Bookreporter.com Review: The Dog Who Knew Too Much

Private investigator Bernie Little and his big-guy dog partner, Chet, find themselves strapped for money. This is not an infrequent occurrence, since Bernie has notoriously bad judgment about get-rich quick schemes whenever cash comes his way — schemes that even Chet recognizes as losing propositions.

A pretty lady (another weakness of Bernie’s) offers him a weekend job as her bodyguard, but he is tempted to turn it down flat. This is not what Bernie does. He’s an experienced, licensed PI who hunts down criminals or, if he’s really desperate, philandering husbands, but this is a new low. When she explains that there’s a kid and a bad-guy ex-husband involved, he reluctantly takes the job. Both Bernie and Chet, for personal reasons, have a special soft spot for kids in a divorce situation. The job involves a drive with the woman out of state to a wilderness camp for overweight children. They arrive to find that the boy has gone missing after an overnight backpack trip in the forest. Now that it becomes a missing person situation, there is much more at stake, and Chet and Bernie are on the case. As far as Chet is concerned, that’s as good as it gets.

THE DOG WHO KNEW TOO MUCH, the fourth Chet and Bernie book, is a giant stride toward a bona fide mystery. The first three books were refreshingly original with equal moments of adventure and humor, but pretty lame as far as plot was concerned. Not so in book four. Bernie is arrested on suspicion of murder, and Chet is kidnapped and must find a way to escape his captors. A plot involving two murders, the FBI, the DEA, and a county full of crooked officials keeps the story moving along at a go-to trot. That’s what Chet calls the pace he can keep up all day and all night.

Chet is not supernatural. That is, he doesn’t actually talk, but Spencer Quinn, his creator, magically channels Chet onto the printed page so that we see the action from Chet’s point of view. As the story unfolds, Chet offers savvy observations on the case at hand and life in general. He understands an amazing number of human words, but his literal frame of reference often distracts his attention. He is particularly befuddled by metaphors and similes. Thus we are taken on some purely canine reminiscences of his version of a wild goose chase, or wondering what’s so special about a 10-foot pole, as his mind wanders during humdrum human conversation. Food scraps are another diversion, and the sight of a stray French fry or an unattended plate of cookies clouds his attention.

Once they are properly dispatched, Chet whips back to his professional best. He’s on the case. He worships Bernie, who he feels can do no wrong, even when he miserably mangles a speech to a law enforcement convention. In Chet’s eyes, Bernie is always the smartest human in any room, not to mention the strongest and bravest. Such is the relationship between human and dog to which any dog lover can relate.

The human and canine foibles and imperfections are what endear these two characters to readers. A good mystery is the frosting on the cake. And Chet would agree, with a lip-licking memory of that wedding cake that he… “Well,” as he remarks when he catches himself digressing, “that’s a story for another time.” – Roz Shea

Welcome mom’s handsome boy, Sassy Sue, Rex, beachgoer, Bandit.

And Laika’s human companion: please email spence.quinn@gmail with a mailing address and your signed copy of The Dog Who Knew Too Much will be winging its way.

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Friday, December 2nd, 2011 at 9:06 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

75 Responses to “Bookreporter.com Review: The Dog Who Knew Too Much”

  1. B.Stover
    9:26 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Roz Shea is incorrect. The mysteries of all four Chet and Bernie novels are wonderful. And, yes, Chet is savvy!

    Good morning all.

  2. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    9:34 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Lame? Huh?

    I disagree.

  3. Wolfie Wigglebutt
    9:36 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Good Morning, Bee.

  4. Melanie
    9:40 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Good Morning all, some glaring errors to my mind. Perhaps he just couldn’t see past the fresh approach to notice there were mysteries to solve?

  5. BARB & MAGGIE
    9:50 am on December 2nd, 2011

    All in all, not a horrible review, but we must take exception to a couple of comments. First of all, we don’t remember the camp being for over-weight kids. Did we miss something? Secondly, we did not think the first 3 plots were lame. We always think the who-dun-it aspect is secondary to the love of reading the story from Chet’s prospective, but lame? Hardly!

    Oh, and Good Morning!

  6. Tyb
    10:03 am on December 2nd, 2011

    I thought that I had posted my reminder earlier. Now as I read the blog I see it’s missing. So I’ll post it again. Have you voted?

  7. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:06 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Fog!…. hmmm, apparently the day did not start out well for someone….sniff!….She had to cut across town to miss some road construction that closed the highway. The fog is so thick this morning that she could barely see the car in front of her or the black ice on the roads….wuffle!… It is only 12 degrees out and her car windows froze shut…yeep!…This is still warmer than Alaska, I might add…heh!… Grumpy? I’d say so. Her email says I am supposed to be nice to Beau and not drive her mother insane today….snorkel!

    Review!…That wasn’t a bad review. At least I could tell that the critic had read some of the books. Or at least parts of some of the books….heh!

  8. B.Stover
    10:06 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Here’s the Google “doodle” for Mark Twain’s 176th birthday:

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2011/nov/30/google-marks-mark-twain-birthday

  9. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    10:07 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Some excitement here last night. About 1:30 a.m., there was someone at the back door trying to get into our house. As soon as I heard it, I channeled my buddy Chet and let that perp know what for, by barking very loudly. If he had made it any further, I definitely would have sunk my teeth into his leg, just like Chet would, case closed. Mom woke up (she had been downstairs with me), and screamed, and between her screaming and my barking, he scooted back down our driveway and disappeared into the night. I thought it was no big deal, but she kept hugging me and calling me her hero.
    Wookie

    Note from Wookie’s dad. He really was our hero last night, and a very brave boy at that. Who knows what might have happened if not for his alert reaction to the attempted break-in. We live in a well-populated suburban neighborhood, so this is something you just don’t ever expect to happen to you.

  10. B.Stover
    10:10 am on December 2nd, 2011

    My nephew, who lives in Denver, said it took him 2-l/2 hours to get to work yesterday.

  11. B.Stover
    10:12 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Wookie: Yikes! Should the police be put on alert?

  12. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:20 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Burglar!…..Agent Wookie! Damned good job!….snort!….You kept your family safe and sound by thwarting the bad guy’s plan and forcing him to scurry off into the night ….gruff!

  13. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    10:23 am on December 2nd, 2011

    B. Mom did call 911 afterwards to report what happened. We weren’t looking for the police to come to our house (we also had house guests staying with us, and didn’t want to disturb them that late at night) but suggested that they might want to cruise the neighborhood, although we don’t know if they did. Wookie

  14. Melanie
    10:31 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Wöökie!

    The Pack found this just for you. You are their HERO!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZvEnIkz82A0

  15. Tupper and Gilly
    10:45 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Nothing lame about our Hero Wookie! Or about the first three plots either! We would like to nibble a little on that reviewer’s ankles just to let him know that we love all Chet’s books – case closed!!!

    Just sayin’ hi before they hit the road for the show. Have a good weekend all.

    Rio – tell your friend to be careful on those roads. And everyone in that path of that ferocious windstorm – keep your heads down!

  16. BARB & MAGGIE
    10:54 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Wookie my man, you did a great job! Years ago, when Barb was in the burbs, she was having ADT installed. The installer told her the best alarm system, bar none, is a barking dog.

  17. BearSpiritDog
    10:57 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Wookie! Yikes! A perp in the night. An adventure right out of a C&B Mystery.

    The reviewer tried to give a different perspective to the series, but could have done so without downgrading the first 3 books… in my opinion.

    Super 8…Somehow I expected more from J.J. Abrams and Spielberg.
    Anyone else have an opinion?

    Thanks, TYB. I really did need the reminder this morning.

  18. BARB & MAGGIE
    11:18 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Bear, We here have no knowledge of Super 8.

    Did anyone else remember the kid’s camp being for over weight youths?

    Heard there were some areas out west where they had over 100 mph winds. Hope we don’t get that. We might blow away, like Dorothy!

  19. Melanie
    11:24 am on December 2nd, 2011

    going through some pictures trying some b/w and did this one up.
    For those people who need a smile today.

    Mac and Bubbles

  20. BearSpiritDog
    11:38 am on December 2nd, 2011

    Melanie: Mac Bubbles. The black and white is perfect. I love it!

  21. OleyHowlers
    12:05 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Howdy, Everybody!

    Agent Wookie, you passed your test!!!!! We’ve been practicing Chet’s moves in case we ever need to move on a perp, but none of us knows what we will be capable of should the opportunity present itself. But you were tested, and you passed with Flying Colors!!!!! We are proud to know you, man!

    Tyb, we forgot until we read your reminder….Thanks once again.

    Barb, Devin was overweight, but his mom said “Its not a Fat Camp exactly. More of a build-you-into-a-man wilderness thing.”

  22. B.Stover
    12:05 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Does Mac watch the bubbles or does he snap at them?

    I’ve never seen Super 8.

    I don’t remember the camp being for overweight youth.

    Just made granola and it smells lovely.

  23. B.Stover
    12:06 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Keep forgetting: Thank you T&G for anwering my question about “on your six.”

  24. Siber-H
    12:15 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    The mysteries in the first three books are NOT lame. It is a decent review other than that big mistake. Wookie wrote the best review of The Dog Who.

    Wookie! You are our hero! That is scary. We are thankful all of you are okay.

    Mac…That is adorable.

  25. Masquers
    12:18 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    WeatherKat Central: Santa Ana’s continue to wreak havoc in Los Angeles area, while the Pacific NW enjoys a few days of sunshine.
    Denver can prepare for more snow.
    Albuquerqe too can expect snow/rain/snow mix.
    Looks like we are in for a “interesting” winter.

  26. Masquers
    12:21 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Rio: Snow tonight and tomorrow. The good news is…it’s Saturday.
    http://www.weather.com/weather/tenday/USCO0105

  27. Masquers
    12:24 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Siber: May be too slushy to make it fun.
    http://www.weather.com/weather/tenday/USNM0004

  28. Siber-H
    12:25 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Fellow Sibers, I hate to be the one to tell you this, but if mom were a robber, she would walk into a house with 4 Siberian Huskies in it.
    The president of Husky Rescue here calls us, “Go ahead and take the silverware Siberians”, but many people are afraid of us because of the way we look.

  29. Siber-H
    12:29 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Masquers, I live at a higher elevation than the city of Albuquerque so I have some hope for a bit of snow. I am waiting, but not with great expectations.

  30. OleyHowlers
    12:43 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Awww Siber, we’ve been practicing so hard. We would at least demand some kisses (and maybe a cookie) from the robber.

    Mom’s greatest hope is with the Pipsqueak. She has a ferocious (whispering…squeaky) bark whenever someone comes in the door who she doesn’t yet know.

  31. Siber-H
    1:05 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    The Pipsqueak’s eyemakeup will go a long way toward making her look scary. and she might be one of us that will bark. My dear friend at the dog park, Molly the Siber, will bark when someone comes to their door.

  32. Melanie
    1:10 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Mac is an observer of life. He likes to look at the bubbles. Rose eats them. Grace chases them. The others? Bubbles? What’s up with bubbles?

    Newfs are pretty laid back until . . . Then they are still laid back but stand between you and whomever until . . . then they bark LOUDLY and their jowls go up and down and their teeth flash and then whomever it is bothering you leaves.

  33. Riö - The Evil Pug
    1:31 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Melanie!…Did your dishwasher ever arrive?…snort!…Or is it still traveling around the countryside…heh!

  34. Melanie
    1:53 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Riö, the dishwasher arrived after I called and said, “Where are you? You were supposed to be here between 8 and 12.” I was put on hold . . . getting put on hold with Mr. Rooter is like being chained to a radiator and listening to some one do affirmations constantly.

    They then came back on and said they found the dishwasher, it was getting picked up RIGHT THEN and they would be at the house in 30 minutes.

    And they were. They were not smiling like they said they would be though. Next they said, if the machine didn’t have a cut off valve near the cabinet they would have to put one in and it would cost another $75. Guess what?

    Seems to me that the store that begins with “S” that use to have a great children’s Christmas catalog leaves a great deal out when you are getting things installed.

    (BTW) YSAS is now out of Chicago and headed to Dallas. He slept all the way to Chicago because the plane was showing sitcoms and not a movie.

  35. Mollypop's Mom
    1:59 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Agent Wookie – Right on the job! Good work.

    WeatherKat – Could you please bring some of that cold and snowy weather to Western New York? We want to ski.

  36. Riö - The Evil Pug
    2:21 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Sear-sucker!… Melanie, doesn’t crap like that make you so mad?….grump!… I swear, it sounds like one big Rip-Off to me those guys telling you if it doesn’t have a cut-off valve it will cost a lot extra…grumble!

  37. Staff
    2:49 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Thanks TYB, I voted.

    Rio, drive carefully!

    Melanie those dog-gone sear-suckers.

    WOOKIE! My Dog you are wonderful.

    Dawson left at 4 a.m. this morning and should be in Missoula by now.

    A Catty librarian is on her way to Missoula on the bus. She is documenting the trip on her smart phone to facebookie. Mostly she seems to be taking pictures of places to eat…snicker.

  38. Riö - The Evil Pug
    3:22 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Staff!…I think you have me confused with Wookie…heh!…I do not drive…sniff!

  39. Masquers
    3:32 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Staff: Will A Catty Librarian be meeting up with Dawson in Missoula?

    Wookie: When I picture you I see your gentle disposition and smiling face. You fending off the perp…that must have been something to see. You were very brave.

    Mollypop’s Mom: The weather this year is wacky. We haven’t been able to reach some family members in the a L.A. area yet.

  40. Rose
    3:43 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Wookie: You are a hero! Good job! Your mom and dad must be so proud of you!!!

    Rio: I hope your friend drives safely in that snowy weather your having!

    Belle Starr: The Prof will be away over-night on Monday. (whispering) What do you think, can you and Luna make it?

    Siber-H: Are you super-handsome after your grooming? Would your mom take a picture? Pretty-please!!!! With sugar on top!!!!

  41. Rose
    3:45 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    SIber-H: Are you saying your a lover, not a fighter??? :)

    Masquers: I have taken my rightful place below your handsome face!

  42. OleyHowlers
    3:59 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    We are thinking Iditarod now. Do youse guys have the Iditarod Insider GPS Tracker? What about the Video on Demand?

  43. Siber-H
    4:18 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Rose, Most of us Sibers are not watch dogs. We can’t be bothered or as my mom says, we don’t care. We don’t even bark if someone is at the door. The good news is that usually only other Siber people know this.

    Mollypop’s Mom, Come to NM to go skiing. By Tuesday the mountains will have lots of fresh powder and the sky will be turquoise blue. I’ll take you skijouring.

  44. Siber-H
    4:25 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Fellow Sibers, I have the Iditarod Insider and the GPS tracker. With the video on demand, you also get live streaming of the ceremonial start in Anchorage and the real start in Willow the following day. They also have live streaming of the first team to the finish line in Nome. If you can’t be at your computer during those times, they put the video of it up on the Insider.
    For me, it is worth the money but it is time consuming. The GPS tracker is addictive.

  45. Siber-H
    4:34 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Rose, about the grooming and a picture. I am super handsome but my mom is too stupid to know how to get a picture of me up on the blog. hee hee At least I don’t smell like a powder puff this time. The bath brought out the skunk smell but that is fading quickly.

  46. BARB & MAGGIE
    5:41 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Siber, Last time we got a picture of you was when T & G’s Mum was visiting, I believe.

    Barb’s Crazy Lady has been pert nir mellow this week. She may go wiggy next week when we have a full moon, but the last 2 days of work have been OK. She only beat on the computer monitor once today, when Barb wasn’t sending her email fast enough, so this was a good day.

  47. Mollypop's Mom
    6:38 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Siber-H – I think I will have to come ski with you. Nothing’s happening here. Now about pictures, you can send them to me like we did before. Let’s see how you look all fluffed up.

  48. Mollypop's Mom
    6:41 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Maybe I spoke too soon about nothing snow-related happening here. I just looked out and the snowmakers are hooking up hoses to the snow guns. I hope, I hope.

  49. Melanie
    6:49 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Cold enough here for snow guns. I wonder how potato cannons would work?

    Been a difficult day. Yesterday a remarkable thing happened. Dan realized that he is getting old. This might be a weird statement, but for Zoë and I yesterday was peaceful because Dan was not trying to do things he can not do anymore.

    Then today we discovered his sister passed. She was ten years older, it was expected, but not really. Dan is doing well with all of this. Hopefully he will be able to sleep tonight.

    After we told him the news, the dogs one by one went up the stairs to see him and kiss him. They are a loving Pack.

  50. Tupper and Gilly
    6:58 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    They are a REMARKABLE pack. Just like their human counterparts.
    With love and goodnight.

  51. Rose
    7:02 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Melanie: So sorry to hear about Dan’s sister. My thoughts are with you and your family.

    Yes, Siber-H, please send your picture to Mollypop’s mom so that I can see how nicely you clean-up.

    Wolfie: I received an envelope in the mail today. Twirling…thanks! I hope you are safe with all that terrible weather out there.

    I just saw this on the Channel 4 news. Youse guys are too much!

    http://www.metro.co.uk/weird/883567-pet-dog-shoots-his-owner-with-a-12-gauge-shotgun-while-out-hunting

  52. Rose
    7:05 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    BTW, Melanie, that is one great picture of Mac

  53. Melanie
    7:08 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Thanks, and we will continue “To Plunder On”.

    I’m going to bed early today. YSAS has called he is in Dallas. He is already eating barbecue so I can now relax.

    That will be easier if I knew that Dawson was on the ground and at home.

    TTFN

  54. B.Stover
    7:31 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Melanie: I’m sorry about Dan’s sister. The Newfs are great.

  55. Riö - The Evil Pug
    7:47 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Yeep!….We here are very sorry to hear about the loss of Dan’s sister…sniff!…I do hope Dan is doing well and is not too heart-broken tonight. I’m sure he is remembering his sister….wuffle!… I am also very relieved to hear that Clarkson has landed in Texas safely and I bet the state will never be the same after he leaves…chorkel!… Also wandering how that rascal Dawson is doing on her travels to Missoula?…heh!…That’s a good place for her to be. I bet she can’t get in to too much trouble there…snort!

  56. Snowhook Bella
    8:03 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Special Agent Wookie: please check your SDD.

    Trying to get on the road early. Roads are bad will catch up on the blog later.

  57. Siber-H
    8:03 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Us too, We are sorry to hear of the loss of Dan’s sister and Melanie’s aunt.

    Clarkson is deep in the Heart of Texas!

    Youse guys, Thank you for thinking of me, but I cannot get mom to mess with the camera. She hates the camera. There is nothing to see anyway. I am not fluffy. Mom and I would both connip if the groomer ever wonderfluffed me. There is just a bit of Eu De Skunk lingering. I like it as it serves everyone right for giving me a bath.

  58. BearSpiritDog
    8:18 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Melanie: Expected or not. It is always difficult news to hear. That is a beautiful picture of the Pack giving Dan their sympathies and love. The furry faced ones always know how to make us feel better.

    Time to say Good Night All – Bear

  59. Macy the Min-pin
    8:21 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Melanie, what is son doing in Dallas?

  60. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:24 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    SiberH!…You have all these Groupies and you won’t even throw them a bone…snort!…That whole routine about not knowing how to post a photo is getting old…heh!….How the hell did you get your photo on the blog? How the hell did you get your photo on the Quilt?…sniff!… Ask for help when you want to post a photo for dawgs sake…grunt! …I’m sure someone will want to help you. Not me, but someone else…gruffle!

  61. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:41 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Dan!….I’m sitting here thinking of all the Newfs going up the stairs one by one to give Dan a “feel better” kiss…..sniff!… I sure wish I could be in that line-up….wuffle!… I want to give Dan a sloppy Pug kiss and let him know how much I think of him….slurp!… Speaking of tongue, were we? I bet a lot of you guys have no idea how long and fat a Pug’s tongue can be….heh!…Beau can hardly keep all of his tongue in his mouth. Lots of times a little part of it just hangs out….chorkel!….What a dork!

  62. Macy the Min-pin
    8:43 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Just another Friday night at the pub.

  63. Siber-H
    8:44 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    I got my photo on the blog by having the guy next door come over and upload it and then we sent them to Mollypop’s mom to reduce in size and put up on the blog. It sure wasn’t me who got my photo on the quilt. It was Mollypop’s mom.

    Let me say this again, My mom hates that camera.

  64. Riö - The Evil Pug
    8:48 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    SiberH!….Whatever!….snort! ….That is why all the girls love you because you are elusive…heh! …. You eat the paparazzi for dinner!…grunt!

  65. Jasper the Poodle
    8:56 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Evening Plunderers! Way to go Wookie! The world (at least your world) is safer because of you.

    So sorry to hear of Dan’s sister. Thinking of you all.

    Melanie, it may be possible that it is code (required) that there be a water shut-off valve close to the DW. Just a thought, since someone in this house is known to watch that Mike “Make It Right!” Holmes guy.

    There’s been some drama here in our world. It seems that mom’s 2-legged boy has decided that he isn’t ready to get married (24 years old) and he’s not sure if the person he is engaged to is really “the one.” He decided to postpone the wedding. Lots of sadness. Then today he decides to break up completely with the fiance and he asks her to move out. She throws a temper tantrum fit and throws some stuff around, breaks some glass, drinks some whiskey, takes some Tylenol and then starts to sleeps it off. Son comes home and finds the mess, so he calls mom. Mom calls sister, who immediately goes to check on the fiance, and mom hops in her car, picks me up and off we go to Grand Rapids. Big concerns about fiance, how much did she drink, how much Tylenol did she take, is there blood, is she lucid, etc… Fiance is okay. She tried the whiskey, but hated it so she poured it down the drain. She did take Tylenol, but then yakked a number of times, so we think the majority of it wasn’t absorbed. Auntie checked her every 5 minutes to make sure she still recognized who/what/when, etc. Son just wants her gone, but she’s refusing to leave. Mom and aunt convinced fiance to pack a bag for the weekend and go be with her family and give each other a break. Son is hanging out with his friends from work tonight and plans on drinking, and has secured a safe ride home. Mom thinks he may be a bit too “friendly” with one particular female coworker who also happens to be married. Mom is concerned, but the son is an adult and has to work out his own messes. Mom and aunt were involved only because son called, and to make sure that fiance was safe. WHEW!! We are back home in Lansing and done with drama for today.

  66. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:12 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Wow!….Jasper, there never seems to be a dull moment in your families life…heh!heh!…Wowzer!….I feel bad for the girl, just for the record…heh!

  67. Siber-H
    9:41 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Someday the girl will be glad that he decided before they got married that she wasn’t the one.

  68. Wookie of Chevy Chase
    9:42 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Melanie. Very sorry to hear about Dan’s sister, but the Newfs have handled it so sweetly, as I knew they would. Dan is also so very lucky to have a you and Zoe to support him.

    Rio, you need to check your SDD for a message muy importante.

    Agent Wookie

  69. Riö - The Evil Pug
    9:46 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Tomorrow!…sniff!….Is the day Beau is supposed to go have his shots…snort!….But it is supposed to start SNOWING again tonight and tomorrow into the afternoon…grunt!…What do you bet that guy will get out of it again?…gruffle! …Somehow he is sleeping in her lap again tonight…grunt!…Bah Humbug!

  70. Snowhook Bella
    10:16 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    I hope Wookie isn’t calling for back-up from Rio that is muy importance…no, no Wookie has proven that perps are no match for him. It must be something else….

    Sorry to hear of the passing of Dan’s sister and sorry to hear Jasper’s news of the difficult break up. I agree with Siber-h. It’s better to now than later.

  71. Riö - The Evil Pug
    10:20 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Wookie!….I did check said SDD and I don’t believe a word you say….snort!….Just kidding….heh!… Although, it is pretty unbelievable, even to me the ‘King of Making Stuff Up’….grunt!

    Psyche! ….We are catching up on that crazy show Psyche…..heh!…You never know where he is going with his innuendo and smart aleck remarks ….grunt!….Remarkably there always is a good mystery involved in the story too…chuffle!

    Ohhhhhh!….Beau!….He just let a big one….sniff!…Bad Beau! Bad!….heh!…Now we will see who gets to sleep on her lap…wooooo!

  72. Snowhook Bella
    10:51 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Rose: Belle Starr had only one thing to say:Party at the Prof’s house!!!

  73. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:01 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Guests?!….snort!….I can’t believe Rose is letting those two hang out at her place again while the Professor is gone…sniff!… Rose, you might want to show them the pawtographed photo you have of me while they are there…heh!….Good thing for me SiberH doesn’t “Do” photographs…chorkel!

  74. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:05 pm on December 2nd, 2011

    Tired!….This has been a helluva week for someone, so she says we are going upstairs to bed now…grunt!….First she has to peel that farty pants Beau our of her lap…gruffle!…He takes the cake, he really does…grump! ….Goodnight all!

  75. Staff
    12:34 am on December 3rd, 2011

    Rio, It sounds like Beau is starting to feel safe and ‘at home’ at your house. Maybe you are going to have to face it, bite the bullet, see the light and admit he is there for EVER!

    Snicker.

    I have not heard a word from the missing sisters, but I have photographic confirmation that they have arrived in Missoula and have partied with Dawson’s granddaughter and DIL and Catty Librarians daughter. All are safe.

    Melanie, sympathy to your family on the loss of Dan’s sister. A sad thing to hear about. Both my parents are the last of their respective families by quite a few years.

    Mr.Staff and I just got back from a CD release concert for Brian Wicklund and the Barley Jacks.

    A link to the Denali park husky pups. good fun! No tears I promise.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpGZyQD4wW8

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia