Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars Dog lovers — a great series without the cutesy crap, January 30, 2014
D. Schneider on The Sound and the Furry:
I am a dog person, through and through. I love reading stories that include dogs, but really hate the overly anthropomorphizing done in some stories. Dogs are not people in furry coats.

Which is why I love Chet. Chet is a dog’s dog. He thinks like a dog and works like a dog. The story is in his voice and it has the same cadence as my own dog’s voices. Chet shows the world that dogs have canine intelligence, which is every bit as good as human thought.

Bernie is a good guy too.

Welcome Daisy.

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, February 5th, 2014 at 8:23 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

119 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Herd of Hounds
    8:32 am on February 5th, 2014

    Good morning everyone! Liked the review. Turning this here post over to mom now.
    Yes I really messed up yesterday, sorry. Don’t think it could have anything to do with fever, chills, sweats, no sleep or food. #rd time this had happened (since spleenlessness). Next time it is straight to Dr to figure it our :(

    Have a _______ day.

  2. B. Stover
    8:51 am on February 5th, 2014

    Love the afterthought about Bernie! Good review.

    We seem to be having a blizzard.

    Good morning all.

  3. Melanie
    9:14 am on February 5th, 2014

    Oh, the weather outside is frightful
    Yet, the Pack is finding it delightful.
    They are putting on a outside show,
    Barking “Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow”.

  4. Melanie
    9:19 am on February 5th, 2014

    “Without the cutesy crap”! Like that, because it is so true.

    No blizzard here, B.Stover. Thank Dog. Snow coming straight down. Started getting heavy around 4am and now 8 inches or so on the ground.

  5. Barb & Maggie
    9:48 am on February 5th, 2014

    We LOVED the review. D. Schneider really nailed it.

    Not sure how much new snow, but there is a lot and it’s still coming down.

    Melanie, are you and Martha heading out today or waiting till tomorrow? How far is the drive?

  6. Melanie
    9:58 am on February 5th, 2014

    The appointment isn’t until tomorrow noon. It’s about 2 hours long, but we are leaving tomorrow about 9. For just in case.

    By then they will have plowed and sanded the roads here and all the way to RI.
    Much safer driving tomorrow.

    Just talked to YSAS who is on his way south by train. He is going to see his Southern branch of his family. Not sure it will be warmer though.

  7. BooBear
    10:03 am on February 5th, 2014

    What a cool review!! Hang tight, all of you in winter climes! Spring is around the corner. Our January has actually been colder than the norm too. It has hovered in the 30s & 40s quite a few days this past month.

  8. Barb & Maggie
    10:13 am on February 5th, 2014

    This is a picture looking out Kelly’s back door this morning. Notice there are two Newfs in the picture. Melanie this one is for you!

  9. Wose
    10:14 am on February 5th, 2014

    Greetings!

    We here have gotten more snow! Yippee! So far, Central Park has gotten 36″ of snow, compared to 25″ all year in 2013. Now, if only that snow was in Alaska where it needs to be.

    Melanie, I forgot to ask. GLAD’s stunning portrait…what medium did she use?
    Please know I am thinking of you.

    RIO! The February page on my Yankees calendar is Andy Petitte. Who is on your February page?

    Nice review.

    Thinking of the Pixie and Siber-H.

    BooBear, How is your pop?

    Teddy RR: Are you playing in the snow?

  10. Barb & Maggie
    10:18 am on February 5th, 2014

    Before this snow started last night they reported on the evening news that Chicago had had 52″ of snow to date. I don’t think we have had quite that much here, but close. Normally I think we have 36-40″ for the whole season.

  11. dawson
    10:36 am on February 5th, 2014

    HOH: That sounds like no fun! Feel better soon.
    BStover: Yes, the afterthought was a nice touch.
    All those with snow…hibernate! Or go skiing! Your choice.

  12. O'Howlers
    10:37 am on February 5th, 2014

    Howdy! Ditto to what Rose said: BooBear, How is your pop?
    We got 9″ on Monday, but last night’s snow quickly tirned to ice. Lots of ice. Trees down and power outages everywhere but here. Thankfully, we are all home today. Pop is working downstairs. Mom is working upstairs. Meashka is guarding Mom, and Dima is keeping pop company. Kat? Sound asleep on the ‘rents’ bed!
    B&M, we love the picture from kelly’s window.
    HOH, what are you talking about?

  13. dawson
    10:50 am on February 5th, 2014

    Barb&Maggie: That is an excellent picture. Newf as landscape planting.

    Melanie: Rest up, hydrate, rest, hydrate. This is my prescription for everyone these days. It can’t hurt.

    BooBear: Brrrr! Those are not Texas temperatures!

  14. Herd of Hounds
    10:50 am on February 5th, 2014

    B&M: Newfies in the snow? And they thought they were camoflagued.
    All: be safe in the snow. Had a couple days of high 50’s but now going way low and maybe snow Fri.
    Dawson: Correct, no fun. And my XC skis are waiting for enough snow to play.
    OH: Be like Rio and pay no attention to us, mom was blonde in her last life.

  15. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:57 am on February 5th, 2014

    Winter!…Just think, most of youse will be going up North To Alaska for your Spring-like vacation soon….Wooooo!…If your airports are open that is…grunt!

  16. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:59 am on February 5th, 2014

    Negative!…18 degrees here this morning…wheeze!…When I pissed on the patio, it froze before it hit the cement…gah!

  17. Barb & Maggie
    10:59 am on February 5th, 2014

    Kelly title that picture “Not everyone is sick of the snow”. Very appropriate!

  18. Staff
    11:01 am on February 5th, 2014

    I really liked this review also. I love the newfies in the snow. They look like huge shaggy boulders.

    Rose I am missing Mr.Husky too. The Yukon Quest just isn’t the same without his views. Sniff. I sure hope his computer is fixed soon. sob.

    Everyone under the quilt stay comfy. I am up and about today. Maybe some quilting/sewing for me. I also have to go to the post-office and mail some potholders. No new snow here thank dog.

  19. Barb & Maggie
    11:08 am on February 5th, 2014

    Staff, check your SDD.

  20. Herd of Hounds
    11:12 am on February 5th, 2014

    B&M: Darah, Pookey and I loved the Newfs in the Snow. We shared it with a couple friends.

  21. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:19 am on February 5th, 2014

    Hungry!…My friend just sent me a text on my little Go-Phone. She says the hot-shot has a whole fajita bar set-up on his desk…sniff!sniff!…It smells delish! She is starvin-marvin and he is chowing down at 9:15am on his huge fajita lunch…gah!…Now I am hungry too!

  22. dawson
    11:47 am on February 5th, 2014

    Me too! Hungry.

  23. BooBear
    11:47 am on February 5th, 2014

    Staff, did we reach the final goal in the booty quest?

  24. Barb & Maggie
    11:55 am on February 5th, 2014

    All this talk about food made Barb hungry too. She just heated up the last of the turkey barley vegetable soup. Boy was it delish. I got to lick the pot (we call that the pre-wash cycle). Barb had it for dinner last night and sent a quart home with Josh too.

    Melanie, can you eat barley?

  25. Wose
    12:10 pm on February 5th, 2014

    RIO! Maybe your friend can start a Take Your Dog to Work Day. Then they can set up a fajita bar, and perhaps some beer…

  26. Wose
    12:12 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Dima, I hope you are starting to feel better, big guy.

    I am thinking about poor Beau. He could not be consoled on Sunday. I hope he is feeling better.

  27. Macy's mom
    12:15 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Good frosty morning to you all. Annie has been wanting to go in and out all morning, so we are leaving her out until she frosts over and maybe she will come in and stay in.

    We are finally having the memorial for Rick’s mom tomorrow night. One granddaughter could not get here before then. I just found out it is because her family is on a Disney cruise. Sure wish I was with them.

    Time for this one again. No snow here, sob, sob.

  28. Macy's mom
    12:24 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Staff, we might be dropping by so…

  29. Barb & Maggie
    12:38 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Oh yes, you must always be neatly put together. Dog forbid that you are not! That is hilarious!

  30. Tupper and Gilly
    12:44 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Macy – that cartoon is SOOOO true !

    And the sewing advice was a riot. If Mama had to follow that advice before making jewelry, or playing in her clay, she would never get anything done!

    Still snowing. sigh.

  31. Riö - The Evil Pug
    12:46 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Macy!…snort!….My friend follows those same rules before she starts her quilling projects…snorkel!

  32. O'Howlers
    12:52 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Macy! This is why Mom doesn’t ever snow. She can’t put makeup on!!
    heh heh heh!

  33. BearSpiritDog
    12:52 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Macy’s Mom: The Singer Sewing Advice is right on for all the seamstresses out there. Nana just sent it to her sister who will get a big chuckle out of it. I know Staff must be loving it.

    Barb&Magpie: Those Newfs are really into it! Nice picture.

    Melanie: We like your Poem and seeing Mac & Mattie in our mind’s eye.

    Apologies to the Hound’s mom from Yesterday. Sorry to hear you weren’t feeling tip-top.

    Rio: Did Your Friend get any of that delish chow? Hungry here too.

  34. O'Howlers
    12:53 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Gah!!! SEW not snow.
    We here have snow on our brains!

  35. Riö - The Evil Pug
    12:56 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Food!…I’m pretty sure no one goes near the hot-shot when he is chowing down….snort!…Wouldn’t want to lose a hand or arm, you know…grunt!

  36. Melanie
    12:58 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Love the cartoon (though Mac and Mattie don’t care).
    Love the picture of Kelly’s Planted Newfs.
    LOL at the sewing instructions.

    I have found something that might work for my nose . .
    I have ordered it. I have their screens in my rooms.

    http://www.pollentec.com/fan-buddie.html

  37. Herd of Hounds
    1:01 pm on February 5th, 2014

    OH: Snow on the brain happens, just like ca-ca occurs. L)

  38. O'Howlers
    1:08 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Melanie, when we make whole wheat bread, we put wheat gluten in. Do you know how it is made for gluten-free?

  39. Masquers
    1:11 pm on February 5th, 2014

    We here have the solution to Alaska’s lack of the white stuff. All you folks on the East Coast & in the Midwest bundle that unwanted snow together and blurr it on up north.
    Bitterly cold in the Pacific NW on this clear, sunny day. Schools and businesses closed for the big celebration of that which shall not be named in the presence of certain company…who may or may not have curly tails.

  40. Staff
    1:29 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Barb, And Mollypops Mom and Melanie and Dawson and Amalia. please check your SDD.

    Macy’s Mom, If you think you will find that neatness here you are sadly mistaken. That is serious advice from the 1950’s. Ha! We are so over it.

    I do plan to launder my winter coat before the AK trip so hopefully it will still look decent for the train trip east.

  41. Melanie
    1:44 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Zoë laughed and said those directions were just right for those times!

    We now go with . .

    “If all else fails,
    Lower your standards.”

    :)

  42. O'Howlers
    1:46 pm on February 5th, 2014

    We here are sad sad sad. All of this ice/slush/freezing rain has made our snow a mess and we can’t have fun in it any more. :(

    We want more snow!

  43. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:31 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Russia!….What were they thinking?…gah!

  44. O'Howlers
    2:46 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Rio! We agree…but did we miss some news today?

  45. Barb & Maggie
    3:00 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Staff, Checked and responded.

    Is something new going on with Russia? We have not had the news on this afternoon.

  46. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:03 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Yellow!…Water which is harmful – beds the size of CHobbit…grunt!

  47. O'Howlers
    3:10 pm on February 5th, 2014

    we just read no locks on doors either, and no partitions between toilets. Not to mention the terror threats.
    But we here are boycotting based on their horrible decision to poison dogs!

  48. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:31 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Interesting!…It will be very interesting to see how the network portrays Russia during the games. I want to see Putin put to shame in front of the world….grunt!

  49. Barb & Maggie
    3:32 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Oleys, from what we read this is SOP in Sochi, they are just ramping it up for the Olympics. It is a state secret how many dogs are shot or poisoned each year. Disgusting to say the least.

  50. Melanie
    3:57 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Hmm . . Barley, I can not eat.
    Wheat has gluten in it. The extra gluten would help stick the bread together.

    If I were going to make homemade gluten free bread, I would buy gluten free bread mix. Lots of different kind of flours go in it. Can taste magnificent or like cardboard.

    Back to The Chamber of Secrets.

  51. Herd of Hounds
    4:07 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Beware of Voldimort…or is that Mac and Maddie?

  52. Mollypop's Mom
    4:17 pm on February 5th, 2014

    I have to be gluten free. I make bread in my bread machine that has a gluten free cycle. Bob’s Red Mill has the best bread mix. I tried King Arthur Flour’s bread mix, but it left a lot to be desired.

  53. Tupper and Gilly
    4:30 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Oh my. It was an “all hands on deck” shovel out today. We have LOTS of snow, and it is still coming down, even though they said it would all be over by 2 pm.
    Gramp did the snowblower, the Storyteller shoveled out the back door and patio, and cleaned off the cars. Mama shoveled the deck and stairs, and moved cars around.

    Whew – we have a feeling it will be an early bedtime tonight. Complete with bengay and heating pads.

  54. Barb & Maggie
    4:41 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Does barley have gluten in it?

  55. Mollypop's Mom
    4:43 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Yes, barley and rye also have gluten.

  56. Melanie
    4:45 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Whew, that does not sound like a Snow Party, it sounds like work.

    It is weird to see the actors age. When we watched HP 1 a few days ago, I knew he was going to be young, but I didn’t think he would be that young.
    snicker

    Time to rest.

  57. O'Howlers
    5:00 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Hmmm…so you can’t eat whole wheat bread if you can’t do gluten? Wonder what kind of flours are in those mixes. We heredon’t usemixes. We use a whole lot of ingredients, but make it in a bread machine. The only wheat is whole wheat, and there are a lot of other healthy things in there.

  58. O'Howlers
    5:05 pm on February 5th, 2014

    We just preordered PaO! August 5th!!!! Woo!
    Mom will not stop laughing at this video:
    http://www.buzzfeed.com/maycie/this-is-what-a-conference-call-would-look-like-in-real-life

  59. B. Stover
    5:09 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Melanie: Is this the first time you’ve watched the Harry Potter movies?

    The sun is out here now. We have about four additional inches of snow.

  60. Barb & Maggie
    5:32 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Josh was over and plowed out our drive. The senior lady across the street flagged Josh down and ask him what he would charge to do her drive. He told her $25, but if the neighbors on either side want theirs done then it will be $20. Everyone is getting tired of shoveling or snow blowing. Ours is free in exchange for babysitting, so this winter we are way ahead.

    Howlers, that conference call video is a riot. We especially like when Rex started barking.

  61. Melanie
    6:04 pm on February 5th, 2014

    No, B.Stover. We are having a HP marathon.

    Tom, our go-to guy, is out snow blowing for us. In the dark.

  62. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:08 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Howlers!… My friend sent that video conference to the hot-shot, he was too busy to watch all of it today. He was laughing at the small part he did get to see though. And I’m sure he will watch it all one day as he does a lot of conference calls and he keeps getting dropped from the meetings…heheh!

  63. O'Howlers
    6:16 pm on February 5th, 2014

    The guy who was on mute is Mom’s Project manager. He is always on mute!!

  64. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:19 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Snort!….I almost laughed out loud when I watched it….chorkel!

  65. O'Howlers
    6:25 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Barb, there is a guy that does some of Mom’s conference calls, who is in india. So of course when it is 1:00 pm here, it is the middle of the night there. Yet for some reason there is always a dog barking outside his apartment balcony. That guy is always getting upset because he can’t stop the barking.

  66. O'Howlers
    6:26 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Oh, and everyone on Mom’s team naturally assumes that the barker is one of us. They don’t understand that we don’t bark. heh!

  67. AJ
    6:27 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Hello All,

    Just a quick update. Weather has finally turned colder but the 8 inches of rain that fell devastated the trails out here. For the first time today I’m going out to try and run around Willow rather than truck further north to train the team. I’m mostly doing this because I don’t trust that the truck will start again once I’m out in the middle of Alaska.

    So, while I’ve been waiting for the weather to change I’ve been busy getting the drop bags ready. This means cutting a lot of meat, fish and packing other essential items. 1500 pounds of random meat cutting goes on and on. Drop bags are due next week and we also get the team blood work and EKG’s done.

    As for the race itself, people are worried about trail conditions. The rivers have frozen again but the snow is gone. This means hard fast trails with glare ice. This presents miles of oppotunities for dogs to be injured and that’s the last things any musher wants.

    In fact there have already been casulties for the race. Or at least folks starting to question whether or not they want to race it or not. Mushers are becoming worried it seems. So, do a snow dance for exactly one foot of snow to fall would you?

    Off to go run the pups. Thank you for all the support and friendship. It means miles and miles to us.

    AJ

  68. O'Howlers
    6:37 pm on February 5th, 2014

    We want to make it clear that if AJ decides the trails are too bad to do it this year, we understand completely. Tsuga dropped out of the Quest because the trail conditions were bad for the dogs. All of our support would be used toward next year’s race. We understand it is a bit early to decide, but we want you to know that we will understand. We trust you to do what is best.

  69. BearSpiritDog
    7:08 pm on February 5th, 2014

    We Here agree with what the O’Howlers said. AJ we trust any decision you make. The Snowhook Team is the most Important thing to all of us here on the Blog.

  70. Barb & Maggie
    7:24 pm on February 5th, 2014

    We agree with Howlers and BSD. The team safety is the most important thing.

    Now we here in the Chicago area were just told we are at 59.6 inches of the white stuff so far. 3-4″ more this weekend. Then it looks like a few days of very cold temps but not snow.

  71. B. Stover
    7:33 pm on February 5th, 2014

    It’s too bad they can’t bring the Iditarod to Michigan. We have more than enough snow and the UP probably has many good trails.

  72. Riö – The Evil Pug
    7:34 pm on February 5th, 2014

    AJ!…DO NOT GO IF IT IS NOT SAFE!…snort!….No matter what! We will all keep rallying for the next big race…grunt!…Do not go if you or the dogs could get hurt – not worth it..sniff!

  73. Riö – The Evil Pug
    7:41 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Meat!…Is that a big glob of raw meat AJ has in his paws?…heh!heh!….He looks insanely happy…chorkel!

  74. Herd of Hounds
    7:46 pm on February 5th, 2014

    HOH knows you will do the best thing for Snowhook. Heck, Y’all and Hobbit might get to know us real well if the snow stays yucky. (Don’t think we have refunds on tix and mom is chomping at the bit to see Alaska.)
    snow,Snow, SNow, SNOw, SNOW, SNOw, SNow, Snow, snow

  75. Macy's mom
    7:56 pm on February 5th, 2014

    They gotta run the ceremonial, right? arrggg, I am so conflicted between what is right and what I want…This trip is going all to heck in in pawbucket.

  76. Princess Sam
    8:26 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Molly’s Mom will be at the Hobbit Hotel with the card sharks Staff and Dawson. This oughta be good. Ha ha.

  77. Macy's mom
    8:26 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Ok, Hounds are still in, Hobbit lives there, Staff and Dawson? Don’t break my heart.

  78. Barb & Maggie
    8:27 pm on February 5th, 2014

    We were wondering if that was a big chunk of meat in A.J.’s hand too.

    You can have our snow as well. Bah humbug.

  79. Macy's mom
    8:28 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Yea!! Molly’s mom is in!!!!!

  80. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:32 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Trip!…Even if the race is not a Go, you all should still meet up and spend time with AJ and Rebecca and of course CHobbit!…chuffle!…It will be like Spring Break for most of youse….sniff!

  81. Diane C.
    8:35 pm on February 5th, 2014

    HOH–I hope you’re feeling better today…

    B and M–those are Newfs? I thought they were big rocks (bad eyes, small pictures…)

    Rio–TMI

    Macy’s Mom–thanks for the cartoon–I once took one of my dogs out to the desert where there was snow (high desert) to see how he handled it. He ignored it, just trotted through, relieved himself against a cactus, and went back to the car.

  82. Herd of Hounds
    8:38 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Mom is scratching her head and wondering about her new winter woolies. If it wasn’t for bad luck, she wouldn’t have no luck. Paws crossed for snow.
    CHobbit, Staff and Dawson, mom and the Daddy Dawg both play cribbage :)

  83. Diane C.
    8:38 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Macy’s Mom–not quite as amused by the sewing manual material–more like a kind of fascinated horror (not that that will stop me from sharing it with many many people…)

    AJ–Dance coming up now (kind of lyrical/interpretive because I don’t feel like putting on the pointe shoes) but should work OK.

  84. Diane C.
    8:42 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Everyone dealing with snow–(And I realize I don’t have any first-hand experience). I just saw this in Popular Science today; probably not as good as getting plowed, but possibly labor-saving.

    http://www.pinterest.com/pin/136163588708200454/

  85. Herd of Hounds
    8:42 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Diane: Mom is thinking the recurring ills are due to the splenectomy. She is taking a lesson from the pink bulldozer (T&G’s Mama) and grabbing her GP by the stethoscope for a confab about the 1% of us in this world without one.

  86. Diane C.
    8:44 pm on February 5th, 2014

    sorry to be talking (OK, writing) so much, but it’s been a long and frustrating day, even without snow or illness.
    Keep warm and well. Y’all are an island of sanity where no one asks “Do you think you could teach this class without requiring a textbook?”

  87. Diane C.
    8:49 pm on February 5th, 2014

    HOH–By the stethoscope, you say? Sounds like a good idea…

    You’re all missing an earlier post of mine which is “awaiting moderation”. Perhaps it was the reference to not using pointe shoes for my snow dance…and if it doesn’t work, and if conditions aren’t right, I also vote for waiting until next year.
    Let’s see if this one goes through…

  88. Macy's mom
    8:49 pm on February 5th, 2014

    No textbooks required, or allowed. Stress is killing me. Must have trip. Nearing killing certain male member of family, MUST LEAVE TOWN…

  89. Diane C.
    8:50 pm on February 5th, 2014

    HOH–By the stethoscope, you say? Sounds like a good idea…

    You’re all missing an earlier post of mine which is “awaiting moderation”. Perhaps it was the reference to not dancing on pointe for my snow dance (AHA! it was the “S” word that refers to footwear)…and if it doesn’t work, and if conditions aren’t right, I also vote for waiting until next year.
    Let’s see if this one goes through…

  90. Diane C.
    8:51 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Macy’s Mom–You can come to California, but it’s kind of cold right now, so no poolside action (and there fore not much of anything)…

  91. Herd of Hounds
    8:59 pm on February 5th, 2014

    If no race :( , we vote for putting Tenzing in a sled and having the Plunderers in attendance pull him a way down the Snowhook driveway while the Pixie takes fotos :)

  92. Macy's mom
    9:00 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Can only go to Alaska…on Feb 18…MPM is in, yea!

  93. Macy's mom
    9:01 pm on February 5th, 2014

    and HOH, yea!

  94. Wose
    9:14 pm on February 5th, 2014

    AJ , that is a great picture of you with that hunk ‘o meat or fishhead and lips, or whatever that is in your hand.
    Whatever your decision is on the Iditarod, us here will know that it will be the best. We here on this blog would not want to see you, or any of the team get hurt.

    And I agree with Rio. Youse guys that are going should make the trip. Alaska is just breathtaking, and youse guys will get to meet the Iditarod’s Royal Couple, Pixie and the Giant. And let’s not forget all the Snowhook doggies too!

  95. Wose
    9:16 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Maybe AJ is making moose head stew….. : )

  96. Barb & Maggie
    9:21 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Diane, If you click on the posted pictures they will enlarge and you can see more details.

  97. Wolfie
    9:32 pm on February 5th, 2014

    I vote for a snow dance!

    Hmmmm….let’s see….when we want it to rain, we wash and wax our cars. I wonder what the Alaskan equivilant would be?

  98. Herd of Hounds
    9:44 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Wolfie, we bet with road salt about the same thing would work!

  99. Macy's mom
    9:51 pm on February 5th, 2014

    From my Alaska auntie

  100. Staff
    9:55 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Well Mr.Staff and I are in no matter if AJ goes or not. I agree that if he feels the dogs are in danger that he should not go. There is always next year, right? I bought a few new decks of cards for the trip so we will have something to do no matter what. And we can visit the dogs and visit each other and see the homestead (if the driveway is not all mud)
    It will be fine.

    And we wouldn’t want Macy to have to go to jail.

    snicker.

    MPM I have lost your email (somehow I only have the old one) Can you resend it to me? sniff

  101. dawson
    9:56 pm on February 5th, 2014

    AJ: Thanks for the update on the team and the terrible conditions around Willow. I will do my best to send over some of our snow.
    Go Snowhook!

    MacyMinPin: Is there a problem?

    The Iditarod must go on! All there is to it. It may turn into a jogging race, heh. Sleds will feature wheels instead of runners.

  102. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:59 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Alaska!…I knew Staff and The Fire Starter would be up for the big trip no matter what….Woooooo!….Who is going to watch Alice and AbbieTheKat? And before you ask, NO they cannot stay here with me…grunt!

  103. Herd of Hounds
    10:02 pm on February 5th, 2014

    We’re packing a “travel” cribbage board and cards, just in case. Winter clothes will also go. Don’t care what the temperature, we draw the line at light weight clothes in AK since the folks are weather wussies.
    Need to turn in now, mom may have overdone it a bit; but that might be good for the dr’s office.

  104. dawson
    10:05 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Of course AJ will do whatever is in the dogs best interests!

    I’m going to Alaska whether or not the Iditarod happens but seriously…it’s going to happen.

    Yukon Quest!
    Our two Siberian teams are still in it. Running 14th and 15th – that’s last place and 2nd to last. WhoooHoooo!

    More Good News!
    With only 15 teams left in the race, everybody’s in the prize money.

    The top 3 are still Brent Sass, Allen Moore and Hugh Neff.

  105. Staff
    10:09 pm on February 5th, 2014

    MPM…I found it. Please check your SDD.

  106. dawson
    10:14 pm on February 5th, 2014

    The one female in this years Quest, Mandy Naumann is being escorted along the river by two polite Canadians, Jerry Joinson and Brian Wilmshurst, or wait…she is ahead of them so maybe she is doing the escorting.

  107. Barb & Maggie
    10:27 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Night all. Praying for snow up there, no snow down here.

  108. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:31 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Frozen!…It is -15 below out right now not counting the wind chill, and the temps are dropping fast!…gasp!….Beau and I are not going out again until Spring…sniff!

  109. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:40 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Idol!….Oh boy, we are watching Idol and the survivors have to form groups of 3 or 4 and come up with a choreographed routine and sing a song…grunt!… This is where everyone freaks out and the weaklings fall apart and fights break out…sniff!…I do not know what is so hard about this for these people. They are all singers, they surely have thought about this before even auditioning in the first place…wheeze!…Why is it so chaotic every year?…gruffle!

  110. Staff
    10:40 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Wow Rio, you have us beat. We are only at -1 and the wind chill is -17. We are staying in also. And going to bed soon. I made meat balls and meatloaf today and all that standing and cooking makes me tired out.

    Nighty noodle.

  111. dawson
    10:42 pm on February 5th, 2014

    Yeeks!
    Rio: You’re giving me goosebumps! It’s way warmer here. Too bad you have to stay in your yard or you could come up for a nice warm visit.

  112. Wolfie
    11:46 pm on February 5th, 2014

    AJ, thanks for the updates!

    And even though we live in California and dislike the cold, I consider myself part of “Team Snowhook”. And it makes me very proud indeed.

  113. AJ
    1:40 am on February 6th, 2014

    So,

    I just got back in from my run with the team around Willow. The good news is that the trails held up better than exepcted once things started to freeze again. We did a 40 miler and had a great run under a new moon. The dogs are doing very well.

    The bad news is that 5 miles out I came around a corner and startled a cow moose and calf. In less time than you’d expect the ears went back and the moose dove into the team and then charged the sled. At the last minute it veered off and ran to my side. Now though I had seperated the cow and calf so we took off. Once free I stopped to check the dogs and fortunately every dog had been missed by the hoofs of the moose. All are ok and considered it an adventure. I considered it providence and someone looking out for me and the team.

    On other news. Thank you for your comments. It means a lot to me that you support us in this way. My mission is to not let the dogs down, Rebecca down and of course all of you down. I haven’t considered backing out yet. The dogs are in great shape and we’ve overcome too much to back out now.

    AJ

  114. Wose
    9:27 am on February 6th, 2014

    AJ, Yikes! I’m glad you were able to avert what might have been a messy situation without any wounded.
    It is true that the Creator watches over you.

    GO SNOWHOOK!!!!

  115. dawson
    10:04 am on February 6th, 2014

    Yikes, is right!
    AJ: Thank goodness the moose did no damage! We know that the dogs come first, above all else. Go Snowhook!

  116. O'Howlers
    10:10 am on February 6th, 2014

    We think maybe Admin had a power outage…it is getting late.
    Ditto on the Yikes! Here, AJ.
    Bad day for Dima. These bleeds are happening more frequently now. Mom took the day off, so she can just sit quietly and read. Pop is still here doing his class. We girls are just hanging out being good.

  117. レイバン サングラス
    7:42 pm on June 16th, 2014

    Only when I am with tomatoes ventured into leave, found that the large ye not sell cucumber just isn’t today. 13 tell me dinner, selling cucumber early morning on the way to the market earlier from the day with the outdated man was ran on the residue in the car or truck.
    レイバン サングラス http://sunglasses.namekuji.jp/

  118. グッチ 新作 2014
    7:42 pm on June 16th, 2014

    Usually fat man you’ll find two kinds of encounters, a kind of outstanding charity, another is described because evil. Some pretty tough meat seams in deeply. Li Ye just is the latter. He most deadpan, seems to have zero wedding, be yourself, doesn’t like general prisoners, every sigh, or temperamental.
    グッチ 新作 2014 http://gucci.higoyomi.com

  119. Nike Lunar Mens
    8:17 am on March 18th, 2015

    “It is possible, all the more since, according to the photos, she seemed attractive,” Michel Devillers said at his home in Rainans, a sleepy rural village in eastern France.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia