Publishers Weekly Reviews A Fistful of Collars.

The pseudonymous Quinn’s fine fifth Chet and Bernie mystery (after 2011’s The Dog Who Knew Too Much) finds Bernie Little and his dog, Chet, of the Little Detective Agency, strapped for cash. Fortunately, Mayor Trimble of the Valley, their hometown in an unnamed western state, has a job for them. The avaricious mayor, who has launched a Millennial Cultural Initiative to attract the movie business, has managed to land the next blockbuster action flick featuring megastar Thad Perry. Trimble wants Bernie to keep an eye on Perry, who has a history of substance abuse. The assignment gets off to a rocky start when the actor challenges Little to a fistfight at their first meeting. Some murders that coincide with the filming ensure that the unusual detecting partners have additional work to do. Once again, Quinn (thriller author Peter Abrahams) effectively uses a dog narrator while avoiding the sentimentality that marks many animal-centered cozies.

Welcome Millie the gopher hunter.

R.I.P.: Andy Griffith. Anybody ever see No Time For Sergeants?

Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, July 4th, 2012 at 8:32 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

112 Responses to “Publishers Weekly Reviews A Fistful of Collars.”

  1. OleyHowlers
    8:37 am on July 4th, 2012

    Good morning, and Happy 4th of July everyone.
    We like that review, and it doesn’t give too much away.
    Kat is one year old today; no longer a baby. How old is Pearl by now?

  2. Snowhook Bella
    8:46 am on July 4th, 2012

    Happy birthday, Kat!

    Hmmm…it seems there is another important birthday tomorrow.

  3. DeborahG-Pal
    9:21 am on July 4th, 2012

    A great thematic match to have Little act like Clint Eastwood so early on in the book. I think I’ll like this ! Never thought I’d find a reason to want the summer to end quicker so September will roll around, and all about a book release !

    While we’re waiting on this maybe the tennis matches on for this new season of the Boston Lobsters would be something to take in. Chet might like the digs at the Middleton MA Fernwood, 20 minutes north of the North End. Lots of green tennis balls bouncing around. http://www.bostonlobsters.net

  4. Jasper the Poodle
    9:26 am on July 4th, 2012

    Good morning plunderers from the middle of the mitten. All is well here. Just busy staying cool. Happy July 4th!

  5. B.Stover
    9:46 am on July 4th, 2012

    I don’t think I’ve seen No Time for Sergeants but I used to watch the Andy Griffith Show and I really enjoyed his monologue “What It Was Was Football.”

    Good morning all.

  6. Melanie
    9:48 am on July 4th, 2012

    I think it should be “Once again, Quinn . . effectively uses a dog narrator . .” to show the world he is the Top Dog!

    A memory of July 4th. When we lived outside of Boston, Dan, Zoë and I would go to the Boston Pops. WOW! They use cannons! After one year was finished we walked back to the “T” and many people were going the same way. We all started singing “America The Beautiful” and then on to “God Bless America”. We sang for blocks!

    For those of us not going to see, or whose area is WAY TOO DRY, here are the Boston Pops and some fire works.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=op6e5BcmqV0

  7. Princess Sam
    9:48 am on July 4th, 2012

    In case anyone here is interested in baseball, there’s a good review of a new John Grisham book, Calico Joe, with a baseball setting instead of a courtroom.

  8. Siber-H
    10:10 am on July 4th, 2012

    Happy Fourth of July Everyone! I’ll be glad when it is over with.

    Happy Birthday Kat! You are a teenager now. tee hee

    A good review of A Fistful of Collars! The review doesn’t give anything away.

    Melanie, Our area is WAY TO DRY, but that doesn’t stop the shooting off of legal and illegal fireworks in this state. The illegal ones seem to be the favorites.

  9. Melanie
    10:13 am on July 4th, 2012

    I found the perfect table for Alice or for any Kat who likes to be the center of attention.

  10. Siber-H
    10:14 am on July 4th, 2012

    Sam, Glad you brought up that John Grishman book. Mom has never read any of his books, but she does know this one is about baseball, so she is considering it.

    EEEK, The Rockies are in last place again in their division. sigh

  11. OleyHowlers
    10:19 am on July 4th, 2012

    We read last night’s posts and told Kat about those flower girl opportinities. She says to tell youse that she will be happy to take on any flower girl duties available. She welcomes the chance to practice for The Big Wedding coming up this Fall, where she promised Natasha she would not eat the flowers until after the ceremony. Her favorite flower is Red.

    Mom loves John Grisham, and his baseball-themed book sounds good. Thanks, Sammy.

  12. Mollypop's Mom
    10:27 am on July 4th, 2012

    Happy Birthday Kat! You are such a big girl. Siber-H is right, you’re a teenager now.

  13. Mollypop's Mom
    10:39 am on July 4th, 2012

    Oh and Kat, don’t think you can start having wild parties now or stay up until all hours on Facebookie. Not yet.

  14. Staff
    10:40 am on July 4th, 2012

    I will definitely read that John Grisham book. One of his non legal books that I loved was Playing for Pizza.

    http://www.jgrisham.com/playing-for-pizza/

    It changed the way I look at food. Of course that was also about the time I read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, a year of Food Life by Barbara Kingsolver.

  15. Melanie
    10:54 am on July 4th, 2012

    LOL, Kat’s favorite flower being red, reminds me of YSAS when he was young.
    His favorite ice cream was green. Didn’t matter what flavor, it just had to be green.

    Kat, I told Zoë that you are now one. She says you are the best behaved 1 year old she’s ever met. She has met a lot of one year olds.

    Put on my farming hat and Zoe and I went out to the lower forty to look at the crops. It wasn’t quite ready but we dug up a radish!!! We also cut some Chives. I then took the baby radish and cut it into thirds. Delish!

    The lettuce is happier under it’s covering of grass clippings. I am learning. Zoe said my tomatoes look much better than last year. We already have to tiny tomatoes growing! WOO WOO!

    YSAS got to look at the dailies. I wish I got to look at the dallies. sigh. They got 90 minutes of film which will be cut done to the 5 minute promo. Cool!

    Don’t forget to send in any pictures for the auction. I’ll be on and off all day. I still have all of mine to get to Rebecca. Snort!

  16. Sage
    10:56 am on July 4th, 2012

    Happy Birthday from one Kool Kat to another. Be sure to let your demands be heard loud and clear as befits what we Kats deserve.

    (whispering – it’s Macy’s birthday tomorrow)

  17. Siber-H
    11:04 am on July 4th, 2012

    Melanie, Will we get to see the promo?

  18. OleyHowlers
    11:05 am on July 4th, 2012

    Staff, Mom says she has not read any Grisham books for years, and didn’t even know about Playing for Pizza. She is putting both of those books on her list. Thanks.

    Melanie and Zoe, Mom appreciates those comments.

  19. Masquers
    11:09 am on July 4th, 2012

    Happy Happy…
    Birthday to Kat
    Fourth of July

    Last Night’s Full Thunder Moon

    over Vashon Island

  20. Riö –The Evil Pug
    11:19 am on July 4th, 2012

    Wimbledon!…We are taking a short break downstairs…snort!….Beau and I are watching Wimbledon while she is trying frantically to twirl some paper. She really wants to get this special Fairy Project done while she is off…grunt!

  21. Riö –The Evil Pug
    11:20 am on July 4th, 2012

    Book!…We here decided we are not going to read anything about the next Chet and Bernie book!…snort!…We want everything to be a surprise when we finally get our copy…sniff!

  22. Riö –The Evil Pug
    11:38 am on July 4th, 2012

    AAAAAGH!….Wow!…Kevin Spacey is at Wimbleton today!…snort!…Not playing, watching…heh!..I knew he lived in London cuz he has a full time job at the Ole Vic, a beautiful old theater….wuffle!

  23. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    11:38 am on July 4th, 2012

    Happy Fourth of July everyone. We are now fuller re-ensconced in Casa Wookie. Great to be home, although if you are a member of the Nation Within or our feline cousins, I would highly recommend LaQuinta Hotels. Extremely pet friendly and great air conditioning. The field next to it was populated with rabbits too, and while I didn’t catch anyway, there were certainly some good chases to be had.
    Andy Griffith was one our favoritemost actors, both as Andy Taylor and even more so as Matlock. No Time for Sargents was also a great movie. In his obit in the Wasington Post this morning, they also mentioned another movie of his (a straight dramatic role) made in 1957 called A Face in the Crowd (directed by Elia Kazan) that sounded terrific too. We will need to check it out.
    Re Grisham, his earlier books were better than the later ones, but whenever he is off mysteries, he does do better. Calico Joe has gotten good reviews and we plan on reading it here, although we may not get to it for a while.
    Wookie

  24. Rose
    11:41 am on July 4th, 2012

    Happy 4th of July to all, and most importantly to these United States!

    To the lovely red-head Kat….Happy Birthday! You are growing up to be so lovely. My favorite color flower is red, too!

    To my dear Masquers, that is a wonderful picture of the full moon! It looks so magical!

    Hmmm, Rebecca what could that important birthday be? Is it what Sage whispered or someone else’s?

    Melanie, the Prof and I loved when the entire Boston Pop’s 4th of July shows used to be broadcast on television. I think they only two 2 hours now.

    SiberH and Rio: Hey, I’m glad your Rockies are on the W column. The Yanks have not done too well against Tampa Bay.

    Sage, thanks for the reminder!

    Nice review of FOC!

    R.I.P- Andy. My family always watched his show, and Matlock, too.

  25. Rose
    11:44 am on July 4th, 2012

    Wookie, glad you are back home! The book is on its way to you.

  26. Riö –The Evil Pug
    11:45 am on July 4th, 2012

    Andy!…My friend is very very sad about the passing of Andy Griffith…sniffle!…She just loved that old guy. Is Don Knots still alive? We sure hope so…wheeze!

  27. Mollypop's Mom
    11:46 am on July 4th, 2012

    I’m not reading the sneak preview or book reviews either. I like to dig into a book fresh from the start.

  28. Riö –The Evil Pug
    11:48 am on July 4th, 2012

    Rose!…What are you guys doing today?…snort!….We are hiding out in the basement hoping O’Brother does not need our help out there. He is putting up the fence slats this morning…heh!…All by himself with her mother supervising…snort!

  29. Rose
    11:48 am on July 4th, 2012

    Rio: Don Knotts died in February of 2006. He was 81. sniff

  30. Rose
    11:52 am on July 4th, 2012

    Rio, the Prof and I are trying our best to stay cool. We will probably do some mall walking, and then go dinner. Since I have to go back to the busy, busy place tomorrow, I will be turning in early.

    I had a very bad dream about bugs this morning. Any ideas on that?

  31. Rose
    11:58 am on July 4th, 2012

    Rio, you will be doing a lot of supervising for the action. Enjoy some r&r and stay cool! Is your friend planning on any 4th of July grilling?

  32. Riö –The Evil Pug
    12:15 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Blog!…Is acting up!…grunt!…Can’t post my last comment, keeps saying it is a duplicate, but it never posted…heh!

  33. Riö –The Evil Pug
    12:18 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Plans!…My supervisory work never seems to end while O’Brother is here…snort!…But right now I am resting in the coolness of the basement…heh!…Beau is doing a bit of Assistant Managing while I’m on break…grunt!…He doesn’t really know what he is managing, but acting like a big-shot is natural to him…heh!

  34. Riö –The Evil Pug
    12:53 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Testing!…One two!…grunt!

  35. Mollypop's Mom
    1:01 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Rio – that just happened to me too. Mike Baker isn’t here, and you know, the mice will play when the cat’s away.

  36. BearSpiritDog
    1:02 pm on July 4th, 2012

    A Beautiful Day here in the Pacific NW

  37. OleyHowlers
    1:05 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Gorgeous photo, Bear.

  38. Riö –The Evil Pug
    1:08 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Swimming!…It that Tom, Dick and Harry out there swimming??…snort!

  39. Masquers
    1:17 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Riö: Those boys do know how to have a good time. They are enjoying their holiday, as are we.

  40. Riö –The Evil Pug
    1:40 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Fun!…All I know is there seems to be a whole lot more beer around here for everyone now that Tom, Dick and Harry are gone..heh!heh!…Wooooooo!

  41. Gus & BooBear
    1:54 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Happy July 4th, everyone!! Things are quiet here since both Mom and Dad just have the one day off. But they both think they would live just having a 4 day work week everyweek.

    Happy Birthday, Kat! What a way to celebrate…getting to go to the big event. Now you won’t be nervous when you are in Siber and Natasha’s wedding.

    Happy Birthday early, Macy. Mom won’t be able to post during the day tomorrow and wanted to get that in. Don’t forget to post some pics of you and your kiddos since they are visiting.

    Welcome back home Wookie! Hotels can be fun but, let’s face it, there’s no place like home.

    We read the chapters of the new book and it’s going to be a good one. Thank you SQ for the sneak peak.

    Rebecca, we’re so sorry about Bridger. May his way over the bridge be peaceful.

    Can’t wait for the auction.

    G&BB

  42. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    1:57 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Harvest report here from Chevy Chase. We have our first two fully ripe Cherokee Purples. I guess the scorching heat was good for something after all. And the Bloody Butchers that are now coming in are a bit better too than the earlier ones. We are having real problems with our zucchini though. Mom planted the round ones, which have done very well in past years, but this year, while the plants themselves are growing gangbusters and we have lots of florets, the zucchini themselves basically stay as very small balls and then start to rot. Any advice out there on what is going on or what we did wrong.

    Also, one of our favorite flowers is now in full bloom — a strange one though called Lucifer’s Tongue. They have naturalized very well over the years; we started with just one or two plants and now they have taken over a good portion of one of our side gardens. We don’t mind though, because they are so dramatically beautiful. Picture below (well, maybe not, it doesn’t seem to want to attach; I may try again later).

    Wookie

  43. Riö –The Evil Pug
    2:00 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Wookie!…Take the apostophe out of the file name of your photo…grunt!…This here blog software cannont handle punctuation in file names…sniff!

  44. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    2:01 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Let me try again. Better.

  45. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    2:02 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Rio. Thanks. I forgot. Wookie

  46. Melanie
    2:08 pm on July 4th, 2012

    OleyHowlers, your cake was eaten. It was used in Mac and Ros’s 8th Birthday!

    I’ve put some up on Facebook. Here a couple.

    The Rush For Birthday Cake!

  47. Melanie
    2:09 pm on July 4th, 2012

    And then enjoyment!

  48. Riö –The Evil Pug
    2:11 pm on July 4th, 2012

    CAKE!…snort!…I love CAKE!…sneeze!

  49. Riö –The Evil Pug
    2:14 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Fairies!…Well the girls have their hair done, their faces on, and now finally they have donned their bling and hats!…snort!…They are all done!done!done!…grunt!…But the garden setting still has to be put in place for the little princess’s to flutter around in….wuffle!

  50. Riö –The Evil Pug
    2:15 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Attention!… We thought we were going to have to supervise lunch, but O’Brother is finally FULL…heh!heh!…He is having a beer instead of lunch…sniff!…I want some too!…dammit!

  51. Trigger
    2:16 pm on July 4th, 2012


    Happy Fourth Everyone!

  52. Gus & BooBear
    2:22 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Melanie, which one of the pack doesn’t have his/her summer haircut yet?

  53. OleyHowlers
    2:23 pm on July 4th, 2012

    So glad they got their cake and liked it too! :)

    Do you have pics of Tupper, Gilly, and Kat having some?

  54. Melanie
    2:45 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Love the picture Trigger!

    i think it’s Rose and Ellie that don’t have summer cuts. Ellie is not getting one. Rose is due for one.

    I don’t think I have them. Maybe I took them with MollyPop’s Mom’s camera?

  55. OleyHowlers
    3:15 pm on July 4th, 2012

    We are finally going to catch up on this season’s Burn Notice!!! Thats our way to beat the heat.

  56. Riö –The Evil Pug
    4:08 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Rose!….Check your SDD and report back ASAP!…grunt!

  57. Jasper the Poodle
    4:18 pm on July 4th, 2012

    I helped mom finish up another quilt project. I reminded mom to send Melanie the pictures of her two projects for Snowhook, which she just did.

    Mom’s catching up on her DVR treasures. She’s been watching Antiques Roadshow and House Hunters

    Some fireworks have been canceled here in the mitten area as the surroundings are so very dry there is a risk of fire.

    A Catholic church near sissy burned to the ground a couple of days ago. All causes of the fire have been ruled out. Stray fireworks is the only remaining possiblity, as the fire started on the roof.

    Sissy has finished her 5th chemo treatment and hardly had any of the expected bad symptoms. One more treatment and she is done with chemo. After the last chemo and clearance from her docs, the reconstruction can continue with removal of the expanders and the insertion of the implants. So glad to see the end of this journey.

  58. OleyHowlers
    4:40 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Jasper, that is very good news about Sissy.

  59. BearSpiritDog
    4:45 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Excellent news, Jasper. Looking forward to your mom’s new projects.

  60. BearSpiritDog
    4:46 pm on July 4th, 2012

    As I was saying…..

  61. Mollypop's Mom
    4:46 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Here’s Kat at Tupper, Gilly, Basil and Sage’s house. Note her noble dog pose and smile.

  62. Mollypop's Mom
    4:49 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Tupper and Gilly eating cake.

  63. Mollypop's Mom
    4:52 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Kat meets Dan, Zoe and the pack. Notice Zoe’s shirt.

  64. Melanie
    4:57 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Hi DeborahG-Pal! Your post didn’t come up for awhile. I don’t think I’ve heard of the Boston Lobsters. Well, I’ve heard of Boston lobsters and have had a few. The Pack always enjoys the left overs. I will have to look up the Boston Lobsters with two capital letters.

    Today was a good day. Dan had a great time. He wore his Navy hat and the flag was flying. He got outside and looked at all the gardens. He was very impressed. The red squirrels and chippies were entertaining him. He went in after lunch and is still asleep.

    I took Patsy in the dog pool! She liked it. Patsy Liked It! Amazing. She got out and all the other dogs were sound asleep on Zoe’s bed. I tried out one of our new lounge pool chairs. You notice the “tried”. Got on and slid right off, book in hand, glasses on and hat on my head. Snort! At least I had enough sense not to take the Kindle in there.

    I finally got all settled. You can’t have your feet down and your glutemous maximus (snicker) gets quite a work out. I read. It was wonderful. Then the phone rang and when I tried to reach for it . . slid right off again.

    No worries, it was YSAS thinking he had called the Chinese Butcher! Jeeze Louise!

    Happy 4th to us all!

  65. OleyHowlers
    6:39 pm on July 4th, 2012

    For our 4th of July dinner: hamburgers, naturally. (from our 1/4 steer), roasted potatoes, peppers from our garden, and a whole lot of peas from our garden. We think the peas may be almost finished their season. :(
    Only green tomatoes so far, unfortunately.

  66. OleyHowlers
    6:40 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Oops, we meant to say roasted potatoes, onions, and peppers from the garden. Well the peppers are the ones frozen from last year, as this year’s aren’t red yet.

  67. Rose
    6:47 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Rio, the Prof and I got back from mall walking and dinner, and then I had to get clothes ready for the rest of the work week.

    Read and responded to your SDD.

    I think you will need to come to New York one July 4th so you can participate in Coney Island’s hot dog eating contest!

  68. Rose
    6:55 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Jasper, that is such good news about sissy!

    MPM, I am loving your pictures. Kat looks particularly regal (maybe a little sleepy, too)! I think her photo would be a great auction item…..

  69. OleyHowlers
    7:04 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Melanie, we couldn’t figure out who DeborahG-Pal is…thought you were talking to yourself. But we lookedback near the top of today’s post, and there it is! That post was not there earlier.
    Hi DBP! Love the Lobster!

  70. BearSpiritDog
    7:16 pm on July 4th, 2012

    That is odd that Deborah’s post didn’t show up earlier. Perhaps it was being moderated…..

  71. Riö –The Evil Pug
    7:22 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Moderation!…All newbies are moderated…grunt!

    Rose!…Thanks for finally responding…sniff!

    Photos!…Great Photos! I love seeing Dan The Man and Zoe!…Wooooo!

  72. Rose
    7:23 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Bear, the picture you posted is beautiful. wish I was there!

    Wookie, the flowers are lovely.

  73. Rose
    7:24 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Rio, please forgive my tardiness in responding.

  74. Riö –The Evil Pug
    7:24 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Contest!…We were watching that Coney Island Hot-Dawg eating contest and then her mother decided that we needed to help her brother and then someone had to go pick up some groceries for the Burger Fest tonight..grunt!…So we did not see who won or how many dawgs were consumed…wheeze!

  75. BearSpiritDog
    7:24 pm on July 4th, 2012

    MollyPop’s Mom: Love your photos! Kat has a big smile…Dan looks happy too.

    Rose: It’s tough to go back to work after only one day off.

    O.Howlers: Your dinner sounded good…it’s time for ours in a bit.

    We’ll be back tomorrow – Bear

  76. Rose
    7:44 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Bear, that is an understatement! It will not be easy waking up at 5am tomorrow. YAWN! I’ll be hitting the sack in about fifteen minutes.

  77. Riö –The Evil Pug
    7:49 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Fairies!…Okay, someone said I could post a photo of each of the little fairies…sniff!…They don’t have names yet, so if you can think of any let me know…heh!heh!

  78. Riö –The Evil Pug
    7:50 pm on July 4th, 2012
  79. Rose
    7:54 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Rio, Wow! The fairies are beautiful! Your friend outdoes herself with each new quilling!

  80. Rose
    7:58 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Goodnight all! I will go to sleep with those fairies in my dreams!

  81. bluecat
    7:58 pm on July 4th, 2012

    OMD, Rio. Those are so cute! :-) Your friend is very creative.

    Thanks for all the pictures today, guys. Off to listen to A Duck May Be Somebody’s Mother music…

  82. Rose
    7:59 pm on July 4th, 2012

    One more thing…Rebecca, I saw the fires in Utah on the news…Worried about you. Hope you and your family are okay.

  83. Riö –The Evil Pug
    8:03 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Fires!…Now there is a fire in Wyoming and we are getting all the smoke here….grump!sneeze!

  84. Riö –The Evil Pug
    8:04 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Attached!…Someone here is very attached to those little girls, but she will have to part with them very soon…wuffle!…Once she finds the right box to mail them away in, that is…sniff!

  85. Masquers
    8:21 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Riö: Wow! I must say, those fairies are amazing. Rose said it…your friend gets better and better with each new project.

  86. OleyHowlers
    8:25 pm on July 4th, 2012

    The fairies a lovely, Rio.

    Bluecat, what kind of music???

  87. Princess Sam
    8:25 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Love the Lobster. Fear the Fish.

  88. Melanie
    8:28 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Nice little girls Rio!

    I’m about finished watering the garden. It should start raining soon. The radar looks like it’s going to go North and South of us again.

    Yawning like mad. Hope no neighbor has bought any fireworks.

    TTFN

  89. Snowhook Bella
    8:33 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Rose: I am staying with my parents and are currently safe from fires. My aunt and uncle’s house as well as my cousin’s house may be in harms way. They were told last night to prepare in case they need to be evacuated. My brother and I are waiting for the word should they needs us to help.

    Rio: The fairies are wonderful!

  90. Riö –The Evil Pug
    8:45 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Gah!…We had wonderful burgers for supper and then someone cleaned up and did dishes, all the while the Rockies game is on…grump!…Then her mother wanted her to trim all the roses and start the water in there…sniff!…Someone started the water and said it was too damed hot to trim dawg-damned rosed…huffle!…Especially while the game is ticking away…grumble!

  91. Snowhook Bella
    8:46 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Jasper: I am glad to hear sissy is doing well. She is in our thoughts.

  92. bluecat
    9:04 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Howlers – sorry. I’m being a wise a**. Lyrics sung to Stars and Stripes Forever:

    Author: Unknown

    Be kind to your web-footed friends
    For a duck may be somebody’s mother,
    Be kind to your friends in the swamp
    Where the weather is always damp.

    You may think that this is the end,
    Well it is, but to prove we’re all liars,
    We’re going to sing it again,
    Only this time we’ll sing a little higher.

    ‘Night all.

  93. Masquers
    9:07 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Bella: Our prayers are that your uncle & aunt and cousin will not be told to evacuate. This year has been especially difficult for those affected by fires burning out of control.

  94. Staff
    9:07 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Be kind to your web footed friends
    for a duck may be somebodys mother
    Be kind to your friends in the swamp
    Where the weather is very very damp.
    Well you may think that this is the end…
    Well it is.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Stars_and_Stripes_Forever

  95. Staff
    9:12 pm on July 4th, 2012
  96. Riö –The Evil Pug
    9:13 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Fires!…Where is the RAIN!?!…gah!gasp!

  97. Riö –The Evil Pug
    9:16 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Names!…My friend just thought of the perfect names for the Fairies…snort!…Shirley and Laverne…heh!heh!

  98. Riö –The Evil Pug
    9:32 pm on July 4th, 2012

    SiberH!… Are you watching the game tonight?…snort!…Or are you out supervising the watering and other such nonsense?…sniffle!…My friend put her foot down in the nick of time tonight or we would have missed the whole game…grunt!…She is sick and tired of being bossed around doing this and that on her so-called jerk vacation…sniff!…I don’t blame her a bit for being hot under the collar – maybe she will be too hot to take us for walks tonight…woooo!hope!woooo!

  99. Masquers
    9:38 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Heh! Good choice of names, Riö.
    How do you walk in this heat? Take a break and watch the game. It’s a holiday, after all.

    Elliot & A Catty Librarian stay safe.

  100. Snowhook Bella
    9:45 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Masquers: I like the idea that if banks are cllosed, nary a brutal walk is endured.

  101. Riö –The Evil Pug
    9:45 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Maskers!…Good Question!…snort!…And the best suggestion I’ve heard all day!…snuff!

  102. Masquers
    9:52 pm on July 4th, 2012

    This is what we are doing…watching the sun set over the water…
    the end to a purrfect day.

  103. Riö –The Evil Pug
    9:54 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Maskers!…Its not The End of the day yet!…snort!….Wottsa matter with you?…heh!heh!

  104. Masquers
    10:14 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Just winding down after a good meal…time to relax and enjoy…good times, good company.
    Fireworks will be starting soon.

  105. OleyHowlers
    10:29 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Here is hoping that all those near the fires are safe, and that their homes remain untouched.

  106. Kat
    10:33 pm on July 4th, 2012

    What a perfect day I had. All around us tonight were fireworks, to celebrate my birthday!!! Can youse guys believe all these communities wanted to celebrar me me me??!!!! I loved all of the beautiful fireworks, but my favorites were the red ones.
    Good night to all.

    Kat

  107. Riö –The Evil Pug
    11:07 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Red!…Maybe Kat sses Red like I do a lot lately…heh!heh!…The fireworks are going full-blast out there…sniff!…Even though there is a city-wide ban…grump!…Doesn’t seem to bother Beau in the least – dammit!

  108. Riö –The Evil Pug
    11:08 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Maskers!…Can I come live with youse guys?…sniff!…Sounds and looks like you got the best life ever!…snorkel!

  109. Staff
    11:10 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Fireworks here in the city also. We have a neighbor who always sets some off even thought fireworks are illegal in Minnesota.
    Off to bed.

  110. Riö –The Evil Pug
    11:14 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Walk!…Well, wheeze! we walked and walked and now we are dying. I am DYING HERE!…grump!….Some 4th of July.

  111. Riö –The Evil Pug
    11:20 pm on July 4th, 2012

    Fireworks!…Thats where SiberH is tonight!…grunt!..Down in his sound-proof cellar that he’s been digging ever since last 4th of July….heh!heh!…I missed him today during the game and even before the game…wheeze!…HOT HERE! STILL DYING!…pant!pant!gasp!

  112. Macy the Min-pin
    12:53 am on July 5th, 2012

    Fireworks were survived here. We were not invited to go to the park with all the two-leggeds, but that is fine, we could hear just fine from the comfort of our couches. Biddy and Holly came over to listen with us.

    Happy Birthday, Kat, you are such a big girl now.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia