Books And Culture Review: To Fetch A Thief

Book Notes By John Wilson

To Fetch A Thief: The third installment in the adventures of Chet and Bernie.

OCTOBER 2010

In January 2009, Atria Books published a novel by Spencer Quinn, Dog on It, that took the familiar noirish conventions of the private-eye novel and gave them a twist: the narrator is a dog. Gimmicky? Cloying? Terminally cute? It could have been all of these, but it wasn’t. The voice of Chet the dog is winsome, funny, and somehow—by the alchemy of fiction—utterly persuasive. So who was this unknown author, Spencer Quinn? The bio on the jacket flap was skimpy.

No wonder. “Spencer Quinn,” it turned out, is none other than Peter Abrahams, “my favorite American suspense novelist,” Stephen King has said (and one of my favorites too). He followed with Thereby Hangs a Tail in January 2010 and now, in time for Christmas gifts, To Fetch a Thief, the third installment in the adventures of Chet and his partner Bernie Little of the Little Detective Agency. Like its predecessors, this new story is based in “the Valley,” somewhere in the American Southwest, ranging out from there (in this instance, across the border). The case involves a missing circus elephant, Peanut, for starters, but soon ramifies.

If you haven’t yet entered Chet and Bernie’s world and are inclined to investigate, best to start with Dog on It. If you find that it’s your cup of tea, you’ll quickly get through all three books and join the rest of us impatiently looking forward to number four. While you’re waiting, you might want to visit Chet’s blog.

John Wilson is the editor of Books & Culture.

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Saturday, October 30th, 2010 at 9:28 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

133 Responses to “Books And Culture Review: To Fetch A Thief”

  1. Cathy
    4:59 am on October 30th, 2010

    Just LOVE Chet–he makes me smile. Always a good thing these days!

  2. bluecat
    5:01 am on October 30th, 2010

    Good morning, Bee.

    Melanie, you make me smile. :-)

  3. B.Stover
    5:06 am on October 30th, 2010

    Hi Bluecat and Melanie. You are probably familiar with "ramification" which is the way it's usually used. Interesting.

  4. Barb & Maggie
    5:44 am on October 30th, 2010

    Good review. Can one of you tech people or dogs/kats tell us how to forward the review to Barb's sister? We clicked on share and then email, but couldn't quite get it from there.

    Barb is trying to convience her sister to read the series. Her sister thinks Barb is a dog nut, and has commented "I don't know, a talking dog just doesn't sound very interesting" (Said with a bit of a nasal whine.) I think she should just give up!

  5. Mollypop
    5:53 am on October 30th, 2010

    MagPie! Just copy and paste the review into your email.

  6. Melanie
    5:57 am on October 30th, 2010

    Happy to make you smile, BlueCat!

    MagPie: A "talking dog" does not do Chet justice. Just nip Barb's sister in the ankles and herd her towards a bookstore.

    B.Stover: Ramification, yes. Ramifies, no. Learning much of my vocabulary by reading, I had a limited definition of Ramification, leaning more towards "outcomes".

    "Facinating!" as Spock would say with a lift of his eyebrow.

  7. Barb & Maggie
    6:10 am on October 30th, 2010

    Melanie, The nip sounds like an especially good idea!

  8. B.Stover
    6:43 am on October 30th, 2010

    B&M: I like the "nasal whine" description.

    Ramify is derived from the Latin ramus meaning branch. It is associated with the Latin radix meaning root which in turn is from the Greek rhadix meaning branch. I love the ramifications of language.

  9. Barb & Maggie
    6:51 am on October 30th, 2010

    So he is saying "the case branches out". That makes sense.

  10. B.Stover
    6:54 am on October 30th, 2010

    B&M: Yes that's what he means.

  11. Siber-H
    7:07 am on October 30th, 2010

    Great Review! Intelligent Review! I don't think you have to be a "dog" person to love the Chet and Barnie series.

  12. Mollypop
    7:10 am on October 30th, 2010

    Thank you, Dr. B. We learn so much from you!

  13. Siber-H
    7:12 am on October 30th, 2010

    Barb, That movie you mentioned yesterday, Strait-Jacket is on the TCM channel this afternoon at a little after 4pm (my time).

    We just had somebody campaigning for somebody show up at our front door and knock. I have to just keep telling myself this will all be over with soon. Mom shuts them up by telling them that we voted very early, which is true.

  14. Barb & Maggie
    7:55 am on October 30th, 2010

    Siber-H, That was not us that mentioned that movie. Barb looked it up, but serial killing ax-murderers is way too scary for either one of us! Nightmares for sure. We will have to take a pass!

  15. Siber-H
    8:00 am on October 30th, 2010

    Sorry, Barb..I'll go back to yesterday and see who mentioned it.

  16. Mollypop
    8:02 am on October 30th, 2010

    Mom likes that word 'ramifies' and yet didn't look it up when she first read the blog. I could give the excuse that she hadn't had coffee yet, but who knows.

  17. Riö - The Evil
    8:03 am on October 30th, 2010

    Dammit!… This morning we were both sleeping in for the first time in ages… snort!… The doorbell rings….huh?…. I struggle out of my warm soft bed and YEEP! YEEP! YEEP! like there’s no tomorrow…grunt!… My friend gets up – heh – her hair is sticking out all over the place…sniff!…Guess who is at the door? Her Mother. For gawds sake why won’t she leave us alone on the weekends at least until the afternoon….aaaaagh! … Someone made some coffee and then someone else said, “I’ll take you out for breakfast.”….grump!….Then they both left me here with the computer off. At least I got to go back to bed…yawn!

    Wilson!…. He wrote a nice review up there…sniff!… The part I like best is, “While you’re waiting, you might want to visit Chet’s blog.”….grunt!… I wonder if John Wilson has checked us out recently?….snort!…Hopefully, it was when we were on our best behaviour…heh!snort!heh!

  18. Siber-H
    8:07 am on October 30th, 2010

    It was Gus&BooBear who mentioned the movie Strait-Jacket. I don't think they will want to see it again.

    Rio, I have had the same thoughts about reviewers actually reading what we post.

  19. Barb & Maggie
    8:15 am on October 30th, 2010

    Barb is running off to a holiday gift sale thingy. She is leaving me alone for awhile. There are all kinds of scary movies on the tee vee for some reason, but I think I will take a little nap. BBB

  20. Melanie
    8:19 am on October 30th, 2010

    Best Behavior???

    I just hope we're entertaining.

    It's what I hope for Chet, Bernie, Spence, Admin and Peter; that one of them occasionally smile when they read us frolicking here down below.

  21. Riö - The Evil
    8:46 am on October 30th, 2010

    ****************SPOILER ALERT FOR REALITY CHECK!****************

    *********************************************************************

    Gasp!… I knew it!…snort!… That old bastard is in on it….grunt!…I hope Ike saves the day somehow….sniff!…We are just getting ready to start chapter 26… Orton has taken Cody up the mountain to Len’s cabin…growl!…He pulled his gun on Cody…dammit!

    *********************************************************************

    Sniff!… She says she has to go do some errands before the World Series starts this afternoon… grump!…So we have to put this most excellent book down and I have to wait to find out what happens next…snort!

  22. B.Stover
    9:54 am on October 30th, 2010

    Good morning Chet and everyone. Very good review. “Join the rest of us impatiently looking forward to number four.” I’m wondering how Spence feels about our impatience.

  23. Melanie
    9:58 am on October 30th, 2010

    I had to look up “ramifies”. Nice word.

    Morning all. I had something clever to say but have lost it completely.
    I guess I’ll take the trash to the dump instead.

  24. Melanie
    10:02 am on October 30th, 2010

    Riö: That is an excellent book.

  25. BARB & MAGGIE
    10:12 am on October 30th, 2010

    Rio, There are a few unexpected twists and turns in R.C. Mr A. always seems to get the readers's adrenaline pumping by the end of his novels!

  26. Riö - The Evil
    10:28 am on October 30th, 2010

    Back!…She’s back!…snort!snort!… Now we can continue to read chapter 26…yippee!…Does anybody know for sure what time the game starts?… grunt!…We thought it was around 5:00 EST….sniff!

  27. Mollypop
    10:33 am on October 30th, 2010

    My newspaper says the game starts at 6:30 EDT.

  28. B.Stover
    10:47 am on October 30th, 2010

    Yes, according to the tv guide it starts at 6:30 EST.

    Rio: I have a question about a specific description in the novel when you finish it.

  29. Riö - The Evil
    11:08 am on October 30th, 2010

    Finished!…That was definitely An Edgar Winning story… snort!….Thank goodness he won or I would be really pissed off right now… snort!

    Stover!…Ummm, are you going to watch the game this afternoon/evening? …sniff!sniff!…You don’t have to you know…grunt!…I’m sure you have lots of other things to bake and such…cough!

  30. Mollypop
    11:22 am on October 30th, 2010

    Oh yes – B. MUST watch the game. Yup. You bet. The force is with her.

  31. Mollypop
    11:23 am on October 30th, 2010

    Rio – Besides, you know how much B. wants this to be over. The sooner the better.

  32. Riö - The Evil
    11:31 am on October 30th, 2010

    Molly!….Spoken like a true baseball fan NOT!….snort!

    Snow!….Here is a photo she took yesterday morning from where she parks at the not-so-busy season place…gruff! …The wind finally quit yesterday…whew!

    [img ]http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/1288470663-MntView.jpg[/img]

  33. B.Stover
    11:40 am on October 30th, 2010

    Rio: Mollypop is right. I'm watching the game.

    Here is my question about Reality Check:–SPOILER ALERT—When Clea is pulling the chain and choking Big Len, "Cody had a clear view of the expression on Clea's face. It scared him, scared him as much as anything that had gone before." Why is he scared? What does it show about Clea and will it affect their relationship later?

  34. Mollypop
    11:41 am on October 30th, 2010

    Rio – Beautiful picture!

  35. Riö - The Evil
    11:55 am on October 30th, 2010

    ****************SPOILER ALERT FOR REALITY CHECK!****************

    *********************************************************************

    Stover!… She was completely over-taken by furious murderous rage and not just because this guy had kidnapped her, but because he was trying to kill Cody…snort!… She was not going to let that happen….growl!… I call it the Red Zone. When you are so angry you cannot control yourself….sniff!…She would have murdered Len if the cops hadn’t gotten their in time….wheeze!….I think if anything it strengthened their relationship. Each willing to risk their lives for the other sort of thing…grunt!

  36. Siber-H
    12:01 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Love the photo, Rio! No snow yet on the mountains I can see from my house.

  37. Barb & Maggie
    12:01 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Good picture, Rio's friend, and good summation Rio.

    Someday we wish you would give us a few clues as to what the busy /not so busy place is. We think your friend does computer work of some kind, and the place must be either seasonal or touristy in nature. We are sooo curious.

    Does anyone else wonder, or are we the only Nosey Parkers?

  38. Mollypop
    12:17 pm on October 30th, 2010

    MagPie! I wouldn't guess computer work for Rio's friend only because it seems to be seasonal.

  39. Barb & Maggie
    12:17 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Oh, yumm! Barb is cooking up some ground beef to go on my kibble and she is making a Greek Style (Vesuvio) pork chop with potatoes for herself. Not yet, but for the game.

  40. B.Stover
    12:18 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Rio: Yes, good summary. But why did it scare him…as much as anything that had happened before?

  41. Riö - The Evil
    12:21 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Barb and MagPie!…. I don’t know what she does all day long…snort!… She leaves every morning and comes home every evening eventually….grunt! ….That’s all I know….sniff!…She doesn’t really talk about work even with her mother. Hey! Maybe she works for the CIA or something…heh!…Maybe she is a Spy!…wow!… Somehow I doubt it…sniff!

  42. B.Stover
    1:23 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Do you think we ramify?

    I’m baking bread.

  43. Sam
    12:30 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Molly called me and said I have to help win the ballgame, or something like that. We will be having company and you know how it goes – meet and greet, floor buffet, etc. And let me tell you, I could give a few 'look' lessons to the famous MagPie!

  44. Melanie
    1:30 pm on October 30th, 2010

    B.Stover: THAT’S IT!!

  45. Riö - The Evil
    12:34 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Stover!… Probably because he had never seen her like that before…snort!… I mean put your self in his position. He dated her and always saw her in normal everyday activities….grunt!… Now they are in an intense life or death situation and the strength of her fury and murderous rage scared the crap out of him… wheeze!… Think of someone you know, say your mild mannered physics friend. One day he sees you being beaten up by a mugger or something. He loses it and goes after the mugger with murderous rage in his eyes oh and he also happened to have a chain which he wraps around the muggers neck. The muggers tongue is hanging out and his eyes are bugging out but your friend won’t stop strangling him. The look on his face is a horrible out of control rage that only wants to squeeze the life out of this mugger because of what he was doing to you!…wheeze! cough!… Wouldn’t that scare you quite a bit? … sneeze!

  46. Mollie (a black pood
    12:42 pm on October 30th, 2010

    It scares me,just reading the post. Rio, that is a beautiful picture, suitable for framing for sure.

  47. Barb & Maggie
    12:45 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Sammy, I hope you have a fun evening and get some good treats, but you are NOT going to win tonight, even tho you are adorable. Go Rangers!

    Rio, that was quite graphic to say the least. I can just picture that mugger's distorted purple face. Yikes!

  48. B.Stover
    12:45 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Rio: Actually I think I'd feel relieved.

  49. Mollie (a black pood
    1:06 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Barb&Maggie: What is a Greek style pork chop?

  50. Riö - The Evil
    1:13 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Stover!…During the actual event or after it was all over with?… sniff!

    Hey!…It’s getting closer to game time!….Wooooo! Wooooo!..

    Uh oh!…. My friend is beside herself…snort!…she forgot she had a hair appointment and completely missed it this afternoon… sniff!…She blames The Charming Mr. Abrahams completely… chorkel!

  51. Barb & Maggie
    1:20 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Mollie, A Chicago restaurant started calling it Vesuvio Style years ago. You brown a thick cut pork chop in a little olive oil, then top with garlic, oregano, and a little salt and pepper. You can also use pre-mixed Greek seasonings. Add a little more olive oil and some cut up potatoes. Bake in the oven at 375, for about 30 minutes. Turn the chop and potatoes half way thru. Potatoes should be browned, but don't over cook the chop. Drizzle all with fresh (or bottled) lemon juice and serve. Can also be done using chicken. Delish!

  52. Mollie (a black pood
    1:31 pm on October 30th, 2010

    That sounds wonderful. And good that you can use chicken too. I don't have Greek seasonings but will try it anyway. Thanks.

  53. Mollie (a black pood
    1:33 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Are ya ready for some baseball? A movie theatre near here is showing the game today on the big screen so my boy is going there to watch it…He says if we don't win it will be a very quiet theatre.

  54. Mollypop
    1:33 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Time for the Giants to win game 3 – let's go!

  55. Barb & Maggie
    1:36 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Here we go, we're going to watch the Rangers win!!!

  56. B.Stover
    1:39 pm on October 30th, 2010

    SPOILER ALERT–Rio: Before, during and after. I'd also try to help. Also, remember that Big Len was kneeling on Cody's chest and he "raised the spade in both hands, blade pointed straight down at Cody's face, his eyes bestial." Wouldn't you be relieved to get out of that situation?

  57. Riö - The Evil
    2:08 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Crap!… He still got on base…dammit!…growl!

  58. Siber-H
    2:11 pm on October 30th, 2010

    We got out of that inning.

  59. B.Stover
    2:18 pm on October 30th, 2010

    That was a very good catch.

  60. Mollie (a black pood
    2:19 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Great catch!

  61. Riö - The Evil
    2:33 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Third!…Rangers have a guy at third!…snort!…They need to score first!…wooooo!…Bengie is up!

  62. Riö - The Evil
    2:42 pm on October 30th, 2010

    WOOOOOO!…. Home Run!…. snort!snort!… 3 To Nuthing Texas!…oooooh! Yea!

  63. Barb & Maggie
    2:43 pm on October 30th, 2010

    WOOO WOOO 3 to 0!

  64. Siber-H
    2:44 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Yee Haw!!!! (we're in Texas now)

  65. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    2:59 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Nice review, Spence. And completely deserved.

    Bee? Um, not to complain, but I think perhaps you might be toning your Giant Power down just a little too much. Go ahead and blast it up a little. Not too much, just a little.

  66. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    3:00 pm on October 30th, 2010

    3 – 0? Pickled Pugs x 1,000,000,000!!!!!!!!!!!

  67. B.Stover
    3:00 pm on October 30th, 2010

    I'll try Wolfie.

  68. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    3:03 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Mom just finished reading a book called Cleo, by Helen Brown. It is a true story about a Kat that healed a family. It was wonderful!!

  69. Riö - The Evil
    3:03 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Crap!…Buster Posey is up again,,,snort!..,.Now he is on BASE…gasp!

  70. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    3:04 pm on October 30th, 2010

    That a girl, Bee. Buster just got a base hit. Whoo whoo!!!

  71. Riö - The Evil
    3:09 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Heh!…Those E-Trade commercials just crack us both up!…snorkel!

    Rangers!… Up to Bat!…Woooooo!…Need more runs!Need More Runs!…snort!

  72. Siber-H
    3:09 pm on October 30th, 2010

    I'd sure like to see Josh Hamilton hit better than he has so far in the WS. He is a much better ballplayer than what we are now seeing. The Yankees were afraid of him.

  73. Mollypop
    3:13 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Mom hopes Geico runs the little pig Maxwell ad. We really love that one.

  74. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    3:17 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Whee whee whee…..we love that one too!!!!

  75. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    3:19 pm on October 30th, 2010

    CRAP.

  76. Mollypop
    3:20 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Buffalo has a suburb called Hamburg, NY and they supposedly invented the hamburger. Now I just heard the announcer say it was near the stadium. Probably the Russians invented the hamburger – when they invented beisbool.

  77. Melanie
    3:21 pm on October 30th, 2010

    B.Stover: I would have to agree with Riö on this one. (reason for Cody's reaction) especially since he's a guy. Guys seem to have the idea that the female gender is not prone to rage. I don't know where they come up with that.

    (Probably Cody has not been around a female with PMS.) (Not that anyone below here would have rage as a problem with PMS.) (Or ever.) (Not PMS, the rage)

    I don't usually lose my temper (not been in a rage for days), I'm easy going, have a good sense of humor, but when I see injustice or someone (usually a doctor) decides that I am dumb or can be taken advantage of, I lose it.

    It can be very effective when dealing with idiots.

    And I have to admit, the looks on their faces can be a tad funny.

  78. Riö - The Evil
    3:22 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Elvis!…Elvis is in the house and up to bat!…heh!

  79. Riö - The Evil
    3:24 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Elvis!…Is on first base!…Wooooo!

  80. Wookie of Chevy Chas
    3:26 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Wee Wee Rangers! We love that ad too! I think Rio nailed it on Reality Check. I remember that passage as well as a real attention getter. Wookie

  81. Riö - The Evil
    3:26 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Melanie!…..Thank you for agreeing…snort!… I’ve seen females in a rage let me tell ya!…wimper!

    OMG!…. NO NO NO NO NO!…What the Hell was that? grump!

  82. Riö - The Evil
    3:28 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Wookie!…thank goodness you are here tonight!… snort!… Things are teetering a tad maybe…OH OH!… Teetering OUR WAY!….WOOOOOOFFF!…. Josh Hamilton just hit a Home Run!….Score 4 – Nuthing!….snort!snort!

  83. Siber-H
    3:28 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Sometimes wishes do come true!! Hee Haw!!! Josh did it!!!

  84. Riö - The Evil
    3:31 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Pitcher!….Best of all they are taking their pitcher out before the 5th inning…snicker! snort!….Wooooo Wheeeee!….Stover must be off baking or something (thank goodness!)…heh!

  85. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    3:34 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Double Crap.

  86. Riö - The Evil
    3:36 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Snap!… Guerreouoerea, whatever his name is, not sure that was a smart play trying to steal base…snuff!… We need another 1, 2, 3 and you’re out inning for the Giants…heh!

  87. Riö - The Evil
    3:40 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Plimpton!… Martha Plimpton sings??….grunt!… She is always excellent on The Good Wife but we had no idea that she can sing…snort!…That will be very interesting to say the least!…heh!… Two outs already, right on track!…sniff!

  88. Riö - The Evil
    3:45 pm on October 30th, 2010

    YES!… Buster Posey strikes out!…heh!snort!heh!… We love to see that no matter who the Giants are playing, although especially when the Rockies are facing him…heh!

  89. Riö - The Evil
    3:46 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Ok!… No one else is commenting so I am stopping also unless some others step up to the blog bat…dammit! Grunt!

  90. B.Stover
    3:49 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Melanie: That's what I thought also–that guys don't believe there can be female rage. There is a reference in the novel to Dante's Inferno when Cody remembers something from a great (that isn't the adjective he uses but can't remember it) poem about a man losing his way in a dark wood. I think that's the theme of the novel–losing your way; going on the wrong path.

    And I'm not baking. I'm watch the game and playing Bookworm.

  91. Mollypop
    3:56 pm on October 30th, 2010

    B. – We're going to watch the game and play Bookworm too.

  92. B.Stover
    3:57 pm on October 30th, 2010

    I like double plays.

  93. B.Stover
    3:59 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Mollypop: I haven't been able to get past one million lately.

  94. Melanie
    4:02 pm on October 30th, 2010

    I'm about to start Jim Butcher's Storm Front. I think it's the first of the Dresden Files.

    So I'm not watching the game, but GO RANGERS!

    I was watching Buffy, the Vampire Slayer movie before with the my sister. It's still pretty funny.

    Night all! (go rangers, said in a whisper)

  95. Siber-H
    4:07 pm on October 30th, 2010

    I cringe every time Cody Ross comes to the plate…now look what he went and did.

    Melanie, please let me know if you like the Butcher book.

  96. Debbie LM
    4:10 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Using my mom's computer now. This is really exciting, but I have a feeling that the Rangers will be able to hold on to this one, although a couple of more runs would not hurt. Even grandpa is watching the game. Wookie

  97. Wookie of Chevy Chas
    4:19 pm on October 30th, 2010

    What, nobody wants to be 100. Well, I'll take a chance, back on my own computer now. Just two innings to go. I think they can do it. Wookie

  98. Riö - The Evil
    4:23 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Ahhhhh!….Shucks Wook!…snort!… I was limbering up my tongue and every thing!….CRAP!….The Giants just hit another home run!….DAMN!…This is going to be closer than I wanted it to be!…snort!

  99. Riö - The Evil
    4:24 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Pitcher!… Has Got To Get the Giants Player OUT! NOW!…sniff!

  100. Riö - The Evil
    4:30 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Yes!…Stover!… He most definitely is!…snort!

    O'Day!… I love the way he pitches – side-arm like…heh!

  101. Mollypop
    4:33 pm on October 30th, 2010

    B. – Mom couldn't get anywhere until she took your advice – spell bigger words and put the game down when you can't do it. The problem now is that this game is taking forever.

  102. Mollypop
    4:34 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Day-O again?

  103. Barb & Maggie
    4:34 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Melanie, We just started Storm Front, too. Let us know what you think. We are still going to watch the game but are getting tired, so will catch everyone tomorrow.

  104. B.Stover
    4:35 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Hey, they have Dobby back in Deathly Hallows part one. That is good.

  105. Debbie LM
    4:35 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Rio, you can give them to my mom instead if you want (and I am using her computer again). Rangers just make it a bit more exciting than it needs to be, but so far, so good. Paws crossed. Wookie

  106. Siber-H
    4:36 pm on October 30th, 2010

    We only have to survive one more at bat for the Giants.

    Barb&Maggie, Would you guys please let me know if you like the Butcher book also?

  107. Riö - The Evil
    4:37 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Jasper!…Stover!…Did you guys just see that amazing Harry Potter commercial?….sniff!…That is the first time we have seen it and that movie looks very scary…yeep!

  108. Riö - The Evil
    4:39 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Dobby!… My friend likes Dobby too…snuff!…Stupid little fellow I say…grunt!… I bet he gets Harry into big trouble again…grrrr!

  109. B.Stover
    4:46 pm on October 30th, 2010

    You know Dobby does not get Harry into trouble.

    Can the Giants do it guys?

  110. Riö - The Evil
    4:47 pm on October 30th, 2010

    SiberH!…One more At-Bat for the Giants!…gasp!… No runs and the Rangers will winnit!…please-please!…chorkel!sneeze!

  111. Riö - The Evil
    4:53 pm on October 30th, 2010

    OH!… Praise God!….WOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!…Feliz is Amazing!…WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  112. B.Stover
    4:53 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Sorry Wolfie.

  113. Riö - The Evil
    4:54 pm on October 30th, 2010
  114. Siber-H
    4:54 pm on October 30th, 2010

    THE RANGERS DID IT!!! WOO WOO HEE HAW WOO WOO

    The Rangers bullpen kept it together tonight!!

    Where in the dickens is Miss Macy?

  115. Riö - The Evil
    4:56 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Thanks!… So much to all the Missing Giants Fans tonight!…heh!…Dedication is NOT their middle name it seems…heh!….WOOOOOOOO! … Now the Rangers will be ON FIRE tomorrow!…heh!

  116. Riö - The Evil
    4:58 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Dobby!… I clearly remember (sort of ) that Dobby got Harry in trouble for making noise in his bedroom when that aweful family Harry had to live with was entertaining…snort!…Wasn’t there a Cake in the face incident because of Dobby??….Hmmm..

  117. Wookie of Chevy Chas
    4:59 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Feliz was smoking! Not a sign of nerves at all. Woo Woo Woo, the Rangers did it!!!! Wookie

  118. Siber-H
    5:01 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Congratulations to Colby Lewis!! He pitched a good game.

  119. Riö - The Evil
    5:02 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Rangers!…The team is back and they are not quitting now!…Woooooo!…Too much fun! ….slobber! snort! ….Hey, popcorn on the floor!… slurpitallup!… Wooooo!

    [img ]http://www.chetthedog.com/wp-content/uploads/1288490564-jumping.gif[/img]

  120. Mollie (a black pood
    5:04 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Tomorrow is another day…

    Isn't Dobby the bad elf.

  121. Riö - The Evil
    5:05 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Oh Oh!…Stover is messing with me now over Dobby!…heh!

  122. Siber-H
    5:09 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Good Night Gang!!

    A Happy Husky

    over and out

  123. B.Stover
    5:14 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Dobby is not the bad elf. He gets Harry into trouble in the second novel/movie. In the last novel he saves them. I won't say anything more or go into detail in case some haven't read the novels. I didn't see how they could leave him out of this final movie as they left him out of the others. That's why I think it is good he is there.

  124. bluecat
    5:29 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Hi, Cathy, from this morning. You were moderated so you didn't show up till later.

    Cleo is a good book, even if you're not a Kat.

    Happy Halloween, Everybody! Eat lots o'candy.

  125. Macy the Min-Pin
    5:34 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Hey, hey, hey everybodypop! We could not get on the computer because we were watching on DVR running behind and did not want to hear anything about the game. Woooooohooooooo! Rangers are awesomer than ever……snortle chort

  126. Riö - The Evil
    5:42 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Min Pin!… High Paws!…snort!… Now that the Rangers are warmed up I see only good things for this team!…yes!…Luckily, they are not in our Division…heh!

  127. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:54 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Stover !… Of course, but I’m just trying to explain the description and why Cody may have been scared seeing her face… snort!…. Now the game is very close to starting and I am not going to miss it because of the Charming Mr. Abrahams book unlike my friend and her hair appointment…sniff!

    Barb!…She always makes me hungry…dammit!

  128. Riö - The Evil Pug
    6:55 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Oh!…I am keeping my eye on the blog count today too!…snicker!

  129. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:07 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Youngster!…That Buster Posey scares me to death when he is up to bat!….whew!…A very close call!… snort!

  130. Macy the Min-Pin
    6:26 pm on October 30th, 2010

    High paws back atcha, poochie. Let's do it again tomorrow.

    Macy out of her mind.

  131. B.Stover
    9:27 pm on October 30th, 2010

    Wookie is not exempt from pug kisses.

  132. Rick
    5:20 am on October 31st, 2010

    I'm on my way to Amazon to see what Chet is all about. It looks like Chet has a lot of followers.

  133. staff
    3:59 pm on October 31st, 2010

    Barb and Maggie,

    I am back from the lovely four days of quilting.I have been trying to catch up but so far only finished Thursday.

    But I too was curious about the busy place. heh heh

    I know who Rio's friend works for but nothing else.

    Wow! What a great catch by Hamilton!

    Back to catching up on today's chat and watching baseball. I waas impressed with BStover's power on thursday. I didn't see a TV or hear a radio the whole time. Had no idea what was going on until Mr Staff picked me up.

    BBL

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia