A Hearsay Review We Like

From Amazon, on ARF (second in the Bowser and Birdie middle-grade series).

Five Stars – Great Read – Jan. 27, 2018.

“Bought this for my granddaughter, age 12. She says she loves the book.” – B. Fowler

 

Share

Tags: , ,

This entry was posted on Monday, January 29th, 2018 at 8:49 am and is filed under Chet The Dog. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

37 Responses to “A Hearsay Review We Like”

  1. Herd of Hounds
    9:26 am on January 29th, 2018

    Good morning everyone! Of course the granddaughter loves the book, she has good taste. Grandmother should read it too 😉. We’d like another C&B book.
    Enjoy this last Monday in January.

  2. B.Stover
    9:36 am on January 29th, 2018

    The use of “hearsay” is interesting.

    Good morning all.

  3. dawson
    9:45 am on January 29th, 2018

    Dang it!
    Another missing post this morning. But HOH said what I had said (grandma should read the book).

    BStover: Forsooth, I like the hearsay review.

  4. Diane C.
    10:25 am on January 29th, 2018

    Hey Everyone–

    Dawson: I would fain reread it. I ween the text would yield new insights.

    Windy and warm here in the lower left-hand corner. I hope you’re all well and looking forward to a delightful day.

  5. B.Stover
    11:02 am on January 29th, 2018

    Dawson: LOL!

    I, of course, had to find out the etymology of “hearsay.” It is from Old English “hieran secgan” meaning “hear tell.” (There is also a Middle French phrase, “savoir par oui-dire” meaning “to know from hearsay.”) It is probably the legal definition of “hearsay” that has given it the connotation of being unreliable and usually inadmissible as testimony.

    It is snowing here again. We’re supposed to be getting two to four inches. The other day it was 52 degrees.

  6. B.Stover
    11:12 am on January 29th, 2018

    Now Diane is making me laugh! (“Fain”> Old English “faegen”> joyful. “Ween”> Old English “wenan”> think.)

  7. Masquers
    11:29 am on January 29th, 2018

    A stimulating conversation to start the day, and all brought about by Chet’s blog post (but, of course).

    Saying Good morning, whilst it still is morning. Heh. ^..^

  8. Staff
    11:35 am on January 29th, 2018

    I ken the interesting words on the blog this morning. I read a lot of historical romances.

    I have almost finished painting the upstairs hallway. I have to finish the trim around the bathroom door and put the heating grate back up on the ceiling. Yesterday after we finshed the wall painting my friend said “how about we take the wallpaper off the bathroom walls. Three hours later it was all on the floor. It looks so strange in there. And light! It’s all the white priming paint on the walls.

  9. B.Stover
    11:56 am on January 29th, 2018

    “Ken”> Old English “cennan”> make known> German “kennen”> know.

  10. BooBear
    12:09 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Good Monday morning, all!
    Rio, think Astros!!! Scrappy young team with a lot of heart.

  11. Herd of Hounds
    12:26 pm on January 29th, 2018

    What fun we were having with etymology today!

  12. dawson
    12:40 pm on January 29th, 2018

    I will not brabble about definitions lest I become jargogled or ludibrious, but BStover, DianeC, and Staff have made me kench on a malagrugrous and grey day.
    Now I must freck to the seniors centre.

  13. Masquers
    12:49 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Dawson! Good one!

  14. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    4:03 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Dawson!…snort!

  15. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    4:03 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Dealing!…My friend is dealing with government healthcare …wheeze!…Her new hair-do is standing on end…grump!

  16. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    5:18 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Stover!…Have you ever made an Oatmeal Cake?…sniff!…From what I hear it is delish! It is the new favorite “not so sweet” cake around here…grunt!

  17. Hobbitz
    5:37 pm on January 29th, 2018

    There used to be a fun website where obscure words danced around the screen saying “pick me” pick me”. When you selected the word, it gave the definition. Apparently it no longer exists. How can that be? I thought it’s on the Internet forever.

    Got involved in an emergency cat intake last night. It was supposed to be 2 mama cats with 9 kittens but turned into a hoarding situation. My partner dealt with much of it while I took the two mamas and 9 kittens home. It turns out there were 20 kitties in the apartment besides the 11 we took. We knew it was bad when we walked it. Cat pee and feces everywhere. One litter box on floor which was solid waste. We couldn’t find a small kitten. She wouldn’t let us in the side rooms but we searched living room and kitchen. Every time we opened a cabinet there were cats. Feces in the cabinets. Her 5 kids were in a bedroom. One small child walked out barefoot! She is being evicted and has to be out by 9pm. I think she was going to leave all these cats. We called other rescues. All are full up but we are joining forces today to do a mass rescue. All the males are being altered today. My rescue is altering females (one at least is pregnant). All cats are surprisingly clean, friendly and look well fed. She loves her cats but hoarding is an illness.

    I think the children should be checked out by social services.

  18. B.Stover
    5:56 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Rio: I have never made oatmeal cake. It sounds delish.

  19. Herd of Hounds
    6:15 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Hobbitz, we agree about the children. What a horrible situation for cats, kids and you.

  20. Hobbitz
    6:26 pm on January 29th, 2018

    I will not be fostering these 11 kitties. It is just an emergency intake while someone clears space. They will be transported to a new foster on Wednesday.
    I currently have 3 fosters plus Denali who I integrated upstairs. It is hard to say no to a rescue request but I can’t claim Sadie is my priority when I still am fostering.
    BBL

  21. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    7:30 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Hobbit!…I feel for you and what you are putting yourself thru for the poor unfortunate Kats…sniff!…I really do. I our hearts also go out to the unfortunate children that are involved…sniff!…Bless the Beasts and the Children…sob!

  22. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    7:32 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Stover!…sigh…Still upset over Hobbits post, but I will send you the small town recipe and the glaze my friend came up with to add a bit of sweetness (if you want it)…snort!…Yes! Yes we do!…burp!

  23. B.Stover
    7:51 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Thank you Rio. I’d love to have the recipe.

  24. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    7:56 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Ole Doc!…Check yer SDD like a monkey on a trampoline…snort!

  25. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    7:57 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Stover!…You may or may not get the recipe tonight. You may or most likely will get it tomorrow…heh!

  26. Hobbitz
    8:58 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Rio: I’d like the recipe too!

    Found more unaccounted for cats. If she would just stop lying to us. Kitties are beginning to arrive in carriers to my garage where they will be vaccinated. Then rescuers will head out with the carriers. The oldest is 28 months. All are related and come from the beginning where she had two female cats and was given two males. The oldest child is 15.

  27. Hobbitz
    9:00 pm on January 29th, 2018

    All but one of the nine kittens. One little one is always by itself but seems ok

  28. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    9:09 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Recipe!…My friend said I can post the recipe on this here blog….snort!…Why are there so many Kats everywhere? They are like rabbits, I swear…groan!

  29. Riõ - The Evil Pug
    9:12 pm on January 29th, 2018

    White!…Kats!…My friends sister sells white kittens for 20 bucks a piece here…sniff!…Seems White Kittens with Blue eyes are a big attraction for those who luv Kats…sneeze!

  30. Luna from the Other Side
    9:15 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Whatever you do, do not let Belle Starr see the photos of the baby kats. Bad moods are something you don’t think will happen until it happens to you.

  31. Beau - The Black Pug
    9:18 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Sneeze!….Ooooh Lunaaaa! Where did youse wander off to?…snuffle!…Please back to yer seat wiff yer book open ta pages 459…sniff!

  32. Luna from the Other Side
    9:35 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Beau: Remember, we decided this. I don’t have to do bible study for time served raising the Thieves!

  33. Beau - The Black Pug
    10:12 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Sniff!…Sneeze!…I am remembering dat…grunt!

  34. Beau - The Black Pug
    10:25 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Luna!…sneeze!…But der is da fact dat maybe youse need brushing up on some of da things youse may or may not have misplaced in yer brain. Forgotten as dey say…sneeze!

  35. ML
    11:57 pm on January 29th, 2018

    Greetings from bipolar Texas, the temperature is up and down. I hope it stays down as long as possible.

    Good to hear that everyone is mostly doing OK. I miss chatting with you but by the time I get to bed I just crash. I think about you all often. Don’t forget me.

  36. Luna from the Other Side
    1:48 am on January 30th, 2018

    Beau: Let’s not get crazy here. I should get credit for good behavior.

  37. Luna from the Other Side
    1:49 am on January 30th, 2018

    ML: How could we forget you. Wyatt sends his love as do I.

The Books



powered by wordpress | site by bakermedia