Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars – A must for dog-lovers – December 2, 2013

ShoeJax (Geneva, Switzerland) on Dog On It:

I love these Chet and Bernie Mystery books. I’ve read all of them and have hooked many of my family and friends on them, as well. Anyone who loves dogs will get absorbed by the writing. Quinn does such a great job of speaking for Chet in a way that is typically dog (loyal, easily distracted, suspicious of cats’ motives, thinks his owner is always the smartest person in the room) but articulated in a funny, human way. You’ll read this first one and immediately want to start the next … and the next … and the next.
 
Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, December 18th, 2013 at 8:17 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

147 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Herd of Hounds
    8:42 am on December 18th, 2013

    Good morning, everyone! We really like this review. Will be gone for a bit this a..m. as another utrasound in mom’s future :( Paws crossed for all under quilt TTFN, we will BBL.
    Can we have a Wigglebutt Wednesday? Please?

  2. Barb & Maggie
    9:08 am on December 18th, 2013

    Good review. Thanks, Spence and Admin.

    Good luck with your test this morning Sharon.

    Sunny and quiet here, the best day of the week, weather wise. Tomorrow things start deteriorating, starting with fog and rainy drizzle, ending with about 4″ of snow on Sunday.

  3. B. Stover
    9:19 am on December 18th, 2013

    I like the review too.

    Good morning all.

  4. Melanie
    9:49 am on December 18th, 2013

    Switzerland Review! Awesome.

    Good Morning to you all. About another 4 inches or so fell yesterday. We’re up to 15 degrees now. That’s better than the whole day yesterday.

    Supposedly warming up for the weekend. OTAS and GLAD will be doing Christmas with us on the Winter Solstice. Now I just have to find where I put their presents and then wrap them.

    Tomorrow is a go to the Clinic day. I’ll be gone all day. I did talk to my doctor yesterday. The cut backs in the meds have been okayed. He also told me what was going on with the not eating much and needing to eat every 2 hours or so. Both Zoe and I feel better about that.

    B. Stover, Fern, Tenzing, Wyatt and everyone else under the quilt. Feel better soon.

    I can’t wait to hear about the Pixie and Ma reunion.

  5. Melanie
    9:51 am on December 18th, 2013

    Steve and Moe, our on and off commenters, wrote on FaceBook that it is Moe Moemoe’s birthday. He is Steve’s service dog.

    Happy Birthday to Moe!

  6. Wose
    9:58 am on December 18th, 2013

    Greetings!

    Well, it is Rose with and L for Loser! Not even 1 number! snort

    BooBear, Your fireplace is beautiful!
    Sharon, Good thoughts coming at you.
    Fern, You need to get better and shake that thing around the coop!
    Melanie, Thinking about you, too.

    RIO! The red bouquet was given to the doctor that shrinks my head once a month and makes sure I have medicine to get me through my day. Since I will not see her again until January 17, it had to be done. Plus, I always love to watch people’s reactions, and then they start asking about the artist, and the technique.

    RIO! If your friend hadn’t found such a happy busy-place, the studio apartment downstairs from Grizz and I is for sale. Youse could move here, or better yet, ship your friend’s mother here. heh

    Nana, hope you are feeling better everyday!

    Hey, I wanted to see pictures of the Pixie and her mama! Where are they?

  7. Wose
    10:00 am on December 18th, 2013

    Happy Birthday, Moe!

    Tenzing and Wyatt, I hope you will be tip-top soon!

  8. Diane C.
    10:05 am on December 18th, 2013

    Peace and good seasons to all in my strange but delightful C and B family. Sometimes your posts keep me going when all seems bleak. (I need to adopt Chet’s attitude…)

  9. Macy the min-pin
    10:10 am on December 18th, 2013

    B. Stover
    http://www.theonion.com/articles/4-copy-editors-killed-in-ongoing-ap-style-chicago,30806/

    Wow, is it really Wednesday? Mom and I were sure it was Tuesday. Thanks for the heads up HOH. Mom was kind of hung over from muscle relaxers yesterday, so it was like it never happened. She is going to start her (3 presents) Christmas shopping today, so if you don’t hear from her by bedtime, please report her missing in a stampede of shoppers.

  10. Tupper and Gilly
    10:22 am on December 18th, 2013

    Wigglebutt Wednesday it is! Only no butt wiggling for Empress Bee, she would put her back out again.

    We would like to report that the Storyteller did indeed have a winning ticket in last night’s gigantic lottery. He won $4.00. That is more than 2, right?

    Diane C. – thank you, that was a nice compliment to all of us here on the blog. Please jump into the strange and wonderful pool anytime you like. We are a great support center and laugh factory. Even Rio almost laughs, and you know Rio- he NEVER laughs out loud.

    Today is snowblower day followed by packing for the last show of the year. They stay at a hotel that is connected right to the mall where the show is. So, no matter what the weather, once they park tomorrow, they need never venture outside again until Sunday night when they come home, home, home to us!

  11. Barb & Maggie
    10:23 am on December 18th, 2013

    Delightful, yes. Strange? What do you mean Strange?

  12. Macy the min-pin
    10:25 am on December 18th, 2013

    Here’s to herds of last minute shoppers all delighting in the wonderful treats to be found at the booth of the Royal’s Family.

  13. O'Howlers
    10:31 am on December 18th, 2013

    Good morning! We had the same number of numbers (!) as Wose the Loser. So we are quadruplets !
    Wigglebutt Wednesday it is. Good luck today, HOH. We hope they don’t shave you as close as they shaved Dima.
    Happy birthday to Moe.
    BooBear’s pictures made us feel very Christmasy.
    Bee, how is the back? Mom got the report from her recent dexascan. They told her she better take calcium.
    Diane C., Don’t be shy. Jump on in. We are all friendly. (whispering) Ignore the pug until he gets used to you. He is all bark.

  14. O'Howlers
    10:34 am on December 18th, 2013

    Heh Heh! We just read Macy’s link. Too funny!!! Don’t you just love The Onion?

  15. Wose
    10:39 am on December 18th, 2013

    Congratulations to the Storyteller’s big win! That $4 more dollars than I currently have in my wallet.

    HRH, B, I hope that under Charlie’s care, your back will be feeling tip-top soon!

    Diane C, This here blog is a good place to be. Only the best two and four-leggeds are here. This is like a second family to me.
    Just watch out for the pug. He wants to be evil, but he is a softie at heart.

  16. O'Howlers
    10:41 am on December 18th, 2013

    Barb, Almost every egg that our Rock lays is a double-yolker.

  17. Tupper and Gilly
    10:48 am on December 18th, 2013

    This here blog is also home to the best three-leggeds

    Thanks for the good wishes Macy. From your dainty lips to the shoppers’ wallets!

  18. B. Stover
    10:55 am on December 18th, 2013

    Macy: That was excellent. (I was part of the MLA gang at one time.)

    Charlie is a wonderful nurse. I feel fine. (T&G: I even feel like wiggling.)

    Welcome Diane C.

  19. Barb & Maggie
    11:00 am on December 18th, 2013

    Oleys, Have you done any research on that? We never got a double yolk, ever. We are wondering if she will wear out sooner since she is doing double duty.

    Notice how everyone warned Diane about you-know-who!

  20. Barb & Maggie
    11:08 am on December 18th, 2013

    Boobear, we just saw your pics from last night. The fireplace looks amazing. Your mom should be a professional Christmas designer.

  21. Macy the min-pin
    11:12 am on December 18th, 2013

    Barb: heh-heh

    Wow, B was in a gang! Film at 11.

    Our girl Niki gave mom an entire book of Onion stories a few years ago.

  22. Siber-H
    11:13 am on December 18th, 2013

    Excellent Amazon Review
    Welcome Diane C. and please do join us.
    Stover, Glad you are tip-top today
    Happy Birthday Moe!
    Sharon, Wishing you the best today.
    T&G Best of luck to your folks this weekend. I hope the last show of the season goes very well for you.

  23. Herd of Hounds
    11:14 am on December 18th, 2013

    Mom is home. She hates tests she can’t study for :( HRH B Stay on the heating pad as long as you need. Know Melanie is busy today but our paws are crossed for her anyway. Love all the Christmas cards at out house, mom strings them on ribbons. Wolfie, TY for the addr. It was one mom was missing. Tests but no results, guess that means things are o.k., otherwise they wouldn’t let her leave.

  24. Melanie
    11:17 am on December 18th, 2013

    Hi Diane! Strange, weird and wonderful. Jump in the water is fine.

    I am having my elevenises. Miso soup. It’s a mix and tasted pretty good.
    I have “A Wild Christmas” playing on the computer.

    I can do that because Zoë isn’t here. She just doesn’t like it! I say, “What’s not to like?”

    It came out on CD many years ago. Some how my CD got broken . .
    But I found the album on iTunes . .

    All of the sounds are from wild animals (and some parrots and dogs. wonder ig the HoH and POP helped) Some in a synthesizer, some as theirreal voice. One of the songs has whales on it. Spookily beautiful.

  25. Herd of Hounds
    11:25 am on December 18th, 2013

    Diane, our bad, forgot to say welcome to our strange and wonderful gang, er, group. Stover is the gang-banger.
    Melanie, mom has a cd “The 12 Dogs of Christmas” written by a girl. When the dogs bark at the end, the HOH goes crazy, barking, running and looking for the “intruders”. Mom laughs her fanny off, a lot of laughing in our opinion.

  26. BearSpiritDog
    11:26 am on December 18th, 2013

    When Nana was in the hospital everyone was made aware of the Chet & Bernie Mysteries through our family, at home and here on the Blog. We are certain there are many, many New Readers because of it.

    Good Doc visits for Sharon & Melanie.
    BooBear: Beautiful Decorations!
    Hi again, Diane C.

    Royals Mum & Dad: Wishing you a Bountiful Holiday Show in the warmth of the mall. Last stop before Christmas…what could be better.

    Rio: Thank you for joining us last night at the Top of the Hill. The Cold Wolf Moon was big & bright and promised all good things to everyone under its light.
    Staff: We heard your quiet howl and thank you for it.

  27. Macy the min-pin
    11:29 am on December 18th, 2013

    I have tried and tried to howl, but it just isn’t in my DNA I guess. Mom heard me trying and thought I was choking. NO HEIMLICH, I am fine, thanks.

  28. Siber-H
    11:32 am on December 18th, 2013

    The Onion….Back in 2009 when Lance Mackey was winning the Iditarod there was a hilarous “interview” with his lead dog in The Onion. I know we don’t all love Lance, but you will love this dog, Melvin. This article goes beyond funny. I found it once again this way:

    http://www.theonion.com/content/news/stumbling_bumbling_sled_dog_sorry?

  29. Siber-H
    11:34 am on December 18th, 2013

    OMD!!! OMD!!! OMD!!!
    I just made a link that works!

  30. O'Howlers
    11:38 am on December 18th, 2013

    Did we miss something? Melanie is not going to the doc today is she? We thought that was tomorrow?
    T&G, we would like to echo everyone’s wishes for great success (and $$$) at this weekend’s show.
    BSD, We got up extra early this morning to Howl at the last of that Full Cold Wolf Moon.

  31. Herd of Hounds
    11:39 am on December 18th, 2013

    Siber H: You made one that works and we are laffing hysterically! Love it.

  32. O'Howlers
    11:43 am on December 18th, 2013

    Wow! Siber is becoming techno-Sibe!
    Going to read that real soon. But first, we forgot to answer Barb. Mom thinks the double yolks will probably use up Kathryn’s eggs sooner. But no worries. Her services will still be needed as she has become the self-appointed hall monitor. If any hen even thinks about getting into a nest box, she announces it to the world. Then she gives play-by-play updates the entire time that hen is in there. When the hen steps put, she makes sure we all know. Then she goes in to make sure all was kept tidy. Now, who could do without that service? We ask you.

  33. Basil and Sage
    11:46 am on December 18th, 2013

    Awwwww – our little Siber-H is all grown up into a link making techie. How will we ever keep him down on the Internet farm?

  34. O'Howlers
    11:48 am on December 18th, 2013

    That was hysterical. Thanks for finding that, Siber.

  35. Barb & Maggie
    11:48 am on December 18th, 2013

    Siber, No only did it work, but Barb is ROFLAO. Got that one Bee?

    Oleys, We know how Kathryn sounds. Buc-buc-buc-BUCGAWK!

  36. Staff
    11:52 am on December 18th, 2013

    Wow! Mr.Husky! YOu are the dude!

    heh heh heh

  37. Staff
    11:57 am on December 18th, 2013

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PENJxl-THS8

    this is for Barb and Maggie and the O’Howlers…and Fern.

  38. Fern
    12:04 pm on December 18th, 2013

    sigh. Nice song. It made me miss my sisters.

  39. Herd of Hounds
    12:09 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Wow B&M, really ROFLOA. Y’all are techno and language savy!

  40. Melanie
    12:11 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Just read Siber-H’s link. That is hilarious.

    I go tomorrow folks!

  41. Barb & Maggie
    12:12 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Yea, HOH, that’s us!

    Thank you Staff, that was a hoot and a cluck!

  42. B. Stover
    12:14 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Good one Siber-H.

    B&M: Yes, I understand that acronym.

  43. Herd of Hounds
    12:24 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Wowie kazowie, we be learning all kinds of stuff today (present company excluded).

  44. Melanie
    12:53 pm on December 18th, 2013

    I sent Staff’s link to my sister. Proud caretaker of three hens.

    It’s snowing again, but this time it’s snow flying off the trees and roofs.

    How do all of you pronounce “roof”. I’m all mixed up on it because I lived near Chicago, then rural VA, and then north of Boston.

    I usually say it so it rhymes with “proof”.
    Sometimes it comes out “ruff”.

    Inquiring minds want to know.

  45. Siber-H
    12:58 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Melanie, You made mom realize that she pronounces roof about halfway between roof (proof) and ruff.

  46. dawson
    1:01 pm on December 18th, 2013

    SiberH made a link that works! An interview with Lance’s lead dog? This is going to be good!

    http://www.buzzfeed.com/beneful/12-reasons-your-dog-is-your-soulmate

  47. Masquers
    1:02 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Siber: Knew you could do it! That interview by Lance’s lead dog for the Onion is priceless.
    Staff: I know that tune cheered Fern up, as did it us.
    Hi Dawson!

  48. dawson
    1:22 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Melanie: While growing up in the midwest, a roof was a ruff. Since being in Canada, it has become a roof (rhymes with proof). The man who lives here says that “ruff” is something a dog says.

  49. dawson
    1:26 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Hi WeatherKat: Thanks for ordering the bright sunshine, but I wouldn’t mind if the temperatures rose a little higher! Minus 21 F (minus 29 C). Either way, with the wind chill it is minus 40.

  50. Melanie
    1:35 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Dawson, love the link. One comment. They do NOT know they weigh 200 pounds.

    Macy, the Onion article . . snicker.

  51. B. Stover
    1:48 pm on December 18th, 2013

    I have always pronounced “roof” to rhyme with “proof.” To me a “ruff” is an Elizabethan lace collar.

  52. Barb & Maggie
    1:54 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Being from the Midwest Barb says ruff.

  53. T.C.
    1:54 pm on December 18th, 2013

    I rhyme “roof” with “proof”. The Howlers, on the other paw, pronounce everything as “woof”.

  54. T.C.
    1:56 pm on December 18th, 2013

    And I do realize why you couldn’t post the reasons why your cat is your BFF. There are way too many to list.

  55. Herd of Hounds
    2:02 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Mom is middle of the “rud” on this one.

  56. BearSpiritDog
    2:04 pm on December 18th, 2013

    My dear Min-Pin: Have no fear. Your voice was heard by all and no one thought you were in need of the Heimlich.
    O’Howlers: It’s Never too late to Howl at the Moon.

    Dawson: It’s all True. We are your Soul-mates.

  57. Melanie
    2:11 pm on December 18th, 2013

    It never fails.

    Zoë came home.
    I went upstairs to wrap presents.
    Someone calls for information that is downstairs.
    Go half way down the stairs, and remember something that you have to have from upstairs.
    Go back up the stairs.
    Go back downstairs.
    Call person back.
    Phone is busy.

  58. dawson
    2:14 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Melanie: (laughing) I wondered about that. I think the 200 pounders think they weigh about as much as Princess Sam or Alice M Johnson.

    I have much snow to shovel and then off to the grocery for supplies.

  59. Barb & Maggie
    2:30 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Just to be clear, Barb pronounces roof to rhyme with hoof.

    Here are a couple of other words that people say differently, depending on where they are from. Canadians usually pronounce about like a-boat. And do you say cut the grass or mow the lawn?

    When Barb first moved to the Chi-town area years ago she misunderstood when a woman said “I am going by my mom’s tomorrow”. Barb said, well are you going to stop and visit? The woman was baffled, because what she meant was that she was going TO her mom’s.

  60. BearSpiritDog
    2:38 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Barb&Magpie: Hoof…sounds good to us…but aren’t Proof & Hoof sounding the same? I say Woof, as do all of the Nation Within.

  61. BearSpiritDog
    2:41 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Dawson: Supplies? As in Munchies? Hmm…by the rumblings in my tummy I think it may be time to head for the Kitchen to check the fridge for Snacks.

  62. Herd of Hounds
    2:44 pm on December 18th, 2013

    All y’all and y’alls problems with wrapping is cracking us up! Heh, heh, heh.

  63. Tupper and Gilly
    2:47 pm on December 18th, 2013

    What’s on top of the house, you ask?

    Roof, ruff, or woof.

    None of the above. It’s pronounced “SNOW”

  64. Barb & Maggie
    2:52 pm on December 18th, 2013

    BSD, We would say no -hoof and proof do not sound the same. Proof has a long u sound.

  65. Kat
    2:56 pm on December 18th, 2013

    The cards have arrived!!! Finally!!!! Nothing like waiting until the last minute. Now Mom must address them and stamp them and seal them and mail them. I don’t think everyone will get them by Christmas. :(

    Tonight, Momma and Dad are going to their annual Skippack luminaries walk. This trip used to be about shopping. Nowadays, from what i can make out, it is more about eating than shopping.

  66. Kat
    2:57 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Barb, hoof sounds like proof in these parts.

  67. BearSpiritDog
    3:11 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Thank you, Kat.
    About those cards…Ours are marching out the door to the mailbox on a Daily Schedule. Think of them as Happy New Year cards too.

  68. dawson
    3:12 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Barb&Maggie: Yes! In Minnesota I pronounced roof not like proof and not like ruff but like hoof. But I see that sheds no light on the subject because O’Howlers pronounce their hooves like proves!

    Whew! The car started.

  69. Diane C.
    3:14 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Thanks to all of you. How did the pug get the “evil” reputation? Looks nice to me…

  70. Melanie
    3:22 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Diane, he is a grumpy old pug. He decided on the evil. He is the mastermind of many adventures here on the blog.

    Youse guys are making me laugh. (Love that saying, B. Stover)

    MACY’S MOM, NEED HELP, PLEASE CHECK SDD!

  71. Wookie's and Teddy's Dad
    3:40 pm on December 18th, 2013

    SiberH — I couldn’t stop laughing, although for some reason I could see Teddy RR doing parts of that interview, particularly when he is his special goof ball mode.

    As to pronunciation, another word that has a lot of regional variation is “drawer” and in particular where folks from Rochester, NY, have their very own way of drawing out the r’s in it.

  72. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    3:45 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Velcome to Diane C. Is true Commander Rio is most evil puglet. He has corrupted Natasha’s von true love, Siber-H. Bad little pug tells Siber steal Natasha’s beautiful Porsche and make it smell bad vith hot vings, beer and pug poots. Is not nice.

    In motherland, ve pronounce it “voof”. Is only correct vay.

  73. Herd of Hounds
    3:52 pm on December 18th, 2013

    TY Natasha, izzz only correct w ay.

  74. Siber-H
    3:53 pm on December 18th, 2013

    uh, Natasha, You have gotta know that borrowing the Porsche was my idea not Rio’s. We can’t blame this on one Rio.
    The beer and hot wings we can blame on Rio.

  75. BearSpiritDog
    4:00 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Nattie: It has been much too long since we have heard your Wise Words on this here blog. Are you getting a new Porsche for Christmas? (whispering) you will never get the smell out of the old one.

  76. Siber-H
    4:11 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Bear, yeah, That’s it…Natasha needs a new Porsche for Christmas. That way we would have a Porsche in the East and one in the West. I am perfectly happy with my old borrowed one.

  77. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    4:33 pm on December 18th, 2013

    If Santa slips new Porsche under tree (ve have been an awfully good girl), ve vill be keeping vith Empress Bee. Ve know how she likes to drive vith top down. And vith convertible voof open too.

    New Porsche will NOT have hot vings in back seat. And vill have anti-puglet protection package.

    Siber – ve admire your loyalty to Commander Rio, but such gentleman as you vould never have thought of stealing Porsche if naughty little pug vas not such bad influence on you.

  78. Wyatt
    4:37 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Word from the frontline is that Bev was speechless. MaBella being happy make my mama happy.

    B: Charlie mentioned that smooching you involves steak and bacon. I could help him nurse you back to health I you need it and even if you don’t need it.

    My mama says she was so proud of a service member of the nation within today. She was at the store an saw a severely mentally and physically disabled young man. He was miring rowdy and grabbing at the dog—not in a mean way. His mother lost her cool a little, but the service dog leaned into the boy and he calmed right down. He gave the mother a look that said, “hey, sometimes ears need a good tug. I’m okay with it.”

    Diane: Welcome!

    My mama says a certain pug may be an evil mastermind who enjoys swimming in beer. And, sure, he may get cranky and a little gassy, but she knows first paw he has a heart of gold. She won’t be convinced otherwise—about his heart or his gas.

  79. Wyatt
    4:53 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Being, not miring. Gah!

  80. Macy the min-pin
    4:55 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Yep, roof and hoof the same, proof rhymes with goof. When talking with Melanie and Amalia on the phone, we were most surprised to hear that they sounded almost like “yankees”. Somehow, it did not occur to us that folks from New England would not talk like Texans. Go figger.

    Love the chickees singing “In the Brood”

    Yea, Mr. Techno-Husky

  81. Wyatt
    4:57 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Diane: We also have Beau on this here blog. He is a Bible thumping pug who quotes and creates scripture to meet his purpose. He is the thorn in Rio, the Evil Pug’s side. I love them both.

  82. Kat
    5:05 pm on December 18th, 2013

    And then there is Rio, Jr., a husky who is half pug and is on Snowhook’s A-Team in the Iditarod. He ran all the way to Nome last year and won Rookie of the Year. <3

  83. Tupper's Mama
    5:12 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Macy – YANKEES???!?!!!??!!!

    harumphf

  84. BearSpiritDog
    5:12 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Wyatt: Your report on the Surprise Visit from our SnowBella to her Ma does our hearts good. Are there any photos?

    Macy: Yes! Proof & Goof are sounding the same to these ears too. Actually all of you have made good examples depending on the region y’all are from.

  85. Macy the min-pin
    5:18 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Royal mum, ok, maybe not true “yankees”, but not down home neither.

  86. Tupper and Gilly
    5:26 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Macy – around here, folks tease Mama about her New Mexican accent. She tends to say things like Route Tin when speaking of Rt 10. And she definitely doesn’t sound like a Bostonian.

  87. Barb & Maggie
    5:39 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Barb felt the same way when she actually heard the Texas gals talk. Y’all have southern – or Texan accents.

    Can’t you just see Nattie singing “Santa Baby” when she is asking for her new Porsche!

    Did you know that when news forcasters are trained to speak on tv they use the Midwest accent (what we have an accent!!)because it is considered the most neutral.

  88. Melanie
    6:07 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Of course, who knows if we’re pronouncing “proof” the same in all regions!

    I remember talking to Macy’s Mom. She has an accent. Quite a shock. Macy the Min-Pin has a sweet New England accent.

    YSAS, having lived in a lot of places, can do different accents in the drop of a hat. Luckily, he realizes that my brain is locked on his voice always being the same. Whew.

    Barb and MagPie, Nattie singing “Santa Baby”. I can see that. Also in the VA mountains people say, “Will you carry me to the store?” The first time I heard that my mind’s eye came up with an interesting picture.

  89. Melanie
    6:09 pm on December 18th, 2013

    I will have to go to bed early tonight. Why? Because a wrapping paper tornado hit my room and I can’t find my floor.

  90. Macy the min-pin
    6:14 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Route Tin. I understand the tin. That is how I say it. Route is another kettle of fish altogether. Root, or rowt?

  91. Barb & Maggie
    6:16 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Melanie, I am telling you gift bags is the answer! Barb loves gift bags, even though her kids think it is funny to call her a bag lady.

  92. Barb & Maggie
    6:19 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Gift bags ARE the answer!

    By now you have probably read about Orlando, the 11 year old black Lab who jumped off the train platform in NYC to try to rescue his companion who is blind. Both were run over by the train but are Ok.

  93. Barb & Maggie
    6:28 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Barb would say rowt.

    In Chicago they say one, two, tree. The also say “the boat of um”. And of course, we know from Beau that they say da Bears.

  94. Princess Sam
    6:31 pm on December 18th, 2013

    A while ago mom was working with a man who would come in from Texas on various projects. He said to her, “Y’all talk too fast.”

  95. BearSpiritDog
    6:33 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Barb&Magpie: Subway train encounter. Brave Lab & lucky companion.
    Gift bags are easy and fast but expensive, and not often reusable, as the receiver now has the gift AND the bag.
    Are we being cheap or what?

  96. Wose
    6:39 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Sammie, How is your girl? You haven’t said much about her.

  97. Melanie
    6:44 pm on December 18th, 2013

    The man in the subway was not going to be able to keep his guide dog (11 years old) after he got a new one. Donations were set up and he, his hero dog and his new guide dog will be able to live together.

    Okay, (dusting off our Soapbox) Zoë and I rarely watch live TV except for the news. We also use the MUTE button during commercials. A commercial came on for medication and no remote.

    We were in shock when the nice man started listing ALL THE THINGS THAT COULD GO WRONG. It really got us, when in his nice voice he said, may cause severe allergic reactions, HEART FAILURE and four different types of CANCER!

    Never going without the remote again.

    Thank you for listening to me rant. (places Soapbox back for when needed)

  98. Barb & Maggie
    6:50 pm on December 18th, 2013

    BSD, You know by now that Barb is cheap – err, I mean frugal.
    She re-gifts the bags that people give to her each year, but in addition, she buys packages of gift bags right after Christmas so they are half price. Also, in the chaos of gift opening, she grabs a few extra bags, plus some of the beautiful ribbons that are about to be thrown out, and discretely puts them in her stash. When you have a bunch of people throwing wrappings around, no one even notices! hee hee

  99. Macy the min-pin
    7:10 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Barb and what really chaps mom’s chittlins is people who wad up their bags or just toss them in the trash. Waste not, want not, anybody? She ties ribbons with wire edge ribbon and her girls know to roll them up for re-use. She wants to use less bags this year to work through some of her backlog of paper (think life-time supply), but her mom loves bags simply because she CAN reuse them. She admires the haul of bags she receives as much as what was in them, lol. When you have only ten packages to wrap, it takes a while to use up a roll, and she is bored of all that paper. Maybe she should organize a wrapping paper exchange with everybody’s half used rolls! There was one giant sized roll that stuck around for ten years.

  100. Macy the min-pin
    7:13 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Melanie check your SDD.

  101. Princess Sam
    7:16 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Wose, my girl isn’t doing well and since we don’t know yet what it is, I haven’t mentioned it. Mommy and Daddy brought her home from Prague a week early. She had some scope thing and then went to that cow stock exchange. When she gets back we can put her in bed cuddled with me for a month.

  102. Macy the min-pin
    7:20 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Cats. Trying to drive people crazy.

  103. Barb & Maggie
    7:26 pm on December 18th, 2013

    We hope Sammy’s girl is OK. Thoughts are with her. Sammy, keep her close.

    Macy, that is too funny.

  104. Melanie
    7:27 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Macy, checked SDD. There is no SDD.

    I can just see the Herbs doing that . .

  105. Melanie
    7:29 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Princess Sam, I hope your girl comes home soon and you get to cuddle with her for a month.

    (what am I missing? cow stock exchange?)

  106. Melanie
    7:31 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Got it Macy’s Mom. Different email address than I thought. That is how the day has been going.

    HOH, how’s your Mum?

  107. Herd of Hounds
    7:32 pm on December 18th, 2013

    What is wrong with recycling rapping schtuff? Mom has done it for ever! Hope the quilt will hold everyone who needs holding tonight. (Darah…) Am learning to be a fluffy pillow, for 2 hours at a time. Am sure I will improve with age.

  108. Herd of Hounds
    7:34 pm on December 18th, 2013

    if mom weren’t ok, she wouldn’t have come home so chipper. Lumpy is ok for now.

  109. Princess Sam
    7:58 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Melanie, isn’t what they do in NYC? Doesn’t the stock exchange use cows?

  110. Siber-H
    8:07 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Melanie, All our thoughts and prayers will be with you tomorrow.

  111. Masquers
    8:12 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Sammie: Of course, the stock exchange, everyone knows that.

  112. Masquers
    8:14 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Melanie: Joining in with Siber and all in sending our most positive, healing thoughts to you tomorrow.

  113. Masquers
    8:16 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Melanie: That is good news about the companion dog being able to remain in the home.

  114. Rio - The Evil Pug
    8:28 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Party!….There was a party at the new busy-place today…snort!…A white-elephant gift exchange where one chooses a number out of a hat and then that is the order in which they get to pick a gift…sniff!…Sounds fishy already. Anyways, my friend was #7 and picked a wrapped gift instead of taking one of the gifts from someone else…heh!…She got a starbuck gift card. The next person up took her card and so she got to pick out another gift….grunt!…True to form she picked the worst gift of all…wheeze!….One day I will post a photo of it and maybe youse guys can tell me what it is and what can be done with it…grumble!

  115. Masquers
    8:30 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Sammie: We didn’t know your girl was not feeling tip-top. What happened? Take good care of her. Do you want the Smoocher’s to blur in?
    Where’s Riö? Oh, there you are!

  116. Wose
    8:32 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Sammie, I hope your girl is better soon. I know your smooches and cuddles will make her feel better.

    Melanie, Pawsitive and loving thoughts are with you.

    What happened to RIO? And our Pixie? I guess I’ll find out tomorrow.

    Good night to you all, and good day to Liz!

  117. Rio - The Evil Pug
    8:33 pm on December 18th, 2013

    SiberH!…I have to tell you, my friend was reading your Onion interview with Melvin the Hapless Iditarod Dawg…heh!…She said she was in tears from laughing so hard…chorkel!grunt!…The hot-shot asked her what she was reading so she had to send it to him….snort!…He thought it was pretty darn funny too….chuffle!…He told her he used to be a Musher in the Rockie Mountains taking tourists on sled rides….puh! …That’s not real mushing…sniff!

  118. Rio - The Evil Pug
    8:34 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Rose!…Did I just miss Rose by the tip of my tail?….grunt!

  119. Siber-H
    8:44 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Rio, I’m glad the Hot Shot also got to read it. Mom says she would like mushing in the Colorado Rockies…without the tourists…just do it for fun.
    The Hot Shot…we like the guy and are so glad your friend got a good boss with a sense of humor.

  120. Rio - The Evil Pug
    8:51 pm on December 18th, 2013

    SiberH!…Is Melvin a real dawg who was on Lance Mackeys team way back when?…snort!…Or is this a totally made-up story in all regards?..sniff!

  121. Junior
    8:51 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Senior: Did I stumble and bumble my way through my first Iditarod like Melvin? I forget. I wonder if Hot Shot would like me as much as he likes your friend.

    Sammie: Whitey-Lance is willing to help you take care of your girl. He assures me his intentions are honorable whatever that means. Prayers for your girl.

  122. Rio - The Evil Pug
    8:55 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Junior!…How the hell are you?…snort!snort!…I hope you are getting enough to eat and drink during your straining period…gruffle!…Let me know if you aren’t…sniff!…The hot-shot lives in a house where there is 2 + 2 dawgs of various makes and models…heh!…He said one looks like a cow and she is his least favorite because she stands at the top of the stairs and barks at him every time he comes in the house…heh!heh!

  123. Junior
    8:59 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Senior: The Giant is making sure we have more than enough food and water. It doesn’t get any better than the Giant let me tell youse. 2+2 dogs! If my math is correct—and it rarely is—that is one dog more than two plus one cow.

  124. Rio - The Evil Pug
    9:02 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Cow!….Cassie The Butt Sniffing Dawg looked like a cow, a black and white spotted cow…snort!…My friend used to call her Miss Mooo!…heh!

  125. Junior
    9:05 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Black and white! Belle Starr is black and white, too. I wonder if she has any idea she is part cow.

  126. Princess Sam
    9:06 pm on December 18th, 2013

    My girl is staying with her aunt who lives on the Central Park West. Couldn’t be better. Tomorrow she has some interviews at American Express for a summer internship and then catches the plane home to me me me. I will be doing the smooching starting tomorrow night. Thanks Whitey Lance but I’ve got this under control.

  127. BearSpiritDog
    9:11 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Grrr…No Hot Water! The shower was tepid and now we can’t do the dishes.
    Might as well call it a day – Bear

  128. Melanie
    9:15 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Just chiming in to say goodnight.

    Riö, tell your friend that I was never any good at those type of present handouts.
    Her boss sounds like a grand guy.

    Ohhh, the stock exchange . . Banging head with iPaw.

    Howdy Bev! Take good care of your Pixie (did you recognize her?) and let her take care of you too.

    Thanks for the good thoughts and wishes.
    An easy time tomorrow. I have to talk to two people and then pass a blood test.
    TTFN

  129. Rio - The Evil Pug
    9:19 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Melanie!….I pass stuff all day long. You will do fine…sniff!sniff!

  130. Herd of Hounds
    9:24 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Pass a test? Wow! Don’t think we could do that.

  131. Rio - The Evil Pug
    9:25 pm on December 18th, 2013

    HoHo!…Only if you ate it first….snort!

  132. Macy's mom
    9:26 pm on December 18th, 2013

    At the gift exchange last Saturday, I got a bottle of wine called “Santa’s Secret Stash”. It got stolen, so I stole Rick’s big bag of pistachios and he stole my wine back. Score!!

  133. Siber-H
    9:29 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Rio, It is a totally made up story. Lance never had a lead dog named Melvin. Lance would not have been winning the Iditarod during those years with Melvin in the lead.

  134. Herd of Hounds
    9:45 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Pick on me Rio. It is
    o.k. :)

  135. Rio - The Evil Pug
    9:48 pm on December 18th, 2013

    HoHo!…Just stating the facts….sniff!…just stating the cold hard facts….heh!

  136. Rio - The Evil Pug
    9:51 pm on December 18th, 2013

    SiberH!…I just wondered if Lance may have had a dog that had a little “slip-up” during one of his races and the Onion parlayed it into the hilarious exaggeration….chuffle!

  137. Siber-H
    9:56 pm on December 18th, 2013

    The one lead dog that Lance had that I remember was named Maple.
    She was a beauty. Maple was a star out on the trail but I remember Lance coming up off the beach into Nome and Maple decided she wanted nothing to do with the crowds. Lance had to put Maple back in the team and another dog in the lead.

  138. Barb & Maggie
    10:04 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Melanie, Sammy is probably talking about the Stock Market being referred to as bulls and bears. Bulls are betting the market is on the rise, bears think it is on the way down. Think of it as a charging bull (up) or a sliding bear (down). She could also be making a connection to the commodities market, one being beef commodities.

    Night all.

  139. Rio - The Evil Pug
    10:05 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Ah-Ha!….Maple – Melvin…heh!heh!…I’m willing to bet someone at the Onion embellished the Melvin story out of the Maple mishap…chorkel!

  140. Buddy and Leno
    10:09 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Ooh. Only on the first page of stuffs. That’ll teach me to not read until after work. Hi y’all. Welcome Diane. And, yeah, I love the Onion. I especially love the Onion when people find stuff from it and don’t realize it’s a satirical newspaper. Now I should read some more and take my mean vicious attack dog out.

  141. Barb & Maggie
    10:11 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Before we leave for the night, we want to say good luck tomorrow to Melanie. We will be thinking about her all day.

  142. Buddy and Leno
    10:14 pm on December 18th, 2013

    So. Hmm. I don’t know whether ot’s roof (rhymes with proof” or roof (rhymes with hoof). However, one of the funniest expressions I can think of is definitely a Southern thing. When talking about cleaning up, it’s very common for someone to say tell the kids (among others) to “pick up the floor”. Which of course means “Pick up all the crap off the floor and put it away”, not “Pick the floor up, and be careful where you step”. Then of course there’s “Fixin’ to”, which is especially funny when said by your Ukrainian adoption translator who tells us he is “fixing to fix lunch”. Something lost in the translation there.

  143. Barb & Maggie
    10:22 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Buddy, Barb used to say she had to “close up the chickens” when she really meant she was going to close the doors of the chicken coop.

    OK, seriously, good night.

  144. Buddy and Leno
    10:33 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Regarding the guy that fell off the subway platform, something I read says that he fainted and pulled his dog down with him, but something else I read says his dog jumped down after him. Either way, pretty amazing. But I think guide dogs are pretty darn amazing anyway. I’m also glad that he’ll be able to keep his dog in retirement. I’ve been very blessed that I’ve been able to keep mine (long story about why Chet wasn’t with us for a little while when we got Leno, but we got him back). Of course, sometimes it’s not a matter of housing rules. No dogs allowed and all, and when they’re retired, they don’t have service animal protections anymore, although it’s always great when you get a wonderful landlord that doesn’t care. We were so lucky. Now we own and it’s all good. We just got through watching a DVD of a one-man play about Morris Frank, who had the first Seeing Eye™ dog and was instrumental in founding the Seeing Eye in 1929. Never get tired of that one.

  145. Siber-H
    11:11 pm on December 18th, 2013

    Toffee!!
    Don’t forget to send your snail mail addresses to Wolfie.

    Night All

  146. instant car insurance quotes
    9:33 am on December 20th, 2013

    I am not certain the place you’re getting your information,
    however great topic. I must spend a while studying more or figuring out more.
    Thank you for great information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  147. gold plating kit walmart
    9:07 am on December 22nd, 2013

    Hi, for all time i used to check weblog posts here in the early hours in the break of
    day, as i enjoy to find out more and more.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia