Random Amazon Review We Like

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Read It, February 18, 2014
Lynx on Dog On It:
Kept me laughing and in suspense at the same time. Spencer Quinn has important things to say about animals, the environment, and other important issues, woven seamlessly into a great story.
Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Monday, February 24th, 2014 at 8:12 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

136 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Wose
    8:19 am on February 24th, 2014

    (Looking around suspiciously)

    Am I first?

    Greetings to all!

    Short and sweet review.

  2. Herd of Hounds
    8:22 am on February 24th, 2014

    Good morning, everyone! Like the review. Author”s name confused us for a sescond, “Lynx on Dog…” We got it now :) If you aren’t feeling tio top, hopw you are soon. Busy, busy , busy day around here. Mom has been scratching one thing off her list and adding 2 more :(

    Have a mouthwatering Monday! (We know Barb and Maggie will)

  3. Wose
    8:29 am on February 24th, 2014

    Good Morning, HOH!

    Belle Starr: We are one of the same. I am known to be a miscreant at times, have to have any baby animals I see, love ice cream, and want to come live with you, you, you!

    All those traveling today, safe travels, and have a great time at Plunderfest.

  4. B. Stover
    8:49 am on February 24th, 2014

    I’d like those “important things” enumerated. (Just being an English prof…though I am curious.)

    Good morning all.

  5. O'Howlers
    8:56 am on February 24th, 2014

    Good morning! Bee!!! You can post…so happy.
    Tomorrow is travel day. The ‘rents have to get up out of their warm, soft bed at 1:30 am !!!!

  6. c.hobbit
    9:12 am on February 24th, 2014

    Well, lookie who showed up this morning all shaken and shivering? Rio gasped out, “Thieves!” “Dog napped” “So fast” and “Where’s Rebecca?” I guess Pancho & Lefty took my idea of rescuing Rio from the hot sun at Siber’s and ran with the idea so to speak even when Rio no longer needed rescuing. After dumping him off (heh, heh) they have obviously hot-footed it back to Snowhook to ask permission for Rio to visit. In the meantime he is an honored guest at the Hobbit Hotel!

  7. c.hobbit
    9:13 am on February 24th, 2014

    Well, lookie who showed up this morning all shaken and shivering? Rio gasped out, “Thieves!” “Dog napped” “So fast” and “Where’s Rebecca?” I guess Pancho & Lefty took my idea of rescuing Rio from the hot sun at Siber’s and ran with the idea so to speak even when Rio no longer needed rescuing. After dumping him off (heh, heh) they have obviously hot-footed it back to Snowhook to ask permission for Rio to visit. In the meantime he is an honored guest at the Hobbit Hotel!

  8. c.hobbit
    9:14 am on February 24th, 2014

    I calmed him down gave him a tour and I must say that he seems very interested in Sadie’s plush bed and tub of toys. I also briefly mentioned 2 of the 4 house rules for dogs and Plunderers alike: No farting in the house and no peeing on or off the deck. He got all grumbly again but perked up at rule #3 [eat all the treats and goodies you are given and drink all the beer before you leave] and #4 [have as much fun as possible]. I took him out on the deck and showed him the 18 steps down to the dog yard and which made him decide that he wants to go to his LITTLE CABIN IN THE WOODS as soon as possible!!! Aw Rio!

    I decided that it was time for a Meet & Greet with Sadie and here is what happened:

  9. Barb & Maggie
    9:14 am on February 24th, 2014

    Good morning all. Sunny but frosty here. Howlers, we are happy for your folks, but getting up in the middle of the night, no fun.

    HOH, Barb is always amazed at those people who say they don’t cook because they are alone. Just popcorn, toast or a bag of cookies for dinner. Barb likes to cook so that never happens around here, although she doesn’t like it enough to have a restaurant. Maybe if she cooked less she would be skinny.

    Hokie-Bear is up above. Wish he would pop in and say hey.

  10. c.hobbit
    9:15 am on February 24th, 2014

    Oh this is funny because it is well known that Rio has privacy issues. While he was distracted by Sadie’s ball, Sadie took a sniff. Rio heard the camera click and was loud and clear that not only did he not want Sadie smelling his butt, he did not want me to take a photo and post it on the blog. (Apologies to B. Stover for the grammar)

  11. B. Stover
    9:15 am on February 24th, 2014

    Howlers: Safe travels and have a wonderful time.

    Rio: What is the definition of “discombobbling”? (I like it.)

  12. c.hobbit
    9:16 am on February 24th, 2014

    I don’t know if Sadie is trying to get her ball back from Rio or smell his underbids but either way Rio looks surprised and unhappy.

  13. c.hobbit
    9:18 am on February 24th, 2014

    I reminded Rio that he would be meeting the Plunders in a couple of days and that he just needed to chill and rest up prior to their arrival. That made him pretty happy until he remembered that he had been dognapped without his little knapsack so he didn’t have his Plunderer Passport. I think his words (the ones that I can post) were something like “Spit” “Growl” “Thieves!”

    This is going to be a fun visit…now it is a party with Rio here. Let the adventures begin!

  14. c.hobbit
    9:19 am on February 24th, 2014

    Sorry for the double Dawson. It is a wee bit early here in Alaska. Maybe I can say I did it on purpose since Dawson is coming.

  15. B. Stover
    9:20 am on February 24th, 2014

    CHarris: Sadie is beautiful.

  16. Herd of Hounds
    9:26 am on February 24th, 2014

    CHobbit: Good googa mooga! What in the name of Dawg are youse up so early?
    Love the fotos (Rio looks none the worse for wear) and Sadie is one pretty gal.

  17. c.hobbit
    9:37 am on February 24th, 2014

    Siber-H is going to be jealous of these photos of Rio in Alaska. I wonder if Pancho & Lefty will start blurring other dogs (and cats) up here? The more the merrier! And with all the Plunderers who are coming there should be enough hands to pet, feed and play with everyone.

    We will see (of course, I expect P&L are back on the trails training for the big race so they might be too busy to blur). I’ll ask Rebecca to ask Luna to keep an eye on all the other dogs who might be getting ideas about blurring their friends up here.

  18. Basil and Sage
    9:43 am on February 24th, 2014

    CHobbit and Thieves – hahahahahahaha

    We think the surprised look on Rio’s face is from finding himself in deep snow in Alaska, without his coat of many colors.

    Poor wittle Puggie needs a hat.

    Hahahahahahahahhahahasnorthahaha

  19. Barb & Maggie
    10:06 am on February 24th, 2014

    Great shots of Sadie and Rio.

    What time is it in Alaska? Was Hobbit posting at 4:15 her time?

  20. Herd of Hounds
    10:27 am on February 24th, 2014

    B&M, think it was in the 5’s AST…GAH!

  21. Basil and Sage
    10:38 am on February 24th, 2014

    Does any one have Diane’s email address? We thought we had it, but our email to her bounced.

  22. Basil and Sage
    10:47 am on February 24th, 2014

    And now for some shots of the kitchen area.

    Before:

  23. Herd of Hounds
    10:47 am on February 24th, 2014

    Will send it to your SDD right now.

  24. Basil and Sage
    10:48 am on February 24th, 2014

    After:

  25. Basil and Sage
    10:49 am on February 24th, 2014

    Before

  26. Basil and Sage
    10:50 am on February 24th, 2014

    After

    Everything is just SO much lighter.

  27. Herd of Hounds
    10:51 am on February 24th, 2014

    Wow! Quite the facelift.

  28. O'Howlers
    10:59 am on February 24th, 2014

    T&G, your kitchen is lovely. We here are very jealous.

  29. Dawson
    10:59 am on February 24th, 2014

    I like short reviews.

    CHobbit: I love the adventures of Rio and Sadie!

    The snow has stopped and no rain yet.

    Ugh!
    OHowlers: Up at 1:30? (Bleep!!) That is bad!
    I’ll see you tomorrow! That is good.

  30. Herd of Hounds
    11:07 am on February 24th, 2014

    Daddy Dawd and mom get into Anchorage about 9 PM AST (1 AM @ home) Not going through Seattle…Minneapolis of all places! See y’all in Alaska :)

  31. Dawson
    11:08 am on February 24th, 2014

    T&G: I loved the wood but I must admit if I were to be spending any amount of time in that room, I would prefer the painted one. I love the color and I love, love, love your stove.
    I have to find some coffee.

  32. O'Howlers
    11:28 am on February 24th, 2014

    HOH, the ‘rents return via Minneapolis. Pop will be all out of vacation time by then, so that does not bode well. Yikes!

  33. O'Howlers' Mom
    11:31 am on February 24th, 2014

    Yeep!!!!! I can’t believe I will be in Alaska tomorrow! And with Hobbit, Dawson, Macy’s mom, HOH’s ‘rents, and hopefully Mr. And mrs. Staff. Yeep!
    When will we be seeing the Snowhook gang? We can’t wait!!!!!
    Mom says she will have to be looking/enjoying for two: herself and BooBear’s mom.

  34. Basil and Sage
    11:40 am on February 24th, 2014

    To all travelers. – Very Important Information.
    If your plane is overbooked, they will make an announcement asking for volunteers to be bumped. If you can spare anytime at all – JUMP ON THAT OFFER.
    You will not only get up to $800 each in airfare credit, but you will also be guaranteed to be put on the very next available flight IN FIRST CLASS!

    Mama and the Storyteller flew back and forth to New Mexico 4 times after only paying for 1 trip. They automatically tell the desk person at their departure gate that they are willing to be bumped. So they get first dibs on “bump goodies”

  35. Riö -The Evil Pug
    11:45 am on February 24th, 2014

    Out!…CHobbit, you can let me in now….snort!…I’m ready to come in now. It’s cold out here!…grunt!…CHobbit??

  36. ML
    11:57 am on February 24th, 2014

    I see that no one took me up on the ice climbing last night. Whatever

    Look who showed up in th trees outside my bedroom window!

  37. Siber-H
    12:00 pm on February 24th, 2014

    ML That is dinner outside your window!

    The ice climbing picture is pretty.

  38. c.hobbit
    12:06 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Sorry Rio: I didn’t recognize your bark. Plus I had to feed Sadie before I let you back in. Sharing Sadie’s food is a no no

  39. c.hobbit
    12:08 pm on February 24th, 2014

    B. Stover: yes I think Sadie is beautiful too. [and Rio has a certain beauty all his own, heh heh]

  40. c.hobbit
    12:09 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Although I understand why Rio doesn’t like photos of his face on the blog

  41. Tupper and Gilly
    12:14 pm on February 24th, 2014

    ML – you saw a moose!!! We are so jealous. We have had an occasional moose around here – yes, really. And I know that most people in Alaska would rather not see a moose (unless they were seeing dinner), but we think they are just cool.

    We are twirling – twirling about the Plunderers gathering in Alaska. Everybody – please give every other PlunderPerson a hug, and tell them it is from Melanie. She wants to return all those hugs that she is getting from her Robe of Many (subtle) Colors.

    Fly safe, and have good flights and happy landings.

  42. Riö -The Evil Pug
    12:16 pm on February 24th, 2014

    CHobbit!….sniff!

  43. Tupper and Gilly
    12:17 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Sheesh – we posted those pics from the ipaw, and they were just fine. Now on the big computer, they are sideways. grump
    No – we really don’t live in a sideways house. If we try to post a pic from the ipaw in landscape mode, it still goes sideways. double grump

    Oh well – at least we are not locked out on the deck in Alaska

    tee hee

  44. ML
    12:22 pm on February 24th, 2014
  45. Siber-H
    12:29 pm on February 24th, 2014

    C.Hobbit, How is Sadie doing? Have the results of her labwork come back yet?

  46. Dawson
    12:29 pm on February 24th, 2014

    T&G: The pictures are right side up on my ipaw.

  47. c.hobbit
    12:35 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Siber-H: not yet. Maybe today or tomorrow

  48. Riö -The Evil Pug
    12:35 pm on February 24th, 2014

    TV!….At least CHobbit has a big TV…snort!

  49. Barb & Maggie
    12:38 pm on February 24th, 2014

    T & G, No worries, we just turn our heads sideways. It is harder when they are upside down. Your new stove looks a lot like Barb’s that she got last year. She loves it, but have to admit we have never cooked on the middle griddle. You made an excellent choice on colors, and also a wise choice to hire painters.

    Last year when Barb painted our cabinets, she took the doors off and painted 2-4 at a time on the counter top. With one coat of primmer and 2 finish coats on each side, it took about a month to get everything painted.

    Love the moose picture. We agree, they are way cool.

  50. c.hobbit
    12:39 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Rio and I are going to take a nap before we continue our adventures. We will try to post more tonight. STAY TUNED!

  51. Dawson
    1:15 pm on February 24th, 2014

    ML: I am rather discombobulated today. Was that you at the Atlantic Ocean?

    Melanie: I will double hug every Plunder person I meet – with a big grin.

    I will join Melanie and BearSpiritDog for a nap because thinking about the OHowlers leaving time has made me tired.

  52. Herd of Hounds
    1:16 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Rio, you are having quite the adventure with CHobbit!
    ML, Looks like it was a bit warmer at the Atlantic Ocean than in Alaska. Neat moose on the loose foto.
    We think the sideways/upside down fotos is an inter computer company conspracy.

  53. Riö -The Evil Pug
    1:23 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Bed!…Well this sucks!…grump!…CHobbit! I need my own warm soft bed. NOW! …gruffle!

  54. Thieves!
    1:38 pm on February 24th, 2014

    There is no denying it. CHobbit mentioned springing Rio from breaking rocks in the hot sun and we could help but start plotting and scheming—two of our favorite things.

    We came up with the following comprehensive plan:

    1. Leave no tan pug behind.
    2. When all else fails, wing it.
    3. Don’t get caught.

    We followed the plan down to every detail.

    Rio’s Friend let him out, out, out and he checked a pmail on a tree. The message was from us telling him we were going to help him leave his yard so he could go north to Alaska. The message also said stay calm and don’t ask questions we don’t want to answer.

    Long story short, disguises—Pancho was disguised as a bible thumping pug and Lefty was described as Pancho—a distraction, yeeping, beer, hot wings, a Rio-esque balloon, and blurring were involved to make this pugnapping possible. It was the blurring that gave us a bit of trouble. Rio was waiting at our meeting point marked beer and hot wings so he would know he was in the right place. The plan was for Lefty to grab the pug and and Pancho to grab the beer and hot wings for our journey and then we would blur to Alaska. What we didn’t expect was that blurring a pug is a two Thief job. We had no idea. Lefty was able to blur a couple of feet on his first attempt, but that was it. The second attempt was no better. In true winging it style, Pancho had to abandoned the beer and hot wings to aid Lefty in the getaway while Beau yeeped and a certain mother of a certain Friend gave us dirty looks. Luckily, Rio had the good sense to roll in the the hot wings—delish!—as he and the wings both fell to the earth in his backyard. Lefty grabbed Rio by the scruff, Pancho grabbed Rio’s cinnomon bun tail, and Rio grabbed the beer and off we blurred.

    We dropped Rio off at the Hobbit Hotel and made a getaway of our own. We did our best to get all of the hot wing sauce off of him to make him presentable for our favorite Hobbit. It is always easier to ask for forgiveness for an unannounced visit if you’re clean rathter than if you’re slathered in orange and smelling of beer.

    We are waiting for our Lady to get some more rest before we tell her Rio is moving in with us, us, us. We don’t think she’ll mind. She loves that pug snorts, wheezes and all.

  55. Mollypop's Mom
    1:42 pm on February 24th, 2014

    It’s not even 6 degrees of separation. The woman who does my hair has a friend whose brother is a musher in the Iditarod – Rick Casillo. He also lives in Willow. He’s from Alden which is about 8 miles outside of Buffalo’s eastern suburb. Alden is part of the Buffalo-Niagara area.

  56. B. Stover
    1:49 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Rio: I don’t think your tail is going to recover from this adventure. However, you’re still beautiful even if your tail is no longer curly.

    I just renewed my subscription to the Iditarod Insider to get the GPS tracking during the race. Go Snowhook!

  57. Thieves!
    1:54 pm on February 24th, 2014

    B: Ixnay on the status of his tail. As far as we know, as far as he knows it is still curly. That’s the beauty of not being able to see the south end of one’s north bound self.

  58. Basil and Sage
    2:05 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Theives! Youse guys rock! And we think the Hobbit is a truly wonderful saint for taking in a snorting, grumping, hot wing smelling, straight tailed Pug.

  59. Dawson
    2:18 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Me too!
    BStover: I also renewed my Iditarod Insider and received 2 videos which I haven’t watched yet.
    Mollypop&Loulou’sMom: Cool! Rick Casillo is racing again this year. He and his wife run a program for war wounded and weary veterans involving their dogs and also helicopter excursions.

  60. ML
    2:21 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Drat I must have just missed the pug.

    Dawson, how did you know it was the Atlanta ocean? I just threw that in to see who was paying attention. No one needs to bring a swimsuit to AK.

    We are about to head into ANC for some of the Fur Rondy activities. BBL

  61. Barb & Maggie
    2:39 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Where is the picture of the Atlantic Ocean? Went back to see what we missed. Is it the one with the ice coming down the rocks?

  62. ML
    2:47 pm on February 24th, 2014

    The Atlantic pic is the blue post with no comment.

  63. Herd of Hounds
    2:49 pm on February 24th, 2014

    B&M: Not a foto. ML put up a link and a 20 sec. video of our ML shelling is there. If you turn the volume way up, you can hear Rick say, :Here’s ML in the Atlantic Ocean.

  64. Herd of Hounds
    2:51 pm on February 24th, 2014

    ML, enjoy Fur Rondy. Sounds like a wild and crazy time.
    P.S. Have you been warm enough? Inquiring (and scared) minds want to know.

  65. c.hobbit
    3:00 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Rio, et al will be at the vet checks at the Iditarod Headquarters on Wednesday. Will might visit the kennel either that day or Friday. I told Rio that his little cabin might have hot wings and beer but no TV for sure. He is debating the pros and cons

  66. Herd of Hounds
    3:04 pm on February 24th, 2014

    What does a clock do when it’s hungry? It goes back four seconds!

  67. c.hobbit
    3:05 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Rio: one bed and two dogs. The bed belongs to Sadie Bear but Rio is an honored guest. This is a conundrum and you guys will need to figure it out. There is always the outside dog bed on the deck if one of you can’t share. :-)

  68. BearSpiritDog
    3:16 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Yark! We were in Big Rush this morning…I am rushing to get packages mailed and Masquers is getting the suitcases packed.

    Royal Mum: Please forgive the Multiple SDD’s sent trying to send you a couple of photos this morning (still not sure if the second one made it).

    This is Hi & Bye with No Time to read today’s posts cause we are…LATE, LATE, LATE.

  69. Riö -The Evil Pug
    3:27 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Bed!…All figured out! It’s all mine NOW!…snort!snort!

  70. Masquers
    3:34 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Riö! Please check your SDD.

  71. Riö -The Evil Pug
    3:41 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Maskers!…Can’t you see I am napping after that blurring fiasco this morning?…sniff!

  72. Riö -The Evil Pug
    4:02 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Maskers!….When CHobbit was not looking I loaded all the Tracker-Central software onto her Mac. All is ready for tomorrow morning and afternoon…chuffle!…Sure wish my friend would have bought me one of these babies instead…snort!

  73. c.hobbit
    4:06 pm on February 24th, 2014

    And look where Sadie ended up:

  74. c.hobbit
    4:09 pm on February 24th, 2014

    HOH: it is cold in the morning and by noon is getting warm. Yesterday afternoon I had the windows open for a couple of hours airing out the house. Snow is melting but I haven’t heard what that has done to the trails. In midweek there might be a chance of mixed rain/snow. I have yet to see ML in her 20-pound coat that she talks about. I am not wearing gloves, scarfs or hats and I have on my lightest boots.

  75. BooBear
    4:10 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Sadie is a good hostess!

  76. Riö -The Evil Pug
    4:17 pm on February 24th, 2014

    CHobbit!…I’ve got to go out!Out!OUT!….snort!

  77. c.hobbit
    4:18 pm on February 24th, 2014

    So last night I went shopping for the color purple since it was surprisingly underrepresented in my closet. The national chain stores are having big sales of winter items to make way for the spring clothes. This works out perfectly for Alaska.
    I discovered that I look great in purple and that it comes in so many lovely shades. It is my new favorite color thanks to Melanie. I figure I am now set to live that poem, “When I Am An Old Lady, I Will Wear Purple.”

  78. Herd of Hounds
    4:20 pm on February 24th, 2014

    CHobbit: TY. Mom was born cold. Her fingers and feet warm up in August for about 30 min. Hopefully she will have too much warn stuff with her.

  79. Riö -The Evil Pug
    4:21 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Grunt!….This blows big time…wheeze!

  80. c.hobbit
    4:22 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Rio: Being a doorman for one dog is constant but two is impossible. You need to figure out how to let me know you need out besides posting to the blog. And no grabbing my pant leg either. What do you do at home when you need out?

  81. c.hobbit
    4:22 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Rio is such a whiner.

  82. c.hobbit
    4:23 pm on February 24th, 2014

    I thought Rio was in better shape from all the brutal walks he talked about

  83. Herd of Hounds
    4:29 pm on February 24th, 2014

    CHobbit, sorry Rio is such a whiner :( He just knows he is special.
    Mom just finished completing the list from hell to get ready (thank dog she packed 2 weeks ago. Got the floors nice and wood looking, and then…sweet little Darah rolled in the leaves and came in camouflaged! Leaves are our life! (whispering) Mom is fit to be tied.

  84. Melanie
    4:30 pm on February 24th, 2014

    To all those who are traveling, DogSpeed.

    To all of us remaining home, bring on the cheese cake!

    Hugs to all.

  85. c.hobbit
    4:32 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Oooo, I forgot about cheesecake during the Iditarod. Must go to the store.

    I did figure out how to hook up my laptop to the wall-mounted TV so that someone can log into their Iditarod tracker and we can watch it on the big TV.

  86. Riö -The Evil Pug
    4:37 pm on February 24th, 2014

    CHobbit!….Let me in!In!IN!….grump!

  87. Barb & Maggie
    4:37 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Barb likes purple, although black is the dominate color in her closet, red comes in second. Just bought a practical winter coat in a lovely shade of plum, which will most likely be the coat she takes out east in a couple of weeks. Very close in color to one of the items on the back of the chair.

    Man, that Rio gets around! Surprised he made it half way up that icy hill. He must have really had to go!

  88. Riö -The Evil Pug
    4:38 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Sadie!….I see you in there snickering…grump!

  89. c.hobbit
    4:40 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Hmmm…have to do some errands this afternoon. Sadie usually rides shotgun. What do I do with Rio?

    Rebecca: just asking out of curiosity but Rio might want/need to be blurred to Snowhook early. Would you be ready for him later today?

  90. Riö -The Evil Pug
    4:46 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Shotgun!….Woooo!…I’m riding shot-gun!….snort!snort!…Where are we going CHobbit?…hmmm?

  91. Herd of Hounds
    4:51 pm on February 24th, 2014

    When AJ announced the “Melditarod”, mom found 2 purple turtle necks, She has since found/acquired 1 wool sweater (might be lavender, looks grey to her), and over shirt and a jogging suit. All purple, some Melditarod bound, some headed for Mass in March. Wowser! Plunderers rule…GO SNOWHOOK!

  92. c.hobbit
    4:54 pm on February 24th, 2014

    REBECCA: check your SDD when you can

  93. c.hobbit
    4:59 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Thieves: I know it has only been 5 hours but there are some issues with Rio. Are you on the trail training or can you be called into blurring duty (this is like sending out a signal for Batman for help). I mean, you caused this so you need to fix it. Sniff. I still have a lot of stuff to take care of.

  94. c.hobbit
    5:00 pm on February 24th, 2014

    GAH: I misread the clock. Rio has been here 7+ hours. No wonder it felt like a lifetime.

  95. Riö -The Evil Pug
    5:08 pm on February 24th, 2014

    CHobbit!…I go where you go…heh!heh!…Those hot-wings are really going through me today….sniff!sniff!

  96. Diane C.
    5:09 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Hello All–Just got caught up on the last couple of days and very much enjoying:

    Basil and Sage–GORGEOUS remodel photos–light-painted wood is hard to beat in any setting.

    BSD–LOVE the Singer/Bieber comparison.

    Dawson–I was going to commend you for meeting everyone with hugs and what I thought was a “big gin” until I read more carefully. Grins are also excellent.

    The ongoing saga of Rio up North is exciting (but probably because I’m following it at a distance). I hope all involved survive the experience (and let’s face it, Rio’s ID is really cool).

    Staff and Melanie and Pixie and Sadie–How are you all doing? I’m keeping you on my ever-expanding prayer (where do you insert the “W”?) list until informed I hear of definite improvement.

    HOH–Thanks for another groaner. How long will the punishment continue?

    Thanks to all of you for being here and providing such entertaining information. Everyone travelling, do so safely, and those at home enjoy the cheesecake (and thanks for reminding me). Miss Pretty, Edgar and Conan send their very very best and will share their mashed yams in spirit.

  97. Dawson
    5:14 pm on February 24th, 2014

    I may have to buy some rubber boots. I have found out that my boots are not waterproof.

  98. c.hobbit
    5:23 pm on February 24th, 2014

    I am turning to comfort food and have already indulged in some of the stuff I have bought. I haven’t started drinking (yet). Rio is a poo

  99. Riö -The Evil Pug
    5:28 pm on February 24th, 2014

    CHobbit!…I’m hungry!…sniff!sniff!…What are we having for lunch? I usually have snacks in the afternoon while I watch the soapie operas…sniff!….You do that, don’t you?…wheeze!

  100. Basil and Sage
    5:31 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Dawson. – Rut Ro.

    Rio – you be nice to the Hobbit! No pooting!

    Mama is getting clipped and wonderfluffed. And we overheard her on the phone this morning. The dam Corgis are in for the same treatment right before the Plunder Party. This ought to be good.

  101. Barb & Maggie
    5:48 pm on February 24th, 2014

    T & G, Tell your mama she doesn’t need to go to all this work just for our visit. We are just down home folks.

    What is Rut Ro?

  102. Basil and Sage
    5:50 pm on February 24th, 2014

    That’s what Scooby Doo says on a bad situation. Dogs can’t pronounce uh oh.

  103. Barb & Maggie
    5:59 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Oh, we thought it was some type of waterproof boot. hahahahaha
    No seriously, we did!

  104. Barb & Maggie
    6:02 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Princess Sammy in her college sweater was up above. We get to meet the little diva, er I mean darling.

  105. c.hobbit
    7:02 pm on February 24th, 2014

    I must be paying Rio too much attention. I was in the bedroom and Sadie determinedly brought me one of his squeaky toys to play with. One that he hadn’t played with in a long time. Time to pet and play with Sadie!

  106. Staff
    8:09 pm on February 24th, 2014

    sniff, Ok, the tickets are cancelled. For now. Like Judith I am saving them up for another trip so Alaska Airlines is holding my money but that is better than losing it. My goal is to change them and become the first plunderer in line for 2015. As I know too well many things can happen between now and then but I HAVE A DREAM!

    So Rebecca there are a pair of mushers banquet tickets looking for a person. I don’t know if Dawson has a ticket so one is hers if she doesn’t and if there are any other plunderers who need one then to them next and then…wherever you want. sniff

    My Iditarod insider subscription is up to date and top of the line so I am ready to sit in front of two computers and keep an eye on that damn little green flag. Heh.

    I am going to eat a late dinner and see if I can keep it in long enough for it to do some good.

    I will be back later to catch up on today’s blog. grump. This is the first I have been on today. I see Rio escaped from his yard. I hope his under bits have not gotten frostbit.

    BBL

  107. Herd of Hounds
    8:16 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Staff: Sob, sob, sob. We will miss you “up north in Alaska”. Hope you are O.K. for PP Mass in March.
    Rio, you need to settle down a bit.
    Whitey-Lance was just up top :) :) :)
    Mom is driving the ss and the bitb nutty replaying Johnny Horton and Hobo Jim!

  108. Barb & Maggie
    8:21 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Staff, What are your thoughts on March 11th? Are you still hopeful for that trip?

  109. Barb & Maggie
    8:24 pm on February 24th, 2014

    HOH, Assume ss is step son. Hesitant to even ask what a bitb is. Is it something you can even put on line? Is it boarder in the basement or something else?

  110. BooBear
    8:24 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Staff, we are also hoping to make the trip in 2015!! Let’s be positive…this way, AJ and Snowhook will have extra support this year and next year. And maybe there will be some repeat Plunderers going back again.

  111. Staff
    8:31 pm on February 24th, 2014

    The train trip is a go. It better be darn it all. grump.

  112. Herd of Hounds
    8:41 pm on February 24th, 2014

    B&M: Yes bitb IS the Boarder in the Basement.
    Staff: Looking forward to Mass in March (or the PP, as Golinka is calling it).

  113. c.hobbit
    8:48 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Staff: I am so, so sorry. Next year the HOBBIT HOTEL for sure! Youse and Boo Bear will have first dibs. In the meantime, I don’t have to worry about moving boxes in the garage and finding my mother’s old sewing machine to show you. I have a year to sort it out! :-)

  114. Tupper and Gilly
    8:52 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Staff – we just found out that we have to have B A T H S right before you get here – Mams says that is written in stone. So you HAVE to be all better to see us in our glory.

    (And help us beat up the Wroten Kats if they laugh at us)

  115. Dawson
    8:55 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Awww.
    Staff: I am so sorry you will not be going to Alaska this trip. Please feel better soon.

  116. Barb & Maggie
    9:01 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Did anyone see the segment on NBC national news tonight about a quilt shop in Hamilton Mo. that is revitalizing the town? Shoppers are coming from all over the country to visit the store in the little one-stop light town. They have 85 employees and have opened some new restaurants and are getting ready to open a B & B for out of town guests. Anyway, Barb’s mom grew up in Kingston, which is the neighboring town. She has been to Hamilton many times, and has an 85 year old aunt who still lives there. Very cool to see it on national tv.

  117. Rio - The Evil Pug
    9:26 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Staffie!…Awww shucks…sniff!… I was hoping to meet you here at the Hobbit Hotel…snort!…If you postpone your Alaskan trip long enough you might get to see my friend up there….chorkel!

    Alone!…CHobbit has locked her bedroom door with her and Sadie in it. I was begging for more food and she suddenly threw up her hands and ran up to her bedroom….wheeze!….All I want is a little more food….grump!burp!

  118. Thieves!
    9:35 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Rio is giving our favorite Hobbit a run for her money with the going out, out out and wanting to come back in, in, in.

    Staff: We are disappointed, but want you to be tip-top when you come north to Alaska. Sniff.

  119. Thieves!
    9:38 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Uh, Rio, we have big bins full of kibble and freezers full of meat at the kennel…

  120. Thieves!
    9:43 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Rio: We can use our Rio-esque balloon as a decoy and blur you to the kennel. You can stay at your small cabin in the woods. Are you game?

  121. Rio - The Evil Pug
    9:52 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Thieves!…Nope!…sniff!…There are Plunderers to meet and greet at the Hobbit Hotel tomorrow…snort!…I cannot and will not leave before that happens…buuurrrp!….Now, I am busy watching my big-ass TV. Catching up on Dowton Abby if you must know….chuffle!

  122. Thieves!
    10:15 pm on February 24th, 2014

    No worries. More meat and fish for us tonight. Delish!

  123. Barb & Maggie
    10:48 pm on February 24th, 2014

    That little town of Hamilton that we mentioned has a total population of 1800. This new quilt shop has 85 employees, which is 5% of the whole town population. That is quite impressive.
    Evidently they have some new technique where one can make a quilt in one day. Staff, are you familiar with this?

    Now we are saying good night.

  124. Herd of Hounds
    11:14 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Rio and Thieves: What about us that love ya but have no ????

  125. Herd of Hounds
    11:15 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Flying tomorrow. nighty night

  126. Dawson
    11:20 pm on February 24th, 2014

    North to Alaska! See y,all tomorrow. WhoooHoooo! Go Snowhook!

  127. Tupper and Gilly
    11:23 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Woo Hooo – Go TO Snowhook!

  128. Staff
    11:45 pm on February 24th, 2014

    Oh, The Missouri star quilt company. They have great youtube video’s. I didn’t know the rest about them but it sounds like a great story.

    The little town where I go to the quilt shop is Mayville North Dakota. It is a tiny town of less than 2000 and the quilt store is one of the largest in North Dakota and most of western Minnesota. We get lots of Canadians on their way south and people from all over. The men in that town have no idea the amount of money that goes in and out of that little store. They see a small bag and think oh, maybe 20.00 or so. Huh.

    The banker does though. snorkle. She gets lots of respect.

  129. Staff
    11:58 pm on February 24th, 2014

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NCs8ufxnnYA

    It is so exciting to think of all you on your way to Alaska tomorrow. I wish I could go but I am doing my best to get healthy.

    Nighty night all youse guys Safe travels.

  130. O'Howlers
    1:35 am on February 25th, 2014

    Staff, we want you healthy but … Sob! We were so looking forward to a week with you and Mr. Staff. Well 2015 will be another Plunderfest Way Up North in Alaska. Get healthy.
    Maybe we will see you later this month. Can’t plan that until this trip is in the books.

  131. c.hobbit
    1:38 am on February 25th, 2014

    Nighty noodles. You too Rio

  132. O'Howlers
    2:01 am on February 25th, 2014

    Hobbit! What is in that there “beef” stew? Is that ML’s moose?

    Airborne taken. Check.

  133. ML
    2:16 am on February 25th, 2014

    Off they go, into the wild blue yonder….

  134. c.hobbit
    3:42 am on February 25th, 2014

    O’Howlers: Wish I had some moose but I don’t

  135. O'Howlers' Mom
    5:15 am on February 25th, 2014

    Hobbit, ML has a moose!

  136. O'Howlers
    7:12 am on February 25th, 2014

    One flight down. Two to go.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia