17th, 2014

    BSD and Nana, thanks for those hugs. i can feel them right now.
    there is another April birthday today besides Mustang. my little brother paul has a birthday today. he is 49.

    AJ, I love read about your trail experiences! perhaps there is a book in all this?

  26. Wose-the small and meek
    3:12 pm on April 17th, 2014

    $&@€¥^%

    I love READING about your trail experiences!

  27. Siber-H
    3:21 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Me too, AJ, I love reading about your Iditarod experiences. It is all interesting to us. Thank You.

    Nana, Please take good care of yourself. Do as BDS says.
    We all care about you so much.

    Maybe LouLou’s catalog has some stuffed animals. I do not want a stuffed vegetable.

  28. Masquers
    3:23 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Reports from under the quilt…things are getting better…better every day.
    My dear friend and her VBFF Belle Starr are under the Rose quilt thinking of sampling some online wares with the gold card.
    The Prof & I will be playing some soothing tunes later this evening.
    Kool jazz on the sax & guitar…good friends all around…it doesn’t get any better than this.
    Masquers signing off.

  29. BearSpiritDog
    3:26 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Wose: A Very Happy Birthday to your brother Paul!!!

    Siber-H: That is funny!

  30. Loulou
    3:34 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Wose, Mr. Carrot makes a great pillow. Just take a little nap on him and you’ll feel better in no time. It works for me.

  31. Billy's Buddy
    3:37 pm on April 17th, 2014

    AJ’s reports are riveting.

    Wonderful to hear from Wose, and happy birthday to her brother.

    Glad Gramps is better.

    Nana, take care of yourself. We all need you.

    I know I’ve forgotten something. Oh, yes. Mr. Carrot rocks!

  32. Kat
    3:50 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Loulou’s Mr. Carrot is HUGE!!! No, wait…Loulou is tiny.
    Wose, I am happy to hear from you you you. Now I can stick my tongue out at bossy Mama Meash who did not think I should have asked you if you were ready.
    I hope Gramps breaks out of that hospital soon. He treated me so well up there in the hills of Massachusetts. Momma wanted to hold me tight, but he told her to relax.
    Happy Birthday to Paul.
    BSD, what’s all this about Nana not eating right? Do I need to come there and force feed her?

  33. O'Howlers with Meashka in Charge
    3:54 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Kat has become such an iPaw hog.

    AJ, we ditto what others have said. Absolutely nothing in your story is filler to us. We are loving it all, because we live vicariously through you and the A-Team. Please tell us everything you can remember. We wish we had been smart enough to cut/paste Parts I and II so we would have the complete story in one place. Have any of youse already done that? If so, can you email it to us? Otherwise we have to go hunting and we don’t remember which days they were posted.

  34. Rio - The Evil Pug
    4:06 pm on April 17th, 2014

    AJ!…Your Iditarod Race Reporting is excellant!…snort!…I am thinking you should write up all my reports from here on out…chuffle!…Who’s a good reporter?

  35. Wose-the small and meek
    4:09 pm on April 17th, 2014

    LouLou, i am very sure that mr. carrot will help me to sleep better too. that is very nice of you to think of me.

  36. Rio - The Evil Pug
    4:15 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Rose!…snorkel!…I’m so glad to see you are up and tip-tapping on your computer…snort!

  37. Herd's Mom
    4:30 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Home at last, home at last! Thank Dog Almighty, I’m home at last :) The HOH has informed me they are “miffed” I didn’t leave a computer for them…
    A.J., Ditto and ditto to what all others have said. Going to nap now..ZZZZZZzzzz

  38. BearSpiritDog
    4:42 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Hound’s Mom: When you awaken from your nap…Welcome Back…
    Welcome Back Home!!!

  39. Rio - The Evil Pug
    5:26 pm on April 17th, 2014

    HoHo!…She must have Poo’ed…snort!….Who’s a good girl?

  40. O'Howlers
    5:27 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Welcome nback to the HOH and the POP and the D-cubed, Sharon.

  41. O'Howlers
    5:27 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Rio! Snort!

  42. BearSpiritDog
    5:29 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Kat: The human V*E*T wasn’t too pleased with some of Nana’s test results and put me in charge of her Diet.
    At long last she understands it is not enough to eat, eat, eat, but also to choose the Very Best Foods for Her.
    Problem is she is finding that many seemingly healthy foods are off limit.
    I have assured her she is not alone. Many of youse on this here Blog can assist to the Food Challenges faced every day in one form or another.
    All she has to do is follow my lead. Even my Treaties have the Official Dog Stamp of Approval.
    Now her menu must have My Paw Print of Approval as well.

  43. Wookie's and Teddy's Dad
    5:57 pm on April 17th, 2014

    AJ — A great report about a great journey. Looking forward to the next installment. It is all extremely interesting and exciting, so don’t worry at all about it being filler.

  44. BearSpiritDog
    6:17 pm on April 17th, 2014

    O’Howlers: Someone Here did that very thing, but alas it was on the now Defunct Program.

    TechNoKat is not here but we can do it. Here goes…We will now attempt a Great Technical Feat of Magic…Deleting & Reinstalling the Fox called Fire.

    Hopefully youse will hear from us (again) soon. Yeep!

  45. Tupper and Gilly
    6:20 pm on April 17th, 2014

    BSD – we will indeed willingly assist in menu planning. We must be assured that Nana stays healthy and happy!

    AJ – suspenseful, interesting, thrilling – YES!
    Filler? No!
    Let’s face it, Corgis are never ever get to run the Iditarod, so this is as close as we will ever get.

  46. Kat
    6:26 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Dear Giant, I am still hoping to run on your team. It sounds extremely exciting, and my life here in Pennsylvania is very boring. I do love snow…I learned all about it this year. I am very fast, and I have tons of energy. I also love to eat. I do not want to lead though. Oh no I do not.

  47. Kat
    6:28 pm on April 17th, 2014

    BSd, what does that v-e-t say Nana should eat?

  48. Ml
    6:44 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Greetings from a place I haven’t been in years a laundromat Someone who shall remain nameless peed on my comforter before Alaska. I think things will begin to feel more normal when I get my bed back to normal. Belle continues to try to sleep on my head. When I look at her I feel so sad for her. Wyatt would you mind taking her for a walk or something?

    The hospital food here was mostly not bad especially after I discovered I could order a delish cheeseburger anytime. Sharon do not hang out for the food. Lovin hugs coming at you by the bedpanful.

    Bedpans full of hugs for Gramps as well

  49. Kat
    6:46 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Any of youse who are on facebookie: my photo is in a contest in MaPaw Siberian Huskie Rescue. If I get lots of Likes, they will pick me me me for their icon!

  50. Macy's mom
    6:48 pm on April 17th, 2014

    I wrote the above hours ago, but it was on my phone and I did not fill in the blanks correctly. I have since learned that Sharon is home with her pillows. Good for her. Hoping for good reports from Gramps as well.

    I am trying to talk myself into going to a service at church tonight. I am dressed and my tire has air in it finally, so I really should go. I don’t know how all you single ladies stand the quiet, with intermittent barkfests.

  51. O'Howlers
    6:51 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Macy’s Mom, our hearts are breaking for you. None of us would like Alone either. We are hoping that your loving dogs will help you and give you purpose once again. They need you. And you need them.

  52. O'Howlers
    7:16 pm on April 17th, 2014

    We have a new app on our iPaw called Shazam. It is so cool. Whenever there is any music playing, it identifies it and saves a tag you can use later to listen, or see lyrics, or download the song.

  53. Barb & Maggie
    7:22 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Good evening all. Barb was MIA all day. Home now, but working tomorrow morning too. She is a Starving Marvin, because she didn’t even have time for lunch today!

    AJ, your narratives are never boring and we never thing anything is filler. We love to hear every word. Thank you for your exciting reports.

    Rose, Hope you are feeling better. Maybe cuddling Mr. Carrot will help you get some sleep!

    Hoe HOH and Gramps are feeling better.

  54. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:51 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Shazam!… I wonder if Gomer Pile wrote that app?…snort!

    O’Brother!….My friend needs to call her big brother and ask him to do stuff for her that short people cannot do…sniff!…He is also good at electrical stuff so there is one of those things too…sniffle!…She does not want to call and ask him because Easter Sunday is the only day he will be up this way. They are all going out to a nice restaurant for dinner so he would have to do this work right after eating….wheeze!… It’s a Easter Day Conundrum….yeeeep!

  55. Barb & Maggie
    8:51 pm on April 17th, 2014

    ML, I am sorry but I can’t give you any helpful advice on getting used to the quiet. After being divorced for 25 years, I am very used to and doing whatever I want and being very set in my ways. I am afraid that at this point in my old age, I would have the opposite problem – getting used to cohabiting and working with someone else’s schedule, and giving up my control of the remote, etc.

    My best advice is to just keep busy, get involved with church or volunteer activities, do things with friends and family. Just try not to sit around and listen to a quiet house. It will take time.

  56. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:54 pm on April 17th, 2014

    ML!…All three of us volunteer to package up her mother and send her on over to you…heh!…You will never have a quiet moment again…snort!

  57. BearSpiritDog
    9:02 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Hey! It Worked! We Are Back!!!

    Royals: We can use all the Help on Menus you can offer.

    Kat: Nana is very Allergic to Sugar. Do you know how many foods contain sugar? The List is Long. Easier to concentrate on the ones that do not. Unfortunately the word Comfort usually does not come before it.

    Macy’s Mom: Sending You Bear Hugs and offering to add my voice to the Barkfest. Arrrooooo, Arrroooooo, Arrrooooooo.

  58. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:07 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Bear!….You are the Paws!…snort!….Good job. Did Techno-Kat give you any help?…chorkel!

  59. Mollypop's Mom
    9:11 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Bear, it has taken many years for me to fully have given up sugar and grains. Now I couldn’t be happier. Particularly with my gluten problem. Tastes change. I eat meat, eggs, nuts, vegetables, lots of green ones, and salads. And cheese milk and cream. All are yummy. There is nothing there that makes my blood sugar spike.

  60. O'Howlers
    9:11 pm on April 17th, 2014

    So, Bear…can you now get to all three installments of AJ’s story?

    Barb’s suggestion of volunteering is a good one for ML.

  61. Mollypop's Mom
    9:15 pm on April 17th, 2014

    American Idol is on. By the time Rio gets to see who gets to leave, I will be sound asleep.

  62. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:25 pm on April 17th, 2014

    IDOL!….I can think of Three people who might go home tonight – all from Alabamie!…snort!

  63. Barb & Maggie
    9:26 pm on April 17th, 2014

    BSD, What foods is you Nana trying to avoid?

  64. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:26 pm on April 17th, 2014

    MollysMaw!….My friend wants to be on your diet….sniff!…But living in this house with you-know-who, it is very hard…grunt!

  65. Wyatt
    9:32 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Beau: Do you have your special Easter sermon prepared?

    Rick’s Belle: Hold still. There are some dainty licks coming your way.

  66. Mollypop's Mom
    9:33 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Rio, basically my diet has become a Paleo diet due to this gluten problem. But on the other hand, the keto diet is even more appealing and makes me feel much better, but it is more difficult to do.

  67. Billy's Buddy
    9:43 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Wyatt: You had me at “Hold still.” I would be happy to help you practice your dainty or any other licks.

  68. Rick's Belle
    9:47 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Thank you for the dainty licks. I needed a pick-me-up. Mom let me sniff the neck pillow that Pops used the whole time he was at that bad place. Let me tell you, it unleashed (heh) a whole bunch of powerful memories. I am beginning to think that he is not coming home again. I was so upset that I had to go a few rounds with my squeaky squirrel that doesn’t squeak so much any more. I am much calmer now. Never mind about the tube of medicine for fever blisters that got chewed up. Nope, nothing to see here.
    Mom says that Wyatt is very water repellent, what ever that means.

  69. BearSpiritDog
    9:49 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Rio: I am Beary Proud of myself…following a text from Masquers to the letter proved to be simple and successful.

    MollyPop’s Mom: That does sound good! It’s the Grains & Sugar that are so addictive.
    What is the Keto diet? We are not familiar with it.

    Barb&Magpie: Foods to Avoid to name a few…potatoes, any kind of bread, white rice, pasta and most yogurts, which are supposed to be healthy but contain a ton of sugar.

    O’Howlers: You will find Parts I and II of AJ’s Iditarod Story on April 7 (search CTD: skunked) and April 11 (search CTD: Tie).
    Part III is, of course, on page two of today’s post.

  70. Macy's mom
    9:52 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Rio, thanks for the very generous offer, but I could not possibly accept. You would miss her too much.

    Rick discovered Shazam a couple of years ago while we on vacation. He went downstairs and stayed for a couple of hours so I went to track him down. He was in the lobby letting Shazaam tell him what was playing!

    Tomorrow is my regularly scheduled day to work at the resale shop. I haven’t worked since before Alaska, so I am very excited to go.

  71. BearSpiritDog
    9:56 pm on April 17th, 2014

    O’Howlers: Or were you looking for Copied Versions?
    Is that contest Kat is entered in already over? They are saying some other guy got the most likes. sniff.

  72. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:04 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Done!….Phone call to Brother – Done! and successful…snort!…He has agreed to help out after Easter Dinner and my friend offered to buy his Easter Dinner…heh!heh!….Someone here just hates asking for favors….sniff!

  73. dawson
    10:07 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Rio: What are brothers for if not to help out their sisters?

    ML: Today the man who lives in this house went South on a plane. He will be gone 4.5 days. I will enjoy doing all the things that annoy him when he is here. I will miss him…if there is any heavy lifting to be done. Just kidding. He has a bad back so I do the heavy lifting. He left me $50.00 in looneys and tooneys because I said I was broke. I will buy things that he would complain about if he was here. He has skyped twice and called once. Sheesh! It’s hard to get some peace and quiet around here. I love him dearly, especially when he is gone. If it is too quiet I will play music, perhaps loudly. All this only works because I know he is coming back soon. If that changed, it would be a whole new ball game.

    BSD: Keep Nana on the Mollypop’s Mom diet! Except she can have grains too.

  74. dawson
    10:11 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Oh!
    BSD: You can’t have grains either?

    I have to look up the Keto diet.

    AJ: I will read part three now. I am sure there is no filler. We want to know all the details!

  75. BooBear
    10:16 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Thanks to the smoochers who helped Dad through yesterday and today. No bad problems resulting from the chemo session. Tomorrow evening, Mom and Dad are going to friends to celebrate Easter. There will be many very young children there and it’s always fun to watch them hunt the eggs. Saturday, a niece and her husband are coming for a overnight visit. It should be a fun Easter weekend. Hopefully, Dad will continue to feel pretty good.

    Mom wants to say a special thanks for all the prayers and good wishes from all of you. It really helps Mom alot.

    AJ, we echo what everyone else has said. We are loving the race narrative. Hopefully, one of the plunderers more computer skilled than Mom (SiberH…haha) will compile the parts and post it on dishlickers.

  76. Macy's mom
    10:17 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Dawson, I am so proud that I actually know what loonys and toonys are! I still say they look like game tokens, but if I ever get back to Canada, I won’t be broke, eh.
    New ballgame indeed.

    I made it to the church service. Water collected in my eyes more than once, and when the lady next to me asked if this was a hard Easter for me, I lost it completely. And the Cancer Society “Relay for Life” is coming up in two weeks. To raise money people decorate paper luminarias in honor or memory of someone. When I got to church someone had made one for Rick using the pictures and writings on the bulletins from Saturday and it was sitting on the sign-up table. On the day of the event they will line the track at a local football field. I hope to be able to go.

  77. Wyatt
    10:18 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Rick’s Belle: My fur is wash and wear.

  78. Macy the min-pin
    10:21 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Yikes! If I took all those things out of my diet…well, I might not be a chunky monkey, but I would not be very happy either. *whispering* Mom eats even more junk than me, but only because she is taller and has thumbs.

  79. Wyatt
    10:33 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Macy: The giant eats more junk food than me too, and for the very same reasons.

  80. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:52 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Tall!…There are so many advantages to being tall. I have none of them….grump!

  81. dawson
    11:02 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Kat: We voted for you and Cherokee and I see that Cherokee got just a vote or two more than you. You are both winners in my book!

    Nighty noodles to y’all and g’day to Liz and Ruby.

  82. Barb & Maggie
    11:04 pm on April 17th, 2014

    We are going to go look up keto diet and then go to bed. Night all.

  83. BearSpiritDog
    11:27 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Nity-night
    I’m off for a Late Nite Snack.

  84. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:29 pm on April 17th, 2014

    Bear!….I would love a late-night snack! What you got going over there pal?…snort!

  85. Staff
    1:24 am on April 18th, 2014

    I am up too late but I read the whole blog. Nighty noodle guys.

  86. Diane C.
    7:23 am on April 18th, 2014

    Hello All and Best Wishes for this Good Friday–

    It is good to see that some are back from Club Med and some are improving, also that Macy’s Mom is out and engaged in meaningful work. (I seem to recall a month or 6 weeks having toruble getting out of bed in the a.m.) Also, Macy sounds tip-top of late.

    Those who need it seem to be in good paws because of the blurring and smooching detail. It is good to have such exemplary emergency help available.

    I’m still not doing a good job keeping everyone straight as some go by more than one name (Billy’s Buddy?), but please know that Ms. Pretty, Edgar, Conan and I keep you all in our thoughts and will be meditating with you in mind tonight. I’m about to start the Friday part of my 26-hour workweek (only half today because of staggered Spring Breaks) so will be back later when today’s page is up.
    Be well, and those of your traveling, travel safely. (That includes driving.)

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia