An Amazon Reviewer (LJ) on Heart of Barkness

5.0 out of 5 stars – Pure delight, original, there’s no one like Chet and Bernie – July 6, 2019

Don’t discount this because the dog narrates. If you don’t love this you’ve become too jaded. It’s too hard to delight you. You’ve never heard a voice or plots this original. Hearing Chet the dog’s thoughts, full of life, full of humor, smart and relentlessly optimistic—just a few of the joys of reading the Chet and Bernie novels. I’ve read every single one and will continue to do so. I smile at every other page and laugh out loud at others, thinking how can I see life more like Chet the dog? Even when the situation is grim but most delightfully when Chet is enjoying the most mundane of moments and feeling like it’s a day in paradise, which almost every day is for him. Realistic and creative enough to pull you into the plot and whimsical enough to make the ride feel like the dog with his head out the window, blissful in the breeze. Our heroes are smart but all too human. Good hearted, well-meaning, and relentless. You don’t want to mess with them if you’re a perp. As Chet muses, “you’ll soon be breaking rocks in the hot sun.”

Share

Tags: ,

This entry was posted on Monday, July 8th, 2019 at 7:27 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

20 Responses to “An Amazon Reviewer (LJ) on Heart of Barkness”

  1. Wose-The Small and Meek
    7:34 am on July 8th, 2019

    Greetings!

    This is an outstanding review! It accurately captures how this reader feels reading the C&B books, and Chet’s spirit!

    Good day to all!

  2. B.Stover
    9:20 am on July 8th, 2019

    I like the descriptions of Chet.

    Good morning all.

  3. BearSpiritDog
    12:01 pm on July 8th, 2019

    The Reviewer has gone to the Heart of the Matter.
    Seeing Life Like Chet the Dog. A Wonderful Way to See the Day.

  4. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    6:10 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Wheeze!…Well the day my friend has been dreading has come (and gone!)…snort!…She successfully carted her sister and old Mother to the Aeroport..with only one glitch…grunt!…But getting off the highway and turning back was able to see the correct exit to the Aeroport…sneeze!…Then it was all Aces! She glided right up to the Frontier door and unloaded her grumpy cargo…heh!heh!…Now she is home and we are anticipating the Theives to bring over a very large Vat O’ Bear the kick a full week of celebration!!!!…YIPPPEEE! WOOOOOO!

  5. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    6:12 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Whooops!….That last sentence just doesn’t seem “right”…guffle!…Vat O’ Beer to kick-off a full week of Mother-less-ness…heh!heh!Weeeeeee!

  6. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    6:14 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Although!….If Bear showed up in a big Ole Vat, he would be warmly welcomed!…chuffle!

    Maskers!…We here will be Tracking the flight. I have it all set up for my friend…snort!

  7. Wose-The Small and Meek
    6:31 pm on July 8th, 2019

    RIO! Sounds like you will be partying like it is 1999! :^)

  8. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    6:41 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Rose!…”All Night Long!”…snort!
    Lional Richie

  9. Masquers
    6:51 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Riô: Where are they going?

  10. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    6:57 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Maskers!…Back to Denver (DIA – F9155) to see family…snort!snort!…“All Night Loooonnngg” ….wooooooo!…Forever..together!…woooo!woooo!…heh!heh!

    Vat!…Where is that Vat O’ Beer from the cold North???…sniff!sniff!

  11. BearSpiritDog
    7:49 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Rio! Throw some Steaks on the B-B-Q.

  12. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    7:51 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Bear!…Good Idea!…snort!snort!….The flight is late in taking off because of bad weather thru Nebr. and Colo….sniff!…I can just hear Mother grumbling on the plane right now. Although it is very faint…heh!heh!

  13. Thieves!
    8:41 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Rio: We are in a heat wave here and on fire watch at the kennel so we couldn’t bring beer from the cold north. We had to stop at your local liquor store for cold beer. It is possible that the cold felt so good, we curled up on the top shelf and took a nap. We only woke up when we were being scanned at the register.

  14. Thieves!
    8:45 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Rio: Where do you want the slip ‘n slide?

  15. Wose-The Small and Meek
    8:52 pm on July 8th, 2019

    RIO! Oh, what a feeling
    When we are dancing on the ceiling—Lionel Richie

  16. Ole Doc
    9:09 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Did someone mention Lionel? Friend…don’t mind me, I’m just going to rifle through your undie drawer…

  17. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    10:10 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Yeeeep!….This whole night is going a bit on the strange side!…grunt!….Mother and Sister are still in the air (praise dawg!)…and very late for their arrival. Big nephew will be picking them up sometime tonight…grunt!

    Beer!…Is not here….drat!….I should be dancing on the ceilings and here I am worrit and very verrit thirsty….sniff!snaffle!…puh!

  18. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    10:13 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Nebraska!…Seems the whole state of Nebraska is under seige with heavy rainstorms….yikes!….The flight had to be diverted down thru Kansan and is now making its way up thru southern colorado…gasp!…Luckily, they will have a cart to pick them up and take them the 100 miles thru DIA when they arrive….wheeze!

  19. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    10:14 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Ole!…Doc!…OUT!OUT!OUT!…grunt!

  20. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    10:46 pm on July 8th, 2019

    Sorry!…I’m not ready any reviews not until AFTER I’ve read the short story and the new book!…grunt!…We are almost done with Kate Atkinson’s new book called “Big Sky”. The title has nothing at all to do with the story as far as I can tell…wheeze!…And she has not been as tricky-dicky in this story as she usually gets up to…sniff!…A little disappointing actually… Oh well! It was still a very interesting and disturbing story…grunt!

Leave a Reply





XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Upload Files

You can include images or files in your comment by selecting them below. Once you select a file, it will be uploaded and a link to it added to your comment. You can upload as many images or files as you like and they will all be added to your comment.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia