Random Amazon Review We Like

May be the BEST book in the Series, yet!

I read the book twice already. Might read it again tonight! Chet’s doggy commentary on everything and anything was amusing from the very first page. I laughed out loud during the scene with Pyro… even though I’m still puzzled as to why or how such a dire chapter could become so incredibly funny. As my title says, this may be my favorite book in the Chet series so far.

AnniMeade on The Sound and the Furry.

Share

Tags: , , ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, October 16th, 2013 at 8:39 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

87 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. O'Howlers
    8:41 am on October 16th, 2013

    Good Morning!!!
    We love that review, because we agree! Best C&B book yet! And that’s saying something.

    We hope Melanie slept well and is feeling relaxed as she awaits the dog/cat/pet scan.

    We hope Aunt MPM got good results from her tests (they were yesterday, right?)

    We hope Bella’s news to Rio was not terrible, as it sounded. We hope she is on the mend.

    All is well here in Howler Land!

  2. Rose
    8:53 am on October 16th, 2013

    Greetings!

    Morning Howlers!

    Ditto on Rebecca and Rio.

    Dima, how are you?

    Hoping that all under the quilt are feeling almost tip-top, or close to tip-top!

    Would love to see the Giant model his new mushing clothes!

  3. B. Stover
    9:00 am on October 16th, 2013

    Nice review. “Sound” was wonderful but I think THAT is still my favorite probably because of the relationship that developed between Chet and Princess. (The way Chet has to carry her and at one point Princess defends Chet: “Forget Princess? Never. She attacked that big bearded guy!” And the end at the dog show they “went wild.”)

    Good morning all.

  4. Herd of Hounds
    9:18 am on October 16th, 2013

    Gooood moning,everyone! Ditto to OH, Rose and HRH B. Hard to say too much more except that mom waffles on her favorite C&B.

    Will keep everyone in our thoughts today and send out anything pawsitive we can. Looks llike a wacky, waiting Wednesday. Oh, and mom thinks it is Feral Cat Day (we say hooey).

  5. Melanie
    9:21 am on October 16th, 2013

    Yes to both the review and to B.Stover!

    Two things here. Had a bear come through last night. (did I mention that yesterday?), Ros went nuts, but stayed inside. Grace stay in my room until the bear had left. She wanted to go outside and raise a ruckus. As Chet has noticed Bears have a unique smell. Cough, cough, gag

    For the Breaking Bad crowd . . Anthony Hopkins thinks that Bryan Cranston’s portrayal of his character was the best acting he has seen – ever!

    Might have to watch that . .

  6. Tenzing
    9:29 am on October 16th, 2013

    Spirit Spin Cycle! After words of caution last night, it was determined to was the Quilt by paw. Once the Quilt was washed, Luna took a corner in her mouth and blurred here, there and back again to let the Quilt air dry. The Quilt is clean and back over the shoulders of all those who need it, and a good thing, too—the Giant usually has snacks in his mushing clothes, but his new parka is too new to have snacks.

    Howlers: If by dire you mean that I didn’t get all the tummies I wanted, then yes, last night was dire.

  7. Dima
    9:50 am on October 16th, 2013

    Mom is very happy with me. You see, she hid half a scoop of kibble in all that delish Special Food from teh Special Doc, and I ate it all! I also ate a cookie! I am feeling great, if not tip-top, then the next thing to it.

  8. Barb & Maggie
    9:52 am on October 16th, 2013

    Love the review. We are not sure, but Furry may be our favorite too.

    Good morning all. Busy day here. Barb is getting wonderfluffed later this morning and then Kelly is picking up lunch and coming here at noon.

    Tomorrow Barb is flying to Louisville, Ky, to visit friends for two days. They have a 40 acre place where they are raising red angus cattle and sheep. They also have two unbelievably fantastic dogs, who happen to be English Shepherds, and also happen to be related to me. Katie (nee Robin), is my sister and litter mate, and Pippa is a half sister. I am not sure why I have to stay home, and she gets to see my kin!

  9. Princess Sam
    10:22 am on October 16th, 2013

    Furry is a good book (chapter 5 made Mom giggle), but THAT is my favorite. I’m going to play the part of Princess in the movie – thanks to Siber-H’s advice about the hair extensions.

  10. Barb & Maggie
    10:26 am on October 16th, 2013

    Oh, Sammy! BTW, how is LouLou?

  11. Tenzing
    10:47 am on October 16th, 2013

    I think my Lady should take all her beauty tips from SiberH. After all, if it is good enough for a certain princess, it is good enough for my Lady.

  12. O'Howlers
    10:48 am on October 16th, 2013

    Did you see the tribute the New York Journal of Books paid to Spencer’s wordsmithing? (over on the right).
    Woo Hoo !!!!

  13. Princess Sam
    11:00 am on October 16th, 2013

    MagPie, Loulou is coming over again today and then we will both be at Jacqueline’s tomorrow. I’m planning to ignore her.

  14. staff
    11:03 am on October 16th, 2013

    Mr.Staff is watching the cats stealing dog beds video and laughing.

    We finally got our hard frost last night. If it dries out I might go harvest zinnia seeds the next few days.

    Off to enter quilts in a quilt show up in Grand Forks,BBL.

  15. staff
    11:04 am on October 16th, 2013

    By the way. One of those quilts is the Plunder Quilt that Dawson is waiting for. Heh. It will be on it’s way soon Sister dear.

  16. staff
    11:04 am on October 16th, 2013

    Dima…who’s a good dog…

  17. T.C.
    11:13 am on October 16th, 2013

    Staff, I haven’t stopped watching that video!

  18. Herd of Hounds
    11:20 am on October 16th, 2013

    GOOD reviews, funny videos, clean quilt…life IS good. Mom just came in from “market ation” and is grousing about the great 2 for 1 so she has to put things away…stand back HOH!

  19. Siber-H
    12:05 pm on October 16th, 2013

    We like the Amazon review and we like the review from the New York Journal of Books.

    Dima, Good Boy! Keep eating. We are thankful you are feeling better.

    Someday Soon (great song) mom is going to drive me down to where Walter White died. It isn’t that far from us because it is in the north valley. The Albuquerque Trolly company is still doing tours to Breaking Bad locations, but they won’t let me on the trolly. The Nation within a Nation has no civil rights.

  20. dawson
    1:04 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Staff: Promises, promises…

  21. Herd of Hounds
    1:21 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Dawson (with apologies to Staff): Your friends you choose, your family you explain :)

  22. Melanie
    1:29 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Remember that book “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day”? Well, that’s been my morning.

    Nothing alarming, just piddling poop.

    Sigh. I hate waiting.

    Good Dima, I tried to blur over Franklin’s appetite, but since he is still begging for anything, I believe you are doing this on your own!

    MagPie, you will be there in spirit!

    Staff, please take pictures.

    Zoë went to Yoga. I have stopped answering the frigging phone. I will be going for a walk, and then take a nap. Perhaps things will look better after a nap.

  23. Herd of Hounds
    1:43 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Except for the fact that mom waddles instead of walking, she’ll be with you in spirit.

  24. Herd of Hounds
    2:27 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Sometimes, Melanie, you need to think of your life as “Good Dog Carl” and KNOW that things will turn out o k after the mayhem :)

  25. Kat
    2:48 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Momma told me that we are going for a ride later on, and I will be going for my yearly check-up, sort of like her Prius gets. But what I’m wondering is if my yearly checkup doc will give me some of that Special Food…

  26. Rose
    3:38 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Dima, you are up top!

  27. Luna
    3:53 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Melanie: I apologize for last night. That ‘bear’ was me air drying the Quilt.

  28. Rose
    4:03 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Being Snowhook’s handler is starting to look better, and better…

  29. Melanie: chuckling
    4:54 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Goodness Luna, the Quilt really needed airing!

    Doing better. Hope Kat gets food just because she is special.

    HOH, “Good Dog Carl”. I had forgotten about those. I bet I still have them around. My guys loved Carl.

    Riö, YSAS is in something later this month. Can’t say what at this point. He is playing another guy in a gang type.

  30. Herd of Hounds
    5:23 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Melanie: So did all my nephews and grands! WE laugh and laugh at Carl’s “adventures”.

  31. Kat
    5:56 pm on October 16th, 2013

    I’m back! The doc I went to see is the most special ever…she gave me Yummy Chummies!!!!! Momma is twirling here. I am special because I was so good and friendly and HEALTHY.
    What, Momma? Oh, never mind. She said the real reason she is twirling is that Mr. Special Dima ate a whole scoop of kibble, along with a can of that Special Stuff. Big deal. I eat a whole scoop at every meal.

  32. Kat
    5:57 pm on October 16th, 2013

    And who is Good Dog Carl?

  33. Melanie
    6:02 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Kat, your Mom just didn’t want to swell your head. You ARE a special girl. After you visited here, and the Pack came in and smelled the room, they knew you were One Of A Kind!

    Sounds like Rose is not having a good day either. Rose, I might share that little cabin with you and become a handler. You wouldn’t mind Zoé and the Pack sharing that cabin,would you?

  34. Wose
    6:08 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Melanie, I would to share the little cabin in the woods with all of youse.

  35. Macy the min-pin
    6:14 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Melanie, in winter in the cabin in the woods in Alaska the more body heat the better.

  36. Melanie
    6:33 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Rose, we will meet you there.

    Macy . . So true. Though th Newfs can be somewhat odiferous.

    Here you go, Kat. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Good_Dog,_Carl

  37. Herd of Hounds
    6:44 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Melanie: It is NOT odiferous, it is Newf aroma therapy!

  38. Herd of Hounds
    6:46 pm on October 16th, 2013

    No matter what Carl’s adventure, everything works out just before mother gets home!

  39. Herd of Hounds
    6:49 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Could Carl be the CHET of the picture book world? Hey Melanie what do you think? It is possible, mom loves both those guys.

  40. Melanie
    7:00 pm on October 16th, 2013

    I always saw Carl as a Nana type. As in Peter Pan. But who knows?

    Zoë and I tried watching the BBC’s program The Paradise. Unfortunately, I can’t stand his intonations. They are always the same. (Rolling eyes). His name is Emun Elliot. He is (was) in Game of Thrones. Another series we don’t watch.

  41. Herd of Hounds
    7:11 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Melanie, Mom thought that about Carl and Nana, until she met Chet!

  42. Tupper and Gilly
    7:16 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Mama says to say hi to all of youse guys, and that she is so happy that Dima found his appetite. Now, we are not saying for sure, but for the past couple of days, Gilly has been eating any and everything she could get her little teeth around. We wonder if maybe she borrowed Dima’s appetite and just now remembered to give it back.

    Mama is back in her mud room which is now her “Work of All Types” room. Or one of them. She has four shows coming up AND a “drop off your stuff and we will sell it for you” type of show that goes for three weekends in November. That’s her favorite kind of show – no travel, no set up, no hotels, no breakdown. What could be better.

    And now, we have to get back to supervising to make sure she does all her work.

  43. Barb & Maggie
    7:33 pm on October 16th, 2013

    My doggie sitter is coming to pick up her key. Barb will be off the grid till Sunday, leaving early tomorrow morning and getting back Saturday.

    Barb’s sister told her one of her friends had a family friend lined up to come over and feed their dog and let her out for 5-6 days while they were gone. When they got back they found out the friend had “forgotten”. The dog lived, but the friendship did not. But here is our question – who would go out of town for almost a week and not check in while they were gone?

    Barb has her sitter text her every evening.

  44. Herd of Hounds
    7:44 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Barb: Mom is with you. Regular texts, voice messages on the land line to “the girls” and a visit or two from “the uncles”. She says she hates to leave us, but they why does she do it…we’d have fun wherever she goes!

    Dima: Glad you are eating better :)

    Wowser! Does that quilt smell better or not?

    OFA: Question for ya’ll…did you read the kids “Good Dog Carl” stories when they were little?

  45. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:47 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Home!…Someone is home AND supper is almost ready…snort!snort!…This is the way it should be every night…heh!heh!…Not gonna happen though…sniff!

  46. Belle Starr
    7:56 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Wose: You can help me be in charge of sparkles.

    Melanie: You can help me oversee the gluten-free department of the kennel.

  47. Melanie
    8:04 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Thank you, BelleStarr!

    Not being one of “sparkly” kind of woman, my job in the department of gluten-free is well appreciated.

    My gals think I’m funny. No make up, no finger or toe polish, I am a lost cause. snicker

  48. Wose
    8:24 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Belle Starr: Sounds like the right job for me!

  49. Kat
    8:25 pm on October 16th, 2013

    I have to say good night. But first: Thank you, Melanie and The Pack for recognizing my specialness.
    Second: Thanks to all for your care for my Daddy Dima. He is going to his Special Doc next Thursday.

  50. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:59 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Grunt!…Wheeze! Finally home from a late, dark walk. Took those guys forever to do up all the dishes that her mother and me and Beau generated throughout the whole day…grunt!…Not to mention the supper dishes. Also the dishwasher was full because her mother waited all day long to put two plates innit before she figured it was full. So once again they did all the other dishes by hand…wheeze!…Did I mention how many damned dirty dishes there were tonight?…sniff!….And don’t get me started on the silverware. My friend says she uses one fork and one knife every day, but ends up washing billions of forks, knives and spoons every single night…grump!

  51. Belle Starr
    8:59 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Melanie: my Two-legged helped me with the hiring decisions. She says it is part of your job. You are also in charge of Purple. It is a division if the gluten-free department.

  52. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:00 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Game!…Hey! Dawson’s baseball team is ahead 5 ta Nuthin’ against
    those Red Sox right now!….Wooooooo!….Did they play last night? We could not find the game…sniff!

  53. Siber-H
    9:05 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Rio, It was an afternoon game yesterday—Detroit and Boston.

  54. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:08 pm on October 16th, 2013

    SiberH!…What happened in this afternoon game that someone forgot to tell me about…grump!

  55. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:10 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Bellie!….What do I get to do at the kennel?…sniff!…Who do I get to boss around and over-see?…snort!…There must be something or someone special I can be in charge of…grunt!

  56. staff
    9:15 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Flying Alice up top here….

    The blog sure is less busy now that Rio’s friend has a fun job. Mr.Staff and I went to a Turkey Dinner at a friends church tonight. YUM. Now we are home and checking in. Melanie the quilt show is not until this weekend so no pics allowed today. On Sunday I go to peer at all the quilts and will take pictures then if it is allowed.

    Mr.Staff went out last night in the dark to rescue some tomatoes before the freeze. He did not fall down and re-injure his leg. He did rescue a lot of green tomatoes. They are in the mudroom sink. Hopefully we find a place for them soon.

    Dawson, your patience is amazing. heh heh heh.

  57. Princess Sam
    9:29 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Tomorrow Loulou and I go to Jacqueline’s. I look fine but that stupid puppy is a hairy mess. It’s time for a big shearing for someone.

  58. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:30 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Staff!….My friend assures me once things settle down and she is fully trained and the busy season is over for this new busy-place job she has, I will be allowed on the computer more…sniff!…Right now not so much….grunt!….But it’s nice to know you miss me. May your Quilts Live On..chuffle!

  59. Siber-H
    9:32 pm on October 16th, 2013

    ummm Rio, Verlander pitched for the Tigers, but Boston won the game….Boston 1, Detroit 0

  60. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:34 pm on October 16th, 2013

    SiberH!…Well, it was a close game anyways…sniff!…Tigers are ahead by 6 ta Nuthing right now!…..Woooooo!

  61. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:36 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Spencer!…I wonder if he is chewing on couch cushions or eating his hat right now….heh!heh!

  62. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:47 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Beau!…He came downstairs with his big ole ugly, dirty, chewed up bear in his mouth…grunt!…He can’t even see what is in front of him when he is carrying around this bear…heh!…Did I mention how smelly it is?…gasp!

  63. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:49 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Baseball!…He saw that there was baseball on instead of football. He took his bear and went to his downstairs bed…chorkel!…He has no idea about all the excitement he is missing out on during the play-off games…grunt!

  64. Barb & Maggie
    9:50 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Good night all, will be back on Sunday. Hope you all have a safe and happy 3 days.

    Melanie, good luck tomorrow.

    Barb says she will miss you, and I think she will miss me too!

  65. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:51 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Barb!….I will miss you and all the food you make…gurgle!…Have a good trip and do not drink too much…burp!

  66. Siber-H
    9:53 pm on October 16th, 2013

    That is a cute photo of Beau A dog after my own heart…stuffed animals. Dirty stuffed animals are the best. Beau knows that.

    Spence may very well be eating his hat right now, but his team did so much better this season than our team. gah

  67. staff
    10:02 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Goodbye Tomatoes…sniff sniff sniff

    picture by Mr.Staff

  68. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:04 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Haunted!…That foto is kind of scary looking. Staff, are you sure that is not a Haunted Killer Tomato Patch?…shudder!

  69. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:13 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Score!…Oh no, the Red Sox have scored a run…grunt!…You know what this means. It means that anything can happen now. Mainly the Sox will battle back to win most likely…wheeze!…The only way to beat those guys is to keep them at ZERO RUNS…sniff!

  70. Belle Starr
    10:21 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Rio: You are in charge of keeping Pancho and Lefty out of trouble. Good luck. Once you’ve checked that off of your to-do list, how do you feel about heading up the Global Domination department?

  71. Herd of Hounds
    10:29 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Rio, those are truly Killer Tomatoes! Staff…hope ya’ll got the greenies to make green tomato sauce. Mom has a great green recipe ifn ya’ll don’t.

  72. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:34 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Trouble!….Out of?…sniff!…First order of business is to place an office request form for two straight jackets and 4 sets of shackles, and a goodly amount of Chloroform ….grunt!…Once that arrives, we need to hire Melanie, Zoe and the Newf Pack on a contract basis to administer the chloroform, put the shackles and straight jackets onto Lefty and Pancho….snort!…Then I can take over the WD Dept….heh!heh!…Easy as pie! Apple!

  73. Belle Starr
    10:52 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Pie! Apple! Rio: You’re also in charge of licking the spoon when B makes pies. Baseball!

  74. Melanie
    10:54 pm on October 16th, 2013

    That’s the ticket, Riö! Delegate.

    Have a great time Barb (MagPie,you’ll have that sitter trained in a few minutes. Treats and tummies.)

    Lou Lou is a tad shaggy, but she sure is cute. Not as cute as you, Princess Sam, but then who is?

    Beau and Bear. Great picture. Hope he doesn’t trip over any pugs when he is carrying that bear around.

    I’m going to try to go to sleep.

    TTFN

  75. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:57 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Pie!…So does this mean you would sign-off on the Straight Jackets, Shackles, Contractors and Chloroform?…snort!

  76. dawson
    11:05 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Rio: I believe just thinking about wrestling with Pancho and Lefty has tired Melanie out.

  77. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:11 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Melanie!…Delegation is my Go-To noun…snort!…Or is it a verb? Now I am confused and need Stover…sniff!…Anyway, it is my Go-To authoritative action (which cries out “verb”)…chuffle!

  78. Belle Starr
    11:12 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Rio: Request denied.

  79. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:14 pm on October 16th, 2013

    What!?….After all that?…sniff!…My presentation and everything? Denied?…grump!kick!

  80. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:17 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Alright!…New Plan. We fly Natasha up to Alaska and she distracts Pancho and Lefty forever or at least till Iditarod 2014 is over…grunt!…We pay her Bargain Basement Rates and she can live in one of the little cabins for a minimal fee…sniff!

  81. Belle Starr
    11:23 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Rio: Sold! Now, you have to get vorld’s best spy to agree to the plan.

  82. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:29 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Okay!…I will need to order two sets of shackles, one straight jacket, and a goodly amount of chloroform….snort!… Once that arrives, we need to hire Melanie, Zoe and the Newf Pack on a contract basis to administer the chloroform, put the shackles and straight jacket onto Natasha…..grunt!…Getting her on the plane will be a piece of cake or pie…heh!

  83. Belle Starr
    11:31 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Approved!

  84. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:38 pm on October 16th, 2013

    Sweet!…Congress could learn a thing or two from me!…heh!heh!…Even the Senate, come to think of it…grunt!

  85. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:41 pm on October 16th, 2013

    GAH!… Someone says it is time to climb the stairs and go to my warm soft bed with all my baseball toys in all their winterized places…yawn!sneeze!…Goodnight All!

  86. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    12:01 am on October 17th, 2013

    Rio – in vhat universe do you think puglet vould be able overcoming Vorld’s Most Glamorous Borzoi Spy?

    Is not problem to distract Lefty and Pancho. Is only problem to KEEP distraction. Just vhen thinking they are in control, they steal glove and off they are going again. Such puppies.

  87. Leland
    6:33 pm on March 23rd, 2014

    An additional issue for martial arts photography is going to be the need for distance from the action.

    This sport isn’t restricted to any particular
    person anyone can take part from grandparents to grandchildren.

    Hence, fitness boxing will intrigue you and push you to your limits – meaning strength and conditioning growth
    and results.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia