ARF – Examiner.com review

“Quinn beautifully evokes life on the water in this small Southern town and his young characters are delightful. One might be certain that Bowser is Chet in another state — or maybe a brother? Their voice is remarkably similar.

This series will be sure to delight dog-lovers and mystery lovers and anyone who enjoys a good read. Perfect for middle grade readers from fourth through sixth grade.” – Pamela Kramer, Examiner.com.

51Xj-Y7AwGL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

Share

Tags: , , ,

This entry was posted on Wednesday, May 18th, 2016 at 7:58 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

73 Responses to “ARF – Examiner.com review”

  1. Barb, Maggie & Lucy
    8:00 am on May 18th, 2016

    Oh, oh. A good read? Heaven forbid! Does every reviewer use read as a noun, or is someone pushing Bee’s buttons?

    Off to work in a few. Have a wonderful Wednesday everyone.

  2. Herd of Hounds
    8:21 am on May 18th, 2016

    Good morning B&M&L and everyone! We fear HRH B’s Buttons have been pushed. Still the review was pawsitive πŸ™‚
    As Barb said, “Have a wonderful Wednesday”.

  3. Barb, Maggie & Lucy
    8:31 am on May 18th, 2016

    Or a wacky Wednesday, if you prefer!

    Did you see my response to Linda’s comment about Shooter? LOL

  4. Meashka
    8:37 am on May 18th, 2016

    Good morning!
    “Bowser is Chet in another state”…uh oh! Remember that one-night stand down in Mexico???

  5. Herd of Hounds
    8:47 am on May 18th, 2016

    Saw the shooter comment over a nice glass of grape πŸ™‚

  6. Meashka
    8:48 am on May 18th, 2016

    For what it’s worth, I always thought I understood why Shooter, and it had nothing to do with Waylon. ????

  7. B.Stover
    9:27 am on May 18th, 2016

    I’m waiting for my car to be towed to the auto service because my brakes seem feeble…so I’m not in a good mood anyway. Sigh.

    Good morning all.

  8. B.Stover
    9:29 am on May 18th, 2016

    And I don’t think Chet and Bowser really sound the same. It seems to me that Bowser is more down to earth and Chet is more philosophical. I’ll have to think about it more.

  9. Herd of Hounds
    9:51 am on May 18th, 2016

    HRH B, Bowser sounds less experienced, younger. Chet sounds like he has seen more of life. Just our take on this.

  10. Linda
    10:12 am on May 18th, 2016

    I liked the review, but also noticed the dreaded “R” usage.

    I agree — Chet’s and Bowser’s voices are not identical.

    Hope your brakes will be fixed quickly, B.

    Good morning everyone.

  11. Tupper and Gilly
    10:15 am on May 18th, 2016

    Greetings all.

    We think Bowser kinda sounds like Chet’s younger, country cousin. Not as world-wise as Chet, but full of the same enthusiasm and loyalty. And while the book is aimed at young adult, we can’t think of any one, of any age who wouldn’t enjoy it.

    Bee – sigh. If it’s not one thing, it’s another….

  12. B.Stover
    10:28 am on May 18th, 2016

    HOH: That’s a good “take” and I also agree with T&G. Bowser seems to act on reflex while Chet seems to think about things more.

    Thank you Linda.

    The tow truck took my wonderful car and now I wait to see what’s wrong…and how much.

  13. Meashka
    10:29 am on May 18th, 2016

    I agree with T&G. Chet is to Bowser as I am to my Kat. And Kat is to Bella. Zeus: why, he is a dog of a different color.

  14. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    10:46 am on May 18th, 2016

    Couldn’t agree more. I am feeling very agreeable today! LOL

    Finally warming up, and Gary G., my plant man, says it is safe to plant tomatoes and peppers this coming weekend. I will pick up my little ones (8 tomatoes and 5 peppers)on Saturday morning.

    Today at 6:30am, while sitting at my computer and looking out the front window, a coyote trotted by. First glance, I thought it was a loose dog, than quickly realized that it was not. Bet he was checking to see if there were any more bunnies readily available. I went outside immediately, but he was already gone.
    When I let the girls out later, Maggie immediately went to that side of the yard and barked. Wonder if she was picking up the scent. She has a great nose, could have gone into SAR.

  15. Howlers
    11:07 am on May 18th, 2016

    We have coyotes nearby. We howl at them, and they howl back. We keep our distance from each other. But Mom learned that there are lots of coyotes in the pkace where we are moving, and they are much braver, and have been seen casually strolling down the street.

  16. Herd of Hounds
    11:49 am on May 18th, 2016

    Coyotes abound in our neighborhood! Anyone who puts up a lost kitty sign is an optimist!

  17. BooBear
    11:49 am on May 18th, 2016

    Mom has a friend who has 2 youngish German Shepherds and they are starting them in Search and Rescue training. Don’t know how they already know this but 1 is going to be trained on finding human remains and the other on missing persons. It will be interesting to hear the training stories.

  18. BooBear
    11:52 am on May 18th, 2016

    And how foolish is Mom…our neighborhood is plagued by wild hogs. They often rob the deer of the corn Mom puts out and the last 3 nights, they have destroyed parts of the yard. A neighbor just past the woods behind our house shot one last night that was digging in his front yard. He said it was a mama and 4 babies about the size of cats ran off when he shot the mama. Now my mom is worried about those babies! Really, Mom? They will grow up to be hogs too!!

  19. Herd of Hounds
    11:56 am on May 18th, 2016

    BooBear, lucky friend and lucky dogs.
    This how the peeps keep the large lummox thinking she is important ????

  20. Rio - The Evil Pug
    11:56 am on May 18th, 2016

    Wild Hogs!….snort!.. I’ve never seen a wild hog before. Unless you count Beau when he is eating…grunt!

  21. Staff
    12:00 pm on May 18th, 2016

    http://nature365.tv/may-18-2016/

    White Throated Sparrow. They are moving through our area right now too.

  22. Masquers
    12:04 pm on May 18th, 2016

    RiΓ΅! Snort!

  23. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    12:10 pm on May 18th, 2016

    I see coyotes on the roads out in the surrounding country, but it is unusual to see one in the subdivision with all these homes.

    Staff, I have had a similar sparrow passing thru, but not sure if it the same. It has a white stripe on the head, but I don’t recall seeing the yellow spots. it I not year round here, only migratory.

  24. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    12:13 pm on May 18th, 2016

    I think mine might be a White Crowned instead of White Throated.

  25. BearSpiritDog
    12:14 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Chet and Bowser have Their Own Voices.
    Gah. We didn’t appreciate the “scratching on the blackboard” (read as a noun) so early in the (our) morning.

    B: Car Repair! Hope this will not deplete Charlie’s Treatie Jar.

    Darah Thea: Of course You Are Important! Don’t let anybody tell you otherwise.

  26. Howlers
    12:20 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Now we need to find us some wild hogs!

  27. B.Stover
    12:29 pm on May 18th, 2016

    The problem with the brakes is that the wires or cables (or whatever) from front to back have rotted. (The car is a 1999 Saturn and I love it! It’s been the best car I’ve ever owned and I was very sad when they stopped making them.) Anyway, the repairs plus oil change and lube will be $1,200 and I said okay. Should be finished today or tomorrow.

  28. B.Stover
    12:31 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Bear: Charlie’s treat jar is still full. LOL!

  29. B.Stover
    12:39 pm on May 18th, 2016

    I’ve never seen a white-throated sparrow. Isn’t he beautiful! And I love his song. We get white-crowned sparrows (white and black stripes on the head) during migration.

  30. B.Stover
    12:43 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Here’s a link on the white-throated sparrow:

    https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/White-throated_Sparrow/id

  31. Howlers
    1:05 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Lunchtime, so we finally listened to the sparrow’s song. It is beautiful, and we just love how he raises his head and belts it out. Sort of the way we howl.

  32. BearSpiritDog
    2:27 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Sparrow’s Song…He is Singing His little Heart Out.

  33. Staff
    2:58 pm on May 18th, 2016

    The white throated and white crowned sparrows are very similar. The difference is the white throat. Also the white crowned do not have the yellow spot above the eye. We get them both coming and going. They are lots of fun to watch on their migration. They do not nest here either, Barb. They nest north of us.

  34. BooBear
    3:10 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Howlers, actually the hunters in south Texas hunt wild hogs with dogs. Mom and I think that is a cruel way to hunt because the pack of dogs are sicced on the hog and it is a vicious fight. Mom always told Dad that when he went hunting, he always had to bring whatever animal down with a single shot and instant death. That was the story he always told her and she chose to believe it. He never went hog hunting with dogs. Mom would have freaked!

  35. Herd of Hounds
    3:56 pm on May 18th, 2016

    After hearing about AJ working on the glacier this year, we thought of this…

  36. BearSpiritDog
    3:58 pm on May 18th, 2016

    BooBear: We Agree and Your Mom is a Gentle Soul.

  37. dawson
    5:15 pm on May 18th, 2016

    So…”Arf” is perfect for middle grades readers from 4th through 6th grade.” I would suggest Arf would be enjoyed by readers of ALL ages. Because I know I am going to enjoy it if it ever gets here (sigh).

    The cold rainy weather has found us. I did not get the fence painted (sigh).

  38. dawson
    5:23 pm on May 18th, 2016

    So…”Arf” is perfect for middle grades readers from 4th through 6th grade.” I would suggest Arf would be enjoyed by readers of ALL ages. Because I know I am going to enjoy it if it ever gets here (sigh).

    The cold rainy weather has found us. I did not get the fence painted (sigh).

    Darah Thea: Best guard dog ever!

  39. Tupper and Gilly
    5:24 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Howlers – you will be moving to an area where you might just have the chance to chase those wild hawgs. But do be careful – they are MEAN!
    We don’t think any living thing should be tortured by fighting – either dogs or hawgs. We are sure BooBear’s dad did exactly what he said when hunting.

    Haven’t seen any bears around here lately, but the coyotes are howling at night.

    HOH – how goes the house building? Almost ready to move back in?

  40. Thieves!
    6:15 pm on May 18th, 2016

    On the trails, the team has been paws to hooves with moose and even on one occasion had a run in with a pack of hogs. Last night was our Lady’s turn to come to fisticuffs with a moose that came to the kennel when she was doing chores.

    The dogs erupted as she was scooping the kennel. She looked to see a moose walk from the trees and in front of the kennel. Even though it appeared as it was going to just run down the driveway — Tenzing, Belle Starr and Twig all told the moose to stay out of the yard—our Lady used the only weapon she had in her paws. For th record, the hoe used to clean the kennel isn’t as intimidating as we make it sound. She watched as the moose running down the driveway, turned and charged. She called the loose dogs to her, quickly hooked them up to keep them safe as she made sure everyone had fresh water. Time and distance have a funny way of expanding when under threat. The distance between the kennel and the house seemed greater than normal. For the journey, she grabbed AJs big hammer in one hand and a shovel in the other hand. As she walked the inside dogs back up to the house, she kept an eye on the moose. It kept an eye on her. If we are keeping score, it was a tie.

  41. Rose-the small and meek
    6:48 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Thieves! Your Lady is the man!

  42. Tupper's Mama
    6:51 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Ummm – we beg to differ.
    Thieves – your Lady is the WOMAN!!!

  43. Herd of Hounds
    6:53 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Wow, the Alaska pack are toadally awesome!

  44. Barb, Maggie & Lucy
    6:58 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Thieves, was that a pack of hogs or a pack of dogs?

  45. BearSpiritDog
    7:38 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Thieves! YEEP!!!

    1

  46. Herd of Hounds
    7:48 pm on May 18th, 2016

    T&G, we are so ready to get back into our house it’s not funny. Insulation is in wiring is in walls are painted subfloor is going in kitchen laundry pantry with tile today but not grouted.

  47. Thieves!
    8:45 pm on May 18th, 2016

    BML: It was a pack of hogs as in bacon. Hmmm…bacon. Theu escaped from a homestead property. The Giant hoped that they would let him pass by and for a time it looked to be the case. However, like the moose, they turned and attacked the dogs and the Giant. We have been told they were vicious. But, how can anything as good as bacon be vicious, we ask youse?

    Wyatt would like us to add that he supervised last night’s events from the front porch. Once it was all done, the only feedback he provided to our Lady was next time don’t bring garden tools to a knife fight. That Wyatt…he melts Our Lady’s heart.

  48. Mpop and Loulou's Mom
    9:11 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Thieves! How about a pellet gun! That should sting enough to turn an attacking animal away.

  49. Barb, Maggie & Lucy
    9:23 pm on May 18th, 2016

    I thought for sure that was a typo Thieves, since wild hogs are not usually that far north!

    Came home tonight and found a bunch of greens missing in the garden. Not sure what is doing it, since beds are too high for bunnies. Thinking it might be birds.

  50. Thieves!
    9:44 pm on May 18th, 2016

    MPM: With a bear, it would probably work. Moose, on the other paw, well it’s likely to get it ticked off but staying put such is the nature of a moose. When our Lady saw the moose, her first thought was to her pink rifle in the house. Moose like docile, but they can be quite agressive and stubborn.

    BML: The Giant said the hogs were easily a few hundred pounds a piece. That’s a lot of bacon!

    More to BML: we would like to get out ahead of any accusations of procuring your greens. Blame the bunnies. Always blame the bunnies…

    Beau: Meese! Isn’t there a line in the bible about what the meese will inherit?

  51. Thieves!
    9:48 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Moose like docile = look docile. Gah!

  52. dawson
    9:58 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Wild hogs!
    I’ve never seen one either and that’s fine.

    Wyatt: Good advice to your Lady.

  53. Herd of Hounds
    10:12 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Chet has experience with javelinas. They are cousins. Maybe he could advise. ????

  54. Rio - The Evil Pug
    10:13 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Moose!….YEEEP! YEEEP!…Wild Hogs and Moose!..snort!

  55. Barb, Maggie & Lucy
    10:15 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Thieves, maybe our morning coyote had some salad on his way through, while looking for his main course.

    Hogs can grow quite large. The normal weight for market hogs is 250-300 pounds and those are 6-8 months old. So if they are several years old, they will be much bigger, easily 600-800 pounds. Scary!

    Has anyone read The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah? I heard that it was very good, and I have read a few of her other books and really enjoyed them.

    Nighty noodles. Have a work day tomorrow.

  56. Thieves!
    10:49 pm on May 18th, 2016

    BML: But if blame the bunnies, they are easy to forgive. This is how Wyatt can get away with anything. He is practically a bunny in an outlaw’s fur. We…er…if you must know, do not pass so easily for bunnies.

    Rio: When do the Rockies play next? More importantly, how many platters of hot wings should we bring?

  57. Tupper's Mama
    11:01 pm on May 18th, 2016

    No wild pigs here. But we do have a bunch of kamikaze mousies.

    Seriously. Everything will be quiet and calm, and suddenly a mouse will run out into the middle of the room and squeal. And the chase is on. Corgi and Kats alike. (Callie is above such foolishness)

  58. Rio - The Evil Pug
    11:05 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Tupper!…snort!…I almost laughed out loud over kamikaze mouse….heh!heh!…This must be a diversion while they are eating Tupper and Gilly’s leftover kibble…chorkel!

  59. Thieves!
    11:06 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Golinka: Callie is above such foolishness, to be sure. But where does the Storyteller fall into the fray. Before or after the Herbs?

  60. Rio - The Evil Pug
    11:08 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Thieves!…The Rockies are playing right now and we here are watching…snort!…My friend has the day off tomorrow (sort of)…grunt!…The Red Birds are ahead by 2 Top of the Nineth!…wheeze!

  61. Rio - The Evil Pug
    11:14 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Bah!…Rockies lose-it…grump!…But I am still happy cuz my friend will be home tomorrow…snort!…Beau has to go to the Vet (heh) mother has to go to the Eye Doc. My friend will have the whole afternoon to do whatever!….YiippppEEE-Dooodle_Dummmm!!

  62. Thieves!
    11:14 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Rio: Had we known, we would have made sure you had proper baseball watching provisions.

  63. Tupper's Mama
    11:26 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Rio. There is no such thing as “leftover kibble” in this house. Remember, these are CORGIS, aka vacuum cleaners with paws.

  64. Macy min pin
    11:33 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Mom had an interesting day yesterday. On the way home from work she started feeling short of breath and her chest hurt and she felt kind of nauseous. So instead of going home she went to the ER. They looked her over inside and out ad took most of her blood. After the x-rays and Kat scan they decided to keep her overnight. This morning she had a nuclear stress test. Finally about three they came in with the verdict. “There is nothing wrong with you. Go home!” There is a commercial running here right now about how women have different heart symptoms than men. The line is “don’t die of doubt”. So how are we supposed to know what is what?

  65. Tupper's Mama
    11:47 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Macy – your mom did the exact right thing. Much better to be safe and know for sure. You tell her to keep erring on the side of caution. Besides, the food is just so great in hospitals, everyone wants to go????

  66. Rio - The Evil Pug
    11:48 pm on May 18th, 2016

    Macy!…Your maw did the right thing..snort!…But the message to women is very unclear…grunt!…Don’t Die of Doubt?…good grief!..Macy, your maw had a hard night of it. I hope she is feelng better now…wheeze!

  67. Wyatt
    11:56 pm on May 18th, 2016

    ML: I’m on my way!

  68. Macy min pin
    12:23 am on May 19th, 2016

    Wyatt,you are just what we need right now.

  69. Staff
    12:29 am on May 19th, 2016

    ML,
    Those are some of the symptoms of heart attack so you did the right thing. And they proved that by keeping you overnight instead of sending you home. Better safe than sorry or so I have heard.

  70. Barb, Maggie & Lucy
    7:06 am on May 19th, 2016

    I am not a big doctor person, but I agree with the others. Those symptoms could have been early heart attack signs. You did the right thing. Glad it was nothing serious.

  71. Rose-the small and meek
    7:18 am on May 19th, 2016

    Macy: What a scare for your mom. Please make sure she looks after herself. Hope she is tip-top soon!

  72. Herd of Hounds
    8:00 am on May 19th, 2016

    ML, we are glad it was “nothing”. Better safe than sorry, so stay safe πŸ™‚

  73. Linda
    8:17 am on May 19th, 2016

    Macy: Your mom was a smart cookie to do that.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia