Mystery Gazette Review: The Dog Who Knew Too Much

Autumn suggested Anya Vereen asks always broke private investigator Bernie Little to accompany her to parents’ weekend at Big Bear Wilderness Camp, where her son, Devin, is a camper. Anya fears her former husband Guy Wenders will cause a stink at the event; so she hopes having Bernie with her will keep the louse in line. As he needs money, he and Chet accept a gig that he prefers to avoid as he loathes the mountain air although his partner looks forward to the smells.

When Devin disappears from the Big Bear Wilderness Camp, Bernie, Chet and wilderness guide Turk Rendell search for the missing child in what looks like a parental abduction. When Turk is murdered the Laidlaw clan enforces the law arresting Bernie. Chet continues to investigate with only trusting Suzie, who smells good, to assist him.

The fourth Chet and Bernie mystery (To Fetch a Thief and Thereby Hangs a Tail) is once again a superb whodunit as the canine provides a unique perspective on human and canine culture. Chet works the case alone and Dog Gone It makes an entertaining sleuth. Meanwhile criminal Dylan McKnight, the former boyfriend of Bernie’s sort of girlfriend Valley Tribune reporter Suzie Sanchez and a puppy that looks like Chet add depth to an exciting canine criminal caper. – Harriet Klausner

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Thursday, August 18th, 2011 at 7:39 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

107 Responses to “Mystery Gazette Review: The Dog Who Knew Too Much”

  1. Kirby T. Penworthy
    8:10 am on August 18th, 2011

    Good morning, y’all! Although my morning didn’t start out too well. I was struggling to get through this review thinking that it was very poorly written. When I got to the bottom I realized why it was so bad. Two words: Harriet Klausner. She claims to be a retired librarian who speed-reads two books a day, yet if you go to Amazon you’ll find a whole crew of people who will tell you that she posts enough reviews that it averages out to 7 or 8 reviews every single solitary day of the year! And they’re all poorly written, many with factual flaws that make it obvious she hasn’t read the book. And there are so many levels of poor writing that some have theorized that Harriet is actually several horrible reviewers writing under the same name. Even though “she” gives TDWKTM a good review, I would just discount it! She gives librarians a bad name, which greatly upsets Mom!!!

  2. Melanie
    8:15 am on August 18th, 2011

    Interesting Kirby T. I was struggling to get through it.

    It sounds as if she had read some other reviews and took from those.

    Anyhoo, Good morning All! I will be off to the lumber store this morning. Getting things together for cold frames.

    I have yet to finish last night so BBL.

  3. Melanie
    8:25 am on August 18th, 2011

    Hmmm, I sure hope that either Wöökie or STAFF gets my name for a cookbook!
    Yes, please, I would like one!

    Ellie and Mattie went to the V E T yesterday. Ellie is doing great for a 12 year old!
    Mattie had a problem with her rear. So something got squeezed. She didn’t like that.

    Now when Zoë gets near her, Mattie quickly gets up and sits right on her butt!

    She’s not letting ANYONE near there again!

  4. dawson
    8:53 am on August 18th, 2011

    Melanie: Poor Mattie!

    I used to just skip over the post when it was a review. I think I will bring back the practice.

  5. OleyHowlers
    8:54 am on August 18th, 2011

    Debbie: we are still interested in getting that cookbook, even without the spirals. Thanks if you can do it.

  6. Rose
    9:12 am on August 18th, 2011

    Good Morning Everyone!

    Shouldn’t “asks” be “ask” in that first line? I feel like a just had a brain drain reading this review…..

  7. Barb & Maggie
    9:13 am on August 18th, 2011

    Kirby, Thanks for the low down on Harriet K. Who knew! We are very much looking forward to the new book, even tho we now know a little of the plot.

    Barb is going to be busy, making some things for tomorrow night’s out of town company. Friends coming up from Ky. for the night, and bringing Katie Scarlett along with. She is my sister, so that will be fun.

    Barb is going to make Cowboy Caviar and Salsa, then they are ordering pizza later. Barb picked up some O’Douls Amber for the occasion, and she said it is delish. Tastes like regular premium beer. Another couple is coming too, so there should be a lot of pizza crusts for me and Katie.

  8. Melanie
    9:19 am on August 18th, 2011

    I wish I would remember the submit button. sign

    Anyhoo, Sorry Debbie, I thought you were Staff. I would love a cookbook. Zoë’s birthday is coming up.

    ALSO:
    I was going through one of the albums The Pack did of our parties. As you know Riö has only been to one party. But Ros grabbed a picture of him.

  9. Rose
    9:29 am on August 18th, 2011

    Melanie:

    Love this picture! Was this taken before or after Rio burped?

  10. dawson
    9:29 am on August 18th, 2011

    Hey!
    When did those trees turn yellow? Darn it! Sure they are pretty but I know what comes next.
    Barb and Maggie: Enjoy your company.
    Melanie: That is a wonderful picture of Rio. Can I get a copy for blackmail purposes?
    I’m off to work a short shift. Glad the “boss” is on one of her numerous vacations.

  11. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    9:37 am on August 18th, 2011

    Whoa, that was some review. I’m glad that I am not the only one who thought it was dreadful. I have a feeling that the last paragraph was written by a different person. Hah! Wait until Bee reads it!

  12. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    9:40 am on August 18th, 2011

    And check out Rio’s belly! (Spoken in an annoying high pitched squeal:)
    It is sooooooo cute!

  13. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:41 am on August 18th, 2011

    Speed!…. Oh my gosh! This is too good to be true….snort!…Wookie and SiberH will know what I am talking about…heh!…In the book Their Wildest Dreams there is a character who speed reads and writes reviews. She happens to write a review of the main characters book and for some reason that escapes me right now, he sends an email to her regarding the review….HEH!….That is the beginning of a very, very funny episode in the book and oh my gosh the stuff that follows after that is too incredible….snort!….Anyone else know what I am talking about?….sniff!

  14. B.Stover
    9:49 am on August 18th, 2011

    This review is very pooryly written. I stopped reading.

    Rose: Yes that should be “ask” because it is in the subjunctive mood and in English we use the plural to indicate subjunctive. (In this case, it’s because a recommendation is being made.) There should also be a “that” after “suggested.” “Always-broke” should be hyphenated because it’s being used as an adjective.

    Staff indicated that she was going to take the cookbook to Kinko to get spiral binding. My question is, how do you “take” a pdf to a copy company? On a zip drive?

    Good morning all.

  15. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:02 am on August 18th, 2011

    Disgraceful!…. I stopped reading right after this part, “Autumn suggested Anya Vereen asks always broke…”….grunt!….How do “writers” like this get their work into publications?….sniff!….That’s what I want to know.

  16. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:14 am on August 18th, 2011

    Booklist!….To get the sour taste of Harriet Klausner out of your mouth, read the much better written review over on the right side where the facebookie thingy is….snort!….Click to enlarge it…sniff!

  17. Rose
    10:26 am on August 18th, 2011

    Thanks for your always appreciated input, B. My head actually hurt just trying to read the first line!

  18. Rose
    10:28 am on August 18th, 2011

    Hi Wolfie:

    I agree…Rio does have a cute pink belly!

  19. Rose
    10:31 am on August 18th, 2011

    Rio: That is a much better review, but there are still some typos in it.

  20. Mollypop
    10:32 am on August 18th, 2011

    I don’t want to read any reviews until after I’ve read the book. September 6 is not far away.

    Kirby – Thanks for letting me know about Harriet.

  21. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:35 am on August 18th, 2011

    Rose!…That’s right Rose, but it was stated at the top that the review was an “uncorrected proof”….grunt!….So errors are to be expected. I’m sure they will be fixed before it is published….snort!… Unlike the already published nightmare above….sniff!

  22. Rose
    10:47 am on August 18th, 2011

    Rio: I apologize. I read the review without reading that it was an “uncorrected proof”. And yes, that one above definitely is a nightmare. Even my worst dreams are more pleasant than that crap.

  23. Siber-H
    10:57 am on August 18th, 2011

    I’m not reading the review. Reading what you guys posted about it is enough for me. I don’t need to read reviews of PA/SQ’s books anyway. I know I will like them.
    Thank, Kirby, for the heads up on Harriet K. I sometimes skim customers reviews on Amazon but I will pay attention now if it is one of her reviews.

  24. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:00 am on August 18th, 2011

    Rebecca!… Someone just emailed me and asked me to tell you to check your SDD….heh!…How come she is emailing you?….sniff!…You are my friend, not hers…grunt!

  25. Siber-H
    11:05 am on August 18th, 2011

    Debbie, I am interested in a cookbook also…please. I don’t care how it is bound….whatever is easiest for you.

    Since I am not sure what is going on…to quote T&G last night, “We are confused”, I hope a lot of work is not being dumped on Wookie’s mom.

    I await further instructions.

  26. B.Stover
    11:05 am on August 18th, 2011

    B&M: Have fun with your company.

    Melanie: That is very smart of Mattie!

  27. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:07 am on August 18th, 2011

    Spokony!….That Sam guy told my friend that there will be another review out on LitStack tomorrow. This one should be for THAT….heh!…. Sam said he will not be the one writing this next review, even so I think we should all comment out there again like we did for DOI and give our own short reviews of the book ….snorkel!

  28. Barb & Maggie
    12:23 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Amreeka – not what I expected, but still good and interesting. It was not a foreigh language film, but a lot of it was spoken in Arabic, so you do a lot of sub title reading. I think it was a realistic portrail of what it would be like to relocate here from that area. They actually came from Palestine, and were not Muslim, but all that didn’t matter. The movie centers around a single mother and her 16 yr. old son who come here. I would say it would be worth while to watch.

    Got the cowboy caviar made, lots and lots of veggie chopping.

  29. Staff
    12:45 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Hi guys,
    My plan is to have Kinko’s bind my copy. I will print it out myself and take it there. I am going to add in some blank pages for notes and more recipes as you guys send them to the blog. I was going to do it online and upload the PDF to them but it was over 60 dollars to have them print it.

    I am going a less expensive way, although if I added in the cost of paper and ink….heh….but I won’t. I already have that.

    And here is a great biscuit recipe I used at the farm this last week. It is not mine. It is taken directly from the Joy of Cooking 1975 edition.

    Quick Drop Biscuits on page 633.

    sift together
    1+ 3/4 cup flour
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    3 teaspoons double acting baking powder
    4-6 tablespoons chilled butter (I used 5)
    1 cup milk

    Preheat oven to 450 degrees
    Cut butter into dry ingredients until it is the consistency of dry cornmeal. Make a well in the center and pour in the milk. Stir the dough 1 scant minute. Drop from a spoon onto an ungreased sheet and bake 12 to 15 minutes, or until lightly browned. Makes 12 biscuits unless you want them large. Then it makes about 9.

  30. Staff
    12:46 pm on August 18th, 2011

    PS
    Kinko’s is now Fed-Ex in case you are having trouble finding it.

  31. Mollypop
    12:56 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Staff – How much does Kinko’s charge to do the spiral binding?

  32. Staff
    1:06 pm on August 18th, 2011

    PS
    Kinko’s is now Fed-Ex in case you are having trouble finding it.

    I just talked to someone at the Fed-ex office near me and the cost to bind a self printed book with spiral binding and clear plastic front and back covers is $5.49.

    Cost to print it all in black and white would be about 11.00.
    59 cents a page for color pages, so that would be about $50.

  33. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:08 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Cookbook!… I am so hungry!…snort!… I’ve been perusing the Plunderers Cookbook and now I’m Starving!….grunt! …. It’s almost lunch time. I am going to have to beg doubly hard today….yeep!

  34. Snowhook Bella
    1:09 pm on August 18th, 2011

    How do I italicize the font on my blog comments?

  35. Staff
    1:09 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Oh they also said that it would be ready in one day. (Maybe as little as 4 hours depending on how busy it is)

  36. Staff
    1:30 pm on August 18th, 2011

    bella

    without spaces and to end it.

  37. Staff
    1:31 pm on August 18th, 2011

    bella
    go darn it I have no idea how to tell you…
    but up above it shows an i inside and that is the italic sign.

  38. Staff
    1:32 pm on August 18th, 2011

    humph….off to lunch…sniff

  39. Snowhook Bella
    1:50 pm on August 18th, 2011

    test

  40. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:57 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rebecca!… take a peak at your SDD. I have included instructions on how to use some of the extra fonts and stuff on the blog….heh!heh!

  41. Snowhook Bella
    1:57 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Winter Carnival: A Short Thank Story

    “Ready!” Two of three harnessed dogs stood at the ready, leaning forward as if in the starting blocks in a track meet. The third dog looked at his neighbor, over his shoulder at the musher standing on the runners of the dog sled, again at his neighbor and then followed suit. The familiarity of his neighbor clad in a colorful dog jacket did not go unnoticed, yet he must concentrate on the task at hand. It was the Lead Dog Competition in the Winter Festival and he was eager, if not a bit nervous to navigate around a course of barrels in a specific order with the team. For all his confidence his uncertainty came from the unknown. It was his first time running with the Team Snowhook. Annabelle, was in the single lead position. He liked her and trusted her, to say nothing of that sassy gait of hers.
    The third dog, smaller than the rest of the team stood still, leaning forward, his ears perked—perked in theory if not practice, his were not the brand of ears that stood at attention. Facing forward he forced his game face, not much different than his everyday face and waited. What’s taking so long? I want to go now! Now! Now! The musher bent and pulled the sharp tined snowhook from the snow and secured it in the holster. Time! This must be time! “Let’s go!” the calm, low voice called.
    With head and tails low, two of the three dogs began to run like a track stars spurred out of their starting blocks. This was not a race just about speed—it was also about smarts, but as the long legs of the dogs began to move like pistons the sled began gliding across the snow. Fast, then faster. Nearest the sled in wheel position, the third dog fell behind the pace of the team with the first tug of the line.
    Yeep!
    The stature of the newest team member was not made for the Lead Dog Competition. The musher bent his six foot four inch frame low. His long arm hung slack. Relaxed and in his element he would not over think his natural instincts. His bare fingers moved along the keys of an invisible piano.
    Yeep! Yeep!
    The timing had to be right. Too early and he might lose balance, too late and, well he would not think about too late. The time had come. “Got you, bud,” he affirmed as his relaxed fingers slid under the back of the dog jacket and seized the webbing on the harness. “Oomph,” as he began to lift the newest member of the team he realized that appearances, especially in this case were deceiving. This dog may be shorter than the rest, but he was solid. The legs of the small dog did not stop running as he was lifted from the ground.
    Down! Down! On solid ground! Rising from the bent position, this time with cargo, the musher straightened and placed the pug atop the sled bag. “I could use a little help with navigation.”
    The pug turned to look at the musher. He cleared his thoughts with a ‘snort’—that always seemed to do the trick, that and a Zinger.
    It would be like leading an orchestra from behind. I like it.—Snort. Snuffle. Wheeze.
    “Haw,” the low voice commanded. Before he finished speaking the short word, Annabelle turned the team to the left, around the first barrel. Rio watched as they neared the next barrel, this time a, “Gee,” and Annabelle led the team, now just a team of two to the right.
    Finding secure footing and a padded section gentle on his puggish posterior, he settled and began to focus on his new role in the team. Hood ornament, a position so rare in the sport of dog sledding that it is not frequently mentioned in mushing circles, seemed to fit the pug.
    Another haw occurred while Rio settled himself. He scanned the course. The next command would need to steer the team to the right, around the barrel. In his excitement he yeeped a ‘yeep’ instead of a ‘gee.’
    Yeep! Yeep!
    Each in his own way, they commanded the team simultaneously. “Gee,” AJ’s low voice called for the second time.
    Yeep! AJ, yeep is the new gee! Wheeze.

    The team of two continued to gee and haw around this barrel and that. Rio admired Annabelle. Her slim physique, her slender tail, and those bronze eyes—from his current angel, he could not see her eyes, but he remembered them. Surveying the team, his team he looked at his once running mate. His tail was thicker, his fur longer and a deeper strawberry blond than Annabelle’s fur. Other than tip and tail it was difficult to see the rest of the racer, clad as he was in a colorful dog jacket. Too many colors for my color blind eyes! Sniff!

    The crowd chattered over the commands. Some in the crowd called the opposite command as the team neared a barrel, a ‘gee’ when it should be a ‘haw.’ Rio wondered if the team would hear the commands over the noise, yet Annabelle seemed always to hear AJ’s low voice. Speak up, man! Up! Up! Up! Annabelle was something, the pug had to admit.
    This is louder than the ‘hey, batter, batter’ chatter at the Rockies game! Snort.,
    “Couldn’t be. The Rockies don’t play tonight,” the words reached Rio from his former running mate. He would recognize the baritone anywhere, but here, in the cold, wilds of Alaska?
    “Special Agent Wookie? Is that you?” Wheeze.
    As he concentrated on the upcoming barrel, this time a ‘haw’ Wookie smiled a smile that has been with him since his young table dancing days.
    “You think your friend would let you leave the yard alone?”
    Why hadn’t he noticed his friend earlier, Rio wondered. Then he remember the starting line jitters—nerves had a way of blurring life sometimes and the pug was no different. He had watched the team of two navigate around the barrels despite the best efforts of the crowd to distract them and Wookie had done well. He had to ask,
    “Wookster, where did you learn to be sled dog?”
    “Ipaw.” The Golden Retriever was short on words as they sped toward the finish line.

    As the sled slowed, Rio hopped from the sled to the snow, his paws protected by his booties. The booties matched the dog jacket that his friend made him wear—not all black like AJ wore, but a jacket made last minute by Rebecca and as a result had been made with fleece from the clearance rack, fleece with a feline print. Kats! I’m going to speak to my friend about this! Snort! The team was greeted with open arms at the finish line.
    Rio’s indignation was forgotten as he received an ear scratch from his friend. He watched as Wookie received a tummy from his mom and dad, and AJ lifted Annabelle in his arms and Rebecca gave a kiss to both. As the two leggeds took pictures, laughed and gave their own brand of attention to each of the dogs, Rio finally took a good look at his friend.
    Wookie…wheeze… are those chickens on your dog jacket?

    ***
    Dedicated to Commander Rio and Special Agent Wookie. Thank you for your services as Auction Central.

  42. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:58 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rebecca!…You are a quick learner!….heh!

  43. Snowhook Bella
    2:02 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Oh, bother. The formatting didn’t turn out the way that I wanted…grump…

  44. Snowhook Bella
    2:08 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Double grump. I missed the ‘You’ in the title. I think I’m going to listen to Tenzing and eat some cheesecake.

  45. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:08 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Wow!…. While I was posting about your Italicizing technique, you were writing a whole story…heh! …. That is a Keeper Story for sure!….snort!….Thank you very much for that. I’m sure Wookie will love it also, if he ever wakes up and posts out here…heh!

    PS: You forgot to close your Italicized phrase with the closing bracket…grunt!

  46. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:10 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rebecca!…Whenever I share Mission Notes out here, I always see a thousand mistakes after the fact….snort!…No matter how many times I go over the words, something is always missed….sniff!

  47. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:20 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Story!… Heh!snort!heh!…. There were Chickens on Wookie’s jacket…heh!… This whole story makes me want to go up to Alaska and see Annabell and the whole race team for myself….snort!…. I could sit in the sled and yeep commands, no problem….heh!… I would be a big help to AJ that’s for sure!…snorkel!

  48. Snowhook Bella
    2:37 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rio: Thanks for the chin-up talk. AJ asked, “Wasn’t there something said about what to do with your inner editor?

    I did send a PDF of the story to dishlickers that is easier to read thanks to the formatting.

  49. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:46 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Iowa!…. My friend just wrote me an email and she is very discouraged because those little bo-dunk towns In Iowa charge a fortune to stay in their hotels. I hope she makes sure there are no Bed Bugs!!….sniff!….She says this trip is going to cost a small fortune and she won’t even have any fun or time alone….grunt!….I think we are leaning towards not sharing a room with her mother the whole time….heh! …She would just complain about my friends constant snoring, wheezing and farting anyways….sniff!

  50. Gus and BooBear
    2:56 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rebecca, LOVED the story!! A very fitting tribute to Rio & Wookie for the hard work during the auction ( even if SiberH is wearing OUR Iditarod tags). And how special that Rio’s coat was a cat print!

    Gus and BooBear (who feel very special that both got a picture in the cookbook)

  51. B.Stover
    3:24 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Nice story and dedication Rebecca.

    I was wondering why the pdf of the cookbook costs so much more to print on SharedBook than my blog (which is under $16) and so checked. It’s because I print it softcover in black and white. If I printed it in hardcover color it would be $41 and if in hardcover black and white $31.

  52. Siber-H
    3:28 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rebecca, The story brings big smiles and chuckles, and it is a wonderful way to honor Wookie and Rio for all the hard work they did for the auction. The auction was just perfect!

  53. Snowhook Bella
    3:56 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rio: I have seen a Jack Russell Terrier serve as the hood ornament on a dog sled, so why not a pug? When your friend vacations in Iowa, at least you won’t get blamed for the snoring, wheezing and other misdeeds.

    Siber-H: I’m glad the story made you laugh—that was the intent. I’ve typically just recounted stories that have actually happened so this approach was new for me. Do you still have that wet stuff falling from the sky?

    Meshka: To your diasspointment, I am going to continue to hope that you won’t need to tube your patient.

  54. Siber-H
    4:04 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Nah, Rebecca That was two tenths of an inch we got last night. It is better than nothing which is what we have been getting. It is hot and muggy (muggy for here) today.

  55. Snowhook Bella
    4:09 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Siber-H: I considered building an ark yesterday. Today, it is cool and I’ve stoked the first fire of the season.

  56. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:11 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Disgruntled!…. I know someone is very disgruntled because she had really wanted to go on an Alaskan Cruise this year….sniff!…. But that car of ours made it impossible with all the repairs it suddenly needed…grunt!… So she has been moping around, half heartedly trying to find a decent place to stay in Iowa for the dreaded 5 day trip to Hell ..eh.. Iowa….wuffle!….This will not really be a vacation she keeps mumbling….snuffle!

  57. Rose
    4:12 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rebecca: I loved the story! What a nice tribute to Wookie and Rio!

    When I grow up, I hope to the excellent writer you are!

  58. Rose
    4:13 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Yikes! I hope to be the excellent writer you are!!!!

  59. Rose
    4:23 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rebecca: More stories, please!!!

    Rio: If your friend is writing you e-mails, who is taking care of you???

  60. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:33 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rose!…What rock have you been living under?…snort!…I stay with her mother all damn day long…sniff!

  61. Staff
    4:44 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Dear Rebecca,
    Great story.
    I was reading along when smaller dog ‘yeeped’ and I said to myself…”She got that from Rio.” Heh heh Then it turned out it was Rio. Funny and thank you very much. That Wookie is a champ.

  62. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:00 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Staff!…What about me?….snort!… I was a Champ too!…sniff!… I was Chief Commander of Navigation during the whole race, except when my feet were running in the air….heh!

  63. Staff
    5:07 pm on August 18th, 2011

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/08/17/otis-the-skydiving-pug-photo-video_n_929874.html#s332440&title=Otis_skydiver

    Rio you were the star. I had to mention Wookie cause he sounded like the underdog.
    Here is another pug story….sky diving….

  64. Staff
    5:16 pm on August 18th, 2011

    This is for BStover

  65. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:17 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Wookie!….He is never an Underdog!…snort!…He is The Most Interesting Guy In the World…grunt!…Never an Underdawg!…sniff!

  66. Snowhook Bella
    5:35 pm on August 18th, 2011

    I certainly didn’t intend for Wookie to seem the underdog. Both Rio and Wookie are champs.

    Rose: I am behind with some long overdue thank you stories. More writing will be forthcoming.

  67. B.Stover
    5:49 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Staff: Is that money I see?? LOL….Never happens.

  68. Staff
    5:49 pm on August 18th, 2011

    I sit corrected here Rio. I just read it wrong. I have been buying some vintage sewing machines and my mind is a little distracted. well, maybe a lot distracted.

  69. Staff
    5:52 pm on August 18th, 2011

    BStover,
    A lot of English majors commented on that comic. They claimed that it “happened to them all the time” (Sarcasm?) Or that they “would sure like to see that” (Irony?)
    They all seem to agree with you.

  70. Melanie
    6:23 pm on August 18th, 2011

    What a grand story! Must think about this . . .

  71. Tupper and Gilly
    6:41 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rebecca – loved the story. Keep on writing and your wish may come true. Paws crossed.

    Rio – does your friend use Hotwire or Travelocity or any other such service. Our Mama is the Champ of Deal Hunters for hotels at show locations. She gets the same 4 star Hilton in the center of Boston right around Christmas every year for less than a third of their posted “best” price. We have never had a show in Iowa, so we don’t know what is offered there, but surely she will ba able to find something. If Mama can be of any assitance, your friend should feel free to contact her.

    That review up above was truly a sad commentary on the language skills of supposed intellectuals. Mama can’t spell for beans, but she does know the difference between good grammar and bad.

    Now she is twirling her way out the door – clay class with AQ!

  72. OleyHowlers
    6:53 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rebecca! That is a wonderful story. Wow I thought that was Whitey-Lance in that colorful jacket… but it was Wookie! What a surprise! And Rio as Chief Commander of Navigation…who’da thunk it?

    Meashka has now been furloughed from her nursing job. Mom said that Shiek is back to his old ornery self, and will no longer require her services. She is looking around for someone else to tube, so Buddy went into hiding.

    Pop is wishing he would have majored in English now that he sees the lucrative jobs that line up. That I/T think is not what its cracked up to be.

  73. Barb & Maggie
    7:41 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Thank you Rebecca for a well written wonderful story.

    Bee will no doubt be getting a call from our POTUS any day now!

    Got more stuff to do for our company coming in tomorrow. BBL

  74. Wölfie
    8:05 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Beautiful story, Bella.

  75. Rose
    8:13 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rio: SOR-RY!!!!!! I thought your friend’s mom was accompanying her on the trip, since your friend did not want to vacay by herself.

    I’ll just refrain from showing any kind of concern for you in the future.

    Good Night….

  76. Wölfie
    8:23 pm on August 18th, 2011

    I have a story to tell also.

    This is the story of Teddie’s great adventure. I wasn’t sure if I should post it, but Wookie’s dad thought it would be appropriate, so here goes.

    As you know, Teddie was 16 suffered from arthritis. She was on some pain medication and some supplements, and standing up was getting a little more difficult each day. Once she got up, she was fine, but the tile floors were awfully slippery.

    But on the evening of August 4, she was unable to eat or stand and it was clear that she was begining her journey across the Rainbow Bridge. Mom and dad waited for awhile, to see if she needed any assistance in her journey, and soon enough, she started showing some signs of distress.

    She hated to be in the car, and we were trying to spare her. 15 years ago, almost exactly, somebody dumped her off on the side of our rural road. She waited there, in one spot, for two days until mom stopped and shared her lunch with her. Teddie met mom in the middle of the road, ate a bite of sandwich, and smiled. It wasn’t just any smile, it was an ear to ear grin that crinkled her eyes up and showed off all of her pearly whites. Teddie came to live with us but she never regained her trust of cars.

    At any rate, mom and dad took Teddie to the Emergency Vet, an hour away. Teddie wuffed all the way down the hill. Not her regular BARK! BARK!, but a happy wuffle that talked about the beauty on the other side, all the rivers and meadows and nice warm beds, and about how she could run really fast and really far, just like Enzo. And she kept saying, Look, look, can you see it too? Can you see the Cheese Bushes? I can eat Cheese whenever I want and I don’t hurt at all, not any more!

    And the vet helped her take the final step, and we all know that time does not exist on the Rainbow Bridge. And while we will miss her everyday, she will miss us just long enough to eat a few slices of cheese.

    Mom and dad cried, but only for themselves.

  77. Melanie
    8:29 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Beautiful, Wölfie and thank you again from Patsy and me . . .

    I searched the internet and FINALLY found THE picture!
    It tired me out so, TTFN!

  78. OleyHowlers
    8:35 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Wolfie, no dry eyes at Howling Arabians now. That was beautiful.

    And Melanie, you are a magician!

    Rio: yeep!!!!! Don’t jump out of that plane!!!!!

    Storm heading our way.

  79. Snowhook Bella
    8:46 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Wolfie: That was truly a beautiful story. Wookie’s dad is a wise man and I’m glad you took his advice. I have been wondering about Teddie and pray for your comfort. I know the time draws near that I will have to help my Sweet Howard and my Strong Bridger across the bridge—thank you for the story.

    Melanie: What a wonderful photograph. Commander Rio and Wookie running with W.L.—yep, that’s him. Whitey-Lance is the second full dog shown from the right.

  80. Staff
    8:57 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Wow, Wookie is in the Funky Chicken Fabric and Rio’s kat fabric is one I am familiar with.

    By the way, Debbie L-M, Staff’s favorite quilt store has some of the funky chicken fabric left also. I got a little extra while I was there. If you need more let me know.

  81. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    9:01 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rebecca. What a marvelous, magical story. Thank you so very much. I love the jacket too! You actually brought tears of joy and laughter to my mom and dad when the read the story. You are the best!
    And Melanie, what a great photo. It’s a memory that Rio and I will have forever.
    Wolfie. I’m so glad you told the story about Teddie. I know how much she meant to you and your mom and dad and how much you will miss her, but it is so nice that her last ride in the car was comforting and peaceful.
    Wookie

  82. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:07 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rose!….I think you are confused, far more confused than I first thought you were…heh!… We are not on “vacation” yet….sniff!… My friend goes to work every damned day and I stay at home with her mother every damned day…grunt!… When we finally do lift-off for Iowa it will be Me, my Friend, her Mother, and her Brother…wuffle!….But that will not be till after Labor Day sometime….snuff!….So don’t worry about me sitting home alone for days and days…sniff!…Its not going to happen…heh!

  83. Siber-H
    9:07 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Wolfie, That is a beautiful, beautiful story. We have been thinking about Teddy. Thank you for sharing. It is a story that I am sure all of us deeply understand.

  84. Staff
    9:21 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Dear Wolfie,
    Blessings on you for your care of Teddy.

  85. BearSpiritDog
    9:32 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Hello Everyone!
    We are back on the Island.
    No matter how far we may roam
    it is always good to return home!

    Will check back in after Nana’s am appointment.
    Lots of catching up to do! – Bear

  86. OleyHowlers
    9:49 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Welcome home Bear!

    Good night to all.

    (whispering)Where is that Buddy…I got a hose and I’m not afraid to use it.

  87. bluecat
    10:11 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Beautiful stories – Bella made me laugh and Wolfie made me cry.

    The cookbook is outstanding. Good job,all.

    Sleep well…

  88. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:22 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Wheeeze!….cough!….We are back from the Brutal Walk…grunt!… Is Rose still mad at me?…wuffle!….I can’t help it if she is confused…sniff!

    Photo!…Melanie, I love love love that photo of Wookie, AJ and I on the Iditarod Trail!….Wooooo!….heh!…What the hell am I wearing anyways? Whats that on my head?…snuffle!

    Teddy!…We here are sad to hear about Teddy, but we know he is in a beautiful place now….sniff!… Maybe he will see Cassie the Butt Sniffing Dog and say “hello” to her…snort!

  89. Staff
    10:33 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Hope Teddy says hello to Fatty Kitty too. You can see FK blessing fatty tomato (before it was eaten) in the Dishlickers Cookbook.

    Goodnight all.

  90. Tupper and Gilly
    10:41 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Wolfie – we know you already know this, but your Mom is a very special person. The only good thing those other bad people did for Teddy was to make sure it was YOUR road…and your Mom got a chance to be an angel right here on this earth.

    Rio and Wookie – can we have your pawtographs? Pleeeze???

    Hey – anyone got the winning power ball combination for the drawing coming up? We really need it for Mama so she can tell the Crazy Lady to jump in a lake, or out a window, or off a bridge, or into a pile of leaves, or to conclusions…as long as she jumps….and stops making our Mama so frustrated. My word, this woman is just too stoooopid for words. Absolute proof that Darwin was WRONG!
    sigh

  91. Snowhook Bella
    11:00 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Rio: Will you ask your friend to check her SDD. And, before you get upset, I consider BOTH of you friends.

    T&G: The idea of independent wealth so you can focus on your artwork without the worry of sanity deficient humans—I like it. As for the numbers, your guess is as good as mine.

  92. dawson
    11:02 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Snowhook Bella: What a fun story and a great tribute to Commander Rio and his good friend and awesome agent Wookie. I’m glad Rio got out of the yard for a Northern Adventure.

    Wolfie: I’m grateful to you for telling us Teddie’s story. A few tears are being shed but only to water the Cheese bushes in the land of no pain.

  93. Gus & BooBear
    11:07 pm on August 18th, 2011

    The whole bunch of you are just too talented for words. Thanks for the laughs and the tears. Best family ever.

  94. dawson
    11:07 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Melanie: Fantastic photo! Rio is grinning from ear to ear! I recognize that kat fabric too, now that Staff mentioned it. Wookie looks fine in his funky jacket.

  95. Snowhook Bella
    11:12 pm on August 18th, 2011

    I just noticed tht Rio has back-up ears on his hat. That Melanie, like Annabelle is something special.

  96. Staff
    11:27 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Melanie, That picture is now my desktop background. Thanks for the fun. Every time I look at it I laugh. Hey! We haven’t all laughed in a long time….are you ready? hahahahahahahahheheheheheheheheh hahahahahahahahah heheheheheheheh

    Oh my I feel lots better now.

    Hey Liz
    I am wondering if you can tell me what type font and what size you did the pages in. I want my extra pages to say something on top. I am still thinking what, but I do want the typeface to match.

    I am thinking..Extras…. or Notes..(boring) or Second helpings…or More Please….or ???

  97. Tupper and Gilly
    11:29 pm on August 18th, 2011

    REBECCA – YOU HAVE AN AVATAR!!! Good job!!!

  98. Snowhook Bella
    11:31 pm on August 18th, 2011

    T&G: It was touch and go there for a while, but it was a lot easier than I expected. Between you and me (whispering) I was afraid Basil and Sage thought I stole their avatar on purpose if I didn’t get my own.

  99. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    11:34 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Melanie, we love, love, love the photo! That AJ is a hunk! And Bella finally got an Avatar! I think the only ones who are missing an Avatar are Spence, Chet and Admin!

  100. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    11:37 pm on August 18th, 2011

    And Bluecat. Bluecat needs an Avatar also.

  101. Redbone Hound
    11:56 pm on August 18th, 2011

    Well, I ain’t got no avatar….but I got me a real nice GE-tar!

  102. Snowhook Bella
    12:09 am on August 19th, 2011

    Avatars for all! Mr. Redbone, I’m sure Miss Macy would like to see the hound behind the sweet words.

  103. Liz
    12:22 am on August 19th, 2011

    Hey Staff, the main font is Myriad Pro. The cursive font is called Corinthia. I can look at home and find out the sizes and send to your SDD.

    I like ‘More Please’, that’s cute!

  104. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    1:47 am on August 19th, 2011

    Oops, maybe I forgot one or two folks!

  105. Flossy
    3:59 pm on September 22nd, 2011

    Free info like this is an apple from the tree of knoewdlge. Sinful?

  106. yyfpekksgp
    11:31 am on September 28th, 2011

    1Yy8R6 nhsgtrpttrjp

  107. Watchthisfree
    11:01 am on November 27th, 2011

    Let Me Watch This Name…

    good occupation, it’s excellent publish. the information is excellent to know!…

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia