Another Random Amazon WOOF Vine Review

Today it’s not about C&B, but the new middle-grade series starting next month with WOOF.

5 Stars – Wow, wow, Bowser! – March 28, 2015

“I live to read!” on WOOF (coming April 28):

What a delightful book! It has suspense, without being truly frightening (at least, I think a child could read this and not get nightmares, yet appreciate the seriousness of certain scenes). But the main thing is: it has charm. Oodles and oodles of charm. Narrated by Bowser, a mutt who is adopted by Birdie, the story progresses within the bounds of Bowser’s understanding. He understands delicious smells, like Birdie’s bubble gum, and wonderful sounds, like the snapping of that gum. He understands some things literally, and yet manages to interpret anything he doesn’t approve of in ways that make you roll your eyes and smile at the same time. For example, Bowser sees his mission in life as full-time protector of Birdie. When Birdie tells him to Stay, he’s quite content to do so…while she’s present. But when she moves away, he has no compunction about following her, and rationalizes it as Birdie’s fault, because she didn’t tell him to Stay while she wasn’t there. Adorable book! This is one which parents will enjoy reading along with their child. It also has plenty of atmosphere, taking place in swamp country and evoking the lives of people living on the edge of poverty. This author is a winner, and Bowser is a champ. Three woofs for Woof!

Unknown-2

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Monday, March 30th, 2015 at 7:43 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

63 Responses to “Another Random Amazon WOOF Vine Review”

  1. Billy's Buddy
    8:06 am on March 30th, 2015

    I really like this review.

    Good morning from sunny (for a change) Wisconsin everyone.

  2. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:07 am on March 30th, 2015

    Very nice review. We like it and say well written.

    Are we actually first? Have we beat you know who this morning!

  3. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    8:09 am on March 30th, 2015

    Rats!

    BB, it is sunny here, too, and will get into the mid to upper 50s this afternoon. Yay!

  4. Herd of Hounds
    8:32 am on March 30th, 2015

    Good morning to a couple of B’s and everyone! (yes, Barb beat us. We were busy doing dog breakfast for 5.) We liked the review, also. Hangng on by our dewclaws waiting for WOOF. Glad some of y’all have sun. We had boomers and rain in the middle of the night and our house guest felt the need to protect the mom…from under the bed! More rain and boomers this morning.
    Have a non-madulin Monday.
    P.S. Kyiah’s people brought these from their garden…they must not have the critters we do. They eat all bulbs here except the daffodils.

  5. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    9:07 am on March 30th, 2015

    Only thing bunnies ate here last spring was the crocus. Waited for them to bloom, and then bam, ate the entire plant. Our tulips are just starting to emerge.

  6. Herd of Hounds
    9:13 am on March 30th, 2015

    Barb, plants began a bit late this year. Forsythia usually blooms in Jan. This yeat they waited until March and by this late in March the tulips are fading. We hope this means the humid and sticky part of summer will hold off (ha).

  7. B.Stover
    9:14 am on March 30th, 2015

    Good review. “Oodles” is an interesting word.

    Good morning all…. Sunny here as well.

  8. Tupper's Mama
    9:56 am on March 30th, 2015

    Yup, that is a review we can get behind. Glad someone wrote about how OFA gets into a doggy frame of mind, and sees life from that perspective.

    We have tree climbers in the backyard; clearing dead branches, removing scrub, and generally making a mess that will make it nicer in the end. The dogs do NOT approve of the chipper machine. It is called “the Intimidator”, and the puppies are determined to prove they are not!

  9. dawson
    12:04 pm on March 30th, 2015

    BStover: Oodles of boodles.

    HOH: I love your tulips. Mine are under a couple feet of snow yet, only because they line the driveway so when we shovel the snow gets thrown on top of them. There is only a foot of snow left in the middle of the yard.

    Bright sunshine today.

  10. BearSpiritDog
    12:26 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Sunshine Here Too,
    and a Very Sunny 5 Star Review.
    woof, Woof, WOOF! Can’t Wait!

  11. Diane C.
    12:29 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Good Morning all–about to head for class and then to catch up on yesterday’s posts. Feeling a little peaky which is why I haven’t been around, but greatly cheered by the tulip photo (also the baby polar bear from a couple of days ago).
    I’ll get back witchall once class is done and I’ve bulldozed my way into the human v_e_t’s without an appointment.
    A Marvellous Monday to one and all!

  12. Siber's Mom
    12:32 pm on March 30th, 2015

    I like that the review says WOOF can be enjoyed by adults as well as kids.

    Sunny and high in the 70s here today. That is not as good as the 80s but I will take it.

  13. BooBear
    12:35 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Oh, my! Only a foot of snow, Dawson? We are in full spring mode here. Had a gorgeous weekend without any rain for a change. Was able to get the lawn mowed (not by Mom, no, siree) but that always puts her in a better mood.

    Life may be having some major changes here. More to follow.

    PS. Linus is holding on, but fading quickly. Mom says a special good bye to him each time she leaves the house. Paws crossed for a peaceful crossing.

  14. Herd of Hounds
    12:45 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Linus, you do what you need to and when and know that those of us still here will remember you fondly. BooBear and Mom and others, y’all are in our pawrayers. BooBear, you get healthy again. Teeth? You don’t need no stinking teeth!
    Siber’s MOm, your weather sounds picture perfect!
    DianeC. get healthy and do it pronto, amiga.
    BSD, we are only about 5*F warmer than y’all today :)
    Dawson, enjoy the sun :)

  15. BearSpiritDog
    1:07 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Dear Linus: Your mom need not worry. Your Friends are gathered ’round to make your passing Easy and Peaceful.

  16. Siber's Mom
    1:19 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Linus, Prayers and hugs for you and your family.

  17. Mpop's and Loulou's Mom
    1:26 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Linus, prayers for a peaceful crossing and hugs for your Mom.

    For any of you crossword puzzle addicts like I am, this puzzle is the very best I have ever seen. It was in last week’s New York Times and then in other papers this past Saturday. The puzzle is by Jeremey Newton and is called “UPSIDES.” It doesn’t get any better than this.

  18. B.Stover
    1:38 pm on March 30th, 2015

    It is extremely windy here. I was almost blown away getting groceries.

    Dawson: What are boodles?

  19. O'Howlers
    1:40 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Good review. We thought it must be from Bee.
    Linus, Hugs to you and your family. You are loved.

  20. B.Stover
    2:00 pm on March 30th, 2015

    I looked up the “Upsides” crossword puzzle. (It had the answers.) I’m not good at crossword puzzles and I’ve never been good with synonyms. I would have gotten 28 across but that’s it.

  21. Martha
    2:05 pm on March 30th, 2015

    I can’t wait to read “Woof” to one of my classes!
    Linus: Peace be unto you as you prepare for the crossing.

  22. Tupper and Gilly
    2:11 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Linus – we hear there are whole fields of catnip, right near the bushes where the bagels grow. It’s okay, little kitty. You can go in peace, and know that you will be remembered.

    Bee – just for you: : boodles – from Dutch boedel all one’s possessions, from Old Frisian b┼Źdel movable goods, inheritance; see caboodle

  23. ALR
    2:17 pm on March 30th, 2015

    B. Stover! Music to my ears for sure! I think of myself as a fairly smart person, but not nearly as educated and naturally smart as B. Stover…..and yet we have at least one thing in common. I am totally not good at crossword puzzles. I read a lot and my curiosity keeps me digesting new and old information all the time, but I can’t even get a good start at a crossword puzzle! I feel lighter now.

    We also have our love of Chet in common.

  24. B.Stover
    2:20 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Thank you T and G.

  25. B.Stover
    2:21 pm on March 30th, 2015

    ALR is making me laugh.

  26. Herd of Hounds
    3:17 pm on March 30th, 2015

    HRH B and ALR, mom loves crosswords, she thinks they are “da bomb” and that is her score at them…”da bomb” She can’t quite get her pea brain wraped around some of the clues, but she loves them!

  27. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    3:25 pm on March 30th, 2015

    We here are thinking of Linus. You have been very loved in this life and there are many waiting for you as you journey into the next.

  28. The Other Side of tr Bridge
    3:28 pm on March 30th, 2015

    BooBear: We are with Linus when you are not with him. We are with you when you are with him. This is our way. The Veil is thin. He will Cross when it is time and we will welcome him.

  29. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    3:28 pm on March 30th, 2015

    That might have been a cute baby polar bear, but it was also FAKE!
    Newborn polar bears do not have their eyes open, their paws and nails are light color, and their heads are more elongated. Really people!

    T & G, and that is different than canoodle! heehee

  30. Herd of Hounds
    3:34 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Or a kit and caboodle?

    (mom loves that pharase!)

  31. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    4:15 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Barb is terrible at crosswords too.

    Potatoes and beets are planted. Yay!

  32. Herd of Hounds
    4:36 pm on March 30th, 2015

    What about a “kitten caboodle”?

  33. Herd of Hounds
    4:37 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Would that be a whole bunh of KITTENS?

  34. Masquers
    5:15 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Fake polar bear cub. How could they! So easily we are taken in by adorable pictures of tiny photoshopped cuteness.

  35. Tupper and Gilly
    5:15 pm on March 30th, 2015

    HOH – that would be inheriting a whole bunch of kittens in the Netherlands.

  36. Staff
    5:35 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Dawson, there was no suitcase in the closet.

    Judy, I got your enticing booklet. I wonder if Mr.Staff would like a honeymoon? Maybe a second or third one…

    I will share the booklet with Dawson when she arrives.

  37. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    5:37 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Masquers, LOL “Tiny photoshopped cuteness” I love it.

  38. Staff
    5:44 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Admin…will you be signing books anywhere for WOOF? I will order from 8 Cousins if you get in there to sign it.

    Pretty please?

  39. AJ
    5:59 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Hello All,

    After a few days of up and downs with my health I finally now feel better. So much so I pulled all the stuff out of the shop and cleaned a season’s worth of meat and grime off it. And now the next installment on this year’s Iditarod….

    Leaving my camp site on the river the trail traveled up and next to the highway for a few miles. This put the dogs at ease and was very similar to conditions we usually train under. The temp was -40 and besides the starting line would be the last time I would not have the dogs in jackets for several days to come.

    We made good time all the way to Manley where we rested well and enjoyed the relative warmth of -20 during the day. Leaving here a little warmer the dogs moved well and overland all the way to Tanana with no problems. Arriving in Tanana you first have to cross over the confluence with the Yukon river. This area is nearly three miles wide and is an immense amount of ice.

    Coming into this village we felt welcomed and ready for a longer break. I chose to take my eight hour rest here as we had a 120 mile run ahead of the team. All of it would be on the river and this can be very hard for my dogs. They train in the trees and on the hills and become very bored on the river trails.

    I feel I need to clarify a little about the check points. Usually when you arrive there is a checker and a couple of runners who show you were to park. All of this is manned by volunteers and villagers. Usually they are well organized and put together but this year they were mad houses. ITC had done very little to help the volunteers or villagers manage a check point effectively this year. They have been relying on volunteers who come back year after year but when you have new checkpoints, volunteers who don’t come back and a lack of leadership from ITC things fall apart. I would like to say that ITC would learn from this experience but they won’t.

    Anyway, we made a great run under cold temps to about 40 miles out. There we had a team of snowmachiners pass us by who were all using paddle tracks. This tore the trail up and created about a foot of sugary loose snow to travel through. The team went from 9 miles an hour to 6. This group of snowmachiners were apparently following the Norwegian musher. This would be the trend for the next 4 days and as it was all on the river it only served to make a bad trail worse.

    We made it to a bible camp on the river at about mile 60 of this run and camped the dogs. I spent time chatting with the owner and found it to be an amazing place which served the needs of native youth all over the region. Once the sun went down though I took off and that’s where the wind started drifting the trail. Now the dogs were dealing with – 40, deep churned up snow and drifting trail. One part of running this race is keeping your dogs mentally in the race. I could tell they were not having a good time at this point and I did what I could to keep their spirits up.

    Here is where Phil ended his race though he didn’t know it. By the time I reached Galena we had been on bad trail for almost 200 miles. I pushed my team where I could and coddled them when I needed to. When I reached my 24 hour break Rick Casillo caught up to me and relayed an experience he had with Phil.

    Apparently he was running the 120 mile section in two camping trips. He camped 40 out and then when he got to the bible camp at mile 60 drove the team past where all the other teams were camping. According to Rick when he did that he mentally pushed his team too far. As a dog driver you have to be a presence in your dog’s life in order to get past these spots. If you’re not they will shut down on you and this is what happened to Phil. He tried to get Rick to pace his team but they wouldn’t do it and Phil was left to rest his team again on the river until they would go again. Mentally though they were shut down given the trying circumstances and Phil pushing them past the camp.

    As for myself I was in Galena and resting the team after their own ordeals. Everyone was in good shape but it was cold. Temps were now dropping into the -50 range and we were headed North. After my 24 hour break we made the coldest run overland I’ve ever made.

    The run into Huslia would be through swamps and portages. All day the dogs ran until I reached about mile 40 of this 82 mile run. Building a camp the dogs rested well and I built a bon fire out of every tree in the nearby area. It was one way to warm everyone up.

    As the sun went down so did the temps. When I was running to Huslia I never quit moving behind the sled. Swinging my arms, kicking alongside the sled. I did anything I could to stay awake and keep warm. The cold just kept seeping in through the many layers I was wearing.

    Finally arriving in Huslia I had a warm welcome where they told me it had warmed up to -55. Resting the team I talked it over with the other drivers. Some said they’re thermometers said -60, -65 and one said -70. I think it was closest to -65 on the run that night.

    And with that we were half way though. We were keeping pace with the time I wanted but I could tell I was using what capitol I had with the dogs and we still had the sea ice to cross.

    More later….

    AJ

  40. Herd of Hounds
    6:09 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Thank you AJ, we know that sometimes your travels are tough to repeat but we truly appreciate your sharing with us. We just thank all the dogs at once that you come home with the dogs safe and sound if not hale and hearty!

  41. Staff
    6:29 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Thanks AJ. I can see that was a learning experience for Phil. I am sure the training in warm almost snowless conditions were not good for him or the team this year.

  42. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    6:29 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Good report AJ, and glad you are feeling better. I can’t even fathom being outside at -65* That is amazing that you and the dogs could even function. I think Phil probably made a rookie mistake, and hopefully with learn from his experience. The ITC? Probably not.

  43. Masquers
    6:33 pm on March 30th, 2015

    AJ: Part 2 is a truly fascinating account of your journey to Nome.
    Temperatures of 65 below are all but impossible for us to imagine.
    We thought this years race would be so much better for the mushers and teams than last, but now know it had its own severe trials and tribulations. Thank you for sharing this with us.

    We cannot wait for the 3rd installment of your story!

  44. Billy's Buddy
    6:44 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Thank you, AJ.

    NY Times Crossword: my husband and one of our sons do it in pen. I avert my eyes.

    Linus: Love you, Buddy.

    No tulips or crocus here. Sigh.

  45. AJ
    6:50 pm on March 30th, 2015

    It wasn’t so much that the dogs weren’t trained for Phil’s team many of them had already completed Iditarod, it was more so that Phil wasn’t a presence in their lives. Phil’s mistakes started when he wasn’t here over the summer, took time off during the winter and then started training in September when he would show up, drive the team and then go home. You really need to be the one doing the work for your team everyday where they see you and build trust in you. Then when the going gets tough they will pull through for you because they know you are there for them.

    I’ve seen this happen with other mushers especially when they hit the sea ice. Scott Jansen’s team, Robert Bundtzen’s team both shut down on them because they didn’t put the time in and instead had others train their teams for them.

    I had a hard time getting Phil to see Iditarod in the scope of running a 1000 miles. He could only see the immediate step or two in front of him and unfortunately placed his attentions on everything but proper dog training and care. My hope is that now that he has seen what running long distance is really like, its toll on the dogs and the driver’s responsibility in all of it he will be able to go forward. It takes a certain amount of humility though to be able to see that the dogs only did what you made them capable of doing. So, we’ll see.

  46. ALR
    7:16 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Great perspective AJ! So, we’ll see….a good motto for a lot of things! Thanks for your time in sharing the story of your Iditarod 2015 with us.

  47. Herd of Hounds
    7:18 pm on March 30th, 2015

    AJ, sweet man, we have always said of any dog, they only do what we ask them to do.

  48. Billy's Buddy
    7:19 pm on March 30th, 2015

    AJ: As in all walks of life, a certain humility goes a long way.

  49. Tupper and Gilly
    7:27 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Well said, AJ. Any animal partner will do everything for you that you do for them. Your dogs know the love and devotion you give them in addition to harness time – they would do anything you ask of them, as they proved when you were stranded out on the sea ice that awful time. Your dogs came to you for leadership, you gave it to them, and you all prevailed – as a team.
    And we still don’t have any idea how any human (or dog) can cope with -65 degree temps. We shiver just to think of it.

  50. Herd of Hounds
    8:06 pm on March 30th, 2015

    WE hope that is late enough that all children are in bed because we have a peep show for y’all

  51. bluecat
    8:31 pm on March 30th, 2015

    HOH- cute pole dance.

    AJ – thank you.

  52. Staff
    9:14 pm on March 30th, 2015

    HOH- you are one funny lady!

    ML hope today is better then before…

  53. Tupper's Mama
    9:56 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Oh, it’s the time of year for Peeps! They come in all kinds of colors and critters these days.

    We are watching a marathon of Poirot movies. Amazing the difference in the early ones and the later ones. At first, Poirot was almost comical. His adventures included overly efficient Miss Lemon and the bumbling Captain Hastings. The later ones are much darker; more psychological. We need to go back and read our collection to see if that was how Dame Agatha wrote them.

  54. Barb, Maggie and Lucy
    9:57 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Night all. We have early call tomorrow.

  55. Masquers
    10:17 pm on March 30th, 2015

    G’Night.

  56. Martha
    10:26 pm on March 30th, 2015

    AJ, thank you for this installment. -65 and camping. The two together? Brrrr!
    Scout is licking my face and sitting on my head. I guess I am done.

  57. ML
    10:55 pm on March 30th, 2015

    It is late and I must sleep, but this just in,,,,,,’I have a date Thursday . No film at 11.

  58. Rio - The Evil Pug
    10:58 pm on March 30th, 2015

    AJ!…A Giant of a man through and through!…snort!…Yes, you only get what you give in the end. The Giant always gets all from his team…chuffle!… I cannot wait to hear what happened next!….wheeze!

  59. Rio - The Evil Pug
    11:01 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Kissed!…My friend was on her walk after our walk – I tole you about the pole – and she got french kissed by a large red Labrador…grumble!…If I were there that would have been the end of that guy..grump!

  60. Tupper's Mama
    11:09 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Oh my – ML has a hot date, and Rio’s Friend is getting frenched. My oh my. We may be too young and innocent for this here blog.

  61. dawson
    11:22 pm on March 30th, 2015

    AJ: Thank you!

    Mad Men starts up again on Sunday.

  62. dawson
    11:23 pm on March 30th, 2015

    ML: We will be wanting details of the hot date!

  63. Rio - The Evil Pug
    11:40 pm on March 30th, 2015

    Review!…I do not want to read anything about the new book Woof!…snort!…I want to be able to read it without knowing hardly anything at all…heh!heh!…Can not wait!

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia