Christian Science Monitor Review

“Murder, he barked

The most winning detective duo since Shaggy met Scooby returns in Spencer Quinn’s new mystery, “Thereby Hangs a Tail.” Finances ever shaky, Chet and his human, Bernie, take a job guarding a pampered show dog. What seems like a rich woman’s paranoia turns serious when Princess and her owner are kidnapped. Quinn mixes suspense and humor as Chet tries to puzzle out humans’ odd ways. (Bear claws? Why would anyone eat those? Have humans not seen the Discovery Channel? And don’t get him started on red herrings or crocodile tears.) But if idioms elude Chet, the same cannot be said for bad guys.”

Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Tuesday, February 9th, 2010 at 8:31 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

53 Responses to “Christian Science Monitor Review”

  1. Cosmo
    4:05 am on February 9th, 2010

    Great review, congrats Spence, Chet & Bernie! Scooby's cool, but that Shaggy….hmmm…..zoiks!

    Well guys, in the spirit of Cmdr. Rio's last post last night and our continued mission to gather intel….I offer a link which I hope Chet will pass on to Spence in order to help him with his typing….which in turn will help us get book 3 faster…which…will just be cool!

    My Bros learned to type with these and their fingers just fly across that keyboard. Of course we have to remember that they've been typing since they were four so that's about 12 yrs. now, so we have to be a bit patient with Spence. You can start out with the Jr. version and work your way up to version four – good luck Spence! Tailwags, Cosmo

    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_2_7?url=se

  2. Cosmo
    4:08 am on February 9th, 2010

    Melanie, we were typing at the same time! I love chips (potato, corn, etc.)but not sure about that micro thing, does it hurt?

  3. Gus & BooBear
    4:39 am on February 9th, 2010

    Just a side note (oh, loved the review but how could it not be good with such an excellent book to start with)…everyone should make a habit of going to http://www.theanimalrescuesite.com daily and clicking to donate food for animals in shelter and rescue organizations. It doesn't cost anything and gives you the opportunity to read some amazing rescue and adoption stories. Mom does this at least once a day then goes to the Chet the Dog blog.

    Check it out, guys!

  4. Cosmo
    4:39 am on February 9th, 2010

    GUYS, Spence is on the radio RIGHT NOW!!!

    http://wwb.wgbh.org/cainan/?CFID=7222641&CFTO

  5. Rio - The Evil Pug
    4:49 am on February 9th, 2010

    Wha !?…like that guy in the science fiction magazine can tell us something we don't already know!… mmmmphf!….and the Shaggy and Scooby analogy? …give me a break! …. The writer is comparing Chet and Bernie to cartoon characters for pities sake….snort!…

    This whole thing has just put me in a really bad mood!….GRUFF!

  6. Cosmo
    4:50 am on February 9th, 2010

    Everyone's lovin' the blog and friends of Chet!

  7. Rio - The Evil Pug
    4:51 am on February 9th, 2010

    Whoa!…Cosmo! take notes!!…take notes…!! Holy mac and cheese!..SNORT!

  8. Cosmo
    4:52 am on February 9th, 2010

    Spence had gotten death threats if he had let anything happen to Chet in book 3

  9. Rio - The Evil Pug
    4:52 am on February 9th, 2010

    Cosmo!… what's Spence's voice sound like?…mmmm… is it high and squeaky?….snort!

  10. Cosmo
    4:52 am on February 9th, 2010

    Notes are comin'

  11. Cosmo
    4:53 am on February 9th, 2010

    He was only going to do this blog and twitter if he could do it in the voice of Chet, the posts take about ten minutes.

    He sent out about 100 biz cards to date.

  12. Rio - The Evil Pug
    4:54 am on February 9th, 2010

    Cosmo!… no wonder he spilled his guts!…Snort!…he was afraid he was gonna be murdered in his sleep!…GRUFF!

  13. Cosmo
    4:55 am on February 9th, 2010

    Arrrggghhh!!! the site keeps cuttin' in and out!

  14. Cosmo
    4:56 am on February 9th, 2010

    Leda is coming back in book 3, and a big scene with Bernie & Suzie!

  15. Cosmo
    4:58 am on February 9th, 2010

    Wow, it's done already – Rio, no I have to say, Spence has a nice regular friendly voice – probably except when he got those threats!

  16. Mollypop
    4:58 am on February 9th, 2010

    Rio – SA Cos just gathered some infomation for us! Good job.

    Gus and BooBear – I clicked on the animal rescue site and will do it every day. Thanks for that.

  17. Rio - The Evil Pug
    4:58 am on February 9th, 2010

    Zowie!…nuthin like some good Intel to get the day rollin'…Snort!… keep it coming Cosmo!…

  18. Rio - The Evil Pug
    5:04 am on February 9th, 2010

    Rats!…done already…grunt!…well…mmmm…Excellant work Cosmo!…Damn good!…Gather your thoughts and write up a report with as much detail as you can remember…Snort!..and then post it as quick as you can.

  19. Cosmo
    5:05 am on February 9th, 2010

    Thanks guys, glad I could help – couple more things – Spence loves that there are cats here (yay AKat and G & BB!) and he loves all our pics that we post. I guess that twitter nonsense paid off after all, now Mom's gotta check it more, good thing she works from home!

    G & BB, our whole pack clicks on the animal rescue site, we get the daily reminders, so that's at least four clicks a day – thanks for passing on the info!

    Whew!!! I'm beat, gotta go lay down in the sun again before our walk into the outdoor freezer – catch ya later dudes! SA Cos

  20. Cosmo
    5:06 am on February 9th, 2010

    Be back later with a full report!

  21. Mollypop
    5:08 am on February 9th, 2010

    It took me so long to type with my webbed feet that some big number of posts came ahead of me. Maybe I need Cosmo's learn-to-type info.

    BTW – I do NOT swim!

  22. Rio - The Evil Pug
    5:35 am on February 9th, 2010

    Cosmo!… mmmm… here are some questions to consider as you are filling out your report…Grunt!

    When he said “Everyone is loving the blog and friends of Chet”….who exactly did he mean?

    Did the death threats come from his readers or just people in general who don’t like him?

    Does he have any kind of accent? Does he sound like he lives in Massachusetts? Did he speak fast and nervous or slow and calm?

    He said ‘he sent out about 100 business cards’. Did he address the envelopes himself??

    Who is Leda??…I can’t remember…snort!. This big scene with Bernie and Susie, any other details? Gawd help us if it’s a love scene…grunt!

    How come he only mentioned the Kats!?…snort!…did he say anything about our guys at all???

  23. Rebecca Rice
    5:57 am on February 9th, 2010

    Leda is Bernie's ex.

    Today Wojo is practicing the difficult art of Being Very Calm While Cats Are In The Room. Even with a bone stuffed full of treats and sealed shut with peanut butter, so that he has to work at it for a long time to get the treats out, what he really wants is to play with the cats. But gosh, they make him so anxious when they stare him down like that!

  24. Rebecca Rice
    6:04 am on February 9th, 2010

    I always thought it was cool that Leda was named that. I picture her as this big, droopy, high-maintenance personality who imagines herself as a swan when she's really a goose. Spiritually speaking, of course.

  25. Rio - The Evil Pug
    6:17 am on February 9th, 2010

    Rebe!…I must try to block her out…Grunt!… because I don’t like her at all!….The name fits her perfectly…snort!….you have to give Spence that!…mmmm…he comes up with some great names.

  26. Melanie
    7:39 am on February 9th, 2010

    Cosmos, I asked the Newfs. They don't remember if chips hurt or not, because someone gave them a treat at the same time.

  27. Gus & BooBear
    7:56 am on February 9th, 2010

    Cmdr Rio…we do know that Spence lives in Cape Cod. He and his dog Audry (see friends of Chet) are pictured on the book jacket.

    I picture Leda as very uppity, very "put together" lady who is not nearly genuine enough for Bernie or Chet, for that matter.

    And we're sure the scene with Bernie & Susie won't be a love scene because Chet tells the story and he could care less about that.

  28. Gus & BooBear
    7:57 am on February 9th, 2010

    Also, has WoJo's picture been posted anywhere in friends of Chet? It was good to finally put fur to Wookie of Chevy Chase (and what a handsome fellow he is!)

  29. Rio - The Evil Pug
    8:11 am on February 9th, 2010

    Kats!…good point about the whole Bernie – Susie thing…Grunt!…don't be fooled – Wookie looks like a mellow fellow…grunt!… but he is Ruthless and Calculating when he’s on a mission.

  30. Mollypop
    8:50 am on February 9th, 2010

    I bet even Alice Johnson's big mean George bird wouldn't mess with SA Wookie when he's on a mission.

  31. Wookie of Chevy Chas
    9:03 am on February 9th, 2010

    Gus and Boo Bear — not sure if I can blush, but if I could I would (I had actually posted an earlier picture about a month ago, just not sure exactly when, which was taken on a recon mission to Vermont). But Rio is right, when I have my game face on (like, for example, when the mailman attacks our house every day), it's take no prisoners time for sure. Grrrrr! Isn't that right, Rio–snort back at you. Wookie

  32. Melanie
    9:04 am on February 9th, 2010

    Hey Chet, re-read Dog On It. Lovely. Next time you’re at the vets (yes I know that you DON’T like to go) maybe you should get Bernie to consider a chip. NOT POTATO CHIP!
    The Newf Pack are all chipped. It’s cool, my guess is if they get lost and get into a grocery store (quite possible when it comes to Newfs) the check out people can use their scanner. Of course, the price would come out “priceless” but that is a given!

    So just something for Bernie to think about, just saying. . .

  33. Cosmo
    9:47 am on February 9th, 2010

    Spence just said he finished Book 3!

    He’s also writing a series for teens which will be out in the spring.

  34. Rio - The Evil Pug
    10:07 am on February 9th, 2010

    Wookie!…I was kinda tired last night when I wrote up your mission report…Snort!… I didn’t leave anything out…grunt!… did I?

  35. Wookie of Chevy Chas
    10:42 am on February 9th, 2010

    Rio — no, it was all there, although I share your sentiments that it was not necessary to fully disclose how I managed to disable the paw sensor detection system along the outer perimeter. Some things are better left on a need to know basis. PFC W

  36. Rio - The Evil Pug
    11:10 am on February 9th, 2010

    Wookie!… stick with me kid…Snort!…and you'll go far in this business!

    Grunt!….a word of warning Wookie… wheeze!… stay away from Alice Johnson. I’ve heard through other sources that she is on a ‘Kat and Mouse’ surveillance team…I have a strange feeling about her deep in my gut…Grunt!… she is a Hypnotist…and a very powerful one at that.

    Growl!….I don’t want her prowling around you or any of the other Agents till I can find out for sure that she is not a Double Agent working for “the Man”.

  37. Cosmo
    11:48 am on February 9th, 2010

    Wookie, very impressive stuff dude – I'm still in awe!

    Cmdr. Rio and all agents, it's been a busy afternoon, I'm still working on my report and it will be forthcoming – but new(?) intel. just coming in – S. Husky might know about this, but it was a total shock to me, speaking of 'Double Agents'……that red button on the right over there, the one that I never paid any attention to until today, where is says facebook and twitter, well my friends, that red button says 'Peter Abrahams' and do you know who Peter Abrahams is? Pause for drama……non other than Spencer Quinn! So is Spencer's name Spense, Peter or something else altogether? I hope you're not laughing, if you guys figured this out already, it was on one of my off days – so what can I say? I'm still waiting for the shock to wear off. Not sure what to make of all this, but I'll check back in later. Droopy tailwags, Cos

  38. Rio - The Evil Pug
    12:08 pm on February 9th, 2010

    Groan!…. you are about 2 weeks behind Agent!!

    Keep Up! …Grrrr!…we’ve been through this already…No need to re-hash the obvious…Wheeze!….[head slap]..I give up!

  39. Cosmo
    12:25 pm on February 9th, 2010

    Groan is right!!! I was afraid of this Cmdr., I knew there was a chance I could've missed out on that topic as I was a bit under the weather at the time with my surgery and all – please fogive – will make it up with my report!

  40. Rio - The Evil Pug
    12:30 pm on February 9th, 2010

    Cosmo!…mmmm….I may have been a little harsh. I didn't realize you had surgery…No apology necessary Agent…Grunt!

  41. Rio - The Evil Pug
    12:47 pm on February 9th, 2010

    Gruff!… I think we need a JOKE!… and seeing as Hypnotism is weighing heavily on my mind at the moment:

    It was entertainment night at the Senior Center and over 300 Seniors came to see the show.

    Alice Johnson the hypnotist exclaimed: 'I'm here to put you into a trance; I intend to hypnotize each and every member of the Audience.'

    The excitement was almost electric as Alice Johnson withdrew a beautiful antique pocket watch from her coat 'I want you each to keep your eye on this antique watch. It's a very special watch. It's been in my family for six generations.'

    She began to swing the watch gently back and forth while quietly chanting, 'Watch the watch, watch the watch, and watch the watch…' the crowd became mesmerized as the watch swayed back and forth, light gleaming off its polished surface. Hundreds of pairs of eyes followed the swaying watch, until suddenly; it slipped from the Alice’s fingers and fell to the floor, breaking into a hundred pieces.

    'SHIT!' said Alice the Hypnotist.

    It took three days to clean up the Senior Center.

  42. Cosmo
    1:02 pm on February 9th, 2010

    Sure thing Rio, we'll forget the whole thing happened – whoa man what a story – Heeeheeee, wait'll AKat sees this!

  43. Siberian Husky
    3:02 pm on February 9th, 2010

    Cosmo: Yikes, I didn't know about the red button. We found the name, Peter Abrahams, on the Barnes and Noble mystery book club website. Spencer Quinn is the name that Mr. Abrahams is using for the Chet and Bernie series. Mom stayed up late last night finishing one of his books. I don't cut her any slack, though. She still has to get me to the dog park by 7am.

    The chips don't hurt, Cosmo. Husky rescue now does their own microchipping before the dogs are adopted out to forever homes. The dogs don't even know when the little grain of rice (chip) is being injected under their skin. Huskys can be real wimps about that kind of stuff.

    Mollypop: I don't swim either. I HATE water, unless it is frozen.

    G&BB: Thanks, I click on the animal rescue site every day. Pass the word on this everyone.

  44. megan
    3:33 pm on February 9th, 2010

    No chips don't hurt, got one myself, but potato chips are great!!!! When Is the 3rd book coming out, Cosmo?

    Oh, yeah P.S. Chet. Megan used that toothbrush song with me, although she forgets some stuff. It's not hard to remember!

    She goes; Brush your……ugh…. Brush your……. Let me look at the book again, hold on Lexi. Hold on! Stop moving!!

  45. AbbietheKitty
    3:45 pm on February 9th, 2010

    Hi Guys! How are you all…whoops, ouch' HEY!!!

    Ahem.

    Alice Johnson here. I have heard rumors that my name is being used in unauthorized ways. I am letting you know that I have your names. RioT yours is first! I will be watching. I am very good at watching. I am not one of your wimpy little SA's. What do you think that stands for anyway. Silly A**'s? Slightly Abnormal? Snorting Animal? Hah. All your grunting and snorting mean nothing to me. Action. That is the thing.

    Don't make me come over there.

    Alice Johnson OUT.

    [img ]http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/1265766265-small alice on chair.jpg[/img]

  46. AbbietheKitty
    3:47 pm on February 9th, 2010

    Oh gosh! I am so sorry! She just rammed in here, breathing fire and took over the keyboard. I don't know what set her off. It was just a little friendly joking.

    Sheesh!

    Some cats have no sense of humor.

    I am really sorry and I am going off the click on the animal rescue link several times to make up for Alice's mean ways.

    BBL

    Your friend, no matter what Alice Johnson says.

    AbbietheKitty

  47. AbbietheKitty
    3:48 pm on February 9th, 2010

    OH yeah, GREAT review Spence! Congratulations! And we appreciate the tip of the hat in your interview! At least I do. I am not sure about Alice Johnson.

  48. Cosmo
    4:29 pm on February 9th, 2010

    Thanks S. Husky, maybe if I had checked your link sooner I could've saved myself from posting that silly comment! Oh well…..moving on…thanks to you, Melanie, and Megan for the 'chip' data, I think I could handle it, Mom thinks it's a good idea. Wow Abbie, it must be tough living with a dictator like that Alice Johnson……Mom took me on a super long walk to make up for the one I'm not getting tomorrow on account of all the snow we're supposed to get….so I'm kinda beat. I promise I will return with a full report tomorrow, but for now I'll fill you in on a couple of details that I remember…

    Spence says he wants to make the 'friends of Chet'page more prominent so we may experience more traffic here than usual in the near future.

    He said Chet is an unreliable and distracted narrator who can't remember lots of things!

    He also said that in Chet's 'musings' about past cases there are no hidden meanings, or hints about anything, just random memories.

    Oh, Rio – Spence does not have that "Pahk yah cah in Hahvahd yahd" Boston accent, I guess what you'd call no accent really.

    I'll report more tomorrow with some really BIG news – Thereby hangs a tail! HeeeeeeeeHeeeeeee!

    Tailwags, Cosmo

  49. Rio - The Evil Pug
    4:35 pm on February 9th, 2010

    Growl!…I knew that condescending joke would be enough to pull you out of your deep cover in the “Kat and Mouse” surveillance team…You are so translucent right now…I can see right through you. You fell for it Hook Line and Stinker!…Grunt!

    Mmmm…oh Alice…we could be such a good team…Grunt! But I know your heart is filled with Evil…Snort!…Not the Evil Mischievousness I’m filled with..another more Demonic Evil..one that can not be trusted or tempted with…Groan!..Your devious ways could be used for Good or Evil…wheeze!..there is a choice.

    Alice!…Come over to my house for a game of Cards on Friday, we can discuss this in more detail…mmmm…over drinks and dinner.

  50. AbbietheKitty
    5:12 pm on February 9th, 2010

    Ohhhh Food I really like food. But Alice is very suspicious. She thinks that what is in the cards for you at her place is dinner. With her on the menu!

    I don't know where she gets these ideas Rio. Also I don't know why she put a "T" in the end of your name. You are Rio not Riot! Gosh I don't know why Alice does lots of the things she does.

    She is a very secretive cat. Sneaky. Sometimes I do think she is demonic but that is when she bites my tail.

    A-Kat

  51. Rio - The Evil Pug
    5:44 pm on February 9th, 2010

    A-Kat!…do you trust me!?…You are dealing with a dangerous mind living right in your Living Room as we speak!…Snort!…if you can somehow get Alice to agree to a ‘Drinks/Dinner/Card’ party at my house, you will be doing your part in this struggle to gain Intel on book 3 and maybe even BOOK 4…wheeze!…I know it doesn’t seem obvious right not (not even to me!…mmmm) .. but it is necessary girl!

  52. gravestwnf.kazeo.com
    3:13 am on April 19th, 2014

    I read this post completely regarding the resemblance of
    latest and earlier technologies, it’s awesome article.

    my page: e cig reviews youtube (gravestwnf.kazeo.com)

  53. Employee engagement
    2:34 pm on September 10th, 2014

    Good answer back in retgurn oof thhis matter with
    solid arguments and explaining the whole thijng on the topic of that.

    Here is myy web site :: Employee engagement

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia