Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars – If I had a tail, I would wag it! – November 24, 2013
Six (Indiana), on The Sound and the Furry.

I love this series! I read one Chet and Bernie book, it pulled me in like a leash, and I have been romping my way through these ever since, panting in anticipation for the next episode! The stories are exciting, the plots intriguing and original, and the mysteries are real page turners! There is no shortage of close calls (the Chet treading water scene was a gem!) Humour and originality abound, and you can’t help but fall in love with Chet and Bernie even as you are snorting with laughter over Chet’s take on the human condition and situations they find themselves in. And underlying this, woven throughout the book, is the deep, abiding love between Chet and Bernie, or pet and human, that is beautifully captured and incredibly moving. I cannot wait for the next episode!!!

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, November 27th, 2013 at 7:50 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

147 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Diane C.
    8:35 am on November 27th, 2013

    Chet is not a “pet”. He is Bernie’s partner.

  2. Melanie
    8:53 am on November 27th, 2013

    Nice review, but I agree with Diane . .

    Chet is NOT a pet!

  3. B. Stover
    9:06 am on November 27th, 2013

    Diane and Melanie are cracking me up.

    “There are many close calls. (The Chet-treading-water scene is a gem!)” (Now I feel better. “Humour” is the Brit spelling of “humor.” Interesting.)

    Good morning all.

  4. Melanie
    9:09 am on November 27th, 2013

    You are a wonderful Prof, B.Stover,

  5. O'Howlers
    9:12 am on November 27th, 2013

    Good morning. We like that review, although the term “pet” struck us as absurd too.
    Sounds like our Hobbit is Plundering On !!! Get home to Sadie, Hobbit!

  6. Barb & Maggie
    9:33 am on November 27th, 2013

    We agree that Chet is so much more than a pet; however, that being said, we love the review. Clever usage of terms pertaining to dogs – pulling at the leash, romping my way, panting with anticipation, etc. We thought it was one of the best they have printed.

    Kitchen duty here today – Hot Tamale Pie casserole for dinner, grinding apples and cranberries for tomorrow’s traditional cranberry salad, appetizer for tomorrow at Kelly’s.

    When Barb was little, and before the day of food processors, Barb’s mom would pull out the grinder from storage. It attached to the side of the kitchen counter, and then they began the big, messy process of feeding in the cranberries and apples. With the food processor, it takes 20 minutes.

  7. Tyb
    10:49 am on November 27th, 2013
  8. O'Howlers
    11:04 am on November 27th, 2013

    Thanks for the card, Jay and Tyb. Love it! And Happy Thanksgiving to you and to all the Plunderers.

    Fern is eating and drinking by herself today. She also put her feet and legs down and stood a bit. She is moving around on those feet, altho not yet upright. Slowly she seems to us to be improving!

  9. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:56 am on November 27th, 2013

    Turkey!….I caught a glimpse and a whiff of turkey this morning…snort!…All kinds of kitchen preparations going on around me and Beau. We plant ourselves firming in the middle of it all…chuffle! ….They are going to brine that there turkey starting this afternoon….sniff!…This should be very interesting as her mother took it upon herself to make the brine while my friend was being brined by margaritas at the restaurant last night…grunt!…She “says” she followed Alton Brown’s recipe, but that woman has never followed a recipe in her life, so as I say, this should be interesting…sniff!…I hope to hell she does not ruin this turkey for me…wheeze!

  10. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:59 am on November 27th, 2013

    Yeeep!….I’ve got to get some work done on Auction Central…snort!…Rebecca assures me it will work, but it has not been tested yet…yeeeep!yeeep!

    Auction!….Starts Thanksgiving afternoon, but I forget the time…sniff!….Maybe Rebecca can post a Reminder about the starting time and ending time…wheeze!

  11. Barb & Maggie
    1:04 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Cooking done for now.

    So happy to hear that Fern seems to be on the mend. Yea Fern!

    Time for a little cat nap, then will be back.

  12. Siber-H
    1:09 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Good review. Maybe a Brit did write it. I should think the Chet and Bernie series would be popular in England.

    Dawson, Thanks for the C.Hobbit information last night. I am worried about Sadie. If the vet has not done so yet and surely he/she has, Sadie’s urine sample needs to be cultured.

    Fern is improving!

    Thanks for the cute card, TYB and Jay.

  13. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:10 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rebecca!….Check your SDD for Auction Central news…snort!

  14. c.hobbit
    1:27 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Hello everybody! Just checking in. Thanks for all your good thoughts and wishes. I’ve decided that I can’t worry about things I can’t control. I’ve done the best I can and now can plunder on with a lighter heart. I sent an email to the doggie day care people so they know I am connected and in touch.

    Be back later

  15. O'Howlers
    1:31 pm on November 27th, 2013

    We are very glad to hear from C.Hobbit. Mom wishes she was as brave as her.

  16. Annabelle
    1:31 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rio: My Lady has checked and responded.

    CHH: I’m with Sadie. After our wiff and sniff last night, we curled up next to each other.

  17. Wose
    1:34 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Greetings!

    Thanks, Jay and Tyb for that great card. May your Thanksgiving be a happy and healthy one!

    I am very worrit about poor Sadie and Hobbit!

    I am glad to hear that Fern seems on the road to being tip-top.

    Junior, Even without eyebrows, you had me at hello. ‘Member when I introduced you to your uncle Siber-H and Rio, Sr? You are so charming.

  18. c.hobbit
    1:37 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Staff: are you the sewing machine maniac? I need to find a good home for this Minnesota Model A treadle sewing machine. I bought it in a yard sale almost 40 years ago in KY for $40 and hauled it back to Southern California.

  19. Siber-H
    1:42 pm on November 27th, 2013

    I can’t wait for Staff to see the sewing machine. It looks to be in great shape.

  20. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:48 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Sewing!….Wow!…Staff’s eyes are gonna pop out when she sees that!…snort!…Look at the detail on the drawers. Does the cabinet come with the sewing machine?…wheeze!

  21. Junior
    1:50 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Wose: I remember meeting Senior and SiberH for the first time. It was hard to get a good wiff of either. I remember I got shy when you introduced me to SiberH.

  22. Wose
    1:52 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Wow, that is a lovely machine and a beautiful piece of furniture ! Something tells me Staff is going to love it!

  23. c.hobbit
    1:54 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Yes, the sewing machine is part of the cabinet. It is a beauty–but I am biased. I love it which is why I want it to go to a good home. I am going to get some furniture polish from a furniture store and work on it. Sometime in the last six years it was moved into an unused studio shed and not taken care of. So it has been subjected to hot and cold without any protection. There are some original stuff in the drawers. At one time the manual was with it but I couldn’t see it. It may still turn up. I have another great one that is inside the house and not as old.

  24. dawson
    1:55 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Tyb and Jay: Thank you for the card. I give thanks every day for my Chet the Dog friends.

    SiberH: CHobbit said: “The v e t says there are crystals in her blood and she is now on a prescribed diet. I hope it is temporary and not a sign of something serious. I miss her so much.” I believe she is talking about the blood that is in the urine.

    Checkpoint Update
    There are 25 checkpoints on the Northern route, one of which (White Mountain) is sponsored by BooBear for Gus & his Dad who Kicked cancer to the Curb. Tomorrow will be kick off day to sponsor the rest of the checkpoints. Last year several checkpoints were wholly sponsored by individuals which made it way easier to get all the checkpoints sponsored. To do that you just tell Rebecca at Snowhook Kennels and one of you let us know on the Blog which checkpoint you have sponsored. To get your name or the name of a loved one on a checkpoint you can pledge $25.00 or more to start, then we will ask for donations to make up the rest of the cost. It is $250.00 for each checkpoint. Every little amount helps. Other than the initial donation to open a checkpoint, I am not going to announce the individual names of donors unless specifically requested by the donor. It is understood that all donations are on behalf of the group of Chet the Dog Plunderers for the benefit of the Snowhook Kennel 2014 Iditarod Team. To start things off tomorrow, there will be 4 incentive donations of $25.00 each to match the first 4 donations to open a checkpoint sponsorship in the name of your choice.
    Go Snowhook!

  25. Melanie
    2:01 pm on November 27th, 2013

    TYB, we are using Beau’s recipe for Splashed Shrimp!

    I have been dashing about, and have now stopped for an hour.

    Zzzzzzzzz

  26. dawson
    2:02 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Sled Dog Team Announcement
    Charlie – the literary sled dog – has been sponsored by BStover and I. Or…by BStover and me. Or by me and BStover. Yes, that’s it, right Charlie?

  27. Wose
    2:04 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Junior, Yes, you were just a little shy with your uncle. But I know they are both very proud of you. You and I had a lot of fun together during our visit.

  28. Wose
    2:06 pm on November 27th, 2013

    RIO! Please check your SDD as fast as your little legs can carry you!

  29. O'Howlers
    2:08 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Nurse Meashka:

  30. Siber-H
    2:08 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Dawson, Thanks. Mom says she has known several dogs that have been on that Prescription Diet.

    I will give some thought to checkpoints…It will help me to pass the time while waiting for turkey.

  31. BooBear
    2:09 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rose graciously agreed to split the cost of the checkpoint sponsorship as well as Rio Jr’s sponsorship. Thank you, Rose!

    I hope Mom will let me help out with some of the other checkpoints.

    BooBear

  32. Wose
    2:13 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Dawson: Quick, like a corgi, please check your SDD.

  33. O'Howlers
    2:13 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Sponsors! Team “For the Love of Snowhook” has not yet picked out our sponsored Snowhook dog.

  34. BooBear
    2:13 pm on November 27th, 2013

    OH’s, Mom loves the floor in that latest picture. Are they original to the house or new? Is that Nurse Meashka or Guard Meashka?

  35. Wose
    2:14 pm on November 27th, 2013

    It is my pleasure to be part of your team, BooBear.

  36. Siber-H
    2:15 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Junior, Rio and I are very proud of you! Not every Iditarod rookie makes it all the way to Nome on their first try.

    Is The Hot One nursing or plotting?
    I just enlarged the photo. Meashka may be simply falling asleep.

  37. O'Howlers
    2:18 pm on November 27th, 2013

    BooBear, Those are original wood floors.
    Meashka loves laying near Fern. Mom does not trust her. Fern didn’t trust her at first either, but now she seems very calm about Meashka being close by.

  38. dawson
    2:31 pm on November 27th, 2013

    My first checkpoint Update and first error already.
    White Mountain checkpoint is co-sponsored by Rose and BooBear. Duly noted. Only 24 more checkpoints to go. See how easy this is?

    CHobbit: I love that sewing machine! Check out the ram’s head drawer pulls! It is awesome.

    Meashka is whetting her appetite by stay close to Fern.

  39. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:42 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Meashka!…snort!

  40. Barb & Maggie
    2:43 pm on November 27th, 2013

    We love the sewing machine and think Staff will too. What could be more perfect than a Minnesota make? To have all those pulls still on it is unusual. What a beauty!

    We say you are right to not trust Meashka with Fern. She may be chef Meashka in disguise! Even farm/herding dogs can get too rough with poultry if they are suddenly loose and flapping around.

    And we also love, love those floors. We think they are original.

  41. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:44 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Dawson!….Awesome work!….snort!….You make Rose and I proud…sniffle!

  42. BooBear
    2:46 pm on November 27th, 2013

    That is a really cool machine. Mom has an old Singer treadle machine that was later converted to electric. Her mother used to tell her (over and over again) that you could sew leather harnesses with that machine.

    Dawson, I had not noticed the that the pulls were ram’s heads. Thanks for pointing that out.

  43. Meashka
    3:01 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Why, Barb and Maggie! I am not a herding dog, but I am a farm dog. More importantly, I AM A NURSE!!!!!

  44. Barb & Maggie
    3:06 pm on November 27th, 2013

    OK, Meashka, whatever you say!

  45. Melanie
    3:29 pm on November 27th, 2013

    OTAS and GLAD are almost here!

    YSAS and LLL are taking the 4:30 train!

  46. Charlie
    3:30 pm on November 27th, 2013

    My ears are flipping and flopping with delight! The Ophir checkpoint is officially sponsored in memory of B’s dog Brandy. My Lady says it is a long haul to Ophir and she likes to think of Brady’s stength and spirit running with the team to Ophir.

  47. Tupper's Mama
    3:44 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Neither rain nor snow nor gloom if night shall stay these idiot show people from their appointed hotel.

    Hey everyone. Just catching up after a hellacious trip through slashing rainstorms and turkey day traffic. But we got to the show location and got the booth set up. We managed to break a couple of our show lights, and so on our way to the hotel, we stopped at a kmart to buy new bulbs. BIG mistake. HUGE. We are not going anywhere near those stores this weekend.

    Then we arrived at our hotel. The desk clerk asked if we wanted a King bed, and we said it didn’t matter as long as it was a big room. So here we sit, in our three room suite. Sure hope we have this kind of luck at the show!

    Glad to know the Hobbit and Fern are both doing better. But we aren’t all that sure we would trust Meashka too far. Just sayin….

  48. dawson
    4:15 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Wow!
    I leave for a few minutes and another checkpoint sponsored! It is reassuring to know Brandy’s spirit will be with the Snowhook Dogs. Brandy has those long legs and can run like the wind. Thanks, Charlie, for announcing that Ophir is sponsored! Only 23 checkpoints to go!

    Tupper’s Mama: I’m glad you are set up for the show and ready to go. But not to Kmart or any other stores this weekend! I had to laugh at the vision of you two surrounded by crazed holiday shoppers. Yeek!

    I am trying (faint hope) to teach the man in this house to clean house. Yesterday I secured a promise that he would work for 1 hour each day. Today, lord a’mighty, you’d think he was put on a chain gang or something. I was always taught business before pleasure so I like to get my work done early. This one likes to do it the other way around and he’ll do anything for pleasure so long as it prolongs the time before he starts the job. I finally insisted he start to work and what a great sound of moaning, groaning and bitter complaining was heard and much standing around holding a broom or a washrag as if that in itself was work. Good grief! Lost cause.

    The sun is shining and I’m going for a long walk.

  49. Masquers
    4:37 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Royals: A suite! May your good luck continue.
    We here are in countdown mode. Why is there so much to do?
    Dawson: BSD and I would like to start the sponsorship for the Unalakleet checkpoint with our donation of $50.
    Go Snowhook!!!

  50. Charlie
    4:44 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Yeep! Masquers, is there any chance BSD chose that particular checkpoint? Does it have to do with pizza?

  51. O'Howlers
    4:47 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Pizza!!!

  52. Charlie
    4:56 pm on November 27th, 2013

    My Lady says some of the best pizza she’s had is in Unalakleet.

  53. dawson
    5:01 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Early donation!
    Masquers and BearSpiritDog have put a dibs on Unalakleet! That donation will be matched and BearSpiritDog & Masquers Unalakleet checkpoint is officially opened for donations. You can email your pledges to dawson.j2@gmail and send the donations to Rebecca. Please make a note of that address so I don’t have to repeat it.
    Go Snowhook doggies! Go Masquers and BearSpiritDog! There are still 3 matching donations to be had so don’t delay.

    Melanie: Oh boy! Let the merriment begin! The kids are coming home for the holiday.

  54. Staff
    5:10 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Oh My Dog C.Hobbit. That machine looks wonderful. And it is a Minnesota Model A. I live in Minnesota right now you know. snicker.

    Let me put that on a couple of my blogs and see who leaps up. Do you have a timeline? Is you SDD still the same? I will SDD you with some more questions.

  55. dawson
    5:11 pm on November 27th, 2013
  56. BearSpiritDog
    5:25 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Pizza! Let me tell youse, I know my checkpoints.

  57. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:28 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Checkpoints!…I wonder if there is a video for each Checkpoint…sniff!sniff!…Is so, Dawson should post a video of the checkpoints as they become fully funded….wheeze!

  58. BearSpiritDog
    5:31 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Thanks for the Unalakleet Video Dawson!

  59. Barb & Maggie
    5:40 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Is anyone shopping tomorrow? We are all for cooking and eating on Thanks Giving, and spending the time with family. Shopping will not be done here. What is your opinion, should retail stores be open? We vote no. Let them open at 5:00 a.m. Friday for the early shoppers.

  60. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:42 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Shopping!…No shopping for anyone here probably all weekend…sniff!…Someone has too much quilling to do to be shopping…grunt!

  61. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:47 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Count-down!….To the big 18 pound turkey brine experiment….snort!….These two are going to dump the concoction that her mother made and another gallon of water and icecubes on the turkey. It will be in a plastic bag in a cooler like this for 13 hours and counting…sniff!…Sounds fishy to me. My poor turkey!….whaw!!!

  62. Macy's mom
    5:50 pm on November 27th, 2013

    I have removed the nose art from the dining area. I figured the ladies would like to redecorate for the holidays.

    The bathrooms are sanitized for your protection, the top layer of dog dirt has been vacuumed, and the spider condos have been relocated. This is as good as it is going to get. Bring on the bird.

    Macy was just sneezing. I wish you could hear her. It is so dainty~

  63. Siber-H
    5:51 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Dawson, Check your SDD
    We don’t need to email the checkpoint sponsorship info to Rebecca as well as you, do we?

    Barb, NO, No shopping will we be doing for the next 4 days.
    We agree, 5am on Friday would be good.

  64. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:59 pm on November 27th, 2013

    SiberH!…Dawson will share the info with Rebecca after each checkpoint is fully funded….sniff!…That will cut down on a lot of SDD traffic this way…grunt!

  65. Tyb
    6:06 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Melanie,
    Hope you like the splashed shrimp as much as we do. Let us know what you think.

  66. c.hobbit
    6:12 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Dawson: I promised Rebecca sometime ago that I would sponsor the Willow checkbook for all eternity or for as long as AJ /Snowhook ran the Iditarod

  67. Siber-H
    6:28 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rio, I agree. That method will cut down on SDDs flying around.
    I am anxious to find out how your turkey turns out tomorrow. I bet it will be good.

  68. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:37 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Turkey!….I am thoroughly worrit about my turkey….shudder!…My friend talked her mother into doing this and now what will happen? What if the turkey just tastes salty?…sniff!…What if it becomes soft and soggy sitting in that brine all night long?…wheeze!….I’m worrit!

  69. Macy's mom
    6:41 pm on November 27th, 2013

    could someone please send me boo bear’s SSD? Dish only has the snail one.

  70. Barb & Maggie
    6:52 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rio, It will not be salty or soggy. Not sure what else her mom put in it as far as herbs, but it should be fine.

  71. Barb & Maggie
    6:53 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Macy, What is the nose art?

  72. c.hobbit
    6:57 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Doggie day care reports that Sadie is gobbling down her special food, is more active, loves the fresh snow and has two husky buddies. YAY!

    Staff: check your SDD.

  73. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:58 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Barb!…What her mother put innit is the worrisome part…sniff!…But lots of people have used Alton Brown’s recipe and loved it…grunt!….Paws crossed. The turkey is the main dish tomorrow…wheeze!…My friend is in charge of all the side dishes…snuffle!

  74. Charlie
    7:01 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Macy: Please check your SDD.

    CHH: Once again you honor the kennel. We are so glad you have claim to the Willow checkpoint.

  75. Siber-H
    7:02 pm on November 27th, 2013

    C.Hobbit, Great news about Sadie! I know you were worried. Mom was worried.

    Barb, Nose art is dog snot all over windows. I think that is what Macy’s Mom is saying.

  76. Charlie
    7:06 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Melanie: Please check your SDD.

  77. Barb & Maggie
    7:15 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Oh, thanks Siber, we didn’t get it! Now it makes sense. We have that art on our patio door all the time.

  78. Junior, the Sponosored
    7:30 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Senior: Please check your SDD.

  79. Tenzing
    7:31 pm on November 27th, 2013

    B&M: I tend to work in mixed mediums of nose, tongue and fur.

  80. dawson
    7:42 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Generous!
    I returned from my walk and found 3 more checkpoints fully sponsored! (Or soon will be) CHobbit gets Willow for eternity and SiberH has nabbed the checkbook again and managed to sponsor Koyuk for himself and Shatoolik for Chet the Jet! Plus there was a generous anonymous donation that will help with matching funds. The offer of matching funds for the next 3 checkpoints sponsored with either $25. or up to $50. still stands.

    As long as you let me know and send Rebecca the donation you do not have to send Rebecca a SDD. I will keep her posted.

    So we have 5 checkpoints fully funded and 1 (Unalakleet) needing only $150. to be fully funded.

    Incidentally, I got the video from Unalakleet from a friend of mine who teaches there.

  81. Melanie
    7:46 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Charlie, checked, and I need some time.

    TYB, the shrimp was excellent! We are hoping that YSAS and LLL are not hungry so we can finish their part for them.

    Good news on Sadie!

  82. Macy the min-pin
    7:47 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Yes, Mr. Husky, that is a less appealing explanation of nose art. gah

    This is a little hard to read, but Sammie might be interested in the extensions. I am thinking about getting snowflake tattoos. With bling

  83. dawson
    7:51 pm on November 27th, 2013
  84. Macy the min-pin
    7:54 pm on November 27th, 2013

    don’t let this happen to you

    1923 illustration by Norman Rockwall for Life Magazine

  85. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:55 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Five!….Zow! Wow!…That is incredible for one days fund raising – and the day isn’t even over yet!…snort!snort!…I hope the Auction goes this well…sniff!…I am concerned about Auction Central, but Rebecca assures me she has chosen just the right piece of junk for the job…gruffle!…I am not feeling very assured right now…wheeze!

  86. dawson
    8:00 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Here’s Koyuk: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NJ8o3S4r5zc

    MacyMinPin: I’ve never seen such a skinny glutton.

  87. Pancho & Lefty
    8:02 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rio: The new bid tracker is a fine piece of machinery. Sure, it has a little more rust in all the wrong places than the Bid-O-Matic 3000, but our Lady hasn’t had to hit it once, nor has she sworn like a pug all day. This is success in our book.

    Five checkpoints! Wow! We are speechless and that never happens.

  88. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:10 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Thieves!…Speaking of Rebecca, did she get the SDD telling her where to send all the other SDDs…sniff!….Now I’m worrit about my turkey and the Bid O’ Matic. Not sure which one I am worrit about the most at this point…grunt!

  89. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:11 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Videos!….I love!love!love! the checkpoint videos!….Wooooo!

  90. Herd of Hounds
    8:23 pm on November 27th, 2013

    What a day. 24 hours we called the campground to be told they closed 2 weeks early becayse there were so few reservations. Did they call any one? NO. So at 8:30 last night mom tried ti find a per friendly hotel in a blink. Suffice it to say they will not have T&G’s folks suite. A 40 year old hotel in rural western VA. A bit creepy and the meal mom was taking is in the freezer @ home ’cause no kitchenetts here. Oh, and only sketehy WiFi. Met Daddy Dawg’s old friend, a nice lady who works graveyard shift. She and her hubby are taking the folke to a coffee shop here that will be open tomorrow afternoon. More on that when possible.
    Hobbit: Goos Sadie news.
    OH: Go Fern
    PS . 6 hours of driving and snowed for 5 of it.
    B&M: Grinder. Look in upper left center of the foto. GRINDER

  91. Pancho & Lefty
    8:23 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rio: This new contraption isn’t called a Bid-o-Matic. It’s model number was scratched off along with its serial number.

    More to Rio: Our Lady did get your SDD telling her where to send all other SDDs.

  92. Herd of Hounds
    8:24 pm on November 27th, 2013

    upper RIGHT center. we are tired.

  93. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:27 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Thieves!….Do I dare ask what it is called?…sniffle!…Not The GRINDER I hope…sneeze!

  94. Siber-H
    8:32 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Hey Dawson! Thanks for the checkpoint videos!

  95. Macy's mom
    8:37 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Oh HOH, what a mess. On the bright side, there is a nice meal waiting for you at home. And you are all together.

    Does anyone remember the old cartoon “Lippy the Lion and Hardy Har Har? No? Me neither until I ran across a picture of it on the interwebs and immediately started singing the theme. 50 years later. Sheesh, no wonder I can’t remember shitake. My brain is full of old cartoons.

  96. Macy's mom
    8:40 pm on November 27th, 2013

    mmmmm, raccoon

  97. Pancho & Lefty
    8:52 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rio: Grinder? We hope not. We’re not sure of the make or model, but we’ve taken to calling it Ralph.

  98. Barb & Maggie
    8:56 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Macy, what are they going to do with that raccoon?

  99. Melanie
    9:00 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Waiting for the NYC folk to arrive. Should be almost any moment.

    HOH, dinner stays frozen? The gnawing will make it last longer. snicker.

    C.Hobbit, I never see beautiful machines like that around here. Perhaps I should get out more.

    Dawson? You are awesome.

    Looking for a documentary to watch. We were watching “Flight”, but right now I don’t need depressing drama.

  100. Herd of Hounds
    9:00 pm on November 27th, 2013

    One pooped Pookey, a travel princes, but a neurotic nellie with out Daddy Dawg.

    Snow fell in Chattanooga today but didn’t stick, thank dawg.

  101. dawson
    9:02 pm on November 27th, 2013

    SiberH: Don’t look at this one (water). This is Shatoolik in summer. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_LApmBwMHik

  102. dawson
    9:11 pm on November 27th, 2013

    This one is not a checkpoint video.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4IibdjXGHeo

  103. Herd of Hounds
    9:15 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Macy’s Mom: HOH mom did the same thing…sing. But if it’s only 50 years old, she was an annoying preteen. Why was she watching cartoons? She was reading Agatha Christie and Mary Stewart then.
    Also, really enjoyed the fun in the “Random Review We Really Like” but Chet and Bernie are more like…companions.

  104. Wose
    9:17 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Dawson, You are the Awesomest !

    Melanie, Did you remember what you wanted to ask me last night?

    Awww, Pookey,

    Liking the good news about Sadie.

    RIO! I’m keeping my fingers crossed for your turkey!

  105. Herd of Hounds
    9:21 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Dawson, check your SDD

  106. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:22 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rose!….Are you cooking a turkey tomorrow?…sniff!sniff!…If this one here doesn’t turn out right, can I come eat at your place?…wheeze!

  107. Wose
    9:28 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Cook! Rio, surely you jest. These little hands have never reached inside the cavity of any turkey. Grizz and I get our meal catered by a former chef for several years now. Grizz is pissed though, because he forgot our sausage stuffing. You can come by any time for turkey, asparagus with Hollandaise sauce, dinner rolls, cheesecake with chocolate ganache, berries in creme anglaise, and sangria. Bring your own beer.

  108. Wose
    9:31 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rebecca: I found out today that the Cheesecake Factory will ship cheesecake. Grizz and I recommend the original cheesecake . Yummy and very smooth.
    Do you have enough stock?

  109. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:31 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Catered!?….sniff!….To your home?….sniff!….Brought in by a chef?….sniff!sniff!….Holy Thanksgiving! My little knapsack is already packed with all my own beer…wheeze!

  110. Wose
    9:32 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Brought in by the Grizz, cooked by the chef. He is a good friend of ours.

  111. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:36 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Friends!…Who are chefs. I wish I had some who lived close by…sniffle!….Barb and Golinka do not count, they are too far away from my backyard and my supper bowl…grunt!

  112. Siber-H
    9:40 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Dawson, I have never seen video or pictures of Shaktoolik in the summer. When I think of all those Native villages, it is always wintertime.

  113. Melanie
    9:46 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Pancho&Lefty,please ask Charlie, to ask Samantha, to ask Luna to tell her two legged to check her SSD.

  114. Herd of Hounds
    9:46 pm on November 27th, 2013

    OK, T-Day dinner menu that would have been on the DogHouse except for a snowstorm……Broasted turkey tenderloins rubbed with sage and garlic. Candied yams (no angel poop). Turkey stuffing. Garlic smashed taters with t-bird gravy. Succotash and Pumpkin pie with whipped cream. Not bad for a 27 ft. trailer BUT we will have it for another day and have a coffee shop menu tomorrow, just glad to get safely through the white shiitake.

  115. Wose
    9:47 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rio! Our friend the chef is an owner of an excellent Italian deli not too far from where we live. They cater Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter. (They make a slamming meat pie). They will also do antipasta trays in a jiff.

  116. Melanie
    9:50 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rose, nope. The thought has still not arrived in the vicinity of my brain.

    Macy, such a dainty girl. The nose art here is not dainty.

    Barb&MagPie, how many Thanksgiving dinners are you eating this year?

    The eaglets have landed!

  117. Wose
    9:54 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Melanie, No worries. With all the lightning bolts I have had, it is hard to keep things in the canyon called my brain. Maybe you’ll remember in a few years. :)

  118. Wose
    9:56 pm on November 27th, 2013

    RIO! I have seen two different pictures of you up top in the last minute. heh

  119. Pancho & Lefty
    9:56 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Melanie: Done. Thank you.

  120. Wose
    9:57 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Masquers: The Prof has been taking some jazz guitar lessons. He’s wondering when you are available to jam.

  121. Barb & Maggie
    9:58 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Thank you Rio for saying you consider Barb and Golinka friends.

    We just finished up our cranberry/apple salad. Lily called tonight to tell us she is making a pie for tomorrow. At 11, she is a budding chef. Impressive!

    Saying good night and an early Happy Thanks Giving Day.

  122. Barb & Maggie
    10:00 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Melanie, we just saw your post. Only one T.G. dinner and that is at Kelly’s. Possible left overs at the neighbors on Friday.

  123. Wose
    10:00 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Clocking out here, too.

    RIO! The prof will be up to let you in.

    Good day, Liz. Happy thanksgiving to you.

    Sweet dreams to all.

  124. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:00 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Fotos!…Typical! All my fotos show up right before the end of the month and then I lose out on the FOM to some strange looking stranger…grump!

  125. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:02 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Lily!…She is the next Martha Stewart, I swear!…snort!

  126. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:06 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Brine!….Me and my friend just watched the old Alton Brown video of him making the brine…sniff!…His words were very comforting because he said even if most of the ingredients were left out the salt water alone would be a great improvement to the turkey…snort!…AND he said to put the breast down first which was a debate here earlier…heh!…Their turkey is breast down in the brine, thank dawg! They do have to turn the turkey over once during the night…yawn!…I wander who will get that job…sniff!

  127. Herd of Hounds
    10:10 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Really, really long day here. Mom doesn’t do white shiitake (tnx Macy’s Mon) well.
    19*f here in ????VA with a bit more snow coming. Everyone, have a thankful, fulfilling, wondrous Turkey Day. Rio: Good luck with a briny bird :) Nighty Night.

  128. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:14 pm on November 27th, 2013

    HoHo!….Think of this experience as Alaska 101…heh!heh!…Snow that does not stick is not really an issue where I live…snort!

  129. Tupper and Gilly
    10:15 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Everyone keeps talking about T G dinners, but no one will tell us WHERE these dam dinners ARE! We’re STARVING here. We have been abandoned AGAIN with no one to feed us (except Gramp) and no where to sleep (except in Gramp’s easy chair)
    So – who is coming to pick us up for the T G dinner?

  130. dawson
    10:18 pm on November 27th, 2013

    HOH: The weather you’re having is supposed to be up here, not down there. You maybe should have worn all your Alaska clothing. Stay warm!

    Melanie: I’m glad those eaglets made it home.

    Wose: I’m with Griz. I live for sausage stuffing!

  131. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:20 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Clarkson!….Is he safe and sound and happy and content and working?…snort!snort!…I love Clarkson. He is my favorite unknown actor…sniff!

  132. Herd of Hounds
    10:21 pm on November 27th, 2013

    T&G, You poor babies :( The POP and 2/3 of the HOH feel the same way. And what about the WRotten Kats?
    Rio: Any of that white shiitake in the south means: RUN to market to buy bread and milk and GO home. Hunker down till it is gone. Resume life :)
    Now zzzzzzzzzz.

  133. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:31 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Deviled!…Eggs! Now, does anyone have any real good deviled egg recipes?…sniff!…She decided she needs to make deviled eggs as appetizers because her Giant of a Nephew just loves them…grunt!…It is pretty basic stuff, but if you have a special twist on the whole thing that would be welcome to hear…heh!heh!

  134. Pancho & Lefty
    10:34 pm on November 27th, 2013

    HOH: When you wake up, please check your SDD.

    Rio: My Lady downloaded the first few episodes of Elementary on her Ipaw so she would have something to watch while she is up in the air. She was so proud when she saw a certain dead body, she turn to the man sitting next to her and said, “I know that guy. He’s the best dead body you’ll ever see.” She realizes she’s never met YSAS, but she feels like she has so she says it counts.

  135. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:37 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rebecca!….I believe in my pug heart that Clarkson will work hard for years and years and then suddenly become famous over-night…heh!heh!

  136. dawson
    10:39 pm on November 27th, 2013

    HOH: Where’s your Alaska clothing? It’s needed!

    Another checkpoint has been started! Sharon and her Herd of Hounds were so impressed by the middle school video from Shatoolik that they decided to pledge $50. towards a checkpoint. Which one we don’t know yet but her $50. donation will be matched leaving only $150. yet to be pledged to make the HOH checkpoint fully funded!

    Go Snowhook!

    Final Tally today: 5 checkpoints are fully funded; 2 checkpoints started and open for donations. Fantastic day Plunderers. I am thankful for each and every one of you (including lurkers). Enjoy your time with family and friends tomorrow.

  137. Masquers
    10:42 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Rose: Tell the Prof I can be there Friday night with sax in paw.
    This is going to be fun!
    Sadie Bear on the mend. This is most excellent news. Wie were all very worrit.
    Tyb & Jay: Thanks for the card!
    Time for nite-nite. See y’all in the am.

  138. Herd of Hounds
    10:52 pm on November 27th, 2013

    How does one turn of the DING of incoming mail?
    OK, We’re awake, HOH and POP (or is that poop?) are sponsoring Galena…help to get it fully funded. Mom needs sleep…….

  139. c.hobbit
    10:55 pm on November 27th, 2013

    My sister and I are going out for Thanksgiving dinner and will tip the wait staff heavily. Your dinners all sound so good. I’d love to brine a turkey sometime. I mentioned to my sister that I had bought a nice ham and put it in the freezer for our Christmas dinner. She laughed and said that she had too! Two hams. I wonder how’ve long one can stay in the freezer? Maybe I will end up gifting someone a ham

  140. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:04 pm on November 27th, 2013

    CHobbit!…I could eat some ham…sniff!…How can you have too much ham?…heh!

  141. Melanie
    11:24 pm on November 27th, 2013

    And then we can all say we knew him when.

    We haven’t heard what Teddy Ruff Rider is having for Thanksgiving!

    My eyes have quilt.

    TTFN

  142. Herd of Hounds
    11:26 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Gaaaaaaaah! The bathtub DRIPS here. How is the mommy dawg supposed to sleep?

  143. Staff
    11:47 pm on November 27th, 2013

    HOH, put a wash cloth under the drip. Or a big towel. If it drips on it it will be silent.

    Rio when we did our Alton Brown brine we were worrit too but it was wonderful and moist and NOT salty.

    Dawson we are impressed! It may be time to start the Shake your Booty fund. Negotiations are underway for the amount of booties this year. Did we really get up to 2000 last year??? OhMyDog!

    Check out the interest in CHobbit’s sewing machine…

    https://www.facebook.com/groups/VintageSewingMachines/477825479001274/?notif_t=like

  144. Staff
    11:48 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Snicker, Melanie. My eyes often have quilt too. It is an affliction.

  145. Staff
    11:49 pm on November 27th, 2013

    C Hobbit I think you might be having visitors soon…heh heh heh. The power of the machine!

  146. dawson
    11:54 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Galena: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HNifn4yuJxk
    Galena had a devastating flood this last spring. Much of the town was underwater.

  147. Staff
    11:56 pm on November 27th, 2013

    Well I am off to bed although it is really exciting watching the SMAD* people swarming around that machine..

    *Sewing Machine Acquisition Disorder…snicker

    nighty noodle

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia