Random Amazon Review We Like

Spencer Quinn’s second Chet and Bernie is a delightfully well crafted story. He has done his homework about a wide range of topics from elite dog shows to desert environs to off-the-grid aging hippies lending authenticity and believability to his novel. Chet’s confusion at idiom of speech used by his partner are amusing without slapstick. Frustration in Chet’s inability to tell all he knows rings true. The relationship between Chet and Princess, the pampered show dog, is sweet without being Lady and the Tramp sappy. I usually abhor anthropomorphic animal characters but not so Chet. Quinn does a credible job of capturing the canine mind without stepping over the line. I hope Quinn keeps it up because I am captivated by Chet and Bernie.

 – Becky W. on Thereby Hangs A Tail.
Welcome Bailey, and here he is:
Bailey likes to chase water!
Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Thursday, September 5th, 2013 at 8:11 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

105 Responses to “Random Amazon Review We Like”

  1. Herd of Hounds
    8:30 am on September 5th, 2013

    Gooood morning, everyone! Whoa, if OFA sees reviews like that, his head might swell. And it was a swell review.
    Emma P here…Boy did I show mom last night. Even though she gave me kisses and bellies, I refused to sleep on the foot of the bed and slept on the recliner. That will teach her!

    Have a tour de force Thursday!

  2. B. Stover
    8:43 am on September 5th, 2013

    THAT is still my favorite.

    Good morning all.

  3. Macy the min-pin
    9:53 am on September 5th, 2013

    Whoa, a flying dog? I did not know we could do that?

    Totally toasty Thursday here.

    Morning y’all.

  4. Macy the min-pin
    9:54 am on September 5th, 2013

    Whoa, a flying dog? I did not know we could do that?

    Totally toasty Thursday here.

    Morning y’all.

    Collars: Brown for everyday, black for dress-up. (chet, not me)

  5. Macy the min-pin
    9:54 am on September 5th, 2013

    Yikes, my first DD, sort of

  6. BooBear
    9:57 am on September 5th, 2013

    Wow! Mom had to do a dog rescue this morning on her way to work. The neighbors a couple of doors down (who Mom doesn’t know other than to wave at when she drives by) have a little Tibetan Spaniel. This morning when Mom was leaving she saw the little dog on the street dragging a leash. So she stops, catches hold of the leash and takes the dog back to their house. The garage door was open, the sprinklers were on, the keys were in the dead bolt of the back door and there were vehicles in the drive way. Mom knocked and knocked on the door but no one answered. She then walked the puppy around to the front door and rang the door bell. Still no answer. She took the dog back to the garage and hooked her leash to a table by the door. Hopefully, everyone was just sleeping in and will get up and find the baby there. The girls at work think Mom should call the police and see if they can do a drive by and make sure everything is okay. Little worried here. (More about the dog than the people). What do y’all think?
    BooBear

  7. Macy the min-pin
    9:59 am on September 5th, 2013
  8. Macy the min-pin
    10:03 am on September 5th, 2013

    The keys were in the deadbolt? Is that normal? Not at our house. Of course, mom yelled at us to shut up about 50 times this morning before she realized that someone was at the door, and not going away. Road crew advising that if Someone did not get her Car out of the Driveway NOW, she would not be getting it out ALL DAY. Usually that would not be a problem, but mom the sloth is actually going to go somewhere today. Now who’s a good dog?

  9. BearSpiritDog
    10:08 am on September 5th, 2013

    Good Morning!

    BooBear: Sounds Suspicious to us. Put a call out for Chet the Jet. It’s a case for the Little Detective Agency for sure (the one in Phoenix not in Alaska)

  10. B. Stover
    10:14 am on September 5th, 2013

    BooBear: I think that you should call the police.

  11. Siber-H
    10:19 am on September 5th, 2013

    BooBear, I am late to reply, but I definately think the police should check it out. The need to do more than a drive by

  12. Siber-H
    10:23 am on September 5th, 2013

    The Amazon review is excellent.

    Once again, ditto to what Stover said…THAT is my favorite.

    Happy Jewish New Year!

  13. Tupper and Gilly
    10:26 am on September 5th, 2013

    Morning all!

    Please, please call the police! If everyone was still asleep, why would the puppy have her leash on? It sounds very eerie and very suspicious.

  14. Siber-H
    10:28 am on September 5th, 2013

    Remember Lacy Peterson? Her dog was found roaming around on a leash. I only remember this because it involved a dog.

  15. Rose
    10:29 am on September 5th, 2013

    BooBear: Calling the police is a good idea.

    Greetings!

    We are having a beautiful stretch of fall weather here in New York, and Grizz and I have already seen some trees whose leaves are turning colors in Westchester. I love the autumn, and this is my favorite autumn song. Thought I’d share it.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CO9Qx7Kp_I8

  16. Masquers
    10:29 am on September 5th, 2013

    HAPPY ROSH HASHANAH!

    BooBear: Yes to what Siber and B said. Call the police.

  17. Masquers
    10:30 am on September 5th, 2013

    and Rose & the Royals.

  18. Masquers
    10:31 am on September 5th, 2013

    that is…call the police…not Rose & the Royals.

  19. Siber-H
    10:37 am on September 5th, 2013

    Wose, That is a lovely song and video. Autumn will be happening here in a couple of months…sigh

  20. Masquers
    10:40 am on September 5th, 2013

    Macy & Rose: Thank you for the links!

  21. Siber-H
    10:44 am on September 5th, 2013

    I didn’t think Macy’s link would work for me, but it did. That is a cute video.

  22. Rose
    10:47 am on September 5th, 2013

    BooBear: You can call me anytime if you’d like. :^)

  23. Melanie
    11:02 am on September 5th, 2013

    On my iPhone. Can’t see the links. Call the police and
    And sure your house is locked up tight.

    WWR . . Well Written Review

  24. Herd of Hounds
    11:07 am on September 5th, 2013

    Mom went back to bed after posting and hid the ipaw over our little noggins so we missed all the excitement. We think calling the police is a good idea. Better safe than sorry. Boo, keep the posts posted!

  25. BearSpiritDog
    11:10 am on September 5th, 2013

    BooBear: Waiting with Baity-Breath until we Hear from You!

  26. Tupper and Gilly
    11:10 am on September 5th, 2013

    Macy – the KAT did it!

    Rio – congratulations and happy days for your friend.

    Siber – here’s yarking at you, kid. (just for the heck of it).

    Oh ya, and PARTY on Friday night! Woo hooo.

  27. BooBear
    11:20 am on September 5th, 2013

    Mom got hold of another neighbor and got her to check. She said all if okay. Mom will worry until she sees for herself the little dog is fine. (oh, and the people too).

  28. Barb & Maggie
    11:20 am on September 5th, 2013

    Siber’s comment about Lacy Peterson gave Barb the chills. Could be a major problem. Hopefully the puppy walker is still out wandering around, thrying to find the escapee.

    We LOVE that review. One of the best, IMHO.

    Just sent Melanie a great link from David Rosenfelt. Since we don’t know how to send it to the blog we were hoping Melanie would do it once again for us.

  29. Barb & Maggie
    11:20 am on September 5th, 2013

    Siber’s comment about Lacy Peterson gave Barb the chills. Could be a major problem. Hopefully the puppy walker is still out wandering around, thrying to find the escapee.

    We LOVE that review. One of the best, IMHO.

    Just sent Melanie a great link from David Rosenfelt. Since we don’t know how to send it to the blog we were hoping Melanie would do it once again for us.

  30. Siber-H
    11:23 am on September 5th, 2013

    BooBear, Thanks for the update.

  31. Herd of Hounds
    11:34 am on September 5th, 2013

    BB: TY, but it sure seems weird. OOO, is that 2 DD’s today or are we still napping?

  32. Howlers
    11:35 am on September 5th, 2013

    Just now reading the excitement. Wow. Scary to us…Boo, did you mean your neighhbor checked, and all is ok?

  33. BearSpiritDog
    11:38 am on September 5th, 2013

    Hounds: We agree. Very Mysterious Indeed.
    BooBear: Maybe your mom can Check-In with the little dawgs folks on the way home?

  34. BooBear
    12:02 pm on September 5th, 2013

    That is what the neighbor said. Mom will definitely check on her way home. The house is just 2 houses down from ours.

  35. Herd of Hounds
    2:52 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Almost 3 hours of quiet. Are we ok or is there a bug, again?

  36. Rose
    2:55 pm on September 5th, 2013
  37. Rose
    2:59 pm on September 5th, 2013
  38. Basil and Sage
    3:01 pm on September 5th, 2013

    If the blog isn’t working, you can blame it on the Corgis. Heck, you can blame global warming, the Kardashians, and old men in Speedos if you want to. Everything is their fault!

  39. Herd of Hounds
    3:09 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Herb Kats, you be nice to the corgis. Without them you would have no manners whatsoever! They have taught you to share affection and patience, nnneeeeow!

  40. Rose
    3:12 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Herb Kats: Will you be going to the beach and eating lobster too?

  41. Herd of Hounds
    3:12 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Rose: the book sounded good but the video really convinced mom. We see a library run in our near future.

  42. Rose
    3:18 pm on September 5th, 2013

    I’m happy to hear that. It is a compelling, but easy read. Now I want to go to London to visit Bob! :^)

  43. B. Stover
    3:35 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Sigh.

  44. Rio - The Evil Pug
    3:38 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Day!…I just got a text on my little Go-Phone from my friend at the damned-if-you-do-damned-if-you-don’t Busy-Place…grunt!…It’s been a krazy day full of terrible errors and people stressing out all over the place…yeeep!…One gal even got fired…gah!…Everyone is panicky and scared. My friend says she is feeling just fine though…heh!heh!chorkek!

  45. Masquers
    3:47 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Rose: Gasp. Did I just hear you say easy “read”?

  46. Masquers
    3:49 pm on September 5th, 2013

    THUNDER!

  47. c.hobbit
    4:14 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Rose: no pie for youse!

  48. Herd of Hounds
    4:21 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Oh, deer and fox paw! An honest mis- steak. Poor Rose :(

  49. Basil and Sage
    4:22 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Are we going to the nasty, sand between your toes, no catnip mousies, no cat-tree beach? No thank you, very much. Those dam Corgis are going, that’s all we ask. We will have Gramp all to ourselves and we will sleep on his bed, and we will con him out of a second can of food every day (Basil is especially good at the “I’m Staaaaarrrvvving” meow) We will stay here with our buddy, Callie and snuggle up with her at night. Gramp is a soft touch for table scraps too – Mama gets after him, but she won’t be here to see it now, will she. hahahahahahaha.

    WOSE – we DO NOT allow such language on this here blog! You best mind your n’s and v’s (nouns and verbs) or we will have an unimpressed Empress.

  50. BearSpiritDog
    4:22 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Wose: Looks like a Cool Cat Story! We are going to add it to the Library Queue right away. And thank you for the the link!
    Sadly, C.Hobbit is right. No pie for you this day.

  51. Barb & Maggie
    4:28 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Wose, Wose, Wose. What are we going to do with you! Thirty strikes with a wet noodle for you. Snicker. Personally, we are so used to reading that word that it does not bother us at all. But we know someone who it does bother just a teeny tiny bit.

  52. B. Stover
    4:29 pm on September 5th, 2013

    And I was going to bake double-crusted apple pie….

  53. BearSpiritDog
    4:33 pm on September 5th, 2013

    OMD: A motorcyclist was Struck by Lightening on the freeway this morning as Thunderstorms rolled through our region. He is being treated for burns and hearing loss.

  54. BearSpiritDog
    4:46 pm on September 5th, 2013

    …but otherwise Okay.

  55. Herd of Hounds
    4:53 pm on September 5th, 2013

    BSD: One of the oddest lightning stories we have ever heard. Guess you don’t argue with dog! This guy seems to be one lucky hound.

  56. Tupper and Gilly
    5:05 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Lightening? Quick, under the bed!

    Actually, we can’t get under the bed. Its on the floor. Seems that the beds at the beach are just awful, plus the bedrooms are up a flight of VERY steep, narrow stairs. Not sure that the Storyteller would be up to doing the mountain goat thing up and down. So Mama just got an air bed. It is very cool – almost as high as a regular bed, self inflating/deflating, and automatically adjusts for firmness. They are going to use it in the living room of the beach, or maybe even on the screened in front porch. We get to sleep on the sofa right next to them, and with no Wrotten Kats in sight!
    Plus, have we mentioned that we will be eating LOBSTER?

  57. B. Stover
    5:23 pm on September 5th, 2013

    I’m getting hungry for lobster….

  58. Tupper and Gilly
    5:26 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Bee – Mama says “come to the Beach”. There are 3 bedrooms, and we won’t be using any of them.

  59. BearSpiritDog
    5:28 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Tupper&Gilly: Youse are going to have the Best Time!

  60. Masquers
    5:31 pm on September 5th, 2013

    …and while the dawgs are away the kats will play.

    Riö: Your friend’s new job offer didn’t come a day too soon.

  61. Howlers
    5:49 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Hello and goodbye. We just ate our supper (kibble for 2 and can over kibble for the Spoiled One). Now we are heading out to watch Mom play with horses.

  62. Wose
    5:53 pm on September 5th, 2013

    I most humbly apologize to HRH B.

  63. Herd of Hounds
    5:56 pm on September 5th, 2013

    OH: We call that topper and refuse to eat our lovely brown, dry kibble without 1 Tbs of it :) We aren’t spoiled.

  64. B. Stover
    5:58 pm on September 5th, 2013

    T&G: Tell your mom thank you!

    Rose: LOL!

  65. Wose
    5:59 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Herb Kats: I thought the lobster would be enticing. I myself, would love a broiled Rock Lobster tail myself. But sounds like youse will be having a good time anyway.

  66. Wose
    6:02 pm on September 5th, 2013

    RIO! I am so very happy for your friend, and very, very proud of her!

  67. Macy the min-pin
    6:05 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Sad day at our grandmother’s house. Her elderly kitty Skylar did not come home last night. He never leaves the back yard, but he is nowhere to be found. He was a good kat as kats go.

  68. Masquers
    6:34 pm on September 5th, 2013
  69. Masquers
    6:39 pm on September 5th, 2013

    So sorry for your grandma, Macy. We know Skylar will be missed. Do you think he felt it was his time?

  70. Herd of Hounds
    6:40 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Skylar sounds like he was a clever kat.

  71. Barb & Maggie
    7:07 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Macy, What do they think happened? That is sad.

    Barb is taking it easy for dinner tonight. Neighbor went to Portillo’s in the next town and is bringing back an Italina beef sandwich with sweet peppers. Their’s is the best!

  72. Siber-H
    7:17 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Macy, Your grandmother must be sad. Our hearts go out to her.

  73. Siber-H
    7:20 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Masquers, Thanks. That is a good article with great photos. I wish you could see my mom setting here nodding her head in agreement at the “not very good at following commands” part of the article.

  74. Herd of Hounds
    7:54 pm on September 5th, 2013

    OK, we are miffed! Why does mom think the baby dozer is soooo smart just because she has found her tail? Sheesh, the rest of us know we have tails and have played with and sniffed them. Kids.

  75. Howlers
    7:59 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Macy, we are sad for your grandmother.

  76. Howlers
    8:03 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Mom is laughing about the “Explorer” in the title. Heh Heh. We call it wanderlust.

  77. Melanie
    8:09 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Hey Everybody! First time on the big computer all day.

    Just saw Barb&MagPie’s email. Here you go!
    http://www.wcsh6.com/news/watercooler/article/255176/108/Love-dogs-How-about-20-of-them

  78. Wose
    8:13 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Macy, my heart is sad for your grandma.

  79. Tupper and Gilly
    8:13 pm on September 5th, 2013

    We saw this on the news tonight, and there is still a lot of sniffling going on around here. Good sniffling.

    We have the best veterans.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/afghanistan-war-veterans-reunited-in-ny-with-dog-and-her-7-puppies-born-on-the-battlefield/2013/09/05/58473ba0-1652-11e3-961c-f22d3aaf19ab_story.html

  80. Basil and Sage
    8:29 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Rose – why would lobster be enticing? Mama says Kats hate lobster. She promised us she would never, ever feed us that terrible stuff.
    Come to think about it – the Corgis WERE snickering when she told us that.

    Hey! Is there something we don’t know?

  81. Macy's mom
    8:35 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Sky asked to go out before bedtime as usual, and sometimes he doesn’t want to come in, but he is always at the door come morning. Except today. No idea how he could have gotten out, but I walked the neighborhood with my mom just to feel like I was helping. I do feel that he knew his time was up. He was our girl Angie’s until she moved in with mom. When it was time for her to move out, Skylar had wormed his way into mom’s heart. Even after he bit her so badly that she had to have IV antibiotics. We met him when he was 7 weeks old. Dam animal life spans.

  82. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:40 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Lobsta!…Never ever have it here at this house…sniff!…I have no idea what it tastes like…grunt!…Probably like a big bug…heh!

    Allergies!…Suffering, suffering, suffering…sneeze!…Someone was up half the night trying to breath while cough!cough!coughing! …grunt!… I hardly moved in my bed all night long. She says she is a bit tired and drug out tonight after coughing all day long too…heh!

    Football!…Starts tonight…sniff!…Beau is very happy. There is no Rockies game to interfere with the Broncos vs The Ravens….snort!

  83. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:44 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Kats!… My friend grew up on a farm and they had lots of Kats…sniff!…She says the old ones would just disappear one day never to be found. Her mother said Kats know when it is time to go and find a place by themselves…sniffle!…I’m glad I am not a Kat…wuffle!

  84. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:48 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Weather!…The bid opening game is On Hold for weather…heh!…But the Sportscasters are standing out on the field under metal framed umbrellas….snort!…This could get very exciting even withought a game…heh!heh!

  85. Herd of Hounds
    8:50 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Mom has lots of salty water in her eyes tonight. She said some is for Skylar who has probably crossed the bridge but it is ok. Some are for Sheba and her kiddos and are cry for happy. We just aren’t sure we like the taste of that salty water.

  86. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:50 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Forgot!…I forgot to mention it is a Severe Lightning Storm Warning that is delaying the game…snort!

  87. BearSpiritDog
    8:51 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Thanks for the Links.
    Melanie for posting Barb’s tail of David Rosenfelt & his Pack;
    And Tupper&Gilly for the Paws of War – No Buddy Left Behind story.

  88. Masquers
    8:57 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Riö: LIghtning strike! Just what Mom was thinking when she went out to get the mail this afternoon carrying her umbrella with the little metal tip pointing skyward. Yeep!

  89. Herd of Hounds
    9:05 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Oh, mom is shutting down early and we’ve heard we won’t get the ipaw till later in the am because mom is going to the people v e t. So nighty night and will be back ASAP.

  90. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:11 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Sharon!….Good luck at the V-E-T…sniff!…Beau and I go to a guy who is huge and has huge paws…snort!…Once he gets a hold of us our eyes bug out and all we can do is stare at my friend and huffle-puffle for help!…grunt!
    …We each take turns doing this routine….gah!

    Maskers!…Tonight at the first football game of the season it is very likely we will see some fried Ravens and/or Broncos…yeeep!

  91. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:26 pm on September 5th, 2013

    OooooRebecca!….Where fort art thou?…grunt!

  92. Tupper and Gilly
    9:28 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Sharon – best thoughts for a good report at the v e t.

    Macy – we included Skylar in our prayers tonight.

    It is cold and crisp tonight. They mentioned a possible frost. Oh no, just when our tomatoes are ripening and abundant. We think the Wrotten Kats should go outside and curl up around the tomato plants to keep them warm.

  93. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:46 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Hot!…Muggy and stifling here…grunt!…We just came back from a short walk, which was just enough by the way…wheeze!

  94. Melanie
    9:59 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Carpola, missed HOH. Just wanted to tell youse guys that Gracie still finds her tail and runs around in circles. Tends to clear off the tables when she’s in high gear. Oh, she’s six!

    Macy, I totally agree with you. Our companions have too short a lifespan.

    I know I missed other things, but I must sleep now.

    Last night’s raveled sleeve of care didn’t get knit.

    TTFN

  95. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:02 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Melanie!….The raveled sleeve of care did not get knit here either last night…whuffle!….There is no way in hell we are going to watch the end of the football game. Especially seeing as we are watching that great “Broadchurch” instead right now…heh!…Beau is sputtering, but it was 2 against one and he lost…chuffle!

  96. BearSpiritDog
    10:18 pm on September 5th, 2013

    G’Night All. We were hoping BooBear would stop by with a News Report before bedtime rolled around. Maybe in the morning.
    Pawsitive Results for the Hound’s Mom V*E*T visit tomorrow and Happy Dreams to All – Bear

  97. Barb & Maggie
    10:23 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Night all, we have to get to bed too.

    Rio, we hope Broncos win! Go Orange!

  98. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:24 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Enigma!….Bear, you and Maskers are enigmas…sniff!…You live way the hell out on the West Coast, but you are in bed by 7:30pm each night…grunt!…What the hell? …heh!…Enigmas.

  99. Beau - The Black Pug
    10:30 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Sneeze!….Did dat Barb just say “Go Orange”?….eh-heh!…sneeze!…I know now dat she is on my team…sneeze!…I am not from Chicago gangland town….sniffle… I am from good ole Nashville Tennessee. Home of da King….snoooort!

  100. Alice M. Johnson
    10:53 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Macy, Our kitty sympathies to your grandmother. Losing a kat is always very sad…Staff says she understands.

  101. SnowBella
    11:02 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Rio: I’m sort of here. I’m gearing up for an all nighter to finish up a project. I’ve also been scheduled for some last minute travel on top if my other travel plans. I’ve started saying my race season mantra—I can sleep in April—several months ahead of schedule. At this point, with the exception of a day here or there, I will see AJ in October.

  102. SnowBella
    11:05 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Before I forget, head bumps and dainty licks for Macy’s family.

  103. Beau - The Black Pug
    11:06 pm on September 5th, 2013

    Rebecca!…Gah!…Well, it is goodnight from here, much to Beau’s dismay…heh!…We will NOT be watching the whole game…yawn!sniffle!…Someone still has to make it through one more day before her long, long, long vacation…wheeze!

  104. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:09 pm on September 5th, 2013

    BEAU!…I hate when he posts and then leaves his crappy logon laying around…grunt!

  105. Melanie
    1:27 am on September 6th, 2013

    For SnowBella . .
    If you are beginning your race season mantras . .

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia