Book Frog Reviews Dog On It

“Dog On It?” says Admin. “Isn’t it a little late for that, what with Paw and Order, book 7, coming soon?”

“Now, now,” says Spence. “Here’s what they say – a delightful romp, suitable for plane ride or beach or long winter’s night. You’ll read it in two sittings, and…you will be left wanting more.”

http://thebookfrog.com/?p=592

Welcome new friend Charlie. 

Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Thursday, June 12th, 2014 at 7:37 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

108 Responses to “Book Frog Reviews Dog On It”

  1. Herd of Hounds
    8:33 am on June 12th, 2014

    Good morning, everyone! We really enjoyed that review…alert, professional.
    Yeah, Blondie is home, home, home. She is okay after her sleepover but the folks to us she doesn’t get to romp for a couple of days.
    Have a Thor-filled, thunder-struck, Thursday :)

  2. BearSpiritDog
    9:11 am on June 12th, 2014

    We Loved the Review! “You will be left wanting more”.
    You can’t beat that!

    Welcome Home, Blondie.

    Thinking about you, C.Hobbit. Did you get any sleep last night?

  3. O'Howlers
    9:11 am on June 12th, 2014

    Good morning, HOH andSpence and Admin. A thunder-struck Thursday? That’s what the weather people are calling for here. We hope Mom gets home with us us us before that happens.

  4. Masquers
    9:37 am on June 12th, 2014

    Good morning early birds: HOH, POP, Howlers.
    Good morning everyone.

  5. BooBear
    9:47 am on June 12th, 2014

    Good Morning, all. Happy Friday Eve! (important day for those still in the work force)

    Rio, Mom caught up with the new 24! Didn’t realize how much we missed Jack! Good show!

  6. Masquers
    10:02 am on June 12th, 2014

    Rose! Good morning, my friend.
    Just saw your early morning post on yesterday’s page…starting to get worried…so thanks for checking in.
    And BooBear too: We here have not yet seen the new Jack Bauer…may check it out some time in the future…right now too many shows in the queue. It is hard to keep up.

  7. B.Stover
    10:07 am on June 12th, 2014

    The Book Frog is an interesting name for a bookstore.

    Good morning all.

  8. Tupper and Gilly
    10:17 am on June 12th, 2014

    Morning all. We have power so we can make coffee. Life is good.

  9. Herd of Hounds
    10:24 am on June 12th, 2014

    And speaking of amphibians…What famous showman won the west?
    Buffalo Bill Toady!

  10. Tupper and Gilly
    10:41 am on June 12th, 2014

    Did you all see the hint about the book over there on the right?
    “Plus, we give away free puppies at the end of the book.”

    Hey, how come the facebookies get info that we don’t? And we want one of those puppies, before Belle Starr claims them all for herself.

  11. macy's mom
    11:08 am on June 12th, 2014

    Rose, best of luck with your program. Been there.

    Our apologies to any parrots who do not wish to be covered.
    Annie won’t settle down until her cover is on.

    I got in a little garage sale preparation this morning. It gets so overwhelming I think I am going to faint. Just have to keep at it. I still have a week to get it together.

  12. Staff
    11:22 am on June 12th, 2014

    Dear Macy, One little bit at a time. We here are worriting about you, And Rose, And BooBear’s MOm and Pop and Amalia and and everybody I forgot to mention.

    Off to have a massage!!!!

    YAY

  13. Tupper and Gilly
    11:26 am on June 12th, 2014

    Staff – we want a massage or we are going to be in a very bad mood.

  14. BearSpiritDog
    11:26 am on June 12th, 2014

    Oh, Macy’s Mom, Someone here can relate!
    The Garage…a Cavern of who knows what…Treasures hiding amidst Trash.

    Thanks to you, Tupper&Gilly, we just went on a lengthy Walkabout through many interesting stories…one of which was Chet’s.

    B: Good notice of the Bookstore Name!

    Hounds: Thanks for including the answer to your pun-ish question.

    Staff: We are thinking about you too. A massage. Nice!

  15. Tupper and Gilly
    11:36 am on June 12th, 2014

    Woo hoo – there is going to be another Plunderfest coming up! And WE get to go this time!
    What could be better?

  16. Riö - The Evil Pug
    11:48 am on June 12th, 2014

    Plunder-fest!…What Plunderfest are you talking about?…sniff!

  17. Masquers
    12:00 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Yes, T&G, what gives?

  18. BearSpiritDog
    12:01 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Do you mean the Celebration of Life?

  19. B.Stover
    12:05 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Here is the last line of Chet’s Facebook post from yesterday:

    “*Free puppies are probably not given away. But it got you to read this far!!”

  20. Kat
    12:10 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Plunderfest?

  21. Masquers
    12:18 pm on June 12th, 2014

    B: Is it just me or does this new Chet & Bernie Mystery sound like the BEST one yet?
    Dawson: check your SDD.

  22. Herd of Hounds
    12:34 pm on June 12th, 2014

    In honor of Book Frog review, here’s another groaner…
    What sort of foot coverings does a frog wear in the summer?
    Open-toad sandals.

  23. Masquers
    1:00 pm on June 12th, 2014

    HOH: Now that was a good one!

  24. Herd of Hounds
    1:13 pm on June 12th, 2014

    :) Tanks!

  25. Tupper'sMama
    1:18 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Yup – a Plunderfest. Definition: when three or more Plunderers gather for visiting, passport signing, pictures and laughter.
    As opposed to a Plundermeet which can be two Plunderers meeting at airports, or for lunch or Slim Jim exchanges.

    It seems that Teddy RR is taking his family on vacation into the wilds of New England. And we are taking Mama and the Storyteller! There will also be another passport bearing party, but we will let them announce that themselves.

  26. Mollypop's Mom
    1:27 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Macy’s Mom – Remember this: how do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.

    Tyb, Class of ’14

  27. Herd of Hounds
    1:36 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Plunderer news….veeeery interesting!
    And now more tributes to Book Frog.
    What do you say to a hitchhiking frog?
    Hop in!

    What is a frog’s favorite car?
    The Beetle :)

  28. Herd of Hounds
    1:37 pm on June 12th, 2014

    MR. Tyb, congrats, you ol’ dog you!

  29. BearSpiritDog
    1:58 pm on June 12th, 2014

    TYB: Look’n Good! (and don’t you always 😉

    Hounds: Heh, heh. You are on a Roll.

  30. Herd of Hounds
    2:05 pm on June 12th, 2014

    BSD: Mom was a summer camp waterfront counselor in H.S. and college. Her camp mane was Phrogee. She’s got a bazillion of ’em.

    What do frogs do with paper?
    Rip it.
    What does a genie frog say?
    Rub it.
    What does a greedy frog say?
    Grab it!

  31. Tupper'sMama
    2:12 pm on June 12th, 2014

    What does a frog in shallow water say?
    Kneedeep kneedeep

  32. c.hobbit
    2:18 pm on June 12th, 2014

    BSD: I got 3 hours of sleep last night and after that an hour at a time. Of course, the little pup ended up not in his kennel on the bed but beside me. Sadie chose to sleep on the deck.

    So….even with pee pads (which don’t get used), it turns out that I will need advice on how to best take care of wet spots on a carpet. I’ve been dousing with water, covering it with a towel and standing on it to soak the wetness up. I have gotten better on noticing when he needs to go but I am either not quick enough or the door is too far away.

    Also…what advice can you give me about what I can realistically train a puppy to do in the next couple of week? He does know his name and is beginning to learn the word “no.”

    Tyb: good dog!

    Macy’s Mom: I work better with deadlines but remember to breathe and take breaks to either organize your thoughts before proceeding or to get away from it for a bit. When I am faced with a cleaning a room, I set my timer for 15 minutes, focus and see how much I can get done in that time. It is amazing how productive you can be in 15-minute increments.

  33. Tupper'sMama
    2:38 pm on June 12th, 2014

    CHobbit- next time there is an indoor puddle, turn a pee pad upside down over it and stand o. That to absorb the piddle. Then put the pad right side up where the puppy can smell it. Hopefully he will realize that is the appropriate spot.

    As for carpet accidents- club soda is a better dilutant before soaking up the problem. It is also helpful to sprinkle a little baking soda on the wet spot, let that sit for a few minutes and then proceed with the club soda.

  34. BearSpiritDog
    2:52 pm on June 12th, 2014

    C.Hobbit: We have every Confidence in your Puppy Training Abilities.

    Tupper&Gilly: Once again, You are the Lucky Dogs getting to visit with TeddyRuffRider and his parents. Of course, you ARE the Royals.

  35. Herd of Hounds
    3:32 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Tupper’s Mama: Good one
    Club soda helps we 2 leggers. A Pet Odor Eliminator (POE) helps keep dogs from liking an area again.
    Who was the famous frog pioneer?
    Davy Croakit.
    Why are frogs so happy?
    They eat whatever bugs them :)

  36. Herd of Hounds
    3:51 pm on June 12th, 2014

    What is black and white and green? A book sitting under a frog.

  37. Thieves!
    4:23 pm on June 12th, 2014

    The first word we learned when we were but young thieves was damnit usually followed by the contents of someone’s pockets being removed from our mouths.

  38. Herd of Hounds
    4:35 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Thieves, y’all didn’t think yourse names was “Dammit” ?

  39. Thieves!
    4:43 pm on June 12th, 2014

    HOH: For the longest time we thought Pancholefty was our middle name. It brings back memories. It seems like it was just yesterday…

  40. Herd of Hounds
    4:45 pm on June 12th, 2014

    For HRH B:
    What is the first book a tadpole reads?

    “Metamprjposis” by Kafka.

  41. Herd of Hounds
    4:48 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Thieves, it might have been! Around here, even the POP yells.”Emma, Ella”…dogs who crossed the bridge a year and a half ago!

  42. Thieves!
    5:18 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Test.

  43. Thieves!
    5:19 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Gah! We must be being moderated even though we didn’t get the dreaded moderation message. All things in moderation, or so we are told.

  44. BearSpiritDog
    5:34 pm on June 12th, 2014


    “What do you think happened to them?”

  45. Herd of Hounds
    5:41 pm on June 12th, 2014

    BSD: Ha, ha, ha.

    Why did the frog read Sherlock Holmes?
    Because he loved a good croak and dagger!

  46. Herd of Hounds
    5:45 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Who got massacred at the Battle of the Little Big Frog?
    General George Armstrong Custoad.

    The most famous American Cowboy?
    HOP-a-long Cassidy.

  47. Masquers
    5:53 pm on June 12th, 2014

    HOH: Careful now…you’ll use up your whole repertoire of frog jokes.

  48. Herd of Hounds
    6:04 pm on June 12th, 2014

    That’s the point for today. Got one we are holding back till we hear from Dawson.

  49. Wose-the small and meek
    6:18 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Greetings!

    HOH, GROAN! Where do you come up with this stuff?

    T&G, I do believe Grizz and I will be meeting you at Plunderfest, Vermont. I am practicing my curtsy as I type. We are so excited, there is a lot of splorting going on.

    Tyb! What a handsome Yale man you are!!!

  50. dawson
    6:29 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Tyb: The smartest dog on campus!

    Groan!
    HOH: I’m here now.

    The thunderclouds are gathering so I’m inside.

    Lucky Summer Plunderfest 2014 Attendees!

  51. Wose-the small and meek
    6:29 pm on June 12th, 2014

    My dearest Masquers, You have an excellent eye. You found my post of early this morning on last night’s blog. : )

    ML: Thank you, my lovely sister.

  52. Wose-the small and meek
    6:30 pm on June 12th, 2014

    I am wondering how my buddy, TC is doing.

  53. Wose-the small and meek
    6:39 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Dawson, Please check your SDD.

  54. macy's mom
    6:44 pm on June 12th, 2014

    kneedeep, kneedeep, heh-heh

    Off to the craft central at VBS

    bbl

  55. T.C.
    6:47 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Hi Wose. Thank you for asking about me. I am getting braver and braver (or more. And more love-deprived). It is making Mommy nervous. But so far so good. I keep my wits about me and all my eyes open, including the ones behind my back.

  56. Herd of Hounds
    6:47 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Dawson: We’ve been bursting waiting for you. Here, in honor of our very favorite Plunderer from Canada…
    Who is the thirstiest frog in the world?
    The one who drinks Canada Dry :) (rimshot!)

  57. dawson
    7:30 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Ohhh!
    HOH: You saved that just for me? I’m honored!
    For putting up with all these puns, I’m having a ginger ale float!

    Wose: We are behind you all the way! We want you tip-top for the P;underfest!

  58. Herd of Hounds
    7:43 pm on June 12th, 2014

    What does a frog say when he sees something great?
    Toadally awesome.

  59. Belle Starr
    7:50 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Wose: I go where you go. If this is innie or outie patient or to Plunderfest, so be it. Head bumps and giggles.

  60. Wose-the small and meek
    7:53 pm on June 12th, 2014

    TC, I am glad you are keeping all eyes open. I don’t think Zesuikov is a bad dude, or really wants to hurt you, I think he is still getting use to everything. I love kats….Why don’t you come by? You’ll find lots of love here.

  61. Wose-the small and meek
    7:59 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Belle Starr, You would be the most sparkliest therapy dog in my program! Who needs CBT or DBT when we could just give you tummies for 5 hours a day!

    I was thinking of you when Grizz and I were in CVS. I saw a very sparkly My Little Pony, and some glue and glitter sets.

    (whispering) I have an innie…

  62. Wose-the small and meek
    8:14 pm on June 12th, 2014

    RIIIIIIIIOOOOOOO! Wherefore art thou?

    Missing Siber-H too!

    Dawson, please check your SDD. It is almost time for me to go to bed.

  63. Herd of Hounds
    8:18 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Seasonal frogs:
    What is a frog’s favorite holiday?
    Leap Year.
    What do frogs wear on St. Patrick’s Day?
    Nothing :)

  64. Wose-the small and meek
    8:23 pm on June 12th, 2014

    HOH, These are soooo bad, but I can’t help laughing!

    I see Rio and Pepper up top. I love that picture. And Beau was up there a minute ago.

  65. Diane C.
    8:28 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Oh dear–I’m so late catching up today I may never get through the frog jokes.
    Macy’s Mom–I replied to your question of yesterday at the bottom of yesterday’s posts, in case you’re interested.
    C.Hobbitt–I agree with inverting the pad and then righting it. don’t know about club soda but have used white vinegar to good (but odorous) effect. If Ikette understands “No” and wants you to love her (which it seems she does–and who wouldn’t) just try and be patient and consistent a bit longer. Can you leave her outside safely for any stretch of time?

  66. Diane C.
    8:30 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Wose–thinking of you and sending pawsitive thoughts, also all in T and G’s household.
    Also wondering what’s become of Rio…

  67. Wose-the small and meek
    8:34 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Thanks, Diane!

    Big day tomorrow…punching out!

    Belle Starr, Are you taking good care of Rose, the puppy? I know you always take care of me.

  68. Herd of Hounds
    8:40 pm on June 12th, 2014

    What does a bankrupt frog say?
    Baroke, baroke, baroake.

  69. macy's mom
    9:04 pm on June 12th, 2014
  70. Teddy Ruff Rider
    9:18 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Well the cat is out of the bag as it were (with apologies to Basil and Sage, TC and BooBear) about our spectacular Plunderfest planned for Vermont the week after next. Now that I am all growed up, I am so looking forward to seeing Amalia and the Storyteller and my BFF Wose and her husband the Grizz, as well as the chance to finally meet Tupper and Silly Gilly. I think my mom and dad are probably pretty excited too from what I can tell. It should be a special, fun day, and I even promised to try my best not to chew on Leonard’s braids like I kind of did the last time (of course, I was only four months old at the time).

  71. Barb & Maggie
    9:21 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Been gone all day. Not sure how long it will take us to read through all those frog jokes. Thanks, HOH. You are in rare form today!

    Will be home tomorrow, so will see youse then.

    Nighty noodles.

  72. Tupper'sMama
    10:05 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Sooooo …. it has been a day.

    We have been posting from bedside at the hospital all day. Brother woke with severe shortness of breath and fever. Ambulance came and sirened him off to the ER.

    Apparently, everyone in the county chose today to get sick. The ER was packed. So we waited. And waited. And waited some more.

    After 9 hours,brother has been sent home with a diagnosis of more pneumonia, and prescriptions for all kinds of new meds. The option was to hold him in ER until there was a room available in the hospital, which most likely wouldn’t have been until at least tomorrow afternoon.

    So, he is home and now asleep.

    Sheesh

  73. BearSpiritDog
    10:16 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Royal Mum: Oh, Dear. What a Stressful Day you have had!
    Pray he Sleeps Peacefully through the night and Feels Better in the morning.
    Sending Big Bear Hugs.

  74. BearSpiritDog
    10:17 pm on June 12th, 2014

    All this and it’s the Full Wolf Moon too.

  75. Riö – The Evil Pug
    10:50 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Rose!…I’ve been hiding from all the bad jokes…grunt!

  76. BearSpiritDog
    10:53 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Rio! Thank Dog! We have been worrit.

  77. BearSpiritDog
    10:55 pm on June 12th, 2014

    This is for SiberH & the O’Howlers:

  78. BearSpiritDog
    10:58 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Happy Full Moon to Us All – Bear
    Aaarooooo, Aaarooooo, Aaaroooo

  79. Masquers
    11:03 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Macy’s Mom: Clever photo contribution to the frog jokes.
    Where is Siber?

  80. Tupper'sMama
    11:03 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Did you know that the confluence of Friday the 13th and a full moon will not happen again until 2049?
    Sounds like we need to blow this one out of the park with a unanimous howl.

  81. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:03 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Wolf!……WOOOOOOOOLLLFFFF! MOOOOON!….WOOOOOOOO!…ARRRRROOOOOUUUU!… cough!cough!sneeze!wheeze!

  82. Siber-H
    11:09 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Bear, That is beautiful! Thank you and Happy Full Wolf Moon to all of you.

    I have been hiding from bad jokes along with Rio.

    Night All

  83. Masquers
    11:11 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Blog Kats: Join me in a full wolf moon Yowwwwwl.
    (cover your ears, CHobbiti).

  84. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:18 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Story!…SiberH, I sure hope you are watching the show Fargo…snort!…This is almost as good as one of Mr. Abraham’s psycho thrillers….snort!….We just finished watching the latest episode and I am still totally awestruck and in denial…wheeze!

  85. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:19 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Lester!…He did not do this. He did not do this…gah!…He did not do this….yeeep!

  86. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:21 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Maskers!….90 minute finale next week of Fargo. I don’t think my stout pug-heart can take 90 minutes of this show…wheeze!gasp!gurgle!….I may have to split it up into 3 parts…gah!

  87. Masquers
    11:29 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Yeep! I have NOT seen the latest episode…must..do..so..now.

  88. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:32 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Maskers!….Hold on to your MEOW…wheeze!…You will not see it coming – I promise you that…gasp!

  89. Alice M.Johnson
    11:33 pm on June 12th, 2014

    AroooooooOOOOOoooooOOOOooooOOOoOooooYeep

  90. AbbietheKitty
    11:34 pm on June 12th, 2014

    AroooooooOOOOOoooooOOOOooooOOOoOooooYark

  91. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:34 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Alice!…Good try, but no cigar at Wolf Moon Howling…grunt!

  92. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:34 pm on June 12th, 2014

    AbbieTheKat!….Total Fail!…snort!

  93. Masquers
    11:38 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Gah. Was that a hairball?

  94. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:45 pm on June 12th, 2014

    Kat!….When a Kat Yarks, I am betting it is a hairball and a big ‘un…sniff!

  95. AbbietheKitty
    11:47 pm on June 12th, 2014

    sniff, It wasn’t a hairball. Alice is the on who does hairballs. That was a plain old Siber-H yark!

  96. Riö – The Evil Pug
    11:56 pm on June 12th, 2014

    AbbieTheKat!….Don’t you know you cannot mimmick a SiberH?…snort!…Their Yarks are special to them, just as our Yeeeps! are special to Pugs…sniff!…You need to find your own special sound…snuffle!

  97. Tupper
    12:00 am on June 13th, 2014
  98. Masquers
    12:04 am on June 13th, 2014

    I..will..not..be..distracted..from..this..show……

  99. Sage
    12:05 am on June 13th, 2014
  100. Masquers
    12:07 am on June 13th, 2014

    damit…can’t open the link.
    It is time for nite-nite.

  101. Riö – The Evil Pug
    12:11 am on June 13th, 2014

    Maskers!…Let me know when you have finally seen the latest Fargo…heh!heh!

    GoodNight!…All!…snort!

  102. Wolfie
    12:52 am on June 13th, 2014

    Woooooooooooooooooo……..

    Happy Wolf Moon!

  103. Wolfie
    12:53 am on June 13th, 2014

    Cody just informed me that the earth is only 7,000 years old.

    Snort!

  104. macy's mom
    1:52 am on June 13th, 2014

    If Cody says it, it must be true.

    You Kats made me LOL, and that is a real talent today.

    This from Macy… a woo, a woo, a woo
    Annie… rooooooooor
    Belle…arrrrrrrrr

    My pack don’t howl

    A…get some sleep, it sounds like you have rough seas ahead.

  105. Wose-the small and meek
    6:19 am on June 13th, 2014

    Greetings!

    So, today I have to get a physical so the partial program can be sure that I will not drop dead when they prepare my new drug cocktail. (Shaken, not stirred).

    Then it is back to catch up with the partial program, and then I am getting wonderfluffed. I DEFINITELY need the wonderfluff!

    ARRRRRRROOOOOO!

  106. T.C.
    7:14 am on June 13th, 2014

    Tee hee! I just love those talking Alice and Sages.

    Last night, that dude gave me a nose bump. What did I do? I bumped his big nose right back.

  107. Wose-the small and meek
    7:38 am on June 13th, 2014

    T.C., Well, good for you, then!

  108. Ahmad
    3:17 pm on July 2nd, 2014

    Cat health insurance provides reimbursement coverage oon your pet’s eligible medical treatments, surgeries, lab
    fees, X-rays, prescriptions and more. More than otther things
    these are thee common stuff that we would usually overlook.
    Aish under strewss is more likeloy to catch a disease than a happy fish.

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia