Random Amazon Review We Like

5.0 out of 5 stars – It was fun and mysterious. March 26, 2017.

Laura Peterson on WOOF:
I liked the adventurous story and the characters were unique and brave. The dog tells the story, and he is a funny storyteller.

Unknown-2

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Monday, March 27th, 2017 at 8:02 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

31 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Herd of Hounds
    8:14 am on March 27th, 2017

    Good morning everyone! Funny storyteller, that’s our Chet. Have a magnificent Monday.

  2. B.Stover
    8:36 am on March 27th, 2017

    Good review and good morning all.

  3. B.Stover
    9:04 am on March 27th, 2017

    I checked and the Latin name for the Texas bluebonnet is Lupinus texensis. There is an interesting article in the science section of the NYTimes from March 17 about them. The season is early this year. Apparently only ten percent of plants are blue because: “Plants don’t have any true blue pigments as they do for red. Instead, plants alter their pigments (anthocyanins, which are involved in turning fall foliage red) in various ways to make them appear blue.” Interesting.

    And here’s a link to an interesting article about the chemistry of color (I didn’t know leaves looked green but aren’t!!!):

    http://scifun.chem.wisc.edu/CHEMWEEK/fallcolr/fallcolr.html

  4. Herd of Hounds
    9:25 am on March 27th, 2017

    B. Something about blue. Birds’ feathers that appear blue aren’t. It is the way they reflect light much like water or the sky. So therefore (couldn’t help it) a jay or a blue bird in the shade or on a cloudy day will appear grey. Iridescence is the scientific term.
    Your link was excellent.

  5. B.Stover
    9:40 am on March 27th, 2017

    HOH: Very interesting! It makes one wonder, what is reality? But now I’m getting too philosophical.

  6. B.Stover
    9:47 am on March 27th, 2017

    Here’s a link to the Wikipedia article on “iridescence.” (I especially like the etymology of the word: based on the Greek for “rainbow” and the Latin for “having a tendency toward.”):

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iridescence

  7. BMALS
    9:58 am on March 27th, 2017

    Good morning all.

  8. Wose-the small and meek
    10:07 am on March 27th, 2017

    Greetings!

    The rain has stopped in this neck of the woods, but the sky is still overcast.

    Cool information…there is always something to learn on this blog!

    Enjoy the day!

  9. BooBear
    11:35 am on March 27th, 2017

    Teddy, you should see lots of Bluebonnets in the hill country. We have had a wetter “winter” so they are blooming. Mom has seen quite a few fields of them on her trips to and from Dallas. I think, in Texas, it is against the law to mow a field that has bluebonnets in bloom. They don’t mow along the freeways during the bloom season.

    Let Mom know if you decide to head Houston way. Perhaps y’all could meet for lunch!!

  10. BearSpiritDog
    12:35 pm on March 27th, 2017

    Fun & Mysterious…Unique & Brave…such lovely Descriptive Words for WOOF.

    B: There is no such thing as Being too Philosophical. You can go down that path any day and we would be delighted.

    Hounds: I was going to comment on something you said (yesterday?) but, just Like Chet, the Thought has Disappeared from my mind…Poof…and it was Gone.

  11. Masquers
    2:05 pm on March 27th, 2017

    Macy, or anyone: A question….are bluebonnets and bluebells the same?

  12. B.Stover
    2:16 pm on March 27th, 2017

    Bear: The concept of the “chemistry of color” is new to me and totally fascinating. For some reason the thing that comes to mind is the 17th Century French philosopher, Rene Descartes, best known for “Cogito, ergo sum” (I think, therefore I am). He was trying to refute philosophical skepticism which maintains that we cannot know anything for certain. As with all philosophy, there have been many arguments both agreeing and disagreeing with Descartes and it has been years since I studied philosophy. Pondering… (and this is fun!).

  13. Wose-the small and meek
    2:18 pm on March 27th, 2017
  14. Herd of Hounds
    2:59 pm on March 27th, 2017

    B.we are enjoying the philosophical discussion and now we must ponder too.
    And leave it to Wose, our NY gal to come up with the quintessential answer to bluebells vs. bluebonnnets.
    CA wild flowers have been going crazy this year. If mom can find the foto sent by the oldest s son, she’ll post it.

  15. B.Stover
    3:09 pm on March 27th, 2017

    Rose: Thank you for that excellent article. Since bluebells and bluebonnets have different Latin names, they are not the same flower…right? I love the story about the fairies.

  16. Herd of Hounds
    3:44 pm on March 27th, 2017

    Ceanothus’ common name is California lilac. Most years is very sparse and to people who have some color deficiency is it looks grey on the hills. In years with ample rainfall it takes on the look more like this:

  17. Herd of Hounds
    3:47 pm on March 27th, 2017

    People go a little over the top and a fantastic wildflower year in California. In this picture you can see all the yellow from the flowers but look at all the bodies around looking at them.

  18. Macy the min pin
    3:53 pm on March 27th, 2017

    Rose, we loved the link. Did everyone pick up on the fact that Bluebonnets are only found in Texas? We are very fond of them here. Another favorite is the Indian Paintbrush which looks lovely mixed with the Bluebonnets.

  19. Macy the min pin
    3:55 pm on March 27th, 2017

    HOH, very pretty.

  20. BearSpiritDog
    4:11 pm on March 27th, 2017

    B: Cogito, ergo sum…even this Canine can Understand that little bit of Latin. Someone Here loved studying Descartes and the other Philosophers that came after him.

    Hounds: That is Quite Amazing. One would think those people had Never Seen Wildflowers before.

    Wose: Good Link! We too loved the Faerie Reference.

  21. BearSpiritDog
    4:13 pm on March 27th, 2017

    Macy! Yes! The Indian Paintbrush!!

  22. Herd of Hounds
    4:15 pm on March 27th, 2017

    Macy, loved your Indian Paint Brushes and Bluebonnets. And the reasons the Bluebonnets made the bucket list??? 1)Sheer beauty and 2) Only in the Lone Star state. Mom’s been to TX but only in the summer and fall months.
    Thank you Macy!

  23. Howlers
    5:53 pm on March 27th, 2017

    Mom has joined the Howler Pack. Thanks, Hobbit and HOH. {sigh}

  24. Wose-the small and meek
    5:54 pm on March 27th, 2017

    Macy: You all have such pretty flowers in Texas!

  25. Wose-the small and meek
    5:58 pm on March 27th, 2017

    Howlers’ Mom: :^)

  26. BMALS
    7:20 pm on March 27th, 2017

    I have read that the desert in the s w is much prettier this year due to more flowers blooming. It is because of the heavier rainfall.

    I have planted about 325 onions, some potatoes, lettuce, carrots and spinach.

    Today my tile guys were here. They finished all the new tile and tomorrow will be back to do the grouting. Both rooms look great!

  27. Wose-the small and meek
    7:49 pm on March 27th, 2017

    BMALS: Wow! You’ve been busy! Will there be pictures of the remodeling?

  28. Herd of Hounds
    9:38 pm on March 27th, 2017

    You lucky Howlers.
    BMALS, remodeled rooms AND garden!

  29. dawson
    10:37 pm on March 27th, 2017

    BMALS: 325 onions! We still have 2 to 4 feet of snow on the ground, depending on the drifts, but this week it is due to start melting. I’ve planted a few varieties of flower seeds inside.

    Love those fields of bluebonnets. It is hard to believe they only grow in Texas. Someone must’ve snuck some bulbs out sometime! Better check my bags if I ever go to Texas, heh!

    Howler’s Mom: Husky in your blood! Those ears look completely natural on you.

    BStover: The chemistry of color is fascinating.

    HOH and MacyMinPin: Love the photos. We have Indian paintbrush here and we had it in Montana too.

  30. Macy the min pin
    10:41 pm on March 27th, 2017

    Howlers mom, you fit right in!
    HOH peeps we will leave the light on for you!
    BMALS, you are way more industrious than mom. What are you going to do with all those onions, lol.
    Rose, Texas says thanks.

  31. Macy the min pin
    10:46 pm on March 27th, 2017

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia