National Examiner Review: The Dog Who Knew Too Much

The Dog Who Knew Too Much by Spencer Quinn is the latest in the Chet and Bernie series of fun mysteries. Bernie is a burnt out veteran who runs a private detective agency and Chet is a K9 working dog dropout. Together they make a formidable team.

The story is told from Chet’s perspective most of the time but that works well here. Mr. Quinn has a good feel for a dog’s mind and cleverly uses Chet to not only advance the story line but also provide background and tension relief.

In this book, Bernie and Chet have been hired to provide “bodyguard” service for a woman who is heading out to a wilderness camp to pick up her son. Unfortunately her son disappears during an overnight hike out in the woods. Throw in an ex-husband with issues, a corrupt security firm that would like Chet on their team and a mountain community that survives off meth labs. And did I forget the gold mine?

The characters are always memorable and realistic with great dialogue along with Chet’s observations. Bernie has great insights into people and a heart as big as his dog.

I have found each book in this series to be a quick but highly enjoyable read. My one complaint is the cover artwork on this one. It is beautiful, but anyone who has read the series and knows Chet realizes there is no way he is a Border Collie. Not at 100 pounds and not as a police dog drop out.

The book sells for $25. You can order this via your local independent bookstore or check out Barnes and Noble. You can also order this as a Kindle book via Amazon.com. – Debra Eldredge

Welcome Mollie & Sis, Chloe, Shelly from Vegas.

Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, October 5th, 2011 at 7:52 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

139 Responses to “National Examiner Review: The Dog Who Knew Too Much”

  1. OleyHowlers
    8:04 am on October 5th, 2011

    Good morning, Chet, Spence, Admin and everyone else.
    Those new friends are all so cute. Pop says Shelly can sleep in his bed anytime!

    This is a GREAT review ! (sorry, B…I know she used “read” as a noun). We especially like that Debra agres with most of us about Chet not being a Border Collie.

  2. OleyHowlers
    8:07 am on October 5th, 2011

    and….Happy Birthday to Zoe? Melanie? We aren’t sure which, but its one of their birthday. And Mom and Pop are not bakers. What to do what to do…

  3. B.Stover
    8:25 am on October 5th, 2011

    I like her comments about the cover.

    Good morning Howlers and all.

    Happy birthday Zoe.

  4. Tyb
    8:32 am on October 5th, 2011

    A good review. I, too, like her comments about the cover, but it just goes to prove that “You can’t always judge a book by its cover.” Groan. Sorry, I couldn’t resist that.

  5. dawson
    9:04 am on October 5th, 2011

    Good morning everyone.
    OleyHowlers: All Chet’s friends are cool looking. How’s Sheik? Is his named spelled Sheik or Shiek?
    Happy Birthday Zoe! May all your wishes come true.
    B.Stover. What did the camera see inside your brother?
    Tyb: No comment!
    The Borzoi: If you need any Borscht we have about 5 gallons of it. Yummy! The beets did well in the garden this year.

  6. OleyHowlers
    9:08 am on October 5th, 2011

    Hi B, Tyb, and Dawson!
    He spells his name “SHIEK”. When he first purchased our mom, she tried to get a name plate that spelled it correctly. Then she realized that is how its spelled on his birth certificate, so thats how its spelled.
    Thanks for asking about him. He seems to be healing this time around. We’ll see what the vet says. Meashka has been watching that wound carefully, and she thinks it is doing well.
    Tyb: we liked that old joke…heh heh!
    Natasha: Dime thinks he is excited that finally someone may wish to flirt with him. He is such a deep soul though…better be careful with him (or Mom’ll getcha). And he is most definitely NOT cosmopolitan!

  7. Melanie
    9:16 am on October 5th, 2011

    I’m glad people and four footed are healing!

    HOW COULD I FORGET! Spencer did mention the cover but it was to someone in line to get their book signed. I overheard him say that Chet is more like the silhouettes in the first three books not the fourth book.

    Hey as I said I need a lot of hints and birdies telling me things!

    Anyhoo! It is Zoë’s birthday! She said she didn’t want her age so I said she could pick another one. So today she is in her late 50’s!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY ZOE!

  8. BearSpiritDog
    9:39 am on October 5th, 2011

    Good Morning Everyone!
    Melanie: Another Masterpiece!
    Happy Birthday Zoe!!! Have a Wonderful Day!!!
    BBl (Not quite awake yet)

  9. Melanie
    9:47 am on October 5th, 2011

    Bluecat looks marvelous!
    Dawson, you have a very strange sense of humor, oh, what a minute, I think that is like mine . . .
    Dawson, you have a great sense of humor.

    You’re welcome, Wolfie’s Dad (wow, he has a name!)

    Poor Turtleman Fred . . . Did he end up working with turtles?

    Abbie, for a minute I thought that was a picture of your dad up in the ultralight!

    Morning all!

  10. Rose
    9:50 am on October 5th, 2011

    Greetings to All!

    Zoe: Have the happiest of birthdays today!!!

    Melanie: You outdo yourself with every cake! Magnificent!

    Enjoyed the review…I still like Chet on the cover!

    SNEEZE! Whatever I had and thought was gone, has now returned. SNEEZE!

  11. Rose
    9:52 am on October 5th, 2011

    Thanks for reminding me, Melanie… Bluecat, you are quite a handsome kat! Glad we can see you now!

  12. Tyb
    10:00 am on October 5th, 2011

    Melanie,
    Another great cake. I don’t have TV, but I understand that there is a cake show on the food channel. You should be on it. The only problem I see with your cakes, and it appears consistently with them all, is the fact that I couldn’t cut them. Thank dog for photographs.

  13. Barb & Maggie
    10:14 am on October 5th, 2011

    Happy Birthday, Zoe. And many more! Great cake as usual. What are you going to do next year, Melanie? It will be hard to top the ones you did in 2011.

    We also thought the review was very good, and liked the comments about the cover. However, thought she gave away a little TMI.

    In case you missed it last night, Melanie, we went back and looked at your photos on Sunday. Great job reporting and loved the pics!

  14. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:22 am on October 5th, 2011

    Zoe!…Happy Birthday and many many more….heh!….I’ve sent you this special card just from me…wheeze!

    http://www.americangreetings.com/ecards/view.pd?i=546215886&m=9432&rr=y&source=ag999&c=emag63458

  15. Melanie
    10:26 am on October 5th, 2011

    Thanks TYB! Yes, I’m great at virtual cakes. For tonight’s real dessert tonight are Chocolate Frosted Chocolate with Chocolate Bits in them!

    I’m great with those too.

  16. Melanie
    10:29 am on October 5th, 2011

    Riö, just showed your card to Zoë.
    She loves it and said she could feel your kisses!
    Thank you!

  17. Melanie
    10:30 am on October 5th, 2011

    Thanks Barb & MagPie, Glad you liked it. I felt it was necessary as a reporter for our Supreme Commander Riö the Evil Pug!

  18. Masquers
    10:30 am on October 5th, 2011

    BlueCat! So nice to “see” you.

    To my dear friend Rose. Sorry about that nasty bug sticking around. Feel better soon!

    Howlers: Shiek on the mend is good news indeed! I know Meashka is taking good care of him.

    Liked this review – I think the best of all so far. Especially the remark about the cover. Melanie, that is a relief to hear Spence say Chet looks like the first 3 covers.

    Dawson: That soup sounds very interesting. We remember cooking beets years ago – a seemingly endless process. The expression became: The Beet Goes On. lol.

    Zoe, I hope you are having an extra special birthday and may all your wishes come true.

  19. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:37 am on October 5th, 2011

    Melanie!….Ask Zoe if she could feel my snaggle-tooth teeth too….heh!

  20. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:52 am on October 5th, 2011

    Snakes!….Did you guys see how the Arizona Diamondbacks blew by the Milwaukee Brewers last night…heh!heh!… I think they will have no problem winning the next 2 games…wooooo!

  21. OleyHowlers
    11:21 am on October 5th, 2011

    Happy Birthday, Zoe! Of all ages…late 50s? Mom says she’d pick much younger if she had a choice. Melanie, as always the cake is a masterpiece.
    Rio, we really love your card. We are feeling mighty sticky tho.
    Rose, we are very sad that your bug has returned. We hope it is a short-lived recurrance.
    Barb, we think the reviewer gave just enough “hints” to entice readers…not too much info.
    Melanie, so happy to hear that even Spence agrees with us that Chet is not a Border Collie.

  22. Buddy and T.C.
    11:22 am on October 5th, 2011

    Happy Birthday, Zoe!

    And, Bluecat, you sure are good-looking!

  23. Rose
    11:26 am on October 5th, 2011

    Let’s go, Yankees! They played an impressive game last night. I am not twirling yet, since we still have the final game tonight.

    SNEEZE, COUGH!

    Masquers, thanks for you get well wishes. Wish I could snuggle with you and give you scritches right now. Even though I am wearing a shirt, scarf, and sweater, I am freezing!!!!!!

  24. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:31 am on October 5th, 2011

    Stolen!…. Big news in our state!…whew!….Thank goodness the criminal was caught pug-handed…grunt!

    http://www.9news.com/news/local/article/223010/222/Stolen-pug-puppy-found-safe-

  25. Rose
    11:35 am on October 5th, 2011

    OH: Bugs, whether viral or of the flying variety, seem to be attracted to me.

    I saw this on the news this morning. I can’t even imagine what these poor people went through.

    http://onlinenewswebsite.com/bear-attacks-couple-in-newport-pennsylvania-home/109846/

  26. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:39 am on October 5th, 2011

    Dead!….Oh no!…sniff!… Leslie Nielsen has died. He was one of my favorite comedic actors of all time….sob!sob!sob!….Leslie you were the best!…snuffle!

  27. OleyHowlers
    11:42 am on October 5th, 2011

    Rio! I wish the pug puppy would have been taken from the pet shop (hate those) into a happy pug home.

    Rose, we are imagine the havoc that bear could cause in our home. Especially with Buddy and the Elusive T.C. (who would be more elusive than ever).

  28. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:48 am on October 5th, 2011

    Puppy!…I can’t believe that girl-pug cost $1200.00…grunt!…I wonder what she paid for me???…hmmm.

  29. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    11:49 am on October 5th, 2011

    Bee….any test results yet?

    Happy Birthday Zoe!

  30. Rose
    11:51 am on October 5th, 2011

    Rio: I am saddened to hear the news about Leslie Nielsen.

    OH: Do you live in proximity to the are this happened in?

  31. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:56 am on October 5th, 2011

    Proximity!… No, we do not live near Fort Lauderdale Florida…grunt!

  32. Tyb
    12:03 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Tyb and Rose,
    Where have you been? Leslie Nielsen died in November 2010. The only reason I know that is because I googled him to see who he was. I recognized the name but couldn’t put a face with it.

  33. Tyb
    12:04 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Where have I been? That last post was to Rio and Rose, not to Rose and me.

  34. Siber-H
    12:06 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Happy Birthday Zoe!! I hope, my friends, the Newfs got you something special for your birthday.

    Borzoi, If there is anything a Siber isn’t, it is cosmoplitan. We are just good looking. Rio is far more sophisticated than us.

    It is nice to learn that Spence agrees with us about the way Chet looks. One can read between the lines and say that the Border Collie wasn’t his idea, but it is a very lovely Border Collie.

  35. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    12:20 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Happy Birhtday to Zoe
    Happy Bithday to Zoe
    Happy Birthday Dear Zoe
    Happy Birthday to You
    . . . . And Many More
    Wookie the troubadour golden

  36. Tupper and Gilly
    12:25 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Hi Everyone!

    HAPPY CRANBERRY BIRTHDAY TO THE MOST BEAUTIFUL AND ADMIRABLE ZOE, NEWF BREEDER EXTRODINAIRE!!!

    So, today is the last prep day before the show. Tomorrow is the start of set up (a two day affair). Nerves are running high around here. Mama keeps saying, “What if nobody wants my work? I would have to stay in CLL!” At this point, Dad and Gramp are so tired of hearing her say it, they don’t even bother to answer. We on the other hand understand her nerves, and are taking extra care to give the best Corgi hugs we can.

    She is back to making her lists to get ready :
    Cut business cards,
    Vacuum show carpet
    Make price stickers
    Pack pens, markers, tape, stapler, scissors etc
    Print info cards
    Breathe
    (we put that last one in – she keeps forgetting that one)

    Oops – she’s off and running – we will check back in later……

  37. OleyHowlers
    12:32 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rose, we don’t live very close to the Bear incident. It looks like it was closer to the middle of PA…above Harrisburg. We were surprised to see that…figured it would be closer to Tyb. Tyb, didn’t you say you live in NW PA?

    Rio, whatever your friend paid…you are priceless (as are we all).

    T&G: Thanks for helping to calm down your mum. Please give her extra kisses for us. Who wouldn’t want her work? Don’t get us started.

  38. Masquers
    12:34 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Tyb: You are quite right. Leslie Nielsen died at 84 on November 28, 2010. Rio: He was one of our all-time favorites too. I believe he started out as a romantic lead before he switched to comedy. Airplane was a classic!

  39. Siber-H
    12:34 pm on October 5th, 2011

    The post season baseball games are getting really interesting now.

    Mom wants to show up at Melanie’s house tonight and have a piece of Zoe’s birthday cake…just ignore mom.

    I’m glad the puppy was found safe, but the poor puppy probably came from a pupppy mill to start with since it was being sold at a pet store. The greater Albuquerque area has outlawed the selling of puppies and kittens at pet stores. The pet stores are allowed to have adoption events with rescue groups.

  40. Riö - The Evil Pug
    12:41 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Old-News!…..hmmmmphf!….That article about Leslie Nielson was on the same page with the bears….grunt!…I thought it was current because I do not remember hearing about Leslie Nielson dying last year….sob!sob!sob!

  41. Siber-H
    12:43 pm on October 5th, 2011

    T&G All of us will be sending out powerful thoughts for your mom this weekend so she doesn’t have to stay in CCL.

    Bears, It was about ten years ago that a bear broke into the small home of an elderly lady in northern NM and killed her. This is very unusual behavior for a NM bear.

  42. Riö - The Evil Pug
    12:44 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Lonetree!….My friend says she wants to drive all the way to Lonetree and get that girl-pug…sniff!….She’s under the false impression that girl-pugs behave better than guys like me….heh!…. I only listen when I want to listen, and there’s no changing that….gruffle!

  43. OleyHowlers
    12:52 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Siber, Alburquerque sounds like a great place. Here in PA, we FINALLY got a puppy bill passed that forced some minimum humane restrictions on the kennels here. For example, forced them to get medical service for a sick or hurt dog. Now the Rs in our State Legislature, are trying to overturn even that. grrrr.

  44. Masquers
    12:54 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rio: A girl pug! Nattie would be heartbroken.

    Bears Behaving Badly. Makes one think twice about camping in the wilds or even in your own back yard!

  45. Melanie
    1:00 pm on October 5th, 2011

    That last sentence doesn’t make me feel very safe! “A spokeswoman with the Division said bears can behave more brazenly as they approach the hibernation season.”

    Glad the Pug pup is safe and hope she goes to a GREAT forever home.

    Siber-H: Forgot to write that all that chocolate stuff was brownies! You and your mom are still welcome to come over.

    Saw a picture just right for The Royals’ Mum. Have to find it.

  46. Melanie
    1:02 pm on October 5th, 2011

    GOT IT!

  47. Siber-H
    1:04 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Fellow Sibers, Albuquerque is pretty forward thinking on animal welfare, but the rest of the state…NOT SO MUCH

    Melanie, Mom says that brownies are just as wonderful as chocolate cake.

  48. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:14 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Yeep!…Has anyone heard from Rebecca lately?….yeep!yeep!….What if she left her door open and a bear or a moose got in and and…..snort!….Rebeccer! Where are you?….sniffle!

  49. OleyHowlers
    1:28 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Melanie, that to-do list is wonderful! We are going to get Mom to do hers that way.

    Youse guys will hate this one…but here is the story of something horrible that happened within a few miles from where we live. It is what prompted the puppy mill bill that was passed later that same year, that the current legislature is trying to overturn.
    http://abcnews.go.com/TheLaw/wireStory?id=5572228

  50. Siber-H
    1:44 pm on October 5th, 2011

    What that article is calling a kennel, I would call a puppy mill.
    What happened is evil. I hope they don’t get that bill overturned.
    We don’t seem to have a puppy mill problem in this state, but we have cruelty, neglect, hoarding, and stupidity.

  51. OleyHowlers
    1:51 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Here is an article about our Puppy Mill bill, which our very good friend helped to get passed. We also hope they don’t succeed in overturning it or watering it down.
    http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2010/06/11/national/main6572767.shtml

  52. BearSpiritDog
    2:00 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rio! We were thinking the same thing. Where is Rebecca!
    O.Howlers: I can’t watch that link if it is anything bad having to do with the Nation within. Paws over eyes here.
    Royal Mum: We have no doubt you will have a Wonderfully Successful Show this weekend. Goodbye to CLL!
    B: Any test results? We are still waiting to hear.

  53. Siber-H
    2:00 pm on October 5th, 2011

    That’s a good bill! Call, write, and email your representatives and suggest that other people do the same. Keep us posted.
    NM was one of the last states to outlaw dog and cock fighting.

  54. BearSpiritDog
    2:07 pm on October 5th, 2011

    O.Howlers: Why would any Rep. want to overturn that bill! Seems their only interest these days is putting more money in their own pockets.

    Melanie: We have adopted your fine To Do List. I especially like the last item on it.

  55. OleyHowlers
    2:15 pm on October 5th, 2011

    BSD: We don’t blame you for not reading that…thats why we gave the warning.
    There are a lot of bad people in the world. Aren’t we all so lucky that we adopted GOOD humans?

  56. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:53 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Missing!….i’m giving Rebeccer one more hour to show up then I’m calling the Alaskan CSI on my little Go-Phone….snort!

  57. Chet The Dog
    3:06 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Message from Admin to Rebecca: heavy sliding bolt locks are the best.

  58. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:13 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rebeccer!…Listen to Chet!…snort!…He knows all about locks….sniff!

  59. Snowhook Bella
    3:15 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rio: I am present and accounted for. I locked the doors and no wayward bears have made it into the house. Sorry to be MIA. I am working from home all week while AJ is away with the exception of yesterday—I left for work when it was dark and returned hom from work when it was dark. I had a migrane and wasn’t thinking clearly which resulted in me forgetting to get dog food. I spent the evening sparcing out our people food: hamburgers, fish and left over steak along with a helping of kibble to make sure everyone had enough to eat—this took a lot of time and took a lot of explaining. I got up early to drive back to town to get dog food and they’re closed until this afternoon—sniggle to the fritzth degree.

    Mr, Wolfie’s Dad: Happy belated birthday!

    Happy 50th to Zoe!

    T&G: I am willing you great success at the show this weekend and a life sans Crazy Lady.

    Rio again: Your friend’s project is beautiful. I agree that she should enter shows. What if the Royals’ mum and an evil pug combined artistic forces and had a show or studio together? Stinky Mama and Flat Head Pug Designs or Snort, a Burptique…

    Natasha: I assure you that W.L. Didn’t mean to toy with your affections. He thought your heart belonged to another.

  60. BearSpiritDog
    3:25 pm on October 5th, 2011

    SnowBella: What a relief! Thank Dog all is A-OK. You know how we worry about our Pack members. Happy to hear you are working from home, but that’s a bummer about the dog food. Now you have to drive back to the store.

  61. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:25 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Burptique!….snort! ….Flat Head Designs??? …hmmm! ..Interesting….How about Curl Yer Tail Quilling…If Stinky Mama and I went into business I would demand First Billing….grunt!

  62. dawson
    3:37 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rio! Rebecca has a zillion dogs to take care of all by herself. She probably doesn’t even have time to lock her doors. Oh No!!!

    Melanie: My sense of humor? I”m don’t know what was funny…I was serious about everything in my post this morning. You have a great strange sense of humor. 😉 So what was funny?
    Zoe’s cake is the best cake so far.
    I’m hungry. I brought some p. p. soup for lunch. That’s pumpkin potato.

  63. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:00 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Funny!….Dawson, I re-read your post because I didn’t want to miss anything funny, but there was nothing funny in your post….sniff!…I don’t know what Melanie was talking about – but then again, I usually have no clue as to what Melanie is going on about…heh!

  64. OleyHowlers
    4:06 pm on October 5th, 2011

    We think Melanie was talking about last night’s post … Dawson’s mom wearing Spencer’s shirt…

  65. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:24 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Oley!…Now that was funny!…heh!snort!heh!

  66. Tyb
    5:00 pm on October 5th, 2011

    we are finally getting some action toward more humane treatment of animals in Pa.
    I’m ashamed to say that one of the provocations is a case that occurred here in Bradford. A female (I hesitate to call her a lady or even a woman) who had been breeding great danes for years pulled up stakes and moved. Several months later when her house went into foreclosure and the bank sent people to clean up, they found 40+ carcasses of danes of all ages from pups to adults that had been left behind to starve.
    It took a long time to find the woman; when she finally turned up, she was breeding danes near Scranton.

  67. Wölfie
    5:01 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Heavy sliding bolt locks? I think that Admin is on to something.

    You might mention this to AJ, Rebecca. He’ll be relieved to know that you are being watched over!

    By the way, I wonder how many bags of dog food it takes to feed 45 dogs? Yikes!

    I hope everything is okay with Bee’s brother. She hasn’t posted yet today….

  68. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:13 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Food!…Wolfie, you hit on a very good point!….snort!….How many bags of food does it cost to feed 48 big guys? Which brings up another very good point, how much Money does it cost to sustain all those lives…..wheeze!….This is why we need to be seriously thinking about contributing to the Mushers Mercantile Christmas Store This Month!….grunt!….We need to raise more funds for Snowhook, so Rebeccer and AJ The Giant (we won’t even go into how much he eats!) can continue to take great care of all their guys, some of whom are Iditarod team members….snort!… Also, we must make sure that Rio Junior is well fed day in and day out…sniff!

  69. B.Stover
    5:22 pm on October 5th, 2011

    I’m here. (I posted earlier this morning.) I just talked to my brother and he is waiting for the doctors to give him results of the test from yesterday. He is also hoping he can go home today. They still haven’t found the cause but he’s now eating and walking.

  70. OleyHowlers
    5:33 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Tyb, that is a horrible story! Why would anyone do that, when there are shelters and people waiting to help. And then, to think she was breeding again! Despicable.

    Bear, what is the update on #2 son?

    Pop on his way home, and Mom just whispered that a walk is in our future ! Yippee! You may think..16 acres of freedom. Why do they need a walk. But any sibe knows there is no # acres enough to cure wanderlust.

  71. BearSpiritDog
    5:52 pm on October 5th, 2011

    O.Howlers: Thank you for asking. Like B’s brother he is waiting to hear test results from yesterday and this morning. Still no solid food. He is getting very frustrated with being in the hospital!

  72. Liz
    6:22 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Tyb, that’s a heartbreaking story. Weren’t there even any neighbours who wondered what was going on or heard barking of 40 dying dogs? Is it way off in the country?

    I can’t comprehend how that can happen. What a world.

    Good morning guys.

  73. OleyHowlers
    6:42 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Good morning, Liz.

    Mom wouldn’t drag herself away from the Phillies game, so no alk so far. Poor us.

  74. Rose
    6:44 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Tyb and SiberH: That’s what I get for listening to Rio. I have to be sure to verify information from him before I type.

    I heard this bit of humorous trivia on the nes this evening. So, in honor of Zoe’s birthday:

    http://www.670kboi.com/rssItem.asp?feedid=118&itemid=29735254

  75. Rose
    6:47 pm on October 5th, 2011

    I do not want to read anything about evil people doing horrible things to dogs, kats, or any other animal…SNEEZE

  76. Snowhook Bella
    6:49 pm on October 5th, 2011

    At last—I’m sitting down to breakfast. After feeling like we’ve paid for the feedstore owner’s new Volvo wagon single-handed, I’ve arrived home. 400 pounds of dog food has been unloaded, the dogs fed and chores completed. I was very popular in the kennel, rather I think it was the feed bucket and its content that were more popular, but I soaked in the adoration just the same.

    Heavy sliding bolt locks, huh? That combined with the bars on the windows should lessen the “don’t forget to lock the doors” reminder by one, maybe two.

    B and BSD: I’m hoping you hear good news soon for Brother and Son #2.

  77. Belle Starr
    6:53 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rose: My two-legged lady has packed my pink, sparkly back pack. I supervised. She put in two Lipsmackers. One is Grape Fanta and the other is Vanilla. She said one is for you as a gift and that I should let you choose which flavor you want.

    I am worried that the Professor doesn’t know how to take care of you. I am going to ask Mama Luna if she can clear her schedule so we can go to New York to care for you earlier than planned.

    I will be a great guard dog. Look at my two-legged lady—I make sure she’s safe and doesn’t get scared.

  78. Rose
    6:57 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rio: BTW, that was A.C. Nielsen (the TV ratings guy) that died.

    Rebecca: In some dangerous neighborhoods in NY, people have bars on the windows, and many sliding bolt locks on their doors.

    Belle: Did you do rounds last night before bedtime? Just want to be sure all was afe for your two-legged mom.

    Bear and B: Hope your loved ones will feel tip-top soon.

  79. Rose
    7:07 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Belle: Don’t be worried. The Prof takes very good care of me. It’s just I’m a little nervous about him going away. This will be the first time I will be in the apartment by myself. I have confidence that you and your mama will do a most excellent job of keeping me safe. That was very nice of your two-legged mom to pack a Lipsmacker as a gift for me.

  80. Snowhook Bella
    7:10 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rose: We do have bars on our first floor windows which got me thinking—what is the difference between wearing an orange jumpsuit and breaking rocks on the hot sun and me, wearing my green snowsuit and scooping poop at forty below? Other than my clean permanent record (except for jaywalking) the difference is love and puppy kisses.

  81. Liz
    7:10 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rebecca, how long does 400 pounds of food last?

  82. Siber-H
    7:24 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rebecca, I have the same question as Liz.
    I like the idea of bars on the windows.

    Rose, Be thinking ahead about how you are going to lock your doors every night. We will all be here to remind you, of course.

  83. Rose
    7:29 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rebecca: I’d wear a green jumpsuit and scoop poop in the freezing cold for that reward! Are the bars on your windows for keeping bears out of the house.

    And further to Liz’s (Hi, Liz!) question, how long does it take to dole out the food to 48 hungry sibes?

    I apologize for my many typos. I’m typing on a laptop which is on my lap. :)

  84. Melanie
    7:36 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Bella: Zo says she feels for you. (And we thought 9 dogs went through a lot!)

    Rose: I told her about October 5th. She said that made sense. snicker

    Hi Liz!

    Rio: I have to admit that I couldn’t remember what I thought was funny. Need a brain transplant. (sometimes I can make the umlaut and sometimes I can, weird)

    On a little note: Alaskan training for a blood hound! http://whatdoino-steve.blogspot.com/2011/10/tracked-down-by-blood-hound.html

  85. BearSpiritDog
    7:37 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Thank you everyone for your continuing healing thoughts and prayers. I am hopeful we will have good news to report tomorrow morning – Bear

  86. Rose
    7:39 pm on October 5th, 2011

    SiberH: It’s good to know that all of you will be keeping watch over. I won’t forget to lock the doors, I’ll just have to be reminded not to leave my keys hanging outside the door.

  87. Rose
    7:42 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Sneeze! Signing off here. Good night to all.

  88. Barb & Maggie
    7:47 pm on October 5th, 2011

    TYB, That woman should be prosecuted and put in jail. And not allowed to have any animals under her care again. What is wrong with people?

    Hope everyone is feeling tip top tomorrow.

  89. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    8:32 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Just saw sad news on the national level. Steve Jobs died. He was only 56. What an incredible loss. I am sitting here typing away on my IPaw, which actually seems like a fitting tribute to the man’s genius. If you go to the Apple web page, they have a full screen picture of him showing. Wookie

  90. B.Stover
    8:32 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Thank you for the good wishes.

    Good night all.

  91. C. Harris
    8:36 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Everyone is wearing coats now. I even wore gloves last night when I walked the dogs on the flood plain. Funny how 25 degrees feels so warm in the spring and cold in the fall.

    Hunting season is interesting because the moose *know* and often head for populated areas to avoid hunters. I left school a week ago Sunday and just outside the front door were triplets and a mama moose. I made it to the car (watching the mama very carefully) and before I drove away, twins and another moose rounded the side of the school and I had to wait and see where they were going before driving off (moose can attack cars). I’ve never seen so many moose in one place–all would be illegal to shoot btw due to age, sex or size.

  92. AbbietheKitty
    8:46 pm on October 5th, 2011
  93. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:50 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Apple!….Steve Jobs died!….sob!sob!sob!….Oh no. How could I have been so far off base?….sniff!…Steve Jobs changed the world. For better or worse, I’m not sure…snuffle!….I know I respect him a lot more than I do Bill Gates for some reason….wuffle!

  94. Mollypop
    9:01 pm on October 5th, 2011

    We read Wookie’s sad news about Steve Jobs on our iPad, sent a message to Sam’s girl on the iPhone, and now are posting on our MacBook Air (which is an unbelievable computer with no moving parts). He will be sorely missed.

  95. Tupper and Gilly
    9:03 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Quick hi t

  96. Sam
    9:06 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rachel Maddow just showed Steve Jobs in 1984 introducing the first Macintosh.

  97. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:08 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Molly!…You sure have a lot of technology at your paw-tips…heh!

  98. Liz
    9:15 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Thank you Abbie for showing that article, what a great guy! So nice to read something like that.

  99. Tyb
    9:30 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Liz,
    I apologize for taking so long to answer your question. I had to go out for a while.
    Yes the dane breeder did live out of town on a country side road. It’s been well over a year since the discovery, but I still bristle when I think about it. The second time she was found out because of animal abuse again and she lost her license to breed anything ever again. That’s not the punishment I’d recommend.

  100. Melanie
    9:41 pm on October 5th, 2011

    What a nice guy that is with the pet food pantry!

    Zoë says thanks for all the birthday wishes.
    She had a wonderful time, except for the part where Mattie took off on her own (she slipped her collar) during the walk/run. I got a phone call telling me what happened and I told her to stay there and Patsy and I would be there to help.
    I turned off all the burners and off we went. I was looking to the right and left of the old road the camp is on when here came the van.
    Rosie had gotten loose, found Mattie and brought her back.
    Rosie is the Heroine! She may not play fetch with sticks but she sure can fetch wayward members of the Pack!

    Zoë received flannel lined jeans from Dan. A WONDERFUL cookbook from me. You may have heard of it, “Dishlickers”. The Pack gave her a new Kindle cover since they had eaten the last one.

    TTFN

  101. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:48 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Late!….Wow! Melanie is up really late tonight….snort!… I’m glad Zoe had a great birthday…snorkel!

    Play-offs!….We are watching the Snakes and the Brewskies….chuffle!….Arizona has to win (or else!)…huffle! ….I’m very confident that they can do this. Very confident….WooooHooooo!….Double Play – Brewskies Out.. Snakes are up to bat!…snort!

  102. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:57 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Bases!…Loaded!…Woooooo!

  103. Snowhook Bella
    9:59 pm on October 5th, 2011

    I wonder what birthday Zoe will celebrate next year…?

    Liz: To answer your question, with our current feeding and training routine, the food I bought today will last 7 or 8 days. Later, during race season, we’ll upgrade to our race food which will last about as long, yet will also supplement with meat and lard. How long does it take to feed the dogs? Not long. I can feed the dogs in less than ten minutes, but they (Rio, Jr and others) do tend to lie so they get a second helping, but there is the watering, the scooping and the loving—if I stick to my routine, it takes an hour each time, twice a day.

    Rio: You had a question about the Musher’s Mercantile yesterday that I haven’t answered yet. I thought that perhaps we could set up shop for the ‘holiday bazaar’ throughout the month of November. What do you think?

  104. Macy the Min-pin
    10:00 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rebecca, wouldn’t it be easier to get your dog food like some people get their heating oil? Just dump a huge load into your dog food silo.

    And just because I like it..http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s320x320/308927_10150316960132548_352929267547_8108070_1903895074_n.jpg.

  105. Macy the Min-pin
    10:01 pm on October 5th, 2011
  106. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:01 pm on October 5th, 2011

    GRANDSLAM!…WOOOOOOOOOO!!….Ryan Roberts!…heh!snort!…WOW!…Snakes are ahead 4 ta 1…chuffle!

  107. Siber-H
    10:03 pm on October 5th, 2011

    The Snakes are ahead by 3 runs!!!

  108. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:04 pm on October 5th, 2011

    HOMERUN!…WOOOOOOOOOO!!!…heh!snort!heh!…WOW! AGAIN!…Snakes are ahead 5 ta 1…snorkel!! …They still have one out!…heh!

  109. OleyHowlers
    10:06 pm on October 5th, 2011

    What a rotten evening this has been. First, the Phillies lost…sob.

    Then we got a call from the Sibe rescue. Those people are so self-righteous. We don’t think we are going to have Duke/Ammo for our new brother. The rescue is against Invisible Fence. And get, this…they say Mom & Pop must sign a contract that the dog will never be outdoors without being in their eyesight. Now our mom and pop have had Sibes for 27 years. And this pipsqueak has had 1 Sibe for 4 years, and has NO FENCE and lives on a busy road. Also has been allowed to foster !!! Go figure.

  110. Snowhook Bella
    10:07 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rose: The bars were on the windows when we bought the property, but I think they are to keep humans out, not necessarily bears. We live in an old homestead that was originally built in 1950 on twenty acres so we are somewhat secluded.

  111. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:17 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Secluded!…Equals Scary!….oooooer!….Rebeccer, you are surrounded by deep dark thick woods, right?…gasp!…Just the thought of it gives me the heeby jeebies….wuffle! …Okay, back to the game!…Snakes are up to bat again…Woooooooo!

  112. Snowhook Bella
    10:18 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rio: You do know that you’ll be visiting the same secluded homestead, right? Boo!

  113. Snowhook Bella
    10:25 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Siber-H: Your handsome face is at the top of my page right now.

    Howlers: Sorry to hear about Duke and the close-mindedness of some people.

    Where is our floppy-eared friend, Kirby T?

  114. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:26 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Bobble!….I love love love it when the Pitcher on the Brewers team fields the ball, drops it and then kicks it to let the Snakes get to first base….heh!heh!

  115. Siber-H
    10:29 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Fellow Sibers, I’m sorry about Duke. They are being totally inflexable at Siber Rescue. I wish they would look at each adoption individually. Your folks have a history of being successful Siber owners.
    The perfect new brother or sister for you guys will come along. For those who love dogs, it always works out that way.

  116. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:32 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Homestead!….Oh, my friend will be sleeping like a log during our visit, but I will be wide awake and keeping guard over everyone…snort!….I will be yeep!yeeping! at everything that moves or even barely makes a noise….YEEEP! YEEEEP!….Never fear Rebeccer, I will watch over you the whole time….chuffle!

  117. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:36 pm on October 5th, 2011

    SiberH!…How come you do not have the perfect brother or sister?…snort!…Your gal is a top-notch Siber-Contender…sniff!…Whats the story pal?…sniff!

  118. Snowhook Bella
    10:37 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rio: Between you and Belle Starr, your friend and I will be in good hands. I can’t act too brave, because I got a bit scared yesterday morning when I was doing the chores in the dark. The dogs became excited, I looked in the direction that they were all facing, and thought someone was standing at the entrance of the kennel. The way the yard lights hit one of the fence posts looked, at quick glance like a man’s face. I don’t know what they dogs were barking at, but I picked up the pace a bit.

  119. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:46 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Yeep!…Rebeccer! This is starting to sound like a Peter Abrahams novel!….yeep!….Man standing in the shadows watching as you are doing chores…yeep!…When does the Giant return again? This weekend, right??….snort!

  120. Snowhook Bella
    10:50 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rio: Even though I was startled, it was nothing more than my imagination. If it makes you feel any better, you can sit right next to me on the couch while your friend sleeps and I watch AJ’s GPS tracker. If anyone asks, you are sacrificing sleep to make sure I’m okay. AJ gets home on Saturday—I can’t wait!

  121. Siber-H
    10:50 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Rio, mom says she is too old to be able to stand more than one of us at a time. She can get her “fix” for more Sibers at the dog park or with Husky Rescue.
    I can get my socializing with other Sibers the same way. At home, I don’t want to share.

  122. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:50 pm on October 5th, 2011

    TatMan!….On a lighter note…sniff!…The Snakes have a player that is nicknamed, “Tatman”….heh!…He’s got a lot of fans! Guess what he has up and down his arms. Yes! Tattoos…ugh!

  123. Siber-H
    11:01 pm on October 5th, 2011

    I hope the Snakes can hold onto their 4 run lead in this game.

    We are turning in…mom has taken allergy pills so she is out of it. I may have to unplug myself.

    Good Night All

  124. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:02 pm on October 5th, 2011

    WoooHooo!….Snakes up 7 ta 3…heh!… I fear someone here will have to go to bed before this is over…sniff!… I hope NOT! It has been a great game so far….wheeze!

    SiberH!…How old is “too old” to have another Siber in the house and outside the house digging, digging, digging till the foundation erodes?…heh!…Tell me, how old do you have to be to call it quits on all that fun?…snort!

  125. Snowhook Bella
    11:03 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Night, Siber-H.

    Macy: Great photo even if it belongs in a medical textbook. :)

  126. Gus & BooBear
    11:11 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Hi, guys!! Mom’s only been letting us lurk for the last few days. Too busy at work to check on the Iphone and too tired at home to do much more than read the posts. But we have been staying up to date on the doings of the blog. Happy B-day to all that had September birthdays (Mom included) and everybody and their families please get well!! Seems like one of us gets under the weather and it spreads to all!

    Rebecca, don’t you guys have lights for the kennels? Mom usually isn’t a scaredy cat, but she likes to have light if she is going outside when its dark. And it’s dark up there ALOT! Be careful, and, of course, lock the doors.

    Oley Howlers, how stupid that rescue group is being!! And how sad that Duke isn’t being able to have a great forever home with you guys.

    TYB, your story made us very sad and angry. Those poor dogs. How they must have suffered. We’d like the opportunity to decide on that person’s punishment!!

    Rio, we are trying to think of some good items to donate to the Musher Store, but aren’t having a lot of luck! Maybe some Christmas stuff?

    Do you guys realize the Iditarod race is only 5 months away?

    Oh, and finally, it was really satisfying to hear that Spence didn’t picture Chet as a border collie either, and that the reviewer felt the book cover wasn’t good!

  127. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:22 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Puss N’ Boots!….Long time no see….snort!… You guys had trouble coming up with something for the Auction and then you thought of the Jacket!…gruff!… Think of things that will be neat Christmas gifts….sniff!….Or be the guys who buy all their Christmas presents from the Mercantile Store this year….wuffle!

    Rebeccer!… This reminds me, you asked me a question earlier about some questions that I had asked you earlier….snort!… Yes, I think setting up Shoppe in November will be wonderful….grunt!…It will give my friend and everyone more time to get busy and create some projects specifically for the Christmas Store….chuffle!

  128. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:32 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Upstairs!….Oh, she is making moves to go upstairs….sniff!….The Snakes are still ahead so I will have to hope and pray they stay that way and win the game….wheeze!… I’m off to my warm soft bed where all my baseball toys are right where I left them this afternoon ….yawn!wooooo!woooo!

  129. Kirby T. Penworthy
    11:55 pm on October 5th, 2011

    Hey, y’all! I’m joining the fun kind of late tonight. It took awhile, but I’m finally caught up on the day’s postings.

    Rebecca: Thanks for thinking of me. Mom had handbell practice tonight, then she had to eat dinner and now she’s playing with her new toy — a Nook! She’d been thinking how nice it would be not to have to pack a suitcase full of books for her trip to San Diego, but she just didn’t want to spend the money on an eReader on top of what she’s spending on the trip. Then they lowered the price of the “First Edition” (the one before the new-and-improved version) to $89, so she decided to take the plunge. So far, so good! She even found out she can download music (her library offers free music downloads), so the Nook also will be a temporary replacement for her broken MP3 player!

    Tyb: One of the people who used to work with Mom (I’m like you, I’m not going to call her a lady), had her house foreclosed. Luckily, someone from the bank came out to inspect the house before putting it up for sale. When they opened the door, her kats ran out — she had just left them locked up in the house! At least there was a happier ending for them.

    Macy: Speaking of kats — love the photo!

    T&G: Tell your Mom good luck this weekend! I’d sure love to see her out of Crazy Lady Land before she becomes one of the crazies herself!!! Mom and my girl are thinking about doing something similar, but not nearly as grand. The staff association at work is sponsoring a craft/bake sale just for staff members — both selling and shopping. If they get a table, Mom will probably do some cupcakes — hopefully she’ll be recovered from the wedding by then! — and maybe some gingerbread houses. And my girl is painting wine glasses. They don’t plan to leave their jobs, though. Just some extra pin money!

  130. Liz
    12:32 am on October 6th, 2011

    Thanks for the answers guys, sorry it took me ages to get back and now you’re probably all in bed. Tyb, that story doesn’t get any better when I hear more information! How damned depressing.

    Rebecca i think you’re really brave being at a secluded place alone (with only dozens of doggs to protect you)! I’d be well creeped out by the isolation. (Not wanting to sound like a stalker but i looked on the google maps at your area and it looks really solitary).

  131. gaming reviews
    10:51 pm on October 30th, 2011

    gaming reviews…

    […]Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to offer something again and aid others like you aided me.[…]…

  132. pet sitting jacksonville
    5:18 am on October 31st, 2011

    pet sitting jacksonville…

    […]Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually realize what you are speaking about! Bookmarked. Please additionally seek advice from my web site =). We can have a hyperlink alternate arrangement between us[…]…

  133. LeoMoon, Studios, Graphic, Animation, Maya, Blender, Adobe, Short Film
    2:57 pm on November 3rd, 2011

    LeoMoon, Studios, Graphic, Animation, Maya, Blender, Adobe, Short Film…

    […]Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a weblog website? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I have been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided shiny clear concept[…]…

  134. gay porn reviews
    5:56 pm on November 9th, 2011

    gay porn reviews…

    […]hello!,I love your writing very so much! proportion we be in contact extra about your post on AOL? I need an expert on this house to resolve my problem. Maybe that is you! Looking ahead to look you. […]…

  135. duong vat gia cao cap
    9:14 pm on February 1st, 2012

    duong vat gia cao cap…

    […]hey there and thanks in your info ? I have certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did on the other hand experience a few technical points the use of this website, as I experienced to reload the website a lot of occasions previous to I…

  136. stop my foreclosure
    3:45 am on March 2nd, 2012

    stop my foreclosure…

    […]I’ll right away clutch your rss as I can not in finding your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please let me realize so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.[…]…

  137. laptop second hand
    11:20 am on June 30th, 2012

    Hello there, I discovered your website by the use of Google at the same time as looking for a comparable subject, your site got here up, it looks great. I’ve bookmarked to my favourites|added to my bookmarks.

  138. Orlando Bodyguards
    10:45 am on September 27th, 2013

    Throw in an ex-husband with issues, a corrupt security firm that would like Chet on their team and a mountain Bernie is a burnt out veteran who runs a private detective agency and Chet is a K9 working dog dropout.

  139. ask
    10:39 am on April 15th, 2015

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s equally
    educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating
    to this.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia