Denver Post Reviews A Fistful of Collars

A Fistful of Collars

Spencer Quinn (Atria)

Purists will say that “A Fistful of Collars,” the fifth entry in the Chet and Bernie series is just another example of how modern crime fiction has gone to the dogs.

Oh, we know. Dogs don’t talk and don’t lend a paw in solving crimes, except in fiction written for little old ladies, and when they do the books often die from terminal cuteness. That isn’t the case here.

The author, really Peter Abrahams, has written some previously pretty dark stuff under his own name, but these books, which feature a literate canine narrator named Chet who aids a flawed but still smart human private eye named Bernie, are as skillfully rendered as they are clever and fully worthy of the attention any reader willing to suspend belief for a couple of hours. – Tom Schantz

Welcome Percy, SuzyBee, Bridget the perp, watchful dude. 

 

 

 

 

Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Sunday, October 14th, 2012 at 8:33 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

136 Responses to “Denver Post Reviews A Fistful of Collars”

  1. Terry Ballard
    9:00 am on October 14th, 2012

    Woke up to the news that Derek Jeter fractured his ankle and is out for the duration. I had hoped to go to another World Sereis in the Bronx, but it won’t be this year. No Captain, No Mo, no chance.

  2. Barb & Maggie
    9:14 am on October 14th, 2012

    Good morning Terry and all.

    Good review in that hed didn’t reveal any of the story line, but what does he mean by “suspend belief”? We are just not getting that. Of course Chet can narrate!

    Another cold wet day here in northern Illinois.

  3. OleyHowlers
    9:19 am on October 14th, 2012

    Good Sunday, All!
    Maggie, we don’t understand why anyone would have to suspend relief either. Whats up with that?
    Our team is 6-0 . Woo Hoo !!!

  4. B.Stover
    9:37 am on October 14th, 2012

    I’d suggest that it should be, “has previously written some pretty dark stuff” rather than “written some previously…” but that’s just the English prof in me. I also wondered about the “willing to suspend belief” idea.

    Good morning all.

  5. Melanie
    9:39 am on October 14th, 2012

    Barb!! I was just going to say that!

    That was no killing frost. I’m sneezing like mad. Jeeze Louise.

    Raining and cold today. The Nine Newfs are sleeping, the washer and dishwasher are chugging away. Might be a day to read and snooze!

  6. Barb & Maggie
    9:47 am on October 14th, 2012

    We allso are taking care of some housekeeping chores today. Thinking of making a beef stew for din-din.

    Bee, You are right about previously. It sounds like the prior books were previously dark, rather than previously describing written.

  7. Melanie
    9:50 am on October 14th, 2012

    Here’s a link to a site I look at everyday. And yes, I am a geek. BUT, one of the new 3-D printers that have been coming out was used to help a Bald Eagle.

    She had been shot in 2005 and could not feed or take care of herself. She has been used in public Birds of prey presentations. It was at one of these that an engineer came through for her.

    http://gajitz.com/beauty-and-the-beak-bald-eagles-new-3d-printed-snout

  8. Tyb
    9:57 am on October 14th, 2012

    Nice review. I like your correction and comment, B. Much nicer day here in northwestern PA today. I wore a sweatshirt when I walked to town to pick up a newspaper; I was way overdressed. The temperature at 8 AM was 28 degrees warmer than it was yesterday at 8 AM. Don’t have to work today, so I’ll start on all the neglected chores awaiting my attention here at home.

  9. Tyb
    10:02 am on October 14th, 2012

    Melanie,
    Thanks for the link to the eagle story. It’s amazing that such a project could be undertaken and successfully completed.

  10. Masquers
    10:23 am on October 14th, 2012

    Melanie: An Amazing, Heartwarming story.
    Not so great…the above review asking us to “suspend belief” when listening to our favorite canine narrator, Chet…Grrrrr.

    TYB: Warmer here too…it will be in the 60s today. Yes!

    Barb&Magpie: Beef Stew sounds good for a rainy day.

    Terry: So sad for you and Wose…Wookie too.
    Congrats to the O. Howlers.

    B: Love your English lessons!

    A Good Morning to All!

  11. BearSpiritDog
    10:26 am on October 14th, 2012

    A kat growling…as if. Sniff.

  12. Terry Ballard
    10:26 am on October 14th, 2012

    Yester

    day after our lake outing, we went to Eisenhower Park where they had opened a new dog run hours before. Yuji spent the whole time trying to get under the small dog run fence to go play with the great danes. Not this time. I thought this baby was a lhasa, but his owner said he’s a griffin.

  13. Princess Sam
    10:26 am on October 14th, 2012

    Jeter – sob, sob, sob.

  14. Melanie
    10:40 am on October 14th, 2012

    Masquers, I shared your cows with Facebook. People love it.

  15. Wose
    10:47 am on October 14th, 2012

    Sammie, SOBSOBSOBSOB……No this can’t be true!!! I LOVE Derek Jeter!!!
    I will be under my Wizard of Oz quilt crying my heart out. You can join me under the Wizard quilt, and we can cry together.

  16. Terry Ballard
    10:50 am on October 14th, 2012

    Princess – I think all of New York is in a state of shock. When Jeter is done, it will be the official end of the Yankee Third Dynasty. When I moved to New York in 1990 the Yanks were a has been team with a disgraced owner. It has been a privilege to live through what happened next – culminating in David Cone’s perfect game in 1999 at Yogi Berra day. What a time!

  17. Wose
    10:50 am on October 14th, 2012

    Terry, you post some great pictures! I love my Yankees, but I hate to admit you are right. No Jeter, no championship…..

  18. Masquers
    10:50 am on October 14th, 2012

    Some very sad faces on the blog this morning…among them our good friend Rose, little Sammie and Mollys Mom.
    Terry has jumped up, dusted himself off and taken Yuji to the new dog park where he (Yuji) has found a new friend.
    Melanie: I would have been playing my sax along with those guys, but you all saw how my last encounter with a “cow” went.

  19. Wose
    10:53 am on October 14th, 2012

    Rio, I saw your blog last night. Please give your friend many thanks for the golden basket.

    Sob!

  20. Masquers
    10:55 am on October 14th, 2012

    Terry: When you put it that way…my little kat heart is breaking for youse diehard Yankees fans. Sob.

  21. Wose
    10:56 am on October 14th, 2012

    Rio, I hope I wasn’t presumptuous .

  22. OleyHowlers
    10:56 am on October 14th, 2012

    It was 45 this morning, compared to yesterday morning’s 27 degrees. Still, the lack of sunshine and the addition of the dampness to the air has us feeling chillier than yesterday. Pop has to climb up and down that big ladder with those heavy wooden storm windows today, while Mom will be indoors cleaning the inside windows. Us..we’ll be romping outdoors as always.
    The rents just ran out of the house, jumped in the Huskymobile, drove out and returned a short time later with chicken out the wazoo. Unfortunately for us, those chickens are not alive and have been put in the big freezer.

  23. Masquers
    10:59 am on October 14th, 2012

    Rose! We posted at the same time. A good omen perhaps?

  24. Wose
    11:11 am on October 14th, 2012

    Terry, Because my pop loved the Bronx and loved the Yankees, I have been a been a fan since the 60’s. There were many dark years for da Bombers, but still my pop and his kids stuck with them. Those glory years — Bernie, Tino, Gerardi, Jeter , O’Neill, Boomer, and Cone, and manager of all managers, Mr. Torre, and so many others…..sob

  25. BearSpiritDog
    11:12 am on October 14th, 2012

    Busy goings-on at the farm this morning. Working the hardest of all are Kat, Meashka, Dima and Sasha. Sadly for youse those yummy chickens are safely stashed away.

  26. Wose
    11:14 am on October 14th, 2012

    Oh, Masquers, I hope it is a good omen. Sob, sob, sob….
    I am very sad today…..

  27. B.Stover
    11:34 am on October 14th, 2012

    I just saw a Junco (dark-eyed) in the garden. First one of the season.

  28. BearSpiritDog
    11:57 am on October 14th, 2012
  29. Siber-H
    12:04 pm on October 14th, 2012

    I am thrilled the Denver Post reviewed AFOC!
    Denver is one of my neighbors.

    I think the Yankees are done for this season. The good news is I am often wrong.
    I feel really bad for this to happen to Jeter and the Yankees now, and I feel sad for the Yankee fans here on the blog.

    GO GIANTS!!!

  30. Melanie
    12:05 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Terry, I know if it seems that all of NY is in tears. I can guarantee that there is at least one who is not crying. A certain YSAS who is a Red Sox fan.

    I am making Gluten Free Chicken Noodle Soup. That kind of day. Should be ready for blurring around 6 pm Blog time.

  31. Terry Ballard
    12:12 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Melanie – the antipathy with Boston is pretty much a one way street. We just want out team to do good, and to an amazing extent, they have.

  32. dawson
    12:15 pm on October 14th, 2012

    I believe! No suspensions required.

    My hat is off in respect for Derek Jeter and sympathy for all Yankees fans, including myself.

    Packing day – leaving early tomorrow for home in the North. Brrr.

  33. Tupper and Gilly
    12:17 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Happy Sunday everyone.
    We dob’t think reviews should start with such negativity. In this modern “goldfish 3 second attentino span” world, not everyone will get down to the good part.
    That Griffin is a cutie. Of course Corgis are cuter.
    Cold rainy day = fun day in the Mud Room with pretty music on the CD player and pretty pots growing on the turntable.

  34. Riö - The Evil Pug
    12:32 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Jeter!…Awww shucks, that is bad news about Jeter. We really like that guy…sniffle!…I don’t understand how all the Yankee fans can write-off their team so quickly though…grunt!…It is not a One-Man team, or is it?…heh!

  35. Riö - The Evil Pug
    12:33 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Post!…Geeze for a few seconds there I thought the Denver Post was going to give Chet a bad review…shudder!…I would have been the laughing stock of the blog if that had happened….grunt!

  36. Riö - The Evil Pug
    12:44 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Rose!…The little golden basket is indeed for you and you alone…snorkel!….Beau tried to lick it. My friend was quick enough to spare it that indignity….sniff!… Then he tried to eat some roses and then he got his little black butt kicked outside…chorkel!

  37. BearSpiritDog
    12:46 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Melanie: Looking very forward to the soup you will be sharing later.
    Off to the Plaza Market we go!
    BBL

  38. B.Stover
    12:55 pm on October 14th, 2012

    You guys probably already know this, but just in case: The NYTimes article indicated that Jeter broke his ankle and it is not yet known if he will need surgery.

  39. SnowBella
    1:08 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Today seems like a good day for pie. Outfield, home run and pitcher’s mound!

  40. Tyb
    1:15 pm on October 14th, 2012

    BSD: Thanks for the link to the videos. Who says we’re dumb animals? Those guys proved how smart we are. Obviously my dad lied to you about spending the day
    doing chores. He got off to a good start, was interrupted by a phone call, started the crossword puzzle in today’s paper, and has been reading the blog. I’m not sure when or if he’ll get back to work. It really doesn’t make any difference. I keep telling him the work will be there when we aren’t.

  41. OleyHowlers
    1:18 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Soup sounds yummy, but we are envisioning a roast chicken. heh heh.
    Not all of us are working hard, Bear. The girls work their tails off. Dima? He talks a good game. And talks, and talks, and talks.
    Here we are on our way to the shed to get Pop’s heavy wooden storm windows.

  42. Terry Ballard
    1:24 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Yankees are not a one man team, but Derek is the heart and soul of Yankee Stadium. The renaissance began when he got there in 1996.

  43. SnowBella
    2:02 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Howlers: Great photo!

  44. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    2:11 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Is anyone else following Baumgartner’s big jump?

  45. Tyb
    2:25 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Baumgartner just landed. He jumped from an altitude of 24+miles and seems to have landed in good shape.

  46. Tupper and Gilly
    2:28 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Wolfie – we just want to understand the point of the big jump. Seems like a gigantic waste of money to us. He could give his millions to an animal rescue center and get just as famous.

  47. Tupper and Gilly
    2:29 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Just sayin’

  48. OleyHowlers
    2:34 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Who is Baumgartner, and why did he jump?

    Mom told us about her dream from last night, which she said was very vivid. We were all up in Alaska: Pop, Mom, and us Howlers, along with many Plunderers. She was excited to tell you all that she saw AJ the Giant’s name in the list of mushers for the Knik 200 Race, but you all laughed and said that race was long gone, and that it was time for the Iditarod. There was some sort of banquet or celebratory dinner, and in the mob of people leaving that event, Mom lost Pop and the rest of us. She was wandering around town when some particulary nice woman who may or may not have been Awesome Dawson told her that she spotted the Snowhook folks going into this bar. So Mom went in, didn’t find Rebecca or Pop or anyone, but the bartender was real nice so of course Mom spent some time imbibing. Then she heard people yell that the race was about to start. She ran outside and the nice maybe-Dawson woman said you all had gone that-away. She was just in time to see those who she knew take off on a big sleigh for the starting line, without Mom. She was so sad because she was about to miss the big Start of the Iditarod. But then someone reminded her that this was just the ceremonial start, so she would have a chance to miss the real start all over again the next day.
    She had not even had a chance to be introduced to the Plunderers that were there, so she isn’t sure who was there, but she knows there were a lot of youse.
    Is that the most fantastic dream, or what? And now she is home on the farm, cleaning these darn windows. Life deals you strange hands, let us tell youse.

  49. Rose
    2:43 pm on October 14th, 2012

    OHs, great picture of youse guys! Awesome dream your mom had.

  50. Rose
    2:45 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Rio! That is very nice of your friend to make that golden basket for me. Any chance of seeing pictures?

  51. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    2:56 pm on October 14th, 2012

    I don’t understand either. That money could have been spent in so many worthy ways. It is interesting, however, to see man step outside of known boundaries.

  52. Belle Starr
    3:05 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Kat: (whispering) Pssst…does your mom know you’ve booked a trip for all youse North to Alaska?

  53. Masquers
    3:08 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Howlers: Two things.
    First: That is an awesome photo of youse in the rear-view mirror. Second: Your mom’s vivid dream means one of the Plunderers is going to win the Big One and sponsor the rest North to Alaska in March. WooooHoooo!!! Iditarod here we come!
    (I can dream, can’t I?)

  54. dawson
    3:14 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Wow!
    That is some dream, Oley. I hope we both make it to the actual start of the Iditarod!
    It poured rain last night for the first time in well over a month here and now the salmon are swimming upstream from the ocean into the cascading creek on their way to spawn. It is an amazing thing to observe as the large fish wend their way through as little as an inch of water one minute then through a powerful current of downstream waterfall the next moment and the blue heron seems as interested as I am to watch the show. I think I am in paradise.

  55. OleyHowlers
    3:17 pm on October 14th, 2012

    One year ago today,
    Our little Kat came home to stay.
    Meashka brought her toys to play.
    October 14 was a very good day.

    Sorry for the rhyming, Bee. :)

  56. Masquers
    3:39 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Now Kat is not only a proud member of the Howler Pack, but one of the Smoochers too!

  57. Melanie
    3:46 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Love the picture of the Howler Pack! Helping out Dad in the pickup truck. Always very important.

    Terry, YSAS has noticed an increase of near hits when crossing the intersections of NYC when he is wearing his Boston hat. Just saying . . snicker

    Dawson! I want to be where you are, and where Bella is .. Pondering . .

    BTW, did NOT win the big one last night. Sorry folks.

    OKAY, which one of you came to the house asking for some jerky last night?

  58. Barb & Maggie
    3:54 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Great dream, OH. I hope we were there! Now that is our kind of poetry. We like it and understand it too! Sorry Bee.

  59. SnowBella
    4:04 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Who was it that had the idea of the Plunderers playing the lottery together? Was it Buddy? I like that idea. I’m in like Rio in a bucket of beer.

  60. SnowBella
    4:07 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Was it Buddy that had the idea of the Plunderers playing the lottery together? I like that idea! I’m in like Rio in a bucket of beer.

  61. SnowBella
    4:08 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Wow! I did a Double Dawson. I posted, but it didn’t show, so I posted again and both posts came up.

  62. Masquers
    4:16 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Bella: Now that’s something that’s worth repeating! Snicker.

  63. Masquers
    4:20 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Wolfie and anyone interested: Here’s an animation of Baumgartner’s BIG jump….. http://www.space.com/17752-extreme-skydive-from-120-000-feet-animated.html

  64. Buddy
    4:21 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Bella, that was my idea. :) Definitely worth repeating, because they say I don’t have good ideas often.

  65. SnowBella
    4:34 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Buddy: I second your idea—twice.

  66. BearSpiritDog
    4:36 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Melanie: Kinda looks like Whitey-Lance. If so, he’s aloooong ways from home.

    No one here could be called a Chief by any stretch of the imagination, but we can offer up a pie to console those diehard fans who are feeling blue this day. Maybe not baked by paw…none the less…it is, as SnowBella says, store-bought-with-love.

  67. BearSpiritDog
    4:37 pm on October 14th, 2012

    that would be Chef, not Chief. sigh.

  68. BearSpiritDog
    4:39 pm on October 14th, 2012

    forgot to say…Banana Cream Pie! (with whipped cream, of course)

  69. Basil and Sage
    4:41 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Dawson – you know you are our very most favoritist Plunderer, right? We think you are smart, and funny, and beautiful, and wise, and kind, and good, and most of all generous.
    (by the way, if one of those salmon happens to be within reach, maybe you could grab it and stick it in a box with some packing tape and an address label to: HerbKats. We’ll swap ya a couple of worthless…um, we mean adorable Corgis)

  70. Riö - The Evil Pug
    4:42 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Beer!…Did someone mention a Bucket O’ Beer?…sniff!sniff!

  71. SnowBella
    5:20 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Rio: Yes, your favorite kind! Cold and with your name on it.

    If anyone were interested in heading North to Alaska, AK air is having some good deals. I’m just sayin’…

  72. Riö - The Evil Pug
    5:33 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Finished!…My friend just finished a major project for a good friend…snort!snort!…Now we get to celebrate by going on a long walk. Wha?!…grump!

  73. SnowBella
    5:40 pm on October 14th, 2012

    BSD: I ran out to the kennel to make sure W.L. is there. No worries, however he offered up little explanation as to why he is was wearing and eye patch.

  74. Rose
    5:58 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Kat, the smoochiest of Smoochers, send you tummy rubs and big hugs on this day, when you came to stay with the Oleys!

  75. OleyHowlers
    6:00 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Melanie and W-L, that is a great costme!

  76. Whitey-Lance
    6:05 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Howlers: I can’t take any credit for the costume. Melanie told me to hold still, and next thing I knew, well…

  77. Melanie
    6:15 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Heh, heh, heh

  78. B.Stover
    6:33 pm on October 14th, 2012

    “However” is hardly ever used correctly as a conjunction. It’s best to use “but” instead. “However” is a good transitional word when used in a new sentence.

  79. BearSpiritDog
    6:35 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Melanie: Smiling here.

  80. BearSpiritDog
    6:37 pm on October 14th, 2012

    B: We are taking notes. However may not long remember where they have been placed.

  81. Barb & Maggie
    6:38 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Melanie, How is the chicken noodle soup? Beef stew is almost done. Just need to bake some biscuits and we will be ready to eat.

    Barb started the kitchen cabinet job today, but in a small way.

  82. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:52 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Rose!…She put the project(s) away somewhere safe…sniff!…She said no photos yet – she has to clean the glue off and then maybe there will be some sunlight left to take photos….snort!

  83. BearSpiritDog
    7:01 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Almost time to eat? Yes!

  84. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:01 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Game!…When do the Game(s) start?…snort!

  85. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:03 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Bear!…Tonight her mother is making steak, mashed taters and gravy….slurp!…I can’t wait!…slobber!

  86. BearSpiritDog
    7:05 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Melanie: Forgot to say…we bought some gluten free bread at the market today. Finding good bread is always a challenge. Our favorites seem to be available for a while then mysteriously discontinued.

  87. BearSpiritDog
    7:06 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Rio! I can be there in no Time.

  88. Melanie
    7:10 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Soup’s On!

    It is very good. Have to laugh though . . . Started looking for vegetables to put in it. Had fresh carrots. THOUGHT I had some frozen peas by themselves. Nope all I had were brussels sprouts. Did NOT think those would work. Had nothing canned . .
    So used the frozen peas with carrots. LOTS of carrots in the soup.
    Zoë and I figure will be able to see in the dark!
    Used a little onion, lots of garlic. Had no thyme so I used Rosemary and Mrs. Dash.
    At the end of the simmering added the spiral gluten free noodles.
    Excellent.

  89. Masquers
    7:18 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Melanie: Do we have your most excellent recipe?

  90. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:22 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Yankees!…Youse guys were right the Yankees aren’t winning without Jeter…snort!…Tigers are ahead by 3 ta Nuthin’ in the bottom of the ninth…grunt!

    Giants!…That game starts at 6:00 my time. I hope SiberH is going to watch it with me and any of youse other guys too. That would be fun!fun!fun!…snort!…Do you know how badly I do not like the Cardinals right now?…wheeze!..I hope the Giants pluck those Red Birds…grunt!

  91. Siber-H
    7:22 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Rio, The Yankees game is almost over with. They are losing.
    The Giants game starts at 6 our time on Fox.

    What time is dinner?

  92. Siber-H
    7:25 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Rio, tee hee Great minds think alike about baseball.
    I can’t begin to tell you how much I dislike the Cardinals. I want revenge.

  93. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:27 pm on October 14th, 2012

    SiberH!…I’m all excited for the game…snort!…Since we already went on our long walk I can watch the whole thing without interuption…chuffle!…A first in a long time!..yeepers!

  94. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:29 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Revenge!….Tonight for starters!…wheeze!… They are going down!down!down!…grunt!

  95. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:30 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Supper!…Someone says supper is ready!…snort!…That means we have at least 5 more minutes in reality…heh!heh!…But what the heck I am heading upstairs for some Steak and Taters!….Wooooo!

  96. Siber-H
    7:32 pm on October 14th, 2012

    GO GIANTS!!!

    This makes me miss Mollie (ABP)
    That was two years ago.

  97. Mollypop's Mom
    7:37 pm on October 14th, 2012

    My Yankees. There’s many a slip twixt cup and lip.

    Boo hoo.

  98. Terry Ballard
    7:39 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Melanie – have I ever been embarrassed by the behavior of my fellow Bronxites? Of course. Just saying that in general, so do not sit around obsessing about Boston. I, for one, have the utmost respect for the team and the fans who stayed with them for that 80 year drought.

  99. OleyHowlers
    7:54 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Just had some fried green tomatoes, with a tasty remoulade sauce for dipping. Next up is our roast chicken, potatoes, onions, and carrots.

  100. Barb & Maggie
    8:06 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Oley, Are these the chickens that were raised locally?

  101. OleyHowlers
    8:13 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Yes, B&M. These are from Woodsong Hollow Farm. Our go-to chicken place.

  102. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:17 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Game!…On!…sniff!…Almost. We finished supper and someone did dishes and then Beau cleaned out my bowl and then his own…grump!…What a pig!…grrrrr!

  103. Beau - The Black Pug
    8:18 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Buurrrrp!…awwww…Ready for a game of base of balls…sneeze!

  104. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:25 pm on October 14th, 2012

    1-2-3!…The Birds are out!…snort!…The Giants look like they want to gobble down those red birds in one bite!…heh!heh!

    Beau!…Now he is laying in my favorite spot…grump!

  105. Siber-H
    8:45 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Oh Groan

    The Birds just got a 2 run homer.

  106. Barb & Maggie
    8:54 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Good night all. Signing off till tomorrow.

  107. Melanie
    9:01 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Sleep is sweetly calling . . .

    Masquers, soup . . . Umm the only thing I didn’t put in that other comment was I boiled chicken breasts in some stock and water. Oh, and I also separated the fat out and oh, one more thing, cut the chicken in little bits.

    Terry, just teasing you a bit. snicker

    TTFN

  108. SnowBella
    9:04 pm on October 14th, 2012

    What exactly am I to instruct AJ the Giant to do with the Birds?

  109. Terry Ballard
    9:08 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Melanie – I’m a big boy I can take it. As I tried to post a while before, I think I’m the oldest Dropkick Murphy’s fan in the Solar System. People here in New York are envious that y’all have a band that totally exemplifies your city, and we do not. At all.

  110. Siber-H
    9:13 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Rebecca, AJ could get rid of the Birds. He could ship them across the Bering Sea to Russia…a one-way trip migration.

  111. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:15 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Rebecca!…Tell AJ to bury them!…grump!…They are still 2 ahead of the Giants…sniff!…Giants are up to bat!

  112. SnowBella
    9:17 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Ship or bury—I’ll let AJ use his best judgement.

  113. Siber-H
    9:28 pm on October 14th, 2012

    The Dirty Birds lead 4 to nothing now.

  114. BearSpiritDog
    9:29 pm on October 14th, 2012

    We have had some excellent dishes on the blog this evening. I’ve traveled coast toast to coast to sample each one. Now I’m stuffed and ready for a nap.
    See youse in the morning – Bear

  115. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:32 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Wolfie!…Where are your Giants? They have not shown up for the game yet…grumble!…It is now 6 ta nuthin’…grump!

  116. OleyHowlers
    9:33 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Signing off here too. Watching the rents work so hard today wore us all out.
    Good night.

  117. Siber-H
    9:35 pm on October 14th, 2012

    The Birds lead 6 to nothing now.

    Night Bear, You are wise to go to bed now. It would be much better than suffering through this baseball game.

  118. Siber-H
    9:36 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Night Sibers

  119. SnowBella
    9:43 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Franklin and Mac up top as well as Kat when she was but a pup.

  120. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:51 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Life!…There is some life in the Giants team after all!…snort!…It is now 6 ta 3 and the fans are waking up, getting excited…Wooooo!

  121. Siber-H
    9:52 pm on October 14th, 2012

    The Giants are only behind by 3 runs now. This is an improvement.

  122. Staff
    9:52 pm on October 14th, 2012

    I am missing Wolfie and also Gus and BooBear’s Mom. Hoping all it well with them.

    I am glad Callie got a second opinion. We are all rooting for her. Have to get Mom to bed now. Good night all.

    G’day Liz.

  123. SnowBella
    9:53 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Go Giants! (Both the AJ brand and the other kind).

  124. Siber-H
    9:55 pm on October 14th, 2012

    The Giants got another run across the plate.

    I’m been thinking about Gus&BooBear and family. Hope all is well with them.

  125. SnowBella
    10:01 pm on October 14th, 2012

    I’ve been thinking about G&BB’s family as well as CHarris and KirbyT. I hope all are doing well.

    I made my way into town today to do the laundry I intended last night. The roads are much better today, but AJ and the flat tire are still disagreeing.

  126. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:07 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Lincecum!…Timmy Is pitching now! The game will change faces soon…heh!heh!

  127. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:09 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Kirby!…He has been missing for a very long time now…wuffle!…I know his maw and paw are very busy, maybe just too busy to hang with us right now…grunt!

    Puss N’ Boots!…I’m sure those old farts will check in when they can. They know we are thinking about them…wuffle!

  128. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:18 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Rebecca!…That tire is no match for your Giant. There must be something else wrong with that wheel…grunt!…This game is getting exciting now!…Woooo!

  129. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:49 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Bennet!…Tony Bennet is singing “God Bless America”…snort!…How old is that guy? He is going a great job!…Wooooo!

  130. SnowBella
    11:03 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Rio: Giant 1, flat tire 0.

  131. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:06 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Yes!…Thats what I want to hear!…heh!…Our Giant over the Tire..snort!…It’s still 6 ta 4 here in baseball land…grunt!…Try as they may, try as they might….

  132. Siber-H
    11:14 pm on October 14th, 2012

    At least the Giants came awake and started trying.

    Tony Bennet did a great job on that song…better than most who attempt it.

  133. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:27 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Drat!…Someone says she has to go to bed because of that screwed-up place…sniff!.. There is a big dreadful feeling inside of her. Plus wishing she could work somewhere else is forefront in her mind….sniff!

  134. Gus & BooBear
    11:40 pm on October 14th, 2012

    Hi, everybody. Finally getting to check in after catching up with the last couple of days of the blog. We were really thrilled that Spence liked the blocks and posted the picture. Mom is just mad that she didn’t think to ask him to dinner that night after the reading!

    It’s been a strange month here. As we told you earlier, on the 24th of September, Dad had a seizure and was hospitalized for a week while they ran tests and tried to figure out what, why, etc. He was released from the 1st hospital when he made arrangements to see a doctor from the famous medical center in Houston. Several appts later and several tests later, we still don’t know what the two small leisions in the left temple of the brain are. Tests indicate no cancer in any other part of the body. So, this coming Thursday morning, Dad is having brain surgery to remove the small masses (largest being approximately 1 centimeter). We are hoping that this surgery will be the end all of treatment and nothing else will need to be done, but if that is necessary, we will face that too. The neurosurgeon is not concerned about the procedure itself and says that Dad should not suffer any motor, speech, or memory problems due to the surgery.

    So, please keep Dad and Mom (and us too) in your thoughts and prayers this week. The surgery is early Thursday morning and Dad will probably be in intensive care for a couple of days, then regular hospital room for 2 or 3, then home. Mom will be reading the blog even at the hospital (that helps her pass the waiting time) and will try to post the “all okay” after the surgery.

    Thank you for your friendship, plunderers! As always, we know that you will be there in spirit.

    Gus & BooBear

  135. SnowBella
    12:14 am on October 15th, 2012

    G&BB: Thank you for checking in on this here blog. I am glad to hear that cancer isn’t suspected and the confidence in the doctor. I am also glad to hear that no loss of memory is expected. Your family has been in my thoughts and prayers.

    There is much taking place this week with Callie and Gramp and now G&BB’s family. The quilt is ready for all those in need.

  136. Macy the Min-Pin
    1:53 am on October 15th, 2012

    I pushed mom out from under the quilt, I think she is malingering.

    Our best to G&BBs dad and mom too

    Macy out.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia