Dog On It Review: Kansas City Star

“Dog on It” by Spencer Quinn. Bernie Little, ex-cop turned private investigator, and his dog, Chet, are on the trail of a missing teen. Chet is our engaging, if not always informative, narrator; sometimes he just doesn’t get humans. You’ll see your dog in a different light, and give it an extra pat or two, after reading this. The tenderhearted should know that Chet is sometimes in peril, but it isn’t giving anything away to say it turns out fine. There are sequels, after all; the latest, “The Dog Who Knew Too Much,” will be out this fall.
– Paula Southerland, 6/19/11

Welcome 2 lawn buddies, Macy’s pups.

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Monday, June 20th, 2011 at 8:24 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

134 Responses to “Dog On It Review: Kansas City Star”

  1. Kirby T. Penworthy
    8:30 am on June 20th, 2011

    Good morning, y’all! Mom’s tearing the house apart this morning looking for something she had in her hand just the other day. Too bad her nose isn’t so good. I’m sure I wouldn’t have any problems finding any of my things — the problem is that all my stuff has been put up high, because the girls and I kept getting in fights over my toys!

  2. BearSpiritDog
    9:11 am on June 20th, 2011

    Kirby: It sounds like a commotion at your house already. Some of us here can relate to that scenario! heh,heh

    Good Monday to you all!

  3. Barb & Maggie
    9:18 am on June 20th, 2011

    Good morning.

    Nice review, but a little short for my liking.

    Well the visit from Kelly and the kids is on hold. Big storms coming today so looks like they are going to cancel. More fun for the kids if they can be outside. Barb hadn’t made the cobbler yet, thank dog.

    Washer repair scheduled for today at 2:00. Good thing, because it is full of water, which gets stinky fast.

  4. Melanie
    9:33 am on June 20th, 2011

    Good morning! Kirby T. You tell your mom that around here, half our time is spent on looking for things we just had in our hands . . .

    Barb and MagPie, every time we’ve had a litter of pups, the washer broke. With no litters for a year, the repair man must think we’ve forgotten him!

    YSAS is on set. He’s on set and waiting for a new bathing suit. The one they had for him had to go to another person for some odd reason. So they are sewing one up for him now. Brown this time. They kept apoligizing. He said “No worries, (he really did, Liz) just wake me up when you’re done.”

    He had to be up today at 3:45 am so is enjoying the sleep.

    Oh and here’s some cool mural mosaics from up in Canada (Hi, Dawson!).
    If you click on each square it shows the one foot square piece of artwork that makes the shape in the larger mural.

    I especially like the one called “Coastal Inspirations”.

    http://www.muralmosaic.com/Cochrane.html

  5. Melanie
    9:35 am on June 20th, 2011

    Also, the teenagers are back at the nest. I got this screen shot just before it started pouring and the lens blurred.

  6. BearSpiritDog
    9:39 am on June 20th, 2011

    Barb&Maggie: It will be interesting to find out what is wrong with the washer (didn’t we call it “washing machine” om bygone years?) We so rely on these appliances we use almost daily. Big storms in your area of the country of late. Too bad Arizona/New Mexico can’t have some of it.

  7. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:40 am on June 20th, 2011

    Rain!…Its a good thing they have that Ark built already…heh!

    Review!…That was the worst review I have ever read for one of Spencer’s books…grump!…I mean, why bother?…sniff!

  8. Kirby T. Penworthy
    9:41 am on June 20th, 2011

    Bear: Mom was telling us the other day that people keep coming up to the desk at the library asking to borrow the “staple machine”!

  9. Melanie
    9:45 am on June 20th, 2011

    The staple machine??

    For some reason the following picture reminded me of Macy’s picture last night.

  10. Kirby T. Penworthy
    9:55 am on June 20th, 2011

    Melanie: That photo reminds me of Hogworts when He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named is about to attack! Speaking of which, Mom’s library might rent a whole theater on the day the new HP movie is released, so Mom and my girl and boy (Dad’s not a fan — what’s up with that?) will go. I want to know why I can’t go, too! That’s species discrimination!!!

  11. BearSpiritDog
    9:56 am on June 20th, 2011

    Kirby: Your mom sure runs into some characters at the library! Must make her job interesting (or frustrating, as the case may be)

    Melanie! The 3 Mural Mosaics with the Active Grids are beautiful! I loved them all, but especially “Coastal Inspirations” and the one portraying the Equine Artists of the World.

    Rio: That was good news yesterday for you and your friend. A renter she has known for years will certainly give her piece of mind.

  12. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:00 am on June 20th, 2011

    Bear!… She has been in a better mood since Saturday…sniff!…She even said my treat budget would soon increase, but the allocation would decrease….grunt!… I ‘m not sure what she is trying to tell me, but for some reason I don’t think it is a good thing….sneeze!

  13. Kirby T. Penworthy
    10:15 am on June 20th, 2011

    Rio: I think she’s trying to tell you she’s choosing quality over quantity! (I think that may have something to do with that dreaded “D” word again — you know, the one you said you didn’t want to hear!)

  14. Melanie
    10:16 am on June 20th, 2011

    Riö, I think that means better treats but less of them! OH NO

    Kirby T. That is a picture of clouds in Scotland. No wonder it reminds of you Hogwarts. Jealous here about renting the whole theater. I AM going to the movie theater to see it. Because of health issues, I don’t go to movie theaters. But my sister, her three children and two SOs are TAKING me. As in, when I mentioned I was going, they said they would pick me up, drop me and my sister at the NEW theater that just opened up, park and join us.

    Whew, such service!

    BSD, That’s my favorite too.

  15. Melanie
    10:16 am on June 20th, 2011

    Double post!!

  16. Kirby T. Penworthy
    10:21 am on June 20th, 2011

    Melanie: Mom’s still waiting to hear if enough people signed up for the staff association to be able to rent the theater. Paws crossed! Wait, why are my paws crossed? I won’t be able to go anyway! Snort!!!

    Mom’s off to work now. Have a good day, y’all! BBL!!!

  17. BearSpiritDog
    10:24 am on June 20th, 2011

    Rio: Oh, oh! Doesn’t sound good. But, on the other hand, it could mean quality, not quantity. Not what you wanted to hear, I know. Then too, as long as her mother continues to share…

  18. BearSpiritDog
    10:26 am on June 20th, 2011

    Hey! Great minds and all.

  19. Melanie
    10:38 am on June 20th, 2011

    Bragging here!
    JULY 28 TO AUGUST 13
    “HAMLET”
    “Hamlet,” directed by Hamilton Clancy, will be presented as the second and concluding production. The tragedy, presented by The Drilling Company, features Alessandro Colla as Hamlet, Amanda Dillard as Ophelia and McKey Carpenter as Laertes, all of whom earned distinction in The Drilling Company’s 2010-2011 production of “Reservoir,” Eric Henry Sanders’ modern adaptation of Buchner’s “Woyzeck,” which was also directed by Hamilton Clancy.

  20. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:41 am on June 20th, 2011

    Melanie!….Where is the theater that Clarkson will be performing?…snort!…There must be a way for me to get there and back again…grunt!

  21. B.Stover
    10:42 am on June 20th, 2011

    The Kansas City Star is a bit behind the times. At least Dog Who is mentioned.

    Good morning all.

    I’m making braided bread with herbs then I’m starting on the cookbook project.

  22. B.Stover
    10:43 am on June 20th, 2011

    Melanie: That is excellent! I’m so happy for McKey.

  23. Melanie
    10:52 am on June 20th, 2011

    No theater!! It’s Shakespeare In The Parking Lot!

    It’s really in a parking lot. FREE! I bet they would let Riös watch . . .

  24. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:57 am on June 20th, 2011

    Drilling!….The Drilling Company posted its first post on a blog this morning….snort!…We can read about the progress of the play that Clarkson will be starring in…heh!….How cool is this? Link to blog below…sniff!

    http://thedrillingcompanyweblog.blogspot.com/

  25. Barb & Maggie
    11:44 am on June 20th, 2011

    Melanie, Good luck to Clarkson, and hope the bathing suit fits.

    We still call it a washing machine, must be behind times!

    Well, as of 1 hour ago, the trip was back on, so we may or may not be having company. Making the cobbler regardless.

  26. B.Stover
    11:44 am on June 20th, 2011

    I like the horse mural mosiac the best. Each square has a horse in it. Cool.

    The Drilling Company blog is nice. Thank you Rio.

  27. B.Stover
    11:46 am on June 20th, 2011

    I call it a washing machine also but I do say “stapler.”

  28. Melanie
    11:58 am on June 20th, 2011

    To me, a stapler machine is one of those electric staple thingies in offices.

    A stapler is a hand driven device. snicker.

    If you say washer to me, I don’t know if your talking about clothes or dishes.

  29. B.Stover
    12:08 pm on June 20th, 2011

    And there are washers that go behind screws to keep the screw more firmly in place……I think.

  30. BearSpiritDog
    12:11 pm on June 20th, 2011

    The Drilling Company. Funny little blurb there: “Parking Available! Meters in effect”

    Melanie: Big congrats to YsuccessfulS! Dog only knows how he does it on such little sleep, though I’m sure he doesn’t mind a bit!

    B: Braided bread with herbs sounds good.

  31. Masquers
    12:14 pm on June 20th, 2011

    B: Right you are. Funny, isn’t it, how so many words are the same yet mean different things.

  32. BearSpiritDog
    12:19 pm on June 20th, 2011

    I do believe we have finished sending out Auction items to Rebecca. We will wait now to hear that all is well.

    A BIG THANK YOU to Melanie for all your help and also to MollyPop, who gave us some tips and good advice. Everyone working on this project and the Cookbook – You are the Best!

  33. Melanie
    12:36 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Washers is also a game.

    The history of the game is cloaked in mystery but lends itself to colorful conjecture. “Betcha I can toss this here washer into that oil can over yonder”, someone might have wagered years ago. Most certainly humble roots fathered the game as participants used readily-available parts, a hallmark of the game that survives even today.

    http://www.washers.org

    Reminds me of many games that are done with “what is at hand”. Card tossing, mumblety-peg, coin toss, the list goes on

  34. Melanie
    1:04 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Laughing here, straight out laughing with hand clapping!!!!

    As YSAS puts it, “Yea I know, Blackmail photo . . .”

    Snickering, laughing and hands clapping !!!

  35. Siber-H
    1:11 pm on June 20th, 2011

    I think that is a nice, but short review for Dog On It. Mom likes the part where the reviewer says, “everything turns out fine”. This reviewer must know dog people.

    We still use the term washing machine and have never heard it called a washer, even by younger generations.

    Congratulations to Clarkson! Wish we could see the production.

  36. Siber-H
    1:18 pm on June 20th, 2011

    That mural is neat. We like the wolf.

    Swimsuites were strange in those days, but like Melanie, we are clapping.

  37. dawson
    1:41 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Oh!! My, my my!
    McKey doesn’t look especially pleased. Whooo Hooo. That’s our Boy!
    I’m laughing our loud and I needed that because I’m catching up on the blog from yesterday and just read Rebecca’s Father’s Day story about Tenzing which was beautiful but gave me a lump in my throat. I will be back later.

  38. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:44 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Clarkson!…. snort!….Is he actually getting into the water in that get-up?…heh!

  39. B.Stover
    1:49 pm on June 20th, 2011

    LOL!!

  40. Wölfie
    2:12 pm on June 20th, 2011

    ROTFLMHO!!

  41. B.Stover
    2:20 pm on June 20th, 2011

    I’ve titled the cookbook The Plunderers’ Cookbook. On the title page I’ve included this quotation:

    “O! who can…cloy the hungry edge of appetite,
    By bare imagination of a feast?”

    It’s from Shakespeare’s Richard II.

    Liz: I’ve sent the title page to you as an email attachment to make sure that you can open it.

  42. BearSpiritDog
    2:38 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Siber-H: Wolf? Where?

    Wolfie: What?

    B: Why, we like that quotation!

    Melanie: Who knew. A game called Washers. Interesting descriptive wording of it.

  43. Melanie
    2:46 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Here’s the Dish on the Patch!

    The Patch has been chosen. It will be the Lone Chet Patch. The words Iditarod 2011 are included. Thanks to all who wanted that. It also has a different sled and musher. They are not driving into Chet’s ear. Thanks to Staff on that.

    So here’s the Patch! The next posting will be IMPORTANT! Please read, and hopefully volunteer.

  44. Melanie
    2:56 pm on June 20th, 2011

    This is the money stuff.

    The PR person (very nice, Ariele) is paying for three 13 inches by 10 inches sled patches and for the jacket (or hat) patches for the Snowhook team.

    Their payment will be the downpayment on the Patchwork.

    We need to figure out how many patches that we The Plunderers need. The price will be about $8 dollars a patch. Depending on how many we order, it may go down.

    I need a volunteer to gather the information on how many patches we’re going to get AND (this is important) pay of the patches and then gather the money plus shipping from each person.

    I wish I could do this, but ummmm, money is a bit tight!

    This information is needed right away so Ariele can order as soon as possible.

    I can act as relay person as Ariele has my email address so there’s no problem with giving out an email.

    So summing up:
    • Patch is done! (make sure to thank Amalia!)
    • PR is taking care of the sled patches and the Snowhook patches.
    • Need a volunteer with money and a brain to figure out how many patches we need.
    • I’ll submit the order to Ariele.
    • We get the Patches!!

    Whatcha think?

    Also do we get a couple of patches for the auction?

  45. Siber-H
    2:57 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Bear, The wolf is just below the horses neck. It is just the head of a wolf.

    The Patch! That is perfect, Melanie and T$G’s mom.

  46. Melanie
    2:57 pm on June 20th, 2011

    I swear to dog, that said “Pay for the patches” but no, had a brain skip or slip or . . .

  47. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:10 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Melanie!… I would volunteer to do all that but my paws are full with the Auction….grunt!…I think it is a job for a KAT with the initials A.J. ….heh!

  48. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:13 pm on June 20th, 2011

    BTW!…. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the patch!…heh!…It’s the classiest patch I have ever set my pug eyes on!…WoooooWheee!…What a beauty!…snort!

  49. B.Stover
    3:26 pm on June 20th, 2011

    I love the patch design. It is wonderful. Thank you to everyone involved.

    I need clarification: Does the person who pays for our order of patches then receive all of the patches and send them to each who ordered? (After collecting money from each I assume.)

  50. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:39 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Stover!….That is exactly how I am imagining it would happen….sniff!

  51. Melanie
    3:45 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Okay a question came in “How big are the small patches?”

    Asked Ariele, Around 3 x 4 inches. Good for backpacks, jackets, or hats!

    B.Stover, that’s what I came up with, but if anyone else has a better idea???

    Also each person would need to pay for their shipping.

  52. BearSpiritDog
    3:55 pm on June 20th, 2011

    OMD! This is so EXCITING! The patch is beautiful!!! Thank you Melanie and T&G’s mum. Thank you Amalia & Ariele! I would love to assist. What can a non-techie Dog do to help? I could gather names, but not sure how to collect the funds, which it sounds like you might need up front?

    A big yes to Patches for the auction!

  53. B.Stover
    3:59 pm on June 20th, 2011

    That means that everyone who wants a patch needs to know the “buyer/patch holder’s” mailing address…..

  54. Masquers
    4:05 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Bear is too excited to read the instruction properly. It looks to me like someone must come up with the funds for the entire order up front. Then this person would receive the shipment of patches and distribute them according to the order data base. Am I even close? (whispering-Bear says he can collect all the orders, but is short on funds to purchase the complete package)

  55. Siber-H
    4:05 pm on June 20th, 2011

    And the mailing address of those ordering the patch would be known to the buyer/patch holder.

    We’ll get this figured out

  56. B.Stover
    4:12 pm on June 20th, 2011

    The “buyer/patch-holder” is the person who gives the funds up front. That is the mailing address everyone needs. Once payment by check is received with each person’s mailing address, the buyer/patch-holder (getting the addresses from each buyer via the buyer’s payment) can mail out the patch to each. So….my question is, how do we give everyone the address of the buyer/patch-holder?

  57. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:13 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Stover!…There’s always the Dishlicker’s email address we could use for counting heads….snort!

  58. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:17 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Titles!….Speaking of Titles, I thought The Dishlickers’ Cookbook was the title for the cookbook, not “The Plunders ‘Cookbook”….grunt! … I really like the Shakespearian quote for the book…snort!

  59. B.Stover
    4:18 pm on June 20th, 2011

    How would using dishlicker work Rio? (Real question.)

  60. B.Stover
    4:22 pm on June 20th, 2011

    We could title the cookbook “The Dishlickers Cookbook” and then dedicate it to Chet, Bernie, Spence, Admin and the Plunderers. What does everyone think?

  61. BearSpiritDog
    4:35 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Rio! I like your idea of using the dish address to gather information, etc for the patch.

    Cookbook Title: Plunder’s Cookbook – Dishlisher’s Cookbook. Both sound good. Decisions, decisions…

    Siber-H: Thank you.

    Wookie: My thoughts are with you today.

  62. Wölfie
    4:37 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Oops, somehow my paw popped up so it looks like I can be the patch person, or patch doggie, or whatever. Just let me know how many patches you want and I’ll send a check to Amelia.

    Melanie, what is the deadline? Can we get a total by Wednesday night and I can send the check off on Thursday? You can send my her address on my SDD.

    How many patches are we donating to the auction, anyway?

  63. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:43 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Email!….Unless the one who is going to volunteer to collect the orders doesn’t mind everyone knowing their email address, I suggest we use the dishlickers@yahoo.com to submit your order.

    1.Go to www. yahoo.com
    2.Login as dishlickers/slurp4real
    3.Send an email to dishlickers@yahoo.com with the subject being “Patch”
    4.In the email say how many patches you want to order and who it is for. (i.e. I’d like to order 5 patches for Rio)
    5.Submit the email.
    6.NO ONE read the emails except the Guy who volunteers to do this so they can get an accurate count. After they have read the email, and you can tell if it’s been read, then you can snoop around and see how many patches everyone is ordering…heh!

  64. BearSpiritDog
    4:46 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Wolfie: Those dam i-Paws will get you every time! (lol) Bear is ready to place his order for 1 patch. What do you think s/h will be?

  65. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:47 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Stover!… I answered your email question but it is being monitored…grunt!… I sent it at 4:43pm so check back later, okay?….huffle! …Damned monitoring bullcrap! …grump!

  66. Masquers
    4:50 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Melanie: If you let me know how much each patch weighs I can estimate shipping costs.

  67. BearSpiritDog
    4:58 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Wolfie! Please contact me at: BearSpiritDog@aol.com
    I have an idea to share with you.

  68. Siber-H
    5:02 pm on June 20th, 2011

    A big Thank You goes out to Mr. Wolfie!!

  69. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    5:13 pm on June 20th, 2011

    A couple of thoughts on logistics for the patches.

    1. I’m not sure having the patches are part of the auction actually makes a lot of sense. Everyone who wants a patch will be able to order it directly, at a known price. If they are part of the auction, someone will need to buy them and then donate them and then have them auctioned. If the auction price is lower than the actual price, the one who donated them will be the one who suffer a loss and someone who wins the patch in the auction will get the patch cheaper than those who purchased it directly; not sure we want that. Also, it is unlikely that anyone would bid more in the auction than whatever the cost would be to purchase it directly.

    2. With the exception of out of country shipments (which would most likely be limited to Dawson, C. Harris and LizF), the shipping cost should be roughly the same for everybody and, given the size and likely light weight of the patch, my guess is that shipping expense (not counting envelopes) would probably be no more than a $1.00/patch. We may just want everybody who orders a patch to send an extra dollar to Wolfie (or Wolfie’s mom, since I think she will be doing the work). If there is money left over (which I think would be likely), Wolfie’s mom can use it cover the cost of the envelopes and donate any additional excess to Snowhook. If a dollar winds up not being enough to cover shipping, my dad says he’d be willing to make up the difference anyway for everyone. I think we can figure out how to handle the Canadians and the Australians off line if necessary.

    3. As to number to be ordered, I think we can just have bloggers post on the blog how many patches they want, but set a tight limit, i.e., by Wednesday night, or whatever seems appropriate.

    Wookie

  70. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:28 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Orders!… My only fear of posting the order on the blog is someone is going to get over-looked…snort!… Unless Wolfie can throw up a final tally with every ones name and number of patches before he orders them, just so no one is missed….grunt!…. Like me!

  71. Sam
    5:29 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Wolfie, you are a love! I want a patch and cousin Mollypop does too. I have your address and will quickly get a check in the mail for 2 patches @ $8 plus whatever will decided by tomorrow for postage.

  72. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:32 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Auction!…. I was thinking that after we place our One-time order there would not be any other opportunity to get a patch and therefore…..wheeze!…..therefore auctioning off a few might be a good idea. But I also see how everyone who wants one will probably already have one except for the missing few….sniff! … Jasper and CHarris being those few who might miss out on this opportunity…grunt!

  73. Alice M. Johnson
    6:01 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Well Staff was away taking the parents to the VA and the computer was off so I was not able to raise my paw to be the patch Kat. However I would like to have 6 patches. One for Mr.Staff, Staff, me and Abbie, and two more for good luck.

    Thanks Wolfie for raising your paw and we really appreciate it. I will email my email addy to dishlickers and you can send me your snail addy back.

    Whoo Hoooooo.

    Oh yeah, And great job on the patch Melanie. Inspired work!

  74. OleyHowlers
    6:03 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Hello all,
    First off, we loved Rebecca’s wonderful Fathers Day story … what a guy Tenzing is. We still have a lump from reading that.

    The bathing suit is a riot! What a great sport YSAS is.

    The patch is wonderful. We would like 2 of them, but not sure where we need to send our check for $18 .. is that right?

    Lastly, we have some exciting news. Mom & Pop showed us 2 tickets they have. Each ticket says “Admit 1 person and dog”. Mom says that Dima and Meashka will be going to this event this year and that its called Pints for Pups. Mom & Pop will be tasting craft beers, while Dima & Meashka will be meeting all sorts of friends and getting free food and soaks in a pool. There is even a doggie bar and cafe! Here is a link. We are so excited, even though its almost a month away.

    O yeah…Mom made an appointment to get us pouf-ed before the big event.

    http://www.berkshumane.org/

  75. B.Stover
    6:03 pm on June 20th, 2011

    I would like two patches. Thank you Wolfie. I have your address and will send a check as soon as we know the exact amount.

  76. Siber-H
    6:22 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Wolfie, Would you please email me your snail mail address and who I make the check out to. I will get a check in the mail straight away as soon as we figure out s&h.
    I like Wookie’s idea of sending an extra dollar for envelopes or whatever.

    I would like two patches.

  77. BearSpiritDog
    6:27 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Wookie: Excellent adice! I can help with shipping – Wolfie: Please contact me.

  78. Melanie
    6:38 pm on June 20th, 2011

    I KNEW I could count on all of you to make things work!

    The Plunderers RULE!!

    Wolfie, I will be getting patches, four for me and I think Dan and Zoë will also be getting them. But we are making our final count tomorrow!

    Talked to OTAS tonight, he’s jazzed on getting a patch!

    Also talked to YSAS and he’s just off from a 15 hour day. His nose and the top of his feet got sunburn but that was it. He had to smoke but it was herbal cigarettes. He said not to worry, they taste so bad he will NOT be taking it up!

    I have to go back to his FB page and see what other comments have been said about his swimsuit!

  79. Melanie
    6:38 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Wölfie, please check your SDD. Thanks.

  80. Melanie
    6:54 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Saturday is the big day for Bella and friends!

    Going to do the entry!!

    You guys think it’s okay if I put the Patch up on Saturday on FB in honor of their entry??

  81. BearSpiritDog
    6:59 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Melanie: The following Saturday, the 2nd of July, right? We think if you show the patch on F/b every dog and Kat will want one!

  82. Alice M. Johnson
    7:04 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Oh my,
    Dawson wants 8 patches. I am not sure what she is going to do with them but I suspect they will be plastered all over her people at the ‘home’.

    Heh,

    they are supposed to be sent to me. I will then have 14 patches to watch over for a while.

    Goodness we are going to owe Wolfie a ton in postage! We will send the money to Wolfie as soon as the final price for the patches is agreed upon.

  83. Alice M. Johnson
    7:07 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Dawson, One secret decoder device says 8 patches and the other one says 10. Which one? Wolfie needs to know.

    Heh

    Alice Johnson

  84. B.Stover
    7:08 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Melanie: I think putting up the patch on FB is an excellent idea.

  85. dawson
    7:11 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Melanie: The patch is very desirable. I am negotiating with my sister to get some because there is a Postal Strike in Canada.
    Crapola.
    Last night, 2 minutes before I got off work, the skies opened and enormous amounts of water started falling. I was drenched by the time I got to my car in the parking lot. I drove very slowly home. The windshield wipers were not keeping up with the rain. I love storms but I was scared. It has finally stopped thundering and lightning-ing but the rain is still falling.
    I have never heard of bailing out a garden but the man here is trying to. He’s dug a little trench by his plants and is bailing them out. Good luck, honey.
    Me? I’m for a nap.

  86. dawson
    7:13 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Dear Sister,
    Well, I do prefer 10…not to appear greedy, though.

  87. Masquers
    7:19 pm on June 20th, 2011

    I keep looking at that patch and marveling at what a beautiful creation it is. Count me in for one.

    Rio: Should everyone submit their orders via dish? Like Wookie says, they could get lost here on the blog.

  88. Melanie
    7:19 pm on June 20th, 2011

    You guys are so great. . . sniff.

    I know it’s only 7:19, but yup, I’m headed up.

    I will read tomorrow what goes on this evening.

    More power to all of you!

  89. BearSpiritDog
    7:23 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Good Night, Melanie! Good Job!

  90. bluecat
    7:28 pm on June 20th, 2011

    The patch is perfect. Good job, Everybody. One for me, please and how do I get Wolfie’s address. (thanks WWB)

    Bella – your story brought tears but the good kind.

    Melanie – please tell Clarkson he rocks that outfit, especially with the ‘stash and straw boater. Can’t wait for BWE’s return.

  91. Masquers
    8:04 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Buddy: How cum Sasha doesn’t get to go?

  92. Gus & BooBear
    8:36 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Wow, what a weekend!! Mom and Dad were out of town for a wedding and just caught up!! Enjoyed reading everything, espcially Rebecca’s fathers day story.

    Love the patch!! We want 1 and will send a check to Wolfie as soon as the total due is decided. Mom thought she had Wolfie’s address (snail mail)from when we got christmas toffee, but is not sure where it is. So we will need to get it again. As soon as a total is determined, a check will go in the mail. Wolfie, if it would help, we can send a check now for $10.00 and if y’all determine it is more, we can send the difference then.

    This is so exciting!! We are already wishing that it was winter again!

  93. Mollypop
    8:51 pm on June 20th, 2011

    The patch is beautiful! I can’t wait to get my paws on it.

  94. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:26 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Wolfie!….Wookie made some really good points as to why it would be a nightmare trying to figure out the bidding for multiple patches…snort!…I agree with him, so No Patches will be on the Auction…grunt!

    Orders!….Do you really just want us to shout out our orders here on the blog?…snort!… I can do that if that’s the way you want to roll….sniff!…Seems like a lot of unorganized chaos to me and that always drives me right up the wall….grunt!

    Rockies!…Are barely holding their own tonight…yeep!…I’ve got to go watch so they don’t fall behind like last night…,grunt!

  95. Liz
    9:41 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Back to the cookbook, I think/thought it was:

    DISHLICKERS
    The Plunderers’ Cookbook (subtitle)

    And re the cover design, generally I will try to take suggestions on board but covers usually evolve of their own accord as the design goes on. Just fyi.

    VERY proud of YSAS rolling ‘No worries’ off the tongue!

  96. dawson
    9:43 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Staff has put our orders for patches on the dishlickers…I think that is a safer way. I know I miss posts even though I try to read every one. Someone may be missed. I’m saving one of my patches for C.Harris…I miss my Northern neighbor…and Jasper may talk me out of one, if he doesn’t manage to order one in time.

    Wolfie: If my greedy ordering causes any problems, just tell Staff. She will send you the $ ASAP. Right, big sister?

  97. Masquers
    9:47 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Wolfie: I would be happy to take a head count and post it here on the blog. Also, everyone will need an address to mail their check to. Do you want to post that on dish?

  98. Staff
    9:48 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Yes of course little shrimpy sister.

  99. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:48 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Liz!…Yes, that was what we decided way back when. Just “Dishlickers.” It was your idea I do believe…heh!… I like the subtitle and the quote from Shakespeare inside….wuffle! …I sure wish someone here could have gotten more recipes in this thing…hmmmphf!

  100. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:51 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Monitored! … I have a post that is still being moderated at 4:43 pm that explains how we could use the dishlickers email to let Wolfie know how many each of us want to order….snort!… In that way he only has to look one place to get a count etc….sniff!

  101. dawson
    9:56 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Dam the moderator. Did you mention the word, “shoe”?

  102. Tupper and Gilly
    9:59 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Greetings to all you Wonderous Plunderers!

    So glad everyone likes the patch. Wolfie – you are fabulous for being the Patch Distribution Clearing House. Please put us down for 3 patches.

    Bee – as far as the title of the cookbook, waaaaay back when this was all just a gem of an idea, Liz suggested the name “Dishlickers” as that is an Australian term for dogs. Hence the yahoo email address etc.

    We thought that was the working (and possibly the final) title for the cookbook – that it would be something like “Dishlickers and Friends – Recipes from The Plunderers of Chet’s Blog”

    Rio – we are just catching up with a lot from the blog – congrats to your friend for finding good, dependable renters. What a great load off her mind!

  103. Liz
    10:16 pm on June 20th, 2011

    In fact, in my head it was Dishlickers: Recipes from the Chetthedog.com Plunderers…

    Anyway, underway soon!

  104. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:20 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Load-Off!… Yes, she even seems lighter…heh!… The whole idea of actually having someone else pay her mortgage is an entirely new and exciting idea….sniff!… She almost said the “V” word today…sniff!.. But decided to spell it out instead. V-A-C-A-T-I-O-N just in case she jinxed it…snort!

    Dawson!… I did mention your name along with marauding goats up north stopping all mail delivery…heh!…Maybe that’s the reason it is being moderated for so long….snorkel!…Hey! I bet Mike Baker hired a Goat to moderate our posts!…gah!

  105. Siber-H
    10:23 pm on June 20th, 2011

    I have had comments moderated and they never show up on the blog. I know I didn’t say anything questionable in them, even the word for the thing we wear on our foot.

    Rio, I hope Houston can do this.

  106. Barb & Maggie
    10:24 pm on June 20th, 2011

    We are trying to catch up on the days posting. We love the patch and would like 3. I thought Wookie suggested $9.00 with the extra $1 being to cover postage. Mary, that is so nice of you to cover it. Thank you. We have your address so will send a check tomorrow, unless we hear differenly on the amount.

    A special thanks to the artistic talent involved.

    Also love the swimsuit, and the guy in it looks adorable, but still can’t remember what BWE means.

  107. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:30 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Woooo!…. Rockies winnit on the Road!… snort!snort!…. This is really really good!…heh!heh!….Wooooo!

    Clarkson!… I should have put this clapping Bob up when I saw Clarkson in his swimsuit!…heh!snort!heh!

  108. Tupper and Gilly
    10:31 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Barb and Maggie – BWE = BoardWalk Empire

  109. Siber-H
    10:31 pm on June 20th, 2011

    WOO WOO whew WOO WOO Rockies Won!!!!

  110. Barb & Maggie
    10:46 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Thank you T & G. That was going to drive Barb crazy.

    Siber, We don’t understand the moderation. A couple of times we have said things that were a little off color, and we thought maybe they would be moderated, but they were not. And then Melanie gets moderated for silly stuff. Makes no sense.

    The kids were out and loved the baby goats, the weather cooperated and we had a nice day.

    Someone said they never called it a washer. In real estate descriptions, they always say “washer and dryer”. And speaking of that machine, the guy came to fix it today, for a total of $53.30, which we thought was a very good deal. The switch was broken that starts it moving, after the water fills. He said Barb was really smart not to get a machine that was computerized, because out in the country we have power outages and surges, and he says they get wrecked all the time. Hers is a Sears Kenmore Elite, which has a hand turned dial, rather than a computerized panel that is about $250 to replace. Wow, who knew!

    OK, we are off to bed.

  111. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:49 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Boardwalk!… I can never remember wot BWE stands for either because in my Pug mind ‘boardwalk’ is one word…grunt!

  112. Siber-H
    10:52 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Us too, off to read and then sleep.
    Night All

  113. Tupper and Gilly
    10:55 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Rio – a Pug mind is truly a puzzlement – ’tis a mysterious place of multi-faceted thoughts.

  114. Staff
    10:58 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Hey Rio,
    When Mr.Staff and I were in Madison for the wedding this weekend we went into a bookstore. (Can never resist) and bought a book called A Pug’s Tale. It is the second in the series. The first one which I don’t have yet is called Pug Hill. The author is Alison Pace. I haven’t read it yet as I am searching for the first one. Heh
    I bought it because of you little pugster. I couldn’t resist.

    http://www.alisonpace.com/pug-hill/

  115. Liz
    11:13 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Barb, that’s a good point about real estate speak being ‘washer and dryer’. We say washing machine. Is it an English thing? the english say ‘cooker’ instead of oven.

  116. Redbone Hound
    11:16 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Miz Liz – the English say a number of strange things. Like “I’ll have the steak and kidney pie”.
    Dang, I’ll just order the chitt’lins.

  117. Macy the Min-pin
    11:22 pm on June 20th, 2011

    One patch for us here. We will all admire it together. Wolfie, can we get the address on WWF?

  118. Staff
    11:26 pm on June 20th, 2011

    A wonderful picture of Kirby T Penworthy is up on my friends of Chet. Is that the one that Angela did? It is a striking portrait.

  119. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:26 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Staff!… You are the second one today who told me they bought that book…heh!…I should get some Royalites or sumthing…grunt! …What the heck?

    Mysterious!.. We who are Pugs are a very unique sort…wuffle!…We have loads of personality, can be totally grumpy and over-bearing and want things to go our way all the time. Did I mention ‘hard to live with and farty pants?’…heh!…But we also have undying loyalty to our friends and family…sniff!… I consider all of you here at Chets’ Place my friends and family…..snuffle!

  120. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:30 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Goodnight!… Yup, we are going to bed and right now this minute…snort!….Up those stairs I have to go to find my bed…gruffle!…I wonder where her mother has put it while I was down here with my friend….hmmmm!…She is always moving things about…grump!

  121. Redbone Hound
    11:39 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Brother Rio – your loyalty to your friends will never be questioned. Inside you have the heart of RinTinTin.
    And with your musical abilities, the soul of Liberace. Wonder what would happen if you were playing a harmonica with BOTH ends.
    Good night there little brother.

  122. Kirby T. Penworthy
    11:59 pm on June 20th, 2011

    Staff: That’s the one that was done by Andrea Gianchiglia — OTAS’s fiance. I’m awfully fond of that drawing. I think she captured the true essence of Kirby the T!

  123. Kirby T. Penworthy
    12:03 am on June 21st, 2011

    Oh, put me down for a patch, too. Thanks for agreeing to be the patchilitator, Wolfie!

  124. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    12:12 am on June 21st, 2011

    Masquers, it would be awesome if you could keep a head count!

    Barb has agreed to do the actual mailing. The patches will be mailed to her and we, well, mom, will send Barb a check for postage.

    I think that $9.00 should cover all expenses. And if not, then Wookies dad has agreed to pay the difference. And if we have any $ left over, we can send it to Snowhook as a donation.

    My address is:

    Mary Aller
    37295 Eagle Drive
    Raymond, Ca. 93653

  125. Snowhook Bella
    12:16 am on June 21st, 2011

    I headed to work today, where I sit now thinking that it was like any other day. Busy, but good. Then, the Plunderers happened. To clear my mind from the project that has consumed me and crossed my eyes a la Bluecat, I decided to check Chet’s blog. I love the patch and I am so enthused with the response to the patches and the gratitude expressed to those responsible for making it happen!

    And, what of Mr. Wigglebutt? I hope his mother wasn’t upset when he asked to borrow the checkbook.

  126. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    12:20 am on June 21st, 2011

    The deadline for ordering is Wednesday, say, 6:00 pm PST.

    Masquers, can you please post a list on Wednesday night?

    I will send a check on Thursday. I am not sure how much it will cost to ship the patches from the Patchwork place to Barb, but I’ll make an estimate.

    This is very exciting!

  127. Kirby T. Penworthy
    12:24 am on June 21st, 2011

    Hey, Rebecca! It seems funny to think of you being at work when we’re thinking about going to bed pretty soon. I’m glad you like the patch, after all, it’s all about you…well, er, Snowhook anyway.

  128. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    12:27 am on June 21st, 2011

    Wolfie is completely trustworthy. In fact, he has his own checking account!

    Rebecca, doesn’t it seem magical how things just seem to happen?

    I can’t help but think that this is the way life is supposed to be. We work together and plan together and play together and huge things happen.

    We have talent and willing hands and willing hearts, and our efforts have been richly blessed.

  129. Kirby T. Penworthy
    12:39 am on June 21st, 2011

    Wolfie: Well said!!!

  130. Liz
    12:43 am on June 21st, 2011

    Redbone, is that what chittlins is? are?

    Thanks for the fine visual of Rio playing the harmonica through the back door…

  131. Snowhook Bella
    12:46 am on June 21st, 2011

    Wolfie: Nicely said. Oh, and could you keep that Mr. Wigglebutt has his own checking account on the down low—I’ll never hear the end of it from Luna or Belle Starr.

    Kirby T: I like to think this is about Chet, the Plunderers and not just Snowhook. What was it Rio was saying about family earlier…

    It’s 845 here and it will be 1030 or so when I arrive home. I’m beat and thinking about heading to bed, but as I understand it Troopers don’t like it when you drive with your eyes closed.

  132. Kirby T. Penworthy
    12:56 am on June 21st, 2011

    Rebecca: I didn’t think you were that much behind us — you’re just putting in a late night. Is that a normal thing, or is it just because you’re working on this cross-eyed project?

  133. Buddy and T.C.
    6:05 am on June 21st, 2011

    Masquers,
    So sorry we didn’t see your post last night…we all fell asleep. It had been a long day…Pop was getting that c-thing removed.

    The reason Sasha is not going to Pints for Pups we think is because she feels that we need her company at home. But Mom says she would stress out with all those people and doggies.

  134. Sherika Berardino
    2:12 pm on October 7th, 2011

    Im not sure i’m asking this in the right spot but, I’m looking for windshield replacement. I’ve been looking and found Arthur’s Expert Auto Glass 802 N 8th ST Sheboygan WI 53081 (920)569-0839. Would you use them? They are here in the neighborhood. I need a quality job done for my glass job.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia