Random Amazon Review We Like

Another Fine Mess!
By Bill Ellingsen (Duluth, MN)

The Sound and the Furry: A Chet and Bernie Mystery (Kindle Edition)
“Bernie, Bernie, Bernie,” I’m sure Chet must have said to himself. “That fifty grand could have gotten us out of hock, kept the Porsche tip-top, and had us eating like kings.” Read the book, and I bet you’ll be thinking the same thing.

Welcome friendly dudette.

Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Tuesday, October 22nd, 2013 at 8:00 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

88 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Herd of Hounds
    8:42 am on October 22nd, 2013

    Good morning, everyone! Not quite sure Chet could take the idea that far, but a good idea.
    Let’s have a trouble-free Tueaday!

  2. Wose
    8:50 am on October 22nd, 2013

    Greetings!

    HOH: Trouble-free sounds good!

    I really enjoyed the link Staff sent with the AJ and his team pictures.

    Nana, I hope you are feeling better each and every day.

  3. Wose
    8:52 am on October 22nd, 2013

    HRH, B: A very colorful GOOGLE doodle. Yesterday’s was Celia Cruz, a very popular Latin singer back in the day.

  4. O'Howlers
    9:00 am on October 22nd, 2013

    Good morning! We like Lily’s horse show picture. She looks great.
    We were thinking the same thing Chet was. Hey! Does that make us related?

  5. B. Stover
    9:05 am on October 22nd, 2013

    I like that review.

    Good morning all.

  6. Barb & Maggie
    9:09 am on October 22nd, 2013

    Good morning all. Barb sort of cringed when Bernie passed up the 50K, but we knew he would!

    Lily loves riding and hanging out at the stable. It is a very well run and safe place for the girls that ride there. Never too many boys, unless they can get into speed classes. The gal who runs it used to compete against Kelly 30 years ago in little local shows. She went on to make a lifetime career out of riding.

  7. Herd of Hounds
    9:21 am on October 22nd, 2013

    B&M: It is always wonderful when an interest, love or passion can become a vocation (especially a $$ making one).

  8. B. Stover
    9:31 am on October 22nd, 2013

    I think that today’s Google Doodle is one of the best. Thank you Rose.

    It is celebrating the 216th anniversary of the first parachute jump in 1797, by Andre-Jacques Garnerin. He jumped 3,000 feet.

  9. B. Stover
    9:33 am on October 22nd, 2013

    Rio: I have the DVD of the latest (7th) Foyle’s War series. I got it at Amazon. It has three episodes and two hours of bonus features. Michael Kitchen and Honeysuckle Weeks star.

  10. B. Stover
    9:54 am on October 22nd, 2013

    Staff: Here’s a link that discusses the spelling of “Wednesday” and its origin. Basically, it’s easier to pronounce without the first “d.” (I worked with an attorney years ago who pronounced the “d” and it drove me crazy.)

    http://www.randomhouse.com/wotd/index.pperl?date=20010518

  11. Wose
    9:58 am on October 22nd, 2013

    HRH, B: Thank you for the interesting information you passed on. I love these kind of things.

  12. Herd of Hounds
    10:06 am on October 22nd, 2013

    HRH B: Whoo hoo, more trivia for mom. She loves these things. Is it because she has a trivial mind? Oh, and she was banned from the neighborhood Trivial Pursuit parties in the “80’s for….knowing too many weird answers :(

  13. Herd of Hounds
    10:38 am on October 22nd, 2013

    Darah Thea (with Lucy Lou and Emma P) “pondering” what to get into next.

  14. B. Stover
    10:43 am on October 22nd, 2013

    HOH: I love the game Trivial Pursuit. I prefer to think of it as “trivium” or the three foundation subjects (grammar, logic, rhetoric) of a liberal arts education. (There is nothing insignificant about it!)

  15. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:03 am on October 22nd, 2013

    Trivia!….My friend says her new hot-shot-boss is a trivial pursuit kind of guy…snort!…Right now he is on vacation and she is on her own…sniff!…So far she has not blown up the building – but it is only Tuesday…heh!heh!

  16. Tupper and Gilly
    11:47 am on October 22nd, 2013

    Rio – please tell your friend that setting off the alarm on Friday is one (forgivable) thing. Blowing up the building….not so much.

    Greetings one and all. Mama says her brain is too filled with too much trivia from reading books. James Mitchner was famous for putting little factoids in his novels, and now many of them are forever a part of Mama’s knowledge….not sure if that is a good thing or not. But she does know that all baby armadillos raised in one clutch will all be the same s e x. (from the novel “Texas”).

  17. Wose
    11:52 am on October 22nd, 2013

    I love all kinds of trivia.

    Trivia: Where is the Soapbox Derby held?

  18. Herd of Hounds
    11:53 am on October 22nd, 2013

    T&&G’s Mama: Did you learn what determines the s e x? Is it temperature like turtles or something more mammalian having to do with the daddy?

  19. Wose
    11:53 am on October 22nd, 2013

    RIO! Have a little confidence in your friend. I’m sure she’ll be just fine.

  20. Herd of Hounds
    11:53 am on October 22nd, 2013

    Canton, OH

  21. Wose
    12:07 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    HOH, Try again.

  22. Siber-H
    12:15 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    I like the review from Amazon.

    Hope Nana is continuing to get better.

    Greetings to all. It is still morning here.

  23. Tupper and Gilly
    12:17 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Isn’t it Akron, Ohio?

    And HOH, yes, it is temperature.

    Oh, and by the way, Liz in Oz is at a safe distance, about 200 miles, from the fires. Although we are still praying for those in the path of danger.

  24. Herd of Hounds
    12:18 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Rose, oops, Akron. Close but no cigar :(

  25. Macy's mom
    12:39 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Can you imagine a Trivial Pursuit game amongst all of us “trivia heads”? I always say that my mind is a vast warehouse of useless knowledge.

  26. Wose
    1:39 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    T&G, You smart corgis!
    HOH: Canton sounds almost like Akron.
    Macy’s Mom: I would say the same about my mind. Important stuff-empty, trivia-bursting to the brim.
    I think your idea of a blog Trivial Pursuit game sounds like fun!

  27. Herd of Hounds
    1:42 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Rose: What did Floyd Rudd drive across the country in 1906?

    Mmm, a blog trivia? wow.

  28. Barb & Maggie
    1:52 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Barb used to love Trivial Pursuit, back in the day.

    Here is an interesting bit of trivia for you. It came up in the Donna Andrews book Barb is reading, and the people she visited last weekend mentioned it too. The turkeys that are raised for the holiday market can no longer breed naturally, due to their out of proportion breast. They are all A.I. So all the turkeys raised commercially are turkey baster turkeys, so to speak. Unless you are buying one of the heritage breeds, which are only available on the specialty market.

  29. Herd of Hounds
    2:10 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Like Melanie has pointed out before: As God is my witness, I thought turkeys could…
    _Gordon Jump, WKRP in Cincinnati.

  30. dawson
    3:02 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    I am terrible at trivial pursuit even though many of the answers are in my head. My brain refuses to release them until someone has answered the question.

    HOH: It would be great if you could “cannonball” into the pool and splash Daddy Dawg.

    Rio: Like SiberH, I have confidence that your friend will not have time to blow the whole place down.

    Healthy thoughts and prayers for all the sickos.

    Everyone you see in this town is saying, “Can you believe how nice it is!?” The weather is fine and I am determined to get the rest of the windows washed today.

  31. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:09 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Sickos!…snort!… Has anyone been in contact with Scott lately? Any updates on Nana? Everytime I think of Nana I hear that birthday card song in my head…Nana!

  32. Melanie
    3:15 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    I’m with Dawson. My memory is great. My retrieval of said memories works randomly.

    Under the quilt today. Going back under. Sleep sounds good.

    Hi Nana!

  33. Herd of Hounds
    3:21 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Dawson: Not the correct type of ball. Sorry. The built in clue (or logic as HRH B would say is “drive”.

  34. Wose
    3:44 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    HOH: I could Google it, but that would be cheating. That bit of trivia is not in my head.

  35. Wose
    3:45 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Yes, how is Nana?

  36. O'Howlers
    3:49 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    From Scott:
    She was writing yesterday. Not very well but I made out one word. Today will be a lot better. There is huge improvements every day.

  37. Herd of Hounds
    4:04 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Nana news. That is better than great!! We all know it will take time but it really looks like she is a fighter!

  38. Tupper's Mama
    4:12 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    “What did Floyd Rudd drive across country?” We have no idea, but we are going to say “his wife nuts, because he would not stop and ask for directions”.

    tee hee

  39. Siber-H
    4:30 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Fellow Sibers, Thanks for the news about Nana. Huge improvements every day is very good news!

  40. Herd of Hounds
    4:38 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    O.K. Golf ball (drive ? Get it) We quit. We are being silly. But still, the Nana News is Grrrrrreat!

  41. Barb & Maggie
    5:17 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    HOH has us baffled. We are going to take a wild guess and say that the answer is something he took with him across the U.S., and so therefore the answer is not some type of vehicle.

    So happy to hear about Nana’s improvement.

    Amalia, your sense of humor is at very good today. Drove his wife nuts! hee hee

  42. Barb & Maggie
    5:18 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Oh, is that the answer just above us? Was the answer a golf ball? Duh!

  43. Belle Starr
    5:41 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Nana is improving! Twirl! SPLORT!

    Stinky Mama: Please check your SDD.

  44. c.hobbit
    5:45 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Life in the big city: my first parking ticket. I have been using street meters and a parking garage (one time). Today I parked on an odd side street with 3 open spaces and no meters. There was a sign saying “2 hour parking.” I thought it was strange that these 3 spaces were free. I did see an oversize parking meter at the end of the street but thought it was connected to the lot next to it. Wrong! Anchorage has started removing individual meters and using “Pay & Display” meters. Live and learn

    Great news about Nana! Keep it coming
    Back in the day no one would play Trivial Pursuit with me due to my photographic memory (not a problem now-ha, ha).

  45. Herd of Hounds
    5:52 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    OK, again….drive. He DROVE a golf ball (and probably drove his wife nuts at the same time, Golinka).

  46. dawson
    6:08 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    HOH: You are a bunch of goof balls and nut balls.

    CHobbit: When all the Plunderers go to Alaska, you should have a trivial pursuit game. Do you have one? Too bad about the parking ticket.
    I have decided that one day, to make up for the string of bad luck you are having, you will win the lottery! It seems only fair.

  47. Herd of Hounds
    6:24 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    CHobbit: Downtown here put those “infernal” meters in about 2 years ago but also put in diagonal parking…Back-in diagonal parking. Dog save us from engineers and city managers!

  48. Herd of Hounds
    6:36 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Dawson: The Old Fart has been driving me crazy for so long, it is no longer a long drive, but rather a short putt.

  49. Macy's mom
    6:37 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Good grief, I can’t even quote myself correctly, …mind is a vast WASTELAND of useless knowledge. gah

  50. Herd of Hounds
    7:07 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Macy’s Mom: We all have moments (read: eons) like that.

  51. dawson
    7:51 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Macy’s Mom: I hope Rio is otherwise engaged because I have to ask for the link to Rick’s store again. I will write it down this time.

    Barb&Scott: More good news today. Give me that victory sign, Barb! I do hope they are able to remove the ventilation tube soon. The less tubes the better.

  52. O'Howlers
    7:51 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Say what you will about slow cookers/crock pots, but how else could our mom and pop cook a tantalizingly smelling roast all day long, and have it ready for them after their 12-hour work days, and stall mucking, and us-feeding, and dead bunny burying, and horse feeding and chick lockup? Deliciously superb.

    On the 9th day…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?feature=player_embedded&v=lJ7AfSO2fKs

  53. T.C.
    7:55 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    In case you wondered what Rio does all day while his friend is at the still-busy place…Pug Porn!

  54. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:00 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Writing!….Nana is writing!…Wooooo!…I bet that one word was “Rio”…heh!heh!…Any takers??…sniff!

  55. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:01 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    TC!…That is very distasteful, even for a Kat…grunt!

  56. Barb & Maggie
    8:01 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Oley’s not sure we knew the victim was a bunny before. Same thing probably would have happened here. Remember when Barb chased me and I swallowed the baby bunny before she could catch me? She was soooo mad at me! I have no idea why! tee hee

  57. Barb & Maggie
    8:03 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    X Rated Pugs. Now we have seen it all!

  58. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:04 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Store!….snort!….Actually, I would like the link to Rick’s Store also…sniff!…I was busy at the time it was posted out here on Chet’s Blog…grunt!….I must have been because I do not remember saving the link in my Pug-Favorites folder…snort!

  59. c.hobbit
    8:14 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Rick’s Knife Store: http://www.ricksknifeshop.com
    (thanks to Melanie)

  60. Tupper and Gilly
    8:16 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Rio – for shameth on youth!

    SnowBella – checked, sniffled and responded.

    Waiting, waiting, waiting for good news about Nana.

  61. Herd of Hounds
    8:21 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    OH: We are pretty sure mom had seen it before but we made her watch it anyway. We love it when her eves get wet. Hey, do ya’ll think if a bunch of you get wet eyes in Alaska, ya’ll will stick together like ice cubes?

  62. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:24 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Tupper!…I’m not the one who spied on me posted that filthy foto on the blog….grunt!….Don’t spittle your distaste towards my face…sniff!

  63. Herd of Hounds
    8:51 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Here’s a bit of trivia guaranteed to make Rio say, “Huh?” The poisonous copperhead snake smells like a freshly cut cucumber.

  64. Riö – The Evil Pug
    8:53 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Cucumber!…Who in the hell sniffs Copperhead snakes…grunt!

  65. Herd of Hounds
    9:01 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Ya’ll don’t live in the south, bless yer heart!

  66. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:04 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Sharon!…heh!snort!heh!

  67. Barb & Maggie
    9:05 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    OK, on that note we are saying good night. Barb is off early tomorrow to visit Lena and pick up some stewing chickens (frozen variety). Then having lunch at the Yellow Creek Restaurant. Out there, known as Yeller Crick.
    Sweet dreams all.

  68. Herd of Hounds
    9:05 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    And on that happy note, the HOH will say nighty night. :)

  69. Herd of Hounds
    9:06 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    B&M: We guess it is JINKS we owe you a coke. will pay up in AK in Feb/Mar.

  70. Riö – The Evil Pug
    9:13 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Losers!….We are watching the Biggest Loser….grunt!…My friend thinks this will motivate me and Beau to walk farther. I don’t think so. Although, Beau’s back leg seem to finally be totally healed up….wheeze!….He has a spring in his step and when he does not want to move he can plant himself solidly….sniff!….Tonight on our walk we passed a neighbor’s house where a tall creepy dark ghostly thing is planted out in the front yard….gasp!….Took us all by surprise. Beau stopped short and just stared at the evil thing for about 5 minutes. My friend could not budge him. …snort!….Another neighbor drove up in their car, rolled down the window and said, “We don’t like it either.”….heh!heh!

  71. Tupper and Gilly
    9:47 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Thank goodness we have Beau to watch over us and keep those creepy, dark, ghostly things in check.

  72. dawson
    10:30 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Thanks for the link, CHobbit! (& Melanie)

    Rio: The World Series starts tomorrow at 7:30 ish (1st pitch at 8:05 ish).

  73. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:33 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Zones!….Here we go again…sniff!….What time Zone would that be Dawson?…grunt!

  74. Pancho & Lefty
    10:58 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    What is this? Our very own Hobbit on the wrong side of the law. Does it get any better than this?–You tell me. If she keeps it up, we’ll make her an honorary member of the Outlaw litter. We have a few songs given to us by our Lady. In honor of CHobbit:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfiZb4Wo_tE

    Our apologies to B.

  75. Pancho & Lefty
    11:01 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Rio: Check your SDD.

  76. Siber-H
    11:06 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Rio, After mom fetches me the newspaper in the morning, I will let you know what time the World Series starts in mountain time.
    Dawson’s time is not our time.

    Night All

  77. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:24 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Dawson-Time!….Is definitely not our time…heh!heh!…I’m so excited for the World Series and the SWEEP of the Red Birds…heh!heh!…I have to go dig out my little baseball broom from under my warm soft mattress….snorkel!

  78. c.hobbit
    11:27 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Pancho & Lefty: I have filed an appeal with the parking authority based on my being a new resident. I could have thrown in being a blonde and old but I didn’t. I will hold those reasons in reserve. Heh, heh

  79. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:31 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Bed!…Speaking of warm soft beds, someone is very near to making a decision about going upstairs or not…sniff!…Any minute now and I could be Gone!Gone!Gone! and in my bed. My warm soft bed. My baseball toys. My hidden cookies, and some of Beau’s milky bones…chuffle!…Beau is already upstairs in his cold hard bed with all four of his little paws straight up in the air…grunt!…How can he sleep that way?

  80. Pancho & Lefty
    11:35 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    CHobbit: You make us proud, so very proud.

    Rio: Do you remember when you, Wolfie and Wookie went to the World Series. I wonder if Wolfie’s maw ever forgave him for buying the stadium a round of beer?

    Wolfie: Are you still licking dishes to pay your debt?

  81. Belle Starr
    11:49 pm on October 22nd, 2013

    Wose: You asked when you can expect me to come live with you, you, you. Well, I don’t want to shirk my Nana Smooching duties so it will have to wait until she is feeling tip-top. I have my mind made up that she will be better by lunch time tomorrow because I don’t like the thought of her being sikc, so I will see you in the afternoon. My Leggeds say it doesn’t quite work that way, but I say anything is possible. I wonder if she will heal by the laying on of Beau’s paws? Heal, Nana!

    My Two-Legged is tire at the top of the world. Nighty noodles.

  82. dawson
    12:12 am on October 23rd, 2013

    Rio: Eastern time.

  83. Wose
    6:46 am on October 23rd, 2013

    RIO! The World Series starts at 7:30, New York time. On the Fox channel.

    Belle Starr, please take good care of Nana first. I have to make your room sparklier.

    Liz, Stay safe!

  84. LizF
    8:14 am on October 23rd, 2013

    Thanks Wose!! And g’day everyone. Talk to you soon.

  85. O'Howlers
    8:42 am on October 23rd, 2013

    Hi Liz!!!

  86. national debt relief review
    12:31 pm on December 26th, 2013

    One method to resolve your current financial difficulties is to locate the recommended provider that will help you. You will want service using debt counselors who will take note of your problems as opposed to just try to hawk an individual anything you do not need.

  87. only amatuer porn tubes
    10:30 pm on February 18th, 2014

    It’s rather a great and very helpful bit of data. We are pleased which you shared this handy data around. Make sure you stop us up to date similar to this. We appreciate you sharing.

  88. Diablo III: Storm of Light PDF
    9:49 am on September 14th, 2014

    Heya i’m just with the most important moment in this article. I discovered this specific mother board i to find It truly valuable & the item solved the problem out a whole lot. I’m hoping to offer a thing again plus aid other individuals such as you taught me to be.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia