Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars – The Sound and the Furry – January 4, 2014
Janie Dills on The Sound and the Furry:
I really enjoyed this latest book in the Chet & Bernie series. Mr. Quinn always keeps me interested by allowing Chet the Jet to do the story telling. He & his human, Detective Bernie Little, have a real knack for sniffing out the bad guys. Even though I usually figure out the culprit/s before the story ends, it’s the guessing as to how they accomplish that task that keeps me reading. I find it’s very difficult to put down a Chet & Bernie mystery until I finish the book because the action comes pretty fast with enough twists & turns to hold my interest. I particularly liked Chet’s adventure filled meeting with Iko, one of the Louisiana swamps nastiest gators. Will try to patiently await for Chet’s & Bernie’s next exciting mystery to solve.

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Saturday, January 4th, 2014 at 7:23 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

127 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. B. Stover
    8:34 am on January 4th, 2014

    Chet and “his human”–love it!

    Good morning all.

  2. Herd of Hounds
    9:22 am on January 4th, 2014

    Good morning, everyone! Hey, someone who finally understand 2 leggers do not “own” four leggers. They share their lives with us :)
    Have a sparkley Saturday!
    P.S. First up on Chet’s Friends this a m are Macy and Belle…gonna be a good day.

  3. BearSpiritDog
    9:44 am on January 4th, 2014

    Yes! A Good Review!
    We, too, shall Try to Patiently Wait for the next Adventure.
    August is it?

    Have a Great, er I mean Sparkly Saturday Everyone.
    (whispering) has someone been talking to Belle Starr?

  4. Diane C.
    9:46 am on January 4th, 2014

    Hello All–“Chet and his human”–is anyone else old enough to remember Mr. Peabody and his boy Sherman?
    Have a wonderful day. Conan made it through his first night here without anyone getting hurt, although Pretty and Edgar are being somewhat territorial. We’ll see what happens on our firt collective outing this a.m.

  5. Herd of Hounds
    9:56 am on January 4th, 2014

    Diane: Is anyone not old enough? And congrats with the rescue so far. Things will work out. My wolf dog tried to eat walls and door while I sheltered 2 rescued siamese cats. She wanted to play, they didn’t. Found them homes, bought new drywall, trim and door :(

  6. Barb & Maggie
    10:11 am on January 4th, 2014

    We agree, a great review. Good thing she didn’t say owner! Only suggestion from us is that she should not have divulged who Iko was. That was a bit of a spoiler if one had not read the book.

    HOH, Are you sure your wolf dog didn’t want to take the kitties out to dinner?

    Diane, Most of The Plunderers are “women of a certain age”. Barb can certainly remember shows from the late 50’s and early 60’s although she does not remember ever watching Mr. Peabody. Now Mr. Peepers on Our Miss Brooks she remembers.

  7. Tupper'sMama
    10:11 am on January 4th, 2014

    Morning all.
    Diane – good luck with the outing. Bet everyone will end up best of friends.
    Sharon – doing my best to sparkle, but this dam cold is making it awfully hard. Although I do feel a bit Rudolphian with my brilliant red nose.

  8. Wose
    10:15 am on January 4th, 2014

    Greetings!

    Grizz and I woke up to no heat or hot water! The horror! We are freezing our chicarones off here!

    Diane: We here are old enough to remember Mr. Peabody and his boy Sherman, as one of the cartoons on the Bullwinkle show. Ah, nothing like a misspent youth in front of the TV.

    Hope everyone is warm and happy!

  9. Wose
    10:21 am on January 4th, 2014

    RIP, Phil Everly

    Bye, bye love……

  10. Barb & Maggie
    10:28 am on January 4th, 2014

    Phil Everly was part of Barb’s youth too. Wake Up Little Susie.

    Snowing and blowing here. Monday and Tuesday may be record breaking cold. -15 actual temps, with wind chills of -45 to -50. Wowzers!

  11. Herd of Hounds
    10:33 am on January 4th, 2014

    The picture wasn’t so hot…like Grizz and Wose right now. Cocoon, cuddle, bundle.
    Oh, and Rudolph, keep taking care of yourself.
    Sonja (wolf dog) thought she was the size of one of the POP and never tried to hurt other animals. The POP trained her well. Liked to play with kitties and bunnies :)

  12. B. Stover
    10:33 am on January 4th, 2014

    Sorry but I had to look up Mr. Peabody and his Boy Sherman. There is a new movie, “Mr. Peabody & Sherman” coming out in March.

  13. Wose
    10:38 am on January 4th, 2014

    B&M: I love Wake Up Little Susie. Grizz and his younger brother used to go out and play as a guitar duo, and that was one of the songs they performed. I also love Cathy’s Clown.

  14. Masquers
    10:38 am on January 4th, 2014

    We spent many hours listening to the Everly Brothers.
    Rose: No heat or hot water? Oh, no! I do hope the power comes back on very soon.
    Life of Pi, our movie of the night, was excellent. We really enjoyed it. Ang Lee is truly a master at his craft. Have not read the book but, after seeing the movie, may order it from the library.
    Diane: Someone here does indeed remember Peabody & Sherman and Bullwinkle and the gang.
    Paws crossed the situation will continue to improve with Edgar, Miss Pretty and Conan. We have heard the practice of walking dogs together is a good way to encourage comradery. Let us know how it goes.
    B&M: Sounds like Staff’s weather report of last night!
    Tupper’s Mama (or should I say Rudolph?) Have you taken your Airborne today? Emergen-C also works very well. And, if all else fails…even if you are not a drinker…lemon & a shot of brandy in hot water will do the trick.

  15. Barb & Maggie
    10:41 am on January 4th, 2014

    Barb was never a big cartoon watcher. But speaking of Mr. Peepers and Our Miss Brooks – When Barb first got her car it had Sirius radio prepaid for 6 months. She used to listen to some of the old radio shows, including Our Miss Brooks. The show was on radio in the late 40s and early 50s before it became a tv show. They were really entertaining to listen to.

  16. Wose
    10:42 am on January 4th, 2014

    Yipeee! Our heat and hot water has been restored. Now Grizz and I don’t have to spend the day smelly skunky! : )

  17. Barb & Maggie
    10:45 am on January 4th, 2014

    Masquers, You gotta mix a little honey in with the lemon juice and brandy or whiskey. That is an old time remedy, but it works.

  18. Herd of Hounds
    10:47 am on January 4th, 2014

    Wowzer and hurrah! But still, cuddling is ok.

  19. Masquers
    10:50 am on January 4th, 2014

    Rose: Thank Kat! Enjoy your nice hot shower, as will we.
    B&M: Yes, honey! A most important ingredient.
    BSD tells me radio was fun to listen to…moi? I wouldn’t know…smirk.

  20. Barb & Maggie
    10:56 am on January 4th, 2014

    We just heard on the news that Phil Everly was 74 and that the brothers had 35 hits.

    Yay for heat and hot water. May we all continue to have both.

    Just heard that the temp tomorrow night may be more like -18 to -20. Really hard on our poor little wild ones.

  21. Macy's mom
    10:57 am on January 4th, 2014

    *cough cough* I think I feel a cold coming on, must have brandy. Ok, no cold, I just wanted an excuse for the brandy at 10 am. Chilly good morning to you snowbirds and others. It will be 60 here today before the next Arctic Blast. I do believe that the door to the North Pole must be frozen open.

  22. Barb & Maggie
    11:01 am on January 4th, 2014

    Howlers, You said yesterday that your mom was concerned about the heat light starting a fire in the coop. Where is the light situated?

    Barb was going to go down and visit Kelly and the kids this morning, but it is snowing so hard she is going to cancel her plans.

  23. Masquers
    11:13 am on January 4th, 2014

    Macy’s Mom: I think many would agree with you about the North Pole door. lol
    The temperatures here in the Pacific NW continue to be on the mild side as opposed to the wild weather some of youse are “enjoying”. This morning is foggy and overcast.

  24. dawson
    11:53 am on January 4th, 2014

    Another 5 star review!

    Weather is the news. Newfoundland is in the middle of -40 degree weather and a windstorm and their power is out! I am glad that Wose and Grizz have had their power restored and hope the stormy weather across the East disappears. The sun is coming up on clear blue skies and -36 temperatures here. Brrr.

  25. Pancho & Lefty
    12:00 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Our power was restored a few hours ago. What did we see when the lights finally came on? Our lady! She has turned into a chipmunk! She is more swollen today than yesterday and in a lot of pain. To help our Lady feel better, Belle Starr insisted our Lady rub her belly for medicinal purposes only.

  26. Herd of Hounds
    12:07 pm on January 4th, 2014

    -40 windstorm in Newfoundland? That must be why I slept outside last night (to mom’s chagrin). It was only 19 with flurries. xoxo Darah

  27. Staff
    12:23 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Was listening to the Everly Bros. on Utube and came up with this song.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4OwRp49x-FI

  28. dawson
    12:24 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Pancho&Lefty: Call the dentist STAT! Do not mess around with this.

  29. Staff
    12:25 pm on January 4th, 2014

    It reminded me so much of this one. It is that resophonoic guitar riff in the background. I have loved it for years.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n2MtEsrcTTs

  30. Herd of Hounds
    12:32 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Anyone, why do medical problems always happen on a weekend and not when dr/dent/v e t is in the office?

  31. dawson
    12:41 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Pancho&Lefty: So…maybe I panicked. Never having any wisdom (teeth), I’ve been reading about wisdom teeth extraction. Not a fun subject. The swelling can get worse before it gets better and lasts 3-5 days. One person said she got a bra and tied it to her head with the ice bags in the cups around her jaw. That would make a good photo opportunity if nothing else. Another said to ice for the 1st 24 hours then apply heat (you could use the same bra method). They all agreed with Rio to take those Ibuprofen and other pain meds every four hours or as directed, whether you think you need them or not to stay ahead of the pain.

  32. Masquers
    12:42 pm on January 4th, 2014

    P&L: HOH is right. Call the DDS! That was a lot of wisdom removed in one fell swoop. And, although it is the weekend an emergency number is usually provided.
    On the bright side your power has been restored. Things can only get better from here.
    Staff: Thanks for the memories!

  33. Masquers
    12:45 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Dawson: Ah, that was you that panicked, not the HOH. But on the other paw, a reassuring phone call couldn’t hurt.

  34. dawson
    12:45 pm on January 4th, 2014

    BStover: I had trouble spelling panicked! I first spelled it without the “k” and I could see that wasn’t right. With the “k” did look better. Is there a rule on adding a “k” to words that end in “c” before adding “ed”?

  35. Masquers
    12:48 pm on January 4th, 2014

    And…never mind how you look…the “bra method” is ingenious!

  36. dawson
    12:48 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Masquers: I agree that a phone call to the dentist wouldn’t hurt.

  37. O'Howlers
    1:09 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Good Day, everyone!
    We love that review, mainly because the writer got the relationship between Chet the Jet and his boy Bernie. And we here love Mr. Peabody and Sherman. Mom never watched any cartoons except for Rocky and Friends, which she loved, and still loves. Also: sometimes she watched Super Chicken.
    Speaking of chickens, the heat lamped worked out well. It still went down to 22, but that is because it was -7 outside! Barb, the heat lamp bulb is in the socket that the regular light bulb had beeen in, which is hanging from the ceiling.
    Barb, Mom read your SDD, and said that is exactly how she was seeing things. Will exchange another SDD with that doc for better clarity.
    And now, we will let Dima tell youse all about our morning…

  38. Dima the Dude
    1:15 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Hey guys! I just got home from my special doc. The girls went along with me, for moral support.
    I AM A SPECIMEN! Nothing bad at all in this bod, Amigo. Nada zippo zilch!!!! Kicked it to the curb!!!!! Of course, nobody wants to consider it case closed until a year goes by, but so far it looks like I beat what they had said was the unbeatable form of that dreadful thing. This entire family has been twirling ever since we left Hope. We don’t think we will ever stop twirling.

  39. Herd of Hounds
    1:30 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Yeah, Dima. Two of us are twirling and Darah is rolling in the leaves (both inside and out). You go big guy.

  40. Barb & Maggie
    1:30 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Dima, we are sooo happy for you. Remember when your mom said her wish was that you would be there to bring in the new year with her? It is even better than that! We are twirling too!

  41. B. Stover
    1:37 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Dawson: When you put the “e” after a “c” it makes the “c” soft (pronounced as “see”); the “k” is added to keep the sound of the hard “c.”

  42. dawson
    2:05 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Dima: Fantastic news, Dude!

  43. dawson
    2:07 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Thanks, BStover, that makes sense.

  44. Siber-H
    2:22 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Dima Dude, Excellent news!! This is a great way to start the new year!

    My middle name is Dude. We can share our middle name.

    Wose, Stay warm. I wonder how long you will be without power. It is cold where you are.

  45. Dima
    2:32 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Siber, twins?
    Thanks, everyone!
    There was a Dog Walk scheduled at Monocacy Hill tomorrow. That is our go-to hiking place, and we never saw them host a dog event before. But now, it turns out that we are getting freezing rain tomorrow, so that walk is not gonna happen. :(

  46. Melanie
    2:41 pm on January 4th, 2014

    HELLO EVERYBODY!

    I am about to take a nap.
    Change of plans this morning.
    First thing: MAC IS OKAY!
    Zoë got concerned about Mac because he hadn’t eaten his breakfast, yesterday or today.
    He also seems sad and hurts. She was sure it was what Roz just went through.
    Off to the vet we went.
    Upshot is Mac is grieving, and this weather is not doing well with his arthritis. They don’t call it “bone chilling” for noreason.
    We’ve changed his medication and walks, rides in the car, tummies and loving are to help with the grieving.
    I am now,totally out of it. I remember laughing when I was reading your comments. Will be back later.

  47. Barb & Maggie
    2:43 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Siber, I think Rose got power back on.

    Howlers, One thing that your mom should ask the vet at Penn. is why the other hens didn’t get Marek’s disease if they think that is what Fern might have had. It is supposedly very contagious.

    Nap time here.

  48. B. Stover
    2:52 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Dima: That is excellent news.

    I feel bad of Mac.

  49. Dima
    2:52 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Poor Mac. Grief can certainly make you sick.

  50. Diane C.
    2:54 pm on January 4th, 2014

    HOH–thanks for the example and encouragement; no home improvements needed yet, but the day’s not over.
    Wose-Congratulations on having light and heat restored.
    Dima (is that for Dmitri? Like Hvorostovsky?) Also congratulations–a great start to the year.
    T’s Mama–Bed rest, fluids, and my sympathy.
    Pancho and Lefty–Tell your lady that bags of frozen peas can substitute for the bra contraption (although probably less entertaing to look at).
    Masquers–Here’s a free archive of old radio shows. I recommend “Yours Truly, Johnny Dollar” https://archive.org/details/oldtimeradio

  51. Staff
    2:57 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Dawson, BStover.

    nice nick…heh lice lick..oh my

    This is a rule that never ever got near to my brain.

  52. Wookie's and Teddy's Dad
    2:59 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Diane C. We are certainly old enough in Chevy Chase to remember Sherman and Mr. Peabody and the rest of the Bullwinkle crew (like Whatsamatta U). B beat me to the punch to mention the new movie coming out early this year, although it seems as though Hollywood these days is lacking in new ideas and simply retreads old themes, generally without any improvement or redeeming social value. Of course, a Chet & Bernie movie would break that mold, but we are still waiting for that.

  53. dawson
    2:59 pm on January 4th, 2014

    SiberH: See post of 10:42. Wose has power!

    Melanie: Where have all the Newfies gone? I can understand Mac grieving just like you and Zoe are. Between dances with giraffes, give each other tummies and lots of loving.

    Layers!
    I have my wool tights, my regular pants (I have to check if they are cotton), and my wind/rain pants on. On top I have a t shirt (oh no, I bet it is cotton) a soft wool sweater, a thin hoodie and my winter jacket. A pair of gloves under a pair of mittens. A pair of wool socks and my Ugh! boots. We are going for a walk in the sunshine.

  54. Diane C.
    3:00 pm on January 4th, 2014

    B. Stover–A movie w/ Peabody and Sherman! Yay! Thank you for the info!
    Everyone–Henri Lazarof didn’t have as many commercial hits as the Everlys, but his loss (a day earlier, I think) just as big a loss to music. RIP both.

  55. Tupper and Gilly
    3:00 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Mama just woke up from a nap and checked the blog – WOOOO HOOOOO for Dima! You go, Dawg!

    Bella – its true – swelling is worse on the second day, and could stay swollen for days. Please, do keep taking pain meds to stay ahead of the pain. If you don’t have ice – you could stick your head in a snowbank. But do ice the swelling.

    That’s it for us – Mama is going back under the quilt and we are holding her down. Fever goes up, fever comes down. Honk, sneeze, sniffle, yawn. Colds suck!

  56. BearSpiritDog
    3:13 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Dima: The Entire Blog is Twirling! You are a Super Dog!

    Melanie: Take it from Bear…the Nation Within feels sorrow just like their human companions do. We are very glad to hear that otherwise Mac is okay. Please give Mac & Mattie big Bear Hugs from us too.

    Siber-H: Heh, heh…about Wose’s power…you’re reading every other word again.
    Oops, sorry, after reading Diane-C’s last post it looks like Someone Here is doing the same thing. Movie? What movie?

  57. Herd of Hounds
    3:18 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Dog grief is real. We of the herd have seen it. Mom and Uncle Dan play “ER” with us. That means massages, tummies, playing with favorite toys, rides in the car, an occasional extra cookie. Oh, and lots of ear rubbers :)

  58. Masquers
    3:32 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Diane: Thanks for the link.
    Herbs: Make sure your mama gets that much needed rest. The Royals and youse should call a temporary truce to insure that happens.

  59. B. Stover
    3:37 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Staff: Those are good examples. (Adding the “e” on the end also makes the previous vowel “long”: win….wine.)

  60. Dima
    3:40 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Diane C., why yes! Dima is indeed the Russian nickname for Dmitri. I am so impressed that you knew that. But I did not know about Dmitri Hvorostovsky. Does he go by “Dima”? My name is not Dmitri though. It is Dima, pure and simple.
    Is the Peabody and Sherman movie really about THE Mr. Peabody and his boy Sherman? If so, that movie will be on our must-see list for sure.

    T&G, give your mom lottsa hugs from Meashka and me. Kat is already on her way up there to help with smooches. If she tries to get in your way, tell her Mama Meash will have words for her.

  61. Staff
    3:47 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Dima, Wonderful job kiddo. You are my hero. Keep up the good work.

  62. Siber-H
    4:01 pm on January 4th, 2014

    ok you guys, Thanks and, yes, I missed Rose’s post about having power back on.

    T&G Tell yoru mom we hope she feels better soon. Mom agrees, colds suck.

  63. Tenzing
    4:35 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Dima: This calls for a celebratory Slim Jim! Well done grabbing that horrible thing by the pant leg and giving it the what for just like Chet does with perps.

    My Lady is going to rest, rest, rest today. She overdid it yesterday. She is trying to stay ahead of the pain, but it is nipping at her heels.

    The Giant left early this morning for an 80 mile training run. He left Luna in charge.

    Golinka: One nyquil float coming right up.

  64. Pancho & Lefty
    4:44 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Macy: Please check your SDD, quick like a little min-pin jumping into the ears of a certain Redbone Hound.

  65. Riö - The Evil Pug...
    4:59 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Swine!….Oh noooooo!…sniff!…I just heard there is an outbreak of Swine Flu at the Salt Lake City Olympic Trials….gasp!….This is not good news for our athletes…sniffle!

  66. Siber-H
    5:11 pm on January 4th, 2014

    The swine flu is epidemic in this state. Mom has had her flu shot, but she doesn’t really believe it will keep her from getting the flu.

  67. Pancho & Lefty
    5:18 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Swine Flu is no relation to bacon, right? We like bacon as much as the next pug, but we don’t want any part of this swine flu business.

  68. Wose
    5:36 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Staff: When I listened to the Everly Brothers link, I actually thought they were going to cover Harvest Moon. We are music detectives.

    Grizz and I took a drive to the mall. Pipes had burst in the building, so the entrance was a bit water-logged, and the Cheesecake Factory had no heat or working restrooms.

    Rebecca: Keep dancing with the giraffes. It is very important to finish your medication. You do not want to get an infection, or the dreaded, dry socket .
    I hope Luna is giving you the look, and is keeping you under a firm paw.

  69. Wose
    5:37 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Dima: You are the DAWG! Wooooohoooooo!

  70. Wose
    5:44 pm on January 4th, 2014

    I am wondering about Wolfie and his mom….

  71. Luna
    5:57 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Wose: Mama is trying to find the happy medium between staying ahead of the pain and not getting sick from the pills. She slept the morning away, but has been up for the last several hours. I am sending her to bed shortly for a nap. She says she is bored. I say bored or not, she needs to rest. Does she know I’m more stubborn that she is? She is about to find out.

  72. Riö - The Evil Pug...
    6:00 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Luna!…Mama Luna you tell her!…snort!snort!….Also tell her that if she stays up she will have to eat more moose-jello….gurgle!

  73. Luna
    6:02 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Moose-Jello! Even that made me a little sick and I have a stomach made of steel!

  74. Barb & Maggie
    6:10 pm on January 4th, 2014

    We still don’t know if Rebecca had 2 or 4 Wisdom teeth removed. Does anyone know?

  75. Luna
    6:19 pm on January 4th, 2014

    B&M: It was two as far as I know, but keep in mind, I never count past two. There is no need.

  76. Luna
    6:23 pm on January 4th, 2014

    I am told, both my mama’s wisdom teeth had cracked so the oral surgeon had to go on a SiberH-esque digging expedition. I think she would have preferred quality time with SiberH instead of the oral surgeon.

  77. Melanie
    6:33 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Yuck. Poor Pixie.
    Yea DIMA!

    I have had it for the evening. I am hoping for a day without DRAMA tomorrow.

    TTFN

  78. Barb & Maggie
    6:37 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Good night Melanie. No drama tomorrow, we hope.

    Watching the news, they are saying 6-12″ more of new snow by this time tomorrow, and -50 wind chills. Brrrrr.

  79. Princess Sam
    6:45 pm on January 4th, 2014

    My boy got the flu a few days ago and he had a flu shot. Yesterday on the front page of the buffalo news it said that the CDC reported that this year’s flu vaccine was only 56% effective. Yikes!

  80. Barb & Maggie
    6:51 pm on January 4th, 2014

    They reported on the news that the Everly Brother’s hit “Wake Up Little Susie” was banned from some radio stations around 1957-58.
    It was considered too risqué for the times, since 2 teenagers were out together way past midnight. Guess times have changed!

    We have a movie tonight from Netflix, The Way Way Back. Has anyone watched it? Light comedy, nothing serious.

  81. Masquers
    6:53 pm on January 4th, 2014

    B&M: The national weather forecast is for the coldest temp in 20 years…30 degrees below normal…bone-chilling cold.
    Sammie: There are so many different strains of flu, for it to be effective, one would most likely need a shot for each one.

  82. Tupper and Gilly
    6:54 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Oh, poor Bella. It is so hard to balance pain med and getting sick from pain med. Sure hope she is eating yogurt to counteract bad side effects.

    Pretty sure now that Mama has the flu, though she too had her shot in Nov. all we know is she is just sick sick sick. ( but she still has to cook dinner for the idiots…um, did we say that out loud?)

    Not sure she will be back tonight, so we will say goodnight now.

  83. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    6:55 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Wolfie Wigglebutt here. I decided it was time to introduce myself. Mom calls me Saint Wolfie sometimes, because she says that I am perfect in every way.

    Me and Gus Puppy like with mom and dad in the center of California, not too far from Yosemite. Somehow our cat population grew from 3 to 13. Mom says that 13 cats are too many, but she loves each and everyone of them.

    I am famous for being a Master of Blurring, which is the art of devolving molecules and reassembling them elsewhere. Okay, so I may be making some of this up because I am only a dog. What I do know is that it comes in very handy more often than not.

    Mom and dad have two grown children who are very responsible and live in the big city making lots of money. And then there are my boys, who will turn 21 on Wednesday. They have provided joy and heartbreak and while life has been trying at times, it has never once been boring.

    Sometime in the next week or two (the second week of January) they will be appearing on the Tricia Goddard Show. It is step up from Jerry Springer, I suppose, but not a big step. Apparently Cody wanted to be certain that he, and not Chad, is the father of Jace. As it turned out, they are identical twins and therefore their DNA is identical. Breena and Chad both passed the lie detector tests, so Cody feels vindicated. Honestly, he has no idea just how wildly inappropriate it was to air these concerns on national TV. All that for a lousy $300.

    Of a more pressing concern is Jace’s eye. The mengioma is still covering 10% of the pupil and we’ll find out on the 22nd if surgery will be required. Mom gave up trying to pull Breena into the loop of making appointments and has taken over. Jace sees a pediatric opthamologist on the 15th, to make sure his vision has not been compromised.

  84. Masquers
    7:00 pm on January 4th, 2014

    B&M: The national weather forecast is for the coldest temp in 20 years…30 degrees below normal…bone-chilling cold.
    Is The Way Back from 2010 with Ed Harris and Colin Farrell? Netflix has listed it in our recommended movies.
    Sammie: There are so many different strains of flu, for it to be effective, it seem one would need a shot for each one.

  85. Herd of Hounds
    7:04 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Jace is in our pawrayers. Pawsitive thoughts heading your way.

  86. Masquers
    7:09 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Oh dear, Wolfie, So sorry about baby Jace. Your mom is the one who’s a saint we think, for all she puts up with and all she does. Sending love and prayers to the wee one.
    Hopefully that show the boys are on will be on one of the stations our cable company offers.

  87. Masquers
    7:14 pm on January 4th, 2014

    B&M: We found the movie you are referring to. It is only available on DVD. The one we were talking about is a war movie…no comedy there.

  88. O'Howlers
    7:19 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Wolfie, we aren’t sure we will be watching that Tricia show, but we will be praying our hardest for Jayce. We are so glad your wonderful mom took over the appointment scheduling.

  89. Barb & Maggie
    7:56 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Masquers, The Way Way Back stars Steve Carell, and is a comedy-drams about a boy’s growing up 1 summer with his mom and insensitive step-dad.

    Wolfie, do your folks really have two other functional children, or was that just humor? We will try to catch the show when it is on, but you will have to let us know, as we do not watch Trica on a regular basis. Hoping for the best for Jace’s eye situation. Looks like Breena is still not acting like a responsible parent, but at least she is letting your mom help.

  90. Barb & Maggie
    7:58 pm on January 4th, 2014

    What are symptoms of swine flu?

  91. Herd of Hounds
    8:48 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Aren’t all flu symptoms the same? Not being smarty pants but mom is unfamiliar with flu as she hasn’t has it in years…touch wood. Fever, body aches, nausea?

  92. Wose
    8:50 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Mama Luna: I know you’re in charge and making sure our Pixie returns to tip-top ASAP.

  93. Masquers
    8:53 pm on January 4th, 2014

    plus lethargy, loss of appetite, coughing, runny nose, sore throat.

  94. Wose
    8:53 pm on January 4th, 2014
  95. Wose
    8:55 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Wolfie, I am glad to hear from you. Your mom is wonderful. Sending prayers to Jace.

  96. Wose
    8:57 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Sammie, wasn’t your girl sick, too? How is she?

  97. Masquers
    8:58 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Rose: We were somewhat relieved to hear Mama Luna say two wisdom teeth had been extracted, not four. Extracted…sounds scary, doesn’t it?
    And, here the Giant is out on an eighty mile training run. Luna has her paws full. Has nurse Meashka arrived?

  98. Herd of Hounds
    9:10 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Wose, thank you for the swine flu link. Stuff we didn’t know.
    while mom taught she didn’t get sick but being away from kiddos and now with the compromised immune system, it can’t hurt to know.
    she had her first ever flu shot this year :( Hospital wouldn’t let her come home without one.

  99. Barb & Maggie
    9:12 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Assumed it was respiratory symptoms but didn’t know for sure.

  100. Nurse Meashka
    9:17 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Did someone call for moi?

  101. Wose
    9:19 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Masquers, when it comes to wisdom teeth I can only count to two. I can’t imagine what it must feel like to have all four out at once!! I have had all 4 out (hence my lack of wisdom), but two each were taken out at different times. And of course, with my bottom teeth, I got the dreaded dry-socket. Ouch!

  102. Princess Sam
    9:21 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Wose, my girl had a scope go down into her villi and they didn’t look good. Mommy immediately started her on gluten free meals. The diagnosis came back a week later and it was the same as Molly’s mom, gluten insensitivity. We are very happy it was not celiac. The treatment is the same but celiac has a much bigger impact on the body. My girl is starting to feel better already. She will go back to that stupid school place in a couple of weeks and mommy is getting everything ready for her to be able to have the right food.

  103. Wose
    9:36 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Sammie, I am glad to hear your girl’s diagnosis was not something serious, and that she is starting to feel tip-top. Don’t you get a chance to visit your girl at school? I think your girl would love to have you at college with you.

  104. O'Howlers
    9:39 pm on January 4th, 2014

    The Little Detective Agency, with Chet and Little in lead!

  105. Macy's mom
    9:42 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Yikes, I can’t imagine having to take care of myself after wisdom tooth extraction. I had all 4 out, and was in the hospital for a day and a half. Of course that was in the good old days when insurance did not kick you out as soon as the anesthesia wears off.

    I know that there is a lot of dislike of James Patterson here, but I just read the latest Alex Cross story in one sitting. Riveting!

  106. Macy's mom
    9:44 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Natty? Is that you?

  107. O'Howlers
    9:50 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Heh heh heh! That was great. Macy, how on earth did you manage to get a photo of the intrepid Borzoi spy?

  108. Masquers
    9:51 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Macy! LOL

  109. dawson
    10:06 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Princess Sam: It’s good your girl knows she is gluten insensitive and is starting to feel better. It’s always scary not to know what is causing your symptoms.

    O’Howler’s: Thanks for the picture of Snowhook Kennel’s Little Detectives doggies. They Chet and Bernie look great in lead.

    Some notes on the effectiveness of the flu vaccine. Some year’s vaccines are better than others. http://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/qa/vaccineeffect.htm

  110. dawson
    10:09 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Macy’s Mom: Are you sure that’s the Borzoi? Her legs don’t look long enough, even in those high heels.

  111. Pancho & Lefty
    10:14 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Natasha is a master of disguise, no doubt about it.

    Can you believe it? The Detectives are leading! Little, or Little Cousin Bob for long, is the most appropriately named dog so says our Lady. She is tiny, while her brothers are big guys.

  112. Herd of Hounds
    10:24 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Mom had 3 wisdom and 4 first bicuspids our at r the same time to make room in her mouth. What for we are not sure. But…she was miserable and hurt for a while
    AND all got dry sockets. She was in a world of ouch. Rebecca, Ice, jello, pain meds and sleep…please.

  113. Herd of Hounds
    10:27 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Spoiler alert! For those of y’all with pc’s this will probably be upside down but it is so darned cute…the black Canadians napping. Here it comes.

  114. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    10:27 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Macy – is NOT Natasha! Is not, is not!

    Ve vould NEVER vear pink vig vith pink legging. Is too matchy matchy. Natasha has MUCH better class.

    Besides, vould clash vith red Porsche!

  115. Herd of Hounds
    10:28 pm on January 4th, 2014
  116. dawson
    10:29 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Yeek!
    HOH: Dry sockets sound terrible!

    Snowbella: Do not suck through a straw, or spit, or anything. Drool like a Newf. I think that is allowed.

  117. Barb & Maggie
    10:41 pm on January 4th, 2014

    That was actually right side up! Cute picture.

    Macy love the picture but not sure that is Nattie.

  118. dawson
    11:11 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Headed to bed but I stumbled upon a Lacross game with Colorado and Vancouver tied 11 to 11 and 6:51 left in the game. Exciting stuff.

  119. Barb & Maggie
    11:13 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Night all. Everyone try to stay warm!

  120. dawson
    11:30 pm on January 4th, 2014

    Colorado ended up winning the Lacross game by 1 point.

    I’m crawling into my nice warm bed with a heating pad to read for awhile. Then prayers for Plunderers and sweet dreams.

  121. LizF
    12:05 am on January 5th, 2014

    Hi all, it’s late afternoon here so you’re all well asleep i’m sure, but Ruby and I wanted to check that you’re all okay. Those snowstorms are all over the news here and the forecast sounds terrible! Stay safe everyone.

  122. Staff
    12:05 am on January 5th, 2014

    Yawn,
    goodnight sis. sniff. and everyone else also.

  123. O'Howlers
    8:09 am on January 5th, 2014

    Hi Liz, we have been worried about you too, with the record temps down under. We heard 129, but we didn’t hear what part of Australia that was. The worst snows here have been in the midwest and northeast we think. We here got snow, but nothing drastic. We are all having very cold temps too. Can you say Climate Change?

  124. Diane C.
    9:19 am on January 5th, 2014

    wolfie wigglebutt_-It’s a pleasure to meet you, and Jace is now added to the prayer list. Can’t hurt.
    Dima Pure and Simple–Your name makes more sense (phonetically for English speakers/readers). Hvorostovsky is a Russian singer who is almost as good as his publicity says he is.

  125. Diane C.
    9:25 am on January 5th, 2014

    HOH–right side up and they’re most appealing.
    O’H–what a handsome team! I thought thery ran harnessed in apirs, but these look like 2-1-2 (or am I just losing vision to go with the disappearing brain cells…)
    Natasha–I was sure it wasn’t you. Not in that Barbara stanwyck wig (no matter the color).

  126. Воровка книг онлайн нын
    6:42 pm on February 4th, 2014

    Лидеры проката!…

    Смотрите фильмы лидеры проката…

  127. trad
    3:06 pm on February 16th, 2014

    During your workout, be sure you take plenty of time to hydrate yourself. If you do not drink enough water during your workout, your performance will suffer. It is also a good idea to consider drinking a sports drink instead of just water since sports drinks are filled with electrolytes which replenish the minerals your body loses when it sweats.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia