LitStack Review: Thereby Hangs A Tail

Thereby Hangs a Tail, the second in Spencer Quinn’s Chet and Bernie Mystery series, finds detective Bernie Little and his canine sidekick Chet doggie-bone deep in the cut throat world of show dog competition. The story is narrated in first person by Chet, offering a fresh interesting perspective. They initially become involved, he and Bernie, when hired by Adelina Borghese to protect her show dog Princess after receiving a threatening note in the mail. Bodyguarding a dog isn’t this detective duo’s favorite assignment, but the money’s good and they need it. Before Bernie can say “blue ribbon,” both Adelina and Princess have been kidnapped. Bernie is then hired by Adelina’s husband, Count Borghese, to find the pair, but the case becomes personal when Bernie discovers his newspaper reporter girlfriend, Suzie Sanchez, has also disappeared.

Chet and Bernie sniff out leads and follow a trail of clues until a few suspects are in jail. Borghese seems to be satisfied with the outcome, but Bernie knows something is amiss. He sees through the clever set ups, corrupt cops, and paid-off sources. After Chet helps him find a dead body, Bernie doesn’t rest until he discovers the true culprit.

“Is this a great book or what?” as Chet would say. Whodunit was easy to predict, but I thoroughly enjoyed reading the story because of Chet’s clever comical narration. I love this dog, and I’m not a dog person. The reader hears his unique voice consistently throughout the story. Chet is easily distracted and prone to following mental rabbit trails. Being a dog, he doesn’t comprehend common cultural expressions. His literal interpretations lend humor. For example, “cat got your tongue” and “something the cat dragged in” especially confound him. Chet hates cats.

I love this book, have I mentioned that already? And according to Chet, he’s got plenty more stories to tell. – Angie Kay Dilmore

http://litstack.com/?p=784

Welcome Beach Goer, Mrs. Puppy, Brendan, Three Pals, Dargo, Cisco, Bella; Bailey and Bosox, please retry.

Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Friday, August 19th, 2011 at 7:36 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

115 Responses to “LitStack Review: Thereby Hangs A Tail”

  1. Melanie
    8:18 am on August 19th, 2011

    A good review. The third paragraph should have been the lead in. The other two are normal get out of the paper review stuff. But all in all a good review.

    Now I want to discuss the word “interesting” as in ” . . a fresh interesting perspective.”
    My ‘Mother’s Voice’ always tells me, if you can’t think of anything nice to say, you may say it’s interesting.

    I don’t think that is what this woman meant, but wouldn’t it be more informative to say what actually caught her interest in Chet’s narrative? So it could be ” . . Chet’s narrative that focuses on Bernie, and food, and perps, and food, and cats, and food, and perps caught my interest”.

    Well maybe not that, and maybe I’m being picky, but I haven’t had any caffeine yet!

    Morning al!

  2. dawson
    8:29 am on August 19th, 2011

    Good morning Melanie:
    I did read the review (like a cereal box while you sit at the breakfast table – it draws you in) and I thought it was cute. You are right about the “…fresh interesting perspective.” That stood out in a not good way.

  3. B.Stover
    8:58 am on August 19th, 2011

    Good morning all.

    Melanie: You’re not being picky and I agree completely with your analysis of the review. The problem with reviewers is that they summarize rather than analyze. I think that they think (or their publishers think–which is probably more accurate) that their audience is not interested in analysis. They think that summarizing the plot is what the readers want in order to decide whether or not to buy the book. I personally disagree. They don’t give their audience credit for intelligence.

  4. B.Stover
    9:32 am on August 19th, 2011

    Considering the beautiful stories we had on the blog yesterday (one from Rebecca–playful fun–and one from Wolfie–heart wrenching), I think perhaps our next project should be a collection of our stories.

  5. Kirby T. Penworthy
    9:33 am on August 19th, 2011

    Good morning, y’all! Mom’s got the day off, and since her car is in the shop, she’s stuck here all day with me — and those girls.

    Mom and Dad had to go to a back-to-school faculty dinner last night, so we just caught up on what happened here yesterday. Mom and I are both laughing at Rebecca’s masterpiece, and Mom is crying about Wolfie’s story. (Being a guy, all I’ll admit to are a few sniffles.) We were so sorry to hear about Teddie, but since cheese is my favorite, I can imagine how much she’s enjoying those cheese bushes!

  6. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:35 am on August 19th, 2011

    Kats!…I love the part of the review that says, “Chet hates Kats!”….snort!…I think you guys should put your 2 cents worth over on the LitStack page…snuff!…Tell that reviewer what you think of her review…heh!heh!

  7. Melanie
    9:49 am on August 19th, 2011

    Riö, in the picture you are wearing a ski cap that looks like a dog.

    B.Stover: I would love to offer my story from last year about the older woman with the Newfs and goes sledding. If I could remember what I named it . . .

    Didn’t anyone else’s mother say, “If you can’t think of anything nice to say, you may say it’s interesting.” I think that’s from Zoë, from her mother, from her mother and WAY back!

  8. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    10:03 am on August 19th, 2011

    My favorite story is the one where Bee and Melanie and a cane have an interesting discussion with Mr. Baker.

  9. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:13 am on August 19th, 2011

    LitStack!… On the litStack page there is a link to “Best Picture Books Published This Year (So Far)”…snort!… My friend put in a short plug for Quacky Baseball…heh!… You guys should too! Maybe they will add it to the list of The Best So Far…snuffle!

  10. Masquers
    10:15 am on August 19th, 2011

    Good Morning!
    A quick Hey! then
    off to start the day.

    BBL

  11. Barb & Maggie
    10:19 am on August 19th, 2011

    Good morning, all.

    We agree with the majority here. Liked the 3rd and 4th paragraphs, 1 & 2 not so much. Gave away too much of the plot. I do think she actually read the book and liked it.

    We have a busy day, or at least Barb does. Work this afternoon, and then the company arriving at 5:00. Will be here when she gets home.

  12. B.Stover
    10:39 am on August 19th, 2011

    I think perhaps our “stories” should be lengthened and given more detail. We could begin by putting them on the dishlicker site.

    Melanie: When you get a chance could you put the Older Woman, Newfs and sledding story on dishlickers? I have a story about my doberman, Brandy, that I can put there….when I find it.

    If no one else wants to, I would be happy to edit this collection but it would have to wait until after the semester is finished which means January.

  13. B.Stover
    10:40 am on August 19th, 2011

    Welcome home Bear!

  14. B.Stover
    10:49 am on August 19th, 2011

    CHarris: How did your first day of school go? My first day will be August 31.

  15. Macy the Min-pin
    11:07 am on August 19th, 2011

    Hi y’all! Hey Mr. Redbone, I shuah would like a picha of you!

    Dad comes home tonight. Belle may not be able to stand waiting all day. She has been depressed all week, and cranky. Please hurry, dad. Sit close to the door, I think the front of the plane gets there first, right? Not that I ever intend to fly. I was not born with wings, so….

  16. Melanie
    11:12 am on August 19th, 2011

    B.Stover: I looked up Maus and saw that it was an ebook. But Katdle didn’t have it. How are you getting V 1 and V 2 to the iPaws?
    Need to find what I put that story under, B. Hmmm. Looks like I have some time. Today is about photoshopping for my acupuncturist.

    CHarris: School already. Wow. My sister starts her classes the same day as B.Stover.

    Okay!!!! YSAS had an audition for a Showtime episode!! A REAL PART! Can’t tell you what it is yet, but keep your paws, claws, tails and fingers crossed!

    He did a great job . . . Now the director has to like what he did.

  17. B.Stover
    11:28 am on August 19th, 2011

    Melanie: Both volumes of Maus (a graphic novel) that we use are paperback. We require laptops but I can’t require iPads. I’m hoping that most of my students in the senior elective class have iPads so that I can use the T.S. Eliot The Waste Land app (which has become extremely popular I understand….much to my surprise). We’ll probably work in groups with perhaps one iPad each. In other words, we don’t use ebooks but “real” books. (The laptops are for research and writing.) The publisher for those two volumes is Pantheon Books and they are each $14.95.

    I hope YSAS gets the part!

  18. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    11:35 am on August 19th, 2011

    Hey everyone. I’m trying to help my mom out here, who would like to place an order for the cookbooks later in the day. As indicated, they would be soft cover, four color, with a regular (not spiral) binding. The cost, with the various discounts we can get, will be about $30.00, and we can sort out payment arrangements later, just so long as we have the correct headcount.

    This is what I have based on blog postings:

    Rio (for his friend, remember it is aurprise)
    Barb and Maggie
    Buddy and TC/Owley Howlers
    Melanie
    SiberH

    I had Dawson down as a maybe; Dawson could you please confirm one way or the other. And Tupper & Gilley, I think you were going to try for the spiral binding at Staples instead, but if you change your mind, just let me know.

    I think that should be it, but if I have missed anyone, please let me know.

    Wookie

  19. B.Stover
    11:43 am on August 19th, 2011

    Wookie: I’ll try one soft cover also. (I’m wondering what “four color” means.) Before I order more as gifts, I’m going to compare the one from SharedBooks and your publisher’s. (Did you have to download software to do this?) Thank you! I’ll send a check when you get the exact amount.

  20. B.Stover
    11:45 am on August 19th, 2011

    (Whispering)I’m going to order more cookbooks when I see which I like best and I’m going to send one to Spence.

  21. Barb & Maggie
    11:46 am on August 19th, 2011

    Wookie, Yes, we still want to be in on the order, but 2 instead of 1 copies, if possible. Do you want a check sent now?

  22. Barb & Maggie
    11:49 am on August 19th, 2011

    Bee, We would be happy to share the cost of the cookbook for Spence, unless you want it to be a gift just from you. I bet a lot of the Plunderers would like to contribute.

  23. Tupper and Gilly
    11:58 am on August 19th, 2011

    Hey Everyone!
    Melanie – your story about the sledding was called “Flying” when you sent it to us (and we loved it)

    Bee – 4 color means that the printing produces color pictures in full spectrum, just like you see in real life. The primary colors are “bled” into each other to produce shades and tonality.

    And a collection of our stories…hmmm…interesting idea (tee hee)

  24. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    12:25 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Barb and Maggie — We will sort out payment details after we place the order, and will let you know then. You are now down for 2 copies.
    Stover. As I understand it from mom, we send a PDF to Blurb, they print and mail the books back to us. No download of software involved. Wookie

  25. Siber-H
    12:39 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Thanks for counting me in, Wookie!!!
    I’m giving it to mom and she has promised me she will use it.

    My favorite sentence in the review is, “I love this dog and I am not a dog person”. I don’t know how anyone could not be a dog person, but it shows that Spence’s writing is the best.
    I giggled over the line, “Chet hates cats”.

  26. Barb & Maggie
    12:42 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Barb went back and read Wolfie’s story about Teddy from last night. Good thing she didn’t have her work eye makeup on yet, cuz the piece really made her tear-up. Thank you for sharing Teddy’s story. She is lucky to have found your mom, and a pox on that party that dumped her off.

  27. bluecat
    12:45 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Wookie – we’d like a copy of the cookbook, please and thank you.

    BTW – The Help, the movie is even better than The Help, the book, though the book is good.

    And Winter’s Bone, the book is excellent. We didn’t see that movie; did anyone?

  28. bluecat
    12:46 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Oh, Siber-H. I thought we were friends…sigh…

  29. Siber-H
    12:49 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Bluecat, We are friends!! I am very thankful for my kat friends in siberspace. I wouldn’t have any if it weren’t for Chet’s blog.

  30. B.Stover
    12:52 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Barb: I’ll send the cookbook to Spence and it will be from all of the Plunderers. If anyone wants to donate, that’s fine. I think I’d like it to be a hard-cover version and want to see what the SharedBooks copy is like first.

    T&G: Thank you for the explanation. (Aren’t there only three primary colors–red, yellow, blue?)

  31. Riö - The Evil Pug
    12:53 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Oh brother!

  32. Riö - The Evil Pug
    12:55 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Stover!…The “Oh Brother!” was for SiberH!…grunt!… I think we should send the cookbook across country and have everyone pawtograph it, or autograph as the case maybe…snort!

  33. Tupper and Gilly
    1:03 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Bee – I think the 4th color refers either to black, or to the page color. (Been a long times since we worked with publishing, and then halftones and greytones were used more often)

    Just for info – Staples will do full color, soft cover, spiral bound for about $45. yikes!

    Rio – it would be fun to have it all pawtographed, but that is a lot of mailing time and energy. Could we maybe scan and email our pawtographs to a central location? Or is that going to send the technophobes right over the edge?

  34. Siber-H
    1:10 pm on August 19th, 2011

    I am not dipping my paw in a bottle of ink. I have very big feet.

  35. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:13 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Book!… Think of it ….sniff!… If everyone has the opportunity to write something in the book or attach a little memento or lock of hair or whatever ….grunt!….to the book, how special it would be when it finally reaches its final destination ….heh!….All slobbered up maybe, but special…snort! …Something from each of us to go along with the quilt….sniff!

  36. Tupper and Gilly
    1:14 pm on August 19th, 2011

    ooooo- by coincedence, our mail just came with a Staples catalog. It has a $25 coupon which can be used for printing. hmmmm
    But they also have the thin 3 ring binders…maybe we could just have the pages printed out in good paper, punched for a binder, and do things that way.
    (told ya – Mama is an inveterate bargain hunter…sometimes you gotta be that way)

  37. B.Stover
    1:16 pm on August 19th, 2011

    I think Rio’s idea of paw/autographs is wonderful. Perhaps we could do that on a card that I could put inside the cookbook? I’m not sure how T&G’s idea about scanning would work but that would be fine also. One of the techies here will have to tell me.

  38. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    1:16 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Wookie,

    Mom would like to order a cookbook also.

    Thanks!

  39. Basil and Sage
    1:18 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Siber – told you, you are part KAT! We ain’t sticken our paws in no dang ink bottle either. And not just cuz we don’t want to mess up our precious eyeliner either!
    Basil wants to know if he can tape a used up catnip mousie to the cookbook for Spence.

  40. Snowhook Bella
    1:19 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Wookie: if it’s not too late, I would like to order a cookbook as a keepsake of sorts—I still will use it, but I’m going to keep it a safe distance from spills.

  41. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:20 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Stover!…It would have to be an awfully big card, but that would be alot less expensive to mail across the country than the actual book…heh!heh!…It might start out in a regular envelope and end up in a padded manilla envelope…snorkel!

  42. B.Stover
    1:38 pm on August 19th, 2011

    SH: Have you seen your picture next to your recipe for “Dog Biscuit”? (Page 77…last page of the cookbook before the list of contributors.)

    What would really be neat is to have everyone sign next to picture or recipe but I don’t know how to go about that.

  43. Tupper and Gilly
    1:39 pm on August 19th, 2011

    The ideas coming in are making us think…
    What if every Plunderer sent a simple white postcard with a message to Spence on the back to a central location? Then the cookbook could be put into a thin 3 ring binder, with the post cards glued, message side out to card stock and added to the binder?
    Mama would offer to be the central location and create the card pages.
    Anyone think it might be a good idea?

  44. Siber-H
    1:56 pm on August 19th, 2011

    umm No, Stover. I have not seen my picture. I figured I’d wait till the cookbook was all complete.
    Why? Oh dear…Is it an unflattering picture?

    T&G I think an idea like yours might work better.. I have fears that if we send a card around the country either the post office or the goats would destroy it

  45. TMG
    2:02 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Mmmmmm – postcards…
    Please – do send them,
    Signed,
    The Marauding Goats

  46. Mollypop
    2:02 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Everyone could send their signatures to me. Mom could scan them in and then send them to Melanie for Photoshopping. That would make an extra page or two to be added before binding.

  47. Melanie
    2:03 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Riö, what a great idea. I know you guys will come up with the right thing.
    I think it’s sweet that Basil wants to give Spence a used catnip toy. (yuck)

    Gracie has been a gopher today. She doesn’t need any ink, she can just use the mud.

    Seem to be getting an ear infection. Drat it.

  48. Siber-H
    2:06 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Mollypop…That sounds like a winner.

    TMG, Postcards would be nothing but chicken feed to you dudes.

  49. B.Stover
    2:07 pm on August 19th, 2011

    SH: Your picture is beautiful!

    Another idea, if we used a 3-ring binder, is have everyone print out one recipe or picture on good quality bond paper, sign it and send it to a central location. The final cookbook could be put together at the central location (T&G’s mom?).

  50. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:07 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Post-cards!… We each send them to one destination for an Artistic Eye to put them together. I definitely like that idea!….snort!… Let’s set a standard size so no one gets carried away…heh!… How about anything can be added to the postcard as long as the book will still close?…sniff! …My friend might want to add something to this as well…chorkel!

  51. B.Stover
    2:10 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Mollypop’s idea is wonderful. That would mean a 3-ring binder, loose-leaf bond paper.

  52. Siber-H
    2:11 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Thank you, Stover. I feel better now.

    I can’t pring out anything because the printer, scanner thingy is broke and the cheapskate won’t replace it.

  53. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:11 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Molly!…I don’t know about you, but when I get an autograph from someone, I don’t want a scanned copy of it…grunt!…I want the real deal…sniff!…I like the idea of sending our postcards, with photos, recipes, what-have-you to Tupper’s place and have her Stinky Mama put it all together…snort!

  54. Tupper and Gilly
    2:13 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Mama says we have to get off line RIGHT NOW! There are thunderstorms coming, plus she has to get ready to go to
    (dumb..da …dumb!…..get it?)
    Crazy Lady Land!

    We will check back tonight and see what you all have decided.

    See ya later,’gators!

  55. B.Stover
    2:24 pm on August 19th, 2011

    So, if each of us sends a 3×5-inch white post card, signed and with a message to Spence, T&G’s mom will put them together as additional pages to the cookbook? The book will be the 3-ring binder full color version from Staples? Pondering…..

    Have to run errands.

  56. Staff
    2:40 pm on August 19th, 2011

    FYI
    I just called Fed-ex/Kinko’s and they will take a paperback bound book and put the spiral binding on it (with clear vinyl covers) for the 5.49 price.
    They can only do that with books under one inch thick.

    sooo I am thinking.. at the 30 dollar price that might be the way to go. I can decide about the spiral binding whenever I want. Maybe we will get enough books to lower the price a few more dollars.

    still thinking. I will let Wookie know by this evening.

  57. Melanie
    2:53 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Does anyone have pecan trees? I planted Hearty Pecans (recommended for our zone) seven years ago. I had to transplant one last year. Both look good, but I was wondering if I need to fertilize them? Any ideas?

    I look online and different sites said “yes, use zinc” “no, don’t need it” “yes, but use my type of fertilizer” “no don’t need it but most soak the soil with water” “don’t soak the soil with water they only need rain.”

    Jeez Louise

  58. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:04 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Melanie!…SDD – and pronto!…grunt!

  59. Mollypop
    3:16 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Staff – The paperback bound book then turned into vinyl-covered spiral bound is just what Mom wants to do.

    Wookie – Please put me on your list for the paperback with binding. We can take it from there. I’ve been at Sam’s for a couple of days doing stuff about her girl’s “going on vacation” (wink wink) so I don’t know if you volunteered for this assignment or not. Either way, many thanks.

  60. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:29 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Pecans!… I can come over and fertilize them for you Melanie…heh!…I may have to stay a month or two to really get the job done, but as long as you sign a release form stating that if anything dies it is not my fault, it should be no problem at all…snorkel!

  61. Melanie
    3:34 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Thank you, Riö
    (written with sarcastic font)

  62. Debbie LM
    3:42 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Wookie will tell you that Mom is tech support. Yes, B. There is an application that you download in order to allow you to make the Blurb books. Wookie’s Mom

  63. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    3:43 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Siber – vould you not dip pretty paws in ink even for Natasha? Ve vill frame this print in beautiful gold frame and blow kisses at it.

  64. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:44 pm on August 19th, 2011

    References!… Her mother can vouch for the fact that I have successfully fertilized her whole back yard and the garden in the few short months I have been on duty …..snort! …So if you need references, I’m sure that could be arranged….snuff!

  65. Snowhook Bella
    3:49 pm on August 19th, 2011

    I have the feeling that with nine newf, fertilizers is not a scarce commodity.

  66. Natasha the Nefarious Borzoi
    3:58 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Rebecca- so you haf Most Vonderful Garden vith your “fertilizer factory”?

  67. Melanie
    4:05 pm on August 19th, 2011

    HUGE storm coming this way. Newf fertilization not a problem. I just thought something else might help them out besides left overs (so to speak).

    Not sure how long I’ll be on. Thundering all around us, but we have clear sky. Nothing like living in the Hilltowns!

  68. Staff
    4:08 pm on August 19th, 2011

    I decided to try printing the PDF to see how I liked it. It is going really well. My newish wireless printer has duplex (2 sided) printing which I had never used before. I tried it and it works just great. I choose 2 pages and it prints one page but holds onto the paper for a while and then pulls it back in and prints the second page on the other side. Somehow it turns it over in there. :-)

    I am doing the covers and the divider pages in card stock. It looks so nice! I decided to do the dividers individually so the pages are not going to be numbered correctly, but it gives me extra pages for notes that way. I expect to use this book a lot and expect to put many notes in there.

    I am only up to page 18 so we will see if I run out of ink and have to go get more.

    BBL

  69. B.Stover
    4:08 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Debbie: That means you’re “making” the books right? I thought when I went on that site that it had software to download. Does that mean you print it out and use your own paper, etc???

  70. B.Stover
    4:12 pm on August 19th, 2011

    I’m eating Michigan watermelon…juicy sweet. Delish!

  71. Siber-H
    4:13 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Borzoi, I don’t have pretty paws. I have big paws, and, no, I am not dipping one in ink. Anyway, mom says she wouldn’t want to clean up the mess.

    Pecan trees in MA? Southern NM is famous for its pecan trees and commercial crop. It is very hot and dry there. It is neat that they will also grow in a totally different climate.

  72. B.Stover
    4:16 pm on August 19th, 2011

    I thought of another question: If T&G’s mom has Melanie photoshop the post cards, the paw/autographs will not be original…right?

  73. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:28 pm on August 19th, 2011

    ((((sigh))))…Can’t we do something that will leave our pawtographs alone and original?…grunt!….Why does someone have to mess around with them in scanners or photoshop?….grump!…I just don’t get it….double grump!

  74. B.Stover
    4:32 pm on August 19th, 2011

    For some reason I don’t like the idea of a bunch of post cards glued on pages and put in the cookbook. Sorry. Perhaps I don’t understand what it will look like. If it is photoshopped it would look better but as Rio says, it won’t be original signatures.

  75. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:54 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Post-Cards!…Why can’t they be in their own seperate little book?…snort!…Not part of the cookbook, but a keepsake along with the cookbook….wuffle!

  76. Melanie
    5:14 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Yes, Siber-H, there are pecan trees in western MA. Hardy Pecans! Just wish they would hurry up and have a crop.

    That was a HECK of a storm! And more to come! WIND, HAIL, WIND, RAIN and RAIN and RAIN. It’s weird when it’s sunny and POURING rain.

    Wish I could give it to some of you in the SW. Saw a picture of your baked earth. Dog, when the Monsoons come you guys are going to have floods.

    Here’s hoping for a nice gentle rain to loosen the soil . . .

  77. Staff
    5:56 pm on August 19th, 2011

    OK, I finished printing out the cookbook. I added in about 8 pages of “a little more please” and made a contents page just for me.
    Now I have to get it bound.
    It took me 3 hours! My ink did not run out though. I think it looks lovely and it is only about 1/2 inch high so there will be no problem binding it.

    Now I am starving. Off to buy dinner :-)

  78. Staff
    5:57 pm on August 19th, 2011

    PS I had to reprint 12 pages of errors.

  79. B.Stover
    6:15 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Staff: What do you mean you had to reprint 12 pages of errors?

  80. Meashka
    6:20 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Hello everyone. Mom just got home to log me in. I breezed thru all the comments from today, and there is one that stands out for me. Siber – afraid that his picture is unflattering! Now how on earth could that handsome sweetie of a Sibe ever take an unflattering photo? Siber, you made me laugh with that joke!

    As to the pawtograph dilemna…none of us howlers are going to stick our paws in ink. “Fuhget abot it.” I personally like the idea of index cards attached to our own page in the cookbook. This is a keepsake gift for Spence…not supposed to be some neat and pretty cookbook. If thats what he wants, he can buy his own!

  81. Buddy
    6:21 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Ditto what Meashka said…no ink for me or T.C. But we love the idea of attaching a used catnip toy!

  82. OleyHowlers
    6:33 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Talk about avatar-theft! Buddy wants to be one of us Howlers so bad that now he is using our avatar! That darn kat !

    Hey we just posted over on LitStack and not too many of you posted there today yet. But we did see a guy posted yesterday (on Dog On It review page) about checking out our blog and how amazing it is that dogs and kats are posting!

  83. Mollypop
    6:46 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Ha ha ha – Oleys, I just went over to LitStack and see that little Sammie posted – about Princess, of course. When we left her house this morning, the cable guys were working and the cable was out. Mom didn’t shut off the computer since everything was down and that little diva must have gotten on as soon as the cable came back up.

  84. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    7:20 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Mollypop,

    I thought that Sam’s girl wasn’t going anywhere. At least, that is what Sam keeps insisting!

  85. Melanie
    7:44 pm on August 19th, 2011

    I’m taking my ear and going to bed . . .

    TTFN

  86. Staff
    7:44 pm on August 19th, 2011

    B Stover,
    Some errors were when I printed on paper that I had already printed on (I put it back in the stack because one side was good) So I reprinted that page because of the other printing.
    Some I reprinted because I was printing two sides and I forgot what page I was on and got out of sequence.
    And some I reprinted because I printed on normal weight paper when I wanted card stock and vice versa.
    Then when I added my extra pages I had to figure out how to do the second page because it didn’t do the other side the way the PDF did. So there I got one side right side up and the other side upside down.
    If you can name it then I did it wrong.

  87. Alice M. Johnson
    7:46 pm on August 19th, 2011

    goodnight Melanie

  88. Mollypop
    7:57 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Melanie – Do you have a heating pad you caould lay your head/ear on? The warmth might help.

  89. B.Stover
    8:04 pm on August 19th, 2011

    I hope you feel better tomorrow Melanie.

    Thank you Staff.

  90. B.Stover
    9:27 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Staff: Forgot to say that I’m sorry you had all those problems.

    I received an email that my SharedBooks copy of the cookbook has been shipped. Should get it next week.

  91. Siber-H
    10:02 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Hey and Hi Fellow Siberians, especially Meashka, who is looking ever so lovely as always.
    I just woke up to the fact that you have your own website and visited it. It is really neat because it is the weather. I like it. Weather is fun even if we don’t have much of it here.

  92. Tupper and Gilly
    10:03 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Home from Crazy Lady Land….you gotta hear this one….
    We are expanding, and she is painting the whole place in a very different, very modern color scheme of “wild salmon” and “wasabi”. It is gorgeous. But one wall has all these weird splotches on it. One of our members pointed that out to her, and she said she didn’t know why it did that, and she wondered if another coat of paint was called for. Later, she and I were talking about the splotches – it seems that she took it upon herself to spackle some nail holes in the wall and just schmeared spackle in, and slapped paint on it. No drying time, no sanding…just wet spackle and paint. She thought it would “save time and money”
    Dumb da-dumb dumb duuuummmmmbbbb!

    Just catching up on the autographed cookbook ideas.
    Bee – if it would relieve your mind, we were thinking of very carefully flat-gluing the signature/message part of the cards onto cardstock and then laminating the pages. We promise, it would not look messy or grade school-ish.

    But as we said before, we will bow (wow) to the wishes of the Plunderers all.

  93. Siber-H
    10:17 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Fellow Siberians, One tiny suggestion for improving the look of your website. Meashka’s picture would look great on it.

    T&G–That sounds like that would really work for the cards. Rio will like that idea.

  94. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:32 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Grunt!…I like that Idea!…snort!

  95. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:35 pm on August 19th, 2011

    LitStack!…. Wha? Ollie said some guy posted about this here blog?….snort!…I have to go see what he said about guys and Kats posting on the blog…grunt!

  96. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:45 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Snort!… That guy who posted over on LitStack under the Dog On It review is a real comedian…heh!snort!heh!… Check out his name – “Barry A-Bone”….chorkel!… If that’s his real name I will eat my Iditarod booties…chorkel!

  97. Tupper and Gilly
    10:45 pm on August 19th, 2011

    We gotta go to bed….up early tomorrow to open CLLand.
    G’night all

  98. dawson
    10:48 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Wookie: I’m just getting caught up on the blog now and yes I will take a hard cover 4 color cookbook for approximately $30.00 and thank you very much. I’m going to be a semi lurker for several days. Too much going on right now. Work, roof, garage sale and sleep deprivation making brain disappear. I’m almost up to the noon posts but fading fast.

  99. Siber-H
    11:01 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Night All

  100. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:05 pm on August 19th, 2011

    LandLord!…My friend is fit to be tied over a request from her renters today….snort!…They want to know if one of their down-and-out friends can stay in the house too because he will only need a place to live till January ….grunt!… She can’t believe they are asking her about this because they just signed the lease 3 weeks ago that said “only 3 people” will be allowed to live there….gurgle!…The third “original” one is moving in tonight… NOT FOUR – just Three!…grump! …Now she has to be the mean landlord and say, “NO NO NO! NO Freakin’ Way – NO!”….grunt! …In a nice way…sniff!

  101. Snowhook Bella
    11:05 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Finally, I’m leaving the office. And, to answer Natasha’s question—yes, we have a very green, very wooded plot of land rich with vegetation. :)

  102. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:06 pm on August 19th, 2011

    SiberH!…the Rockies are still playing!…snort!…You can’t go to bed already…wuffle!

  103. Redbone Hound
    11:17 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Brother Rio- tell your friend to tell her renters that she has landlord insurance for 3 occupants only and if they add another person, even as a temp it would void her policy. Unless of course they want to pick up the new premium level which jumps WAY up for 4 renters.
    (My dear old mother had to pull that one on some folks renti’ out the bunkhouse one summer…worked like a charm)

  104. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:24 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Insurance!…Thanks brother Redbone!…heh!snort!heh!…That’s a good one and I bet it will work…sniff!… She is sort of afraid they will sneak him in anyways though…grunt!

  105. Redbone Hound
    11:30 pm on August 19th, 2011

    good thing your friend doesn’t live a fur piece away. Thataway, she can jest pop in now and then unannounced like-purely out of the good of her heart- jest to make sure them young ones is gettin’ along ok
    You enjoy them Rocky Boys. This old hound is headed for bed

  106. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:35 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Visitin’!…heh!…Yup, she will be visiting her renters a bit more than previously planned…grunt!…My friend is having a hard time staying awake, so we are assuming the game will be lost to the Dodgers and will be trotting on upstairs to our beds…wuffle!

  107. dawson
    11:45 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Wookie: I wrote “hardcover” book when I meant soft cover in my earlier post to you.
    Good night all.

  108. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    11:49 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Dawson. Thanks, although I do need to clarify one thing since all the books need to be the same — what we are ordering are soft cover, not hard cover versions of the cookbook. You can get hardcover books from Blurb, but the price differential is fairly significant. Just need to confirm this is okay and you do want to order one cookbook with soft cover. Wookie

  109. BearSpiritDog
    11:51 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Wookie! I zapped over to the darkside to quickly put in my order for a cookbook! Hope it’s not too late. Thanks for doing this!

    Calling it a day – will talk to everyone tomorrow.

    Bear

  110. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    11:52 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Dawson– that is pretty neat and even better than a double Dawson, you managed to answer my question ever before I posted it. Kind of like Karnac the Magnificent when Johnny Carson was hosting The Tonight Show. Wookie

  111. Alice M. Johnson
    11:56 pm on August 19th, 2011

    Wookie, Staff just talked to Dawson and she is good with the soft cover version. She told her she hoped she didn’t get you too confused.
    She said she has already printed it out in Black and white and it looks good that way. She punched 3 holes in it and put it in a 3 ring binder and says that will be her working copy. The one from you will be her ‘good’ copy and won’t get all dirty from cooking with it.

    Goodnight everyone.

  112. OleyHowlers
    12:01 am on August 20th, 2011

    Its been a great night here at Howling Arabians. Our great friend Drew (o.k. he is really just Dima’s best friend) came over here, and Mom and Pop and Drew were telling stories and laughing the night away.

    We are now going to bed….still laughing tho. Good night all. Remember to laugh…as much and as loud as you can!

  113. Alice M. Johnson
    12:16 am on August 20th, 2011

    Here is one of the recent Friends of Chet that I can imagine looking like Chet.

  114. OleyHowlers
    7:24 am on August 20th, 2011

    If Cooper had one white ear, he WOULD BE Chet !

  115. Salvatore Polera
    7:53 am on August 28th, 2011

    Nice to be here, fabulous website yet unfortunately a tad slow the instant I browse it, it’s almost certainly my internet connection, I am not certain. Best wishes chakras

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia