A Young Mensan Reviews BOW WOW

The young Mensans (and Young Mensan Book Parade) are new to us, but here’s one of them, ten-year-old Giovanna P., reviewing BOW WOW (3rd in the Bowser and Birdie middle-grade series) on Amazon yesterday:

This book is full of mystery! Bowser, the dog, and Birdie, Bowser’s owner, continuously chip away at the problems together throughout this tremendous book. It is simply bursting with adventure and unforgettable characters.

My favorite character is Bowser, the main character, because he is so funny and since he is a dog the book is told from his point of view. A funny passage from the book is when Bowser thinks to himself, “Excuse me? Earn my biscuit? Do….do a trick? Like roll over, shake, or play dead? I hate doing stupid tricks like that wouldn’t you?” Bowser is not only funny but he is also smart and good at finding clues to help resolve the mystery of Snoozy’s disappearance. From his hilarious thoughts to his brains, Bowser is always motivated to help out Birdie and to find his missing friend.

Bowser helps solve the mystery of the Bull shark and his missing friend, Snoozy. The Bull shark mystery involves a boy almost getting eaten by a bull shark. The mystery of where Snoozy disappears involves a deadly car ride and an out of control trip on a boat. Bowser is determined to find Snoozy and solve the Bull shark issue. Bowser and Birdy solve the mystery with using assumption and logic. Will Bowser lead them down the right path or will they get caught in a trap?
I recommend this book for ages 8-12 because it is an easy read and the vocabulary is simple and the writer’s style is not hard to understand. The plot line is enhanced because the author writes it from the dog’s point of view.

Share

Tags: , , ,

This entry was posted on Friday, January 19th, 2018 at 8:28 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

19 Responses to “A Young Mensan Reviews BOW WOW”

  1. Herd of Hounds
    8:56 am on January 19th, 2018

    Good morning everyone! Great review. Wish more kids were that literate.
    Took this foto when we got up this a.m. Doesn’t happen often.

  2. dawson
    10:17 am on January 19th, 2018

    My favorite part of the review is the last line.

    Climate change is getting crazy.
    HOH: I think of Tennessee and I get goosebumps!

    Enjoy the day!

  3. Wose-The Small and Meek
    11:02 am on January 19th, 2018

    Greetings!

    Good morning Dawson and HOH!

    I love this review! It is nice to see that some kids still read books!

    RIO! Shingles! I hope your Friend will recover soon!

    Good day to all!

  4. Wose-The Small and Meek
    11:04 am on January 19th, 2018

    I hope that you all can see this…

    https://www.google.com/search?source=hp&ei=sRZiWvakDsKN_Qa9mJHICw&q=chet+the+dog&oq=chet+the+dog&gs_l=psy-ab.3..0l5j0i22i30k1l5.786.2754.0.3246.12.11.0.0.0.0.199.1080.7j4.11.0….0…1c.1.64.psy-ab..1.11.1078…0i131k1.0.IzPgFxmWmkM

    A photo of OFA? I think not!

  5. Herd of Hounds
    11:13 am on January 19th, 2018

    Wose, we agree that is not OFA. Not in anyone’s wildest dreams.

  6. Herd of Hounds
    11:29 am on January 19th, 2018

    Probably especially Mrs. OFA 😜

  7. BearSpiritDog
    11:34 am on January 19th, 2018

    “Simply Bursting with Adventure”…what a Great Description!

    Wose: No, that is Definitely NOT PA/SQ! Shame on Google.

    Good Morning All.

  8. Masquers
    11:39 am on January 19th, 2018

    Hmmm…that foto looks more like Salman Rushdie.

  9. c.hobbitz
    1:11 pm on January 19th, 2018

    Dawson: good call about skipping yoga.

    Rio: shingles can return years later so when the new shingles shot becomes available, get it. I think the current shot is effective for about 5 years.

    I’ve had such a busy week that I am very tired. Unfortunately I have another busy day and then am flying up to Fairbanks for a couple of days. I will get to experience freezing weather again.
    BBL

  10. BooBear
    1:25 pm on January 19th, 2018

    Rio’s Friend, OH NO!!!!! Dad had the shingles a year or two before he got diagnosed with cancer. His was also on his face. It was weird because the rash drew a straight line down the center of the face. It also affected his eye and made it so he couldn’t wear contacts any more. There is a side effect of shingles where the person will continue to “feel” the shingles for days, week, months or permanently after they go away. Dad could feel his for a long time. Needless to say, Mom went and got the shingles vaccine right away after that.

  11. Masquers
    5:07 pm on January 19th, 2018

    BooBear: YEEP!

    Hobbit: Try to stay warm, if you can!

    We can relate…cold and rainy here…brrr!!

  12. Herd of Hounds
    6:52 pm on January 19th, 2018

    Did someone say cold? We hope the reports are right and it will be warmer in the next week.

  13. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    8:26 pm on January 19th, 2018

    Yeeep!…BooBear I will not let my friend read your post about feeling this thing for months after she lives thru these next 4 weeks with it on her side…sob!weep!…Now she learns she does not have the next 2 days off…sniff!…She has been asked to fill in for the college student who cannot work on her Saturday….weep!sob!…She said yes, as when one is new to a job you do wot youse have to even if you are in pain…groan!

  14. Riõ - The Evil Pugr
    8:40 pm on January 19th, 2018

    Boo!…Just so youse know, her outbreak is on the belt line not her face thank dawg!…snuffle!…Which is more common and it can be covered and not contagious…wheeze!…But the belt line for her is very uncomfortable with all her bending and so forth each day. That movement aggravates it and by the time she is home she is D-O-N-E…done!

  15. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    8:41 pm on January 19th, 2018

    Pugr!…heh!…I like it! But it has to go….snort!

  16. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    8:46 pm on January 19th, 2018

    Boo!..Again…heh!…She has been reading up on the New 2 shot vaccination, but my gosh there are so many bad side effects which could happen. Plus the place she goes does not have that new stuff yet and she could not get it (even if she wanted it) for 6 months from now. This is supposed to reduce the risk of getting shingles again…gah!…Who knows what she will do?…gah!gah!

  17. Herd of Hounds
    8:53 pm on January 19th, 2018

    Shingles is nothing to joke about or mess with and we feel ultimate sympathy for anyone who has it. Supposedly if you have had chickenpox you are at risk of shingles but some people have had chickenpox repeatedly. We have heard that those people do not have the high risk for shingles. I don’t know if this is so or not. Our heart goes out to Rio’s friend since no one should have to suffer through shingles.

  18. Herd of Hounds
    10:16 pm on January 19th, 2018

    Somethings should be shown. Somethings maybe not.

  19. Herd of Hounds
    10:28 pm on January 19th, 2018

    Oh, Golly, Hounds say maybe yes, maybe no.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia