Publishers Weekly Starred Review: The Dog Who Knew Too Much

“Near the start of the pseudonymous Quinn’s outstanding fourth Chet and Bernie whodunit (after 2010’s To Fetch a Thief), Anya Vereen asks PI Bernie Little to pose as a friend of hers and accompany her to parents’ weekend at Big Bear Wilderness Camp, where her son, Devin, is a camper. Anya, who fears that her ex, Guy Wenders, also slated to attend, will cause trouble, hopes that Bernie’s presence will prevent “unpleasantness.” The investigator reluctantly accepts the job. At the camp, he and Chet, his faithful dog sidekick, find themselves with a very different problem to solve after Devin disappears while on an overnight. Chet’s tracking ability comes in handy, but the search quickly takes a violent and unexpected turn. Quinn (suspense novelist Peter Abrahams) manages to sell the conceit of a literate canine narrator by dint of intelligent writing and on-the-mark pacing and tone. (Sept.)”

Sidekick? That’s what, exactly?

Welcome Kita and Daisy. Heavenly one, please retry.

Share

Tags: , , ,

This entry was posted on Saturday, July 23rd, 2011 at 9:40 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

116 Responses to “Publishers Weekly Starred Review: The Dog Who Knew Too Much”

  1. BearSpiritDog
    9:41 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Good Morning!
    Another review…

  2. Joe Erickson
    9:48 am on July 23rd, 2011

    It sounds great! I can’t wait for September!

  3. B.Stover
    9:52 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Chet: “Sidekick” indeed! The writer doesn’t seem to know much about dogs and I don’t like “overnight” used as a noun. Grump!

    Good morning all.

  4. BearSpiritDog
    9:53 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Hmm..that may not be Suzie on the cover…..

  5. Melanie
    10:02 am on July 23rd, 2011

    I agree with BearSpirtDog. I bet that isn’t Suzie!

    Sounds wonderful. Must plan how I’m going to do this. I know I’ll read it in one sitting. Then wait a day or two and read it again. Then wait a week or two and then read it again!

    Keep Cool! YSAS says people have to take sweaters into the subways because they are so cold. He’s bought a months pass (over $100) just so he can ride everywhere. He walks miles in NYC, but not right now.

  6. Melanie
    10:02 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Oh, Hi Joe Erickson! Haven’t heard from you in awhile!

  7. Harrison
    10:03 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Isn’t Bernie Chet’s sidekick, ha ha?
    Can’t wait for this one!!

  8. Tupper and Gilly
    10:04 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Hi everyone. Mama says they got to the show site at 4:45 this morning and now they are all set up. Of course they are also sweating and hot and look a mess. Just right for meeting their favorite author. He says he is coming this afternoon. Hopefully by then they will look human again

  9. dawson
    10:04 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Good morning.
    The review was okay. At least it didn’t give too much away. I would have preferred the resumption of the Astrid case with a link to the review. :-)

  10. Joe Erickson
    10:11 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Good morning Melanie!

  11. dawson
    10:26 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Hello Joe! Anticipation.
    Harrison: Yes, Bernie is the sidekick, I think.
    Tupper and Gilly’s mom and dad: Breathe!

  12. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    10:38 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Hello everyone, especially Joe and Harrison.

    Did anyone else think that the opening sentence was a bit awkward?

    Hmmmm…..I wonder if Devin is in the mineshaft?

  13. Barb & Maggie
    10:41 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Melanie, I see why YSAS doesn’t want to walk right now. The east coast is geeting socked with our weather of earlier in the week. Supposed to be 100+ in The Big Apple today. Yuck!

    T & G’s mom, Tried to post this last night, but maybe didn’t hit submit. We want to see a picture of you with SQ/PA, please. Have seen photos of your handsome hubby, but how about one of you? We loved the pics of Melanie on the dozer! It would be nice to see what you look like.

    BSD, Tell Nana that we ordered Cape and moved it to the top of the list on Netflix. Since she and Barb seem to have similar viewing taste, here are a few more on our list. Maybe Nana has seen some of them, or anyone else feel free to comment:
    Mrs Brown
    The Straight Story
    The Visitor
    Amreeka
    Songcatcher
    Soul Surfer
    Jumping the Broom
    A Storm in Summer
    Pricess Kaiulani
    Glorious 39

    Most of these are smaller films that didn’t make a big box office splash. Sometimes they are the best!

  14. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    10:43 am on July 23rd, 2011

    (Mom is in a bad mood because of the idiots in Washington. Especially Mr. Speaker of the House.)

    I am not in a bad mood. I think life is wonderful.

  15. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    10:44 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Astrid. Sigh………

  16. Melanie
    10:54 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Barb & MagPie, they are in their 4th day of over 100 degrees. Tonight the front is to come through and tomorrow should only be the 80’s.

    Whew.

  17. Siber-H
    10:59 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Congratulations to Spence for getting a starred review!!!
    Waiting for this book just gets harder and harder.

    Ok, That is probably not Suzi on the cover, but it is still a girl.

  18. BearSpiritDog
    11:08 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Barb&Maggie: Thanks for the list! Glorious 39, Princess Kahulani & The Visitor are already in our queue – will make note of the others.
    Finished watching Skin and thought it was excellent. That it was a true story, made it even better. Apartheid, from 1948 to 1994, was a very difficult time for South Africa. Black people were deprived of their citizenship and basic rights as human beings. We watch a people’s struggles from afar and never really understand their day-to-day heartbreak.
    Bear has always been an advocate of the Underdog. Born a Libra, the sign of the Scales and Justice, we weigh both sides carefully before making a decision.

  19. B.Stover
    11:09 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Barb: I really like the film Mrs. Brown with Judi Dench. She plays Queen Victoria.

  20. bluecat
    11:26 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Hi, Joe. Hi, Harrison, Hi, Everybody.

    All those ARCs out there and the Plunderers have to wait. Phooey.

    Nice review, but I think Spence more than “manages to sell”…

  21. Staff
    11:36 am on July 23rd, 2011

    Wow Liz,
    Cadel Evans won the Tour de France. The first Australian to ever win. He has been trying for many years and this time he did it.
    He was trying not to cry on the podium. Into Paris and down the Avenue des Champs-Élysées for the awards tomorrow.

  22. Masquers
    12:05 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Interesting side note: Did you know there are two Dog Who’s? The other book is by Carol Lea Benjamin, Shamus nominated author of This Dog for Hire. Her canine hero is a pit bull named Dashiell.

    There are many “Dog Mysteries” out there, but none quite like Chet & Bernie. SQ is still Top Dog in this department!

  23. Tupper and Gilly
    12:18 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Barb and Maggie hahahahahaha! The idea of Mama in FRONT of a camera ! Hahahahaha.
    It may happen just to prove to Rio we did meet SQ but we will have to wait and see

  24. Melanie
    12:42 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    I do find the first sentence a bit verbose, but the “. . .Quinn’s outstanding fourth Chet and Bernie whodunit . . .” makes up for it.

    You know how we talked the other day about saving bugs and spiders? Well, I’ve beat you all! I saved a biker!

    Or at least a cyclist. On the way towards the dump, I saw two cyclists behind a police car (flashing lights) and then right behind the cyclists there was the pick up van. We have a lot of bike races here in our area so I figured it was the last of a race. Until I saw about 2 miles behind them 50 cyclists all together. That was weird, because the pick up vehicle is usually behind the last people. Thinking no more of it, I went to the dump and was driving back when I saw a cyclist walking his bike, going in my direction, with his thumb out. It’s 86 degrees, not a cloud in the sky, over 70% humidity and his walk is NOT in the shade. So I stop and pick him up and drive him 4 miles out of my way to where the race started.

    Nice guy. From New Hampshire. He has a flat tire. I mentioned that I had seen the pick up vehicle behind the leaders. He had some words to say about that. On the way to Notchview Park, we passed 6 more people with flats. All with their thumbs out. He thanked me, got in his car, and went to pick up the stranded.

    Glad I’M NOT driving that pick up vehicle!

    Pool time!

  25. Snowhook Bella
    12:54 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    It appears Rio the good has made fast friends with Charlotte. AJ walked the dogs down to the lake yesterday and the two buds played together in the water.

    Melanie: You get a good deed point for today.

  26. B.Stover
    12:57 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Woolfie: I find the second sentence of the review awkward.

    Running errands.

  27. B.Stover
    12:58 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Sorry Wolfie…spelled correctly.

  28. Barb & Maggie
    1:31 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Well we understand if you don’t want to be in front of the camera, Barb hates to have her picture taken.

    We had Mrs. Brown up next in our Queue, but moved Cape of Good Hope up there and it is being shipped today. Looked really good.

  29. OleyHowlers
    1:43 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Hello to All,
    “pseudonymous”….is that even a word? It is very exciting to read a review of TDWKTM to get a little hint of what its about. Can’t wait. We wish it had come out on time for Mom & Pop’s vacation.

    It sure is hot here…was 106 yesterday. That not only beat the record for July 22, but beat the ALL-TIME record since records have been kept. Mom bought bananas and yogurt and she is going to make ups Barb’s frozen treat, just as soon as she goes back thru the blog to find it.

    Wolfie, Mom & Pop are also furious at all in D.C. Speaker near top of list, altho the TPers and House Majority Ldr are more the cause of this non-action. Mom is trying to decide where to move her retirement funds QUICKLY.

    Bear, Mom is also a Libra and is always coming to the defense of the underdog…never realized it was a Libra trait.

    BIG NEWS! We just received Snowhook’s delivery of the well-worn booties that crossed the Finish Line in Nome (!!) and Whitey-Lance’s much chewed-up ID and zipper pull. WOO HOO WOO HOO

    More good news: T&G, tell your mama that we also received a slip from the Post Office that Watching Eyes is there !!!! We will be picking that up first thing Monday. WOOOOO Double HOOO !

  30. ...Buddy and T.C.
    1:51 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Not to worry… we Kats have been saving that recipe for smashed ripe banana frozen cups !

  31. Alice M. Johnson
    1:54 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    We also received our Snowhook auction item. The books by Jan Karon arrived from Bear today.

    Thanks Bear!

  32. dawson
    2:00 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Ooooooooh.
    Lucky you Oley Howlers for getting those cool presents in the mail. Soon I will be lucky too.

    May I suggest converting your dollars into Canadian? Of course, the mess is likely to spill upwards, outwards and every which way if you don’t start taxing those rich people. Why not? They are not creating jobs with their wealth. Not in the US of A, anyways.

  33. ...Buddy and T.C.
    2:01 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    You’re preaching to the choir, Dawson.

  34. Mollypop
    2:06 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    It’s 94 degrees here at Sam’s house and Mom has to go to a party soon. The party will be outdoors and Mom doesn’t really want to go.

  35. Tupper and Gilly
    2:11 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Ooooo. Had a real cloudburst at the show. Mama’s booth is ok. They always make their booth weatherproof.
    Getting antsy waiting for famous authors. Wonder which will show up first SQ or PA …..

  36. OleyHowlers
    2:13 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Heads, its PA. Tails, its SQ.

  37. Tupper and Gilly
    2:20 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    HE’s HERE! WE GOT AN ARC! Twirling , dancing. Pics to come
    (we got a frisbee too!)

  38. Melanie
    2:23 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    So if he’s walking forward it’s PA and if he’s walking backwards it’s SQ?

  39. OleyHowlers
    2:23 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    You got an ARC ????? Maybe its Dawson’s ARC ? S

  40. OleyHowlers
    2:24 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    grrr… our paws cannot type on this laptop.

  41. Alice M. Johnson
    2:24 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    WhoooooHooooo
    An ARC!!! I love my Arc!!!! You will really enjoy yours too. Remember, no hints. You have got to keep the secret! Oh, and the frisbee too! Heh

    Way to go T&G’s Mom!

  42. B.Stover
    2:54 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    T&G’s mum: How wonderful!!

  43. B.Stover
    2:58 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    I received the Pamela Lund earrings from the auction. They are beautiful! Also, Rebecca sent a lovely card (Vincent’s painting of his chair, “The Yellow Chair”). Thank you Rebecca.

    I’m also a Libra.

    There is such a word as “pseudonymous.” It’s the adjective form of “pseudonym” from the Greek words meaning “false name.”

  44. Jasper the Poodle
    3:11 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Hmph! Sidekick my patootie! Chet is a PARTNER! Hello!

    Visited the local library here, got a card and picked up some reading material for this week. Aahh. Life is starting to feel normal again after the big move.

    Saw the last Harry Potter movie. It was great. Sob! It’s over…sob, sob, sob.

  45. B.Stover
    3:21 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Jasper: You may enjoy this video interview with Matt Lewis (Neville Longbottom):

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xub10uuzdaE&feature=player_embedded

  46. Masquers
    3:24 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    SQ/PA – and they called Audrey 2 faced?

  47. Masquers
    3:31 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Am I seeing double or,
    are there two BSD’s up there?

  48. BearSpiritDog
    3:35 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Tupper&Gilly: Your mum’s weekend just keeps getting better and better! An ARC for her & a frisbee for you. WooooHoooo!

  49. BearSpiritDog
    3:46 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Wolfie & O.Howlers: Nana always said she knew she had become a grownup when she started paying attention to politics. Sadly, the ones running the show in DC are acting anything but. Howling in frustration here!

    B: Starting watching the interview, but we worried it might reveal too much of the plot. Spoiler alert?

  50. Melanie
    4:03 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Okay, just heard from the Royals’ Mum. SHE HAD A BLAST! She totally ignored her booth, she got pictures. She’ll be telling you about the meeting. She’s sending me pictures from her iPhone. Now Dad and Peter had their pictures taken, but the picture of her and Peter have to wait a couple of days until she’s home with her regular computer. When the photos arrive, I will put them up!

  51. B.Stover
    4:08 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Bear: Matt/Neville doesn’t go into detail.

  52. Barb & Maggie
    4:18 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Oley, Here is the recipe to save you going back to find it: equal parts over-ripe banana, mashed, creamy peanut butter, vanilla ice cream, plain yogurt. Mix and freeze in small scoops. It freezes harder than ice cream, so that will make it easier to serve. Love it here.

    Can’t wait to hear more from the Cape metting!!

  53. Melanie
    4:20 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    The first picture is of Spencer . . .

  54. Snowhook Bella
    4:39 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    T&G: How exciting! Twirling and twirling is definitely in order.

    B: I’m glad you like the earrings and the card. I sent that card to you specifically as it reminded me of the easy chair…at least the closest I was going to get to a fine art easy chair.

    Auction update: All payments for auction items are present and accounted for as of yesterday.

    I didn’t know the standing or cheering for the underdog was a Libra trait—it was something I remember Coach telling me to do from an early age. Now, I know it was in my nature, too.

  55. BearSpiritDog
    4:47 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Melanie/T&G! This is so exciting!

  56. OleyHowlers
    4:50 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Great pic of SQ!!! WOW we can’t wait to hear all about the meeting!! Hope T&G’s mum’s show does well too…looks great from here.

  57. Melanie
    5:09 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    The second picture is of Peter . . .

  58. Melanie
    5:10 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    The third picture is of Leonard and Admin . . .
    (Leonard has just finished storytelling on stage)

  59. Melanie
    5:13 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Okay this is from Barb and Maggie!
    Here is a cool PSA . . .
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jDh12w-jcfs&feature=player_embedded#at=130

  60. BearSpiritDog
    5:38 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Never Fear! Underdog is Here!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7XRil07h5uE/

  61. Siber-H
    5:49 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Thank You for the photos, T&sG’s mom and Melanie! Great pictures of Spence! We sure like the art we are seeing in the background in the photos.

    Melanie and Barb and Maggie, Mom wishes she could make every two-legged that walks into my dog park with their dogs watch that video.

  62. BearSpiritDog
    5:56 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Barb&Maggie/Melanie: That video is short, but gets a very important point across in a entertaining way.

  63. Barb & Maggie
    6:02 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    That PSA doesn’t alway work right, Bear. It is actually 2 1/2 minutes long. If you get a little short version like we did, wait for it to finish and then hit replay and watch the whole thing.

  64. Alice M. Johnson
    6:07 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Love the pictures! Thanks T&G and B&S’s Mom. (and Melanie)
    The interview with the young man who plays Neville Longbottom made me think I would go to the last movie. I haven’t seen #7 (the first) or this one.

    I was sort of disappointed in the last book.
    Now that I think about it I became bored half way through it. I suspect the movie, with it’s never ending need to cut out bits of story to make the time limits, might make the story better.

    I am sorry I didn’t get a badge for T&G’s Mom. I feel guilty. I do have to admit to having a little electrical problem here.

    Anyway, thanks B!

  65. dawson
    6:38 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Oooooooh…
    B.Stover: Those earrings are so beautiful. I’m glad that you won them.
    Oooooooh…
    I am sure that is not MY ARC that was given to T&G and B&S’s mom. I am very sure. Right Spence?
    Thank you for the cool pictures of SQ/PA, Admin and the Storyteller.

  66. Siber-H
    6:48 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    WOOhooo!! WOO WOO
    I got my auction items from Rebecca today…The Iditarod dog tags!
    Mom said I can wear one!! How super cool is that!
    I can’t wait to show the dogs at the dog park in the morning.
    The Iditarod bags are also mine. Mom can have the t-shirt.

  67. Melanie
    6:53 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    What have I been doing all day? Besides totally snickering and guffawing and laughing hysterically?

    See Newfs in a Pool: Part 2 or . . .

    Jowls

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AKDOTwj11os

  68. BearSpiritDog
    7:19 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    OMD! Melanie that was hysterical. We can’t stop smiling and chuckling and snickering.

  69. B.Stover
    7:26 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    The music goes so well with the video Melanie.

  70. BearSpiritDog
    7:28 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Barb&Maggie: We got the longer version this time! Thanks for letting us know (thought it was kinda short). Puget Sound, Dogs all around, Sea Town and the Space Needle in the background. It might have been made especially for us! Anyway, would like to think so.

  71. Siber-H
    7:31 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    We love it Melanie!! It has bubbles and it is funny! Melanie is becomming the Steven Spielberg of Newfdom.
    Mom wants to go in the pool. She thinks she is hot.

  72. Masquers
    7:37 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Siber-H: You are going to look very handsome in your Iditarod Dog Tag. The envy of every dog at the park you will be.

  73. Masquers
    7:43 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Hmm..Wonder how Rio and friend are doing in this heat. They should be taking a break from the moving soon.

  74. Melanie
    7:44 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    I actually bought the music two days ago and have been planning it since then.
    The bubbles? They form in two ways. The Packs’ coats trap air when they get into the pool, so those are some . . . the others are from our mineral pack. It is really cool!

    I did have a great time. It’s the first time, in two weeks, I’ve felt up to anything!

    MollyPop, I hope your mom is feeling better and the heat doesn’t make her worse.

  75. dawson
    7:44 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Jowls! Very exciting!
    And the water is so pristine, no unattached Newfie hairs floating around. The filter is working well.

  76. Alice M. Johnson
    7:58 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Dawson, Check your secret decoder device please.

  77. Snowhook Bella
    8:13 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    The pictures of SQ, PA and admin are just how I imagined each of them.

    Melanie: The title and music were perfect!

  78. Barb & Maggie
    8:13 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Bear, We thought the video was perfect for you, glad you got to see the whole thing.

    Also glad you got to see Skin. I am not sure “enjoyed” is the proper word for me to use, as it wasn’t so much entertainment for us, but educational and informative. It was so sad at times and opened up a historical topic about which we knew very little.

  79. B.Stover
    8:15 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    I’d like to see SH with his new dog tags.

  80. Gus & BooBear
    8:25 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    So, SiberH, YOU are the one who one the Iditarod dog tags!! We kept bidding and bidding and SOMEONE kept out bidding us!! Dad was very disappointed. BUT we did get the Cardinal picture and the Newf picture so Mom is very happy. Maybe Next Year!!!

    Loved the video, Melanie. Your family is so creative!!

    Loved the pics of SQ/PA. Can’t wait to see more. And Dawson, OF COURSE, it’s your ARC. You scared SQ out of sending it into the Canadian mail system so he just gave it aways to someone else. Hey, we’re all friends here, right??

  81. Gus & BooBear
    8:26 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Lots of typos there, guys….just read around them, ok?

  82. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:36 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Moved!….snort!… We are very moved and very tired. It was so hot today. I was in the way the whole time and got stepped on a couple of times…yeep!…But would I stay out of the way? Hell No!…grunt! …I had to make sure everything was loaded onto the big truck correctly…sniff!…Up and down the stairs, up and down, up and down….pant!wheeze!pant!….Holy crap it was hot today. Now everybody has left and we are downstairs just turning on the Rockies game…Wooooo!

  83. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:38 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    ARC!….Is this rumor true??? Is Spencer giving away ARC’s to certain people?….sob!sob!sob!… I want one really bad. Really, really bad…. sob!sob!sob!…Really, really, really bad!….sob!sob!sob!…Wait, is that pizza I smell…. sniff!sniff!…Yes!

  84. Siber-H
    8:42 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    The Rockies game…The train wreck of the first inning.

    Gus&BooBear, I was bidding on the Newf picture and you guys got it. Maybe that evens things out.

  85. Melanie
    8:46 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Rio, you guys take at easy after all that you did today!

    I’ll read up on everything in the morning.

    TTFN

  86. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:49 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Homer!…I think they are going to turn it around SiberH!… snort! …Tulo just hit a Home-run right after we switched the game on…heh!

  87. Tupper and Gilly
    8:50 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Hi everyone – Amalia here reporting in from one absolutely lovely and wonderful day!
    We feel so fortunate to have met Spence/Peter. I recognized him as he came towward the booth – of course the fact that he was holding a Chet the Dog Frisbee did help. He had wanted to be there to hear Leonard do storytelling, and Leonard was just about to go on stage, so the timing was perfect.
    After the storytelling, he came back to our booth and sat in back with us talking about his books and life on the Cape and the screenplay. And he said that he thinks the Plunderers are a marvel! He loves the quilt, and the fact that we are such a diverse community that have bonded together so much.
    We talked about the patch and Snowhook and that whole adventure. He is really proud of what we did with the auction and the fundraising.
    Siber -he would really like you to give him some more information about how to get involved with the Iditarod. He wants to be able to report on it on a daily basis on the blog and facebook. Funny thing – he admits to being a bit of a technophobe, but he is very interested in getting into the GPS tracking of Snowhook during the race.
    We even talked about Mike Baker – he calls him the Midnight Guy -MB does all his work on the blog during the wee hours and has been tweaking the system to accomodate our many forays into the Dark Side.
    He had not had a chance to read the blog yesterday, but I told him how we all had our opinions of cast. He agreed that Brian Dennehy would have been the ultimate Bernie – but he is way too old. But he said that was how he kind of pictures Bernie too. Since I had his ear, I pitched my suggestion. He has not seen Bones and so doesn’t know the actor, but said he would look him up. Especially since Melanie agreed with me.
    Audrey is doing well after her adventure and his daughter was coming home to visit and play tennis with her father. He is working on more books and sounds like he just works constantly.
    He will be going on a book tour with the new book in the fall and thinks he has a stop scheduled in southern Vermont. I told him that if he did, I was kidnapping Melanie and bringing her – no matter what. He thinks the world of her and her “gorgeous dogs”.
    Rio – Iggy is going to be in the screenplay. I told Spence that you were ready and able to audition for the part. He said that he is hoping to be sent to colorado for a book signing, and will keep us all posted.
    So, I am now the proud owner of FOUR -count ’em – FOUR personally signed books by the great and wonderful Spencer Quinn. Plus a Frisbee. No matter what happens with the show – this was one GREAT weekend!!!

  88. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:00 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Fan-Club!…Heh!…Tupper, tell your gal that we like the Chet and Bernie Fan Club Headquarters poster in their booth!…snort!…It shows up right over Peter’s head. I wonder if he happened to see the poster while he was there…chorkel!

  89. Tupper and Gilly
    9:06 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Rio – he saw it – he chorkled too!
    And now, we are going to say goodnight. We have been going since 4 am, and the computer will only work if I am in the hotel lobby instead of in the comfy bed with my feet up – drinking an icey cold O’Doul’s. So that’s where I’m headed now. Thanks for letting me share the fun with you all today. I hope each and every Plunderer gets the chance to meet Spence – he is great!

  90. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:12 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    YEEP!… Spencer said he is “hoping” to come to Colorado?….snort!… Bet it never happens….grunt!….Bet I never ever, ever get to meet that guy…Just like I will never ever, ever get an ARC handed to me by those big paws of his. Or even a milk-bone for that matter.…sniff!….I hope there is a photo of his big paws, they really are a marvel for those who have never seen them before…chorkel! snort! …It truly is amazing that the guy can tip-tap-tippity-tap type anything…chuffle!

  91. Siber-H
    9:18 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Amalia! Fine reporting!!! Most excellent! Thank You!
    Mom and I knew you’d be a great reporter. We are glad it went so well for you and congratulations on the books.

    I will soon on the blog tell Spence what I know about following the Iditarod. I do know that if I can do it, Spence can do it. tee hee The fact that I can do it should give Spence all the confidence in the world.

  92. Snowhook Bella
    9:23 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Amalia: I am thrilled that you met SQ/PA and that you are the proud owner of an ARC. Spence is a quality guy, for sure. Thanks for the play by play of your time with Spence. Hmmm…I wonder if the book tour will bring Spence to Willow? Probably not.

    Rio: Rest, wheeze and snort all you want—it sounds like you had a tough job supervising today.

    We needed Melanie’s film making skills last night when we were filming our ‘audtion’ tape for the dogumentary casting call.

    One is the loneliest number. AJ left today for a week today for work. The house is very quiet. Too quiet.

  93. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:29 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    SiberH!… If I was you I would wait till really close to race-time next year to tell Spencer anything about how to get on the GPS site….snort!… I bet he will forget everything you tell him about it now…sniff!… Mark my words. Wait till late next February, and then all of us can get on it along with you and ole pointy-head…heh!

    Rockies!…They are inching back…sniff!… Score is now 7 to 3 top of the 4th. Plenty of time to trop on the Snakes in the Desert…grunt!

  94. BearSpiritDog
    9:32 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Good night Melanie-Good night T&G’s Mum
    Good night to every one of the Pack.
    This has been a Perfect Day – Bear

  95. B.Stover
    9:38 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    I saved SH’s instructions about the GPS site, posted June 24.

  96. Siber-H
    9:43 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Good idea, Rio, about waiting, but I will probably be advising you guys that want to join the Iditarod Insider to do it maybe mid-Feburary. That is because they are usually really busy just before the race with people joining and renewing.

    Anyone that wants to now can go to their website and sign up for their free emails…just google Iditarod Sled Dog Race…click on Iditarod 2012 at the top of the page, then click on Iditarod newsletter at the right side of the page, scroll down, and sign up.

  97. Siber-H
    9:50 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    I would also suggest for those of you that are interested that you spend some time between now and the race exploring the Iditarod’s website. There is much to learn on it, and it will help you follow the race.

  98. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    9:58 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    So vhat is big deal if Tupper meets Spencer Qvinn? Natasha spends many veekends vith him and many other famous people who spend time around his pool
    Whose Lear jet did you think Natasha borrowed to go to very important vedding little vhile back. Did you not notice all reading material on board vas by only two authors?

  99. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:02 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Iggy!…. When Amalia told Spencer that I was ready and able to audition for the part of Iggy, he totally changed the subject and made a non-committal remark about being sent to Colorado…sniff!… If I didn’t know better, I would say he doesn’t think I have a snowballs chance in hell of getting the part of Iggy…grunt!sneeze!

  100. Masquers
    10:18 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Thanks Siber-H! I may not be a Dog, but I am a Snow Kat. I will be following the 2012 Iditarod Race very closely.

  101. Siber-H
    10:26 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Masquers, A Snow Kat…That is way cool!!

  102. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:27 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Maskers!…That Kat has always been a Kool Kat…heh!snort!

  103. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:28 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Reviews!…I’m not reading any Reviews of Dog Who until after I’ve read an autographed copy of it…snort!

  104. OleyHowlers
    10:33 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Wonderful update from T&G’s mum. We just knew Spencer had to be a great guy. Thanks for sharing.

    Siber, we also want to learn how to track via GPs closer to the Iditarod.

    Good nite all… we are hoping for not-so-hot weather tomorrow.

  105. B.Stover
    10:40 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    T&G: Thank you for the pictures and report.

    Good night all.

  106. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:45 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Diamondbacks!… This is the only ballpark I know of that has a swimming pool ….grunt!…One lady on her way to the pool got hit by a ball…heh!…OH NO! Now one of the Snakes at bat got hit by the ball too – only he went down.…sniff!

  107. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:47 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    OMG!….A Grand Slam….grunt!…Not by one of our guys….huffle!

  108. Gus & BooBear
    11:08 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    T&G, your mom and dad had a fantastic day!!! We’re so glad they got to meet SQ/PA. The Iditarod is going to so much fun this year since we know Rebecca and AJ!! And all of us will be following it and talking about it on the blog. Post more pictures tomorrow if you can.

    We just re-read DOI and are starting on THAT. Want to be refreshed when the new book comes out!

  109. Siber-H
    11:10 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    I am falling asleep and I can’t take anymore of this baseball game. Rio, I bet you are close to worn out from today, but I’m glad it is all over with. I hope you can take it easy tomorrow.

    Night Everyone

  110. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:15 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Rest!….There is no rest for the Wicked….snort!… Or the Evil…heh!… We are off to bed. We actually have bedroom furniture now….woooo!… I’m on the big bed again tonight because there is no place for my warm soft bed and all my toys what with all the other furniture…sniffle!… That’s okay by me. I get to sleep under the awesome ceiling fan after I lick my sore toes and drive my friend right out of her mind…heh!snorkel!

  111. Alice M. Johnson
    11:15 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Storms coming in here. night all.

  112. Barb & Maggie
    11:50 pm on July 23rd, 2011

    Amalia, Thank you for the wonderful reporting. What a day! Hope your show went well too. Would love to hear the story telling by Leonard. Barb says to tell you she had an O’Douls on ice tonight. Great stuff!

    Offi to bed now. A little Hillerman reading befoe lights out. Sweet dreams all.

  113. dawson
    12:27 am on July 24th, 2011

    T&G: Thanks to your mum for the reports on your wonderful day. Now just put that ARC in a box and send it up here!

  114. cash
    1:20 pm on October 1st, 2011

    cash…

    […]Hello, Neat post. There’s a problem together with your web site in internet explorer, could test this? IE still is the marketplace chief and a good section of folks will miss your excellent writing due to this problem.[…]…

  115. Bed Bugs Signs
    7:33 pm on November 9th, 2011

    Bed Bugs Signs…

    […]It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this submit and if I may I desire to recommend you few fascinating issues or suggestions. Maybe you can write subsequent articles relating to this arti…

  116. buy office standard 2007 key
    6:29 pm on January 10th, 2012

    buy office standard 2007 key…

    […]I beloved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The comic strip is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an impatience over that you wish be delivering the following. sick certainly come…

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia